Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dean College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/22/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    im adopted

    Will enjoy being here

    depends on if i get a chance to be on campus

    Will learn a lot

    yes i will learn alot & major in photography

  • 06/02/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The dance program is HUGE at this school, so if you're a dancer, or just enjoy watching, it's a great place to be. There are plenty of other quality (and yet overlooked, at times) programs. Despite being located in a predominantly white, middle-class area, the school population in very diverse. I had classes with students from China, Japan, Egypt, and all over the United States.

    Tips for prospective students

    Public speaking is a graduation requirement. Don't freak out though. Most people (like me) are afraid of public speaking, but when you're in a small class (mine was about 18 students, I think) where EVERYONE is in the same boat, it really isn't all that bad. You only give 4 prepared speeches all semester.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so it costs more than state schools would, but my advisor and the admissions department were willing to work with me to figure out how to afford it. I was in a rather unique situation, with a mortgage and two jobs, and my decision to go to school was kind of last-minute, so I wasn't able to receive a full financial aid package. If you have your FAFSA done in time, though, between that and the aid the school offers, most people should be able to make it work.

    Did enjoy being here

    The classes are small enough that each student can get personal attention when needed. The professors are great- I spent a lot of time before and after classes talking with mine. I found myself enjoying even public speaking (a graduation requirement) and contemporary histpry (and history is one of my least favorite subjects). I only attended for one semester- life got in the way- but if I were still planning on pursuing a degree in Criminal Justice, I would go back in a heartbeat!

    Did learn a lot

    If you come to Dean wanting to learn, you're going to take a lot away from the experience. I was a Criminal Justice major, and was fortunate enough to have Professor Couture for my Intro to Crim class. She has a system set up where you can earn points for each extra-curricular activity (guest speaker, prison tours, videos) you participate in. She requires 7 points-worth, but I participated in as many as I could (with 2 jobs, scheduling was a challenge) and I found it well worth the extra time spent.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. They are on watch 24/7. They do not do a good job of driving students if you call for a car. They also do not have any escort system if you don't want to walk alone at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Dean is great for people who need a small class size. We have a great tutor system, so if you are looking for extra help in school work this is a good place. Dean is also good for people who enjoy theater and dance because we have a strong dance and theater department. If you prefer a quiet and small campus this is a good place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions on campus. The location is very quiet and we are right next door to a elementary school.

    What to do for fun

    It is a little limited for fun at Dean. The location of the school is in a town so there are no college targeted places or events in the area. There are many performing opportunities if you like to perform or watch shows. Finding the right people makes the college fun and it is what you make of it.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is new and very clean. There is good food options and the staff will go out of their way to make something personal for you if you ask them. The hours could be improved because it closes at 7pm, but the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is decent. The dorms are small and it is a dry campus. The school is good about placing you in what dorms you would like to be placed in. Each dorm is close to all of the class rooms, cafeteria and campus center.

    Academic Rigor

    Some difficulties for academics at Dean depend on your major. For dancers you have a minimum of 6 to 8 classes a semester, so it is hard to schedule all of your classes. For other students the scheduling is not bad. There is a great tutoring system that is free at Dean by students. You can also pay per semester for a private tutor. If you are going here for dance the program is a work in progress right now. Some rules are not clear and it is a bit disorganized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and open. Try to meet people out side of your major.

    In three sentences

    Very small school where everyone knows everyone. Strong dance and arts department. Small class sizes.

  • 04/13/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes I think I will enjoy it here

    Will learn a lot

    Yes I think I will learn alot and major in Criminal Justice

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    quite and just want to get an education

    Tips for prospective students

    awsome school

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    here at dean we have a club called student activities committee which is responsible for putting on different events around campus which keeps everyone involved and entertained while on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is very focused on its students, which is very helpful for us because they make sure you keep your grades up and you do not slip behind at all within any of your classes.

    In three sentences

    dean is a very small and intimate college which i really enjoy because i came from a small town! they have great support services available to the students here on campus, which is a very helpful tool! also dean gives opportunities to not only the upper classmen but also to the freshmen and sophomores here!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very importing to me because this is where have to sleep and protect my valuables.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would love to join one as long as it don't interfere with my studies

    Great for these types of students

    motivation, support, and love

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The weight room

    Bang for the buck

    I am an outstanding football player and I am going to Dean College for criminal justice.

    What to do for fun

    Play football, workout, and go to the movies

    Food and Dining

    Try to eat healthy

    Dorm Life

    Have fun, be safe and protect your valuables

    Academic Rigor

    Mastery my contents and apply skills and critical thinking about the disciplines being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a roommate in advance, Take it easy your first semester,College is hard.

    In three sentences

    Dean College is an out standing school, The classes are small which gives the teacher enough time to answer questions, dedicate their self get to know each student.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shopping and hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    I've had it before and it is extremely good!

    Dorm Life

    Super excited

    Academic Rigor

    They have a lot of academic help to help you meet your goals.

    In three sentences

    Dean is amazing

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Ive seen a clip on you tube of the dorms and they are amazing .

    In three sentences

    I'm really eager to attend Ive done a lot of research about the school , i will soon be visiting the campus. what i can say is that, the school is small and it is not as strict about admissions. one thing that worries me is the amount of transfers a semester. there is a huge amount of transfers so I'm curious to find out why?

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Glad I had the experience to prepare me for the future. They gave me a chance that no one else did.

    What to do for fun

    Have small gatherings with a few peers since big parties usually are shut down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry too much about the partying while there and focus more on your academics. If you plan on transferring to a more prestigous instituition, you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    Good opportunity for students who need a second chance. Many resources for extra help. Make sure you succeed.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I give the food and dining a 10! The food during the Open House was fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    I can not comment on the Academic Rigor since I have been accepted to enter this fall. I have not attended any classes yet. Based on my conversations with the academic staff, it sounds like classes are challenging.

    In three sentences

    I have been accepted to enter this fall. I have not yet attended class. I did however attend the open house that took place in July and it was awesome. I had an opportunity to meet incoming students, staff, and try the food on campus. The food was terrific! I am looking forward to start my educational journey.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    enjoying friends and school events

    Tips for prospective students

    dont be afraid to answer questions

    In three sentences

    The best school I am attending. The best learning environment. Also a very well respected college

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! Haven't had an issue with them and they are very friendly!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    What clubs don't they have?

    Great for these types of students

    Any student could go here. It offers classes that can challenge you but also foundational courses and resources if you have a disability of any sort, or just struggle in certain areas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year they play humans versus zombies

    Bang for the buck

    I really think that Dean provides what you pay for and much more! I am so very happy and lucky to be going here!

    What to do for fun

    You are right near the center of Franklin so there is plenty to do there as well as the plethora of off campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    omnomnom good food! The staff is really friendly and helpful if you need something.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Everyone is friendly and people are more than willing to hang.

    Academic Rigor

    Dean offers the ability to challenge yourself and support for when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Absolutely have a tour the campus is intimate and beautiful!

    In three sentences

    Dean is the perfect school for those who would like to explore themselves, their intellect and achieve more than a standard college education. Dean encourages excellence and provides the tools to achieve it. In order to bring oneself to a future goal we must first start of with an outstanding foundation, and that is what Dean provides.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety officers are always available.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are open to anyone. Most clubs are well known around campus. The activites are all fun.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are wam and cozy in the winter.

    In three sentences

    Dean is a family school. All of the Professors are very helpful to their students. The college is a lifelime experience.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety always makes me feel safe, there always on top of the situation and cares about students safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many club to join at Dean College such as Dance Team, Synergy the Hip-Hop Team, Zuri the female Step Team, BroothaHood the male step team, Student Activities Club, SGA, Photography Club, and many more. And many of these clubs provide either performances or activities during the weekends for the students.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Club always provide fun activities to do during the weekend. During my time at Dean College I have not had a boring time. Almost every two weeks there is a school dance with different themes. Give away free stuff such as teddy bears, airbrush shirts, and much more. There is even buses to take students to the club every few weeks and also to Patriots Place.

    Food and Dining

    The sodexo food the provides for Dean College is really amazing! The even have choices to eat healthier and every day is different variety of food. Dean College also provides Boomers for late nights and have awesome milkshakes and Jazzmans which is like a mini Starbucks and have amazing coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm gives me the whole feel of living on my own. The dorms are a good reasonable size, never noisy during the weekdays, great to have friends over during the weekends to have movie nights or have a small get together.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors give assignments just about every day; however, give us students a reasonable time to turn it in. There is numerous of peer tutors to help out students with the assignments and writing tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research about the different majors at Dean College, activities, go to the Open House, and for any dance majors try out any master classes to feel the experience.

    In three sentences

    Dean College gives me amazing opportunities it is truly an amazing college. The professors are very easy going and help out with the transition from high school to college. Dean College gives a college student the true fun and safe experience of being in college.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People say that the fourth floor of Dean hall might be haunted which I personally find funny

    What to do for fun

    chill at boomers in campus center take a trip to Boston or join any student club

    Tips for prospective students

    -never hesitate to ask questions -take advantage of professor's office hours -try to balance studies and fun to enjoy the college experience to the fullest

    In three sentences

    The location is perfect for students who want to focus on their studies also Dean College offer personal tutor that are very helpful for people who need more time to understand lessons that are given. It is a good school for dance majors.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is public safety on duty 24 hours a day seven days a week and they are extremely helpful.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life unfortunately.

    What to do for fun

    There is a train station that is a 2 minute walk from Dean that will take you directly into Boston! As far as campus life, there is almost at least one thing to do every weekend on campus such as dances, trips, shopping shuttles, etc. There has been movie nights and airbrush hat and even flip flops! I have got some pretty rad things while at Dean, my favorite being a snow globe of me and one of my best friends. There is also a rec room with a food place called Boomers where students can play pool and table tennis and a lot of students gather there to watch sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Dean was so exceptional when I went for accepted students day and I was hooked. Since attending, I don't want to say I am disappointed but every meal isn't as marvelous as when I first ate at the dining center. There meals are very good though, depending on what they have to eat. They always have salad and pizza available for lunch and dinner and they always have deli sandwiches for lunch. There is always something to accommodate everyone's taste.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Well, there is one freshman dorm with tiny double rooms, but other than that all of the other dorms are very well sized. The new dorms are suites that include a living room and bathroom and shower room for each suite. I used to live in one and it was pretty amazing. Make friends with the people in your building and invite people to hang out! Host a movie party, play video games, or whatever you like to do in your spare time.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Dean depend on your major, but everyone at some point will need to take the general requirements For example, an early childhood major is going to have a completely different course load than a dance or theater major. Don't get me wrong theater majors, myself being one of them, have a lot to study, just not a textbook. Reading plays, analyzing scripts, researching, practicing monologues and lines, is just as difficult as writing essays on children's behavior. I'd say the general ed classes are intermediate level of difficulty. If you do your work and show up and really try, you will have no trouble passing! Studying makes a big difference between an A and a C.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers and go to their office hours They are more than likely to help you even more if they know you well and you seem interested in the class. Speaking of class, don't miss it. It only takes one day to fall behind. Get involved with activities on campus, you'll make great friends that way. The biggest advice I can give is to manage your time well between your social and academic life.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very beautiful and close knit, everything is in walking distance. The staff is amazing and each professor knows each student on a name by name basis. Dean is a wonderful community of talented individuals and the environment is very positive and friendly.

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Franklin MA, is known for being the SAFEST place in the world... Literally! You will definitely feel safe here. The campus police are never very far away, and are always keeping watch of the area. It's a small school, so there's no excessively long walks from the classrooms to the dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a commuter, I didn't always hear about what was going on within campus, so I do wish the communication was better. I was a Liberal Studies /Theater major, and I never knew when an audition was. I do feel the school tries to get you involved in their dances, and game nights. However, I do think there should have been more solid groups overall.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who plan to live on-campus, Theater or Dance Majors, Students who enjoy the safe feeling a small town can provide, Student who prefer smaller class sizes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions or anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Dean is a nice school, with an inviting looking campus. You will definitely feel really safe here. It has smaller classes, which do provide the student with individualized attention. However, there are some draw backs to attending. This school is extremely expensive. It is a small private school, and costs almost as much as the Boston schools. The class options themselves are nice, however there aren't enough of them to make a convenient schedule if you are living off-campus.

    What to do for fun

    This school offers a small range of extracurricular activities to choose from. You can audition for the theater production, or try out for their football team. There are school dances, game nights, on campus movie nights, and a lot of guest speaker events. There is also a shuttle bus that will occasional plan trips to Boston, and for the 21+ crowd, to the casinos or local bars. The shuttle will usually leave in the early afternoon, and will return to campus by or around 11pm. A lot of students that live on campus still complain they are bored unfortunately.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria is good, and has a wide variety to choose from. You can enter a generous meal plan; where a student can eat all they can eat everyday from the caf�©. There's everything from burgers, pizza, sandwiches, and personally made fresh salads. There's also specialty days where they will feature different types of foods. There's another small coffee shop up by the Learning Center. To be honest, their coffee is way over priced, and in my personal opinion, needs work. The small coffee shop does offer snacks and sandwiches as well. It is convenient, but you pay the price for it.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live here, however I've made friends who live within the dorms. The dorms are for the most part, very small. Some of the buildings are old, and some are much newer and more inviting. There's not a ton to do in Franklin, however the train into Boston is literally 5 minutes away. The cafe is nice, and provides a nice variety of foods. The area is extremely safe, and known for that. I am giving dorm life a 3 out of 5 because it is extremely expensive to live in the dorms, and some are truly not worth the extra cost.

    Academic Rigor

    This school provides a nice variety of classes you can take. For the most part, the class are challenging and thought provoking. If you take a night course, be prepared for a lot of work! They are harder than the day courses. I enjoyed the English/Literature classes most here.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be flexible to attend this school. Since it is small, there aren't as many class times available. This can be disappointing for a student not living on campus. Do not be fooled. This school is geared mainly towards its students living on campus grounds.

    In three sentences

    Nice safe area. Smaller school, and individualized attention. Too expensive overall, and not very wallet friendly.