Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

D'Youville College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENTS..VERY DIVERSE!

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY POSITIVE,KEEP A GREAT ATTITUDE AND STAY FOCUS!

    Bang for the buck

    VERY SMALL,UNDERRATED COMPARED TO BIGGER SCHOOLS IN BUFFALO,BUT ALLOWS YOU TO STAY FOCUS! EXCELLENT SCHOLARSHIPS AVAILABLE!

    Am enjoying being here

    LOVE THE STAFF AND STUDENTS,CLOSE TO STORES,RESTAURANTS AND BUSLINES.

    Am learning a lot

    PROFESSORS ARE VERY INFORMATIVE AND HELPFUL.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is in a very dangerous neighborhood. at least one car a week gets broken into. if you chose this college make sure to park on the d'youville lots with security and cameras.

    Bang for the buck

    i recieved a 50% tuition scholarship and i am enrolled in the 5 year b.s./m.s. program so it definitely saved me a lot of money.

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat the food there, i'm a commuter so i just drive to the campus and go back home to eat.

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm there so i can't give much input.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends on what classes you are taking, some are extremely difficult and some are just easy a's.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus first.

    In three sentences

    it is a small, quiet school with challenging courses. a very personal experience with the professors. not a great place to make friends.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    although, we are in a urban campus. our security team makes it their #1 priority to make sure we are safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    no greek life, unfortunately.

    What to do for fun

    there are posting around school for fun activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay. the kitchen staff are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    dorms aren't very fun. not many activities go on here.

    Academic Rigor

    very rigorous academic institution. the students at d'youville receive a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to work hard during your time at d'youville and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    great education with small class sizes. professors that really care about you succeeding and being very knowledgeable in your field. however, the campus life isn't great.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many extracurricular activites are available at D'Youville. The school prides itself on its Division III athletic teams, but there are also bountiful opportunities to become involved in student clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafes located on campus offering a wide variety of snacks and meals. There is also a Wilson Farms convenience store located very close by.

    Dorm Life

    Residence halls and apartments are available at D'Youville. Residents also receive their own parking area.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at D'Youville are a lot of work, just like at any other college, but, if you put in the right amount of effort and manage your time appropriately, you will have no problem succeeding academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to keep in mind about D'Youville is that whatever you're planning on putting into the college (effort in school work, participation in extracurricular activities, etc), is what your are going to get out of it. If you're willing to work hard, you WILL succeed in anything you want to.

    In three sentences

    D'Youville's motto of educating for life couldn't be more accurate; the academic excellence, help, and interaction with considerate professors, and the small-sized campus make for a great opportunity to learn-and retain-valuable information that will be useful in the future. The outstanding faculty and staff are helpful and courteous, and genuinely want every student to succeed. The wide array of programs and majors offered is also a huge benefit.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always available but my school is not located in the best neighborhood and there are occasional mishaps.

    Great for these types of students

    Dilligent, focused, ambitious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love that my campus has an all faiths prayer room.

    Bang for the buck

    Private schools are always a lot more expensive but, I do think my school offers many resources to help you learn and cope with the stress of being a student.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can join and numerous oncampus activites that you will be alerted about via email on a daily basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have so many resources available to you, use them! Stay focused, you are there to learn. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Very strong academically. Poor social scene. Great environment for learning.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security around. And in every parking lot there are buttons that can be pressed and if you are afraid of walking to your car by yourself a security guard will walk with you. There is also a security guard in the dorm building and apartments where an id has to be presented to get in.

    Great for these types of students

    DYC is a great school for students looking to become a nurse or health profession major. D'Youville has also started offering a pharmacy Pharm-D degree program.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, D'Youville offers a ton of clubs and schools to join. the best way to find all of the clubs and sports would be to go onto the website www.dyc.edu.

    Food and Dining

    The food at DYC is okay. For people who dorm there is the required PVR, which is cafeteria style eating. The food is okay and they change the menu regularly but the food becomes slim and not so creative towards the end of the week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a main necessity of a student who doesn't live in Buffalo. They are a great place to make new friends and create meaningful relationships with people that you will spend a lot of time with.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a range on how hard a class is and it depends on which classes you decide to take. The sciences are among the hardest especially anatomy and physiology. The easier classes are the extra requirements through the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste your time taking the easy simple courses. Yeah your first semester is difficult but it brings you ahead of the rest of your class and gives you greater opportunities for your major and classes. Also get involved in extracurriculars. Join a sport or a club that meets every Wednesday. This will give you the chance to meet new people and become apart of making the school a better place.

    In three sentences

    D'Youville offers student centered learning. The teachers are always offering help and are actually here to give that help. Also because DYC is a small college the classroom sizes are small which offers a better learning experience.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Between the city police and the campus police the campus I believe is safe. They watch out for the students and staff.

    What to do for fun

    Many things to do. Volunteering, social groups, and more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe on campus that is reasonably priced and good food. There are many other restaurants nearby that students can drive to. I am not sure about what is offered as far as meal plans for on campus living students.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that if you are well organized and focused you will do great. Some classes are harder than others but organization is key to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all of your college choices. D'Youville is a private college so it is more expensive. You pay for quality education.

    In three sentences

    D'Youville is known for its Nursing program. Many people say that is a good school to get a Nursing degree. I have to agree because when I say I am going to D'Youville; people say, That is a great school. or You will go far with a Nursing degree from D'Youville.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an eye on your own schedule once registered. Do not rely on the advisors to keep you pointed in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    The school is great, small classes and great professors. The academic advisors should be a little more attentive to their students and their needs.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is of paramount importance to the school. The security gives regular updates on happenings in and around campus via email.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students, students with high expectations.

    Bang for the buck

    All my aspirations were met.

    What to do for fun

    The college has over 20 different clubs, game nights, movie nights all organized by the student association.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the dining is buffet style.(All you can eat). With a lot of healthy options giving.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent. Their are two dorms, one caters to freshmen and students under 21, the other caters towards juniors or students over 21.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic expectations are high which is justified by the high percentage of their graduates that get into the work force after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It has an excellent teacher- student ratio. Most professors know their student by name, which is ideal for learning.

    In three sentences

    D'youville College is a college with diverse ethnicities. A welcoming environment for all. It is a college that is determined to help all students achieve their goals.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I lived in the apartments my first semester and loved it. You had your own room and only shared a bathroom with one other roomate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and find out what you want a school to offer you before applying. Take your time, you will be spending at least 2-4 years at your new school, so make sure it's just right for you. Study hard and have fun, the balance is hard but attainable.

    In three sentences

    I am so proud to be a D'Youville student because this college has lived up to and exceeded all of my expectations. I have grown so much academically, personally and professionally. The professors are so incredible and they are there to help.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    When you arent studying there are a lot of activities throughout the week. The elmwood strip is near by full of restaurants and shops.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good, there are always healthy choices along with the unhealthy ones so you can watch what you're eating. The staff is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty average, they could use some updating, but the people are great.

    Academic Rigor

    The medical classes can be very challenging, as for basic classes they aren't so bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about being in a new school, every other freshman is in the same position. Talk to someone, be open, and make friends in your classes so you can study together.

    In three sentences

    D'Youville is the perfect size for a new freshman coming in from high school. Some of the classes are challenging, but they are worth it in the end. The teachers are always there to help you when you need it.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security!

    Great for these types of students

    medical majors

    Bang for the buck

    very good priced private school

    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall or Elmwood. not much in walking distance

    Food and Dining

    PVR food isnt the best but the Spartan cafe is a good place to go when you get really tired of it!

    Dorm Life

    We have a good amount of activities, our dorms aren't the nicest but are good enough until you can go to the apartments

    Academic Rigor

    Science courses are hard but other elective courses are easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the dorms scare you if you want to stay on campus. Dorms and the food aren't that great but the classes and teachers make up for it 100%

    In three sentences

    D'Youville has great class sizes and professors! Everyone is very helpful and professors get to know you fast.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is staffed 24 hours. There is always a security guard stationed at each of the campus living buildings, one at the base, and one patrolling campus. There are also emergency security boxes all throughout campus to call for help. Students can also request a security guard to escort them up to a two block radius if they want that extra precaution. Personally I have never felt unsafe on campus. I think security is doing an excellent job maintaining the safety of DYC.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus. The closest thing to Greek are the honor societies with Greek names. We do not have sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    D'Youville has division III athletics, over 25 student clubs/organizations. and several community service opportunities. Last year I did both crew and xc in the fall semester of my freshman year as a Bio BS student. This year I'm just doing xc and am currently the Vice President of Lambda Sigma which is a sophomore honor society centered around community service. The student clubs are a great way to make new friends and accomplish great things. Athletics are also a great stress relief and a wonderful to make friends from other colleges as well.

    Great for these types of students

    D'Youville is great for students who want to succeed and become involved. There are several leadership roles on campus and if you want to be a leader all you have to do is step up. It's also really great for students who want to know their classmates. The small size allows you to meet students from all majors from freshman to last year grad students. I love that part about DYC because I have such a diverse population of friends!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Morning Glory Cafe which is located just beyond campus has the best chai latte in the world! I love this cute little cafe. It's also a great place to have lunch and gift certificates to the cafe are often raffled off by the college to students.

    Bang for the buck

    I think DYC is a great value because of all the one on one attention available to you and the small class sizes. I once had a Calculus II class with only four people in it. Because it is a small college you have so many opportunities because there are less people to compete with.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do in the city. There are several restaurants, museums/art galleries, places to shop, and various forms of entertainment. Laser tron, sports games, bowling, plays, concerts, night clubs, and movies are places DYC students usually go for fun. Student Association and student clubs also put on various events on campus throughout the semester. My favorite event this year was the Black Light Party hosted by Alliance club. There was food, music, dancing, games, glow sticks, highlighters, and free T-shirts.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It's typically a hit or it's just meh. Freshman living on campus are required to have a 19 meal plan first semester but after that they can choose the 14 meal plan with $250 spartan bucks which I highly recommend. Spartan bucks can be used at the cafes on campus or to swipe in guests at the dinning hall. Every Thursday we have a theme night at the dinning hall and they play music over the sound system. My favorite themes are sushi night and banquet night.

    Dorm Life

    The D'Youville Apartments (for 3rd year students or those 21+) are a lot nicer than Marguerite Hall, but overall the dorms are pretty good. Sometime's it gets a little noisy in Marguerite, but the RA's keep everyone in line. The floors are segregated which is nice because typically the guy floors are a little more wild than the girl floors. I live in Marguerite and have a great view of Canada and the river from my room. Marguerite is an older building and could use some updates like new elevators, modern TV's, and modern kitchenettes but I've seen worse dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but some are easier than others. Perofessors here really want you to succeed so if you make the effort you can achieve the grade. Professors keep office hours and many are very helpful to students looking for extra help or answers to questions about the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out Spartan Central D'Youville's social network which can be found on the DYC website if you would like to interact with current students and ask questions. Another great way to get an inside look at DYC is to check out the D'Youville Student Voices Blog http://voices.dyc.edu/students/ which is written by real D'Youville students like myself. Most importantly when choosing a college go with your gut feeling the college you feel that speaks to you most.

    In three sentences

    D'Youville is a small college with with awesome professors! Because of the small size you get to know your professors on a more personal level and you're more than just a number. The small size also allows you to get to know and make friends with students of all different majors and years of study.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of security around campus. I feel safe when I'm there. It is next to some run down neighborhoods.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join. Need to get involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Who like small classes and being able to commute.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really. The campus is in the city.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Education, but pretty expensive. It is a private college.

    What to do for fun

    There is a ton to do all year round. The area has many sports teams to go watch. Also you are very close to the canadian border. You can go and see Niagara Falls.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent for school food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't bad. More of an hotel/apartment building feel. Upper classman get to stay in the newer apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Its is a Health Profession School. There are a lot of sciences needed for every major. You will need to take a religion course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Create good relationships between you and your teachers. Know your fellow students with in your major. It is a religous school.

    In three sentences

    Great student to teacher ratio. Nice campus. And great opportunites to get involved in the community

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The area surrounding the University is full of fun and affordable activities! The city has a professional hockey team, professional football team, semi-professional baseball team, amusement parks, restaurants, parks and so much more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour!

    In three sentences

    Dedicated to Student Success.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend the school events and walk a couple of blocks down and you can look over the water and see Canada.

    Food and Dining

    Always something different for every meal and everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment complexes are so nice ! You get your own room and all doors are secured with your own id card!

    Academic Rigor

    The work is manageable but must be on top of everything before things pile up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to professors and always ask questions when you don't understand something in class! Go to tutoring because its the extra attention you may need to help you get that A in the class! Attend on the school events because there are usually giveaways!

    In three sentences

    D'Youville is a college that is small in size but with a friendly and caring staff. The professors do whatever they can to help students achieve success in their studies. They care about each individual's education.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food they served us was excellent, but may not have been the same as the food they give to the students.

    In three sentences

    Everyone seemed very nice, but this was only a campus visit, so it was hard to get a real feel for the school

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    college is in a bad naighborhood and shootings ocur very offten they advise students not to walk on their own.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    pharmacy students. PT students and OT

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    armory buliding

    Bang for the buck

    way too expansive so deffintely no bang for your buck

    What to do for fun

    work out

    Food and Dining

    The food is nasty I know because I have worked for dining services before and they had good food . DYC does not have good food at all.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm,but it was very clean when we took a tour of the place.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the nursing school and they are not very consistant. They unorganized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have money you will be broke after attending. This school is a four year college and expect to work hard for a good grade.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, however if you do attend it you must have alot of money. Parking is very limited and you may get tickets parking in the surounding streets. The proffesors are mostly good and are professoinals at what they do.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't started yet

    In three sentences

    Seems okay...staff are very nice

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have noticed security walking around the perimeter of the campus and also in the far parking lot at night they have someone over there to make sure you get to your car safely.

    What to do for fun

    I don't belong to any clubs or organizations.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the cafeteria's, I always bring my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    i do not dorm

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a parking pass because parking on the street is a hassle.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum is very good. Campus is clean. Although in Buffalo, area isn't bad.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not in the best neighborhood but there are plenty of security guards and cameras that keep the students safe. The college will send out emails where there are incidents or warnings so that people can be as cautious as possible.

    Greek Life

    There are very few Greek life opportunities at the college because it is so small there is not necessarily a demand for it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different sports and clubs that students take part in and if a incoming student is looking for them they will have no problem getting involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is religious so they send out many emails to students related to mass and other religious activities that many of the students do not relate to.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very expensive but I believe that it is worth the education and that I will be prepared to work in the nursing field and pass my RN boards with ease.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different sports and community programs through the school that many people take advantage of to add to their resumes and for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, but there are not many other places to eat around the campus so you have to rely on what they have to offer.

    Dorm Life

    I have not dormed at the college so I am not sure how the dorm life is. I hear that the apartments are much nicer than the freshman dorm building and well worth the extra money.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is difficult but well worth it in the amount of education that you will gain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the schools SAT and transfer scholarships to help pay for school.

    In three sentences

    D'youville is a small college where you can get one on one student teacher learning. I am in the nursing program which is very good and difficult but slightly unorganized. The school is expensive so any scholarship you can find are helpful.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers 24/7

    Greek Life

    I'm not familiar with this topic.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Wealthy Students who are specializing in a specific health-related field (Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Pharamacy etc.)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not familiar with this topic.

    What to do for fun

    Lots to do for fun. Lots of clubs and sports teams. D'Youville as a gym, pool, and class exercise groups.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but choices are limited.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not interested in a specialized field, I would not recommend attending. D'Youviile is extremely expensive so If you wish to get a degree in liberal arts I would look at a SUNY school.

    In three sentences

    D'Youville has small class sizes. D'Youville is very expensive. D'Youville is a great place to earn your degree in a specialized field.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a Delta Sigma Theta member from undergrad, I would love to my sorors if there is one exists on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    D'youville is a great school for adult students who are planning to advance their degree. For example Nursing...if you plan to get your Masters in Nursing, this is the school you should consider.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't visited the campus yet.

    What to do for fun

    I am an adult students, therefore, I am not looking for anything fun. My main focus is to get my education.

    Food and Dining

    never tried it.

    Dorm Life

    I am not planning to love on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    From the research that I have done so far, I found out that the class sizes are small that means students get individual attention from the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will am going to drive to the school from Toronto, I just want to prepare myself and others to have patience dealing with the busy traffic at least once a week.

    In three sentences

    I think D'Youville College is one of the prestigious universities. Although I didn't meet the staff in person, they are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe, lots of security.

    Bang for the buck

    small class size is the best I transferred from SUNY Buffalo where they had hundreds in each class

    What to do for fun

    shovel snow, snowboard... shoivel snow, hang with friends, , go to clubs, concerts, reg college life

    Food and Dining

    food is ok...some stuff is better than others.

    Dorm Life

    never lived in one

    Academic Rigor

    difficult curriculum... but the professors are really great. Very helpful No TA's here... all real RN's teaching in the nursing program !!

    Tips for prospective students

    great school, small and intimate Live in a house nearby, the dorms are $$$$

    In three sentences

    its a great school. The professors really teach, not TA's. They care about you