Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Davenport University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Davenport is great for students interested in a business, technology, or health career.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students, I would suggest, if you are looking for a solid education, future, and college experience, that you apply to Davenport University. This college has so many good opportunities to take advantage of!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that what I am learning and my experiences at Davenport is definitely worth my tuition. The focus for my education is specific to my major; I feel that by the time I graduate I will have a very well-rounded academic profile for my career. Not only does Davenport offer excellent academic courses, the college also gives each student access to the new student center, which is a recreation and fitness center.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere at Davenport. The professors are friendly and helpful. I am impressed at the level of personal respect that each student receives, not only from professors, but from other students. Davenport's a great learning environment and a good place to network with other students.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that I have taken at Davenport University have thus far been excellent. The focus that DU has on helping students to have a well-rounded education is obvious and beneficial. The professors are open to helping students; I enjoy the smaller classes because there is more one-on-one assistance. Tutors are also available for help with homework if students cannot meet with their professors.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    It's a good school I recieved more help with funding my education from Davenport than I did from WCCCD

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone going in to the Business, technology or nursing this is the school for you. If you are interested in Biometric security, we are 1 of only very few universities in the nation that offer it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Keep your GPA up. and ask lots of questions, the staff is always willing to answer any you may have.

    Bang for the buck

    Davenport is a career focused college. You start working on classes related to your career right away. No required Art or Gym classes. According to professors most students graduating from Davenport make on an average more money faster in their field compared to students graduating from other universities going in to the same field.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Dorms at Davenport are amazing. They are large spacious rooms with each student getting their own bed room in all of the 3 residence halls located here on the main campus located off of Kraft road near M6. We are currently ranked the 17th safest university in the country, the only other college in Michigan to even place on list was Cornerstone. We are a dry campus, so there is no need to worry about drunks milling about. and class is always a short walk away. the staff is kind and always willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    The staff at Davenport is full of knowledge. The Professors actually work or have worked in the field related to the class. They know what they are talking about. They teach you the skills that you will need in your chosen field because they have been there them selves. If you have a question, just ask.

  • 08/23/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Run in the other direction from DU and find a different school!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering attending this school, turn around and run. Run as fast as you can in the other direction and find a new school. The advisors could care less about the students and do not know how to do their jobs well. The professors are only there to make a paycheck and don't help students when it is needed. I was told by one of my professors, It's not my job to answer your questions, just facilitate the class. About two weeks into my last two classes I was in a bad bike accident that put me in the hospital for two week. I told both my professors right away and at first they both seemed caring and told me not to worry about my school work and to focus on my recovery. I managed to get everything in that I missed during the two weeks in the hospital, however I received no points for any of the work. This ended up making me fail both classes. The experience that I had over the last six months was awful and I will never recommend this school to anyone

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is for people who are serious about their education. This college is NOT for people who are just looking for a good time. (Unless you call learning a good time, which I do.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, and do your best, and you will succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that for what I pay, I am getting an excellent education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending Davenport. I attend the online portion of Davenport, and enjoy the flexibility that it comes with. Additionally, since I enjoy learning, I enjoy attending here.

    Am learning a lot

    Before I attended Davenport, English was my weakest subject. Now I am getting top grades in all the English classes. I enjoy learning and this college is perfect for people like me.

  • 08/05/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, pay attention and try to participate in all school activities.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is expensive, but it is a private school so you get what you pay for.

    Did enjoy being here

    The dorm facilities are really nice, they make the time spent there enjoyable. The student actives offered were alright, could have been better.

    Did learn a lot

    I did learn a number of things at Davenport. Some professors were better then others.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your financial aid status, how much you have left in loans and DO NOT TAKE THE FULL AMOUNT OFFERED...only take what you need!

    Bang for the buck

    DU is expensive and I wish that wasn't so, however, I do feel that I am getting a good education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here...I don't want to go anywhere else!

    Am learning a lot

    I love the instructors and layout of the classes! I feel that the smaller class sizes allow for each student to learn and get to know the material and it gives the instructors a chance to learn your name and face.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The major downfall is that high price of tuition, however it will be worth it in the long run. A couple of things Davenport offers that others don't is lifelong refresher courses for graduates and lifelong career services.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the smaller class sizes so you get more of a one on one education.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your interested in the following fields: HEALTH, BUSINESS, or TECHNOLOGY. Davenport is a wonderful choice since those are our three main focuses since these areas are more likely to have jobs available upon graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you haven't already and this goes for any college your considering VISIT THE CAMPUS at least once or twice before making your decision. Also if your looking for a party school you'd best turn away now; we are a dry campus. If your going to come here utilize all of the things the university has to offer! Such as career services where they can help you with resumes, mock interviews, job searches, finding internships. Our advisers are helpful but only if you ask for help they don't know you have questions if you don't ask.

    Bang for the buck

    All the help your offered here your definitely getting your dollars worth. since you pay for classes per credit hours most classes being 3 hours. Also you get access to our library and student center (The Gym, Workout area, Some fun activity classes, a lounge and a cafe area). There is also many benefits to alumni but I am still attending and not sure about those.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's nice and quiet on campus. People are pretty nice around here too.

    Am learning a lot

    Seriously here at Davenport the small class sizes really help with getting individual help from an instructor. Then if your instructor may be an adjunct (they don't have an office on campus) they can usually set up appointments with them if you need the help. Also our library here has a tutoring center that really helps as well.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A+ Security guard located inside and out several cameras located around campus

    Greek Life

    I am not familiar with a Greek Life at Flint campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are based around activities in the community with student free and discount passes. Several volunteer programs offered and internship programs. Job placement and support is offered along with meetings with other students.

    Great for these types of students

    This location is great for students needing a structured program without all the hype. No gyms,no football fields and no dorms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the emergency shelter room centrally located in the middle of the Flint Campus where I attend.This room is underdeveloped and house all the students when there is an environmental emergency. I watch too many scary movies this room is like a scary movie.

    Bang for the buck

    I am actually located at the Flint Campus. I chose Davenport over several other campuses based on the academic achievement of graduate students and the employment ratio of their graduates.

    What to do for fun

    There are several Volunteer programs, sports activities, organizations that have interaction game events, and the outside programs (with student discount) around the community. I volunteered for the Sloan Auto Show in Flint, Mich. The people I worked with and the things I saw for free (cost a little of my spare time) made having fun easy and cost effective.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate at campus told the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus I hear it is safe, well maintained and co-ed

    Academic Rigor

    The academic requirement is at a level of professionalism that is designed for anyone to be successful if that person works and takes advantage of all programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find an institution that gives what you need to feel whole. The support of education, technology and emotional/mental stability are main factors to search for.

    In three sentences

    The Challenges life gives us are unexpected and we need to find a support system that helps us be successful in our educational venture. I have the expert support of a great staff and support services offered at Davenport at every level. I found the unique support of a clothing voucher, internships and volunteer programs allowing me time to concentrate on my degree.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking to go into Health, Business, and Technology. Also looking to get right into the field, and find great opportunities, And enjoys working in a friendly environment and meeting lots of new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Davenport is a great choice, and although they may be a bit expensive, they make sure that their students are very professional, and it's a career based college.

    Bang for the buck

    Davenport may be a little a expensive, but it's a great college, and I feel that it's actually worth it , and you will definately get your money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Davenport. It's a really good environment, and they make you feel comfortable as a student there.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot since I've been a student a Davenport. The people there are really nice, and I like that they really work with you.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    wondeful

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    a student wanting to further their education in the health care fields

    Tips for prospective students

    you will receive a wonderful experience once you attend.

    In three sentences

    a great school to further your education. very helpful when it comes to looking for work after you've finished your courses. and they have a wonderful library that has links to all resources need for term papers.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it is costlier than community colleges, but you are more than a number here. i have never spoken to anyone who went to another institution where lab instructors stay later to help you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you attend your classes and utilize all of the additional learning that the on-line sites for your books offer. also, make sure that you pay attention in clinical (nursing students) and lab as these are the foundation of your career in nursing.

    In three sentences

    i love the small class sizes and personal attention. it is a great place for new students, older students and those returning after taking a break. i have never been disappointed with my experiences here.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    davenport university is a bit expensive but comparable to many other universities.

    Food and Dining

    i have not attended any of the food and dining at davenport university so i cannot comment on this.

    Dorm Life

    i have only attended davenport through the online setting. however, i looked at the dorms a while back and they seemed nice.

    Academic Rigor

    i found that the course material is relevant to today's business settings. the classes are tough but thought-provoking. the instructors are excellent and informative over the material covered in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would encourage students to weigh out which option - either online or in-class setting - is best for them. the online courses offer flexibility but are also a bit harder to complete. they are faster paced and more rigorous.

    In three sentences

    i think that davenport university is an excellent school. i love the option of being able to complete my degree entirely online. i also found that the course work is challenging and applicable to real business settings.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities always going on and many student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but doable with patience and hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Davenport is a great college for every type of student. You will love it.

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing. The campus is very conductive for learning and discovering new possibilities. There are many opportunities, something for everyone.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a security guard on campus though out the day and is always everywhere it seems.

    What to do for fun

    This is not a traditional campus so there are no activities that are specifically for students but there are different events though-out the year such as a trick or treat for the children of students and an Easter hunt. They are very big into family.

    Food and Dining

    They have multiple vending machines and easy to get snacks for in between classes. The school is to small to have anything more when there is fast-food and restaurants right around the corner from the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a Dorm, but if they had dorms I would think that they would be as good as the school

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are excellent in helping you on every problem and bends over backwards (figuratively) to help students pass their class with a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that if you want a school that is there for you when you need help, counseling, or extra help on an assignment or many assignments this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The teachers are wonderful and actually seem like they care how you do and are not in it just for the paycheck. Davenport University is a school for the nontraditional student.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I enjoy Davenport, it is great for a non-traditional student or student just starting out. It has small class sizes where teachers can focus on individuals and where they need help and guidance. I highly recommend this institution.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome as they provide excellent care for the students and facility. They will remain with you until you have made it too your vehicle or ride.

    Greek Life

    We all have a Greek Life on the campus and each one is different.

    Clubs and Activities

    Davenport has many clubs and activities that each person can participate in the semesters. As Davenport has a awesome program that is called PASS that shows each student on how to achieve and be successful.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say that each student has there own needs and the facility does work with each person who needs to have a little help, as they are wanting to help student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not see any unusual traditions on my campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Davenport has been well worth the bucks for me to attend, even though taking some online classes can be expensive, but the course price includes your books. Each term you order your books online and they are sent directly to you before the class starts. They making ordering books more at ease as you are only getting the best quality of new books and can sell them back at a high price.

    What to do for fun

    Davenport offers many fun things that each student can participate during the school year. They also provide you to do some form of community service that you can also use towards applying for scholarships.

    Food and Dining

    The campus that I attend does not have a dining area. Davenport has a lounge area that has vendor machines which do come in handy. But when we have a meeting with other facility members they provide some food for the fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    Currently I live on my own and not on campus. But from what I have seen from the site for Davenport University you are able to take a glance on the dorm life on the campus. You will notice that you will have a eatery card to purchase your meals in packages or you can put more money on your card to upgrade your meal package.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic choices that you choose are great and you will achieve your degree in your field within the time limit.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I would want you to know that the guidance councilors are there to answer all questions on your career path. Have your questions ready to be answered and jot down what they have to say so you can consider your career path.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Davenport University with high ratings as they have really proved to me that their instructors/facilitators are there to help each student achieve their goals. The courses are easy to understand and each student has the option to take 7-10-15 week courses and are able to complete there degree. If it was not for the advisers, financial aid and instructors then I would not be close to graduation.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun events are at the Lettinga (Main) Campus, but the Holland campus likes to keep it fun with social events such as; Soul Food Dinner, Family Fun Night, Spirit Week, Voter's Registration Drive and many others

    Food and Dining

    We don't have food on the Holland Campus just yet.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, no one knows you need help if you don't ask. Communicate with your instructors, they are more than willing to accommodate you, but cannot if you do not communicate with them.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is a great college and has been integral in me continuing my education as a non-traditional student. The smaller class sizes are perfect and with night classes I can work around my jobs schedule. Davenport is a great school for someone who might not be right out of High School, but is looking to restart there education.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school have numerous activities for students even at a distance.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very supportive! Subject matter is perfect for online studies. Communication among teachers is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time.

    In three sentences

    I love my advisor! The course work fits my life style! What a wonderful experience!

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Kalamazoo is a college town with plenty to do and see.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer 7 week classes but they are intense but it gets you to your goal sooner. Plan ahead.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a plan of action on what classes to take. Consider community college for transfer credits to minimize cost.

    In three sentences

    Great school with wonderful instructors and adviser's. A wide range of academics available to choose from but would like to see more in-seat classes at the Kalamazoo campus. Great campus for older adults returning to school.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Davenport University takes the safety of the faculty and students very seriously. There are security officers on campus throughout the day and night to ensure the safety of everyone. They now require students to have a parking pass to ensure that each vehicle in the parking lots and their accompanying passengers are supposed to be there. Actions are taken promptly if it is warranted.

    Greek Life

    As far I as know, there are no sororities or fraternities at Davenport University. There are many other student organizations and activities for the students to participate in. Of course if Greek Life is really wanted by the students, they could strive to attain it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student organizations available for students to join at their willingness and convenience. I can only speak for the Student Nurse Organization. We put together many different charity drives in order to help support others. It is a great organization that is always looking out for students, community members, and others who are struggling along the way. There are many other organizations that relate to each field of study, health, business, and technology.

    Great for these types of students

    Davenport University is a great college for any hard working student. College is not like high school. You must put forth a great amount of effort in order to succeed with honor. Davenport University offers degrees pertaining to health, business, and technology. Any student looking to have a career in any of these fields would achieve success by attending Davenport University. Davenport also offers many online and evening classes, which is very helpful for students who have families or need to work while attending college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Davenport University students are always looking for ways to help other people in need throughout the community and elsewhere. There is always some sort of event happening. Some examples include a food drive, money drive for breast cancer awareness and cure, change collection for different support groups, and blood drives. Last week, students and faculty brought in pet food for families who were receiving their food from Meals on Wheels, and then feeding it to their pets because they couldn't afford to buy pet food. On a lighter note, spirit week is a great time for lots of fun. Everyday there is a different theme, and students and faculty really get into it to show off their panther pride.

    Bang for the buck

    As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. Davenport University is on the more expensive side because it is a private university. The education you will receive is worth every penny. They are up to date with all learning materials, including the library, online classes, classroom technology, and lab and simulation technology. One of the simulation labs at the Midland campus was just renovated, and now the one manikin is able to actually give birth to a baby. It is amazing to see what Davenport University can put together so that their students receive the best education.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is something that the students at Davenport University are all about. At the Midland Campus, the students are there because they want to be, not because their parents want them to. Learning is fun to all of us. We enjoy our classroom lectures and have become somewhat of a family. There are also many sport teams available at the main campus, and many different student organizations throughout all of the campuses.

    Food and Dining

    Davenport University has campuses throughout Michigan with the main campus in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The main campus has the Panther Den which is a great place to grab something to eat in between your busy classes. The other campuses usually have a general cafeteria room with vending machines, microwaves, sink, and a comfortable atmosphere to relax and take a break. Most campuses are located in a city, and therefore there are plenty of choices for off campus food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    Davenport University has 3 residence halls at the main campus in Grand Rapids Michigan. These residence halls feature apartment style living with an open kitchen. They are typically reserved for transfer students and upperclassman and are very close to the academic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    Davenport University offers degrees and diplomas in health, business, and technology. I can only speak on experience for the health curriculum, as I am currently a Nursing Student. The professors expect the best out of each student and they will not settle for less. There is no extra credit so you must earn your grade. They make sure to teach you what you need to know, but you also must be willing to learn throughout the classroom and clinical setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Davenport University has quite a few campuses with their main campus in Grand Rapids, Michigan. If you are looking for the complete college experience, then Grand Rapids campus would be the place for you. There is always help available and if someone is not sure on an answer, they will find the right person for you.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is a great private college with well educated professors. Their motto is to get you where the world is going. The education you will receive from Davenport University is well rounded, detailed, and very useful.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With security on duty 24/7, the campus safety is excellent and trustworthy. If there is an issue, you can bet that the outstanding security team will have the situation under control within a matter of seconds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Along with the many NAIA sports that the university offers, Davenport has a great deal of clubs and activities that anyone can get involved with. Student Government, Student life, intramural sports, volunteer opportunities, and employment opportunities are very cool and available to anyone who is interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in getting a business, health, or technology degree that employers will respect and have great interest in should check out what Davenport has to offer!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main campus is located in the Caledonia region of Grand Rapids. If you drive 10 minutes south, you will think you are in the heart of Tennessee with all of the farm lands. If you drive 10 minutes north, you will be in the heart of downtown where everything is fast-paced, fun, and friendly, much like Chicago. The location of the University is great because it is in between two areas that are so much different.

    What to do for fun

    Located in Grand Rapids, Michigan, the opportunities for fun are countless. Just a ten minute drive to downtown and you are surrounded with plenty of restaurants, clubs, theaters, and athletic complexes. Student life services on campus offer all kinds of fun events and outings that are nearly free for Davenport students. The main campus also has a phenomenal fitness center for the athlete, professor, or the average person just looking to get a good workout in before class.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall opened up three years ago and has been filled with excellent food options day in and day out. The variety of food is always fresh, healthy, and made to perfection so that the students and faculty get the best for their dollar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Davenport University are simply outstanding. Each residence hall offers an individual bedroom for each and every student. Every thing is very new, modern, safe, spacious, and reliable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are designed to prepare the student for his or her career. The many different majors between the health, technology, and business departments are all well-known by employers to be prestigious and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to reach out to a friendly Davenport admissions representative and take the time to visit its safe, clean campus where they can enjoy a meal, sit in on a class, and take a tour to see what Davenport is all about!

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is an excellent, affordable, 4-year school that strives to prepare students for an outstanding career. It has 26 competitive varsity sports and is continuing to grow in excellence. The main campus is located in Grand Rapids, Michigan and is surrounded by many job, academic, and extracurricular activities.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guard always always out patrolling area and he is always very friendly, not a day has gone by where I haven't seen him making rounds.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    never been in them??

    Great for these types of students

    non traditional, working and parents

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Costs is high for some classes.

    What to do for fun

    No time for fun study study study.

    Food and Dining

    No specific food and dining at Midland Campus but they do provide a student lounge with vending machines and it is a nice place to snack while studying between classes, very quiet.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors make you work for your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time here it goes by quickly.

    In three sentences

    DU is a great college for those of you who are non traditional, the instructors and counselors help you get back into the swing of things. Class sizes are small in Midland Campus, instructors care about you future.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Davenport is a great small school. They have plenty of opportunities for you to be sucsessful. I love the campus because it is all new.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe at DU. You could always ask for someone to walk to your vehicle if you felt unsafe after dark. And, they are always checking the parking lot at DU for anything unusual. I have been there for 4 years and never had a problem with feeling safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at DU. A couple that I know of is the Math Club and Technology Club.

    What to do for fun

    DU has many sports activities that you can attend. Examples are hockey, basketball, and soccer games.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines that are available on campus. You can also order out and your food will be delivered. There are also fast food chains that are available as well just a few blocks from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors and even tutors in encourage students to do the best academically as they can and they are always willing to help you better understand the subject if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the free resources that are available to you if you are struggling with subject. Tutors are available several days of the week. DU also offers flexible schedules on campus and online.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy going to DU. The staff is friendly and willing to help with any questions that you may need answered concerning with your degree, schedule and financial aid.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have campus parties for the end of the term, holidays, and just because. Also we have many other things that we donate items to.

    Food and Dining

    At the Livonia Campus, we only have vending machines, but there are many restaurants of all kinds all around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure about dorm life due to living at my own house. My main University is at Livonia, Michigan. Which is a very small campus now.

    Academic Rigor

    Davenport University gives scholarships for keeping your G.P.A. up and for volunteer work over 135 yearly. In Grand Rapids they have many Academic teams such as: baseball, football, soccer, basketball, and other activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people are friendly at the Livonia and the Warren campuses, and are will to help in any way. If you have been in a previous college or technological school; be sure to get your official documents sent to them. Also if you have learning disabilities of any kind, let your adviser know so they can show you which document to download to get printed for you and your physician to fill out. They are more than happy to comply.

    In three sentences

    Davenport helps those with special learning problems to understand what they don't find logical. You have an adviser for your course if needed, training for resumes and such, and tutors for subjects that are harder than usual. If you are not able to find a tutor to help, then you can always ask other students who they had for a tutor or if they can help (sometimes the librarians can help).

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Small school with little choice for refreshments.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at my location.

    In three sentences

    Davenport in Saginaw is a great school! If you are looking for small student to teacher ratio. or help that is right around the corner! Advisors here are exceptional and have only one goal, to help you succeed!

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't currently live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I'm not aware of how they are.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always pushing you to do your best. They are always there to help and answer any questions you have about their class, and they always make extra time to give you extra help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help, or ask any questions in general.

    In three sentences

    DU offers excellent help for students who need direction on what to do for college. They are extremely helpful, and willing to do anything necessary to make you feel comfortable while you attend school there. I would definitely recommend going to school there.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    no idea im an online student

    Tips for prospective students

    When life hasn't showed you what your calling is yet, take a moment, read the possible majors the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Small Efficient Afordable

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Social, Fun, Athletes

    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids is so close for a night on the town as well as good shopping in West Michigan.

    Food and Dining

    Three food options: Dining Hall, Victory Cafe, and the Panther Den.

    Dorm Life

    Fun social environment, and great dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are set in a way to bring real life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a visit.

    In three sentences

    Excellent staff and community in the dorms. A majority of the sport teams are top in their league. Offers a fun social life for students.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Good atmosphere good teachers.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    As with any educational situation it depends on the person. I think that the support they offer helps you through that, and they have a lot of support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Age is just a number, don't be scared away by younger classmates who move at a faster pace than you. Set aside at least 3-4 hours a days for studying and homework. Also, study groups are a great support system.

    In three sentences

    I think Davenport is a great shcoool for the older student. It provides you with smaller class sizes and more personal attention. You have a very high comfort level being apart of their educaiton program.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very informative and intelligent. You will have the knowledge needed for everyday life once you leave the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient and open-minded. Take your time and don't rush, because good things happen to those who wait. Study hard, even with obstacles you just need to pray. Use all of your resources because they are there.

    In three sentences

    It is easy to apply to. I was able to transfer my credits. The people are there to help you and not judge you.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    5 star

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is an awesome college to attend and expand your career. Since my very first day, I�¢����ve felt at home with them. The classes, professors and faculty do a fantastic job with greeting you to helping out with whatever they can!

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I live off campus, therefore cannot comment on this.

    Greek Life

    I live off campus, therefore cannot comment on this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I live off campus, therefore cannot comment on this.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious individuals who are determined, motivated, and passionate about their education. Go getter's willing to achieve and not settle for anything less.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I live off campus, therefore cannot comment on this.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is pricey, but well worth it for the high quality of education received.

    What to do for fun

    Take time away from studies to reset and recuperate. There is much to do in the area such as movies, shopping, and recreational activities.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus, therefore cannot comment on this.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, therefore cannot comment on this.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely intense, especially with the 7 week accelerated courses. Courses utilize online, textbook, and lecture resources; therefore abundance of material to delve through. Be prepared to put in a lot of study hours, especially for graduate programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to put in many study hours to do well. The 7 week accelerated courses are a great way to complete the program much faster. Apply for the in-house scholarship for $1500 per semester.

    In three sentences

    University is well-structured with top notch professors. Academic program is intense and up to par with all educational standards. Well respected and reputable academic institution country wide.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about college and can party on their own time

    Bang for the buck

    Davenport has all kinds of various scholarship opportunities for students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Worth your time if your ready to learn, if students haven't found a major they love I would recommend taking a year off and finding your passion before enrolling in college.

    In three sentences

    Davenport is a no-nonsense college for those who want to excel in business, IT, or nursing degrees. It is for students who want small class sizes and want professors who have real world experience in their respective fields. Davenport offers the most flexible class schedules and times I have ever seen!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very safe and secure School

    Greek Life

    A diverse setting

    Clubs and Activities

    Alumni

    Great for these types of students

    Yes for all students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Davenport has seven or more campus locations to meet your needs

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely

    What to do for fun

    Go to games and much more

    Food and Dining

    Affordable

    Dorm Life

    Reasonable

    Academic Rigor

    Nice

    Tips for prospective students

    The campuses are nice & affordable class size is reasonable

    In three sentences

    I like Davenport University because it's affordable. The class is reasonable. The staff and professors are respectful and concerned about your success.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Who?

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

    Bang for the buck

    Not at all!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing if you attend the Saginaw campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid. Don't lend more than you need. Attend classes and turn in all assignments.

    In three sentences

    Davenport is to expensive for a degree that will most likely not hold any weight if you leave the state of Michigan. The staff was great. The class size allowed an intimate environment with your peers and teacher.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had minimal incidents on our campus. The local police department work well with our campus security should any problems occur.

    Greek Life

    Not currently in any Greek organizations.....maybe one day though.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the SIFE club, now known as Enactus. I also participate in volunteer work through the school's volunteer program.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, exchange students, new students (graduating from high school), young and old students, military active and inactive), and of course, returning back to school after a long break students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I attend the Warren, MI campus and Love it!!! The staff there is so friendly and aiming to please. It's laid back and you come to study whenever you like ....even with your children if you have to!! Now that's totally awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    At Davenport University you get your money's worth! From the education and technology available to all the free services the school offers (tutoring, computer lab, on-line registration, year-long registration in advance, and career services just to name a few).

    What to do for fun

    Participate in all the fun activities reserved in-store for your pleasure while attending school. Just to name a few: Homecoming week activities, spirit week activities, and Carnival week activities.

    Food and Dining

    We have vending machines available for staff and students in the student lounge. There are also an assortment of restaurants nearby to accommodate your taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't experienced the dorm life, but I heard it was a very nice atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Davenport University the staff and instructors provide you with the necessary tools to succeed in today's workplace. You not only learn the academic side of things, but also, the employment side (pertaining to what you need to know for the workplace environment).

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest for incoming new students to utilize all the free amenities available such as: free tutoring, free computer lab, the library experience (on-line and on-campus), student lounge, career services, and our PASS department and team.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is a person-to-person, friendly school with an outstanding environment. The staff is helpful and friendly. The resources available are awesome and free!

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Davenport University-Warren campus is perfect for adults

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible because tuition is not cheap.

    In three sentences

    Davenport offers a wonderful learning environment. I really like the staff & students. One of the things that attracted me to the school was it offers smaller class sizes.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible to help decrease the amount of student loans you will need.

    In three sentences

    The school is a private university, so tuition is expensive. However, class sizes are small and tutoring is available at no cost.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I never care for food that isn't made by me so...

    Dorm Life

    cleanest dorms I've seen in a while to be honest. You will meet some interesting people here.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of the teachers that I had were specialists in their field, or they already experienced the career itself. There are some questionable professors who may cause you to raise a brow but, DO YOUR RESEARCH!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your advisers. Here at this school, they WILL help you. Make sure you understand completely how much aid you qualified for and what scholarships you can receive to decreases tuition costs. If you can, attend main campus. It is worth it.

    In three sentences

    Hands on curriculum and helpful advisers. There is a campus that specializes in whatever your career goals are. I suggest looking into which DU campus offers what classes so you don't end up trying to take nursing classes at the tech. specialized campus! (I'm an IT major, learned this last minute)

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have great security here on watch all day.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    we have lots of clubs and activities but mainly on the big campus in grand rapids.

    Great for these types of students

    students who need one on one attention this would be a great school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we do all our activities in a classroom

    Bang for the buck

    the cost of school needs to go down

    What to do for fun

    read, dancing and go on cruisins.

    Food and Dining

    no cafe on flint campus. need one

    Dorm Life

    dont live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    good academic level

    Tips for prospective students

    great instrutors

    In three sentences

    a good school

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great here and they listen to the students.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this campus to all students who are wanting to get in the business administration

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus that I attend is Davenport University, Fint, Michigan

    Bang for the buck

    I have just attended the Moolah Madness at Davenport and it was filled with great information on how to earn more for your bucks by applying for scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy to have a quite evening at home and allow me have study time in a nice environment.

    Food and Dining

    The campus that I attend has only the campus break room with vending machines. But for other students who can experience the life on campus in the dining area is great and a awesome place to meet with fellow members on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not on dorm area to live, but I would recommend the dorms for new students who are wanting to have the experience to live on campus. This can be very vital for a new student to get more in-depth with the campus life style and become familiar with the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is very formal and can be helpful for current students to go further in their degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you bring in all transcripts from previous campus or your degree that you earned. If a student has done work that pertains to a degree can be credited toward credits on a degree.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is a great campus to attend and I would highly recommend this college to future students. The faculty does an outstanding job in helping one choose the right field to receive a degree. Courses on the campus are highly recommended and have few students in the class so each student can get one on one with instructor.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love the campus safety here they are really doing a great job and will help you!

    Bang for the buck

    You will receive your bang for your buck just make sure that you study hard.

    What to do for fun

    For fun the student government always has several activities going so there will really never be a dull moment. Utilize your student government they all take all suggestions if appropriate and make them into an activity for all students.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excellent surrounding the school because there is a mall up the road. Also, the school provides activities which involves the students going out to dinner after the activities are completed.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the Warren, Michigan campus which has no dorms but has surrounding apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here and the honor roll have a high percentage because they really help the students. Do not be afraid to get a tutor if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending Davenport utilize all the tools for success that they have available. Be mindful of your small class size that will really give you a feel for your teacher. You can succeed at Davenport.

    In three sentences

    Davenport is a very interpersonal college. They are helpful and mindful with helping students. Great choice of school because of the small class sizes.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Davenport offers a lot of events and opportunities for students to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend a campus with a food/dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I do not attend a campus that has dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Davenport academics met all of my expectations of learning. The teachers are motivated to help and make sure that all students have a clear understanding. Making themselves available at various times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet, meet, meet. Meet with your counselor. It is essential to your scheduling needs.

    In three sentences

    Davenport's class schedule is meets the needs of those who attend school during the day and the evening. The counselors are personal and motivating. The environment is friendly and welcoming.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They offer plenty of sports and campus activitie.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont waste any government funding you receive. You will need every cent to pay for your classes.

    In three sentences

    Its a great institution. They offer their students excellent resources. However, they are very expensive.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's wonderful. At the lansing campus they have security gaurds who will walk you out to your car if you would like them to. I have also given them my car keys to hold on to so I could go running. The security guards are wonderful!

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    If you at one of the smaller campuses it's great for working individuals. But the main campus in Grand Rapids is good for people who want to be full time students only.

    Bang for the buck

    They keep raising the tuition prices but the scholarships are not getting any larger.

    What to do for fun

    They have a student center when you can work out or play games with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Not all the food is the greatest but they do give you lots of selection and its always fresh so you're bound to find something you like.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know. I do not stay in a dorm nor have I ever. From the looks of the dorms they look pretty nice though.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though the professors are not always the greatest the material is really great material to learn from. But you might have to teach yourself sometimes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sign up for too many classes expecting to be able to do it. The professors have a habit of all assigning the big projects at the same time so that can be a pain to get everything finished. Especially if you procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to go to, while the bills can get a little intense all you have to do is talk to the financial aid people about different scholarships. If you do call their 800 number you will stand a chance of getting passed around from person to person. And the professors are okay, some you like others you don't but you always have the choice to talk classes online.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is clean and secure. The campus is patrolled with security and along with cameras. I personally have never felt unsafe. I think that the facility does a nice job in this area.

    Greek Life

    Not so sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Davenport recently added a new baseball field that has drawn much attention. They are very involved in the community and have many sporting events.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend Davenport for anyone! There is a great mixture of people who attend but I must say that everyone there is determined to complete there degree. Everyone seems to be very motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Davenport's campus is just friendly. When you are away from home they have a way of making you feel comfortable and at ease.

    Bang for the buck

    I have several friends that go to other colleges and I must say that Davenport University goes above and beyond to help there students. We are all so busy so anything that helps to make our lives easier is so appreciated and they definitely exceed my expectations.

    What to do for fun

    In the Grand Rapids area the lists are endless for fun. You have art museums, shows, concerts, great dining, sporting events, and the best shopping ever! I love Grand Rapids :)

    Food and Dining

    The dining and food is very good and many choices that will appeal to anyone's dining favorites.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on the dorm and never have. I feel I have missed an experience that I can never get back and know many people who enjoy every minute of it. It is worth the experience and memories.

    Academic Rigor

    It is important to push yourself and to use the support systems that are have available to you. Your grades and enthusiasm reflects on they type of employee that you will be and people are watching and will give references based on your efforts and achievements.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determine what you really want to do so you do not waste money on classes that are not going to help you move forward in your degree. If you are not sure talk to an advisor they will help you.

    In three sentences

    Davenport is amazing! They help you to be successful and assist in anyway they can to make your life easier. When you have completed your classes and degree they stick with you to make sure that you do not have a problem finding potential employment.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around and they will even walk you to your car if you would like

    Greek Life

    Not for me

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Nursing Association

    Great for these types of students

    Students that know where they want to go in life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of

    Bang for the buck

    Get involved! They have a lot of groups and organizations that will prepare you for life after graduation

    What to do for fun

    Movies and reading for FUN

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus, but there are tons of places to eat nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and stay focused

    In three sentences

    I am enjoying my experience at Davenport. The best part about Davenport is the people. I am finding that everyone is so helpful, and most of the pick studying over partying. I believe this is the best program to prepare me for the start of my career as a nurse.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    DU provides accredited education online without excess hype, intrusion, or other ads other online facilities do.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining does not apply in this situation

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life does not apply in this situation.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent standards of academic excellence, including plagiarism checks and balances to avoid copy/paste online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Davenport is not the cheapest college online, but it is definitely one of the best. Don't skip over this college if you care considering an online education, and if you are an able student, go online: it is so much easier to manage a family, job, and education all at the same time with DU.

    In three sentences

    Instructors at DU are very knowledgeable and helpful in online settings. The advisers are more than pleasant and easy to work with whenever needed. The financial aid personnel are easy to reach and quick to complete whatever tasks are necessary.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as much knowledge in as possible. Be passionate about your major. Stay focused!

    In three sentences

    Davenport is really a real life university. The school uses real life scenarios to teach student what will be expected in careers. Great school!

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent camera systems.. won't too much of anything go down or pop off!

    Great for these types of students

    Focused and Driven Students. Students that love the true College University business and home feeling.

    Bang for the buck

    Not the most expensive college, BUT EVERY DIME IS WORTH EVERY MINUTE SPENT HERE.

    What to do for fun

    Student life, games, organizations, volunteering, campus and department activities.

    Food and Dining

    Flint campus does not have any dining areas besides the one student lounge that's available which has vending machines in them.

    Dorm Life

    The Flint campus has no housing but the others does.

    Academic Rigor

    5 out of 5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to feel like you're at home and ready to be at the top of the game! The only way you won't succeed here at Davenport University, is if you plainly do- not want to Win!

    In three sentences

    I rate Davenport University with an 10 out of 10. Davenport University has a variety of locations and majors to choose from, and consists of small class sizes and tutors , which is all included in every campus and is great for students like me that love to focus and succeed!

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Lots of dining choices up on Washington Square.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not hard to pass the classes. Show up and use the tutoring services.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the tutors. Get involved in a student organization. Shop around for books.

    In three sentences

    The smaller classes and the great new campus is great. The staff whether instructors, financial aid, advisors, and all who are there will help you, just ask. Get involved with a student organization or start one.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    57 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security was excellent at the Warren and Livonia campuses!

    Clubs and Activities

    National Leadership and Success Society Networking Groups Mentoring Programs

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students should consider!

    Bang for the buck

    I loved Davenport because it allowed me to return to school full-time as a wife, mother and full-time working adult. I received my Associate and Bachelors from there starting classes in the Fall of 2010 and ending in August of 2013. It was a great experience and I found an interesting new field in Health Information Management. The instructors were helpful and for both degrees I completed my courses primarily online with the exception of 2 on campus courses. I graduated with honors and feel so proud ad thankful for my experience there!

    What to do for fun

    There are sports activities, networking vents and many different options available for you to meet others and have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load can be heavy but time management is the key and this school really helped me buckle down and get serious about my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be dedicated! Ask questions and communicate with your peers! I love the atmosphere and instructors both online and on campus! Utilize the tutoring sevices, mentors, and library services.

    In three sentences

    It is an awesome school for new and returning students! The flexibility of online programs worked well for me! My degree path plan was well constructed by me and my advisor and it ws helpful to see how to pace myself!

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for business, nursing and tech students. If you are looking for any other type of career, this school is not for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Just the right course load for a working mother of two.

    Tips for prospective students

    Borrow student loan money responsibly. Don't take on more academically than you can handle and don't fall behind in your online classes.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is a great school. The instructors are knowledgeable in their subject matter and willing to help when needed. Faculty and office staff are very friendly and helpful as well.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun things to do both on and off campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good, and they offer great variety!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are great, and I love my roommates! There is my own space, just what I need.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers care about your grades, but are definitely going to challenge your thought process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great business school! I am going for my Bachelor's degree in Marketing, and everyone is so helpful with everything!

    In three sentences

    Davenport really focuses on the learning of their students, and care how you do you in your classes. The teachers are willing to stay after hours to make sure you get help on what you need, and the counselors are really helpful with figuring out classes. The curriculum is based on real world applications.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Doors are always locked. Security officers wait outside for everyone to leave and make sure there are no issues. There is proper lighting and cameras to prevent any incidents from happening.

    Bang for the buck

    It is most definitely worth the money that you may have to pay. I am very pleased that I decided on this university. It is not a party school or a huge sports school. I get to focus fully on my studies which is what I am paying for, not for the college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and sports to participate in. We are constantly being updated on volunteer opportunities, dances, games and interesting activities that we can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria either because it is not a main campus. There are plenty of vending machines and the staff will leave snacks for us. Sometimes the professors will bring in food for us. Coffee is always available.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm in my campus. There is one in the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a school for serious students. You must attend classes or else you risk being dropped from the course immediately which will cost you your scholarships. The classes will provide a challenge and really get you thinking about important topics. You are able to explore many relevant events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to just walk in if you are interested. They will more than likely take care of everything for you either right then and there are get you an appointment that is within a few days. Do not stress about the costs. It is a private school so prices are a bit higher. Do not fret, there are many scholarships, loans and you can set up a payment plan if you do not want to take out any loans.

    In three sentences

    The professors clearly love what they are doing here at Davenport. The classes are interesting and provide a decent challenge to work with. Everyone is very caring; they want you to be involved and have a safe and clean environment.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The classes are compacted and fast paced.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University is a good school to get ready for a career in the area one intends to go into. Online classes are great for stay at home parents, but it does not mean it is easier than in seat classes. Keep up with the work and one will do great at Davenport.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Grand Rapids there many things to do... Museums, Parks, Kent Trails, Restaurants, exercise, and many more things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many questions as possible. Ask about their different types of scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Davenport University Masters programs are great for working adults. Davenport Offers Online options and a flexible schedule. Great staff that is committed to answer your questions, guide you through the admission process and help you create a personalized course plan; making the process easy.