Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Cumberland University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/23/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a smaller school

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for scholarships, aid, ANY kind of help

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Come to a Dawg Days and for an overnight visit if you are an athlete. 'Living' the life of the college students will definitely let you know if it was right for you! We hope to see you at CU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! The more you go out and meet people, the more enjoyable your college experience will be.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but Beatrice and the other financial aid helpers will definitely do all they can to make it affordable to attend here. Most students here are on scholarships or financial aid. There are always things to get involved in that provide scholarships as well. Definitely worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    The 'home away from home' feel is exactly what this school brings to a student, especially one who is far from home like I am. There is always something to get involved in and it is nice to know every person at your school. It makes you feel safe.

    Am learning a lot

    If you plan on attending all four years, you will make friendships and relationships with your professors who all know you by name and really do want you to be the best you can be. Every professor is looking out for your best interest. One of our professors used to work for NASA, several have traveled all over the world, and all are amazing professors.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security guards are always present on campus looking out for us. we also have red emergency pillars all over the school that allow you to make a call to security or the local police if you are in trouble.

    Clubs and Activities

    the international student organization is always holding events, such as a talent show (with $ prizes), dance class (salsa and break dancing), and other fun events. our baptist collegiate ministries holds a free lunch/bible study every tuesday as well as ping pong night and prayer meetings during the week.

    Great for these types of students

    our nursing program is one of the best in the country and any students looking to be a nurse should definitely look into cumberland university!!

    What to do for fun

    monday nights are trivial night at cu where you can earn money prizes for knowing random facts. every other tuesday night, our local roxy theater has movie night for cu students: $3.50 for movie, popcorn and a drink. can't beat that. on wednesdays nights our local bowling alley has $1 bowling. thursday and friday nightscu often has some event or special guess come to campus (concert, sporting event, comedian, plays, dance classes, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    the phillips dinning hall is a beautiful facility!! the food is buffet style, so there is something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    cu just built a brand new residence hall, with key card access, wifi, cable, laundry and over all a comfortable environment. every floor has an ra who is there to help the students with any problems they may have. the residence life office is always extremely helpful and ready to serve the students.

    Academic Rigor

    cumberland university is challenging academically, but because you have access to tutoring, professors office hours and small classroom size, those who work hard have little trouble making very good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to a preview day so you can get a tour of the campus and talk to current students about their experience at cu. don't be afraid to ask lots of questions!!!

    In three sentences

    cumberland university treats you like a person, not just a number. it is a beautiful campus with lots to do. because it is a small school, the professors at cumberland are able to help students individually and on a personal level.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those looking for a smaller school where teachers know you on a personal level.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have ever only heard of one incident on campus but it was minor with no injuries.

    Greek Life

    greek life at cumberland may be small but it is such an experience! the people and the philanthropy are not things to be passed up.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are numerous clubs to join, and activities taking place all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    cumberland offers something for everyone. however, cumberland's nursing school is phenomenal.

    Bang for the buck

    being a private liberal arts college cumberland is expensive. however, they are so helpful when it comes to financial aid. cumberland is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    the student programming board on campus offers a variety of activities for students all the time. the university offers greek life. attending the plays, musicals, and concerts are also a fun thing to do on campus. cumberland is also a very sports orientated school, so participating in the crowd at games is enthralling.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are planning on transferring any time during college, cumberland university is not a good choice. credits are often hard to transfer.

    In three sentences

    cumberland university offers a very encouraging and prosperous collegiate atmosphere. the university's staff is helpful and competent. overall cumberland university is an excellent place to pursue an education.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    academic achievers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the softball team is the bomb, make sure to come out for a game.

    What to do for fun

    go to the gym or watch some games.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your homework and find the right college for you. practice time management this can be tougher than the actual class you are taking.

    In three sentences

    i am just a freshman but so far my experiences have been great. i love the small campus and great professors. i am looking forward to the next few years of college life.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is constantly monitored, but I think security could do a better job.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and orgs to be a part of. We have the best events thanks to all the club and org members.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging, but the professors do everything they can to prepare us for the future.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland University has, I think, the best faculty and staff. They answer every question you have and do it to the best of their ability. Cumberland is a 10 on my scale, best choice of schooling for me.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent Campus Security! They are very protective of our campus. Many of the security officers will even give you their number so if in case you need a go-cart ride home, they will be happy to assist you.

    What to do for fun

    Like I've said before Cumberland is a small campus with very friendly people. If there is a party you will most likely get invited to it. We also have a local bar 7 mins( (walking distance) from Campus that holds many College nights and even a CU night. There is also a Movie theater in which every other Tuesday is CU Movie night. All CU students get in for free. There is also a huge outlet mall 10 mins. from school. Camp sites and river 20 mins. Lebanon may be small, but there are tons to do!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has a very wide selections of food. From the well rounded salad bar to our on the grill stations, as well as a very equipt desert station. But if your feeling like getting a sud or a pizza, The Bistro is the place to go. Using your Flex Dollars will get you a pizza, energy drink, and cookies!

    Dorm Life

    If its your first time away from home, no worries all of our RA's are very kind. They will help you cope with being homesick, be there when you need a friend, teach you everything you need to know about campus. Dorms are very spacious, especially the new building. The commons are like living in a town home. Living on campus will also reassure you that you'll never be late for class. The main buildings are 3 mins away.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like at any college classes are hard, but at Cumberland we have a big advantage that instead of just being a number in a sea of students, you have a name. Teachers know you on a personal level, which in return helps big time when you are running a little late for class or turning in a paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and a huge smile on your face. Everyone at Cumberland is beyond nice. You will meet people from all over the world and every kind of background. The biggest thing is to get involved! Cumberland offers many different ways for their students to get involved. They have music and art clubs, as well as theater and choir. Every kind of sport is also offered here. National Champs in Baseball. We also have many sororities and fraternities. Basically Cumberland University is all around a big family, that will welcome you with open arms and cookies. :)

    In three sentences

    Best school in the Middle Tennessee area that has small classes, high educational standards, and a friendly atmosphere. The professors at Cumberland will go the extra 20 miles to help you with anything, let that be in and out of the class room. The Athletic Department is by far the strongest and most diverse in the area.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security pods all throughout the campus and all you do is push a button and security will be there in a matter of seconds. They say its only been pushed once and thats when they were testing them.

    Greek Life

    They have all of that but im not too interested in it so i dont have much info on that.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the students talked about Intermural sports. It apparently has alot of competition and is alot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really. Some one who is athletic, because majority of people at this school are athlete.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When you arrive you will be able to see a clock tower looking over the whole campus. I think it looks awesome and also adds a personality to the college.

    What to do for fun

    Since it sits within the city of Lebanon, there are numerous restauraunts, movie theaters, stores, and places to go to have fun. There is also a train that you can take to go directly to Downtown Nashville.

    In three sentences

    It is very clean. It has a relaxing feel to it. Its very safe and helpful, all the students are real nice and helpful.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrol campus 24 hours a day. Always a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    The great life is awful. It is basically non existant.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and nursing majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Battle of I-40 Trevecca game is a great fun tradition!

    Bang for the buck

    As much as Cumberland costs, you would think that things would be much more up to date!

    What to do for fun

    The best thing that everyone loves is the $3.50 movie night every other Tuesday at the Roxy movie theatre. You get your ticket, and unlimited drink and popcorn all for $3.50!

    Food and Dining

    The dining is really good at first, but it gets old after a while. Also, they do not have a lot of options on campus. Like most schools have several places to choose from including fast food, Cumberland doesn't have any.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms could be better. The freshman aren't that great, the commons need to be redone, but the new dorms are very nice. If they would go through and update them, they would be a great place to live!

    Academic Rigor

    Your teachers definitely push you to be the person you are meant to be. They help you on a personal level and will do anything to help you pass without just pushing you through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into it to make sure you really want to go here. If you are going for a sport, look into the sport every way possible. Go to a game, practice, and talk to the team. Cumberland is a great place for athletes, drama, and everyone else. Everyone there loves it and feels like it is their home. away from home.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland University is a small school full of athletes. Everyone takes the time to get to know you, and your teachers make sure to have a one on one relationship with you. If you are struggling financially, go to the Financial Aid Department and they will help you in any way they can.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on this campus is amazing!!!! In the 2 years I have been attending, there has not been one incident. There are emergency phones ll over the entire campus and Campus Patrol 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an active member of our Campus's Christian based association. We have a free lunch every Wednesday and we do prayer and worship afterwards.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is especially great for athletes, Nursing students, and Business majors.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as tuition goes, you cannot beat the price you get to attend college at this level. Especially since you get one-on-one time and free tutoring from teachers and torturers.

    What to do for fun

    On campus they are always doing something to keep students involved outside of the classroom setting. They have drive-in movie night on the courtyard area on campus. Also they will have different events depending on what time of year it is. For instance, they had a giant picnic in the Spring and had live music playing. They also had different activities to participate in like: Frisbee, Corn Hole, Horse Shoe, and planting your own flowers in a small pot to take home.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has amazing food and many different selections of cuisine. We also have a Subway and a Starbucks on campus. Also, the college will have local fast food or restaurants cater food on campus. Needless to say, the food and dining is great!!!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but I have several friends that do and they absolutely love living on campus. I have seen the rooms to the old and new buildings and they are both spacious and accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at this school truly depends on the instructor and what degree you are seeking. I am currently a nursing intent student and my academic rigor has been a steady incline as I get further along. As long as you are dedicated to succeeding, you will do great! Just remember, if you fail a course, ask for help and re-take the class with the same instructor. Never give up!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students is that they should know that they are entering a school that is growing and expanding at this current time. So the best thing for commuters is to be early for classes so that you can find legal parking spots. On the other hand if you are student that is going to live on campus, they have just built brand new dorms, so you will have an amazing living space.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Cumberland University because you get to experience college as if it were a large University, like MTSU, or UT. On the other end of the spectrum, the college has a very small town appeal, so you always feel safe. Also, another great thing about Cumberland is that you get that one-on-one time from your instructors that you really deserve and need, while attending college.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security has an email and text alert system in place as well as regular patrols.

    Great for these types of students

    I am a non-traditional student, and my experience thus far has been more pleasant than I was expecting.

    What to do for fun

    Attend campus events. This is a great way to meet new people with similar interests.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own food or eat off campus, so I have no input for this.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, so I have no input for this.

    Academic Rigor

    Be assured, when you receive your diploma, there will be no doubt that you earned it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in some kind of activity with fellow students. Whether it be a study group, or a scheduled regular outing (movies, dinners, games, ect.), this will help keep you from getting burned out or feeling overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    The staff/faculty have been especially helpful through every process. Professors have offered a great deal of encouragement, particularly at stressful times such as mid-terms and finals. Professors are easy to talk to and class sizes are not too big.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always patrolling campus day and night. And they are also pretty cool people. Everyone feels pretty safe.

    What to do for fun

    There's a movie night at the local theatre for CU students. On Monday nights there's trivia and also once a month there is a video game tournament.

    Food and Dining

    Let's face it, cafeteria food has its good days and bad days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty cool. They are a lot bigger than most

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging enough to where you still have a lot of work but if you keep on it you will have free times.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that is smaller and close knit this would be it. Even if you don't think that you will fit in there's always something going on; so finding a group won't be as hard as you think.

    In three sentences

    It is a very athletic centered college, but also is very academic. The staff and professors who work here are very friendly, and actually work to keep students happy instead of just taking a complaint and doing nothing with it. Over all Cumberland is like a giant family and welcoming.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have literally never felt unsafe on this campus. I've walked across it at 4:30am and wasn't scared.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Cumberland is pretty small, yet involved. The Greeks seem to share a close-knit bond and do a lot of community service and other projects around the university.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a school its size, Cumberland has a lot of activities. I am currently involved in band, percussion ensemble, the math club, one of the choirs, Pride Alliance, and I also write for the school newspaper. There is a bowling team, a Student Programming Board, a pretty active Greek Life, and many others. It's very easy to get involved and there are often flyers around campus and emails to let you know when these clubs are meeting. They're always open to new members!

    Great for these types of students

    Cumberland is great for any type of student, unless they don't have your major/area of study. It's phenomenal for athletes and nurses and isn't too bad for fine arts studies. It's easy to make friends and pretty easy to find people who are into what you're also into. I'm not too into partying, yet I know who to call if I want to go to one.

    Bang for the buck

    Cumberland is very expensive, but I honestly believe I am getting my money's worth. I just completed my first year here and I am now taking summer classes and I am very, very happy here. I love the small environment and how easy it is to make friends. Most of the people I have met are very friendly, warm, and accepting (and I say this as a person who has difficulty fitting in sometimes). The teachers truly care about their students and want to see them succeed. When a teacher says, I hope all of you make As I don't think they're blowing smoke; they actually seem sincere.

    What to do for fun

    Let's be real, there's not a lot to do in Lebanon. There is a movie theatre, and every other Tuesday they offer a $3.50 movie deal for Cumberland students. Throughout the school year, Cumberland students get a free membership to one of the gyms, the Jimmy Floyd. There is a park and a small outlet mall as well. Usually for me, that's enough, but if it's not enough for you or if I'm looking for something else, I'll go to Nashville, where there's always something going on. Nashville is roughly 25 minutes away from campus (depending on how fast you drive!).

    Food and Dining

    So there's not a lot of food on campus, but what we do have is pretty good in my opinion. We have a cafeteria which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a buffet-style format. The menu is always posted online or outside the cafe, so it's not like you'll swipe your card and end up hating everything there. There is a soup/salad bar and a dessert table as well. I am not a picky eater so there's generally something I will enjoy. There is also the bistro, which serves pizza and sandwiches. We also have a kiosk which serves Starbucks Coffee and has little stuff like wraps, fruit, yogurt and granola, cookies, chips, candy bars, bottled drinks, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms aren't that great, but once you're past that they get much better. A lot of the time, there will be an option to buy-out a private room if there are extra rooms available. But the freshman dorms are pretty good for making friends and meeting people because that's what everyone is open to. The RAs are pretty laid-back but not totally lax. Once you're past that, there are two other options for dorm life: The Commons and South Hall. The Commons are six-person suites and you get a private bedroom and you only share a bathroom with one other person. The rooms are small, but the privacy is totally worth it to me! In South Hall, you have three other suitemates, one of whom shares a room with you. The four of you share a bathroom. They were just opened in Fall of 2012 and they are NICE.

    Academic Rigor

    Cumberland takes academics very seriously but is laid-back at the same time. The teachers, from what I have experienced, are mostly nice and truly want you to succeed. The good thing about Cumberland is most teachers are easily accessible in their offices. If you're a mathematics/science student like I am, this is ESSENTIAL to success. The teachers can be tough but not overbearing and they are always fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus! The freshman dorms are rough but it's the key to making friends. Don't be afraid to get involved! There are a lot of good scholarships available for getting involved in fine arts and/or athletics. Cumberland offers good academic scholarships as well.

    In three sentences

    Small but fun.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security workers are sweet people, they move a little slow sometimes, but they do their jobs. They could definitely work on being quicker, but overall I feel pretty safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    A lot of students join the frats, or the one sorority. From what I've heard they are great programs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs that offer various activities to engage in. There are also various campus activities the ResLife puts together that can be really fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is mainly athletes, but it also has some locals as well as some international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people go to the local bar on the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    This small town school gives students an amazing opportunity to pursue their academic dreams. New facilities have just been built to provide a safe place for students to study, as well as a new dorm building. This school is filled with history, but is continuing to expand.

    What to do for fun

    Cumberland gives plenty of opportunities/specials to stay involved on campus. There are many different clubs to join which is fun in itself. This past year I was able to participate in various on and off campus activities: six flags trip, various sporting events, movie night (movie, drink and popcorn for $3.50), maggie moo discount, water balloon fights, and so much more. Don't forget that Nashville is about 30/45 minutes away!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe could use some variety, and maybe a little less butter/bacon in everything. The bistro is saving grace in times like that, but pizza and subs do get kind of old after a while.

    Dorm Life

    South Hall and Commons are amazing!!! JP and EP not so much because they are a little older. Living situation isn't so bad, spending my college career in a dorm and I'm perfectly fine with it.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors that actually care and want their students to succeed. Of course there are a few that not one student wants, but what school doesn't have that? If you take the time to ask questions, they will answer. Awesome nursing program as well as education department.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on staying in the dorms, try to either get into South Hall or Commons. Don't count on the cafe to always have what your stomach is looking for, so be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Small town school with big time sports. The school is mainly filled with athletes, but there is no shortage in diversity. Cumberland has professors that take the time to help you as long as you ask, they want you to succeed!

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    A few fraternities and sororities, no major ones.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, determined, and prefer a small campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Cumberland is expensive and for the amount of tuition, the campus could be updated and tweaked a little.

    What to do for fun

    During the day you can engage in sports or fun activities with your teammates. Cumberland has ice cream and movie night. There is not much to do at night, if you want to hang out and have fun you will have to drive 35 minutes to downtown Nashville.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and a Papa Johns on campus. Cumberland is surrounded by all the main fast food places and plenty of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed on campus so I can not say much about the dorms. I can see that the dorms have been newly renovated and looks nice. The students that stay on campus do not have any problems.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict in the academic area. If you do not keep your grades up they will not hesitate to let you go from the program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up to part and be ready to dedicate yourself to your studies.

    In three sentences

    Cumberland expects the best from their students and they are pretty strict in that area. If you do not make good grades, they will not hesitate to expell you from a program.