Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cumberland County College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus, which gives a sense of security. There are also student security guards who walk around campus, along with actual security. It makes you feel safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities at Cumberland County College! And even if you can't find one you like, you can make your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Cumberland is great for students just starting out their college experience. It is a small campus with great teachers. Close to home, students won't be too overwhelmed with a whole new-life experience and will be able to concentrate on educational success. It is also great for people who are returning to school, either to further a degree or just increase their knowledge!

    Bang for the buck

    Cumberland is very affordable, and there are many scholarships that the school can help you get in touch with.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs, organizations, and sports teams to get involved in at Cumberland County College. The best part it, if you can't find a club to fit your needs you can make your own! Simply go to Student Life and they will help you set up your own club.

    Food and Dining

    If you need a meal or just a quick snack, head to the cafeteria! There are great chefs there to make you pancakes, sandwiches, and even meatloaf if you have evening classes!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, but campus itself is very clean and well-organized.

    Academic Rigor

    Whether taking basic education courses or working towards a degree, the classes at Cumberland County College are well taught and definitely get you the knowledge needed and required. Also, if a student ever needs help with academics, there are many options provided by the college to get the help needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cumberland County College is so easy to apply to, and there are many friendly people to help you every step of the way. Advisers were the biggest help for me, so make sure you have good contact with your adviser to get all the advice and tips you can! Don't get overwhelmed, Cumberland is a very relaxed community where you can always get help.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland County College is a small, close-knit school where you can learn the necessities to succeed towards your degree. The teachers are very friendly and always willing to help, and there are many other opportunities (like open labs, counselors, and tutoring) to get students whatever help they may need to be successful. Close to home, this is a great place to either begin your education, or go back to school!

  • 02/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Cumberland County College is great for students looking to save some money, improve their GPA and learn more about their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips that I would give to prospective students would be one: sell your books back online. The college bookstore buys back your books for a third of the price you bought them for. Example: Microbiology book cost about $200. College buy-back: $30. Sounds crazy right? My other tip would be to register for classes as soon as possible, especially for those seeking science classes. These classes fill up quickly and if you want a seat, you have to register FAST!

    Bang for the buck

    Starting out in a community college is amazing for saving cash. I have paid around $2000 a semester including books (which can get expensive!). The universities that offer bachelors degrees can be up to five digits or more in one semester. I would be paying that five digit number for four years? That is going to add up! I decided to start out at a community college and spend about $4000 a year for four years, and then transfer to a four-year institution. This way I get the same education for the first two years, and then transfer and finish up my degree.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being here at Cumberland County College. This school is great for getting my foot in the door of college life and learn how to study. I wouldn't say I have gained much socialization, but I have made a few great friends. I say that I don't socialize much because I drive back and forth to school. When I am not at class, I come home or I visit with my old friends from high school. I never really want to stay at the school if I don't need to.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much at Cumberland County College. Not only did I save myself money by starting my college process here, but the professors and staff have helped me along the way. The two years that I have spent at CCC has taught me how to be a good student and I have also learned more about what it takes to get into the nursing program. I came to this school in the fall of 2009 expecting to get into the nursing program a year later (according to my advisors). What I learned later was that this program wanted students to finish all their pre-requisite classes before being considered applying for the nursing program, which is about two years. Then, the program itself is two years. So, I found out that I was going to be spending four years at a community college earning an associates degree? That is how long it takes to earn a bachelors degree! I decided to transfer by the end of two years and finish all the bulk core classes. This decision is turning out to be a good one, because not only did I learn about nursing programs, stimulate my mind with multiple classes, but I also saved money. (See Bang for the buck). The professors are great, especially in my microbiology class. This professor took the time to actually teach us and made sure that we understood what he was talking about. He even gave us multiple opportunities to succeed. What I mean by this is that he had us use Blackboard to find a one page review worksheet. This page had a few short-answer questions which were going to be on the test. If you figured out what you were going to write about ahead of time, how could you fail!

  • 08/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are many great programs at CCC. Some of the major programs are: nursing, criminal justice, arts, and agriculture. Whatever major you are, I'm confident that Cumberland County College will provide you with a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the college and ask around. Everyone has different tastes in schools so, you really have to explore the college for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it is a community college, it is pretty inexpensive compared to universities. I am a full time student so, I usually take 15-16 credits each semester and the price is great. Of coarse, there are plenty of fees that go along with tuition but, that's every college/university.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is really nice at Cumberland County College. The people are nice and they are always trying to help you. The staff and the teachers really care about your experience at the college. It's a very relaxing environment, even around finals!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot about my major. I hadn't realized how many components went into building a career in graphic design. Not only am I learning about my major, I am also learning a lot about myself. I never knew that I had an actual talent of drawing until I took my Fundamentals of Drawing class. I have gained confidence in myself when others have doubted me and, my teachers have shown me that.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always outside.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything and anything

    Great for these types of students

    Financially unstable Looking for a small start

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it if you have a School Counts or NJ Stars scholarship!

    What to do for fun

    Events are held and there are shopping centers around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Mall nearby! Food in cafe isn't too shabby though!

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    Average.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good for a start. Waste of time if you don't live in the area.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a small campus with much diversity. Professors are friendly and helpful. Technology could use a boost and update.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student looking to save a little money before transferring to a 4 year college. With the rising price of colleges/universities, this is a great way to lower costs, especially if you are paying for college on your own.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at the college. If you are involved with the school, then you will not have a problem at this school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. The cafeteria needs to have more healthy choices on the menu.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life at a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is not too much but it also depends on your career choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip that I will give to any student thinking of Cumberland County College is to get an adviser as soon as you walk onto the campus. I did not do that and I am now taking courses that I should have taken 2 years ago. An adviser is the one of the main keys to having a successful college career.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland County College provides students the tools that they will need to go onto a 4 year college. The school is great for getting your prereqs. done at a less expensive price. Overall, Cumberland County College is a great way to get an education that does not cost a fortune.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is okay. not spectacular but its school food.

    Tips for prospective students

    the online classes will help anyone out with a hectic schedule. don't slack off your first year.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good safety, the whole campus is lit up at night and there is always a building nearby. They even have emergency boxes in the parking lot so if you were ever being confronted out there you could press the button on the box and help would be sent. Security personnel drive thoughout the parking lots. I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    no greek life. However it does offer some other sororities/honor societies, including Phi Theta Kappa (honors students), Kappa Delta Phi (honor society for future teachers) and others. These groups have meetings and ceremonies together, which really makes you feel like part of a small community.

    Clubs and Activities

    I especially enjoyed fencing, a sport that requires teamwork, focus, and practice. It was a great way to let off energy after long college classes, and was also great exercise while still being fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students ready to jump into a college career with ease, and very welcoming to fresh-out-of-highschool students. This college also has a good deal of adult students returning to college or going for the first time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none really.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money, a great place for people to start off their education. The classes are challenging and interesting and will keep most students interested in coming to at least a few classes daily purely for learning something new.

    What to do for fun

    There are some things the college provides for fun activities. One of my favorite things to do is to go to the fine and performing arts events. I have seen a few plays performed by actors at the college and was very impressed. There were also a few concerts (classical music) at the college for those who enjoy a refined art form. The college also offers magic shows, guest speakers, and fairs outside. Each month has different events planned and several options for students to choose from if they want something fun and inexpensive to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty tasty here. They offer several different meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They have a lot of healthy choices, including salads, fruits, and juices. The food can get pretty pricy, and sometimes hot foods can get cold/greasy from being left out. Overall a good food rating though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life: it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the classes here are challenging (in a good way) and the teachers will push you to be creative and think outside of the box. If you are going to this college you need to have good studying and time management skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay on top of your grades, and if you need help be sure to ask. Most teachers will give you extra help if you need it. CCC even has a success center which offers FREE tutoring for students who need it. This college also has a lot of events going on, so be sure to check the website and ask around about what's going on.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland County College is a great college with a lot to offer,especially for students who are fresh out of high school or going back to college for the first time in years. The staff and students are warm and welcoming, and glad to help any newcomers into the college. This is a great college, especially for students who are nervous about starting.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to discuss your academic future with your guidance councilor.

    In three sentences

    Very good college. It is very easy to apply for and to choose classes. The online classes are very convenient.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really big there. with all of the shooting and things happening we have really good campus security. who helps you as well as protects us all day every day.

    Greek Life

    No greek life. It does have honor society and things of that nature.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Cumberland County they have over 50 different clubs and activities. Like student government, multicultural club. With multi cultural club being one of the biggest ones on campus with activities like taking trips to different countries, doing fundraisers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be at a campus near by and who wants to stay close to home. For any type of students with any GPA. For students who wants to get there first two year classes out of the way for cheap. Transfer students For overall a student who wants success.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost to go there is very low. Its very affordable for anyone. Transferring students everyone.

    What to do for fun

    It is a community college so basically some of the people and friends from high school are going there. We hang out in the gym, go to the mall and to the movies. Or you can hang around in the library or the computer lab and get some work done.

    Food and Dining

    The dineing area is really nice with students who to the school cooking and working in the kitchen. With some of the most nices and best cheffs in cumberland county. With the best philly cheese steak around.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms county college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very good academic school. With kids every year graduating with honers, deans list and much more. they give you a chance to succeed if you want to. Has very good academic programs/ degrees. Like the degree I'm taking Nuclear Technology in ties with the Salem Power Plant. It has me take my classes that I need for that degree then the second year I'm taking classes and working there. Have hands on classes to that actually teaches you and lets you do it also. Like for example in my freshman seminar class we just finished reading who moved my cheese which was about change and adapting to it. We were assigned in different groups and had to be a character and react to a situation how they would have. in doing that more people actually understood the dynamics of the character and the story.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go there be committed, dedicated to your studies. Get to know your professors , ask for help if you need it. Never feel discouraged because it will hold you back.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland County College is a really good school for any tyoe of student, person and it is very affordable. Also for students who didint do so well in high school and wants to improve there GPA.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early so you will be able to find your class especially to find parking.

    In three sentences

    My first day has not yet started here but I am eager to begin. I have found that if i have any questions regarding class, parking, books, tutoring, etc. they are answered promptly and in depth. I have even learned that most teachers offer help to there students if they are asked for it.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a few sports to participate in and plenty of clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice cafeteria with good food to eat during your break between classes.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms its a community college so you live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers only care if you do. If you miss four days you fail that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get to class on time. Talk to the professors, communication is key.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice quiet place. Lots of friendly faces. Nice teachers.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to go away just yet, but still want a real college experience

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great way to start when you don't have a lot of money for college.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and sports on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Most of the food is good, except some of the fried food is really greasy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's harder then you think it would be. The teachers are, for the most part, great teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would make sure you get all of your books used and early, it's very hard to find books that are cheap.

    In three sentences

    It is a good starting off point for college. I was very nervous about going away, so I am happy I decided to start off at a community college. It's giving me a college experience without me going to far from my comfort zone.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around due to the small size of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    African American Club Hispanic Heritage Club Paintball Club etc.

    Great for these types of students

    The students as well as staff are very diversified. Cumberland County is great for all types of students, making everyone feel comfortable.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are not very expensive and teachers are thorough, they ensure that the student learns the information pertaining to each course.

    What to do for fun

    Every so often the college itself has events for students to attend like outdoor festivities of many sorts. It is also home to a great variety of clubs and activities, even giving students the opportunity to create their own.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers and all the Cumberland County College faculty are going to do their best to help you. Be sure to make an effort to work along with them to further your education.

    In three sentences

    Regardless as to what many may think Cumberland County College has a very close environment. Since the campus is small most professors know and interact often with one another. The professors, advisers and administration are greatly involved with the student population and make an effort to help us in any way possible.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus i feel perfectly safe at.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs, but they are very well advertised.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low, but books are pricey. Also the bookstore is really strict on returning items.

    What to do for fun

    The Fall Fest is fun, but other than that there is really nothing.

    Food and Dining

    The breakfast is really good, but i don't have to time to eat there for lunch so I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is really easy, depending on what teacher you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Id advise you not take Olivero for science. Classes are really easy, and college to me is easier than high school.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland County College isn't as bad as people make it out to be as. The professors are great, and the classroom size is perfect. There isn't much to do on campus.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Love the clubs and activities. Each one of them make you feel comfortable.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun, is go to the library to read books and meet up with friends to catch up.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Follow Directions! -Study! -Do Your Classwork/Homework!

    In three sentences

    Love the school. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Easy around campus.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit parking lots and emergency phones located throughout.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for professionals and adults returning to school.

    Food and Dining

    Nice cafertria that even has Wawa supplied coffees!

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus with a University feel. Great teachers that truly want you to learn and succeed. The availability of online classes as well as the University building to further your education with partnering Universities is outstanding!

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am not sure what to do for fun yet. This will be my first semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe looks clean. I have not eaten there yet.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms...yet. I heard they are going to build them in the near future.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes will be tough but I am up for the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and don't be afraid to say hi. You just might make a new friend.

    In three sentences

    I really like that it is not a huge institution and the campus is easy to move around. Signing up for my classes was quick and easy. I will be able to get my 4 year degree at CCC also because of the partnerships that are on campus.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always on call.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a two-year degree, and aren't able to afford a 4-year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Its inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    There is a local mall and there is a stage where performances happen.

    Food and Dining

    Small Cafe. Not the healthiest choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your work and don't slack off.

    In three sentences

    It has good opportunities. There are great people here. The professors really try to help out as much as they can.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Baseball is one of the best up and coming programs around

    Food and Dining

    I cant rate there food I mostly brought my lunch

    Dorm Life

    lived at home

    Academic Rigor

    bio and algebra was very challenging for me

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to your deadlines if your out of county charge back forms stay on top your emails

    In three sentences

    CCC has a great baseball coaching staff. The academic advisors are wonderful and knowledgeable. The books are very expensive but there are other alternitives such as renting.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no cameras so make sure you lock your car and watch your things. Things get stolen from cars too often and no cameras to see it happen.

    What to do for fun

    I love the amount of clubs!!!! If there is no club that you are interested in and have a idea for a new one all you need to do is get some people together and start one. Aside from some people all you need is a teacher adviser and BAM!!! a new school club!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is ok, a bit pricey. The local mall is within short driving distance so that's a plus, if you like more food options.

    Dorm Life

    Cumberland County College has no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around to make sure you choose the right professor for the class you pick. Most students are very open and honest on what professors they like and don't like.

    In three sentences

    Being a county college its very affordable. The campus is very nice looking. The quality of learning is very very good.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I play basketball for the school.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of foods there.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt at danger and security is always cruising! The only negative is that there's not heightened security during night classes

    Clubs and Activities

    Wow! The clubs are amazing and comprise of great people! They have everything from an LGBTQIA* club to a Fencing Club!

    Great for these types of students

    intellectuals with not that much money pre-4 year students to get basics out of the way sports people

    Bang for the buck

    I would definitely recommend joining the leadership program just to maximize your experience! You will get to meet so many new people and possibly even find a future job!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and sports to join! There's always card games in the cafe and someone kicking a ball in the field!

    Food and Dining

    The food is subpar but hey that's college life

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really take their classes seriously and teach what the students need, not necessarily straight from the textbook. There's real life application so you're not just filling in answer bubbles.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend taking courses that pique your interests and find what professors teach the classes best. Join as many clubs as you are able, but be warned most of them meet at the same time so you may have to budget your time.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland County College is so much more than just your run of the mill community college. It really puts its students first and has many opportunities for every path of life there. Their affiliate colleges really enhance the experience, and all just down the road!