Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Culinary Institute of America Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 out of 48 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard-workers, determined individuals, team-players, creative people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to send in your application early. Be honest on your application and explain in detail. Definitely take a step back and really think about whether or not you want to dedicate your career to the food service industry, because if you aren't sure, the Culinary Institute of America isn't for you. The CIA is very fast-paced, hard-working and challenging, but well worth it if you are dedicated and interested.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall, the atmosphere of the campus is excellent. Situated on the Hudson River, it is amazing. The overall experience at the Culinary Institute of America is very enjoyable because everyone is professional towards one another.

    Am learning a lot

    Every day is filled with TONS of material, so every day you are learning brand new techniques and methods. Because the class sizes are relatively small at the Culinary Institute of America, the Chefs/Professors are able to help each student more towards his or her individual needs, which is much appreciated.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that know that this what they want to do for a career. Those who work hard and do not try to find shortcuts. Must be very persistent and detail oriented. Be very open minded about food. Responsibility and diligence is key here at the CIA. Not only must we be clean in the kitchen but we must be clean in the dorms, as we have a sanitation inspection every three weeks. A driven person with a love to learn and the love for food belong here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel this career choice is something you will stick to no matter what happens, this is the school for you. There is so much knowledge to be learned but in a very short amount of time. If you are diligent, dedicated then this is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    For over $30,000 a year, it is a bit pricey. We are known to be The World's Premier Culinary College. We have the most Certified Master Chef/Bakers on campus, compared to any other location. The majority of the instructors/professors have industry experience which lend to lots of recommendations, suggestions, and networks. On the other hand it is quite inconvenient that in my dorm we only have one working washing machine out of three. Three are not even enough for the whole building. The internet service is sort of shotty, it is sometime very unreliable which is very annoying. For that price tag it should be fully functional 24/7. The meal plan is on and off for me. IT is great to have a bountiful cuisine choice for lunch and dinner, but the menus cycle every three weeks, which can become very boring. After externship we have a meal swipe which can be used at the Apple Pie Cafe or Courtside Cafe, which its great but at Apple Pie a swipe, which is equivalent to $8 it is not even enough to get a sandwich and a soda.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love being here. There is an awesome view and you are surrounded by nature with the Hudson River viewable from some dorms. It is very picturesque. I also love being around the knowledgeable chefs and around peers that share a common love of food. It is very refreshing to talk to someone and not have to explain what every detail to have them understand. The ability to meet new people is great since we have new students coming in every three weeks. A con of being in this area is that there is not much to do after class and on the weekends. We are very close to some diners and the mall is about ten to fifteen minutes away. There is also a small town called Rhinebeck, 30 minutes north, where we walk around, window shop, and eat.

    Am learning a lot

    First of all we are on a block system with new classes every three or six weeks depending on the block. Each block contains classes which if they are kitchen classes are everyday. These classes you will have hands on training as well as lectures on specific subjects. For example, in Cuisines of Asia you will have three days dedicated to just Chinese food. In addition to learning the specific techniques you will also learn of the geography, flavor profiles, and food styles specific to the different regions. An example of the academic classes, would be B-Block. This block contains the class: Introduction to Gastronomy, Culinary Mathematics, Product Knowledge, and Food Safety. Product Knowledge you will learn all about produce and their quality and condition, how to choose them and how to identify them. Food Safety allows you to learn about the risks of unsafe food. You will also study for the ServSafe test. There is also an 18 week externship where the students will apply for jobs in the industry and work. This allows the students to experience the industry and show them how its works, the process of applying to a job, network, and ultimately hone their skills in the kitchen. Although we take a plenitude of classes, we complete them in a shorter amount of time, which can lead to students unable to grasp the knowledge needed to pass.

  • 01/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. Determined 2. Dedicated 3. Artistic 4. Hard working 5. Confident 6. Open minded

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get your name out there and apply to a lot of places when looking for your required 6 months in the field 2. Continuously look for scholarships before and after entering this school 3. Get the most out of your 6 months in the field because the more you learn then the more you can expand when you arrive at school

    Bang for the buck

    Attending the Culinary Institute is definitely not a cheap endeavor however, it is worth every penny. I have to keep my GPA up to hold onto scholarships and I am constantly on the look out for more scholarships. I work hard to pay for this school but everyday I step into the kitchen I know it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Whether I am in a classroom, kitchen, my dorm room, or wandering the campus, I am loving every minute at the Culinary Institute of America. I am learning so much while I am in class and I really do feel like I expand my skills every single day. Once classes are over I am able to relax and do my own thing but I am never bored. There are always on and off campus activities and even if none of them interest me, the campus is so beautiful that I could just walk around campus all day long.

    Am learning a lot

    Each chef and professor has a different teaching style which really helps me learn. I think by getting so many views on one topic I am able to understand it better because one chef may be able to explain a topic more clearly than another. The variety of teaching styles keeps the information fresh and new while still sticking to the basics that everyone NEEDS to know.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary geeks... You know who we are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are dedicated to culinary, if not I can almost promise that you will quit. Some chefs have no mercy and want you to give up. It's like military school if you can't listen and have authority problems you will get weeded out quick.

    Bang for the buck

    You will learn a lot but the school is a little too expensive. It does happen to get cheaper every year that you advance though.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is nothing better than being around food all day every day. The location is unbeatable just a train ride away from the city. We are in the heart of the Hudson valley and it is the most beautiful location in all of new york.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm currently on extern but in my first year alone I've learned more than spending 6 years in the kitchen! Just ask questions and be ready for class!

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not an issue, very quiet campus and open.

    What to do for fun

    Take a train to the city!

    Food and Dining

    Top quality food. Every night 3 course plated dinner. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Easy to get a room. Very clean and plenty of room for essentials. Big bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent training in both baking and culinary arts. Master trained chefs and world-class instructors. Professionalism is key.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is a five star including their health centers.

    Greek Life

    there's fraternity clubs and more on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there's plenty of activities: dance, sports, clubs and more

    Great for these types of students

    the culinary institute of america is great place for students that are passionate about cooking and not just a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    honestly i've not seen an unusual place on campus

    Bang for the buck

    every culinary arts school are expensive however out all the culinary arts school i did a research on, the institute of america is the best one to attend. attending the culinary institute is a big investment for the future for the student

    What to do for fun

    i will usually play basketball at the gym and come up with new recipes

    Food and Dining

    the food is great and there's plenty restaurants around campus to eat at

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is a great way to meet new people from different places around the world and the beginning stages to learning how3 to become responsible

    Academic Rigor

    the best thing to know is that as a student if you focus and stay on top of your game and most of all follow all rules, everything should be great

    Tips for prospective students

    very exciting and students look forward to an outstanding school year

    In three sentences

    outstanding school to attend, offers bachelor degree in culinary arts/management and great place to meet a variety of chefs

  • 10/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated and determined individuals who looking to start or further their education in the culinary field. The CIA is definitely not for the faint at heart, much is to be learned and also endured. Stay determined and the possibilities are endless...

    Tips for prospective students

    Seriously think about if this for you. Diligence, tenacity and endurance are a must at The CIA. As long as you stay focused and have goals, and are working endlessly fulfill those goals, you'll go far...

    Bang for the buck

    It cannot be denied that culinary school is expensive. But what you will learn and experience at The Culinary Institute of America is PRICELESS. The education at The Culinary sets you up for a life of success, so the money is definitely worth it for an individual who is serious about being a professional chef.

    Will enjoy being here

    Culinary and Baking Clubs, Student Government, Intramural sports, International trips, and not to mention, and BEAUTIFUL, state of the art campus just feet of the Hudson River. Just a snippet of the experience at The Culinary Institute of America...

    Will learn a lot

    I can definitely say that I KNOW I will learn a lot attending The Culinary Institute of America. It has the reputation of being the world's premier culinary college, and it definitely deserves that title. You will be taught by some of the most well-educated and the most professionally experienced chefs in the WORLD. Certified Master Chefs, Certified Executive Chefs, Certified Culinary Educator, those titles don't come easy. CIA's instructors are there to and can only offer you the best education there is to offer. With their expertise and your dedication, you can only expect success.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard-working, dedicated students with a passion for the industry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early. If your looking for a party school, CIA is not for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit pricey but for the most prestigeous culinary institution in the world, its not bad.

    Will enjoy being here

    Hyde Park has a gorgeous campus overlooking the Hudson River. The campus is fully equipped with a recreation center- pool, gym, indoor track, tennis courts, etc.,- 5 on site restuarants, and clubs and extra classes for students.

    Will learn a lot

    CIA is a very hands on school. You have multiple classes everyday and you learn both the baking and cooking aspects no matter what your major is.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Attending this school will definetly take more money, but what you get out of it is worth the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere on campus and in class is highly motivational. You are surrounded by student who are here for the same reason you are; for the love of food!

    Am learning a lot

    This school prepares you for the real world. You learn so much just in one day of class and everyday the work you do is hands on. You get to learn first hand from top chefs who have been in the culinary industry for many years and the small classes give you the opportunity to work one on one with your chef.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to cook.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, so make sure it's what you want to do. And if you have to take student loans, you'll be paying those off for a while.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports is big here. All sorts of clubs. Movies and shopping close by.

    Food and Dining

    It's a culinary school so the meal plan is very good. You can also purchase food on the weekends when the kitchens aren't open.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, you'll most likely be in Hudson Hall. They have a strict no drugs, no alcohol policy. More than likely you'll have a communal bathroom, but they're pretty clean and I don't usually see people in there. You cannot bring additional furniture, but all rooms come with a large Armoire, desk and bed.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of studying and practicing if you want to be good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in Student Activities. There are plenty and it's a fun way to meet people. It's expensive so try and apply for scholarships - start early. Read what you can and cannot bring. Bring ties! There is a dress code.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. One of the best culinary schools around. Many opportunities for work/study.

  • 10/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yes. CIA is one of a kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely keep on top of your school work, and always know what is happening 2-3 days in advance. Preparation is everything here, just as it is out in the real world.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny. No other explanation needed. :)

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here in Hyde Park, the whole area is just great. It is so historically influenced and has many different restaurants to explore and pick apart. Aside from the school offering many different clubs and places to socialize, the campus is very nice, and the people are even nicer.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much here, the CIA is truly what I knew it was going to be, and that is everything and more. I love going to classes here, because the Chefs know all that there is to know about the industry to teach you to better yourself, and be the best you possibly can be in the workforce.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our school has any club you can think of and if there isn't a club you are interested in you can start your own if you have enough members to be in the club with you.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who wants to major in culinary or baking and pastry arts

    What to do for fun

    The school offers several different activites such as going to the mall, theme parks, white water rafting, skiing, bowling, rollerblading etc. Around the area there isn't much to do but New York City is just a train ride away.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the school is cooked by the students and is always usually good. But you also have to remember that the students that are cooking for you it is a class for them and they are also learning so things may not always come out how you expect them to. The school also have 5 different restaurant which revolve around the students cooking for the public, and all 5 restaurant are wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is typical to any other dorm life. The dorms are clean and you usally have up to 1 other roommate. Freshman's are usually placed in one dorm while everyone else is scattered. The dorms are not huge compared to other college campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    The school does challenge you and you are always tested on what you are learning in the kitchen and if you do not pass the test the chefs will work with you to help you pass for the next time. Every test isn't easy so you need to study and continue to practice.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would suggest that they get as much experience in the kitchen before entering the school. The more experience the student has before coming to school the better off they will be.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of America is a great college to go to for Culinary Arts. The skills and techniques that you are taught is something you will not learn in typical culinary schools. They push you to try your hardest and help you produce the best product.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Biking, hiking, movies, dances, swimming, mall shopping, trips to NYC, school has group events that have discount prices.

    Food and Dining

    If you live on campus, you are required to pay for the meal plan. A good thing and a bad thing. Yes you get fed, yes the meals can be top quality, but you are eating the food that the classes make and they are not always the best.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intense and fast paced. Tests and quizzes are a constant.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip is to keep communication open, whether it is your professor or your roommate.

    In three sentences

    Culinary Institute of America is the best school for learning the art of culinary. The professors are Chefs that enjoy teaching the skills that they learned while in the industry and help the students to achieve their goals. The school has a walk in tutoring center to help students which can be a great asset when you just cant seem to get lesson right.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always around and ready to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that you are able to join. Although, I would suggest concentrating on studies until you feel confident that you are able to participate without it effecting your grades.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely not cheap to attend this college. I have paid out of pocket since I started. In the end it is definitely worth the money. You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are many historical places in the area. If you venture out a little ways you will find cute shops and great restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Part of the classes is to serve other students. there are many options for meals, all made by fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    I did not reside at the dorms, however I have seen them and it is just like any other college for the most part. As you progress in school the options become better.

    Academic Rigor

    You must be on top of your game. Keep up with studying and homework assignments. It may seem like alot of work but if you buckle down it will be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for what is to come. It is alot of hard work and dedication. Make the most of what is offered to you.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of America is the premiere culinary school. They encourage hard work and excellence. They set you on a path of success.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security cameras where you would need them the most especially parking lots along with post with phone in the to use to call in case of emergency or assistance

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of clubs that will kept you coming back for more

    What to do for fun

    Between the contest, festivities hosted by the school there's hiking, multiple sports, club,rec center and many more activities around that will never leave you with down time

    Food and Dining

    Amazing not only do you get to cook for your peers but you also get to eat with they produce.

    Dorm Life

    You'll meet many people from all over the world that will become your rock while you attending.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but very rewarding in the end

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come open minded. Don't be afraid to ask question, take a risk and get your hands a little dirty ( food wise speaking of course :-) Never take anything for granted and cherish and learn from every experience that comes your way because they will help make a better you in the future

    In three sentences

    Outstanding school. Have opened my eyes and broaden my learning experience. Attending this school I know I will leave with a great should on my head and a world of opportunities ahead of me.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of food clubs, that's about it. Also there is not much leadership in any of the organizations because AOS students are never on campus for long stretches at a time, you are either new on campus, leaving for externship, or about to graduate.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, curious, and thick skinned (the chefs will yell at you and call you names and make you feel like crap)

    Bang for the buck

    The chefs are very knowledgeable, we get to use machinery and ingredients that are very high quality, and very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun. There's the mall and there's the movies. There is not much public transportation to speak of. Lots of events on campus, lots of guest speakers and food demonstrations and contests.

    Food and Dining

    Its the culinary institute of America, we eat good food but its prepared by our peers who are not always the best cooks. Its hit and miss. We are also in a transition period right now so there is not a lot of selections available for student dining.

    Dorm Life

    They just built some new townhouses on campus, there are lodges that are quite nice, and there are old school dorms. The kitchens in the dorms are all great, although they do get full on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Your education is what you make it. If you are willing to put in the work, then you will have no problem. It's cooking, it's not rocket science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get experience in the field. Make sure that cooking is what you really want to do and that you understand what working in a kitchen entails.

    In three sentences

    Great opportunities for networking. Lots of hands on experience with successful professionals in the culinary field. Education in an extensive variety of techniques and with an extensive variety of ingredients.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very serious here. There are only 250 students, so word travels fast. Zero tolerance on drug abuse and alcohol abuse. And safety of the students comes before everything else.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life here, but maybe someone can start a club of sorts.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chess club, wine club, beer club, chili club, volunteer work at nascar races, too much. If there is something you want to do, bring it up in student council meetings. Lots of funding for the students to be had.

    Great for these types of students

    For serious students looking for a degree of professionalism good attitudes and big smiles. And you better plan on working hard while maintaining your professionalism

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The building itself is called Greystone. It was built back in the 1880's and is full of rich history. It used to be a winery and they say that some of the tunnels underneath the building still have wine down there that has been buried from earthquakes and will probably always remain down there.

    Bang for the buck

    At this school, it may be a little expensive, more so than some schools, but you never actually leave here. Once you are a part of the CIA family, you will always be a part of the family.

    What to do for fun

    Many sites in a small town surrounded by vineyards and wineries. Beautiful views everywhere you look. Hiking, cycling, golfing, among many other things are available to everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Here at the CIA, we are learning to become chefs as well as leaders in our industry. So we cook for each other everyday as a part of our succeeding here. Needless to say, we have the best people with the best products making the best food you have ever tasted.

    Dorm Life

    Only about 150 students or so live in the dorms. They will become your brothers and sisters who all hold each other accountable.

    Academic Rigor

    Attitude determines altitude. That is what I love here. You don't have to be the smartest in class, just have to try your hardest. The faculty and staff can see that and that is what they try to incorporate in their teachings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Another thing to really point out is the faculty and staff. At first and actually always, they are your superiors. They are your parents. Just like parents, they love their children. They love to watch them grow up and succeed in happiness. They love the fact that they will always have you in their life. And will always be part of their social network. So, with that being said, I am looking for a family and found one. They (my family) are also looking forward to new family members. As if they were expecting a new baby in the family. They stand with idling eyes, waiting to see the new member of the family. And with that comes an overwhelming feeling of pride, faith, and love.

    In three sentences

    I have only been here two weeks, and the only advice I have at the moment is attitude determines altitude. Come in here with the idea that you are going to be around of a lot of good people with big hearts and big smiles. So treat everyone that you meet as if you loved them all as your family already.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try and read the suggested reading list. Everyone that goes here is interested in the same things, so don't worry you will make lots of friends. The school is very serious about what they do, you have to attend class, be on time and in uniform.

    In three sentences

    Overall very beautiful campus. They have many resources to help you succeed. I love that they use a building block system for the food, before you ever serve the food to anyone you have made the dish many times.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is of course very important and there are various locations with phones outside in case an emergency happens. Nothing bad has happened since I have started school and I frequently see their cars patrolling around the school. Help is never far away is something were to happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a baking and pastry club that shares a little history on a given topic, such as Popsicles, and then shares Popsicles that they have made with people attending the meeting. There is a SPICE club that acts to bring new entertaining events to campus for student, a brewery club, and many many more.

    Bang for the buck

    My experience has been pretty good but I do not feel that this school is worth so much money. I am learning great information, but the way I receive the information is not desirable.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of clubs for any interest. There are sports teams, a soccer field, tennis courts, a gym, and a pool so recreational activities can always be done.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good usually and we are lucky to be eating so well, but sometimes meals are repeated a lot so we can not get a balanced diet.

    Dorm Life

    I currently commute to campus from an apartment close by but my rating is based off of what others have said about living at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that I am learning great information but I feel that some of the faculty are not passionate about teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep you uniform sharp and be proud to wear it. Come to class knowing what you are going to do to be mentally ready for what is coming ahead. Have passion and know that you are there for a reason.

    In three sentences

    So far the Culinary Institute has taught me the foundations of this industry and the science behind the products that we use. It has broadened my view of this industry and has taught me about professionalism and organization. I feel that the school is costly and that students attending need to have a real passion and drive in order to have the best experience possible.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety online courses are required in the first week of oreintation. Campus safety on patrol and emergency safety light posts with phone dials in them. I feel safe on campus. Open and friendly people. It is the hospitality industry!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs available, not just relating to food but also ones relating to music and excercise. Sports teams are here such as volleyball, tennis, and basketball. We have a student rec center with a fitness center, pool, a cafe, studio, full gym with raquet ball and a porch with a beautiful view of the hudson river.

    Great for these types of students

    Perfect for culinary and baking students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The worlds second biggest library next to the congress library. This college is open to the public to take tours and we have a gift shop and restaurants that are ZAGAT rated. The students cook lunch and dinner for their fellow students and staff. Awesome meal plan. As a student you can decide which ever kitchen you want to eat with multiple food items and desserts with every meal!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive college, but it will pay off. As of now it is totally worth it. Awesome experience thus far.

    What to do for fun

    Rec center, Farmers market. An hour away from the city. Visit the restaurants and library. Or just go for a walk and enjoy the scenery.

    Food and Dining

    We get to eat meals prepared by students. Wide variety. Always filling. Always delicious.

    Dorm Life

    AC/Heaters and Dehumidifiers in rooms. Desk and prety comfortable beds. Bathrooms are clean and private. Laundry and student lounges available. I could live here. Hey! I do.. haha

    Academic Rigor

    The chefs do what they have to do to get you to learn. Intense training but it is for the students future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and study a lot. Its not a bad idea to look ahead in your materials. Only come to this school if you are POSITIVE you want to get into the food industry.

    In three sentences

    The worlds best culinary school to attend, beautiful campus. Hands on training from master chefs. Many great opportunities available.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are to many clubs to mention to name a few, wines, beer brewing, charcuterie etc.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to cook or bake for there lively hood.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus was a monastery prior to the school so the meat room is in the old morgue.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very pricey but with instant recognition after graduation jobs are available.

    What to do for fun

    There are seminars, clubs and sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Top notch! Expect to gain weight.

    Dorm Life

    It is a pretty laid back environment but the food is amazing. Ha Ha it is a culinary school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigors are challenging but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a single focus. Do not expect to be treated nicely. It was a school founded for returning vets so with that in mind it has a military feel. There is a dress code so it makes wardrobe easy. Be open to all new ideas, assume nothing.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute is a demanding, rewarding and passionate. Nothing is given and all is earned. It is a place where I have become the best I could be in my field.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and local events but, frankly, the course load is fairly hefty. You will probably spend most of your time in class.

    Food and Dining

    It's the premiere culinary school in america, the food is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    A dorm is a dorm is a dorm. It could be worse but it leaves a lot to be desired.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough classes that last in excess of 10 hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out the Hyde Park area, it's a wonderful area that is great for culinarians.

    In three sentences

    The culinary institute of america is touted as the Harvard of Culinary schools and it's an apt title. The campus is gorgeous and the professors and faculty are beyond helpful. I'm very happy with my decision to attend the Culinary Institute of America.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CIA offers several clubs and activities for their students due to their diverse student population. New York is a 2 hour train ride away and seems to be the most popular for of entertainment for the students. There are also plenty of shops in the near cities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is superb! What else do you expect when you are dining at the premiere culinary college of the world.

    Dorm Life

    The majority of student who come to live at CIA are quite fearful, I know I am, as you do not know who your roommate will be until 5 to 3 weeks before your entry date. During my visit to CIA I realized that the dorms are not as big as I thought they would be but for the experience of being in this school it is worth it. There is always the choice of living off campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Simply studying in a school that Julia Child taught in is enough to convince any future chef that CIA is the school for them. Students will learn a vast amount of skills in two short years that at the time may seem like a lot, but to these future chefs this is nothing compared to what experience will teach them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future chefs, do your research! CIA will offer you all the skills and opportunities for a bright future but only if you know what you are getting yourself into. Classes are long and hard but if you have passion it will be glorious.

    In three sentences

    CIA is a dream come true for future chefs. It is a place filled with passion, dedication, and appreciation for the culinary and baking and pastry field. A place where students can make a mark in the field like the top chefs before us.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AWESOME THEY RIDE AROUND 24/7

    Greek Life

    no frats on campus though (

    Clubs and Activities

    everything and alot of sports )

    Great for these types of students

    diverse!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the best places are the gazibos! thats where yuo meet people with interest like you )

    Bang for the buck

    its worth the tutuion fee

    What to do for fun

    socialize with friends go to Darby's or O'mally's sometimes we drive round merisit

    Food and Dining

    OMG eggs bendict everyday for breakfast and graduation time = grand buffet... the freshman 45 is defiently possible but there is a gym on campus!!! =)

    Dorm Life

    AWESOME, the Ra;s are sweethearts!!

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are nice, the clubs are fun & do alot throughout the school

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial Aid

    In three sentences

    The most AWESOME school I have ever attended. The most prestige culinary school and perfect to learn from when it comes to the education. So many certified master chefs teach here!

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who like learning while doing and working with their hands.

    Bang for the buck

    absolutely worth the tuition rate!

    What to do for fun

    st. helena is a small town but there are many on-campus groups and volunteer events and you are very close driving into san francisco. endless amazing places to eat and drink throughout the valley.

    In three sentences

    features state-of-the-art facilities and chefs who have worked extensibly in the field. i have learned so much in only half a semester and it is absolutely worth the tuition. also love that i can take liberal arts classes for a well-rounded degree.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The dorms are done by age so if your 18 you want be in the same building as someone who is in their 30's.

    What to do for fun

    Meet alot of new fun people. The city is only a little drive away!

    Food and Dining

    so yummy i heard! and for a small cost the school give u a food time card.

    Dorm Life

    I took a tour through one and they looked pretty good and i hear its a great time.

    Academic Rigor

    I start on January 22 2013 but heard it was really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at a lot of scholarships. Also do a lot of research on the school to make sure its the one for you.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of America is expensive, but besides the cost its a really good school. The classes are small so its easier to learn. Its very hands on , your in a kitchen about 80% of the time i believe. You can defiantly find a great job after graduation at this school. I cant wait to start!

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a campus safety office that is almost always open. It can help with most emergencies and jump start a car. They can also come pick you up from some of the local bars if you are too drunk and have no way of getting back.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a ton of clubs and they are always doing something.

    Great for these types of students

    Do-ers. If you learn by reading, you will have some adjusting to do but those that learn by doing will be just fine.

    Bang for the buck

    For as much as I am paying, I am really satisfied.

    What to do for fun

    Residence Life puts on all sorts of fun things to do. Movies every Saturday, block parties every once in a while, and compitions on a fairly regular basis are just a few of the things to do on campus. NYC is only two hours away and is always an option as well.

    Food and Dining

    All of the food is student made. You learn really quick which days to eat at which kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    There is basically 24 hour quiet time. This can be good or bad. RAs yell a lot when you get too loud (including laughing too much) but it is also nice to be able to sleep whenever you need to without having to worry about the noise level.

    Academic Rigor

    You are constantly moved to a new class. As soon as you get comfortable with the way a chef runs the kitchen, you are moved and have to re- adjust.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. While it is not too hard to get in, there are a few requirements that take a fair amount of time.

    In three sentences

    It's a little on the pricey side but it is well worth it. It is the most beautiful campus I visited in my search. It feels a little like Hogwarts!

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good. If you need them, they come quickly.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. If there is not one you like you can make one.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if your willing to push yourself, and work for what you want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a dock at the school with a fire pit. It overlooks the Hudson river.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of breakfast is free, so take advantage of that. The school also has five dollar tickets for the movies. There is also a free shuttle to the mall every three Saturdays.

    What to do for fun

    The city is not too far to go have fun. There is also a mall, theater, and many restaurants in town.

    Food and Dining

    This school has the most diverse meal plan I've heard of. There is free breakfast that consists of: bagels, rolls, waffles, smoothies, fruit, and oatmeal. Dinner and lunch are both well rounded, and mostly are delicious. Students get fresh breads, and a choice from a table full of desserts.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is convenient for getting to classes. You also get free laundry, and they are spacious. The main downsides are having to share bathrooms (your own bathroom is extra), and it can get noisy in the halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The work can be challenging, but it helps to prepare students for a culinary career

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can afford the Culinary Institute of America it is worth it. Once you make it in, come to school each day with your mind open to learning. You payed to be trained, so listen. Do not pass up opportunities. Also try to bring a car if you can.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute is an excellent investment to a students future. This school helps students to develop skills, connections, and hands on experience. Chef instructors have a wealth of knowledge to share, and I would not go anywhere else for a culinary education.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i hang out with people i met from my dorm hall they also have events like the chili cook-off, fire safety awareness, welcome back week and more. they try and succeed to make the campus more lively and fun for the students.

    Food and Dining

    of course you are at a culinary school food is fantastic there are desserts often in the main dinning halls and besides the wait for some kitchens they are more than often times worth it and delicious. weekend food is more scarce but they do have a cafe on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    For me dorm life has been great i get along great with my roommate and even though their are communal bathrooms in some halls its not terrible and easier and cleaner then i originally though before coming here .

    Academic Rigor

    academics go buy in 6 weeks and have actual class 2 times a week so you have to keep on task its quick t its very informative a necessary information to have in kitchen classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on task like any typical college. its a very fast paced course, but if you concentrate and are really passionate about culinary and or baking you'll love it

    In three sentences

    I have wanted to come here for four years and was ecstatic to hear i was accepted. I can honestly say i'm in love with this school it has been by dream college and the chef here are fantastic. The faculty is helpful and the success rate makes this school so inspiring.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Bread Club, Wine and Cheese Club, Yoga Club

    Bang for the buck

    You learn everything you need to know and will make back all the money you spent, plus some!

    What to do for fun

    Eat, drink, explore town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a large work load and incredible opportunities.

    In three sentences

    The best culinary school a aspiring professional in culinary arts or baking and pastry could attend. This school teaches you everything you need to know to be successful. Anyone serious in the culinary flied should consider this school.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for every taste and interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse and serious

    What to do for fun

    The Hudson Valley offers hiking, skiing and numerous dining and vineyard and farming opportunities. NYC is an hour by train

    Food and Dining

    Best in the country. Diverse menu designed and prepared by students under the tulage of expereinced chef instructors.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student.

    Academic Rigor

    Very academically rigorous and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have culinary experience. Be prepared to work and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Academically rigorous. Dedicated to professionalism and excellence. Graduates are the among the best chefs in the world.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the campus is safe. They make sure to notify you of anything. And the security is constantly going around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and a few sports teams at the school. They also have trips you can go on thru the school. Around the area there are bars and other activities. It is small town though.

    Food and Dining

    They food and dining experience is cool. You have to be dressed a certain way (chef uniform or business casual) but you have a variety of kitchen choices to choose from. Everyday is like eating in a fine dining restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is what you make it. Some really enjoy it. Some hate it. Living on campus has its restrictions like any school. So it just depends on you. I would stay on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    When I attended they had a different curriculum. The class they offer now seem to be better and more informative. The skills you acquire definitely will help you a great deal in the industry.

    Tips for prospective students

    The CIA is a great school; go there with your head in the game not to play games. If you put your all in it you will be a huge success. I'm still chasing my dream to finish.

    In three sentences

    The CIA is a great school. One of the best if you want to do culinary arts or baking and pastry. Its definitely a school where you need to focus 100%!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school offers great campus safety. They are here 24/7 and help students with everything from injuries to needed rides in town. We have easy contact with them and become friends with all of the staff.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school high supports clubs and activities. Through the help of the student government and faculty, any idea that a student has can and will be supported financially to help make the event possible. An event happens every week. The school currently has a wine club, beer club, BBQ club, Bread club, and a Cheese Club. There are also clubs in the making where students explore different restaurants and critique the food like professionals. It is all very fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is the perfect setting for students who are pursuing a culinary arts major. To be surrounded by people who are only in food related programs truly helps drive the passion for everyone. It is a one of a kind experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school does have some different traditions like having the whole school congratulate the graduating class as then ascend the stairs to the graduation ceremony; it's very heart warming. The campus is quite unusual since it use to be an old winery. One of the coolest rooms is the Barrel Room which looks like the old winery, including barrels that hold 2,000 gallons of wine. It is quite a site to see!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, the CIA offers an invaluable education to all of the students. Everyone learns so much from the chefs, and there are so many volunteer opportunities for gaining experience like conferences, weddings, and VIP events. Networking is an important aspect in this industry and utilizing the school as this source is pivotal. The dorm life does need improvement, but fun events like Build Your Pizza, Game Nights, and other fun events keep the resident life very enjoyable.

    What to do for fun

    This school is in Napa Valley, so students take their opportunity to get what they can out of it. Lots of wineries to visit, biking/hiking trails, food adventures through the town Saint Helena, Yountville, and Calistoga are common things to do. We also a local movie theater and shopping areas. Napa is also in a good location where it is a couple hours away from Sacramento, UC Davis, San Francisco, and San Jose, so weekend trips to visit these popular sites are very fun to take.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is amazing. Sometimes the food can be repetitious depending of the class that is making food. When this case does happen, it is not uncommon for groups of students to go into town and have a good time at one of the local restaurants, which are all fabulous.

    Dorm Life

    Although the dorms are quite comfortable, the company that the school works with has been somewhat slacking. They do the repairs and fixings in the rooms and buildings. Although the RA director is trying to make them get their stuff together quicker, they are still slow. The school is also somewhat slow for providing money for the director to update rooms such as the laundry room so then there can be more washers and dryers. The walls are rather thin as well, so you can hear people from your room rather easily, but the RA's are doing well to help keep noisy residents quiet during sleeping hours.

    Academic Rigor

    The chefs are amazing. Each chef has worked in their field for many years ( some are even Certified Master Chefs!). You will learn so much from them and treat their knowledge like gold. Learning to work with them and helping them with their projects is the best thing that you can do to help make your experience at this school everlasting.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students should come to the school with their passion and understanding that their skills will be tested to the limit. In the first semester, expect to do a lot of reading, more than you want, so be prepared! Those who are coming should have with them everyday: permanent markers, calculators, colored/designed duck tape for your tools, small notebooks to write your recipes in, a bookshelf for your room, HE products for the washer and dryers, and anything else that can keep your chef whites white.

    In three sentences

    The educational program at CIA Greystone is phenomenal in standard compared to other programs offered in the country. The program prepares students for the business, professional expectation, networking, and skills that rank the students above other contenders when applying for jobs. However, one thing that needs improvement is the dorm; it needs more funding and attention to make the outside experience at the school more enjoyable.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety officers are always visible

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Some sports, but there are many clubs based off of food and others that are not like Zumba and yoga

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to join the culinary industry and hospitality

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has classes that start at 1 in the morning. It's like a really restaurant or bakery.

    Bang for the buck

    The best chefs teach our classes

    What to do for fun

    There is the mall, the Vanderbilt and FDR mansions, and a recreational center. There is plenty of dining around the campus as well

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is the top of its class. No other school can compare.

    In three sentences

    I believe the school is great! It can get a little old fashioned at times but overall the experience is amazing. The school really prepares us for the culinary world

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is stressed in this school. They will always help you out in a time of need. You will always feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. Some are related to food and some are not. It is also possible to start your own club.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pricey but in my opinion, it is worth the money. You are learning techniques here that would take you years to learn working in the industry.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is beautiful so it is nice to hang out outside. There is also a Rec Center that has a gym, a pool and a game room.

    Food and Dining

    You will always have the opportunity to have a delicious lunch and dinner made by the students.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very roomy. Three out of the four dorms have private baths. You will only have one other roommate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, especially if you are entering the Baking and Pastry program because the spots fill up fast. Be prepared to work hard for long hours. In the end, it is very worth it.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of America has the best chefs from around the world. You are constantly learning about food, even when you sit down to each lunch. It is an amazing experience that no other school will give you.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is so many clubs to choose from and a lot of options in the Recreational Center to work out and have a good time. I would suggest the Baking & Pastry Society, since I am a baker.

    What to do for fun

    I have only been here for a little over a month, and so far I have been really busy so on my free time I usually spend most of my time hanging out with all my friends.

    Food and Dining

    It IS a Culinary School so all the food and dessert is delicious everyday!

    Dorm Life

    My roommate experience wasn't the best the first time around but then I asked to move in with a friend and I love it so much more. The only downside is if you live it Hudson Hall, the majority of the dorms do not have bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Never miss a class, focus, focus, focus & do all your assignments!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are hesitant in coming to this school, you will fall in love as soon as you walk on campus. Be prepared to be busy and work hard. If not than your heart isn't in the food industry!

    In three sentences

    I love my school, it has reached higher than my expectations! The campus is beautiful and all the classes are straight to the point and I have learned a lot for the past six weeks that I have been here. I am excited to see where my life goes after my four years attending my dream school!

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This place is the most expensive but we get the most complete education. No one else comes close. It's very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in campus. We have all kinds of activities, committees, events, trips, competitions, and we host many events to say the least.

    Food and Dining

    We are truly spoiled with food here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save lots of money. Be prepared to work as hard as you can. Dedication and practice will get you anywhere you want here. Keep your life clean and organized and this will.prepare you for your classes and career. Professionalism is what sets us apart from everyone else; keep this in mind everywhere you go.

    In three sentences

    The resources here are plentiful; if you want to know anything there is at least ten books here on the subject. The chefs here are true professionals and experts in their respective fields. The education here is the most extensive but at a fast pace; which is in short the definition of our industry.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life here, sorry :(

    What to do for fun

    Movies, Bowling, The college itself puts on events almost every weekend, that are fun and entertaining!!

    Food and Dining

    the Food is spectacular! you are at a culinary college!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. Sometimes you have to be creative to be entertained, but the friends you make are the best ones you will ever have.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a tough school. But it is meant to be. Its not easy, but it is fun. A lot of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should understand that the CIA is one of the most prestigious culinary colleges in the world. They need to study hard, and work like you have never worked before. You do get out what you put in.

    In three sentences

    I am a current student at the CIA. It was everything i expected it to be and more, I cannot wait to finish out my career here as a student.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety guys are awesome! They will pick you up anywhere if you car breaks down, help you with anything, and they do a great job making the campus safe for everyone.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on Campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities on campus, from clubs to cook-offs to sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate about food and meeting new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located on the Hudson River, so there is a magnificent view every day from anywhere on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but you receive the best culinary education in the world.

    What to do for fun

    Lots to do in the area. Having a car is not necessary, but very helpful. Only an hour and a half from New York City by train.

    Food and Dining

    Simply amazing! You have the opportunity to eat high-end food all day long for very low cost. It is the world's premier culinary school after all!

    Dorm Life

    Very nice dorms, some small, but over all, great.

    Academic Rigor

    It has declined over the last couple of years, but is still a very challenging school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, get as many scholarships as you can, and have restaurant experience!

    In three sentences

    Great school to learn the classical French Techniques. Education value and reputation has declined over the last couple years. Very well known and recognized education.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always there when you need them and even when you don't.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres over 50+ clubs on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Determined, professional, passionate students only.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no better place for the best culinary education in the world. That's not an opinion, that's a fact.

    What to do for fun

    There are always new events happening at school as well as being a mere train ride away to the city.

    Food and Dining

    Its a culinary school, you'll eat things you've never heard of before, and somethings you've only dreamt of. Everything from pastries to burgers will be delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. The best part about this school is that everyone is there because they love the food service industry, so you're bound to have something in common with everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    This isn't going to be one of those schools where you can party every night and wear your pj's to class, this is a very professional and business like school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that this is exactly what you want before coming to this school because it isn't easy, or for the weak hearted. Don't give up, it will get hard and tough and stressful but in the end it will be worth it. Start saving now, New York isn't a cheap place to live!

    In three sentences

    This school will honestly change your life as well as your perspective on the entire culinary world. You will grasp new ideas and techniques like you never even thought you would. The one thing you need at this school is passion; with enough passion you will have the drive to make it through and become one of the best.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    its expensive but its worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on the weekend, go to athletic events( they exist) go on hikes, go to the FDR house

    Food and Dining

    the food is AMAZING the food is prepared by the students! it is a full circle of reusing here at school.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great and pretty nice sized

    Academic Rigor

    Its difficult and the classes are long and physically tiring, but it is all worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and make sure your 6 months of experience really help you prepare for school. Make sure you go here you will have unforgettable moments!

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school, I felt so accepted and i feel like that is my home. It made my passion come to life even more than it had before.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really awesome, they pretty much know everyone and if it's late at night, they offer to drive you back to your dorm or apartment if they see you walking. They will also drive you to and from the nearby hospital.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some really awesome clubs on campus and it is pretty simple to start a club of your own as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say in a way it is worth it, since you get the Institute's brand name on your resume but at the same time, you lose a lot of money in stupid things like meal plans and over priced dorm rooms.

    What to do for fun

    You can now rent bikes on campus and there is plenty of wildlife all over campus. If you don't have a car though, there isn't much to do but if you do have a car then there are plenty of local breweries and wineries that you can visit that are really great.

    Food and Dining

    Sadly it has been lacking lately with all the new students coming in and not really caring about the food. And it's even more difficult to eat now that they changed the times and have all the kitchens open at once but they do have a salad bar and cereal out for a few hours.

    Dorm Life

    I'd say it's a bit expensive for the small space and lack of updated kitchen equipment but a few of the dorms do have amazing views of the Hudson River.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher and chef on how hard the class is. But over all, the chefs have been amazing teachers, doing their best to help us become better than we already are.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd say come in with an open mind and a willingness to learn. Just because you've worked in the industry doesn't mean you know everything, that is why you are coming here; to learn. So ask questions and make mistakes. Also, take the time to get to know your chefs, they can help you get your foot in the culinary world.

    In three sentences

    The Institute is a beautiful campus with many students that come in with hopes and dreams. While every collage isn't perfect, the Institute does care about its students as long as the student puts in the effort. There are a few things the Institute still needs to work out but all in all, it is a great collage that looks very good on your resume.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are on duty 24/7. [Greystone campus]

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs of different interests from the BBQ club, to the Excursion club. [Greystone campus]

    Great for these types of students

    Those who truly love the culinary arts and are serious about getting a good education. Dedicated, hard-working, and professional students will excel. [Greystone campus]

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fact that the school is a castle is amazing. At graduation, current students traditional bang on pots and pans as the graduating students process up the main stair case as a sign of respect and congratulations. [Greystone campus]

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent. The education, the networking, and the support are all worth it. I do wish they'd get better burners for the main teaching kitchen though.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs of various interests on campus. Pick one that you like! Outside of school though, if you're under 21, there's not much to do. [Greystone campus]

    Food and Dining

    Well, being a culinary school, eating here is like eating at a different restaurant each time. Students eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the main teaching kitchen. The food is prepared by whichever class is cooking that day. So at any given time, the food could be Chinese, Brazilian, Spanish, or just plain American. [Greystone campus]

    Dorm Life

    Residence life is good. The Res. Life team puts together atleat one event every month that's open to all residents. Most of the time it's food related. The residence halls themselves are pretty nice. [Greystone campus]

    Academic Rigor

    After Culinary Fundamentals, class blocks are only 3 weeks long, so I wish they were longer. However, those 3 weeks are jam-packed with information, and the kitchen classes are intense. [Greystone campus]

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that this is the path you want to pursue and this is the school you want to go to. Don't waste your time and money, as well as the school's faculty and resources if you're going into this half-hearted. [Greystone campus]

    In three sentences

    World-class teaching faculty, staffed with some of the best chefs in the world. The educational and peer support through the Learning Strategies Center is exceptional. The curriculum will really run you through the rails. [Greystone campus]

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You always should either be in your chef whites or bussiness cuacasl. This school is very big on give tour to people. Its like a Diseny Land for Older people. So you always should be on your best behavoir. Making the school look good.

    What to do for fun

    I love go to the Rec center. and hang with friends, work out, and just meet knew people. Also going to the The big apple ( New York City) on the weekends is always a lot of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are really passionate about Culinary Art or baking and pastry, or even just the hospliatly world.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of america is just amazing. The chefs and professors there make it fun and a comfterable place to grow and learn. I rate this school at 9 out of 10

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, it is quite expensive.

    What to do for fun

    The CIA is an hour and a half train ride to New York City, which is always fun to go for the day. The school is located in Hudson Valley, with plenty of farms to go to and pick fresh produce. The school itself has a variety of clubs, and a rec center to go work out in.

    Food and Dining

    The students prepare food for other students, so basically we are eating the classwork. The food is exceptional!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well equipped with furniture, outlets, and wi-fi access. Only one dorm has communal bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The liberal arts classes are fairly simple, but the kitchen classes will always push you to do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get some restaurant experience before attending the school. It used to be a requirement but is not anymore. Having previous experience in the kitchen will better prepare you for the fast paced environment of the school kitchens.

    In three sentences

    The CIA hosts a large diversity of students, and is acknowledged as the top Culinary school in the world. Everyone shares a same passion: food. This school is great for anyone who wants to succeed in the food and hospitality industry.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety always respects the students. They make sure to step in when situations can go out of control or when they are (which rarely happens). Campus safety is a pleasure to have a conversation as well because they always have a story or two to tell.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a countless number of active clubs on campus, and they all relate to food! Each club has to stay up and running by hosting events to get more interest and every event ends up being one with a lot of great food and great company as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions is all over the campus due to its colossal diverse student body.

    Bang for the buck

    All of the resources available. A student can be set for their whole education and beyond if they work hard and use the resources given. The resources are such as career services, the biggest culinary library in the country, psychological services which offers a quite meditation room for students to relax and be at peace, and these are only a few to mention!

    What to do for fun

    There are a countless number of active clubs on campus, and they all relate to food! Each club has to stay up and running by hosting events to get more interest and every event ends up being one with a lot of great food and great company as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are number and numbers of options for students at the Culinary Institute of America to satisfy their hunger cravings. Options go from a kitchen known as Cuisines of Asia, Mediterranean, America, to the more general class such as modern banquets, high production, introduction to A La Carte, but those general classes may vary in menu specials because all of the chefs are different. There is always a new ingredient, a new flavor that a student has never tried and they can develop their palate decently for just eating student meals at the Culinary Institute of America.

    Dorm Life

    The resident assistance's is what makes the dorms for what they are. There are plenty of activity hosted by that department at no cost, and most of which are food events with games and from time to time a pretty cool prize. The noise level is almost always quite due to the common quite hours. It is just those few students that ruin it for everybody else is why I had to rate it at a four instead of a five.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics class such as business, history, English, and such is not too rigorous. All that needs to be done is study. The time that it will get especially tiring is when you have academics paired with a kitchen class which requires you to be up and moving for eight hours then when you get back to your dorm there is homework for you to finish for the following day. Rinse, wash, and repeat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember what you did in high school! Have prior experience in the kitchen to get a basic feel for the type of career you are setting yourself up for, and basic kitchen etiquette. Be always open to new ideas which range from techniques, and ingredients, determined, ambitious, humble, and have a sense of humor.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of America is no longer a place for only chefs but an open place for all aspiring food industry wonders. While getting the top notch education in classes learning about business, kitchen operations, gastronomy, nutrition, and much more students go back to their dorms which are well sized for most dorms. Students are fed well by their fellow peers by having the kitchen classes as every students meals; we have choices to go to a class called cuisines of Asia, Mediterranean, or even cuisines of Americas all in the same time getting free dessert made by the baking and pastry majors!

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great, if you are across campus late you can call them up and get a ride back to your dorms.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out by the river. Joined cross country and hang around the gym. It's easy to make friends if you're willing to just hang out.

    Food and Dining

    It's a culinary school. what else is there to say.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are great and the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard, i'm not going to lie, but just work hard and you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just try, I applied June 2nd and started school June 18th. It never hurts to try.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing! The Campus is amazing! It's the school of my dreams.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always there when you need them asap.

    Greek Life

    there is none

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs for chefs and bakers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The boat its fun to meet new people

    Bang for the buck

    still a very pricey school but the prestige and what you learn is just about worth it if you have the passion and desire to cook.

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, workout,study, and hang out with great people.

    Food and Dining

    you are at a culinary school everyday is filled with breathtaking dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun and very great with access to a gym and rec center its perfect.

    Academic Rigor

    Its the best you learn so much and its fun if you love what your doing. only down side is the fast paced 6 week a class schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard make and don't be afraid to ask for help everyone's there for the same thing and are happy to help.

    In three sentences

    From my first steps onto the culinary institute of America it took my breath away. it wasn't till i actually was in my classroom where i had a wow I'm actually here moment. the classes are wonderful the staff is very professional and the campus is not only beautiful but filled with tourist and many fun things to do and great people to meet.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety circulates the school all day and night to make sure nothing weird is going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    many many clubs, there are clubs for everything.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, FDR's house, Vanderbilt Mansion, Dutchess County Fair Grounds.

    Food and Dining

    Automatic two meals per day, amazing food made by fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live you will meet different type of people. There are good dorms and bad ones.

    Academic Rigor

    3 week classes, grades are very important. You need to have the skill and the determination to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be prepared, organized, and ready to work hard, -Follow all the rules and always listen to what the chef tells you. -Be prepared to be waitlisted, there are starting dates every three weeks due to how many students are attending and applying.

    In three sentences

    Best culinary school in the US. Various programs to participate in. Amazing chefs to guide you towards your goal.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Amazing restaurants with outstanding service and food.

    In three sentences

    Amazing school with a big campus. Students are very professional.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There campus security that monitors the campus 24/7. The schools have security cameras built on the inside and campus security does frequent checks around the buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are unique and builds students interest while being educational.

    Great for these types of students

    The CIA is meant for students who pursue a career in culinary or baking. Students who are proactive and passionate towards a career in this food and beverage industry will thoroughly enjoy the environment. Students who seek an opportunities on practical training will also enjoy this school. Students who seek to make a wide social network in the food and beverage industry will also enjoy this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Culinary Institute of America at Greystone is unique due the history of the campus. The building used to be a winery back in the 1950's and was converted to a school after the CIA bought the rights. The building currently standing has been mostly unchanged and has only had additions to allow the building to be an environment for teaching students on culinary.

    Bang for the buck

    The Culinary Institute of America is a non-profit organization. The programs are expensive due to the materials needed to execute a full educational experience. Although students have choices towards attending other culinary schools, the CIA is world re-known for being the best.

    What to do for fun

    The CIA offers extra curricular activities including sport and clubs. They encourage students to take their extra time to be active in the school life. Clubs at the CIA are unique because they are geared towards culinary. Specific clubs that are offered include wine, beer, mixology, Asia cuisine, and even European cuisine. The multiple campuses of the CIA each individually offer different activities due to the location. For example, the Culinary Institute of America at Greystone located in Saint Helena, California is built on an area with multiple vineyards. Students of legal age are encouraged to go wine tasting. The opportunity is fun and educational .

    Food and Dining

    The restaurants opened to the public are student ran. Customers going to the restaurant can expect students cooking their food and serving them in the front of the house. The food and dining experience are of the upmost quality and exhibits the prestigious Culinary Institute of America.

    Dorm Life

    Like any other traditional college, the dorms are co-ed. The dorm settings are relaxing and offer a range of privileges towards students. This includes a kitchen for the students use, a gym, and patio areas for relaxation. The environment is terrific for students to do their extra curricular activities, their homework assignments, and completion of their daily objectives.

    Academic Rigor

    The curricular programs the CIA offers are intense and fast paced. The academic and practical classes move quickly and therefore students must be proactive in their want to succeed. An externship is required in the program that will allow students to get hands on experience in the industry. This also means, you must have skills to acquire a job through interviews and stages(trials) in kitchen settings. The academics are challenging and are challenging to prep students to be leaders in this food and beverage industry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive toward ones education. Work hard and have good work ethic. Have a positive attitude. Learn to be a good team member. Cultivate your learning experience. Challenge yourself with the opportunities the CIA can offer. Network with your peers and faculty because they will give you the tools to be successful.

    In three sentences

    The Culinary Institute of America provides their students with practical and theoretical knowledge on the highest level of education a culinary student can receive. The CIA is a prestigious culinary school of the finest, geared towards teaching their students to be leaders in the food and beverage industry. It is a fantastic school that is meant for anyone interested in pursuing a culinary career.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek life :(

    Clubs and Activities

    There are waaaaay more clubs and activities than I expected there to be

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, ambitious students who are very serious about a career in the food industry

    Bang for the buck

    I couldn't even dream up a better school for culinary arts/baking and pastry. It's got a great reputation and from what I can tell, it lives up to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as much research as you can and don't be afraid to pester them with emails ;) they are there to help you!

    In three sentences

    Such a helpful and friendly admissions team that has helped me through the entire application process. I love that I got a phone call acceptance before the letter came in. The facebook group for my term is full of friendly and excited students-to-be.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs around campus that promote fun based around the culinary environment on top of getting close with the classmates a lot more intimately. The sports and recreation centers are also very reliable for when you want to stay fit, active, and fun. There are also more centers being built on campus to promote more involvement in media and technology towards food to benefit the students also.

    Food and Dining

    It's a Culinary school, one of the best in the world, so of course the food and dining is top notch. The students and adults working in the restaurants on-campus are all so talented. You will get nothing but the best from here, I promise.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student, but dorm life is very comfortable as I've heard, with minor issues overall.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is very grueling and tough, most people keep a serious look because of what they have to focus. All the hours of kitchen time, testing, and workload is not easy, but it's all about the next step. Pushing forward is what you should mainly focus on, and the better outcome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what's best for you, but if you're not passionate about this, don't put yourself into it. It's tough, but the work is what pays off the most in the end. Just stay motivated to move forward, all the doors that can open for you are endless.

    In three sentences

    The best school I could've ever dreamed of attending to pursue my passion. They're amazing, knowledgeable, and starting from the basics up in their curriculum makes them that much better. The degree and integrity in their credentials can get you anywhere, and I'm glad that I can be an alumni on this astonishing campus.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Are da bomb! We bring them food if we have leftovers after class. They live in a little diner (yes, a diner) behind Roth. They'll come get you and drive you to your dorm if it's late and you have to park (our parking lot is a mile from the dorms). Overall, they're pretty chill old guys.

    Great for these types of students

    People who really want to learn and hope to open their own business/work hard one day. THIS IS NOT LIKE COLLEGE; I felt duped when all my friends were going to frat parties, pledging, and pulling pranks. I used to party, but this atmosphere doesn't allow that. It's a lot of learning and growing up, quick. No parties or lecture hall classes here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Apparently, if you run into the foutain in Anton plaza, it's 3 demerits; getting out of it is an additional 3.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems overpriced, but you're given such valuable resources (the Chefs are real talent, and the Library is chock-full of information). If you don't take advantage and actively learn, it's such a waste of money.

    What to do for fun

    Poughkeepsie is only 10 minutes away, however we only go to the hookah bar in town. The town is super sketchy other than that. 20 minutes north is a cute town called Rhinebeck thats fun to walk around, and they have farmers markets every weekend during the summer. The city is an hour and a half away by train, and most kids go every couple of weekends. It's pretty dead on the weekends other than that (not a great party scene). I like to go hiking in the Catskills, which are an hour north.

    Food and Dining

    Your food is prepared by students in the high-volume kitchens. We have American, Medeterranian, Asian, and Banquets to name a few of your options. The food is pretty great.

    Dorm Life

    Get ready to live next to a 40 year old, a 30 year old from Asia who speaks no english, some giggly 18 year old girls and 26 year olds who think they're cool. You can upgrade to the Lodges or townhouses, but you don't spend a lot of time getting to know the people in your hall. People come and go every 3 weeks (get ready for no parking during move-in week, too!)

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty chill. I came from a pretty hard high school and took multiple AP classes. The AOS classes are a breeze (College Writing, Culinary Math) but I don't know how the BPS classes are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with someone from an earlier start date; there are lots of things orentation doesn't tell you, like how to get around Roth, where the bathrooms are, where the mail room is, and all the secret shortcut doors so you don't have to always use the main entrance.

    In three sentences

    Your class days are really long, yet rewarding. The staff is wonderful and their knowledge is priceless if you apply yourself. A great career center gives you so much confidence for jobs after you graduate.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are there...but are usually hassling someone more than providing safety. If old men in golf carts make you feel safe, this is the place for you!

    Greek Life

    Not a participant.

    Clubs and Activities

    Who has time?

    Great for these types of students

    Studious & talented. If you can't hunker down you will not go well here. Also, if your parents take card of everything for you, you won't do well. They expect 18 year old adults here, not kids leaving home that probably don't know how it all works.

    Bang for the buck

    It's A LOT of $$ and you will lay out even more in unexpected expenses. The 2 year program is sufficient for those starting out (as has been stated by many visiting speakers) Attend a local culinary program first to see if this is an investment you truly want to make. Getting Aid from CIA is not easy and they aren't as helpful as your HS Guidance probably was with helping you in the process.

    What to do for fun

    Shopping...walks...exercise in the rec area...attend sporting events...trips. It's what you make of what is bring offered.

    Food and Dining

    It IS the premier culinary school...the food is amazing. However, that being said, expect your freshman 15 to be more like your freshman 30. Also, just because they offer breakfast for free (nothing is free when you're spending $42K to go to college) doesn't mean your schedule will permit you to take advantage of it.

    Dorm Life

    It's a crap-shoot! My roommate this year was pretty good, but the first one I was matched with would have been horrendous. It's hard to focus sometimes, especially if you are at different places in your studies/schedules due to varied start dates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not easy. You must study and learn the academic portion as much as the hands-on practical things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to those currently attending. It is a wonderful experience, but it isn't like a regular college. It is rigorous and they are preparing you for this field in the most realistic way.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous. The learning experience is one of the finest offered in America. Being a student here can be just as hard as being in boot camp.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have police on campus

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is expensive, but the education that you get out of it is defiantly worth it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely amazing and the student meal plan is made by students.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshmen dorms are small and sorta dark, but the upperclassmen dorms are a lot larger and nicer

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to one of the 3 restaurans on campus or the Apple Pie bakery because they are delicious!

    In three sentences

    Just got back from visiting the school and it was Amazing! The students and staff are really nice and the Students are determined to get their diplomas. The tuition is a little spendy but it will be worth it in the end.