Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dalton State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always circling the campus, even late into the night. They stay on top of their job and are great at directing traffic.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is very small and should be expanded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid as early as you can. Take a tour of the campus so you can get to know where everything is. Talk to your academic advisor

    In three sentences

    The college is very challenging and most of the professors are interested in teaching the students more about the class. They are willing to help out the students and make adjustments to the class or scheduling.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everywhere any one goes at dalton state college you will see a school police man or woman. of course, you can find an emergency phone in various locations if something goes wrong or if for some reason the elevator gets stuck. for the most part its a quiet school so no one would really expect much harm to happen at the college.

    Greek Life

    at my school since it is still barely progressing as a four year institution it doest not have and greek life. so i really would not know how that is but i am sure that the girls and guys are very competitive of his or her groups. sisterhood or brotherhood, i can imagine the responsibilities it comes with being faithful to the group and honesty.

    Clubs and Activities

    in our college my first year we had latin dance club organized by hispanics, which was quite interesting because it was nice seeing something then traditional at school. unfortunately, after its first year it did not become successful as it was expected to do and it no longer exists. i was never able to attend it because my classes and the hour meetings never worked out well together but my friends did tell me it was sure something different and fun, students were expected to bring dance shoes and a partner. i am sure that the club helped students get more acquainted its first year with everyone, it was unfortunate it did not continue.

    Great for these types of students

    if you really need help, tutoring is the way! if you do not know whats happening in class its helpful to know the school professors hours. the library might be a quiet place to learn but its the only place you will get something done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have a rock where students spray paint. our college wanted a way to set itself apart from other colleges. i have yet to spray paint it but i have just seen that it has our logo, mascot, and quotes on it to aspire students.

    Bang for the buck

    college, usually means a student has the excuse to be poor. because of the situations i have chosen to work because it gives me the sense of maturity and independence, plus it feels nice to spoil myself every once in a while. of course, because of college it makes it so much more stressful to work and study at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    since dalton state college is somewhere i commute to i already know the location. dalton state is located in a small town area where there is not much to do but go bowling or go the movies. a lot of the students experience their- selves bored because its either to quiet, but for most they like it because most students come also from big cities and enjoy the capability to relax with out the distracting noises he or she are used to.

    Food and Dining

    i have noticed from self experience has showed me the “freshman fifteen,” which is where students gain weight his or her first year adjusting to college life. my food habits have changed through out the time. i can recall making a lot of unhealthy fast food choices simply because i never made time to cook. the food at school really is not that appealing to me because now that i am trying to live a much healthier life the majority of the food is not so healthy. the subs that the school does make and sell is very expensive at the school, one thing i wished the food could be more affordable.

    Dorm Life

    since i live at home still i have not experienced the full college life of living on campus. i believe everyone should experience it though, it would help a person grow and make his or herself more responsible. a lots of situations can come from living on campus in a dorm, it can be pros or cons and whichever it may be it just makes it a learning experience.

    Academic Rigor

    i would say you only make it tougher then what it really is if a student does not try to use the resources the school offers. i found it difficult at times with my first year in college in english but once i actually did the work that was assigned and actually tried and read the chapters i actually understood the assignments and terms which helped me become successful. as well i had my moments i did not study, i obviously learned the hard way that one must study to get the grades you need, or at least thats how it was for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    high school is no where near like college. if any student thinks it will be a piece of cake, he or she is wrong. i would advice for students to take high school serious because it is a helpful stepping stone to become serious about your studies and what you want to with your life in the future.

    In three sentences

    overall dalton state college is a great school; you learn, your teachers know your name, and they are more then helpful in any way. although college is not similar in any way to high school i have grown in education wise because dalton state was able to provide help to their students. most colleges treat you like a number and to be honest my professors do not at all.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Pope Center offers a video game room with gaming systems, ping pong tables, and billiard tables.

    Food and Dining

    The dining that Dalton State offers is varied and all are made fresh- some even made right in front of you. Though the only complaint I have is the high prices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I have visited them and know people who live in the dorms, and all the things they tell me are good.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are all very well educated and diligent in what they do for a living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, ALWAYS, keep your advisor informed on everything, even if you don't think its relevant.

    In three sentences

    I believe Dalton State College is a fine institution. It is a rapidly growing college that is currently seeking University status.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for all types of students traditional and non- traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    I would rate 3 stars.

    What to do for fun

    There are several events that Dalton state offers during the school year that are very exciting and fun.

    Food and Dining

    I give food and dining 3 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students make sure you ask questions if there is a problem.

    In three sentences

    Dalton state has been a great experience. The environment is very friendly. The social work program is awesome.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Dalton State College is an amazing school. It is a place to be proud of. I'm so thankful to have attended Dalton State and met the professors that have essentially changed my life.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are 2 bowling alleys in Dalton and a movie theater. Chattanooga, TN is only 30 min away.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria on campus. Food is pretty good, but prices are a little high, and there isn't a great selection. There are several fast food places close to campus, a Walmart and Kroger both about 5 min away.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively new. DSC started a Residential Life program 3 years ago. The college bought out an apartment complex, so all of the dorms are apartment style. Full living room and kitchen. Apartments are furnished (except for kitchen supplies(pots, pans, etc..))

    Academic Rigor

    Even though DSC is a small school, the academics are great. The farther you get in your program, the more difficult it is. That is to be expected though.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great college to start out at. Very affordable and most of the professors are willing to create a great classroom environment and help you acheive your academic goals.

    In three sentences

    Small classes make it easy to know your peers and instructors. Student Activities offer a wide variety of events and listen to students ideas for events. Since DSC is working towards becoming a university, there are constant changes, opportunities, and new programs to check out.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THERE ARE CAMPUS POLICE EVERYWHERE! :)

    Greek Life

    There are few Greek chapters at are school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs you can enter into! And deadlines and everything are also on the stall wall! And as for the activities, I've already described them!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want regular sized classes (about 30 people), relatively small. It's nice to be able to go straight up to a professor after class and ask him whatever you need to know!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really aren't any unusual traditions. Well, we had a trick or treat night the night before Halloween last year for parents to bring their kiddos to get candy and play games!

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton's tuition is very low. It is known for its high ranked professors but still being a low tuition school. There is plenty bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    The campus is always holding events to get students involved, and you can find them on the stall wall in the bathrooms! When you go to do your business, there are calendars on the back of the doors that tell you all of the upcoming events!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!! Period!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but apartments you can rent instead!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes and teachers you take, difficulty will go up or down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with the student advisory council!

    In three sentences

    DSC is a small yet growing college. It's a fun file activity college with great staff and teachers. If I had to give Dalton a rate from 0-10, I would give them an 8.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seeing as most the people were from small town America, everything was pretty quiet and the campus police added the extra security needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not get to partake in any clubs or activities, but my friend was the president of Skills USA, and she had a blast.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, easy going people fit in well here. Not to say that city people won't fit in, there are just a lot of students from small towns attending Dalton State College.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money you spend, the education at Dalton State is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do around Dalton, but I did not go to that campus, I attended the Gilmer Campus, and the same goes for there. The only thing that makes it fun though, is if you get out there and make it.

    Food and Dining

    I did not partake in their meal plan since I was a commuter, but the dining hall seemed nice as I passed by.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm, but I heard they were not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rather difficult, but the teachers will do anything to help you out. Well, besides give you the answers to test questions. They really care about your future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are one step ahead of the admissions and financial aid offices, and always keep a copy of your papers, whether you think they important or not.

    In three sentences

    At first all the paperwork was very confusing when dealing with the office. However, after that the classes were amazing and the teachers were awesome. I recommend this college to anyone who is looking for a small town feel with small, personable class sizes

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who may not be ready for going off to school at a larger university.

    What to do for fun

    Fitness, walking trails, nearby restaurants and shopping choices are A Plus

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult but enjoy the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and read all forms closely. Do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    My college is good enough for me to want to return for an advanced degree after getting my initial degree 29 years ago.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dalton State College has several options for students to enjoy their college experience; I don't know where to begin! I will mention my favorite events/activities, which are: the Week of Welcome and Alternative Spring Break!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at DSC is okay. They do have some awesome brownies that they sell in the cafeteria! The employees at the campus cafe are super nice!

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't have much information about the dorm life at DSC since Dalton State is primarily more of a commuter college. The college added the addition of dorms about 3 years ago. The dorm life at Dalton State is slowly increasing.

    Academic Rigor

    It has some of the best educators and caring professors that I have ever met. Every professor has their own way of teaching a class, and it may take some time to adjust to their way of teaching. If you're struggling in a class, they help out tremendously in whatever it is that you may need help with; don't be afraid to ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dalton State certainly has a lot more to offer than I ever envisioned. It's so imperative to stay focused, especially during your freshman year of college, and keep your studies up! Get involved with the student life at Dalton State; make your college years something to remember, and just make the best of it! Never lose sight of your goals.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College may not be a popular college locally in the small town of Dalton, GA, but Dalton State is what I'll proudly call my alma mater one day. DSC is a college that has so much to offer for students, and can lead a person towards a positive future. Dalton State is a college that strives for students to keep learning; Allow your desire for knowledge to continue after DSC.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is local leagues for different sports but the most popular to me is soccer.

    Food and Dining

    Dalton State College has different options of food. Also Dalton State College is located near many restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at Dalton State College is very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Dalton State College has some of the best programs that include Mathematics, Science, and English. In my point of view Dalton State College is rated in the top of the University System of Georgia.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Dalton State College as one of your college choices, you are in the right track to a great education.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College is the most afordable public colleges in North Georgia. The academics are rated as some of the best in North Georgia. The environment is very friendly and the people in campus make you feel welcomed.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The guys are always visible even at night . There are safety alerts sent to our phones and computers strobe light alert signs you can hit like a panic button if you need them at night. Also at orientation they give you whistles for safety the best free gift i have ever received.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of can become a group anyone can speak their mind it is so refreshing and freeing.

    Great for these types of students

    I am a non traditional student but I dont feel like it at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ROCK!

    Bang for the buck

    I have access to the gymnasiumn just by being a student which for me is a bonus I work full time and take classes full time , I have almost no time to excercise .It is so great. I also have the library and computer labs. I had no money my entire first year all the books and computer access i needed were available from 7 am to 10pm.

    What to do for fun

    Different events are scheduled daily on campus.. I also often watch the volley ball games , and ping pong, musical guest and speakers .. its awesome.

    Food and Dining

    The familiar staff and friendly faces make the morning coffee stop great. And when I have no time to leave to get lunch or dinner the convienience and great food give plenty of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I have found the new apartments the school aquired for the dorms have increased the different groups of students and brought more culture to our school.

    Academic Rigor

    As challenging as it may be ( my daughters joked it was military school) it has made me an awesome nurse and now I am re-enrolled again due to the results and opportunity the school affords to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize ,Utilize, Utilize. Use what is made available to you on campus. The library and different computer labs.Everyone is willing to help. Alot of students are employed at the school and they are either where you want to go or where your at, and willing to help. If you dont find the answer you want keep digging ,it will usually pop up. The core curriculum is difficult but will make you the best you that you can be. DO IT!

    In three sentences

    An opportunist choice for the new and old high school graduate. An equal opportunity interest school. A melting pot of culture and discovery.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always Public Safety around when you need them. If you have a late class (late at night), they will even drive you to your car.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is amazing for students willing to learn and trying to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Here recently, Dalton State expanded a small campus to Gilmer County. It really helps out on gas!

    What to do for fun

    The student life on campus is great. There are always creative activities to help the students get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pace yourself, with all things come a long journey.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College is a wonderful experience to have with a personal touch. At Dalton State College you are a student who matters and not a faceless student.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers patrol the grounds constantly. If there is a problem they handle it and then send out warning messages per computer.

    Clubs and Activities

    I really do not know a lot about this topic.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for those who want the college experience with the large price tag.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center is a little unconventional. Downstairs people talk, play games or study. Upstairs people eat and some study.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    The campus activities board always has some type of fun activity. I rarely get to join in due to work and class schedules.

    Food and Dining

    I eat two meals a week at the cafe. The food has always been good. I would rate the food a five.

    Dorm Life

    I leave at home with my husband and son, so I do not know about this topic.

    Academic Rigor

    Dalton State is not easy, but if you work hard you can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class every day. Study, Study, Study.

    In three sentences

    I like Dalton State. It is small enough that you do not become a number, but at the same time it offers a wide range of classes. Most of the professors are willing to work with you and help if you need it.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is starting next year!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to choose from. This college allows you to create your own club if there that you desire to be a member of. They also have clubs associated with your major, and similar interests.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the types of students that are very focused on school and are looking for a small-feel community.

    Bang for the buck

    There is tutoring for every major and the professors give constructive advice on how to make your college experience a success, and it is all for free!

    What to do for fun

    Shopping and dining on the strip!

    Dorm Life

    There is a very large space for every student to feel comfortable in their dorm room. Also they will be building new dorm rooms a few years down the road.

    Academic Rigor

    This college offers many easy and difficult classes. The difficulty depends on the course that you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of school with your adviser!

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College is a very beautiful campus with very friendly people. This college gives a lot to offer with a good low student to professor ratio. Every student is able to feel like they are receiving a quality education.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus sheriff's that patrol all day and night. Sometimes whether you want them there or not.

    Greek Life

    None at the moment, but several students are working on that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bell Tower is the trademark of the school. People get married under the Bell Tower often.

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton was named the one of the lowest tuition schools and the lowest debt schools.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Activities has several activities going on throughout the year. Magic shows, comedians to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining on campus is not the best as far as money, but they are working on it. In the mean time not to far are the several fast food and dine in joints.

    Dorm Life

    Around 100 beds only, but very relaxing environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging, but motivating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in school activities. The more involved you are the better you can take advantage of all Dalton State College has to offer. Campus Activities Board is a good place to start.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State is very challenging. Dalton State makes you go beyond your limits. The people you meet become family.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are laid back, neat and tighty, partier, nose in the books kind of kid, gay, straight, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, and well outspoken or shy DSC is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton State is a great college. you will have a great learning experience as well as fun with the student life center. the teachers are friendly and eager to help you better in your work. dsc also offers free tutoring and counseling for students with academic help or personal as well as career wise. If you are looking for a college with a great student abbraod opportunity and a great educational foundation to head start your future field of study than DSC is for you.

    What to do for fun

    DSC has a great student center. you can play video games or pool or pong. they also have traveling opportunities if that may interest you.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria in Dalton state is a bit expensive, but they came up just recently with some affordable meals. although, it is better to bring your own meal because one can save money and it wont get costly over time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go to the student center and ask for help. stay on top on financial aid because they are overloaded with students that a call wont hurt. failing and dropping to many classes can hurt you with financial aid and you can be put on academic probation.

    In three sentences

    DSC has great programs attend and the teachers there are wonderful and ready to help when asked. DSC has a great foundation for students who plan to further their education. DSC has a great student activity center for students to enjoy and connect more with the school.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is good. The police is always around the campus. The school need to put more cameras on the stairs.

    What to do for fun

    I work full time, so I do not have time to stay on campus. Sometimes I go to the gym. The gym is a good place to exercise. Students can play in the volleyball field.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good. They do not have to much to choose, but it still good. The only problem is that the food is a little expensive, and the servers sometimes are rude.

    Dorm Life

    I don not have experience in dorm life. I life in my own house, but the housing looks good to me.

    Academic Rigor

    I have rate DSC rigor as very hard. They do not accept late works. We have to be on time in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a new student, please try to find all the information about the courses, and programs. Do not excitate to ask questions. Ask your peers if you have a doubt about something. Please keep in mind that some people can have the wrong information, so go to different people to ask.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College is a good and affordable college. The people who work here are always willing to help anyone. Most of the classes have availability. Most of the teachers are respecful.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    VERY CHEAP TUITION

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, running, tennis.

    Food and Dining

    recently began a meal plan, but there are tons of places to eat very close by.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, but most classes are rather challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early for a parking spot.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State college is a small,close knit college in a quiet city. The teachers are nice and helpful. The school is a low debt school, and it offers many great majors and programs.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have plenty of officers. Whether they could actually keep the campus safe during an emergency, I'm not too sure. They do love writing parking tickets though, it's their specialty.

    Great for these types of students

    You know the degree you want and you're prepared. You can't rely on the office staff to help you with much of anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap for the degrees DSC offers. However, tuition and fees keep increasing over time. And, they make you take some classes over again even if you passed, and you have to pay for them more than once, where other colleges don't make you take classes like that over again if you passed them.

    What to do for fun

    Since I work a full time job and go to school I don't really stay around campus for fun activities, so I can't really speak on things to do there for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have updated the food since I first started, and it has improved a lot.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in a dorm, but I have been inside them and they aren't that great for the price. I recommend getting your own apartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what major you are wanting to pursue before starting, if not you will waste time and money on classes that you don't need.

    In three sentences

    Classes are easy to find. Teachers, for the most part, are very helpful. It is a great school for the price.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get your applications in early, and look into the sports programs here.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State is a very nice local community college, that has great teachers and offers a wide range of 4 year degrees. everyone here is very helpful and they are willing to do whatever it takes to help the students with what they need.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dalton State's campus is very safe, and most students feel safe at all times on campus.

    Greek Life

    Even though Dalton State is a smaller, community college that doesn't have as many dorms as the big colleges, Dalton State has recently been looking into Greek Life. I'm sure it will be added soon.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities to look into at Dalton State, so you could pretty much occupy yourself with any of them and be lost for time if you wanted to!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions? I wouldn't call it unusual, but every year there is a food and culture festival that goes on and it is so much fun. I guess an unusual location would be the technical building. It's just weird, and no one really likes being there, but only because it's a farther walk.

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton State tuition is very reasonable, and you get an amazing education for the low cost. It is completely worth the pay, and reasonable for any student.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are always some kind of activities to involve yourself in, on a daily basis. If not, there are plenty of places you can go off campus in Dalton if you just can't seem to occupy yourself on campus, but all in all it's great.

    Food and Dining

    Dalton State has a cafe upstairs in the Student Center, that has relatively okay food. If you aren't satisfied by the cafe, there are also plenty of restaurants within five miles or less of the school, so you have plenty of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I've had friends who do and I know that they have pretty nice dorms, for a pretty nice cost.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that Dalton State has a wonderful reputation in Academics. Dalton State has highly knowledgeable teachers, that only want the best for their students. Since Dalton State's class sizes are usually about 30 each, teachers get to make personal relationships, too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dalton State is pretty challenging academically, as it should be. Keep focused on the books, and don't get distracted by sitting around the Student Center doing nothing all day. Dalton State is definitely worth looking into, you can have a lot of fun and learn a lot at the same time.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State has a beautiful campus with amazing staff. Everyone on campus is pretty friendly (minus most of the business office), and since the campus is relatively smaller than most, you feel included. The low tuition cost helps, too!

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dalton State has officers on campus at all times. Dalton is a very safe college.

    Greek Life

    Dalton is currently in the process of bringing Greek Life to the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a family oriented atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dalton has a bell tower that is absolutely beautiful. The bell tower came from France and a few students have even been married there.

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton is among the low cost colleges in Georgia.

    What to do for fun

    Dalton has a lot to offer. Dalton has bowling, malls, outlet malls, dinning, movies, and mini golf.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip: Always meet with your new teachers and get your classes early.

    In three sentences

    Dalton state values their students. Dalton State is well rounded and has a beautiful campus. Dalton State has many helpful teachers, tutor centers, and there is always someone willing to help students.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around, so safety never seems to be an issue.

    Greek Life

    Not much of a greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and campus activities!

    Great for these types of students

    The library is excellent for those who like to study in quiet areas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bell tower is really great, it chimes every hour. It does take some getting used to though!

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton State is very fairly priced, and I recommend starting here because it is one of the more affordable schools around.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with other students or participate in the campus events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has great food!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but I have been in them, and they are very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes seem fairly easy as long as you pay attention and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all of your financial aid info, and that everything has processed correctly. Try to join a club, or at least hang out in the student center, it is easier to make friends that way.

    In three sentences

    The majority of the professors truly care about whether or not you are learning the material. Dalton state has an excellent campus activities board, and there is always something going on around campus. Dalton State is a good school to begin at, many do not actually get their degrees from here.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On our college tour I saw a Dalton State College police car everywhere I turned and there were plenty of the beeper emergency poles everywhere to push in case there was trouble anywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like diversity , small classes , and 20 or older

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a big bell called the bell tower I believe. The students gather around and watch movies sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    Dalton State College seems to be a pretty good college other than the little things and a good place for myself to get and have a education. Dalton State should do better with housing. You fill out a form, on likes and dislikes and your age. If your a certain age, then you should have a roommate with someone around your age.

    What to do for fun

    Dalton State has many different activities for student life and for everyone to be involved and be active.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't really see what food would be served but its only served Monday through Friday and only open for certain hours. AWFUL AND NEEDS MORE IMPROVEMENT !

    Dorm Life

    Awful ! Needs more improvement ! Horrible !

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great and the teachers are willing to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    If your coming out of high school and you want to attend Dalton State but not on campus then very good choice. But if your planning to attend and your 19 or older then this college will be a great decision.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College seems to be very well rounded, they seem too help people all throughout the campus. They only show you the nice and generous people that work throughout the campus, but the other people that work here are awful. If your planning to attend please be 21 years of age or older.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. There work 24/7 and they are present just bout anywhere you go on campus. They are mandated through the state of Georgia, so they are certified Peace Officer. And they are always there if you need them and they are willing to help you out.

    Greek Life

    Their is 2 Greek clubs. One is just for boys and another one for Criminal Justice majors;

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a whole variety of clubs and activities. We are constantly getting new clubs, and there is always some sort of activity that is going on during the school year

    Great for these types of students

    If you are not looking for a big college, this is the place for you. We have currently 5,000 and it does not cost that much like some of the other big colleges here in Georgia.

    What to do for fun

    You are 30 minutes from Chattanooga, Tennessee. In the surrounding area in Dalton, there is many places to eat at. Stores to shop in and there is a small town bout 10 miles from the college. Also there is three hiking trails on the back side of the campus and one of the trails takes you to a waterfall.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, but they do not accept cash. They only accept money on your Student ID, and Credit or Debit.

    Dorm Life

    Has a lot of restrictions, but it is affordable and you do not have to walk that far to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very good. Willing to help you out and are there for you. They grade hard, but it is worth it because you get your moneys worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get behind in your studies. Make sure you know what is going on campus, and most important, get involved. Or you might not make it through.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't too much to do around the area. The college is right off of 75 so it's convenient to go to Chattanooga or Atlanta. There are a lot of clubs on campus so it's easy to get involved. There is a mall nearby, a bowing alley, movie theater, and miniature golf.

    Food and Dining

    The food is terrible. There isn't much to choose from and what little they have isn't very good. On top of that it isn't cheap.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like apartments. They are very nice and clean as well as big, so there is a lot of space. There is free internet and cable which is a good plus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult. Many teachers tell you they don't give A's. In order to receive good grades it's your responsibility to work really hard and study in all the spare time you have. But, the teachers are really good and know what they're talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to diversity, there are people from all different cultures. Don't expect to be lazy in class; always show up. Don't buy a meal plan, they're food is horrible.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College can be summed up in three words; small, cheap, friendly. It's the perfect school if your wanting to know everyone you meet, and if you would like to have good relationships with your teachers. Dalton is perfect for you if you don't like the big city scene.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food varies for all types of people. They offer healthy foods for those who like to watch what they eat which is great. They also offer good food that isn't horrible like typical school lunches. They even have snacks like fruit bowls which I love! Coffee is also delicious. I love the food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but I have a friend that lives in one and she loves it. I know they offer event for those who live in dorms to feel more welcome which I think is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The education is amazing. The staff will make time for their student for one on one. If you are having trouble with any studies they also have tutoring and if it's an essay the staff make time to help you out. The staff is also well organize, but one thing I love about attending this school is how different each staff and student are. Even if we forget their names just describe how they are and we know which one you are talking about.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and actually do one on one unlike other colleges I heard. My teachers always make jokes and know how to teach difficult things. Overall the staff and students are amazing.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety department does an excellent job of keeping us all safe! They are always working hard, patrolling around campus, and directing traffic! They are an excellent group of officers.

    Food and Dining

    The staff in the café is always willing to help! Everyone that works is super nice. The food isn't too bad either!

    Dorm Life

    I currently do not live in a dorm, I still live at home. I am looking into dorms in the 2014-2015 school year

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to your fullest potential. Classes are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to carefully select your classes! Join any club/organization you can!

    In three sentences

    Dalton State is the perfect college for someone who doesn't want to get too far away from home. Every student/faculty/staff member is super nice. The campus always has something going on, love the environment!

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are located in the middle of campus, There are emergency buttons all around campus to push if needed.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at this time is minimal. A sorority and Fraternity just started in the fall of 2013.

    Great for these types of students

    Dalton State is great for home bodies! Also people who love beautiful mountain scenery will enjoy the location of the school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a strip named Walnut avenue and that is about all the fun that is near by. There are restaurants, movie theaters, and bowling alleys. However most people from this area drive the thirty minute drive up to Chattanooga Tennessee to have fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think this school will be easy because of its relaxed surroundings, you would be wrong. To pass any class here studying is a necessity!

    In three sentences

    Dalton State is a nice hometown college. If you don't want to go far from home I would definitely recommend it. The teaching staff is phenomenal.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    CAB and Residence Life always have something going on and if not you could always just go to the gym, hit the library for a good read, or just enjoy the weather around the fire pit with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is delicious! A little pricy but you get what you pay for.

    Dorm Life

    The apartments right now are in need of updating I think but still a nice place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging so don't come here thinking you'll smooth on by without a little bit of a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is small but it is what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    A place away from my hometown. A well kept campus with great community support. Where you could meet people from other places than your hometown.

  • 05/18/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're pretty safe, but still be cautious.

    Greek Life

    I can't recall any.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of things going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants live up in the mountains.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are hiking trails around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The library was amazing when I was there!

    What to do for fun

    You can go see what the student center is offering. Off campus there are the usual skating rings, shopping plazas, bowling alleys, rafting, and pools.

    Food and Dining

    Out of the cafeteria and down the street are a variety of American and Mexican restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    They didn't have dorms when I went.

    Tips for prospective students

    Minorities do not get accepted into the Radiology programs.

    In three sentences

    Dalton State College is affordable. You will be mentally challenged. The professors are brilliant.