Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dartmouth College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 out of 34 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, well-rounded, academically and extracuriccularly ambitious, environmentally conscious

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself when applying. Dartmouth values students who are very academically strong, but also are actively involved in extracurricular activities they care about. Dartmouth students tend to be personable and holistically capable.

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag is pretty standard for a private school, but it is more than I can afford. Luckily, financial aid is pretty great. All financial need is met by scholarships (as opposed to loans) and work-study eligibility. This means you never have to pay that money back!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere of the college. Hanover is a very pretty, quaint town with extremely friendly people. The general population of the college itself is a little more moneyed than I am used to, coming from a public magnet school in the Chicago suburbs. Mostly, people are extremely open and actively involved in school activities. Social life is a bit monotonous because it is such a small town. The social scene mainly centers around Greek life on campus, but there are definitely plenty of other things to do on weekends besides party. The Hopkins Center for the Arts screens great movies several times a week. There are also plenty of live performances and workshops to keep anyone occupied.

    Am learning a lot

    I am continually impressed by the quality of the teaching at Dartmouth. Since it is a college, faculty members really do focus on undergraduates as opposed to solely pursuing their research. However, that is not to say that there are no research opportunities available. As a freshman I participated in the Women in Science Project internship program, as a sophomore Howard Hughes Medical Institute fellow I will continue doing research, and as a junior one can continue as a Presidential Scholar. Since we are on the quarter system, classes are fast paced, but it is nice that you only have 3 per quarter. As much learning goes on outside of lecture as does during lecture. Plentiful office hours, study groups, and labs enrich one's learning experience. Professors truly care and want you to do well, so they offer help whenever possible. They also want you to learn how to think and problem solve as opposed to simply memorizing. Exams are designed to test thinking skills by applying concepts learned in class rather than just regurgitating information.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    chill, laid-back, hardcore drinkers - but not a requisite!, economic majors and pre-meds (just the most popular), outdoorsy types, ambitious high achievers, selfless servers, studious

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the Greek scene intimidate you. It's really not the only thing out there, and you don't have to drink and you don't have to enjoy it. There are plenty of people who don't go out regularly or who do and don't drink. I think it's way more intimidating to prospies than to current students.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid office is extremely helpful and approachable, and it's relatively easy to talk them into giving a more generous offer. Overall I feel the experience I've had here is incredible and is well worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've found that the most enjoyable time is on quiet weekend nights when many people on our floor stay in and we play board games or just chat until the wee hours of the morning. It's the epitome of college life. The impulsive fun usually doesn't start until 10pm, and living on an all-freshman floor makes all the difference. I've found it easy to make friends and find my niche, even though I'm not a social person. The only thing is that Hanover is tiny, and I'm afraid I might run out of options later on. The Greek/drinking scene could easily get out of hand and seems like the only entertainment option sometimes, but it's really not true if you find the right group of people (like my floor). This is about the only complaint I have about the school.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning as much outside class than inside. I've found that in humanities or social studies classes, it's much more common to just agree with the teacher's ideas than to formulate our own, and our grades improve because of it, which is a shame. I don't know if this is a result of the general liberal leaning of the students here, or just a survival strategy we've developed in a time when college degrees are increasingly commodified and manipulated, but I'd like to hear more balanced discussions in the classroom. Regardless, the professors I've had have all been brilliant, very organized and great lecturers and speakers, and generally very approachable. We really do have the air of a small college - it seems like in two months I've gotten to know enough people that I always see people I know walking on campus on any given day. The D-Plan also allows me to take more classes than at other colleges and allows pre-meds (gasp!) to study abroad, possibly twice! This is almost unheard of at other colleges.

  • 12/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, social, motivated, ambitious

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and get lucky - applying for these types of schools is never easy and there's a certain amount of luck involved. Don't be discouraged if you get rejected at any school, since there are plenty of worthy students that don't get in (or are wait listed); that isn't just a way of the admissions office to make you feel better.

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth is first a private school, so you the cost of tuition and room and board is going to be high. It's no higher than many similar schools (Cornell, Brown, etc.), but that doesn't mean that it's affordable either. It's a great education, but I can't say that you really get your bang for the buck. Financial aid is decent - although it helps to know how to work the system to get better financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is probably best described as quaint. It's a small campus and quite rural, so there's definitely a trap of being in a Dartmouth bubble. It's often difficult to think of a world outside of Dartmouth while you're there, so that could be troubling to some people. The social scene is also clearly centered around Greek life, and there is little else that goes on in Hanover. However, even most of the people that are initially turned off by the Greek scene eventually do warm to it, and the upperclassmen are generally very welcoming to freshman.

    Am learning a lot

    While many people believe that an Ivy League school is just all in the name, that's not entirely true. While I can't personally compare it to any other school, I can tell that the education and the teaching is top-notch. I come from a rural public school in Connecticut, so it's definitely a leap, and the students here are definitely motivated and intelligent (which can make it rough on a student that has never been with so many smart people before). The professors also make sure to make office hours accesible and are generally available to meet, even if you can't make it to their office hours. There are also plenty of opportunities to do research and have other experience outside the classroom such as helping professors do research and working in labs.

  • 12/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Active, outdoorsy, open, passionate, hardworking, versatile, wide interest, diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit. Dartmouth is very welcoming, but the energy the student body has can get overwhelming.

    Bang for the buck

    Even during tough economic times Dartmouth gives abundant financial aid. It's definitely a top notch education and for as reasonable a price as you'll get for a school of its caliber.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone at Dartmouth is active outside of class, which can be overwhelming at first, but it means there is a vibrant culture at the school. There are endless non-varsity sports and and extracurricular opportunities. The Dartmouth Outing Club is a unique aspect of Dartmouth's extracurricular programs which I have fallen in love with. They do hiking, rock climbing and kayaking. They also help maintain the Appalachian Trail that runs through campus. The social scene is also very active. There's also somewhere to hangout any night of the week. The one warning I would give is be ready to deal with the greek system. It's totally up to you if you want to join a fraternity or sorority but whether you join or not the greek houses will still affect and help define your Dartmouth experience.

    Am learning a lot

    Dartmouth's quarter system has a way of packing you full of a lot of information in a short time. I have found that the ten week terms combined with the smaller number of classes being taken let's be do better work in the three classes I do take every term (as opposed to a semester system where I would take approximately 5 courses every term). The shortcoming of this is that every class period is important and it can be hard to recover if you get sick for a long period of time. This is a top notch school with great professors who hold a lot of office hours and are very accessible. Like any school you'll have a bad professor here or there, but majority of the professors are great.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security officers at school do exactly what their job title entails. They are looking after you, not trying to get you in trouble. A Good Samaritan rule ensures that if you call S&S to make sure a friend is okay, you will not get in trouble.

    Greek Life

    You can't join a sorority or frat until you're a sophomore. This ensures that you make other friends the normal way instead of being forced to talk to 50 upperclassmen in your first couple weeks of school. Almost all parties are open. 40% of the student body goes Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    SOOOOOo many clubs. Cant even describe. Stuff for Tree huggers, Computer geeks, Debate freaks, video Game creators, Live Action Role Players, Bakers, Animal enthusiasts, and woodsmen.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who know how to manage work and play. Students who enjoy the outdoors. Students who don't mind wearing jeans and a t shirt to a party on friday night. Students who dont mind wearing boots for 3 months straight. Students who like to ski. Students who like to read outside Students who like to hike.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During homecoming, students build a giant bonfire as tall as Dartmouth Hall itself. Then, on Dartmouth night, the freshmen have to run around the bonfire the same number of times as their graduating year. So if you graduate in 2015, then you have to run around 15 times. During winter carnival a giant snow sculpture is built in the middle of the green. On the first big snow of the season, an email is sent out to everyone inviting them to a giant snowball fight on the green. Best snowball fight ever! The CT river runs right alongside campus. You can go canoeing for a studybreak or even walk down to the rope-swing for a nice swim. First Year Trips! 95% of freshmen go on them. You are put with a group of 6-9 people and sent into the wilderness for 4 days with upperclassmen trip leaders. Its an amazing experience that give everyone something to talk about when they get to campus! The dartmouth skiway is a 10 minute drive from campus and buses run every day in the winter. Students get discount rentals and lift tickets and can even get paid to be instructors. You can even take skiing for PE credit!

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth is REALLY expensive. But they do their best with financial aid. I do think a Dartmouth degree is worth it though. Last year i believe 40% of seniors graduated with jobs that they had accepted. This is pretty much unheard of in this economy.

    What to do for fun

    If i'm being honest, Hanover is not the most happening place. So we make our own fun. We have Friday Night Rock concerts every other week. We have some big name performers come in; past acts include Ke$ha and Avicii. But the main attraction on weekends is the Greek Scene. While Many are skeptical about Greek life, as i was coming into school, Dartmouth ensures that it is an inclusive atmosphere. If a frat is throwing a party, they are required by the school to send out an email invitation to EVERY UNDERGRADUATE on campus. The option of whether or not to attend is yours. For freshamn boys, this is especially amazing since this is nearly unheard of at schools where you have to pay to get into parties or maintain a certain ratio of women to men (blech!). There is no pressure to drink. There is pressure however, to let loose and dance the night away. But, even if youre not into the greek scene, The Programming Board provides fun alternative such as mechanical bull riding or laser tage or bowling trips.

    Food and Dining

    With a brand new, all you can eat dining hall that just opened in Fall 2011, the food options are amazing. They switch up the foods every day and always have a number of special events where guest chefs and local farms come to give out food. A lot of the food in the dining halls come from local New Hampshire and Vermont vendors and farmers. The school provides many organic options and is super vegan/vegetarian friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Dartmouth is like no other. The rooms are huge! Most Freshman end up in two room doubles, that is, they have two seperate rooms and one roommate! The dorms act as social spaces as well. A lot of nights, you will find your whole floor hanging out in the common room doing homework or listening to music.

    Academic Rigor

    Since Dartmouth is on a Trimester system, we have three terms in which we take three classes each. We don't count credits we count courses. So one must take 35 courses to graduate. Classes are not too difficult since professors are super approachable and are willing to spend time to help you out, but Dartmouth does have a lengthy set of general education requirements which may make you step out of your comfort zone and challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous! Dartmouth is super relaxed. You will rarely ever hear people talking about their SAT scores or GPA. On your application, make sure you stand out with your essay. Since Dartmouth doesn't have any supplements, its one of the only places you can really shine.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth Creates a welcoming atmosphere during orientation and then, unlike other schools, mantains it. Administration is approachable due to the small size. The students are accepting and encouraging of one another.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've personally never felt unsafe on campus. The area is very quaint and small town, so there aren't the same concerns that there would be at a city school. The blue-light system and Dartmouth Safety and Security do a great job monitoring campus and making people feel safe, even when walking home at four a.m.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of great clubs and activities at Dartmouth. If you want to get involved with something, it's probably either there for you, or easy enough to start up. There are great, well established publications and teams, and some promising new start-ups. Our athletics, for the most part, aren't the best, but we're still proud to have them.

    Great for these types of students

    There's a stereotypical Dartmouth student: Adventurous, outdoorsy, rugged, flannel-wearing, and athletic, but Dartmouth is, in reality, a place for everyone but snobs. We're the cool younger brother of the Ivy League, and we don't take ourselves too seriously. It's not unusual to see people in footie pajamas or tutus (we wear flair sometimes. You'll get used to it). While we're proud to be home to some of the world's smartest and most driven students, you won't really hear us say it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My whole first two weeks at Dartmouth were a whirlwind of traditions, from learning the Salty Dog dance, to being pranked on trips, to singing the alma mater at commencement. It doesn't end there, either. During homecoming week the freshmen (not called freshmen at Dartmouth, actually. We're 16's. That's another tradition.) run laps around the bonfire at the center of the green, and I've never felt so united with such a large group before. Dartmouth's traditions really help to make everyone feel at home.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid that Dartmouth is giving me was the happiest shock of my life. Not only do they give great aid themselves, but they will match the offer of any other Ivy League institution, so if you get in several places, you can start a bidding war between them! What's more, outside scholarship aid is applied towards the student and parent contributions first, then work study, and only after that used to reduce the aid the college gives you, unlike at other schools.

    What to do for fun

    If we're being completely honest, frat houses do dominate the social scene at Dartmouth. Almost all sophomores rush, and since there is no nightlife to speak of in the surrounding area, the only place to go out is to the frats. However, there are many different ways to go out, and I haven't experienced any grief for declining to drink. I've actually been shocked by the lack of peer pressure. There are dance parties and other things to go to on weekends, and Collis After Dark makes a huge effort to bring shows and activities to the table for people who don't want to do the frat thing.

    Food and Dining

    There are three major dining facilities at Dartmouth: 53 Commons, The Hop, and Collis. 53 Commons is all-you-can-eat, and it does a good job to incorporate foods of different ethnicities and offer vegetarian and kosher options. However, like at any university, the dining options get old, and there is not much to diversify with in the small town of Hanover. Food at the Hop and Collis is individually priced, and generally rather expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I live in McCulloch, which is a dorm in the East Wheelock cluster. It's the newest, nicest building in the newest, nicest cluster, and I love the whole building. There is a snack bar which takes meal swipes and a common room with a pool table and a fireplace, and the rooms themselves are large and comfortable. In other clusters, people cite the sense of community, the location, or the quietness as their favorite attributes. For me, though, my favorite thing about McCulloch is the people. Some of my best friends are my floor-mates, and I am very lucky to have met them.

    Academic Rigor

    The Dartmouth workload is intense, and the D Plan (a school year divided into trimesters rather than semesters) makes it such that finals and midterms come around often. However, it also allows students to focus themselves on really learning the material, since they only take 3 classes a term. The professors are amazing and accessible, and I have nothing but positive things to say about them.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students, I'd recommend visiting campus and attending dimensions. Although I didn't make it to dimensions, many of my friends cite it as the reason that they chose to attend Dartmouth. Dartmouth students are preternaturally friendly and excited to be there, and this attitude really shows during dimensions and during first year trips.

    In three sentences

    I'm so happy to be at Dartmouth. It wasn't my first choice school, but I can't imagine a better place for me now that I'm there. Dartmouth people are some of the least pretentious and yet most talented people in the country, and they constantly amaze me and push me to amaze myself.

  • 06/26/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 43 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 7 people found this inaccurate. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research scholarships whenever you have time and as soon as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    its a pretty expensive ivy league but again its ivy league

    Will enjoy being here

    Havent been there but the campus looks great in pictures

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The motto is: work hard, play hard. Students who are ambitious yet love to take advantage of all the fun things to do around campus. Students who love the outdoors. Students who wish to explore themselves and interests they never had the chance to explore before. Students who like to work hard and who love a close-knit community. Students who like the cold.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop good study habits before you get to Dartmouth, and learn to manage your time well. In your application, be true about yourself. Don't be afraid to try new things, take a random class, or try a sport you've always wanted to try but never did.

    Bang for the buck

    The overall cost of attending the school is very expensive, but it is an ivy league with amazing faculty. In the long run, it is probably worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is very tight knit and the students and professors are awesome. There are a ton of outdoor nature activities to do around the college town, from canoeing to hiking to rock climbing. There is always something to do with someone...except maybe around midterms and finals week.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are super intense- especially if you take several lab science classes- since we are on the quarter system. The class sizes are relatively small and most professors are very caring and personal. Most professors try to learn all their students' names and answer any questions about the material or even about subject matters outside of class.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who are smart, but are laid back and like to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Dartmouth!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pricey, but they give the best financial aid I've seen from any school.

    Will enjoy being here

    The town of Hanover is absolutely adorable. Even though there is not much off campus, the school seems have have tons of fun things to do, and Dartmouth is known for partying!

    Will learn a lot

    Dartmouth is ranked the number one school in undergraduate education, so you can definitely expect to learn a lot while you are there. Their language programs are supposed to be really good and they have tons of opportunity for study abroad.

  • 10/20/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that want to study language! Dartmouth has an amazing language professor, who makes class very active and interesting. Also, the D- Plan might allow language students more time to study abroad or improve the skills in another way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know about the D- Plan before you apply!!! I cannot stress this enough. Know the plan and figure out what it means (in terms of pros and cons) for you. It is a central part of the Dartmouth experience. Some students love it; others hate it. As a disclaimer, if you love this school, don't let your opinions of the D-Plan deter you from applying ( unless you feel strongly). If you are on the borderline deciding whether or not to apply, the D- Plan can make or break your decision.

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth seems like a great experience, but it does not have the best financial aid. Its financial aid packages for low-income students only range up to full tuition, minus room and board and other fees.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is very isolated, and within two days I was bored. However, I felt extremely comfortable there, which means a lot because I am a shy person and I come from a big city. The student body is TALENTED!!! Their acapella, improv, and dance groups are amazing. From their performances and my interaction with the current students there, I can tell that the students are welcoming and vibrant, not dry and stressed out. Also, the admissions officers are very friendly. I got to hang out with them for the entire program, and if they didn't look older, I would have forgotten that they were admissions officers. Loved it!

    Will learn a lot

    I only took two classes there, and they were molecular bio and stereochemistry. They were okay and the professors moved at a reasonable rate, but I cannot attest to how wonderful they were. I heard that the chemistry exams are intentionally very had. The professors make it so that the highest score will be around 60%, and they curve the grades. Again, this is what I heard from a friend also in the program.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't spend much time in the frats at all, since I don't drink, but I still always go for the dance parties. Never go by yourself; you're better off bringing a friend or four that you know you'll have a good time with.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't comment too much here because I enjoy a little less structure when it comes to my sports. I end to gather up a group of friends and wind up playing six or seven different things with them on our own time, which I prefer to sticking to a set schedule. Still, there is a truly great variety of activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Seriously, all kinds of people!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll just have to come and see. I will say that your first Homecoming is definitely an experience though... ;)

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid people are absolutely wonderful! It's all been said already, so I won't bother repeating their praise.

    What to do for fun

    EVERYTHING! There is so much stuff to do on campus that you should feel concerned if all you do is sit in your room feeling bored. There are constantly fun events (alcholic AND non-alcoholic) to attend, sports meets to watch, and people all over the place just waiting to pull you into crazy things or conversation. I personally play a lot of sports, but I also enjoy hanging out with my roommate, hosting movie nights and dinner parties, and playing pool with the grad students.

    Food and Dining

    It's college. The food is decent in terms of taste (Except for special events where guest chefs come and try to impress us all, to which you should definitely attend!) but the best feature of the dining is its variety. If you really hate something, you can be sure it'll be gone the next day, which is a consolation. The meal plan has been the target of many complaints, but they're overhauling it for next year, so I'll skip over it.

    Dorm Life

    I wound up in the dreaded River Cluster for my freshman year, which actually turned out to be one of my favorite parts! All of the people there were absolutely incredible, and I've made some of my closest friends there. I certainly won't miss the loooooong walk to the rest of campus, but I will miss everybody I met!

    Academic Rigor

    Certain classes (chemistry in particlar) can be a nightmare if you come in unprepared, but for the most part, the work was all manageable. The mythical four classes per quarter is definitely possible; I survived, didn't I? The best part about Dartmouth classes is definitely all of the opportunities you have to spend time gtting to know your professors; most of them have office hours and are generally really friendly and receptive to your questions and concerns.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's always hard to say what a college is looking for. I still have no idea, but I'd suggest being yourself (as cliche as that sounds) because that truly is the only way to wind up at a school where you feel at home.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth is really all about the people. Everyone knows to expect a fantastic academic experience when they arrive, but few can anticipate finding so many wildly different people who are supportive and fun to chill with.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security, deemed S&S by students and faculty alike, are generally helpful and kind. They are not the Hanover Police, and therefore tolerate underage drinking, as long as it's not dangerous. They are there to protect and help, not hurt (like, seriously).

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Dartmouth has been highlighted by the media as of late for hazing and other negative reasons, but Dartmouth's greek life is something that's very hard to explain. Needless to say, it's very active with over 30 fraternities and sororities. Those organizations are very welcoming to new members and often highlight the most positive memories for those involved. If greek life isn't for you, it will not damage your Dartmouth experience at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dartmouth has any club you can think of, from Afro-American society to spoken word poetry group Soul Scribes to Ceili Irish Dancers club. If, for some odd reason, there isn't a club for your very particular interests, it's easy to start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are open-minded and could fit the description of a cool nerd. Students at Dartmouth are unique because they are smart, but they also have very diverse hobbies, trophies, abilities and convictions. Students that can't quite fit any mold will fit right in at Dartmouth.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Dartmouth Seven (ask a student), Winter Carnival's Polar Bear Plunge where brave students jump into the frozen river on Dartmouth's campus, Homecoming's infamous bonfire, where the new freshman students are challenged the run around the huge fire designed by engineering students a total of 100 + the incoming class year times, Spring's Green Key Weekend where famous musical acts and legendary dance parties are main staples.

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth is a bit on the pricey side, but that all comes with the Ivy League status. That being said, Dartmouth is committed to meeting 100% of students' demonstrated financial need so anyone can go there. The only hard part is getting in! Also, a lot of events on Dartmouth's campus are free, so real money aka Cash, is never really an issue.

    What to do for fun

    Dartmouth is sometimes only known for the frat scene, but that's not all there is to do at the college by far. Through the Programming Board, students have the opportunity to see famous acts like Kesha (2010), Immortal Technique (2011) and Avicii (2012). Dartmouth's students are diverse and so spoken word poets such as Shihan Van Clief (2012) and Taylor Mali (2012), as well as various artists, musicians and comedians often pepper students' choices for entertainment. Club sports are very active, as well as various talented a capella groups, such as The Dartmouth Aires, who won 2nd place in the Voice in 2012. What drew me, however, was the Jewlery studio and woodshop in the basement of the Hopkins Center.

    Food and Dining

    You can find a little bit of everything when it comes to food at Dartmouth. From vegan brownies to medium rare steaks, Dartmouth has something for everyone. Options for jewish students and other really strict diets may be hard to find sometimes, but there are many dining establishments in downtown Hanover that cater to every taste. The food isn't too expensive, and it's really good quality, also.

    Dorm Life

    I really enjoyed my dorm life at Dartmouth. Students are easy to get along with and are always up for a dinner date or late night convo. That being said, the facilities aren't exactly new, but they were definitely better than the typical dorm scene.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Dartmouth are really challenging, but the biggest challenge lies in balancing all three courses with all the other things students may want to be involved with on campus. Although, students are given all the resources needed to get that A, all they have to do is swallow their pride and reach out for help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, you never know if you'll get in until you do! Also, don't let Dartmouth's location or student body size deter your interest. Hands down, Dartmouth is one of the best places for an undergraduate to study.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth college's reputation for excellent undergraduate opportunity and education is well warranted. Classes are taught by some of the best in their respective fields, and professors are almost always welcoming, hospitable, knowledgeable and eager to help students in any way possible. The student life is rich and varied, supplemented by the legendary fraternity/sorority scene, but there's a little bit of everything at the little college on the hill.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Recently attended the Dartmouth Dimensions weekend and was greatly impressed with the enthusiasm and quality of the school. I felt like I was really wanted. The current students were positive, social, and encouraging. Dartmouth is perfect if you want a school with a strong social life, high quality education, and a small town location. Hanover is truly beautiful, and if you love the outdoors, you will love Dartmouth (they have a great outing club!).

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, friendly, intellectually curious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students of Native American descent who are accepted attend for no cost.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life is a prominent part of life at dartmouth. houses are very open and accepting and, generally, anyone can come to any event. much of the social life here at dartmouth revolves around events hosted by fraternities and sororities. this includes a cappella performances, formal dinner/dances, dance parties, improv group performances, wine-and-cheese tastings, and good old pong (if you're 21+!).

    Clubs and Activities

    there are too many different clubs to list, and it's easy to make a new one if you can't find one you like. i highly recommend getting involved with some sort of volunteering or club early on; it's fine to sign up for a bunch of different things and then choose which ones you want to be involved with. most people make their closest friends in the clubs or greek houses they join.

    Great for these types of students

    someone social who likes the outdoors and community! also perfect for someone who really wants to study abroad. about 40% of all dartmouth students study abroad, and there are dozens of different programs dartmouth offers in every department and around the world! if you don't find the program you're looking for, there are multiple organizations on campus that will find internships for you or fund one that you find to take you wherever you want to go!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every term there is some sort of campus-wide festival with lots of traditions surrounding its history. dartmouth is rich in traditions, some old, some new. each club, sport, and greek house has its own unique set of traditions that you'll have to come to campus to find out!

    What to do for fun

    outdoorsmanship is a strong tradition at dartmouth. the dartmouth outing club (the oldest in the country!) hosts hikes, skiing, boating, hunting, and other activities multiple times per month all year long. it also owns several lodges reserved for students in rural new hampshire and maine. much of the social life here at dartmouth revolves around events hosted by fraternities and sororities. that includes a cappella performances, formal dinner/dances, dance parties, improv group performances, wine-and-cheese tastings, and good old pong (if you're 21+!). there are also always performances by students and guest artists at the hopkins center, including instrumentalists, movies, dances, documentaries, and plays. if you want to see something current, there's a movie theater in town with $5 tickets for students. finally, your freshman dormitory will give you funding to do something with your floor. if you can think of it, you can do it!

    Food and Dining

    dartmouth has 3 dining facilities on campus as well as 2 cafes. one is buffet style while the other two are per-item. dining facilities are open until midnight, a huge plus when you're working on a late-night project! there are a wide variety of different types of cuisine available including kosher, halal, and vegan options (all delicious!), and there are always healthy options available. i never get bored with the on-campus dining, but if you do, the surrounding town of hanover has a wide variety of different kinds of restaurants. two must-go food options in town are the dirt cowboy cafe (better coffee than starbucks!) and lou's diner.

    Dorm Life

    the dormitories on campus are of very fine quality. most are within a 5-minute walk of most of the campus, and the farthest are only a 15 minute walk to the extremities of the campus. rooms are spacious and aesthetically designed with styles ranging from modernist to victorian. rooming situations are also widely varied, including 3-rooms for 2 people, suites, apartments on and off campus, and singles. you will inevitably become very close with your freshman floormates!

    Academic Rigor

    as an ivy league institution, dartmouth offers challenging courses with expert professors in every imaginable field of study. because of the short terms in the quarter system, courses are more intense than at other schools, but students generally take fewer courses per term than at other schools. you will work hard!

    Tips for prospective students

    have someone who knows you, admires you, and is a good writer write you peer-recommendation letter. also be sincere about your enthusiasm about coming here with your interviewer. the students and alumni are very attached to our school and want people who are happy to be here.

    In three sentences

    dartmouth is a close-knit community in beautiful rural new england. you have a lot of flexibility in your classes and study abroad options. there is a strong atmosphere of camaraderie and general enthusiasm for living!

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safest campus imaginable.

    Greek Life

    Dartmouth is often seen as the embodiment of greek life, the stereotypical greek life college, and has been for many years. Some love it, some hate it. The truth lies somewhere in the middle.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty awesome food, only thing that sucks is dining closes around 1 am and it's a small town, so nothing is open late.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing housing options. Very possible to get stellar housing all four years, most rooms are not cramped and there are many singles available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades. Score super high on standardized tests. Write a good admissions essay. If you get in and go, make the most of it.

    In three sentences

    Amazing professors. Amazing students. Beautiful, serene surroundings.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities emailed out to the whole campus every day. There are tons of clubs, recreational and otherwise. Lots of talks and lectures. Lots of hiking opportunities, and we have our own ski way.

    Food and Dining

    Foco, the biggest food location, is all-you-care-to-eat, but the quality is mediocre. Other smaller dining options are better and a la carte.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of options for locations, but some places are better than others. The river is the farthest cluster of dorms, but is only 10 minutes walk away from the center of campus. The nicest dorms for freshmen are Mclaughlin and Fahey/Mclane. Substance-free options available.

    Academic Rigor

    Course difficulty depends on which classes you take. There are some classes that are notoriously hard, and others that are easier like all other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do something you like and do it really well. The admissions office wants to see passion and talent for your interests.

    In three sentences

    Great academics, relaxed student body. Remote location, but fun things to do nevertheless. Many professors truly do get to know the students, and there are plenty of opportunities to make memories here.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hanover is the safest city I've ever lived in. You can walk to your dorm at 3 am with no problems.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a stable in the social scene at Dartmouth. However, there are alternatives. Don't feel pressured to go greek if you don't want to. Although greek organization do a lot of campus, you don't have to go greek to be involved on campus. People usually rush their sophomore years, since freshman rushing is prohibited.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of. Too many to mention.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid Back, Hardworking, Quiet, Forward Thinking, Outdoorsy, Engaged, Musically, Sports Lovers, Partier.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many. One of my favorites has to be homecoming. Every homecoming there is a giant camp fire built in the of the green with your class's number on it (for me it was '15). During the ceremony, members of the class run around the fire, one lap for each in your class year. As a members of the class of 2015, most of us ran either 15 laps, 115 laps, or somewhere in between. It is a great bonding experience for members in each class.

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth is expensive. Roughly 63 thousand a year. However, financial aid is very gracious with their award amount and it pays off. We have been ranked number 1 in median salary/income, 10 years after graduating.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something happening on campus. Whether it be guest speakers, a movie at the hop, a party. There's a lot to do on campus. If you love the outdoors definitely look into the DOC club. Dartmouth also has its own ski slope for the cold winter months. Sports are also year round, and their tailgates are a very popular attraction.

    Food and Dining

    The food around campus is pretty good. We have three main college dining places, (Class of '53 commons AKA Fo Co, The Hop, and the College) In addition to Novack (The library cafe), a snack bar in one of the dorms, and graduate eating places.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms on campus are amazing. No air conditioning, however they feature storage in the basement and laundry rooms. It is also easier to get to know your fellow classmates, since there are first year residential programs to get you used to college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Dartmouth can be very challenging at times due to its quarter system, in which you only have 10 weeks per term. In fact, we are ranked as the 4th hardest school in the nation academically. Don't let the laid back aura of Dartmouth fool you, people are diligent in their studies as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying to Dartmouth, please make sure that you represent yourself as a person that is more than numbers. Although I am not an admissions rep, I am sure that Dartmouth is looking for people that are heavily involved with their communities and their school. Don't let class averages scare you or deter you from applying.

    In three sentences

    Choosing to attend Dartmouth College is honestly one of the best decisions that I've ever made. Nestled in the small town of Hanover, New Hampshire, Dartmouth boasts a vibrant community in which people are heavily involved on campus. It does not take long for people to feel welcome, at the college upon a hill.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus for the most part is pretty much safe. There are always organizations that can help you back to your dorms late at night. Police and Campus security always patrol at night.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is huge over here. A great majority of Dartmouth students join the Greek life, and pretty much Dartmouth has the stereotypical frat life image. Students can join starting sophomore year.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since Hanover is a rural isolated town, there isn't much to do outside of school; however, there are many clubs and activities that compensate for the lack of outside school activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hard working, intelligent, active, and outgoing people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dartmouth has many traditions. Some traditions you will find are at your DOC trips before school starts!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a prestigious and worthy institution. Quite expensive, but also quite excellent. No wonder its ranked number one in Undergraduate studies.

    What to do for fun

    Usually people like to go to frats, or hang out around the various places in hanover, go to the HOP, club activities, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan, quite honestly, is terrible as there is no flexibility for your eating. Freshman are forced to stay in the 20 meal plan, and since not a lot of people eat breakfast the 20 meal plan can be a disadvantage.

    Dorm Life

    The East Wheelock and some of the newer places are very good. However, some dorms like the River cluster is terrible for first years.

    Academic Rigor

    This is an Ivy League.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the school while you can before you decide to matriculate. Sign up for the DOC trip; its a fun way to meet new people, try exciting new activities, and experience the outdoors life. Talk to current students there to see how Dartmouth has shaped their life.

    In three sentences

    A very small, intellectually vibrant community that can foster an undergraduate's needs. Has a bad reputation for its partying, hazing and drinking atmosphere, but this is hardly a deterrent since only a minority of individuals are involved in those activities. This institution can be summed up by its motto: work hard, play hard.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In general, Hanover has a very low crime rate. The only concern would be alcohol intoxication.

    Greek Life

    Extremely prevalent. The crux of social life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    Fratty, status-obsessed, financiers. Though I wish other students would apply.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    High greek participation Making freshman run around a bonfire Trips (indoctrination)

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth has one of the highest ROIs for college attendance, probably due to the vast number of students entering the financial services profession.

    What to do for fun

    There's really only one thing to do: drink. Being in the middle of nowhere helps with that. In addition, rush is a huge deal here; if you're unaffiliated, you're essentially irrelevant. I wouldn't hang out with a typical student ever.

    Food and Dining

    Relative to most colleges--decent. Relative to a normal person--average.

    Dorm Life

    Better than most colleges--rooms in East Wheelock are extremely spacious. Off campus housing is limited..

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major, but I feel like there are high expectations all around.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're any of the above (interested in finance, love to party, don't mind being super isolated), this school is a good fit. Otherwise, apply elsewhere. Their application is extremely easy (no essay), so if you're comfortable dropping $90, then go ahead.

    In three sentences

    Biggest problem with the school is that it doesn't cater to non mainstream students (wannabe investment bankers, fratstars, big drinkers). It can be extremely difficult to find individuals against the grain, especially since this school is in the middle of nowhere. Education quality is generally very high, and help is readily available.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dartmouth is located in a very safe town in a very safe state. Students do not feel threatened by the idea of walking around at night. There is an active campus police force, as well as those security stations that can be found at many universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs that one can join. Dartmouth has a large number of varsity sports, as well as intramural tournaments.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to be challenged academically and are willing to work hard in order to achieve success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I was told about the traditional homecoming bonfire and freshmen run, in which the freshmen run around the huge bonfire a certain amount of times, relative to their graduation year. For example, if you'll graduate in 2017 then the tradition would be to run around the bonfire 117 times. Apparently not many freshmen actually complete this except for perhaps the cross country team.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your financial situation, assistance can cover up to full tuition. By attending Dartmouth, you'll surely be provided with a rigorous academic experience, well worth the money. However, the high tuition cost could be overwhelming .

    What to do for fun

    While visiting I attended a women's volleyball game against Princeton. Their athletics are very competitive and exciting to watch. There are also many interesting groups and clubs one can join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing, with many different meals being prepared daily.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. Dorms such as East Wheelock can be applied to, which provide a more quiet working environment. The admissions officers do a great job with pairing roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very difficult and you'll often find yourself having to write multiple essays or summaries on a given night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep an eye on deadlines and prepare yourself for a huge workload by taking challenging classes. Also, be sure to have someone reliable to write your peer-review essay.

    In three sentences

    Though I am not a student, is is apparent that Dartmouth has a vibrant campus, filled with motivated and friendly students. The campus itself is beautiful and contains modern facilities and many housing options. As a bonus, the dining hall serves great meals and has amazing cookies!

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Greek life scene is huge here.

    Academic Rigor

    I mean, the hardest part was getting in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out, join everything, immerse yourself.

    In three sentences

    It's the smallest Ivy. For undergrads that means a huge sense of community. It's a very outdoorsy, athletic school.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and Security is awesome as is Dartmouth EMS

    Greek Life

    EPIC, animal house

    Great for these types of students

    outdoorsy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Sphinx is a secret society.

    Bang for the buck

    Very Pricey school but Dartmouth is an amazing place to go to school.

    What to do for fun

    go outside

    Academic Rigor

    tough classes with short terms

    Tips for prospective students

    Play a sport, Join the Outing Club, and be a member of a greek organization.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth is a great place to go to school. Outdoorsy students will love Dartmouth. Frat and Sorority scene important.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life dominates the schools social scene. So if you are against greek life you might want to reconsider applying to Dartmouth.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hanover is a quiet college town and the city police and school's Safety and Security system work together to ensure the students' safety. On the whole, the regulation and support groups are good and provide helpful services for the students.

    Greek Life

    Greek life basically dominates the social scene on campus, since there's not much in the form of usual city distractions. Recently they've made and are making some major changes to the Greek system but so far it's been pretty open as far as parties go so that's another reason for the continued popularity for the night life scene.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of organizations you can be involved in on campus, so many to the point it can sometimes get overwhelming. But there truly is something for everyone, and the diverse range of groups make for entertaining showcases and activities for the entire student body, members and others alike.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy. Dartmouth has great access to mountains and rivers, so if you love hiking, rock climbing, canoeing, etc., it is the perfect place for you. The class sizes are small so if you're looking for an intimate, tight-knit community, you don't get closer than Dartmouth.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each season has its own big tradition - Fall is Homecoming, with the bonfire for freshmen, who run around a large fire in the center of the Green (the large green field that serves as the hub of campus) as the rest of the school cheers them on; Winter Carnival in February with events like the snow sculpture, polar bear plunge; and Green Key in May where we enjoy the nice weather and have fun activities outdoors.

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth is an excellent school, but it's tuition is ridiculously expensive, even among the Ivies and although it has decent financial aid, the tuition only looks to continue rising from here on out.

    What to do for fun

    The great outdoors! The Dartmouth Outing Club has lots of activities in the immediate environment, and Trips before Freshmen Orientation is one of the best bonding experiences at Dartmouth. There are also social activities hosted by the clubs and Greek houses on campus, and there's also Main Street to shop and grab a bite to eat.

    Food and Dining

    You have three major food centers on campus, the Hop, FoCo, and Collis. Each have a different style and feel -- FoCo is a buffet while the Hop and Collis are cafe-style -- but all serve decent food and are good hangout places as well.King Arthur Flour is also excellent for drinks, sandwiches and pastries but unfortunately a little pricey as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are tradeoffs and often large disparities between clusters. Some clusters are extremely new (McLaughlin) and as a result gorgeous and rather spacious. Others have been around for a while and are noticeably smaller and not as luxurious. Also, where you live can also have implications for how your social life is defined, at least during freshman fall. Dorm clusters nearer Frat Row (i.e. Choates, Russell Sage) are generally more rowdy and party-oriented, and dorms further away like East Wheelock typically are quieter, where you'l find relatively less of the going out scene. Some floors are extremely tight-knit, but even this tends to happen only during freshman year and social groups are largely determined by weekend events if anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Trimesters mean you move through classes pretty fast, so you have to work to keep on top of things like midterms and projects. Different classes are also structured differently, and some have weekly labs that add to the course load. Because it's a liberal arts school, you get the chance to take a wide variety of classes and are exposed to fascinating classes that you may otherwise not have taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Play up your strengths as a student and person, but just be yourself. I know that sounds extremely cheesy and vague, but in the end you want to go to a school that is a good fit for you, and the only way to achieve that without a doubt is to be honest in your representation of yourself and the creation of your goals and ideas for college. Dartmouth encourages a diverse student body in terms of background and experience.

    In three sentences

    There is no other place like Dartmouth; often people speak of it as a bubble but you'll have great experiences just the same. You'll meet people from all walks of life that not only broaden your worldview but collectively make the campus a more interesting place. Its academic excellence is unparalleled and outdoor activities fantastic, and though it may have areas for improvement, Dartmouth is a wonderful school and I am excited to be able to spend four years in this community.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    open-minded, ambitious, lovers of nature, socialites, fearless, bold, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Dartmouth's financial aid office has been extremely helpful in making my education possible and affordable. Although the price is steep, it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    camp, hike, explore, read in the library, roam around campus, meet up with friends, go to the gym, the possibilities are endless.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are old, but that's why you get out and enjoy the resources throughout the campus. I must say that the dorms are comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm pretty sure Dartmouth has several classes that force you to re-evaluate your intelligence, but based off of my visit, I found that they're insightful and require deep thinking. I can assure you that you'll learn something new with every class discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE YOURSELF. While test scores, grades, and your GPA play a vital role in determining admissions, remember to be yourself. Dartmouth values individuality and diversity. It's also important to remember that you're making a life-changing decision and college is more than getting an education.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth is simply amazing. Despite its location in a tiny NH town, the campus has a lot to offer and is very welcoming. If you love the great outdoors, Dartmouth is the place for you.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party, Hang out with friends, go to one of the many dining halls.

    Food and Dining

    There are 5 different dining halls, but eventually, like all college food, they get old.

    Dorm Life

    It's a lot of fun to hang out with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy League. 'Nuff said.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up, remember to do extracurriculars. Also, keep in mind that you will need to ask for a peer recommendation.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth has some of the most welcoming professors, friendly student, and most comprehensive yet entertaining classes.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Rated one of the bang for the buck schools, with AMAZING financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't pay attention to the current news about Dartmouth. It is a great school with an open student body that feels they have the right to voice its opinion, which is truly the best part about the school. While some institutions sweep important issues under the rug, Dartmouth embraces challenges and finds ways to ameliorate the issues.

    In three sentences

    Dartmouth College has a beautiful campus, inviting community, and spirited way of life. Sure it gets cold, but the traditions of the school are intertwined with the weather to make for a unique winter experience. This place is the best!

  • 06/29/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I hear its extremely tough.