Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cuesta College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Music and the Arts, Engineering and History/ Poli Sci are some of the best programs at Cuesta

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take some PE classes because there are some great coaches at Cuesta that are very nice and incredibly knowledgeable!!! Also, if you can, take some time to explore San Luis Obispo County, places like Atascadero and Paso Robles both offer other fascinating experiences!!! Come to cuesta and Enjoy the wonderufl school!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    For the First year at Cuesta (two semesters and a short summer semester) I had spent a total of about 1000 Dollars. The parking is cheap and usually plentiful, and the tuition is cheap for a wonderful school!!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    San Luis Obispo is considered one of the nicest places to live in the Country!!! Golf courses, beaches, wonderful hiking trails are just a few things that constitute the area of San Luis Obispo.

    Am learning a lot

    Cuesta College is one of the top community colleges in California, located just outside of Beautiful San Luis Obispo, CA. If you are interested in Nursing, Music and the Arts, History, or Engineering, Cuesta college is a great great place to start your college career!!! I have had the luck to spend a year singing at Cuesta under the direction of John Knutson and Dr. Jill Anderson. They have a wealth of knowledge and skill in their areas. I also have had the chance to take History Classes at Cuesta with some top teachers. The US history teachers, Dr. Anthony Koeinger and Johnathan Wilson are wonderful Charismatic teachers and are a great addition to the School.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cuesta Community College is a wonderful place for students of all kind to start. Some of the most prominent programs I can think of are the Nursing Programs and engineering/architecture programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best way to ensure that your learning experience is enjoyable to to sign up for classes with professors that really love what they are doing. The single most important tool that I can recommend for new students to use is the website www.cuestaratings.com.

    Bang for the buck

    Each year as high school students around the world prepare for college, many are disheartened by the reality that major universities are expensive and often very hard to get into. Luckily, community colleges have been doing an incredible job of providing excellent learning environments while still keeping prices reasonable. Even with the decline in the economy, Cuesta has kept it's staff sharp and its facility running well.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely beautiful and the style of the buildings are almost Spanish looking. The weather is interesting, often fluctuating from foggy to blazing hot in the matter of an hour. Not all of the classrooms are up to date with technology and proper seating but the personal setting and overall friendly atmosphere make up for it.

    Am learning a lot

    College is intended to be an eye opening, real life experience for young adults. At Cuesta the experience is certainly full of learning opportunities and I also have a lot of fun expanding my knowledge. Professors are generally excited about their jobs and are very willing to help you get the information you need.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a little more expensive to live here than in the valley but it is definitely worth it! You are so close to the beach and it is a beautiful area and it is cheaper than Santa Barbara, San Diego or other coastal areas. Cuesta is a good school and the students are all very laid back.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do in San Luis Obsipo. It is about 15 min away from the beach and there are many boutiques for shopping in the down town area. It is a college town so the night life is pretty good here.

    Food and Dining

    San Luis Obispo has the best food! There are many places to eat down town but the only option for food on campus is the cafeteria and vending machines. The Cuesta Cafe is actually very good. I wat there probably 2 times a week and I am happy with what I get.

    Dorm Life

    Cuesta does not have on campus housing but there is plenty of student housing options. Stennner Glen is one of the popular options it is more like dorm style living if you are looking for that full college experience. Also, there are more liberal student housing options such as Mustang Village. Either place the amenities are more than satisfactory.

    Academic Rigor

    Cuesta is community college in a semester system. This allows for the professors to be able to take more time to teach and more time for you to learn. Many of my professors have been difficult, but success in those hard classes are attainable if you simply keep up with the reading and participate in class. I think that Cuesta is a good stepping stone from high school to a four year college. It is not as intense as Cal Poly for example, but the classes are harder than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up regular appointments with the councilors. Transfer time will catch up to you quickly and it is important to know all of your options and responsibilities. Also, use all the resources provided for you, they are there for a reason: to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Cuesta has a beautiful small campus. The teachers here will challenge you, it is a good transition school to get you ready fro a 4 year. Most people that attend Cuesta and work there are friendly and helpful.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    all kinds of sports activity going on.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are no unusual traditions as far as i know.

    What to do for fun

    there is a room where students can spend time playing all kinds of games and use computers and i usually go when i'm taking my lunch and relax.

    Tips for prospective students

    i surely recommend this college for anyone interested in broadcasting.

    In three sentences

    i like how cuesta offers different programs and helps its students to achieve their goal.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cuesta College has a great Police Dept. on campus and safety for students is their top priority. I feel very safe on campus during the day and evening.

    Greek Life

    Since Cuesta College is a community college I do not believe there are any Frats or Sorority's to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cuesta has many different activities and clubs on campus and any would be great because they have a great variety of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Cuesta is such an affordable community college and all of the campus services are great and the staff are willing to go above and above for their students.

    What to do for fun

    Since Cuesta College is located in Beautiful San Luis Obispo, CA there is tons to do. To name a few there is: 1. Hiking at Madonna, Bishops Peak, and Johnson Ranch. 2. Near by beaches 3. Night Dance and Music Clubs 4. Multiple Festivals throughout the year. 5. Farmers Market on Thursday nights.

    Food and Dining

    Cuesta College has a great cafeteria on campus however, off campus in San Luis Obispo there are many dining places to choose from like: 1. Pizza Solo 2. The Habit 3. Firestone Grill and much much more.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living on my own off campus because there are no dorms available for Cuesta College on campus. If there were dorms for Cuesta I believe they would be affordable and a great place to live while attending Cuesta.

    Academic Rigor

    Cuesta College instruction is academically rigorous, students actively explore, research and solve complex problems to develop a deep understanding of core academic concepts that reflect college readiness standards. Increasing rigor does not mean more and longer homework assignments, rather, it means time and opportunity for students to develop and apply habits of mind as they navigate sophisticated and reflective learning experiences. Students with strong habits of mind weigh evidence, consider varying viewpoints, see connections, identify patterns, evaluate outcomes, speculate on possibilities and assess value. They find creative paths to resolve problems when they donâ??t immediately know the answer. Through an academically rigorous program students not only gain knowledge and skills to achieve at high levels, they also gain ways of thinking and doing that prepare them for college, work and citizenship.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out the campus first because it is about twenty minutes from San Luis Obispo. In other words you will need to have a means of transportation to and from the campus. That is unless you attend through their online courses. Also, make sure you get any forms, regstration, testing, financial aid things, and many other things done on time or you will see delays.

    In three sentences

    I highly recommend Cuesta College as a great school to attend. The faculty and services are run with care and this college really helps their students meet their goals. This school now offers three year attendence and allows you to transfer to more units to local colleges.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere patroling. So safe, but watch out for parking tickets!

    Greek Life

    They have multiple frats here that are cal poly frats that except cuesta students! and I know of at least one sorority for cuesta students! It is pretty nice if that is your thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good portion of clubs and leadership is always doing cool things trying to get students involved on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Stenner Glen is probably the best place to live as a freshman. You are in the middle of everything. Walking distance to cal poly, food, grocery store, gas stations, parks, cuesta is only 5miles away and its off of santa Rosa which turns into highway 1. It is pretty fantastic if you ask me.

    What to do for fun

    Stenner Glen puts on different activites, besides that when I am not studying or doing homework I will go on hikes, go into town and shop around, take a trip to the beach, or just hangout with my suitemates. You become pretty close with them.

    Food and Dining

    I have the 7 meal plan and I get pretty good use out of it. If you don't like what they are serving they have fruit bar, salad bar and sanwhich bar. They always have cereal, beverages, chips,and much more. As I said I get pretty good use out of it. Their breakfast is my favorite.

    Dorm Life

    The campus its self does not supply dorms, however there are dorms called Stenner Glen and they house cal poly and Cuesta students. We have a cafeteria, rec room, study room, and a gym. There are 13 builds and 3 floors in each building. On each floor there is a guys side and a girls side. Mainly you only have about 4-6 suitemates on your floor with you. They are pretty nice and I like them. Plus I feel safe because we have R.A.'s and we have a security guard on watch from 9pm till 5am.

    Academic Rigor

    I mean currently we are on probation as a lot of people probably know though i am not sure what that has to do with the actual learning. I am taking four classes and I believe the teachers all are trying to do their best to teach us as much as they can. I feel I am learning more and more, honestly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students if you bring your car with you leave a little bit early if you do not want to walk far to get to your class. Parking can on some days be quite a challenge. I sometimes think of all the cars trying to get spots like vultures fighting for food. However if you arrive early I don't really ever seem to have that big of a problem getting parking.

    In three sentences

    The area is beautiful along with the campus. The weather is also pretty great, and the campus provides you with plenty of places to study when it is gloomy out. The one dislike I one dislike I have is how many bees are around on campus because of all the beautiful flowers; very green campus.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Most people get the class fee waived which saves around $1,000 every year, and that is a HUGE help. It is still pretty expensive having to buy your books, and especially living in San Luis, but nothing compared to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There is a farmers market downtown every Thursday, and a bike night afterwards every first Thursday of the month. There are a lot of concerts, especially in the warmer months, which are always tons of fun and well organized.

    Food and Dining

    The campus only has food from the cafeteria, which I find to be really good, and not that expensive. San Luis itself has a HUGE variety of restaurants, with the most popular ones being downtown.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms for this college, so you need to find your own housing. San Luis Obispo is a very expensive city to live in, so it can be difficult to make it without financial help. There are also cities around that aren't as expensive if you are willing to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    As previously stated, the five credit classes can be brutal, especially if it's a class that is not your best subject. The other classes are not very difficult as long as you keep up with the work that is assigned, and make sure you ask question when you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you put the appropriate amount of time into each class. Five credit classes are brutal, and take a lot of time, so I wouldn't recommend taking more than two of that type of class in a semester. Also never be afraid to e mail your teacher, or go visit them in their office hours. They are there to help, and are usually happy to do so.

    In three sentences

    There is a nice, broad spectrum of classes to choose from, especially if you are finishing your general education. The teachers also range from being fairly easy, to assigning a rigorous work load. Regardless, I feel that every class I've taken so far has provided me with the knowledge I needed.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are so many great restaurants available around this area, both the North and South County campuses.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life available for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic team at Cuesta are on top of the game. They really are willing to help an individual who is in need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into this adventure with ease and clarity, you will gain so much more from the experience. And don't get discouraged, it will all work out as long as you apply yourself and really want you education

    In three sentences

    Cuesta has a good academic program and has a lot of helpful programs for those with needs. This is my first year back, in about twenty years, and all the teachers in the classes I have attended have made it worth while. I would recommend this college to anyone who is looking to further their education.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very small, so safety issues tend not to be a problem. The college safety person are very nice and can always be seen on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers many activities are clubs that you can join/ participates. They are constantly holding events and giving away prizes.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are planning on entering the medical field, arts and sciences.

    Food and Dining

    the Cuesta Cafe offers delicious meals at a reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor, I would say, is okay. It is a college so expect to put a lot of time and effort if you want to excel.

    In three sentences

    Great College! I would recommend it to anyone. It is a small campus with amazing teachers and students.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Surfing, climbing, hiking, Skiing, It's all really close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of great options on and off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to figure out what you want to get a degree in.

    In three sentences

    Great one on one. Awesome community to be involved with. Welding program is very good.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have good campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    Students returning to school after a long time like myself. Older adults and those who need support. They offer many great support program for all types of students.

    Food and Dining

    Cuesta has the main campus in SLO and they have a great cafeteria even though it is very pricey! There is a North Campus and they don't really even have a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I really can't say much on this topic, I think the academic rigor is great at Cuesta.

    Tips for prospective students

    I can only give you the tips for someone who might be in my situation. This was my third attempt at college, each time I did apply for financial aid. Because of my past failed attempts it made my financial aid process longer and tougher. My best advice is stay on top of your financial aid application, talk to the financial aid office often and start that early especially if your going to need the money soon for books and things. The other tip I would give is whatever class you are going to take, find out what all the fees are. For my particular class although I had financial aid support to pay for the classes, I was unaware of the fees for required things that had to be done to continue in the course. This is especially true for the Allied Health Dept.

    In three sentences

    As a single mother of four children, age 37 I have found returning to college quite challenging. I will say that I am happy where I am in school, I am enjoying the classes I am taking and really feel determined to get to my long term goal.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always roaming around and keeping the campus safe. There's an office located right next to parking lot 3, and the campus police are extremely helpful and extremely friendly. In addition, campus safety is a huge concern of student officials. They've done a great job of making students aware of safety procedures. I have never felt unsafe on or near campus, even when walking around alone at night.

    Greek Life

    None to speak of. Driving through SLO, you'll see a number of fraternity and sorority houses, but these are all allocated to Cal Poly students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cuesta does have a few clubs, but the list is nowhere near exhaustive. Most Cal Poly clubs are open to Cuesta students, so it might be better just to start your search there.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from all walks of life are seen here. It's great for those looking to get their general education out of the way at a fraction of the cost to do it at a university, but it's also great for students who are simply interested in enriching their lives with a broadened scope of knowledge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As mentioned earlier, the coffee cart behind the student center (Espress-O-Yourself) is a gem for coffee-lovers on campus. Additionally, there is an art gallery set up outside of the cafeteria every other Thursday where students can purchase (or just admire) original works from local artists.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with the increasing tuition costs, the level of attention students get from their instructors is well worth it. Most professors have PhDs and are actively working in the field they're teaching, so classes are lively and full of spirit for the subject. I'd be willing to bet that the level of academic excellence is comparable to any university out there.

    What to do for fun

    SLO is certainly a college town, so there are no shortage of bars, clubs, and hangouts downtown. Shopping is also in abundance and the beach is only 10 minutes away. Cuesta itself has a number of clubs to join and there's always something going on around the campus. The newly renovated performing arts center is a miraculous sight and it's definitely something you don't want to miss out on.

    Food and Dining

    Cuesta's cafeteria is surprisingly diverse. There are a number of stations to choose from, or you can just grab some snacks and check out. There's also a coffee cart located right behind the student services building. If you're looking to buy coffee on campus, I strongly suggest migrating to the cart rather than relying on the cafeteria coffee. It's a quick drive from Cuesta into town, so if you've got some down time between classes, you can also grab a bite downtown.

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, Cuesta doesn't have a dorm life. Student housing is available nearby, but this is more to accommodate Cal Poly students. Plan on looking for a few room mates and finding a rental to accommodate you in SLO.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't exceptionally challenging, but instructors are incredibly helpful and passionate about what they teach. In some ways, this makes the learning experience that much more insightful. You'll come away feeling a whole new appreciation for whatever subject you're learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting in to see a counselor can be a real pain at Cuesta, but it's essential that you do. The best time to make an appointment is during the middle of the semester, but sometimes you can get lucky if you make a call at 9 AM on the dot Monday morning.

    In three sentences

    Cuesta is a great way to transition from high school to a university. The instructors are enthusiastic about what they teach, making up for the we're not in high school anymore mentality. As far as city colleges go, you're lucky to have this learning opportunity.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety shouldn't be a concern to people; Cuesta is a very safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to live in a beautiful area near the beach!

    What to do for fun

    If you like the outdoors there are tons of beautiful hiking trails in the area. Students are able to enjoy the coast at the favorite local beaches Avila Beach and Pirates Cove. Outdoor concerts are often held across the street from the beach by the golf course. Pismo Dunes are not far for those who like to go four wheeling or dirt biking. Thursday nights in downtown San Luis Obispo there is the farmers market which is a very popular hang out spot for college students and there is also one held Friday nights at Avila Beach. Events are constantly going on in San Luis Obispo County for anyone to go checkout and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical cafeteria food. There aren't too many options and the quality isn't the greatest. Prices are a bit high for what you are getting but the cafeteria does offer a warm place to study and socialize with friends for students who have time in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms for Cuesta College. Students are either local and living at home or are living in off campus apartments or houses with roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of Cuesta College classes is far beyond the level of high school classes. The science and math courses are especially intensive requiring a lot of time and practice in order to do well. The grading system is also more difficult. For the majority of the classes offered your grade is primarily composed of test grades and the final. You must receive a solid C to pass the course because a C- isn't considered passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most importantly I would advise future students to do their homework and designate the appropriate amount of time to each of their classes on a daily basis. I would also recommend that they make use of the resources that are made available to them such as the math lab, office hours and free tutoring. Study groups are very helpful for every class you take!

    In three sentences

    Cuesta College is a beautiful campus which offers a wide range of classes for students who are looking for a cheap option to complete their undergraduate course work. Both, teachers and students create a safe and fun learning environment for one another. The classes challenge you to put forth your best effort in order to prepare you to transfer to a four year university where you can then achieve a degree in your field of interest and pursue your career of choice.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs that can help you study for the harder classes as well as several other clubs you can join at your hearts desire.

    Bang for the buck

    Make sure to see if you qualify for the BOG-waver, it covers tuition!!

    What to do for fun

    Thursday nights are farmers market in SLO, other than that there's only a 15 minute drive to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    Cuesta has several vending machines around campus as well as a coffee stand near the library and a cafeteria, all of which have a pretty good variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Cuesta has no dorms, so it's either living with parents or getting an apartment. I personally drive from North county, in Templeton because the rent is WAY cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you choose to take it can range from a 1 to a 4 (1 being crazy easy- 5 being crazy hard). Make sure to study for the sciences and try learn how to study for the class by the first test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to plan what classes you will need for your major (if you know what that is). First time freshman have an earlier registration date for the first semester only, so take advantage of that by signing up for classes that are harder to get into (sciences or classes with small enrollment available). Also, make sure that you are taking as many transferable classes as possible and that you are always applying for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Cuesta College is a wonderful option for people trying to earn a higher education that want to save money. The teachers on the staff are, for the most part, a high quality; some of which teach at the near my college, Cal Poly. It's an affordable and friendly place to learn.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Really safe campus, no problems while I was there.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs for all students and an amazing student counsel.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to spend a ton of money on a great school this is the one for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Right in between morro bay and Slo so there are a lot of stuff to do like hikes and adventures.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth the money, relatively cheap and the instructors are great.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs to get yourself involved!

    Food and Dining

    Alright food for in between class time.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Quite hard if you don't do the work needed to get good grade, or have bad teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get information for yourself! counselors only know so much!

    In three sentences

    This school has excellent teachers best in the state. However, it lacks in good administration. And the counselling is terrible but I think they are in the process of fixing it.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    lame they are what you expect out of a regular greek system except they are less then 1% and are disliked by everyone out of the 1%. (I've heard repeated times of roofing)

    Food and Dining

    San Luis Obispo has great dining

    Dorm Life

    their are no on campus dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Its not a difficult school as long as you do what is expected of you

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek help if you need it their are more resources here then most students take advantage of and just waiting for someone to come along

    In three sentences

    Cuesta is a great place to learn and grow. Instructors are wonderful and helpful with any problems that you might run into. I wouldn't want to be at any other school

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With the lower community college cost and laid back campus, this is a perfect way to save a little money while easing into the college life.

    What to do for fun

    The main Cuesta campus is in San Luis Obispo, which has everything a big town could offer without the crowds, cars, and craziness. There are bike paths everywhere and great weather for outdoor activites. There is a new Performing Arts Center that offers an amazing venue for a variety of shows right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a culinary program that hosts lunches and caters events sometimes. Very amazing food!

    Dorm Life

    As a community college, this college does not offer on-campus dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Thoroughly explore both campuses and consider online classes. These options really help give you options of where to work or live. The counselors are very helpful so if you have any questions, just stop by!

    In three sentences

    This is a small, home town college that I just love to attend. The smaller class sizes and local teachers really bring a sense of community into the classroom. With the low community college tuition prices and transferable units, it's a great place to start your higher education.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great new library at the North County Campus is awesome.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun.

    In three sentences

    I have learned more than any other school I've attended. I love my instructors. The resources available for tutoring and other services is wonderful.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study, hiking, doing kayak, surfing, there are many ways to have fun at this city

    Food and Dining

    Haven�´t tried yet

    Dorm Life

    It doesn�´t have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I can�´t say so much as classes start by August 20

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go and ask or apply on internet. This college has many options for different students.

    In three sentences

    It�´s a very comfortable school, well prepared for students and the enviroment it�´s pretty good also. It has different options for many students. It�´s also located in a very happy city

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cuesta is affordable, which is refreshing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do it!

    In three sentences

    I have only had good experiences at Cuesta College. I enjoy the smaller class sizes, the helpful tutors, and the informative teachers. I am happy to launch my college career here at Cuesta College.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The food was so expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There is a park across the street with hiking trails. Nice to hang out in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive but so good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring lunch if you don't have $6+

    In three sentences

    Doesn't offer a lot but it's decent. Slo is beautiful so that works... Cafeteria was expensive. Didn't have a very caring feeling and seemed unorganized at times.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are pretty much assholes accept for the chief who is a pretty awesome guy.

    Greek Life

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The friendliest people you will meet are at the smoking areas. So if you smoke you will make lots of friends.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you don't buy your books from the school, then it is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There are some things to do around, but not much. It is a pretty small town.

    Food and Dining

    San Luis Obispo is full of great restaurants and the cafeteria isn't bad either.

    Academic Rigor

    I achieve pretty good grades so I feel the rigor here isn't much, but I guess it would be harder depending on the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are taking, the counselors are a bit useless.

    In three sentences

    This school is the best on the Central Coast. The campus is beautiful and the people are great. If you want to attend a community college near SLO, this is it!

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and research til you are blue in the face. If applying for aid...be prepared to wait

    In three sentences

    I am a re-entry student...and some of the navigating is difficult. Over all the North County Campus has been satisfactory to my needs.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High schoolers wanting college credit, Associates degree before a 4 year University, Nursing students, second degrees, anyone who wants to learn or just take fun classes.

    What to do for fun

    Surfing, sailing, SUP, hiking, biking, kite boarding, rock-climbing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your financial Aid early. Study on the sand dunes.

    In three sentences

    Super friendly faculty who bend over backwards for you to succeed. They truly want to see all of their students pass with A's and help you to get there.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't live near by so i don't know

    Food and Dining

    i'm sure there is food some place but i dont go to campus so i dont know

    Dorm Life

    dont have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    really enjoyed my classes and learned a lot from them even when i didn't expect to.

    Tips for prospective students

    take the time to go up there to deal with any possible issues that may come up because you cant do it by phone.

    In three sentences

    great distance learning program but the accessibility of the staff in the different offices by phone is awful and non existent. the instructors seem to be pretty great. and the campus is beautiful.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Bang for the buck

    Price follows the cost for all community colleges - can't complain without blaming the state for any cost increases.

    What to do for fun

    San Luis Obispo is a nice little city with a downtown of shops and lots of restaurants. The beach is nearby in all directions! Hiking options are plently.

    Food and Dining

    Snacks available - normal, basic offering.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, which I prefer.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn a lot, but teachers are very helpful and want to make sure you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early for classes. Keep copies of requirements for the degree or certificate you want.

    In three sentences

    A school that feels welcoming. Class options are very low for those with full time jobs, but there are a decent amount of Distance Education classes available. A great school!

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The thing I really have enjoyed about Cuesta is having the same people in my classes the past three years. As a recreation major, the recreation program is all run by one professor. So she teaches all of the classes and the people who have majored in recreation have become extremely close friends and most of us are transferring to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo together, which I think can be said for a lot of the programs at Cuesta.

    What to do for fun

    There are endless opportunities for fun on and around campus. If you need a break from campus all you have to do is walk across the street to El Chorro Regional park and there are all sorts of trails you can hike/run to do in your free time. If you have an hour or two in between classes I would recommend going out to Morro Bay which is about 7 miles North to hangout at the beach and maybe catch a wave or two.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the cafeteria a ton, I usually wait until I'm home or eat off campus. But when I do eat in the cafeteria I have a decent salad from their salad bar. They also have the Big Sur Bars which are very good to-go snack.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Since Cuesta is a community college most people still live at home with their parents or have an apartment in downtown San Luis Obispo. I, myself, have an apartment in town and it has been the greatest experience of my life.

    Academic Rigor

    I've found that all of my English and math classes have been pretty difficult at Cuesta. Like anywhere, I feel that you get out of a class what you put into it. So if it's a difficult class, then you'll do as well as the amount of effort you take to study. Of course a class will seem extremely difficult if you don't take the time to study for it. Overall, I'd say Cuesta is fairly academically rigorous. Mostly due to many of the professors from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo teaching a lot of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ratemyprofessor.com helped me decide what classes to take and who to take them with. The website is used by past students who have had certain professors and they let future students know what they think of them. Also, take a physical education class! All of the instructors for yoga, kickboxing, cycling etc. are all very enthusiastic and fun. Lastly, if you get sleepy on campus, feel free to take a nap on the perfect lawn just about anywhere!

    In three sentences

    Cuesta College has shaped the woman I have hoped to become. With small class sizes, a beautiful campus, and caring staff I've never felt more comfortable in a place of learning. I am going to miss Cuesta College.