Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Davidson County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Inquire 4 to 5 months in advance which scholarships you will be applying for and which program suites your interest of career choice.

    Bang for the buck

    Everywhere you attend, you will have to deal with the expense of education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the small campus feel.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are very personable and want to extend their knowledge towards your learning.

  • 10/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a curriculum heavy on the technology side should be quite happy with Davidson County Community College's reliance on technology and Internet homework. Those that are looking for the chance to take online or hybrid courses should also be happy with the wide range of classes DCCC offers like this. Nearly every class has some online portion, giving students the opportunity to show independent motivation.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest advice to any prospective students is to double and maybe even triple check everything a faculty member tells you. There have been several issues with students being misadvised, tuition payments going unfiled, and even clerical errors that have prevented students from graduating on time. Just make sure to always be o top of your own information because if you aren't, you could be attending Davidson County Community College a lot longer than you planned.

    Bang for the buck

    As I said, the teaching staff is well educated and generally very helpful. There are also many ways to get any help that you may need academically. It can be difficult, however, to find this aid without help from students because many teachers either don't know about the opportunities or they simply don't mention them. In a few years, the campus will be doubled in size as they recently received a donation of land across the highway from their current campus and the school plans to add classrooms, a baseball field, a swimming pool, and several other new buildings and areas. This should significantly increase the bang for the buck as long as they don't raise tuition to much.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus has a small school feel because it is a small school and there are constantly groundskeepers gathering trash, raking leaves, and generally keeping everything tidy and clean. Some of the faculty can be cold though and when you're in need of an answer to an important question, this can be a problem.

    Am learning a lot

    Nearly all of the teachers I have had a Davidson County Community College have been well qualified and experienced. They lead interesting classes and most combine in-class individual and group work and lecture as well as out-of-class assignments. The Learning Assistance Center (L.A.C.) has been invaluable and the Math Coach has been a great help. Some of the hybrid courses and the online portions of face-to-face courses, however, leave a little bit to be desired as they rely heavily on BlackBoard, which has a tendency to crash at the most inopportune times.

  • 10/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a great education, DCCC is a wonderful school. The have classes in the evenings, day, and online. They have several satellite campuses. No one should feel snubbed if they apply. It is a very diverse staff, faculty, administration, and student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be vigilant and aware of where you stand in your curriculum and utilize all your resources. The LAC is now the learning commons center in the bottom of the library. All the staff there is willing to help you find help when and if you need it. Also, use your advisors. It may be difficult to get an appointment that works with your schedule, but the extra trouble is well worth it. It is their job to keep you on track.

    Bang for the buck

    The one and ONLY reason that I did not rate the school higher here is that even though the Student Government Association, Athletics Director, and the director of Student Life do an excellent job providing activities outside of the classroom, a student with a full class load has a hard time getting to any of the events without having to miss class. Many of the Community Colleges in NC now have time set aside when no classes are scheduled that are specifically for planning these events and allowing time for the students to attend. That isn't the case here and even though it has been brought before the board before, it was rejected. It is my hope that the current administration in the Student Government and the Board will be able to come to a compromise that will change this policy.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy my classes and the instructors, as well as the student body. Everyone is from an area that isn't too far removed from a small town environment and friendly. Ironically, the student body is very diverse in spite of this. There are all races, cultures, and ages that attend. Being 40, I was worried I would feel old and out of place, but I find there are nearly as many students my age or older as well as a large younger crowd.

    Am learning a lot

    Like any other experience in life, you get out of it what you put into it. If you are serious about your education, you will learn allot at DCCC. The teachers that I have had are all willing to meet with you in their office and discuss your classes and grades. If they are unable to assist you on the level that you require and don't know the specifics about where to receive help, the advisors and the counselor at the college can always steer you in the right direction. The school has undergone some some changes. By spring of 2012, they will be using Moodle for online classes as opposed to Blackboard. There may be some glitches as instructors adjust to the new program, but it is relatively easy to use and has a great orientation that is accessible any time that you log into Moodle.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    get started now at dccc.

    In three sentences

    its an awesome school, great people, great classes!

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety officers are always accessible and on-campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs and activities for you to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to learn and who are leaders.

    Bang for the buck

    Good faculty and the small college setting makes for a good place to learn.

    Food and Dining

    Good food for a somewhat reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing options on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You must be responsible and be willing to devote time to study, but the load is not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Responsibility is very important.

    In three sentences

    The small campus setting makes for a very good learning environment and the faculty are kind and willing to help you.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A public safety bldg is onsite and maintenance golf carts are constantly riding through the campus that you can flag down if you need their help as well.

    What to do for fun

    This school has sports teams, cheerleading, a full gym that's free to students, many clubs available to join, free workshops, plays, shows, the list goes on and on. I will miss the school when I graduate in Spring 2013.

    Food and Dining

    The Storm Cellar has good food at reasonable prices. There was even a comedian show there for free for our entertainment during lunch time last semester.

    Dorm Life

    unknown. No onsite dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    I thought this school was going to be more of a country community college and I must say that I have been pleasantly surprised. The school has offered so many diverse helpful things for students than I ever expected. The teachers here are very knowledgeable and helpful as well.

    In three sentences

    There are some very knowledgeable teachers at this school. The school seems to strive towards making themselves very diverse and offering many available workshops, shows, entertainment at no expense to broaden the school. The President Obama actually visited there as well.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are many house options to apply yourself to.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very active in the community and welcoming to prospective and current students.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. Traditional and non-traditional. The diversity on campus is amazing.

    Bang for the buck

    Very efficient.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs that are active here are always busy doing something fun and productive. The events that are put on are a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The staff is very friendly and the food is always hot/cold and fresh in the college 'Storm Cellar'. There are many of nearby restaurants as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel fulfilled with what I need to know to advance in my courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as you are able. Take advantage of any and all resources that are presented to you.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are very helpful in addressing my needs and concerns. The instructors are very efficient in the teaching style. The environment is very professional yet casual enough to feel comfortable.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always feel safe on campus; our security officers do not mess around. Any complaint you may have gets resolved quickly. We have the best security officers that are very nice, but when things get out of hand, they get to work. The Storm Security is nothing to mess with.

    Clubs and Activities

    Regardless of what your interest, there is a club for it. We have clubs such as the following: International Club, Psychology Club, Feminist Club, Automotive Club, Hispanic Culture Club, Black Culture Club, S.A.F.E., Relay for Life Club, and many more. There are plenty of opportunities for you to get involved. The most anticipated activities are the Fall Fest & Spring Fling. If you wanna know more about that, you'll just have to look at the website.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every semester we have a huge event that is kinda similar to a fair or theme/amusement park. They are the Fall Fest & Spring Fling. There are different things offered every year but you can always look forward to a very amusing day with music, food, activities, face painting, tatoos, personalized stuff, and more. Best of all, everything is completely free :)

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun going on on the court yard. From pickup football, to Zumba, to just sitting by the fountain enjoying music. There is always something going on in the Conference Center or auditorium. If you are one who likes the fitness center, there are always different group activities to do. sometimes, there is also the opportunity to play a game of basketball with our own Storm Basketball guys.

    Food and Dining

    The Storm Cellar offers a delicious variety of foods. From hotdogs to hamburger steak to hot wings to salads. Whatever your craving, the cafeteria is bound to have something that will make your mouth water. There are plenty of restaurants around if you are just not in the mood to stay on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there are not dorms. All the students commute day after day.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes, especially the science courses, are demanding and rigorous. Most of the instructors care about their students doing well in their class, but also present an interesting environment for learning subjects not that are not very exciting. It is the students' responsibility to learn the material, but the instructors have various ways of helping you when you do not fully comprehend the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    * When applying for Financial Aid, make sure you have all your necessary documents or you will run into difficulties. * It is better to search for textbooks online; I saved hundreds of dollars. * Always go into a classroom with an open mind about the subject and teacher. If you enter in with a negative attitude, then your semester is going to be so awful.

    In three sentences

    A truly community oriented college. The faculty and staff are caring, affectionate and passionate about their jobs and subjects. The teachers strive for their students not only to succeed in the classroom but also in life.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are post all around campus where all you have to do is press a button and sirens go off. They also have a number you can call to reach security at anytime and for the most part security is always riding around.

    Clubs and Activities

    The international club is my favorite club, they are so involved with so many different things and they are always putting together programs for the students to attend. A few programs, for example, African Hertiage, The Invisible Children, and So many others.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very diverse and is the right school for just about anyone who is willing to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has so much to offer! I have had a blast being here for my first semester of college and I cannot wait for the years to follow once getting into the nursing program.

    What to do for fun

    At DCCC there is always something going on. Whether it be a program for international week, Zumbathons, or even little get togethers by the water fountain. There is never a dull moment at DCCC

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has really good food and at a decent price for students.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms at the community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are only as hard as the student allows them to be. The teachers are a big help and also as long as the student stays in the books the classes can be easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not stray from studying and keeping your grades up. Always remember no matter the struggle in the end it is all going to be worth the hard work!

    In three sentences

    The school is very active in extracurricular activities. The staff is easy to work with when trying to figure out your schooling plan. Their classes are user friendly and the teachers are extremely helpful.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities for fun on campus. We have clubs and events on campus

    Food and Dining

    We have a food court but I have not taken advantage of it. I have heard it was good.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I suggest for prospective students is to be dedicated for learning. Whenever possible ask for help. Also if their is opportunity for extra credit, take advantage of the opportunity.

    In three sentences

    I feel that the school is an excellent school to attend. It has a variety of programs to choose from. The teachers are dedicated and inspires the students to learn.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards that patrol the campus and can be seen often. They also train cops their, so that's a bonus and the security office is easy to find.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have an inter nation club, chess, acrylics, and other sorts of clubs. There should be something for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    Join some of the clubs they have on campus and always go to Fall Fest and Spring Fling. They have a lot of on campus events, so keep an eye out for the announcements.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent enough, definitely better than high school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work hard, but it isn't too terrible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study; it doesn't matter if you haven;t had to study in the past, always study. Never forget a due date; a forgotten assignment could drastically affect your grade. If you need help, ask for it.

    In three sentences

    It isn't very big, but that makes it easier to get comfortable with the college environment. The instructors care about your education, but they don't coddle you; they make sure you care about your own education as well. It'd helped me prepare for bigger universities.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you have financial aid they allow you to spend up to 1500.00 $ in they book store, you have a 35.00$ limit on clothing and you cannot buy any recreational items such as: CD's, earrings, socks etc. I think that is a very good strategy they have so that you will only use it for school purposes.

    What to do for fun

    They have student lounges where you can bring your gaming systems and to play. Also in the student lounges they have board games that you can also play with friends. They student lounge is the Best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take ACA-090 It is really helpful. Do not be afraid to talk with someone if you are unsure or just want to know your progress about something. Always talk with your academic ad visor on a regular basis and check your e-,mails regularly.

    In three sentences

    I would Rate Davidson County Community College at a 9. I like how the resources are available at any time i need them. They Really work with the students to ensure success.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small so therefore feels very safe. The walkways are open and lighting there and in parking areas is great. There is a security team available all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and always activities going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a two year degree or for students who want to transfer to a four year school. Also, adults who want to go back to school or get training for their career.

    Bang for the buck

    I am attending as a transfer student, this will allow me to later attend a 4 year school obtaining a BS while only attending that school for two years. I think this is the best bang for anyone's buck.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and activities planed. Everyone should be able to find something that interest them. Sports are available too.

    Food and Dining

    Mostly fast food and can be expensive

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I feel very prepared to go onto a 4 year school from here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment to meet with an adviser before registering for the first time. Plan ahead as some classes my only be available once a year.

    In three sentences

    Davidson County Community College is a small campus that thinks big. I am attending as a future transfer student and feel very prepared by the classes I have taken so far. The instructors are accessible and I've never felt like just a number.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun? At school? I am not sure. Because the only thing I do is study! However, the only thing fun I can think of is to work out, because Davidson County Community College has an on-site work-out facility.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and the prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Davidson County Community College does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Davidson County Community College is a community college, I do not find any faults in their academic rigor. However, I am planning to transfer to a four year university to further my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students would be to check out the college and make sure that they are capable of handling the career that you are wanting to major in, because otherwise you will most likely run into problems.

    In three sentences

    Davidson County Community College is by far one of the better community colleges that I have attended. However, I have had several instructors who seem not to care about their students. It is very disheartening to me to see instructors that do not care about their students. Although the administrative side of Davidson County Community College is extremely awesome, I am not impressed with the instructors and their lack of support and compassion.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security!

    Clubs and Activities

    Amazing clubs and events.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. I am a commuter and Dccc is a close to home and affordable college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best traditions for Dccc is the beginning semester music in the courtyard. Also the welcoming events vary every year!

    What to do for fun

    The events are always available to students. You can always get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Best freshly cooked meals at the storm cellar.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there is no dorms for Dccc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and never give up on your goal.

    In three sentences

    Perfect for close to home, hands on studies. Dccc is one of the best place to begin your college experience. Everyone at Dccc is open to help in every way.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe but the parking lots have no cameras which in my case I take care of my property and if someone was to hit it while I wasn't there I would like to know what car or who did it. They have panic police towers around the campus but these are far apart from one another and one could get hurt very easily.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs at the school are great they have a small variety of clubs but most of them cover the topics of the classes. The student body should also have clubs based off of different things other than classes to get students more interactive with one another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main court yard is where most of the fundraising events are held and make it hard to get from class to class because this is a main walk way from building to building.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally the first time I visited the school it was great, I thought i was going to like the place a lot. Advisers helping me while teachers and staff acting really nice and trust worthy. But upon attending I've noticed that most of that was just for show, and its hard to get an adviser to help you.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the time the library is very loud so it is hard to get quietness at school. The majority of the time I go home to do a little bit of work because there isn't a place for studies. Also outside this building the school has bounce houses, air guitarists, and bands come to the school which makes it even harder to find study time.

    Food and Dining

    The Dinning at Davidson county community college is very good and healthy. They have one room for a cafeteria and is very small. The food isn't good and the line for this could take 20 mins and make one late for their next class.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at the college. One must drive from home and back every day. This is difficult if one person lives at a distance to where this drive takes up to 30 to 40 mins.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic part of Davidson county community college is in great prospective but all assignments and labs are online and technology happens to mess up from time to time. Also trying to contact the teacher is hard because either you have to see them in person or email them and email is sometimes hard and not efficient enough to get your message across.

    Tips for prospective students

    At Dccc one must try their best to understand the teachers methods of teaching without any help. learn how to evaluate u schedule so it doesn't interfere with other classes and to make sure these classes are available. Basically depend on yourself to get threw the school because its hard to find help when you get into a bind.

    In three sentences

    Davidson county community college is a great school but doesn't meet my needs. The school teachers are also great although they all have their own mishaps these teachers do their best with what they are given. The other staff at the school is in very poor condition, it's hard for one person to get class schedules fixed right, and the advisers are hard to contact or unavailable for a meeting.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is only one place to eat and they are expensive.

    Dorm Life

    they do not offer dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in everything on time, and always find your classes before the first day.

    In three sentences

    it is very friendly and very small. A great place to do work and meet people.