Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Cypress College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -undecided about careers -mediocre high school kids in need of a second chance to shine -smart kids who wanna save $$ and get a great education! -everyonee :)

    Tips for prospective students

    -apply for financial aid early. -plan ahead for parking -get an AS benefits sticker on your id card and take advantage of the activities building on your free time between classes

    Bang for the buck

    They have an easy online application that determines if you're qualified for the Board of Governors (BOG) California fee waiver that covers up to $700 of your credits per semester that is shorter than the fafsa application

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a beautiful campus that is well kept and makes me feel like im at a pricey university. Also the people here are very easygoing and friendly :)

    Am learning a lot

    the teachers here are reallly into the materials they teach and its easier to learn when your teacher is excited and motivates you.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    The administrative part can be a bit frustrating at times, but I love it at Cypress.

    Am learning a lot

    I really like all of my classes, and I can tell my teachers really know a lot about their subjects. Mark Majarian, my theatre professor, really tries to push you to be the best student you can.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who want to save money -Students looking for a dental program (apply early it is wait list!) -students who want to experience a wide variety of classes before picking a major -Students with majors can take classes to transfer for cheaper

    Tips for prospective students

    -Sign up for classes the day and time you are scheduled to avoid needing to petition. -head to student bookstore before school starts and make a list of you books needed (bring course #) Buy books online/or rent them online. -Pack lunch/snack, it is cheaper and healthier.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices per unit did increase, however; it is still cheaper than a four year and students are fighting it from increasing more.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a beautiful and relaxing campus. The library is very large with many different types of media available.

    Am learning a lot

    Majority of teachers come prepared for lecture and are willing to give extra time to students for questions.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    As you can see I am a older student so this campus is great for all students as well as Fullerton or any campus is Southern California.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a career counselor first it is a walk in process and they will direct you in every way imaginable.

    Bang for the buck

    If was not for the financial office and all the grants + loans there is way that could continue my higher education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff, students is so very nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a 41 yr old returning student and the learning is impeccable.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who plan to transfer because Cypress does do a lot to get involved planning ahead even choosing a major through personality test, however that does cost you like 20 or 40 bucks

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the financial aid office every year because even if you did not get financial aid one year the next year you may get some and maybe even get reimbursed for the year before.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is less expensive than Universities and if you apply for financial aid, it can even be free. Cypress has a financial aid office that promotes the Board of Governor's Fee Waiver Program (BOGW), which covers tuition for classes so students don't have to worry about the $36/unit fee if they qualify , and also makes sure that students apply for federal and state grants. But even if you do pay it's not bad you get good professors that want to see you succeed and you have access to free tutoring, computer access, wifi throughout the campus, and borrowing agreements with Fullerton College, Orange Coast College, Golden West College, and Cal State Long Beach.

    Am enjoying being here

    I joined one of the programs and was taught so much about Cypress College, Universities, students, and myself. Even if you don't join a program, Cypress has an Associated Student Board that is very active in planning campus events and the clubs also host their own events. There are a variety of clubs but if you don't find the club for you, you can create it.

    Am learning a lot

    Most professors are willing to help students and have office hours so that students can have one-on-one time to discuss assignments and grades. But Cypress also has a learning resource center where students can go for tutoring, they can either schedule one-on-one tutoring or just walk-in into the tutoring center and work on assignments. And if students are willing to make a commitment to learning they can join one of the many programs, such as the University Transfer Achievement Program, the Puente Program, and the Legacy Program, that Cypress offers in order to help students become familiar with college and the campus resources.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Having been here for 1 year, I can say that nothing has happened to me or my belongings. Unfortunately, I have heard a couple of stories of people getting their cars broken to but it is very rare.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some great clubs and activities to be involved with. Also, a great way to meet new people who might share the same interests as you.

    Great for these types of students

    Cypress college is great for students who are dedicated to their education and care very little about social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great way to relax or enjoy break time is to sit by the pond in the middle of the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college prices has gone up but they are almost all the same.

    What to do for fun

    I recommend everyone to try to get involved in clubs and/or Associated Students. Working in the school is another way to appreciate what the college can offer you. Not only are these activities for fun but it can create a strong resume for you.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much variety for the food. Also it is a bit pricey, but in the end we are there for our education and not for the food.

    Dorm Life

    This school has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Having attended Fullerton and Cypress college, I can conclude that Cypress gave me a slightly better education than Fullerton. The faculty members are always there to help you achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time. Respect the faculty and classmates. Make reasonable goals each semester.

    In three sentences

    Great school that lets you focus on your educational duties without much distractions. I attended Fullerton College also and I felt distracted frequently due to their constant activities on campus. Either way, college should be taken with complete seriousness and determination and Cypress college felt like a second home to me.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students who are willing to have an open mind and zest for learning whatever you have a passion for! Attack with Positivity and keep your eyes keenly focused on the target!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into this with a positive attitude and don't be embarrassed to ask questions and ask for help. The entire faculty and staff are all willing to guide and help you.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price, especially with receiving the Governor's Waiver for Tuition. It's exciting going back to school and learning from Top Professionals in their Field!

    Will enjoy being here

    I will love being here! it is a gorgeous Campus and everyone here has so much care and concern for student need.

    Will learn a lot

    This is a new field of Study for me. The Orientation made me understand the excellent standards this school has and the top notch Professors they have, who are well versed in their Subject Matter, and well prepared to share their knowledge with us!

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many.

    Great for these types of students

    Poor students. Students that don't know what their career goal is yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap school, but the teachers aren't the greatest.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on a computer in the computer lab. Lay under a tree. Play pool in the recreational room.

    Food and Dining

    They have good tasting food and a variety, but it's too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes exactly on your registration appointment, or you probably won't get the class. Don't take too many classes in one semester, or you might have to drop. Take many classes in subjects you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Great place to figure out what you're interested in. Not overly crowded with students for the most part. Does not have a tight-knit group of students.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of campus safety personnel and often even police officers around campus to ensure the safety of the students. A few incidences have occur recently during calm periods on campus (nights, Fridays) so like anywhere else just be aware of your surroundings.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities supported by the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and associations on campus and their activities are constantly happening. These groups post fliers around campus and often set up booths around the quad to promote themselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that aren't sure where they want their education to take them. There are some great resources to help you narrow down your options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None, that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college so you do get a lot more for your money compared to public or private universities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student activities center on campus that features a lounge and game room area. The Cypress College athletics programs also provide for great sporting entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Cypress College has a small food court like area that features a Baja Fresh and a Sbarro Pizza.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Cypress College

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors assume that you will be transferring so they try to set their expectations high, as to prepare you for a California university's academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to be enrolling at Cypress College, make sure you do so right away. The classes fill up very quickly and the programs are always impacted.

    In three sentences

    Cypress is a great college to attend because of it's diverse and friendly atmosphere. They offer a wide array of programs and classes to help you reach your goals. There are many activities and clubs to participate in to make you feel like a part of the school.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music school is still growing, but employs wonderful professors that DEFINITELY know what they're doing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for EOPS if eligible, the early registration helps with getting those competitive general education classes.

    Bang for the buck

    With rising costs even for state colleges, community colleges are becoming more and more economical for all students.

    Am learning a lot

    I honestly hadn't expected to learn so much at a community college, but having come from a Cal State, I can say that I'm disappointed that i hadn't gone to Cypress first!

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want to transfer, and want to save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes early to get an early start on registration.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh yeah. It's a community college!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's fun, and it is a good environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Yeah!

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    not a big variety to choose from, but better than nothing.

    Dorm Life

    there are none

    Tips for prospective students

    seek the different resources that are available to you. they are very helpful!

    In three sentences

    there's a parking lot near every building. all the resources that you will need to succeed in any of your classes are available to every student in cypress. i haven't had one bad teacher at cypress. all teachers are always there to help their students succeed.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are lots of clubs on campus. the as has a fun event at the beginning of every semester.

    Food and Dining

    their food choices are terrible. they only have a baja fresh and a sbarro.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the rigor really depends on what you are going for. for me, since i am going into health sciences there is a lot of rigor required for the health science programs. example; to even be competitive to get into the ultrasound program you must have at least a 3.7 gpa on the prerequisites.

    Tips for prospective students

    college life is not much different than high school. an a is still an a. you need to be self-motivated to get to class, do your homework and get good grades. enroll as soon as you can and prepare to stay longer than expected because classes are hard to get.

    In three sentences

    cypress college has excellent health science programs. the buildings are fairly modern except the health science and math/science building. like all state schools, there is a limited number of classes.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    we have sbarro and baja fresh and the school's cafe in the cafeteria. the food is ok, but definately overpriced for me.

    Dorm Life

    i don't know what to rate this but i do know that cypress college does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the classes are difficult while other classes are easy but no matter what class you take you need to put the effort in so you can pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are coming straight out of high school to any community college, don't have the oh it's just community college it's not as hard as university, i'm just gonna go here and chill. community college is just like university, it's college you have to study and put in effort in everything you do and you need to take it seriously. especially with the budget cuts nowadays, it is so hard to get classes so when you do actually get a class then make sure you pass it so you don't have to retake it and waste time and money.

    In three sentences

    well you're asking for a three sentence review, i'll give you three words to describe cypress college; best college ever! i have been to other community colleges in the orange county area and nothing beats cypress college. the environment, the professors, the beauty of the campus, the helpfulness of the counselors, just everything about cypress college is amazing!

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    movies near by

    Food and Dining

    food is good but i'm on a tight budget so it's pricey.

    Dorm Life

    not staying in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the person.

    Tips for prospective students

    check rate your professor before registering for classes. good luck!

    In three sentences

    this is my second year at cypress college so far i like it. most of teachers are helpful but i do recommend you to check rate your professor before registering for classes!

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always policemen and security patrolling the school, if you have a problem or question you can always ask them. their office is right next to the business building in lot 1.

    Bang for the buck

    a.s. sticker its about 7 bucks i think, and they give out free stuff (food) at campus events if you have it. and you are allowed to use the computers in the student activities room and you are allowed to print 5 copies for free on the computers.

    What to do for fun

    student activities center: there are arcades games (two of them though...) 2 ping pong tables, about 3 pool tables i think, a tv, and a computer room. (for the computer room you need a student id with a as (as: associated students sticker) or you can go to the library, i think the computers in the library are slower though... theres also the pond in the center of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    meh. it's alright, but if you have the time go somewhere else. if you dont, the food here is alright, not great but alright.

    Dorm Life

    this is a community college. there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    if you snooze you lose. if you procrastinate, you will fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask about special programs and student services on campus. ask where those things are and what they are. and apply early, for everything.

    In three sentences

    a community college where one can either continue from high school or learn something new. a good place where many student services are available despite the fact many are ignorant to its services. a good, modern cleaner college (minus all the smoking).

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a pond that you can study by, and there are clubs that stay active in activities on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a great wide selection.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are exactly the level they are supposed to be so expect to do some work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time manage your paperwork ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    The people here are very helpful, especially the administrative staff. The campus is easy to get across. They have helpful subject labs to assist in the success of your classes.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think Cypress College is a very safe campus. There are a lot of security guards patrolling constantly and they also have surveillance cameras around campus.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no Greek System in Cypress College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of these in Cypress College. Every month, they hold various activities that are sponsored by a lot of clubs around campus. It's very fun. And most of the time, the food is free!

    Great for these types of students

    Artistic, intelligent, creative, analytic, and students with an eager-to-learn attitude.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't really a lot of unusual traditions because it's a pretty straightforward school. However, I think one might be able to find these traditions by meeting the very diverse crowd this school has.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Cypress College is very worth it. The staff there is very helpful and accommodating. They have a lot of financial aid and transfer workshops. They do a lot of student activities as well. Overall, it's an excellent school for an undergraduate to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun that's around Cypress College. However, with just a bit of driving, you can go to Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, the beach, and countless of low-end to high-end shopping malls.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is mediocre at best but the choices around the area is excellent. From chinese food, vegetarian, even mexican food, there is an ample amount of choices for hungry college students. They're very affordable too.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think there is dorming available in Cypress College. However, there are a lot of apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not very hard as long as you spend time studying and actually learn what is being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to apply for financial aid. They're very helpful when it comes to that. Also, there are a lot of great teachers on campus. As long as you do your work, follow directions, and study, you'll definitely get an A.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to go to. There is a lot of parking, great teachers, and an overall clean campus. It's safe and very convenient as well.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is constantly patrolling the parameters. Security cars drive around the parking lot and security guards on bicycles are always easy to find. There are many emergency stations on campus and the campus is well-lit at night.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities associated with Cypress College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unlike Fullerton College, Cypress College have many clubs and activities throughout the school year. These clubs stay active and are very easy to start. It is very rare for a club to last less than a year.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for people re-entering school, kids fresh out of high school, and international students. There is a large international student population with many clubs that cater to them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cypress College is known for their ponds. Often students will take a break from classes lounging by the blue pools, watching the ducks come and go. Also, Sbarro's and Baja Fresh were added to the cafeteria and it has been a hit among the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is a great place to figure out your major and save money for university. Since Cypress College has a nursing program they offer many science courses that may be difficult to enroll in at other impacted schools and at a lower cost. They also offer one of the only Mortuary Science programs. The automotive program is sponsored by Toyota and all of their technical education programs are ranked top in the nation.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in Orange County. Knott's Berry Farm is less than 15 minutes away from Cypress College, Disneyland is about 20 minutes away. Huntington Beach is around a 30 minute drive. This is a commuter area so do expect to drive a lot. Cypress is a small city but they offer parks with workout machines, basketball courts, baseball and soccer fields.

    Food and Dining

    There are many shopping centers surrounding the campus, and some do offer special deals with a flash of your student ID. Food ranges popular fast food restaurants to family owned restaurants. Starbucks and other coffee shops are close by for needed caffeine boosts.

    Dorm Life

    Although there are no dorms at Cypress College, apartments nearby are very affordable. Houses on Orange Street average two bedrooms with rent under $1000/month.

    Academic Rigor

    Cypress College is a sister school to Fullerton College which is considered the top transfer school in Southern California. They expect the same caliber of student of a 4-year university student and they do reinforce that in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't plan classes that are earlier than the time you usually wake up at, use websites like ratemyprofessor.com so that you enjoy your time in class, and remember, you're paying for an education not just classes.

    In three sentences

    Professors are friendly, well-read, and always willing to helping out their students. The sprawling campus is very welcoming to biking, skateboarding, and anything else with wheels. Parking is always available and the nursing program is top-notch.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are just starting out and are not ready for the total college experience yet. The school gives one a basis for the real thing.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definetly a bang for the buck a student can finish there prerequisite courses and save so much money compared to actually going to the university right out of school. I took the community college route and I enjoyed my experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food has gotten better but since it is a small campus there are not many food options. It is better just to go to one of the restaurants right outside of the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are not hard at all they have office hours in which they can help you if you have any difficulty. One can also other students thoughts of the proffesor on ratemyprofessor.com this helps me choose my professors.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in constant watch of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs on campus you can find something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    open atmosphere where you can just really be yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i spent all of my time in the theater and dance buildings best place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    you get a university education for community college prices.

    What to do for fun

    located in a busy area so there is something for everone.

    Food and Dining

    cafateria on campus and various resturants surrounding areas.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms but there is living areas near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused on what you need to do and get out. it is very is to get stuck and if you let that happen you will be there forever.

    In three sentences

    Cypress college is a great place for higher education. The way the school is ran is pretty well structured and i have taken even the negatives and learned from them. Overal these were great years spent.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Call Box's all over campus. The safety officers are great, they will walk you to your car at night if you don't feel safe walking alone

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus for almost everything. AS is putting stuff on almost once a month. And FREE FOOD at activities.

    What to do for fun

    In the Student Activities center there is a ping pong table, pool table and video games. There are also activities that you can do put on by AS throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really expensive, but delicious. There is Sabarro and Baja Fresh, but the bookstore is a little cheaper if you want something quick and reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm living campus

    Academic Rigor

    Don't overdue it in your course load. The sciences will kill you if you are taking other tough academic classes such as Math or English.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your teachers before you take a class. Also to go to a counselor and plan out your classes because you don't want to choose a class that wont transfer

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing Campus, it has easy access to all buildings and the centers for help are really nice. The staff in all of the departments are kind and always willing to help you. The classes are nice sizes and most of the teachers are really helpful.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are seldom any dangers around campus because the campus safety staff are always around. A student can see them as he/she walks to class.

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse and Fun! The clubs have many activities all year round. There is a fraternity called AGS (Alpha Gamma Sigma) for students with GPA of 3.5 or higher. The fraternity will be very helpful on the resume of a student.

    Bang for the buck

    Students learn a lot compared to what they pay for. Even with increased tuition (now $46 a unit), it is still much cheaper than a four-year university. However, the quality of the professors and the reduced class size (maximum 30 people) are really worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are ping pong room, tennis courts, and a gym with a free membership which is included in registration fee.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. However, the price is a little overpriced because they are freshly made.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm at Cypress college. But there are opportunities for room renting advertised by fellow students on bulletin boards.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very clear in their explanation. The professors know their subjects very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take time before starting school to find out about EOPS, which is a program of the school that gives priority registration. Thus, you can get classes of your desire early.

    In three sentences

    Cypress college's professors are very professional and knowledgeable. Not only that, the professors are very attentive and helpful to most of their students because the class size is small. Otherwise, the people in the community are very amicable.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make friends by being social and have study sessions together! After all, you are paying to learn, not to party.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not really good here. They have the basic minimum, enough to get by but nothing to brag about.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms I think.

    Academic Rigor

    This place will challenge you to do your best and to be on top of you stuff. Manage your time wisely to suceed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes on time, they go fast. Don't forget to purchase a parking pass and to park at the right spots to avoid unnecessary fees.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College provides affordable education to its students. The school is convenient to attend since it is not overcrowded. The professors are good as well.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been few bathroom incidents. I recommend using the buddy system especially after 3:oopm.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of opportunities for service learning and clubs. You could even start one yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much around the campus, they are a few good eating spots. You dont have to travel far for restaurants.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is much cheaper than a four-year university they are constantly raising tuition. It is now $46 per unit.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater nearby and tons of good eats.

    Food and Dining

    Good eating places the surrounding community.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard at all. There are many resources at your disposal if you need help with school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on top of things, especially if you want to transfer and dont want to stay at a community college longer than you need to. Talk to counselors for deciding your major. Do no procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Overall a great school. You make tons of friends. Most professors there really care about students and will do everything in their power to help you, you just have to ask.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Tons even tutoring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Weekends! Cypress Swat Meet

    Bang for the buck

    Yes for most students but I am supporting myself so its a little expensive

    What to do for fun

    kickboxing and swimming classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Registered ASAP

    In three sentences

    The college has good teachers. The teachers take the time toi help you learn. And most importantly there is parking

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If a student wants to have fun at Cypress they can join a club or program.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafe with nice workers and the prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments nearby that students can live in.

    Academic Rigor

    These classes will be challenging but very beneficial for any desired major.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest students to join a club or program so they can develop friendships and a learning community.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College deserves an A rating because they offer interesting courses for the students to have an opportunity to take. The programs and clubs that are diverse and led by encouraging students and faculty. The campus is also a great learning environment with friendly people to help you in any department.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great Campus safety. excellent

    Greek Life

    I would love to be on campus everyday all day if i could.

    Clubs and Activities

    I will i could join all clubs!!! Great !!!

    Great for these types of students

    Bio/Nursing/Dental best college

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do for fun in Cypress College is to sit next to the pond and just relax and talk to fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    Very clean and neat school.

    Academic Rigor

    Outstanding

    In three sentences

    Cypress College is an amazing College to attend. The staff is great and very helpful. The professors are outstanding and are willing to go above and beyond to help you be successful.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe when on campus. There are always security roaming around campus checking on everything. The teachers are up on the newest emergency procedures as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a proud member of the Human Services Club. It's a fantastic club, offering assistance to our fellow members and volunteering in our community.

    Great for these types of students

    For all students wanting to further their education! Classes are designed to stimulate the mind, meet like minded people reaching for the same goals, library for those who can't afford books, computers for those who need internet access and basic computer use, tutors for those who need the little extra help, plus great students on campus who are supportive!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The beautiful water fountain in the center of the campus is a serene place to relax after a hard days work. Watch the ducks and ducklings waddle around and take a swim. Great attraction for parents to bring their children!

    Bang for the buck

    Think you can't afford college? Give financial aid a try! It can't hurt, simple forms, great staff in the office to direct you, who knows? You may qualify!

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy hanging out with my friends after class and between classes, doing study groups, and catching up on each others lives.

    Food and Dining

    Some might say that the cafeteria food is expensive, I do not agree. Cheap and tasty! Not to mention, if you're low on funds, there's always the microwave here on campus! Bring your own lunch/breakfast and keep fueling up for the day!

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Openness to new information, study groups, vigorous note taking, all increases your chances of higher grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If unsure about declaring a major or minor, or classes you should take, make sure to schedule an appointment with a counselor. There are no dumb questions, only those which are withheld and left unanswered.

    In three sentences

    Helpful teachers and faculty opens the doors to higher education making it enjoyable and students aim for the stars. Never be afraid to ask for help, or admit when you're unsure about something to do with your classes, it's not admitting your failure; rather networking to improve oneself.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    BSU Pool Computers

    Great for these types of students

    Very quite and peaceful which is great for those students who enjoy the silence while studying. Since the campus is small the staff is a lot more helpful and at a faster rate.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College has amazing teachers and staff. Everyone is so nice and friendly, and this school is great for a first time experience. It is also quite and intimate and located in a great area to shop and eat.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students

    Bang for the buck

    you can take the same amount of classes that you take at the university level. $46 dollars a unit at cypress college verses $349 a unit at university level

    What to do for fun

    local shopping, working out, join clubs, and watch movies in the library.

    Food and Dining

    Great food on campus and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived on campus

    Academic Rigor

    They definitely prepared me to compete and the university level. The professors are always challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books from students who have had the course before. Check rate my professor.com when applying for classes. The professors are always available if you need help.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College is a beautiful campus for a community college. They have a great student store and library. I love this school.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security parolling around in cars or trucks. They are very nice and will help you out if asked.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs at Cypress. Joining a sport isn't a very bad idea either. Some classes such as kick boxing are fun alternatives too.

    Food and Dining

    We have one little diner here. The food is pretty good. We also have lots of bending machines spread across campus for quick snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Cypress does not offer any dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful. Classrooms are small and even flexible. Classrooms are always animated and you learn so much!

    Tips for prospective students

    You should register early. Classes fill up very quickly. Freshmen normally don't get the subjects they want. At least try to get one core class. It's alright if you get a few electives only.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College is very professional. The teachers and administration are helpful and always nice.The school quality is perfect, from the security to the cleanness overall.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cypress College has a very safe campus. There is on campus security and a conveniently located security center for students who are having any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    With a wide variety of clubs on campus, any student who wishes to be involved is sure to find a club perfect for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Cypress College is perfect for students who are just graduating and returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    With the state of the economy and the prices of tuition increasing, Cypress College offers an excellent education for an amazing prices. If students are not able to pay the full prices for their units they may apply for financial aid and receive need based aid.

    What to do for fun

    Cypress College has a large amount of clubs and sports that students can participate in. It is easy to become involved and events take place on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cypress has an on campus cafeteria that is available for students as early as 8 am. There are several types of food and snack options to choose from. There are also restaurants and stores in the surrounding areas.

    Dorm Life

    Cypress College has no student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Cypress College has a wide range of classes that fit each students personal needs. After taking a placement test, a student will be able to choose the class that is the right speed and rigor for them. Cypress college offers ESL classes for students who are not native english speakers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Due to the high enrollment in all California community colleges, it is important for new students to register and select their classes as soon as possible. Counselors are on campus to help new students pick the right classes for them. New students should attend orientation and take placement tests to ensure their spots within the proper classes.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College is a community college open to student of all age who are looking to further their education. In addition to general education classes, Cypress has several vocational schools and certificate programs. Cypress offers classes all throughout the day to make it convenient for students who are also working.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are food places close by cypress college that are in walking distance. Also the college cafe has good food. Also the food at the cafe is affordable.

    Dorm Life

    At Cypress college, we do not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic's are good; if you do your work you will pass. Also the teacher's explain assignments very well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities to meet new people and form study groups for classes.

    In three sentences

    Cypress college is a great college that is full of resources. The teacher's know what they are teaching and enjoy doing it. Lastly the environment at cypress is good because students at cypress college are very helpful and nice.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theater - performing arts!

    Food and Dining

    Great value!

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate early and often

    In three sentences

    A professional campus and institute. I have found this campus and its personnel to be superior to the other colleges that I pursued. They care about my success!

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is constant security patrolling. Also there are emergency phone numbers posted in every elevator on campus.

    Greek Life

    Does not really apply here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs offered at this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are laid back, unsure of a major, have special needs, need extra guidance...oh heck, all types of students would love it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't consider it unusual, but from time to time you may see a class or two doing field work in the serene fountain area in the center of campus. Sometimes art classes are creating still life in front of a large tree or a geography class is triangulating their coordinates around the ponds.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are going for a BA or BS, you can't go wrong taking your first two years at Cypress College. Waaaay cheaper than a four year university and the quality is just as good.

    What to do for fun

    It's southern California for Pete's sake! There is plenty to do for fun locally. From surfing the beaches, to skiing the mountains. The ASB club at Cypress College offers many discounts on local fun spots.

    Food and Dining

    It's gotten better. The cafeteria is small, but the food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Just enough to keep you busy, but not enough to keep you from acing a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to the department dean if you feel a teacher is going off the curriculum or not explaining things enough. The deans are very responsive to the students needs and willing to help. I had personal experience with this and was pleased by the result.

    In three sentences

    Esthetically pleasing college campus. Teachers are supportive. Student services are plentiful.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    To be series student if you want come back to school. Do effort because it Worthy.

    In three sentences

    I like cypress college. They help me to improve my skills. They have good strategy in the education.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    BOGG (Board of Governor's Grant) covers cost of classes (up to about $800) if you you are eligible.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places near by, and the on campus cafeteria is pretty decent as well.

    Dorm Life

    Community College--so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are decent and of course as it is anywhere, grades matter. Especially when you are looking to transfer after your AA/AS.

    In three sentences

    Great option for students that do not have money for Cal States or Universities. Somewhat difficult to get classes as there are so many students trying at the same time, but overall its alright.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe. Security can be found almost anywhere and when things are reported they get taken care of.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities. Great people who are friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to continue going to school.

    Bang for the buck

    $46 a unit is nothing compared to a CSU. It used to be cheaper but it is still worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to athletic events, most of them are free. It is good to support your teams. The student government also host club days.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has pretty good food, somewhat over priced but good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms it is a two year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, it does effect when you get to register. Take your classes seriously, dropping classes can get you behind and when you don't pass them you don't increase the units you've passed.

    In three sentences

    Great learning environment. Helpful teachers who take the time to be there. Easy access to online curriculum.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    It is hard to get classes at first but get what you can get and it will get better.

    In three sentences

    It's a great student life. Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Staff is there to help and they actually care.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We've had several problems with creeps but they always get caught in the end. Campus safety officers are great about escorting people at night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Pretty decent amount of clubs. There were a lot less by the time I left though.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though tuition keeps rising, it's still a hell of a lot cheaper than university level. I saved a LOT of money going to cypress first.

    What to do for fun

    Go home? Not much to do for fun unless you're involved in a club.

    Food and Dining

    It used to be a lot better but they brought in a bunch of restaurants and now it's crappier quality and taste and its twice the price.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I was able to take up to 5 decently hard classes at a time and still maintain a solid 4.0. Most teachers assign busy work, not stuff that actually requires effort and concentration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your counselor every semester just to double check everything will transfer and count toward your AA/certificate. They're notorious for finding some class you're suddenly supposed to have that will keep you there for another semester.

    In three sentences

    I'd give it a B on a good day. Some teachers are fantastic while others are lazy jerks who don't care about the students. They have a pretty wide range of clubs, a pretty great research database in the library, and the campus is definitely prettier now that the construction is all done.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Music, Exercise, Reading, Cooking and Watching Sports

    Food and Dining

    I eat out or cook at home. I love going to nice restaurants to relax when I can afford it.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I plan on obtaining my certificate in Human Services than going on to get my AA.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend Cypress College for anyone who would like to obtain an certificate or degree in Human Services they have the best program.

    In three sentences

    Going back to school after so many years was very scary than I had help from the wonderful staff at Cypress.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on Campus. I always see a Campus Safety car strolling through the parking lot, especially during night classes. Just make sure you have a permit on your car because they will definitely give you a ticket if you don't!

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Cypress College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't too many clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Cypress College is great for students who are trying to figure out what career they want to pursue. Instead of spending loads of money going straight to a four year institution, you can take care of your GE's and explore your career options without breaking the bank. Professors and staff are all there to guide you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions or locations here on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Go ahead and find yourself at the cafeteria. Food is pretty cheap for and friendly to our college wallets. You will definitely get a good bang for your buck here.

    What to do for fun

    If you are into art, I would definitely check out the art work that is adorned on the Fine Arts walls. I would also go check out the school plays. There are many talented students on campus -- check out their work!

    Food and Dining

    Food is fairly priced here for college students. There is now a Sbarro here where you can buy pizza. They also have their own campus menu, and the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will gear you up for academic success in a four year institute. Classes can be tough, but if you stay on top of it you can do well. Classes will definitely filter out the strong from the weak.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take your education and professors here for granted as they will be great tools in your continued academic success. Take advantage of the many classes they have to offer here, including classes that may not be in your intended major. The professors and staff here have a great wealth of knowledge and skill to share with you.

    In three sentences

    Attending Cypress College has helped me find what I want to continue my education in. I have truly realized my vocation while taking classes that are in my field of study. Cypress College has created a great foundation for the rest of my education at a four year institute.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe, even at night.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a beautiful pond where all of our activities are usually held. Also, we have a growing family of ducks that hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into all the resources the school has to offer. There are many programs to help you navigate your college career smoothly.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College is AMAZING! There's wonderful faculty/staff and student support services. I highly recommend the school to anyone interested in a great education.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    haven't experienced yet

    Dorm Life

    No dorm, community college

    Tips for prospective students

    No tips yet

    In three sentences

    I haven't begin attending this college yet so I don't really know much about it yet. The college is very nice looking and so far my experiences with the staff have been very good. I've heard great things from people who have attended this college.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor to check out the professors beforehand so you know what you're getting yourself into(doesn't apply to first year students) . Don't be shy, take advantage of the free tutoring , they cover a broad range of subjects. Have fun,alongside your general Ed classes, take some classes for you, ones that piqué your interest.

    In three sentences

    Cypress college is amazing, here is where I finally found my love for learning. The professors in general are amazing and incredibly helpful, they just want to see you succeed. It was a great experience, with a great facility to match.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is our #1. It is really great at our school.

    What to do for fun

    Let me see...what to do for fun??? Oh, you can lay in the shade on-campus or feed the ducks, or play on the fields. Or even if you have an art class you can find a place to do your art inside or outside of the art building.

    Food and Dining

    You can eat at the cafeteria or you can leave the campus and grab something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't life in a dorm. But, I still live with my parents, and my school isn't that far away from my home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fun, just on what you are majoring in.

    Tips for prospective students

    We have tutors, or study groups, or even one on one tutors. Be one time, and have a smile everyday to show everyone that you are having a TERRIFIC day.

    In three sentences

    Hi, my name is Jasmine Cadena. I am a current college student at Cypress College. My school is the best college that I have ever attended, but the teachers/professors are hilarious and right on topic on their subjects.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's many activities, sports, etc. to do on campus with a great staff and classmates.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining area in the building of admissions and records with food such as sbarro's.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is intense, but is worth it overall in the end. Coming out of class every day, you feel accomplished and confident with what you learned if you pay great attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is much harder work than high school. Courses are not every day classes anymore, and the material covered moves along much faster. It's not easy, but it's very possible to succeed with great attention and high amounts of studying.

    In three sentences

    Cypress is a great school for academics when it comes to community colleges. The teachers are always on topic and push you to be your best. It is a great environment and overall a nice college experience so far.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not had much contact with the campus safety. But, I always see them around campus. Also, I've seen them give tickets to students without a parking permit far to many times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cypress College offers a variety of club options. There is something for everyone: academic, religious, and social. At the beginning of the semester there is an event called Club Rush where students can join any club they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most events happen on the bridge that is over the pond. There is usually something going on around there. During the activities around the pond, the students of AS bring out a grill and offer lunch to students with and AS sticker.

    What to do for fun

    Joining a club is a fun way to meet new people and get involved in the community. There is also a little arcade room that has video games, ping pong table, and a pool table. And my favorite fun thing to do is feeding the ducks that live next to the pond.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on campus cafeteria. There is a variety of foods to choose from, but it could be a little over priced. There is also vending machines and carts that sell snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There is no droms in Cypress College. But there is many off campus housing. Sometime students hang flyers around campus looking for roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards for Cypress College are pretty high. They try to prepare students to transfer to a university. Instructors are always helpful and are happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend students to look into the programs they offer. The EOPS is a great program that helps underprivileged students. I also recommend filling out for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Cypress College is an amazing school. They offer good programs for those who are struggling financially. There is also many free tutoring opportunities on campus.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety sets safety as their number one priority and will go out of their way to help out students who feel threatened or scared.

    Clubs and Activities

    Engineering and Physics Club is by far the best club on campus because they provide many opportunities to go to events and serve the community. In addition, they provide free tutoring in many maths and science courses.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to make new friends and a great environment to experiment new majors and fields.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many restaurants around the school at affordable prices for college students.

    What to do for fun

    One can hang around the pond and feed the local ducks some food, or one can go to the student center and hang out with friends by playing some pool or ping pong.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, it is healthy and has variety of choices for all kinds of preferences one can enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I am not too sure.

    Academic Rigor

    The school provides excellent studying environment and if one puts in the energy to study and get to know the material, they will be experts in that subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register early because classes get filled fast!

    In three sentences

    The school offers variety of highly academic courses. It was ranked top 10 best junior colleges in the United States. It also has great faculty who will take the time to help students like myself understand hard to understand material.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students who take night classes can ask campus safety to escort them to the parking lot. Campus safety can be contacted via text or call.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cypress has a few interesting clubs such as Club LEAD (women empowered and determined), Astronomy Club, Physics Club, Alpha Gamma a Sigma Honor Society (AGS), Anime Club, Gay Straight Alliance, Travel Club, International Students Club, Philosophy Club, and so much more! The school also offers study abroad programs. Students have gone to Spain, Italy, and England.

    Great for these types of students

    Cypress is great for students who are commuters, and who like a nice, quaint, campus. Nursing students should go to cypress because it has great nursing programs.

    What to do for fun

    Students can have fun in the activities center on campus which has arcade games, a pool and tennis table, and a tv. The school also throws a few fun events such as Halloween bashes and fairs for high school seniors. If that does not tickle your fancy, there is also a gym which you can use for free. If that does not satisfy you either, you can watch shows such as musicals, plays, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    I often complain about the food at cypress due to lack of variety. They only serve Italian (Sbarro), Mexian, and American food (Cali Grille). However, Cypress is surrounded by plenty of fast food restaurants. If you get tired of the cafeteria food, you can always venture outside for more options. If not, you can bring your lunches to school because they have a microwave students can use.

    Dorm Life

    Since Cypress is a community college, it does not provide on campus dorms for students. However, there are apartments nearby. There are also some houses that look for college tenants.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes' level of difficulty depends on your professor and/or the subject. Some classes you can pass with mediocre effort while some you must vigilantly study for. Nevertheless, all classes require at least 2 hours of study time. If you are an english major, expect plenty of written assignments and readings. It can get overwhelming. Math classes also have a lot of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a new student who is wait-listed, always arrive to class early otherwise you may lose an opportunity to claim an open seat. If you did not get an open seat, return the next day because sometimes registered students drop. Additionally, arrive early for parking because the parking lots get quite crowded during the first two weeks of the semester. See a counselor before you register for classes and plan your desired class schedules ahead! Open seats for classes can get very competitive.

    In three sentences

    Cypress college has a beautiful campus. The school offers a lot of FREE services such as tutoring and dental services. The campus is surrounded by shopping complexes which are all within walking distance.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Philosophy Club

    Tips for prospective students

    Try both face to face and online classes.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic Philosophy/Religious Studies Program, offering an AA in Philosophy/Religious Studies. The professors in the philosophy program are dedicated to teaching quality, university grade, courses.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always school security patrolling the campus. Make sure to buy your parking permit!

    Food and Dining

    Never eaten on campus

    Dorm Life

    All I have to say is live with your parents as long as you can. I say this because once someone moves out everyday things you do for fun becomes harder than usual.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher is different and not two teachers teach alike, so I don't think it would be fair for me to say that some teachers suck and others are really great. Plus we all learn differently. If all students make the time to study then everything will be fine.

    In three sentences

    I honestly don't have a complaint other than it can be a little difficult to get into some class, but what school does not have this issue.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be first, is to register early to be able to get classes ahead of everybody else. Second is apply for fafsa ASAP. And third would be plan the subjects you're gonna get because some classes can be full for such a short time so its better to have a back up classes besides the classes you wanna take.

    In three sentences

    Seems like a great school and I'm very excited to attend this school. I have a lot of friends who studied here before but after a couple of year of studying here they transferred to private schools just because it took them a long time to get in to the program. But even though I've heard those things still wanted to give a try this school because they offer late classes which is suitable for college students like myself who has work.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had multiple incidents where female students were assaulted.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    Community college clubs...you don't go to a CC to join clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    For $46 a unit I will take my lower division classes instead of having to pay hundreds of dollars per unit.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you like to do with your friends for fun, will be fun. This isn't a campus that has much going on, except for the occasional play put on by fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    Very limited options in the cafeteria. However, there are multiple food locations really close to campus, if you don't mind walking to grab a bite.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than I expected. You do have to try...but attend all classes and study, and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up on time for classes. The first couple weeks are hell for parking. Show up a couple hours early for a space...it's worth it.

    In three sentences

    The buildings and classrooms are fairly nice - nothing to complain about. The teachers are not as interested in their students as they are at Fullerton College. You attend here to take classes and transfer, not necessarily make lifelong friends.