Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Danville Area Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    DACC offers lots of extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a snack bar in the student union, although I have not ate there, I have heard the food is good

    Dorm Life

    Danville Area Community College does not offer Dorm rooms

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Danville Area Community College before transferring to a University can save you a lot of money!

    In three sentences

    Danville Area Community College is a great college. The professors are very caring. The environment is very welcoming. I would recommend this college to anyone who wants to attend college without moving away from home

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DACC is a very safe school. I have never ran into any trouble while going there other than a couple of bullies. Even then they were unable to do anything horrible. The staff keep the place under tight control.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know, Greek life is not available.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good amount of clubs and activities. Plenty of sports are available.

    Great for these types of students

    DACC is great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have an AG Day, where lots of farm animals are brought in, farming equipment, and farmers to show what farm life is like.

    Bang for the buck

    DACC is pretty cheep compared to going strait to a four year college. They help keep learning affordable.

    What to do for fun

    DACC has sporting events, plays, club activities, events, just many things for its students, staff and even the community to attend, and keep busy. All and all you will be entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food that they serve at DACC isn't awful, it's pretty good. They do have some pretty awesome deserts.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available as far as I know, but I do know that they have a transfer program and I THINK you can apply to live with a family here in Danville, Illinois.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very flexible when it comes to grades. Most of the teachers will help you find ways to increase your grades so you don't fail. If you do have a few failing grades you can always apply to the schools appeal committee as to why your grades did not do well and they will give you another chance to redeem yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest, and grab every opportunity available to make your experience better.

    In three sentences

    DACC is a very nice school, with lots of friendly people, interesting classes, and great teachers. I have learned so much there, and I am always excited to return come the new semester. I would recommend it to any of my friends.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DACC has a good safety program and ample security police on site.

    Clubs and Activities

    DACC offers a variety of clubs to become involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student wanting to attend a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    DACC is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and attend sporting events.

    Academic Rigor

    DACC offers tutoring services and great instructor participation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a good balance between social life and college experience. Study hard and utilize the tutoring services available.

    In three sentences

    DACC is very affordable. They have great instructor to student ratio and has a great tutoring center.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smiley is one of the best security guys on campus. He keeps his eyes out. The campus is very well lit and there are emergency phones conveniently located around campus

    Greek Life

    Check with Terri Patterson for this section

    Clubs and Activities

    Champaign is the best place to go for entertainment.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for traditional and non traditional students. Great way to save money, rather than spend a fortune at bigger universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DACC is pretty straightforward. Nothing too unusual about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to go to get Gen Eds out of the way. Especially for the financial aid students.

    What to do for fun

    DACC offers many different things. Like TRIO. They have the BEST performance arts department. They put on some awesome shows every semester. Must see stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The best places to eat near DACC are south or north of town. Not much directly nearby DACC. Burger King and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    DACC has a pretty good turnout rate in their graduates.

    Tips for prospective students

    DACC is a great place to go. They have staff that are some of the most amazing people. Shanae Huerta, Dr. Rita Frerichs, Maurice Miller, Dr. Jamie Berthel, Dr. Penny McConnell (Dean), and my personal favorite, Ron Elzeroth. And many more. I haven't met an Instructor there that wouldn't go above and beyond for a student that shows an initiative to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Quality education doesn't come with a million dollar price tag here. If you're looking for a great place to get an education, the search is over. Quality education from professors that genuinely care about their students.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any

    Great for these types of students

    Small town and GREAT to get your General Education classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    Food and Dining

    I live at home

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    Park in the main the parking lot to avoid any problems

    In three sentences

    I would rate Danville Area Community College as a 7 on a scale of 1-20. I enjoy going here because it is local and builds revenue for our county. I also enjoy the small atmosphere I have here.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the games they have and attend other activities they have.

    Dorm Life

    Don't have Dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have online classes, print out your course outline and highlight the assignments and important stuff, it helped me. Don't take on too many classes it can become very stressful. Online classes are harder than lecture classes so don't think you can mess around, you have to keep up on it more.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy that I have chose Danville Area Community College, because the staff is every helpful and caring. I believe that is a very good college to attend and start your degree. I love attending DACC.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety is pretty well. We have cameras distributed in offices, hallways, and some in our computer labs. Also we have brochures on how to stay safe on campus, we have an emergency text number that contacts whoever is on your emergency contact list and lastly there is a martial arts academy for self defense that gives students attending college a discount!

    What to do for fun

    There is an acting class that gives a play every semester. I'm not sure about the other activities they offer since I'm not involved with their extra-curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    I can say for myself that I like the food, but I probably won't eat at the cafeteria much, because of the prices, but they are in walking distance to a gas station and doughnut shop, but if you own a car there is a Subway restaurant nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm here on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Succeeding in this college isn't difficult really, because you can visit your instructors for extra aid, or there may be a different instructor willing to help you during their office hours and if that doesn't help much there is an organization called Trio where you can apply and receive help from professional mentors and peer tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for any students who may be considering to come to DACC is to: take the orientation, get your paperwork faxed or hand delivered here, sign up for Trio tutoring services, enroll in classes, and lastly have fun!

    In three sentences

    I think this college is great for students who aren't quite ready to leave home whether because of transportation, finances, family emergencies, or whatever your personal issue may be. It is a good start for those looking to discover what they want to study, what kind of career they're interested in and gives you an opportunity to find a university to transfer to, in order to meet your career goal.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is clean and well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a lot to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    great for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    very well priced for a college.

    What to do for fun

    join a club.

    Food and Dining

    haven't experienced it yet.

    Dorm Life

    can't rate, not living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Average, just like any other community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call ahead before you go into any of the offices to ask how long the wait is. I don't recommend just walking in.

    In three sentences

    The employees are very friendly and helpful. The environment is clean and casual. The campus is nicely laid out.