Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

DePauw University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 out of 25 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking students. The courses are very challenging, so one has to be willing to put in the time to study. Energetic students. There is always so much going on and so much you can be partaking in. I personally feel like any type of student can fit in here because there is such diversity on campus. The best way to find out if DePauw is the right fit for you is to take a campus visit.

    Tips for prospective students

    I just finished my first year at DePauw and I absolutely loved every minute of it. I know DePauw would not be the perfect fit for everyone, so I will try to explain the campus and the atmosphere as best as I can. Greek life is huge at DePauw, but do not have that turn you away. Going into college I never thought that I would join a sorority. I pictured sororities in the stereotypical television depicted way and it is nothing like that at all! Trust me, give it a shot. My advice would be to go through rush and if you do not think that it is the right fit for you then do not join. There is no obligation. Most of campus is involved in Greek like, but people do not only associate themselves with their house. I have about 5 friends who are not Greek and they fit in just fine. This school is also for someone who wants a quaint and personal college experience. In my eyes the campus is big, but after talking to my friends who went to state colleges, DePauw’s campus is small. You could walk through the entire campus in about 10-15 minutes. Class sizes are small and there are no teachers assistants. Every student gets a very personal education. The professors know your name and they are always available to help. If you email a professor there is a good chance they will email you back in less than 30 minutes. The people at DePauw are really friendly as well. The campus itself is gorgeous. They pride themselves on a clean and beautiful campus- flowers are everywhere. There is great school pride. We have a few events that the whole campus goes crazy for which is our Monon Bell Game (football) and our Little 5 weekend (Bike race). The whole campus is wireless so that is a major plus. Also do not be scared about drinking. DePauw is rated as having a lot of drinking. Personally this scared me, but trust me no one pressures you into drinking. If you want to that’s great, but if you don’t want to you can still go out at night and have a great time!

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who are committed to getting a great education

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a first-year student at DePauw and I just finished my first semester a few days ago. Everything about DePauw is very personal and the class sizes are amazingly small. Each student has the opportunity to get personal attention and instruction from the professors upon request. The professors have office hours during the day and are willing to help anyone who comes in and asks for help. The classes can be difficult, but the liberal arts education is very rewarding. The majority of DePauw's campus is greek (the students join sororities & fraternities) but there are also many students who decide not to and are independent. There is not a large divide between the two groups and you don't have to go greek just to fit in. I came here planning to stay independent but after a semester of being here, I'm considering joining a minority sorority. Once I got to campus and learned more about greek life, I thought I may enjoy it. DePauw also has very good housing options. After your first year, you aren't required to live in a dorm. The university owns houses and duplexes on campus that cost the same as the dorms. They are very nice places to live with a group of friends. They all have full kitchens and bathrooms and are very nice and up to date. DePauw also has a very beautiful campus although it is small. It is very well kept up and the buildings are all fairly new. You can walk from one end of campus to the other in 10 minutes or under. Don't let the cost scare you! DePauw is an expensive school, but it's worth every penny! The school provides a great liberal arts education and a great college experience. The financial aid office is really good about helping create a financial aid package and come up with scholarships to make it affordable for students.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Don't come here if you hate preppy. Frat boys and sorostitutes are the norm here. If you can't carry a conversation about an adorable new coat from J. Crew or feel comfortable wearing Sperrys in the dead of winter, DePauw is not right for you. Even the independents (at least the part that isn't ostracized by campus for their unwillingness to drink) tend towards preppy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself in your application. DePauw loves creativity (I wrote my essay on cooking and how it relates to the college search and they absolutely loved it). Show how involved you were in high school, and keep up good grades - unless you are a legacy in which case it seems like they let anyone in.

    Bang for the buck

    DePauw is expensive, but they give out a lot of money. I came here with a substantial scholarship, which is probably the only reason why I ended up here. Still, the financial aid office can be a little snippy with students who try to figure out their bills.

    Am enjoying being here

    Somedays, I absolutely love it here, somedays I can't wait to go home. Honestly, some of the people here (not everyone mind you) are grating because they are either a) subsisting off of daddy's money and are wasting away their college career (why do you think we're the number 10 party school per Princeton Review?) or b) completely self absorbed.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are amazing and I love the classes I took so far. I'm currently a sophomore and could not be more in love with the academic opportunities DePauw gives me.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking. There's a lot of work, but it's all relevant and helps you grow both in your major and towards becoming a more well-rounded student. Ambitious. DePauw will give you great oppritunities in study abroad or internships-- you just have to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attendance matters- all classes are 30 kids or less, so make sure you show up and participate. Greek life is great, so try it even if you don't think you'd be interested. My Roommate asked to me to do Rush with her and I ended up joining a house! Go to all events available to you! There are football games and bike races, plays, concerts (both local and celebrity), discussion forums, movie nights, comedy shows, art gallery shows, Freshman dances, etc. Oh, and be sure to stop at the local Good Will for party wear and the local resturants are the only thing the town really has going for it, but they are definately worth visiting!!

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but I will say that the professors are outstanding and very involved.

    Did enjoy being here

    Despite the bland surrounding town, there is much to do on campus - sports, clubs, activities, Greek life, local volunteering, etc.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned so much here and the courses were very interesting and challenging.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty much safe. Though a student still needs to be careful, Campus police are very much involved. There is transportation for travel at night. I've felt safe for the year that I've been there.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is HUGE on campus. It's what we are known for. The good thing is that although it's so big, independent students do not feel left out of anything nor are they singled out for being independent. This is for both the Pan-Hellenic Council and for the Minority Greeks also.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are soooo many different organizations on campus and the best part is that most of them are student run. If you don't see something that you like, make your own. You will find your niche.

    Great for these types of students

    DePauw's a great place for students who are very driven but have a work hard, play hard mentality. Whether you are introverted or extroverted, if you like the idea of a close community then this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DePauw's campus gives you many traditions. There's the DePauw Boulder which is a common place for the first snow boulder run. People streak naked from their dorms to the boulder and back when it first snows. It's a sight to see lol. And then there is also the Marvin's tradition where a real DePauw student will have at least have one late night Marvin's run at 2 in the morning to order a GCB (Garlic Cheese Burger), GCCB (Garlic Chicken Cheese Burger), or Mac Bites before the year is over. You can also spend the night in East College before Halloween just to see if it's really haunted or not. There's many more that I'm just discovering.

    Bang for the buck

    DePauw is an expensive school but the financial aid is wonderful and when you realize the education you are getting, you realize you are getting what you paid for. DePauw's motto is Uncommon Success and that is exactly what you get. The name goes before you in the world.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Whether its organizations that you can join, football and basketball games to go to, or going out to walk around the town square with some friends. You won't ever really be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are two big dining halls. One has good food that is cooked by a chef and tastes homemade. The other is more of a collection of fast food restaurants. Everything is good but some people tend to get tired of the selections.

    Dorm Life

    I loved the dorm. I lived in a suite-style dorm, the only one on campus, and I loved living so close to girls that soon became like sisters to me. It was my freshman year and I had a single but I never felt alone. The RAs are really great. Right down the hall, they were both a friend and an advisor.

    Academic Rigor

    DePauw is very challenging. Don't expect to do half the effort and do well in a class. You have to show up and perform to the best of your ability. But if you do that, you will be surprised at all you learn. And you realize that the professor standing in front of you wants you to succeed. They are there because they really wanted to teach you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students, take advantage of every opportunity afforded to you. The people on campus, whether they are students or administration, are so willing to help you succeed. Don't be afraid to ask. You will be surprised at the responses you will get. Community is definitely something DePauw prides itself in.

    In three sentences

    DePauw was the best decision I've ever made. What makes this school special is the people, the opportunities for success, and the education. There is no place I would rather be.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have one of the best systems of public safety if I do say so myself. Located on campus the public safety has a force out all day and night looking out for the students. They provide a service called safe ride that should really be taken advantage of when it's dark and you have to walk back to the dorms. They really are nice and are looking out for the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a huge tradition on campus. We are about 70% Greek. However this does not change the education one receives or limits their opportunities in any way. We do take pride in our strong Greek community but that is because of the brother and sisterhood bonds that are created and the charitable way that each chapter behaves itself.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs for just about anything you could possibly imagine. There are also many opportunities for creating more. If we don't already have it, then create it. We have intermurral sports teams too. Then along with the normal clubs we have Greek activities, including alpha phi omega which is a mixed gender fraternity that focuses on community and service.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, loyal, intelligent students that want to challenge themselves in every aspect of their lives. Students should have a drive for positive changes and should be open to all sorts of new opportunities. If you have an open mind and an open heart you will gain more out of your experience here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well there are a lot of traditions, many of which are Greek affiliated. However we do have the huge tradition of The Monon Bell game. A rivalry had with Wabash College for 119 years now that will never end. One interesting tradition is the stealing of the bell. The winning team gets to house the bell and the opposite team tries in many ways to obtain it. One year this process included dressing up as Spanish dignitaries, and another year the bell ended up frozen in the football field.

    Bang for the buck

    DePauw is not the most affordable school for everyone. However, what the money goes to is so beneficial and inevitably comes back to the student in some way, shape, or form. They really try to work with students individually to make it financially more affordable. They have so many opportunities for scholarship, including for winter term trips. No matter how much you pay to go here you receive a top notch education from an increasingly popular liberal arts university that would look good on any job application. On top of it all there are changes coming to the campus in the next few years that are only going to make the expense more worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do. There is always a play or performance of so kind happening in the performing arts center. There is a lecture series that happens throughout the year too. There are events planned by the Greek houses for their philanthropies, and then there are so many groups to join that they don't all fit at the activities fair. You can see a movie at the local cinema or go to a party on a weekend. There are sports games throughout the year to attend and cheer at. And it may seem we are in the middle of no where but we are very conveniently located in the middle of other colleges like Wabash College, Indiana University and Indiana State university and more that aren't too far away if you wanted to visit friends.

    Food and Dining

    Right now there are two main eating establishments, the Hub and the Den. The Hub is the larger of the two and is located in the student union building in the middle of campus. The other is more of a restaurant styled eatery under Longden Hall. There is a wide selection of foods to choose from. Too many to describe but personally it's the best college food I've had. Within the up coming years they plan on building a new hub that is much larger and had even more options! Then there are little local restaurants that get a lot of its business from students. They have a plan and agreement with some of these restaurants that allot an amount of your food money to going to these places.

    Dorm Life

    You have to live on campus all four years, but as you move through the years you get more opportunities for living such as university houses and apartments. They want us to live on campus so that we have a chance to build closer relationships and a stronger sense of community amongst students. Dorm life however is great each dorm and floor bonds and becomes super close. There are 5 dorms for freshmen and each one is great. The one I live in is even over the smaller of two eating facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    It is going to be different moving from high school to college no matter what school one goes to. However, DePauw is a small school with an average class size of about 20. So although the difficulty of the classes is higher there is so much opportunity for personal attention and help. The teachers expect you to try to learn and try to better yourself. However they expect you to be the one to seek the help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    DePauw is a very strong liberal arts college and this is to your advantage. Take the time to look at the courses available (at any school honestly) and try to choose a broad selection because you don't always know what you want to major in and it can always change. At DePauw they really make you explore every type of class. Ones you would never think to take. Also take advantage of the winter term available. I went to China my freshman year. They even gave me scholarship money to help fund the trip. It was what I thought to be a once in a lifetime opportunity, but now I have the opportunity to return because of DePauw. You also have the chance to have so much spirit here. Everything on campus is pretty much run by the students, so all of the pride and spirit is genuine. Although we are a small school we have just as much opportunity to show spirit. We even have one of the longest running rivalries with Wabash College.

    In three sentences

    A whole new world full of opportunities for personal, academic, and social growth. Everyone on campus is super personable, approachable, and friendly. The school really works to make you happy and keep you here so you can explore academically and discover the world, as well as your place in it.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Environmentalists, athletes, dancers, music majors, future politicians, dreamers, people who are looking to change the future, passionate students, lifelong learners.

    Tips for prospective students

    After just finishing my first year at DePauw, I know I made the right choice. DePauw is a place where there's a little bit of everything--and everyone is really passionate about it, too. It's a group of great people who want to go on to do great things, and on top of it, know how to have fun (not to mention, when to have fun and when to get work done).

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Academically minded, creative, driven, willing to be challenged, students who are looking for a very significant sense of community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared away by the high tuition, merit scholarships are accessible that make going here even if you are not eligible for money through the FAFSA. Be yourself in the admissions process, and don't try to act like the person you think DePauw is interested in. Our community is very diverse, and your personality will likely be a good fit.

    Bang for the buck

    DePauw's tuition is as high as any other small private university, but it does have a large endowment, and the majority of students are supported by some kind of financial aid, whether it be merit or need based.

    Am enjoying being here

    Outside the classroom, the sense of community at DePauw is unlike any other school I considered. I believe that I changed completely as a person from my first day of freshman year to now, my junior year, and definitely for the better. The friends I have made here will be for a lifetime, and the alumni network is very connected.

    Am learning a lot

    The academic classes are thought-provoking, and will challenge you to think in a new way. Because of the small class sizes, participation in discussions is essential and makes it impossible not to be involved. Professors are approachable and are often very willing to help, whether it be for their class or for outside projects.

  • 09/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    DePauw is great for all types of students! Give DePauw a try! I think that you will be glad that you did.

    Tips for prospective students

    Greek life is a huge part of DePauw's atmosphere, but I am not greek and I have many friends that are, and many friends that aren't. My advice is that you really get out there your freshman year and meet as many people as you possibly can! Making friends is a big part of any college experience! and its always nice to have study parties with your friends (:

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing school!

    Am enjoying being here

    DePauw is a wonderful college, filled with great opportunities for everybody willing to take advantage of them! Because of DePauw I will be departing for Italy on my Winter Term Trip!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really push you hard to think about what is happening in required readings, and in the world.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are: Activists, Greek Affiliates, Leaders, People who stretch themselves thin doing everything, Like a small campus, Undecided Major, Want to be challenged

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek and ye shall find. Knock and the door shall be open. This is a great place to become who ever you want to be, take advantage of that and your resources. The professors can be a bit challenging but it helps you think critically, be on time and ready for anything that comes next, grad shool, work force, travel, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The education, food, dorming, experiences and opportunities are worth it. I have met people in high places in media companies and other fields who may have not even studied their career field in college. That just shows you that a DePauw education is diverse and applicable. Many of our graduates have high level job entry or excel in their field rather quickly.

    Am enjoying being here

    Like anything in life, DePauw is what you make of it. However, this is the place to make your own. The faculty and staff love new ideas and working with students on diverse projects whether it is a new club, a research study, staging a protest. You name it, you can do it! You just have to look for the opportunity and networking chances, which are definitely there.

    Am learning a lot

    DePauw University is the perfect place to learn. A University or College (especially a residential campus) should provide the opportunity to learn both inside and outside of the classroom in both social and academic realms. Not only is the hands on education in the classroom a liberal arts curriculum that broadens your horizons, it is also very diverse. The things I learn an education class can apply to my women studies class and theatre classes. The ability to apply what I learned and further grow and solidify my knowledge gain is true academic learning. Socially, DePauw is a microcosm of the real world. It is a great place to make mistakes, learn from it and become a leader both on campus and within the local community. The opportunities to do an off campus study only further learning. Professors and faculty here believe that studying off campus enhances learning and everyone should engage in it at least one point in their lifetime. Why not do it with your time at DePauw, where you have financial, multicultural support and networking?

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe no matter what time of day it is.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big thing at DePauw and its great.

    Great for these types of students

    DePauw is great for any type of student!

    Bang for the buck

    I wouldn't rather be at any other college. Great professor, campus, and community.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, at least something every two weeks. Just get involved as much as you can. There are many different clubs and organizations you can join.

    Food and Dining

    Great food all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    All of the RA are nice and helpful. The dorm rules aren't too strict, but you still feel safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and go visit them during their office hours! Also, don't cram for test.

    In three sentences

    DePauw is a great school with a great community around it. The professors are very approachable. They are always willing to help and help you succeed

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is DePauw's on campus solution for safety. Their first priority in any given situation is to make sure you are safe. They are a known presence on campus and can be seen driving around at any given time of day.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at DePauw is very prevalent. Almost 70% of DePauw's campus is affiliated with a Greek organization. Many Greek events are open to anyone on campus, despite Greek affiliation, so definitely check them out!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Marvin's is a staple dive restaurant right off of campus that students basically worship. If you visit, go there and get a GCB (Garlic Cheeseburger) and you won't be sorry. (Make sure to get it to go so all of that greasy yummyness is contained in the wrapper!)

    Bang for the buck

    DePauw's faculty is comprised of amazing professors who teach very small classes (the average class size being 18 students). Although you get a great education here and are offered many opportunities, the price for the school is high overall and the financial aid office doesn't help much with finding scholarships for students.

    What to do for fun

    In your spare time, attend concerts put on by the school of music as well as plays, musicals, lectures, and not to mention the many events that organizations advertise in the Hub and on the bulletin boards around campus!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but gets somewhat repetitive. Be on the lookout for specials to change up your meal routine. Many other restaurants off campus allow payment via meal plan such as Mama Nunz, The Duck, and Two West.

    Dorm Life

    Maintenance here responds fairly quickly, but doesn't go above and beyond. First year dorm experience depends heavily on the RAs on the floor and how involved they are with the students under their watch. Overall, the buildings are nice, although the walls are thin in any dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, DePauw can be pretty rigorous. Economics, for example, is a major whose introductory course is much harder than some students expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for an overnight visit. Day tours and sitting in on classes are helpful, but staying overnight with a current student is the best way to get real, honest information about DePauw and what you want out of it versus what others are getting from it. Ask lots of questions. Even if you're not sure if your question was already answered or you think part of your criteria for a college isn't that important, ask. You'll be better off in the long run feeling entirely comfortable with your decision. Find out about programs that you have already taken part in in high school or see how you would be able to start one if DePauw doesn't have it.

    In three sentences

    DePauw University is a small liberal arts college and a music conservatory in the small town of Greencastle, Indiana. Though less than 2,300 students call DePauw their college, the alumni support is incredible and extremely helpful when it comes to looking for jobs. The first-year program at DePauw is one of the best parts of students' first year and students stay close friends with those from their mentor groups throughout their four years here.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good police system

    Greek Life

    Total

    Great for these types of students

    High maintenance girls Music students Those seeking an MRS degree Those who like to drink Science students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The DePauw Boulder The Duck Anderson Street Blackstock Monon

    What to do for fun

    Drink.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, exorbitant prices.

    Dorm Life

    Ancient facilities with leaks, malfunctions, insects and a lot of mold.

    Academic Rigor

    Great programs and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend unless you have bottomless pockets and are either willing to give up your personality or completely change it to fit in and become an absolute zombie that will in no way benefit you in the real world.

    In three sentences

    Good academics and wonderful professors provide a rigorous learning experience. Extremely expensive with little to no difference between it and other schools with the exception that it is private. Social life is a complete Greek system, out-casting those not in a fraternity or sorority, depressing individuality and creating pettiness and a judgmental, hostile environment with dangerous drinking pressures.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students looking to major in music. The School of Music is one of few, and it is incredible. However, the College of Liberal Arts also does a fine job as well. The School of Music is just a uniquely wonderful part of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The college gives away free things throughout the year which is nice, and the money is definitely worth it for the education, nice campus, and future endeavors provided.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and quiet when I prefer it to be, and fun when I need it to be. There is always something going on, but there is always a place to go if you need quiet study time. Although the campus is small, I still have yet to meet a great majority of the population. Also, I enjoy figuring out the links we each have with one another through classes, extra-curricular activities, groups and clubs, friends, high schools, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only just completed my first semester at DePauw University and thus am still exploring different fields. The courses I have taken heavily rely upon class discussion and forming the mindset one will need while continuing in college. This enables me to learn on my own, and shows me how to do so.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    DePauw is one of the more expensive institutions but they provide students with a lot of opportunities and is definitely worth every penny. The university also does very well with providing students with generous financial aid packages most of which are merit based.

    Food and Dining

    DePauw is located in the small town of Greencastle, Indiana and has a close relationship with the community. In addition to the dining choices on campus, students are also able to use meal points at some restaurants in town. There are always great places to eat and several options.

    Dorm Life

    After freshman year, students are given a variety of choices for residential life. Students can choose to live in traditional dormitories, houses, apartments, or suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors have very high expectations of their students and push their students beyond their comfort zones. Though rigorous, because of the small size of the institution, professor-student relationships allow for academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard but know how to balance work and play. DePauw's students understand the balance and are successful in both academic and social settings.

    In three sentences

    DePauw University is an excellent academic institution and is one of the top Liberal Arts schools in the country. It allows its students to be creative in there academic, social and personal choices with a variety of courses, student organizations and opportunities for the students.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe there is always police patrolling the area.

    Greek Life

    DePauw has a large community on Greek Life that you are bound to become a friend who is part of a sorority of fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus has activities that range from swimming to dancing. I am actually the found of the Indiana Chapter called the Art of Stepping! This stepping is for everyone on campus and is so much fun to do on your free time

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want to dive into a diverse culture and ready to meet people who come all the way from China!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition that DePauw students have is called The Boulder Run. Students run from their Greek homes to a boulder without shirts on the first day it snows!

    Bang for the buck

    DePauw offers a very good financial aid that makes it affordable to attend.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can always take a walk in the downtown area and visit antique shops.

    Food and Dining

    Of course Mom's food is always the best. Yet, DePauw has different restaurants surrounding it that there is always a mix in your dinner. For example, if your craving delicious inexpensive coffee don't miss out in going to Blue Door Cafe!

    Dorm Life

    I personally would say that incoming Freshman should dorm with a roommate. This is a good way to meet a new friend but also have somebody close to talk to late at night. Who knows this person might becomes your closet friend on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    DePauw is ranked one of the schools with rigorous academics. However, having a planner that will help organize your schedule will help a lot. Learning how to time manage and learning how to say No to some things will help making academics a breeze!

    Tips for prospective students

    Your first couple of days you arrive at DePauw do not be afraid to say Hello! and meet new people. People that DePauw are very welcoming and are always willing to to talk to prospective students.

    In three sentences

    DePauw University is very diverse with different cultures. Everyone that you meet you can't help but to ask about their rituals. DePauw becomes your pathway in understanding and loving different cultures all around the world!

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is the best school to attend in hopes of pursuing your dreams. You must work harder than you have ever done, but the results will be rewarding.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are several bike trails and a park you can spend time in.

    Food and Dining

    good food

    Dorm Life

    My friends that good there say they are top of the line.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard so much about DePauw. It will give you a good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply just in case.

    In three sentences

    The campus is a small, peaceful place. If you like small, and high-educationally rich communities this is it. Good sports too.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    DePauw is heavily Greek - there are good and bad points to this. There are stereotypes and many are there for a reason, but so many people are Greek on such a small campus that your social life isn't cultishly determined by your House.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty to do and they're open for suggestions.

    Great for these types of students

    Interdisciplinary-oriented people. The campus curriculum is set up from a liberal arts philosophy, which involves being comfortable with pulling anything from course material to methodology from multiple disciplines. Courses are not impossible, but they're not easy and they require critical thinking skills. You have to be able to work hard and think outside of the box.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Boulder runs - at the first snow, freshmen are supposed to strip and run to a big rock in the middle of campus (don't worry - NOT mandatory)

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know yet - I love it but it's expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There's absolutely nothing in Greencastle. That's a part of why campus community is so strong - I usually just hang out with friends, movies, etc.

    Food and Dining

    It's expensive and not varied.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life's alright - the dorm I was in had a strong community, but could be loud and cliquish. Hard to study or feel at home there.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hardly impossible - the classes I've taken have not necessarily been difficult. They just require a lot of work and stress critical thinking, so I've found most of them stimulating but not intimidating.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe here. And if you ever feel unsafe, there's a someone you can call.

    Greek Life

    It's a pretty big deal here. Actually, very few people are not involved in it, which can be intimidating if you're not the party type. But there aren't any huge problems caused because of it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Monon rivalry. The longest football rivalry in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Great working professors, small classes, and plenty activities to keep campus interesting (which is tough, since we're in the middle of nowhere). Financial aid really works with you to make sure you can stay. Jobs are available in the community all the time, there's always a way to make money.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Walmart!

    Food and Dining

    Several options, but there's a monopoly money system that limits where you can eat. The meal plan is required for first years.

    Dorm Life

    Could be improved, great programs to help new students adjust though.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll have a lot of work to do

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect a lot of extra expenses if you're from out-of-state.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DePauw public safety people can be super awesome and helpful but also super annoying.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is everywhere. Which can be super fun and awesome but... also be super annoying.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and Activities. They have everything. And if they don't you can easily start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are super social. Although I'm very shy, I found my own crew of friends, so I'm good. But It took me a while to find them, only because It's hard to find real people within a lot of fake friendliness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Boulder Runs = Naked people running to the bounder in the middle of the night Little 5 = Bike race but also an excuse for everyone to get drunk Monon Bell = Awesome football game against Wabash College, again also an excuse to get drunk.

    Bang for the buck

    Eh. DePauw is super expensive. SUPER expensive. so unless you get a super awesome financial aid package like I did, or you're posse. You're gonna struggle.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there's a bowling alley close by now, and there's a cute little movie theater. There are cute restaurants around town, but if you don't have a car there isn't much you can do. DePauw is big on Frat Parties so you can go to those on the weekends, but other then that when you're bored you get really creative. But really though, you're going to be so busy with school work, you will have very little time for fun sadly. But if you do, there are also awesome events happening on campus all the time.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a lot of options and you get sick of the food very fast. I come from a never cultural background and so I missed a lot of home cooked meals that I will never get here. Plus if I did want to cook stuff my mom made because Greencastle's demographics are very limiting I can never find the things I need in order to cook a home cooked meal. So If your someone of with a cultural background, you're gonna struggle like I am.

    Dorm Life

    Eh. It kind of depends. Like there isn't a whole lot of options but I never had any dorm like issues. I think my biggest issue I had was just my floor-mates were crazy, and my roommate was crazy, but after freshmen year it gets so much better.

    Academic Rigor

    DePauw is well known nationally. Our academics are very tough, but worth it because at the end, you will know everything seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think one of the must difficult things about coming here is that as diverse as DePauw wants to make their student body seem, it isn't. I'm from NYC so my diverse is not DePauw diverse. Also people here are very friendly and very happy all the time. Which comes with it's own pros and cons. Visit the school first and asking different kinds of students about their experience. I fell in love with the school as soon as I visited but what I failed to do was ask important questions.

    In three sentences

    Super good school academically. Super expensive as well. Students who are very invested in Majority Greek life can be very annoying. Majority of students go Greek. I'm an independent and I'm surviving so you'll be fine.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is super safe. We have public safety and the town police patrolling the streets all day and all night. If at anytime during the night you feel unsafe, you can call public safety and they will pick you up nad drop you off wherever you want.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very prominent here. 80% of students are affiliated with Greek life, but there is no pressure at all to join one, there are many independents on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything, from knitting to fencing, to zumba classes. And if there isn't a club that's already made, you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students. There's no discrimination here, so if you're the type of person who likes a small school and a beautiful campus and a good education, DePauw would be right for you. Recently, DePauw is trying to become more diversed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This might sound weird, but one famous tradition is called a Boulder Run and this is supposed to happen on a day when it first snows, but sometimes people just do it for fun. There's a boulder located in the middle of campus and people run, totally naked, to it, touch it, and run back to their dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very high, but the educating is really good. Now about location, we are basically in the middle of nowhere, so unless you have a car, you will most likely be bored a lot.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs and sports teams here. If the weather is nice outside, you can ride your bike or even walk on a trail to DePauw's nature park which is so beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    At first, you would think the food is awesome since you can get ice cream or pizza and fries whenever you'd like, but after a while it does get boring and tiring. The food isn't disgusting, it just wouldn't be my first choice.

    Dorm Life

    I really like the dorms here because it's clean and decent sized. the rooms are a good size, not too small and not big. The singles on the other hand, depending on which dorm building you live in are sometimes tiny. Since it is such a small school, everyone is friendly and says hi to each other

    Academic Rigor

    The work load is definitely difficult, but it's manageable. There are times where you will feel overwhelmed, but after that hard week is over, you will feel much better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn what's the best way for YOU to study and do work. There are many places to study and do hw here, but it just depends on what you prefer, quiet or not so quiet places.

    In three sentences

    DePauw is a very small and welcoming campus. The teachers are very educated and they are more than happy to help students outside of class. The education one gets here is amazing and gives us great opportunities after we graduate.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are countless ways to have fun at DePauw. We have sand volleyball courts next to the residence halls, and people play this game called campus golf. I'm still not really sure how that works, but it looks like they're having fun. There are a lot of clubs and activities you can get involved in: ultimate frisbee, yoga, gaming club, DePauwCapella, even knit nights on Sunday. Possibilities are endless, there's no way you won't find something to do with your free time.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad, not at all. Though it does get kind of repetitive. There are two main food areas: the Hub and the Den. However, you can also use your food money at Marvin's and The Duck; restaurants that are right on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is basically what you would expect it to be. It's fun and you make a lot of friends. However, you have to be assertive and communicate if it's late at night and people in your hall aren't letting you sleep. Mainly though, it's a lot of fun and you really bond with people.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, DePauw will challenge you. That doesn't mean it isn't doable. There are plenty of ways to get help if you need it. There's tutoring, and the W-center to help with papers. Professors make themselves available to their students if they need it. Moreover, there is definitely no lack of places to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to: try a GCB (or GCCB) from Marvin's, bring plenty of winter clothes because it gets pretty cold here, don't take a W course until your sophomore year, and get a library card at the Putnam county library.

    In three sentences

    DePauw is a beautiful, diverse campus. There are tons of opportunities to get involved, and it's very easy to find a place where you fit in. It's a pricey education, but it's worth it and DePauw offers a great amount of financial aid to those that need it.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is always fresh and the cooks take pride in cooking food from local farmers! There isn't any trans fats here and all the food is so healthy!

    Dorm Life

    My Resident Assistants have been minimally involved but are always there if i give them a call or stop by their room! I am in a suite and I love it!

    Academic Rigor

    There are a TON of classes to choose from, and all of the classes I have taken have very involved professors who are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit first and try to plan a overnight visit, and do research on all colleges you are considering!

    In three sentences

    DePauw will create so many opportunities for you and help you even after college! There are so many options for students here from course selections to study abroad opportunities! If you like to have options this is the university for you too!

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel pretty safe on this campus, normally able to get campus security if needed. Safe Ride to get around campus if late.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life Central, you will understand greek even if you do not plan on pledging. Being independent is very possible, but there is a high emphasis on greek and charity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities and clubs ranging from debate, dance, Frisbee club, cross country, track and taekwondo! If the organization doesn't exist you can also start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Social, Down for a good time, Serious about academics, Undecided majors, Students who can adapt with ease, Open Minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Two Words: Boulder Run! You must be here to see it... lets just say it involves running, nudity and freezing one's but off! To each campus their own! There is also Monon, which is a 100+ year football rival with Wabash! Things get pretty intense and the week long celebration is full of free food and fun :)

    Bang for the buck

    It depends. The school fee is at times a bit on the higher side, but the school's academics are excellent as well as the opportunities to network with successful alumni's. DPU also hosts its fair share of events like hosting influential talkers and putting on social events.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to the frat houses, drive out to Indy and there are also the movies, going out to grab a bite to eat. Watching a play, going downtown and chilling at Starbucks.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan recently changed to a greater focus on healthy and organic. That being said you can still count on the Hub to have good comfort food. The Den is a better alternative mainly because it has some variety to it.

    Dorm Life

    Floors often get very close, RA's for the most part are nice and personable and floor meeting helps floor bonding. The dorm sizes vary, Lucy has pretty nice dorms and is relatively close to everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic quality is definitely impressive, as is the faculty of professors that I have had the pleasure of being taught by. Professors are professional, yet personable and readily available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should take advantage of the resources that Depauw offers through the Hubbard Center and the frequent alumni meet-ups hosted. Mainly, it is imperative to focus on your grades and try to consistently meet with your professors.

    In three sentences

    Depauw University is a small, peaceful and beautiful campus located in the middle of rural Indiana. The small size also helps to create a close knit community amongst students. One key highlight is the academics and unparalleled access to your professors.

  • 08/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. We even have public safety that will drive you to your place of residence if you don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is VERY big at DePauw. Almost 85% of the campus goes greek. There are 6 sororities and 10 fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of different clubs to belong to. If you like it, chances are there is a club for it on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student belongs at DePauw. There are so many different people there that get along amazingly, no matter the race or religion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bolder runs are an unusual tradition. It is tradition at DePauw for students to run, naked, to the bolder located at east college, and run back to their dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get the bang for your buck. You get quality education, and professors who know you by first name. You work hard , and it will most definitely pay off.

    What to do for fun

    At DePauw there is always a party going on. Monday- Saturday there is always something to do. Trust me you will not get bored with the social life at DePauw.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options for dining. There's the hub, a buffet style place to eat, the den which offers sandwiches, pizza, and pasta along with small convenient store, marvin's, which is a burger and fast food type of place and there are also places off campus that take our meal plan card.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you live in, dorm life is fun. You get to know new people, and form possible lifetime friendships with your roommate or someone on your floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at DePauw. Professors assign at least 2 hours of homework for each class, forcing students to work hard to achieve success.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to visit classes and different spots on campus, so they can get to know the culture of DePauw.

    In three sentences

    DePauw is a wonderful university filled with a diverse group of students, and faculty that care about students success. Professors as well as peers encourage each other to strive for the best, and nothing less. I would give DePauw a solid 9.5 out of 10.