Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

DeSales University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    One of the things that really stood out at DSU over other colleges is that they have tons of leadership opportunities available for freshman. Anyone who wants to take an active role in their education really should be here, because the campus (all 450+ acres) gives the feel of a much larger school, but the population (1500 undergrad who live on-campus) allows you to get to know almost everyone, and creates a great, personal environment. One of the coolest things about DSU is that, it is the students campus, and students play a role in shaping the school as much, or more, than the administration does. If DeSales is lacking something in your interest, you are not only welcome to start it, but actually encouraged, and the support for your projects and endeavors are beyond helpful. If you want to make sure you're getting the most out of your 4-year college experience, nothing tops DeSales University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really make sure to visit DeSales and get a feel for campus. They offer many events for potential freshman to make sure that their decision is a well-informed one. First, I'd recommend starting off with a tour and counselor interview afterwards. It's a great way to meet a student or two who already attend the school, and then you can talk candidly one-on-one with one of the very people who take part in the acceptance process, and it makes it much easier to help accept students when they can attach a face to a name. Next up, apply! Their rolling admissions allows you to hear back from them with their decision in only a few weeks, so the sooner you apply, the sooner you hear back! Once accepted, they run tons of fantastic events to help clarify if DeSales is the right fit for you. They have an option to Overnight with a current student (who is usually in your major), where the two of you can attend a special event, room together for one night, and then attend classes with them the next day (free lunch too)! Then, there's scholarship day, where students can compete for scholarships within their department and get to talk to their department heads face to face in an interview session. Lastly, of course there is the Bulldog Bash! This is a big party for any and all accepted students just to have some fun, with some great prizes to be won, and students can mingle with one another to get to know each other before even stepping foot on campus as a full time student! There are tons of ways to visit and get an idea of what it's like to be a DSU student, and I really recommend taking advantage of them.

    Bang for the buck

    While the initial price tag can seem a bit high for some, especially those looking at much more competitively priced state schools. However, over 90% of the students in attendance are on some form of scholarship. In my case in particular, DeSales actually wound up being even cheaper than most of the other schools. It's definitely worth it to apply and talk to an admissions or finicial aid counselor.

    Am enjoying being here

    After applying to 3 other major universities, and getting feedback from my friends who chose to go to state schools, I could not be happier with my selection. Student Life at DeSales goes far beyond the call of duty, and makes sure that not only are students getting a good education, but they are getting life experience during their time at DeSales. The Character U program run for freshman is one of a kind, and an excellent way to help break the ice for students about to take a plunge into a brand new experience. Additionally, the dormitories are fantastic, with nearly every dorm having suite-style bathrooms and being fully maintained. Yes, you read that right, you never have to clean your own bathroom (or stock toilet paper for that matter)! Each dorm room also has high speed Internet, premium cable, and individual heating and air conditioning systems. In regards to campus life, the other 3 schools I looked at could not even compare.

    Am learning a lot

    The faculty make sure to deliver personal one-on-one attention to each student. It's a guarantee that one of the first professional contacts you have out in the field will be one of your teachers, and DeSales only uses full time teachers in the classroom, no student will ever be instructed by a teacher's assistant. Not only must teachers receive an excellent review to earn a full time faculty position, but they must also be advancing themselves professionally or actively working in their field of expertise, to guarantee the students are getting teachers very much connected to current events in their professions. To quote Dr. Brennan Pursell, Everything I do at DeSales is for the students. No scholar can forget that they are the reason why he has a career in the first place.

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student! There is such a diverse group of students attending DeSales currently that anyone could find their place and fit in. Also, DeSales students are extremely welcoming and are glad to have new students and will greet them with a smile.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to come to DeSales University for college I definitely would advise taking a tour and also, if possible, scheduling an over night stay so you can experience living in a dorm, going to classes, and eating at the DeSales University Center. If you have an interest in the arts you should also come to a dance performance or see a theatre performance!

    Bang for the buck

    DeSales, initially is very expensive but, like myself, many students get scholarships and grants to make it more affordable. The classes are great, the facilities are clean, and the activities on campus are very diverse, there is something for everyone! I definitely think you get the most for your money at DeSales!

    Am enjoying being here

    Although DeSales is in a very rural neighborhood there is still a lot to do on and off of campus. The Student Night Life committee (SNL) makes sure that all students have plenty of options when it comes to taking a breaking or relieving stress. I also enjoy being at DeSales because I only live about 45 minutes from campus so I have to option to go home whenever i want.

    Am learning a lot

    DeSales has a lot to offer with their academics. The teachers are all very informative and willing to help. I really do think I am learning a lot since I have been at DeSales! Most of the professors are willing to make class as fun as possible while still providing you with the most information possible.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take the core curriculum required classes at your local community college; the classes at Desales are not worth the unholy amount of money you will pay in tuition for them.

    Bang for the buck

    Desales is more expensive than it should be due to a large number of poor monetary decisions by the administration.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life is excellent. Due to the small size of the student body, it is possible for an ambitious individual to know the majority of his or her fellow students with ease. This produces lasting friendships and close-knit bonds between students of different disciplines, and incredible amounts of collaboration between individuals and graduation years within their respective departments.

    Am learning a lot

    Desales basic academics leaves something to be desired. While your major-required classes are generally high-quality, especially in the sciences, the core curriculum classes such as english, theology, etc. are for the most part pretty shoddy. The professors that teach these classes seem to have been the cheapest available and this shows in the quality of their classes. That being said, major classes, the sciences especially, and the biology classes in particular are without par. They are excellent programs that prepare you for your post-college career. However: smaller academic departments such as the tv/film do not have the funding to hire good professors, and are living proof of the old saying, if you can't do, teach. This does not hold true for the other fine arts disciplines; the dance and theater programs are amazing a regularly produce insanely high quality professionals.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    feel very safe. good security, ems rural area

    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    sports spectator, shop in area, hang out with friends, weekend activities

    Food and Dining

    food is good, but repetive. helpful for special dietary needs

    Dorm Life

    4 stars

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to professors, they are very helpful. easy access to shopping if you have or have access to car. most students are around on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    pretty campus personalized attention great academics

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have one of the lowest crime rates in the country.... except for our crazy deer crashing through class room windows.... haha

    Clubs and Activities

    www.desales.edu- Best Buddies, Campus Ministry, Colleges Against Cancer, Ball room Dancing, Bowling club, Soccer, baseball, softball, laccrosse, feild hockey, friends of rachel, pro life, pshcology club, zumba and so much more. Hey.... even start your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Theater, athletic, artistic, catholic, students used to the small school environment, nature lovers, and really anyone looking to better their future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall Fest â?? September, Homecoming, Battle of the Bands â?? November, Super Weekendâ?? February, Siblings Weekend â?? February/ March, Spring Fling â?? April/May, Winter Formal, Relay for Life, Senior Week, plus HUGEEEE Thanksgiving and Christmas DELICIOUS dinner for campus... for free :)

    Bang for the buck

    There is some serious bang here. I could picture myself anywhere else. Except maybe overseas, but DeSales has a study abroad program.... so that's not a problem!

    What to do for fun

    It is what you make of it. There are plenty of intramurals, disc golf, gym, playground right down the road and a CRAZY AWESOME sledding hill in the winter. You have to see it to believe it. But honestly, you create your college experience.

    Food and Dining

    Once again I commute, but every now and then I stay to grab a bite to eat with some friends. The food is exceptional and fresh. However, I have heard the lack of variety gets to some people. I have no complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I personally commute to DeSales but I stay over all the time with my friends and teammates. Upperclassmen buildings are nice but overall the housing for DeSales students is good.

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the upper level courses as well as a select undergrad course are very challenging. The key is to ask questions before you fall behind and don't be afraid to a other students from class for help. I have been in dozens of study groups and some of them resulted in wonderful friendships.

    Tips for prospective students

    First and foremost, be proactive. Don't save things until the last minute. Assignments and papers will pile up before you know it and you will feel overwhelmed. Another tip is get to know your professors. A huge advantage DeSales has is that it is a small school and you are capable of have a personal connection with professionals in your field of interest. Plus, you never know when you will need a good recommendation!

    In three sentences

    Be who you are and be that well. DeSales will help you find yourself and unleash your true potential in life. They help develop student's faith, knowledge and overall being.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Desales is one of those places that you think about when you to get away from everything. It has a conveniently sized campus with lots of friendly people. It is also a place that makes you feel like you are at high school all over again. DSU makes you feel very much at home. But, College life can get stressful and you should be ready for it. My advice is that you should take advantage of all of the opportunites and activities DSU has to offer. Meet lots of people and network with everyone because it makes things a whole lot easier. Go outside of your own comfort zone and find out what it is like to experience different things. Also, build relationships with professors. DSU is a small school and professors are able to meet on a 1 on 1 basis to help you throughout most of your problems with classes. Finally, manage your time here at DSU. College is fun and exciting time for individuals, but that could all come crashing down if time for studying, hanging out, sports, and other activities isn't managed correctly. If you remember those few tips, DSU will be one of the best schools that you have ever had to study at.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artsy, undeclared, religious, searching, inspired

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take advantage of all the University has to offer. From the Center for Service and Social Justice, Campus Ministry or even attending a sporting event, DeSales University helps me grow in all aspects of my life.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent, Fun, Athletic, Talented Small-Town students.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's cold here, bring lots of jackets.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    actually the cops can be real sticklers for parking tickets.

    Greek Life

    there are no frats. or soroties. this has its benefits, no one is ever left feeling excluded or shut out of a group.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are multiple sports and intramurals. clubs that had been previously cut due to funding are finding alternate sources, and students are actively involved in student government and student atheltic committees. the service department offers colleges against cancer as well as opportunities for special olympic games, big buddies, ect. the church doors are always open for volunteers.

    Great for these types of students

    shy but driven students who want to be successful. this school can help someone break out of their shell or help someone further their career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    steve the mailman...hes great. attending basketball games. holding the door for the person behind you.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely my favorite school to visit and stay at. opportunities here are endless.

    What to do for fun

    anything. student night life hosts an event almost every night. and there are clubs and sports, plus intramurals for everyone. not into large groups, mcshea offers a great place to just sit and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    typical cafeteria food, just be near a bathroom within fifteen minutes of finishing a meal.

    Dorm Life

    why do the heating units always break...and the plumbing back up? the cleaning ladies are sometimes a bit lazy.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    it honestly does help to have a car. get ready to be surprised, having a roomate and floormates is exciting but sometimes things do go smootly. do not fret over grades, tests or quizzes if something goes wrong your professor wil help you. dont be afraid to explore before picking your major, it may just happen that you come in a science major and discover that you stink at science. this is the real world, not high school, be prepared for the difference.

    In three sentences

    desales can cater to everyones needs/wants. the staff and student body at desales is open and friendly. the school might not be right in the middle of a city, but hellertown and bethlehem are just a short drive away-like wawa and walmart (24/7)!

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    p.a., pre-med, nursing, theater

    What to do for fun

    everything!

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus! it has privacy and close proximity to so much! take advantage of high school academics and grades, gpa, ap and sat's count!

    In three sentences

    i am currently a high school student accepted into the desales h.s. scholars program for this term and into the pa program next term! the scholars program has afforded me the priceless opportunity to take classes that will literally help me with not only easing the tough physician assistant matrix, but jump start my gpa. everyone should apply for this exceptional program!

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    used to be the safest college in america until a deer umped through a window during a class session in 2010. still very safe, i once left my backpack at dinner and it stayed in the same spot until i found it 48 hours later. nothing was stolen and it had not been moved by any student.

    Bang for the buck

    if you get scholarships, the school is great for the price. but any college priced at $28,000 tuition is high during this time. they are generous in scholarships though and that helps.

    What to do for fun

    the promenade shops are very close to campus and a lot of fun. otherwise, desales plans a lot of events for students such as bowling trips, movie nights, and visiting music groups or comedians.

    Food and Dining

    the desales university center is the main dining hall and is usually called the duc (pronounced like duck). the food they do make is pretty good but most of it is fried food and not very good for you. the pizza is terrible, but otherwise the options they have are tasty!

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is enjoyable and more comfortable than most dorms i've seen at college campuses. the only problem is the visitation hours. one sex is not allowed in the dorm buildings of the other sex at certain times during the night. this is irritating and gets some people into trouble even if they fall asleep and miss the curfew time.

    Academic Rigor

    desales has many working professionals and past professionals in the field they teach in. the professors are a mix of doctors and otherwise fantastic teachers who take their classes seriously and make the class rigorous but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    find a program that you're interested in, and if desales is known for it, then make it your number one school! some of desales' programs are stronger than others and the ones that are strong (such as nursing, pa, and theatre) are extremely reputable.

    In three sentences

    desales university is the perfect college student who is interested in intense programs working with great people. the professors and students at desales all make people feel welcome, whether you're a freshman or a fifth year senior. desales is the second happiest place on earth, next to disney world, of course.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are pretty big about safety and make sure during orientation you know plenty about what to do in case of emergency. help boxes are set up at many locations around campus in case and they have a number you can call as well.

    What to do for fun

    they have many different events going on every month and very little is there a day where there are none. the mcshea center also offers a lot of variety of activities from pool to just watching tv.

    Food and Dining

    from the little bit of food that i've had, it's very good from the duc and skylight lounge. have not yet visited the cyber lounge but they have excellent food as well i hear.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a very rigorous program compared to high school but it's not bad after you get through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    come prepared for their freshman character u program and attend the events, not only because they're fun but also because it's such a simple 'course' that you can pass.

    In three sentences

    it is a very nice school and the people there are quite friendly. the professors are great and will help you with whatever you need.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe, very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Psych Club. Trips. others....

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do here. There are plenty of clubs to join, volunteer work, go to a soccer, baseball or basketball game. Sledding in the winter right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It isn't home cooking but then again nobody cooks like your Mom!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life and having a roommate will take some getting use to. I am an only child so it was different for me. But you just have to make the bext of it and keep the communication lines open.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is definitely academically challenging me. I love my major and love my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to meet people and get involved. There is plenty to do.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school, just what I was looking for. There is a lot to do and you'll never get bored.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police can be a pain, but you need to understand that theyre just doing their job. they do a good job, except when it comes to parking.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who like to be in a woodsy type area. be expecting deer to walk around campus. also it's great for students who don't like a lot of people around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there areas some pretty cools areas to hang out like McShea or the tables outside or the areas by the statues.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school. It's at least 50,000.

    What to do for fun

    There's mini golf and the promenade which has a lot of cool stuff. There also events that the campus holds.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay. Not great but takes some getting used to

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms aren't that great but every dorm after that is pretty good. you don't have communal bathrooms which is a plus, but there is no kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very hard school that really tests your knowledge

    Tips for prospective students

    Not everything is close by so be prepared to be in the middle of nowhere.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus that is small enough to have a good student to teacher ratio. Everyone there is extremely friendly.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit campus, and campus police are very nice and helpful. Not exactly the quickest at responding to calls but they do respond in a reasonable time.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life is on campus. It is thought of as cliques and will separate the school. Which could be true, but it is true that the university is truly a Uni-versity, one body of a vast amount of people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities for everyone, and you can make your own very easily!

    Great for these types of students

    Speaking as a performing arts major it's awesome because you have film people, actors/actresses, technical stage people and dancers all together so you really have all bases covered.

    Bang for the buck

    Get a great education and have some fun!

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of student activities, including cash Bingo games, video game nights, trivia and band events/tournaments on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Horrible food!!! You can find some good eats, but overall it's really bad.

    Dorm Life

    Not terrific, but better than some dorms. You share a bathroom with 3 other people, not your own but close enough, and they clean it weekly!

    Academic Rigor

    For school work it is very tough, but very worth it, good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you visit, talk with the professors and students! Ask any student, most people are honest and very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Love the school, everyone is like family. Great support system from students and teachers who care. The school can be a bit of a pain to deal with, but they usually figure it out.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Greek Life

    not much

    Clubs and Activities

    many options from soccer to rugby

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a quite area

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have to travel a far distance to some buildings on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Not much to do around school besides shopping.

    What to do for fun

    sports, shopping, library

    Food and Dining

    expensive

    Dorm Life

    Not much to do around campus

    Academic Rigor

    Many major options

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything done early.

    In three sentences

    All around good school. Many majors to choose from. Has a great atmosphere to the campus.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feels very safe walking around campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beautiful scenic campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Quite expensive and the nursing program credits are more costly than the other programs.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining area always has lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but the facilities look well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    I find the teachers are helpful but the grading system is fair but strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you keep up with the advising and take the advice given, you should be successful. If you are struggling in a subject, do not be afraid to seek tutoring which is free and helpful.

    In three sentences

    I feel that DeSales University is a very organized and well structured school. The ACCESS program is amazing because it welcomes adult learners back to college with content and understanding. The part time nursing program is structured around an adult full time schedule that makes scheduling classes achievable.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a disc golf course on campus and an outdoors mall within 5 miles as well as restaurants and movie theaters. You are about an hour and half from Philadelphia and New York and the Easton State Theater.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning is fantastic for a college!!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm but from the student I speak to that do live hear, tell me it's wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time. Enjoy your experience but do not waste your money.

    In three sentences

    I love being an Access student at DeSales. It is pretty expensive however, the professors are very well education and great people to speak to and great to work with.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing happens. You are safe, and that is a good thing.

    Greek Life

    No comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few, but none of interest to me.

    Great for these types of students

    No comment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I did not find there to be any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I thought I would be able to do more, but there are no sororities for me to join and the african american population is very small.

    What to do for fun

    Make your own fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is fair. I am used to my mother's home cooked meals, so it is fair, but they do give you a lot of food per meal, so you will not be hungry.

    Dorm Life

    My back is hurting on the bed that I have this year, and I thought I was going to a better dorm room, but it is not as big as my room from last year.

    Academic Rigor

    3 Stars for academic rigor. You have to apply yourself and seek help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all of your options and apply to as many colleges as you can before making your decision on any college and review your offers of acceptance before making your final decision.

    In three sentences

    DeSales is safe. DeSales is personal. DeSales is effective.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. I can walk around it at 1:00 am and still feel perfectly safe.

    What to do for fun

    There are daily events, sports, and weekend trips to things like Phillies games, Baltimore, New York and other local attractions.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many options. My favorite food here is the macaroni and cheese! There are daily changing menus, as well as fresh fruit, salad bar and deli constants.

    Dorm Life

    Resident Advisers constantly have dorm activities going, which helps you meet the people you are living with, as well as being fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not exhausting, but, depending on the major, they can be rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't judge a school by it's size. Remember, you're going to have to be walking that campus everyday. So, it should be beautiful and easy to navigate. The small college atmosphere is conducive to personal involvement.

    In three sentences

    DeSales has a beautiful campus and a friendly environment. The people and staff here make one feel so at home, and they strive to help you in anyway they can. The small college feel is not a detriment, but a benefit.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Did not live on campus!

    Greek Life

    Did not live on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Did not live on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Online!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Didn't live on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I am not sure I din't live in the area.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Excellent School!

    In three sentences

    I have been attending DeSales Univesity off and on while raising my family since 2005. The staff and professors are knowledgable and work well with the students. I would recommend anyone that is looking for a college to look at DeSales University.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    I like to sing and act, so I really love the acapella group, and getting involved with JDAs.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal arts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fun bonfire during orientation. Great feeling of cameraderie.

    What to do for fun

    traying in the winter... great hill.

    Food and Dining

    Fried macaroni and cheese... need I say more?

    Dorm Life

    Fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Great for liberal arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask about the rigors of the program you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    DeSales is a great school for a liberal arts education. The campus is beautiful, and there are a lot of great people here I am proud to call my friends. If you are looking for an intensive program, however, this may not be the right place for you.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. There are campus police driving around everywhere. You can usually leave your belongings in a public place on campus for hours and nobody will touch them.

    Greek Life

    None whatsoever.

    Bang for the buck

    Academically, you get more bang for your buck, but if you're going here for the college experience, forget about it.

    What to do for fun

    Good question.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone at DeSales complains about the food, but in all honesty, it is probably A LOT better than most schools. The dining really is not that bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, I just wish everybody was closer.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at DeSales are extremely rigorous. It is difficult and challenging, but I have completely changed my way of thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your academics seriously. It is not cool to get bad grades because you are the one paying for them. Time management is your best friend and procrastination will not work like it did in high school.

    In three sentences

    My first impression of DeSales was that it was not for me and I did not fit in with the types of people there. Although I still do not talk to a lot of people, I found my group of friends and they have made DeSales worth going to. The academics at DeSales are phenomenal and I think I will be extremely well-rounded and prepared for anything after I graduate.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movie theaters nearby along with mini golf, bowling alleys, skiing, and stores.

    Food and Dining

    It has a variety of food, which is nice. Made to order grill also.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are kind of small, like most places. But the layouts are nice and electronic card swipes into the building provide for a safe environment.

    Academic Rigor

    The science courses are strenuous. Gen Eds are relatively easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a science major, be prepared to work hard.

    In three sentences

    DeSales is a nice school. It has its good along with its bad, just like anywhere else. I would recommend it.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do on campus and so many clubs and activities to get involved with! Plus there's a shopping center and movie theater only five minutes away!

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive but it's great!

    Dorm Life

    With campus police constantly patrolling, you can feel very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    You won't feel as though you're not learning anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tutoring and help provided to you as much as possible!

    In three sentences

    DeSales has wonderful undergrad programs. With the amount of support the school offers to it's students, there's almost no way one could become overwhelmed. DeSales is a school where you can feel at home.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Hard school

    Tips for prospective students

    Commuters don't do much or know a lot of people. I don't know how it is to live here. Courses are hard.

    In three sentences

    Desales has an intense biology program. Has a good location and some good professors but done bad ones. Overall a hard school to attend.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing. There is emergency push buttons located all over campus and the campus police are always roaming around. I've heard you can call the campus police if you don't feel safe walking to your dorm at night and they will gladly escort you home.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of clubs and activities always going on.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms! Two rooms share their own bathroom instead of the whole floor!

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to love small classes and getting to know the people around you. I bet it will be easy to adjust too and don't worry about it being a catholic school. They don't force the religion upon any one.

    In three sentences

    I've been on campus for a total of three times. I absolutely love it there and it feels like home to me. The people are so friendly and extremely welcoming.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important to DeSales. There are police on 24/7 and call boxes all around the campus. The school is located in a very safe area, literally located in the valley of Center Valley.

    Food and Dining

    The food at DeSales is much better than other Universities. There is a wide selection and the university does take notice to students with allergies and has food accessible for them. There is always something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Life on campus is always fun! The relationships with other people on this campus is close and personal. Everyone is friendly and the dorms are newer and always clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very rigorous. It does depend on the major, but overall the classes are advanced. The professors are always willing to help if students need it.

    In three sentences

    DeSales University is a family oriented university based on Catholic beliefs. There is a strive for excellence in all classes and on sports teams. The challenging curriculum and professors that push students to do their best work is definitely a plus.