Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Dakota State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who have an interest in integrating computers and technology into their careers. Individuals who like small friendly campuses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let campus size or enrollment numbers scare you away, there is plenty of activities and fun to be had both on and off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    With all the technology you are provided here, such as computers including Microsoft Office, wireless internet access all over campus, and projectors in every classroom, DSU takes your tuition and creates a unique advanced learning environment.

    Am enjoying being here

    DSU has somewhat of a small town mentality. It does not take long to get to know students or staff on campus, it's one of those schools where you pretty much recognize everyone either by name or face. I love that I get to know my professors and they in turn are able to get to know me by name. The staff and students on campus have great relationships that keep DSU a close knit community.

    Am learning a lot

    With so much of our society becoming dependent on the use of computers in the work place, I am happy that I chose a college in which computer usage is a primary part of the curriculum. Going into education I had not really thought about needing computer skills outside of typing a Word document, but because of the focus on computers I am learning interesting new ways to use a computer in my classroom to ensure my students getting the most out of what I will teach them. Small classroom numbers make learning easy as we get to know our professors and classmates on a more personal question. The small numbers make it easy to ask questions and makes approaching professors outside of class less intimidating because they know who you are.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone willing to take a chance, willing to have fun, and wanting to better themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school may seem smaller than most, but it feels so much more like home that way. You always see someone you know which makes it less lonely. Don't be afraid to go out there and have a good time, put yourself out there - you won't be sorry.

    Bang for the buck

    School may be expensive, but it's totally worth it! You get the best education you can, professors who are always there for you, and friendships that will last a lifetime. You can't put a price tag on that kind of happiness.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. Not only because of the schooling, but also because of the people and environment. It's so easy to make friends and before long these friends turn into a big family. There's always someone to talk to and something to do. There's something for everyone to get involved in and enjoy.

    Am learning a lot

    DSU is an amazing school. The technology is phenomenal. Computers and technology are a part of everyday life in these changing times. The faculty understand this and give us the most up-to-date information to better us. They want you to succeed and do everything they can to help you.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many things to do around dsu. you can just chill out with new friends on campus or go hang out at one of the local places. for the sports enthusiasts, there are plenty of games/matches to go to. everything that we need or want is here in madison.

    Food and Dining

    the meals are fantastic. living right next to the cafeteria has great advantages.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life has been great. you need to get involved in campus activities. it's great being part of something greater!

    Academic Rigor

    study, study, study. you can always find a study partner or group to help out if you are having trouble. apply yourself to your studies. that doesn't mean you can't have some fun, but we are here to get an education so we can accomplish great things in our future.

    Tips for prospective students

    there is a whole world waiting out there for us. we just need to believe in ourselves, do our best, and the possibilities are unlimited. get involved in campus life. be smart about it. our future is beginning here.

    In three sentences

    attending dsu this past year has been a great experience for me. the campus is not too big that you get lost and you're not just another number as on some campuses. i can't wait to return in the fall of 2012.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there has been an incident recently where i reported a crime to the school, and although i was interviewed about it, nothing was done to stop it. i am afraid it is still occurring, and since it is a dangerous crime, i am not sure what to do about it at this point. it disappoints me that the school did nothing about this issue, and for that, the campus safety rating got a hit. otherwise, there has been a madison (not school) shooting this past semester, and the school did a good job on lock-down and securing students during the ordeal.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are quite a few clubs on campus, and many of them have good perks for specific majors and members of the club.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for technology-centered students, as well as students that enjoy a small campus and intensive classes of 30 some people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus includes the madison community center, which is right next to our football field. this community center is free for students, and you can work out there during business hours. it offers a track, the trojan football field, indoor track, extensive weight room, treadmills and machines, and a pool. one tradition is an activity put on by the dsu game club called humans vs. zombies. it usually happens once or twice a year and has about 80-some participants each time. it's just a giant game of tag that lasts 24 hours for two straight weeks. a group of people (zombies) are trying to tag and 'turn' a second group (humans). the humans have nerf guns, and if a zombie is hit by a dart, they are stunned and cannot tag. it can turn into an extensive and exhausting game, but it is very popular with dsu students.

    Bang for the buck

    i believe i am overpaying a little bit for this school. there are multiple micro transactions that you would expect might be covered in overall costs. the wireless fee is over 350 dollars. the school assigns you a laptop, but the repair and service for that laptop is minimal. there is no security system on that laptop either. this school is very technology-centered, so i would wish there was security on the laptops. however, the academic quality is very good, although you're only in class two to three days a week, which isn't much for paying 600 dollars per class, per semester. also, paying 1500 dollars for housing per semester is ridiculous, considering you have to share a small room and bathroom with multiple people. overall, the bang for the buck is minimal.

    What to do for fun

    madison is not exactly the biggest town in south dakota. as far as fun goes, there's not much the town has to offer for itself. the campus makes good attempts to extend some activities out for students, including small concerts, comedy acts, motivational speakers, etc. some school clubs offer fun things as well, such as the dsu game club and the game design club, offering up a chance to play games with other students once a week. some clubs and organizations offer up once in a while activities, such as laser tag, humans vs. zombies, and plays. overall, the fun level of the campus is fair. it all depends on your willingness to participate.

    Food and Dining

    the food service is excellent with service, cleanliness, and friendliness. unfortunately, that's about all it's good for. the food quality is 'edible', meaning it's not that good, but when you're hungry, you'll eat it. the worst time to get food (especially grilled or cooked food) is during the weekends. most of the time it's students running the kitchen during weekends, so the food quality is even worse. burnt pizza, hamburgers, no ketchup, ranch, condiments, and dirty tables are what to expect during weekends. overall, the food and dining leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    this really depends on which dorm you're in. there are four dorms in all, one male, one female, and two coed. each dorm has its ups and downs. the all-male dorm is identical to the all-female dorm. both dorms have more limited space, since everything is not split down the middle like the coed dorms are. the most noise issues come from the gender specific dorms as well. all floors on every dorm have a kitchenette, a bathroom with multiple toilets and showers, and a 'break room' with a tv, microwave, table, etc. you are required to use a key card for access to your dorm, and this card cannot be used for any other dorm. overall, dorm life is fair, depending on the dorm you are in.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the teachers in the school are very strict about learning and getting the work done on time. there are the select few that manage to push back a few due dates, but they always want you to learn. there are study groups, tutoring groups, even clubs get involved with helping students get work done. overall, academics are stressed fantastically through the faculty and student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know what your intended degree will be before you start. there are a lot of specialization classes (many of which are required) to complete your degree, and if you switch majors, especially any time after freshman year, you may have to take more classes than you intend in your later years. don't pack too much unless you intend to live off campus. you just need the essentials, and then some extra room. there isn't much space in each dorm room, especially if you plan on living with a roommate. branch out through school activities. the best way to help you out with school is to get to know people. being it's a smaller school, chances are you will meet someone who will know a thing or two about your major and the classes you're in. you may also meet a very good friend along the way. get all your work done. especially in technology-centered classes, if you miss a lesson, it's likely you will be behind from then on out. you will want to understand every concept before the next one comes along, so attend class and get the work done (on time, preferably).

    In three sentences

    dakota state university is full of a variety of people. it is a small school, probably less than 2000 students. the staff and faculty are friendly, and there are a lot of opportunities to meet new people.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Madison is a smaller town and so there isn't very much crime to begin with. But there are people everywhere that are looking out for the students' safety and making sure that everything is running smoothly.

    Clubs and Activities

    DSU has so many clubs and activities to do. I am involved in the cross country and track team and I am going to DSU CRU which is a Christian club here on campus. But there are groups that are for video game design and RA's and Go! Leaders which help with orientatin.

    Great for these types of students

    DSU is great for students who are looking for a smaller college, and want to feel like more than just a number. It makes it easier to transition after high school because the classes are smaller.

    Bang for the buck

    DSU is the cheapest school that I looked at. For out of state students, a semester is only $7,600. Also, DSU gives every student a tablet to use for two years and then they swich it out for a new one.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do to have fun around here. Once a month there is karaoke night. And there are game nights and in town there is a movie theatre and things to do and everything is within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The Trojan Center Marketplace is where students can eat their meals. The food in there is pretty good and students have a variety of different foods to choose from. The TC Marketplace staff cares about the food and nutrients that the students need to take in so it's nice to have someone looking out for you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Moving is was also great because there were many volunteer students to help bring stuff into the dorms. It's great because there are people everywhere all the time and you always have someone to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really amazing. Some of the classes can be difficult, but you can always get help from your professors or other students who have taken the course before you. There are also great tutors to help, also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be affraid to ask for help when you need it. This campus is full of people who love to help and make things easier for you. Never feeling like you're on your own either.

    In three sentences

    DSU is full of caring students and staff members who are willing to help anyone who needs it. Everyone cares about your college experience and wants to make it worth your time. I love it here!

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are real safe on and off campus not really any crime rate so really almost nothing to worry about and we have security that watch the campus 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want to do anything with technology.

    What to do for fun

    I exercise each day to keep in shape and also play basketball and football.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, we have an buffet so we can eat all we want but the food selection can be a little bit better each day instead of eating the same food almost each day.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but from what I had heard that the dorms are really nice and clean but the rooms are just a little small.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is more of an computer school which we do all assignments, test and quizzes. We also get our own computer which is yours until your years in school is finished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to class everyday is a start of getting a good grade in class, but doing homework is a good way of keeping up with the class and not to fall behind.

    In three sentences

    This school is very helpful and I understand what the teachers are teaching and fun school to attend lots of activity here and there is always tutors available.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have nothing but nice comments for this school. They are very helpful, nice, and respectful to their students. They help their students to succeed.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs to join like the martial arts club and the math and science club

    Food and Dining

    Its not moms but they are always updating and changing the menu to allow varitey .

    Dorm Life

    the rooms are somewhat small but two people can live in them. they also provide off campus housing. there are a number of activities to keep everyone busy.

    Academic Rigor

    Dakota State University will challenge you to do your best don't take anything for granted. i rate 10

    Tips for prospective students

    just because Dakota State is small don't pass is by. Check it out you will be surprised at what is has to offer and the accademic challenges it offers

    In three sentences

    It is great college to go to because of its size you get to know your professors and classmates. DSU has been rated as one of the top colleges. They also have been highly recongized for its computer technolgies.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are everywhere and the crime rate on campus is very slim.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to live in a small town and do not like the amenities of a big city.

    Bang for the buck

    A cheap college with very in depth academic programs.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the lake, play a sport or join a club.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not really that good on campus but there are some really good places in town to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The school has a really great freshman introduction program. You can meet a lot of people in a really short time. All the amenities of life are in each dorm. The RA's are really helpful and your floor mates will love to spend time in your room, all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Each professor forces you as a student to push yourself beyond what you think you are capable of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity the school has to offer. Talk to as many people as possible because you never know who will be able to help you in the future.

    In three sentences

    Friendly helpful people. The best technology-education integration ever. As good an education as any more expensive college.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is very technology based, so if you love technology this is the place for you. There are a lot of gaming communities as well. Therefore gamers are very welcome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the great traditions that they have is Zombies vs. Humans. It goes on throughout the winter. They play until everyone has been turned into a zombie.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school with excellent teachers and facilities for a great price. It is one of the cheapest universities in the state!

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities and clubs. People also get groups of friends together to play games campus wide. The town has a movie theater, a great community center, and a pool. It's only forty minutes from Brookings and about an hour from Sioux Falls, so it is extremely easy to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are not that many places to eat. The school's eating facility is a lot better than most. There are a lot of choices that are delicious. As for dining places through out the town, that is another story. There are not a lot of restaurants around to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    After being at the dorms for only a week, it already feels like one big family. It is not too noisy, and there are plenty of people that always want to hang out and go do something.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to an extent. The classes challenge you, but not to the extent that you cannot handle it. If you have any trouble the teacher are more than happy to help. They also have tutors and tutoring hours to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is not meant for people who want to party; it is a learning college. The social life is not very big. The small classes make it so that you can get a better education. One will learn better here rather than at any other college.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. The campus is small and easy to get around. Plus the small town atmosphere cannot be beat!

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You should first go to one of the DSU Discovery Days

    In three sentences

    I loved that DSU was a small college with every accomidations that you can want. The dorms are really clean and great. The food is really good.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    No Bang! Just wasting your buck!

    Food and Dining

    No Idea! Distance Learning Student.

    Dorm Life

    No Idea! I slept at home since I took the courses online.

    Academic Rigor

    There is no academic rigor. The instructor who teaches Network Security, Mr. Kyle Cronin, when it comes to building a VPN is asking the students to look it up on Google/Bing, or read the documentation in order to figure out how to do it... He also mentions in the assignment that if anyone is asking him how to do it he may send them a picture of a cat....So much for Academic rigor! More than that, once the assignment is over, you have to ask him how it should be done, because he is not thinking to share the response with the students...I wonder why attend the University then, since I can Google VPN form home, and save money in the process...

    Tips for prospective students

    Graduate students who want to get some real world experience look somewhere else!

    In three sentences

    Lack of respect for students. No advising, tutoring or support whatsoever. Instructors who lack in teaching experience are allowed to teach graduate courses.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few cases of items stolen during finals, but other than that, campus is completely safe. I can walk around town late at night by myself and not feel scared one bit. Madison is a great place with great people.

    Greek Life

    DSU does not have much greek life, at all. We more or less have a geek life, which I would say is better!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge selection of clubs. I belong to 3 honors societies and have been working close with the English club and Gaming club. Gaming club is great because every Thursday people hang out in the TC and play games (board, card, and video). There is also an anime club that interests me. The DSU website has all clubs listed, and I have nothing negative to say about any of them!

    Great for these types of students

    Gamers, people interested in technology. Technically, we're better.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Like I said, the Trojan Center Underground is where people go for events. The Dakota Prairie Playhouse is where a lot of plays and other events are held (it's about 3 blocks north of campus). The Trojan Center (TC) is usually where students hang out on campus. It's where the food is, where student services is, the Underground, Campus Ministries, etc. It's all there, but mostly students just sit around and hang out at tables.

    Bang for the buck

    DSU isn't all that expensive (compared to other schools). I feel as though I made the right decision choosing this college. I feel as though I belong, and I'm sure you'll feel the same way!

    What to do for fun

    DSU is located in a town of 6,000 people. There is not much to do here. I think that is why most students resort to video games and Magic. However, the Trojan Center Underground puts on events during the year such as hypnotists, live music, and poetry slams. Madison has a bowling alley and small twin theater. Most people, though, go to Sioux Falls for any form of entertainment during the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a picky eater, but the food in the cafeteria (MarketPlace) isn't that bad. There is always pizza, burgers, and deli. The comfort food station is usually where I get my food. It usually has things like Thanksgiving dinner! Different meats, potato, and veggies. There is also an oriental display and Italian. There is an ice cream machine and Belgium waffles! There is also Einstein Bagels which is delicious. We also have a C-Store (small convenience store) for other foods.

    Dorm Life

    There are 4 dorm buildings (2 freshmen - no AC in rooms, 2 upper-classmen - AC in rooms). I've only lived in Richardson, but, I've been inside all of them. Emry (upper-classmen dorm) as carpet in the halls, which makes it quieter. This is a great advantage for when you're studying or sleeping! Most students go home (Sioux Falls, Brookings, etc) on the weekends, so life in the dorms is basically dead during the weekends, but the RA's try to make it better for those who stay with activities such as movie nights etc. Rooms are nice, though they are small. What dorm room isn't small, though?

    Academic Rigor

    Generals are super easy. I'm not a science person, yet I passed Bio with over 100 percent. Even when you get to classes that are for your major, they're not extremely overbearing. Just make sure not to overload yourself with too many credit hours. Professors are great here and try to help in any way if you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    The majority of students at DSU play Magic: The Gathering. I felt a little left out when I came here because I didn't play the card game. However, even though people are always playing it, they still make me feel accepted. Everyone here is super nice!

    In three sentences

    DSU is great for those who want to major in something with computers or games. The social life is great if you're a gamer or love Magic: The Gathering. The campus, and Madison in general, is a beautiful, safe community.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! Everyone here is very trustworthy. There have not been any major crimes that I have known about while attending school here. We have a night watchman who is on call every night and the Madison police are always available if there is an issue that serious.

    Greek Life

    Since DSU is such a small campus, we do not have a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many club and activities here on campus and there are always new clubs starting up. Basically, if there is anything that you want to do and there isn't already a club, you can start one. There is Student Government, Enactus, PBL, we have two Christian clubs: CRU and Intervarsity. There is an ultimate Frisbee club, intramurals, and so many more.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is exceptionally good for students interested in any major having to do with a computer. We also have one of the best teaching programs. Personally, I am a Biology major and I feel that I couldn't be getting a better degree anywhere else.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have freshmen orientation groups that always get together the weekend before classes start. We call them Go! Groups. During finals weeks, we have sessions called Wagging Away Stress where we have people bring in puppies and the students can interact with them to help relieve some stress during finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    Dakota State is the cheapest school that I looked into, and I am an out of state student. I think that DSU is definitely worth the cost of coming here. I don't think that there is another college where you can pay minimal cost and get a one to one experience with a great professor who wants to see you succeed.

    What to do for fun

    I am a member of the Cross Country and Track teams for DSU, so I spend most of my time running. When I'm not doing that, and I'm done with my homework, I participate in Enactus, a club designed to help empower others. There are a lot of groups on campus to become involved in. If you want to do something off campus, Madison has a movie theater, bowling alley, and two lakes that you can visit. There are also quite a few restaurants in Madison if you don't feel like eating on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Trojan Center Dining Services are available for all three meals and we also have an Einsteins Bagels in our facility and also a C-Store where students can go to buy groceries.

    Dorm Life

    There are four resident halls. They are all relatively small when compared to those of other colleges, so it makes it easy to get to know more people. Each residence hall has a hall council that puts on activities and really tries to make the most out of the students' college living experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Dakota State has some of the best professors in South Dakota. There are a few courses that are very hard and require a lot of outside work and learning, but The extra work is definitely worth it. And there are tutors and former students that are always willing to help others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus activities. That's how I met most of my friends here. Also, utilize the tutors and your professors' office hours. It's easy to get caught up in trying to make friends and doing activities, so make sure that you always make time for your school work first.

    In three sentences

    DSU is a small campus filled with many friendly faces. I can always count on my professors being available for me and getting to know me on a one to one basis. I really love the atmosphere here and couldn't picture myself being anywhere else.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For campus safety it's very well kept up. The school is small so everyone knows everyone. There is even late night security to walk you back if it's to late at night.

    Greek Life

    Dakota State University does not have a the Greek life. DSU is more of a technology school were people just chill out and stay low.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of gaming clubs. as well as very into drama clubs, as well as cancer awareness and even christian youth groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Technology majors would love to go to Dsu. As well as future teachers because DSU used to be a teaching schoo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The human vs. zombies when everyone goes around and shoots each other with Nerf guns.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in South Dakota then Dakota State University is the place to go. Because Dakota State is the cheapest University school there is here.

    What to do for fun

    Most people actually game or play human vs. zombies with Nerf guns.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is actually surprisingly good, there is more than one type of station for food. For example there Italian, burgers, sandwich shop, lettuce bar, and so much more.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fantastic, the RA's are always involved with you and make sure everything is ok with you. The rooms may be older yes, but the rooms are a decent size. The kitchen next to my room has all new appliances which is great.

    Academic Rigor

    DSU may not be the best place for sports, because we never go to state. There is one reason to stay those because our teams are like family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun.

    In three sentences

    Dakota State is a fantastic University the college is small and has a awesome atmosphere. The teachers will meet one on one with you even if you are ill, and the students all along very well. The school is a great place to be everyone is helpful and friendly.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dakota State is generally safe and not a lot happens.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The most club that people are in at Dakota State University is Humans vs. Zombies. A person has a nerf gun to protect oneself. If one gets touched by a zombie then he/she becomes a zombie as well. You can get tagged by a zombie anywhere but in the dorm halls.

    Great for these types of students

    Dakota State University is great for one who is looking to specialize in computer science or a major of that similarity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dakota State has a bingo night every week that is very fun. One can win anything from a weeks worth of groceries to a gift certificate to a movie. Bingo night is a fun time.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking to go to Dakota State for computer science or a subject of that sort, it is very much worth every penny. Also, if you play sports it is worth the money as well.

    What to do for fun

    The town in which Dakota State is located in is a fairly small town with not a lot to do in it. Although there are much bigger cites just about forty-five minutes away just to the north and to the south. There are a lot of activities to do in both of those cities. Anywhere from going to a semi-professional basketball/hockey to simply going to a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Dakota State University is basically the same every day. There is a wide variety you are able to choose from though. If you would like to eat healthy, there is a fruit and salad bar available. If you are looking for fat foods and goodies, those are all available to you as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Dakota State is nothing too special. They have two freshman dorms. One is an all guy dorm and the other is a coed dorms. The other two dorms are for sophomores and older. There is not a whole lot that goes on in the dorms. People usually are hanging out in their dorm rooms playing video games or out in the lobby conversing with one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Dakota State is a fairly difficult college. This is not a university where you can just skate by. Put in the time for your work first. The professors are pretty easy going for the most part. They will work with your schedule. Also, do not hand in your work late or you will get a zero on the assignment. Remember, do your work first and then have fun. Not the other way around.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good suggestion for prospective students is to get ready to work your very hardest. Dakota State is not a university that you can just get by with the bare minimum. Be prepared to study your hardest to accomplish the goals you will set for yourself. Put one-hundred percent of your time into schoolwork first before you go out and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Dakota State is a very prestige college for one who is interested in technology. They have a spectacular program for computer science and areas of that sort. If one is looking for a computer job after finishing college, this would be a great university to go to.