Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Defiance College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Defiance College is known as one of the top five criminal justice and forensic science colleges in the country. But, it is also a great fit for any science, education, business, and social work majors. This is because of the real world experiences and internships that no other university can offer. DC is best suited to students that want to go to school for education.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure to schedule a visit as soon as possible, no one can experience DC well through a pamphlet or website. 2. Prepare for the weather: it is frequently windy year round, cold in the winter, and warm in August-September. 3. Talk to DC students, if you ask an admissions director for a student's e-mail or phone number they'll be happy to help. 4. Don't fret about freshman year.

    Bang for the buck

    Defiance College is a little pricy at around $30,000; however, DC offers many scholarships ranging from $10,000 to full tuition making it affordable for any student looking for a quality education. The personal attention that DC offers is well worth the price, but hard-working students will find that financial aid can make Defiance College more affordable that ANY public university.

    Am enjoying being here

    Defiance College (DC) offers many programs to keep students not only involved, but entertained during their stay at DC. Intermurals like Volleyball, Flag Football, Basketball, Softball, etc. are open to all students and unlike larger schools everyone is there to have fun. The student body and community is very hospitable and it seems that most can get together and enjoy themselves. For a small town there is also a lot of things to do. Over 50 local restaurants, to the YMCA, Northtowne Mall, movie theater, golf courses, mini-golf, go-karts. Defiance is also located near popular cities such as: Bowling Green, Findlay, Toledo, Fort Wayne, and Sylvannia. But, there is plenty to do on campus and in the dorms as well. I loved my first year experience at DC and look forward to the next three!

    Am learning a lot

    The science department at Defiance College consists of only professors with doctorates no graduate assistants, in fact there are no graduate assistants in the college. This helps keep the classroom more professional and makes learning easier. The small class sizes at Defiance makes the education experience just that much more valuable. Professors will do anything to aid students from personal tutoring options to serving a fresh cooked meal to students. The curriculum is also challenging whether you are a freshmen or a graduating senior that includes real world internships (Hospital, forensic labs, shelters, etc.) and international (Belize, Cambodia, etc.) experiences in every major.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    DC is great for students who like small class sizes and personal attention. Also, if you like to be a part of anything and everything, this is definitely the kind of college for you because of the several different groups on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved in something, anything. This helps to make meet new friends and start the networking process. Also, go to the cafeteria on visit days because that's when the best food is served!

    Bang for the buck

    Defiance College is making progress in keeping up with other colleges and universities its size. Upper class dorms have been remodeled with new furniture, a lobby, an exercise room, a kitchen, and a study lounge. The freshman dormitory is on the list of things to do. The athletic complexes are not up to par in most circumstances, but there is a plan in order for a new field house to be developed. The cafeteria does its best to serve a variety of meals, however, there are some meals you may not find something you'll want to eat.

    Am enjoying being here

    The friendly atmosphere is what DC so enjoyable. Everybody knows everybody, for better or worse. The dormitories offer a close living space to get to know people more. People are rather supportive of the groups on campus and there have been initiatives to develop new programs or redevelop ones that have not been around in a while. The music department is coming back around with a pep band, choir, and more. The campus always has something to do because of the amount of groups on campus, which is a good thing if you need a break from 'studying' or what have you.

    Am learning a lot

    You'll have classes for your major the first semester you attend Defiance College which will open your eyes to new information that you can manipulate, question, and research further. The professors are open to discussion about topics relating to the class and don't mind having a small chat outside of class about the subject or anything else, really. The small size enables students to get a more personal relationship with professors not generally seen elsewhere.

  • 01/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is perfect if you are looking for a smaller school. I love that none of my classes have more than 40 students. I know at least half the students in most of the classes by name. I know the president of the college, and have even been to his house quite a few times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find upperclassmen as soon as you get here and ask them about their old books. Most of the profs will use the same books for several years and you can buy books a whole lot cheaper from someone who has already taken the class.

    Bang for the buck

    Defiance college is a private school, and is therefore more expensive than most state schools. I, however, would never change schools for anything. This school is right where I need to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    Defiance College is a great place to make friends, get involved in student organizations and make connections.

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy my classes here. Profs work hard to make sure students are getting the most out of the lessons. If you don't understand something, there are a lot of resources you can use to understand the classes.

  • 11/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to go, it really brings out a social side of you even if you are shy.

    Bang for the buck

    The college offers a great educational environment and has many opportunities for you. They offer many places to study and other places to mess around. I never have to go out to eat because the college handles all of my meals (buffet style.) You receive a free membership to the YMCA so you never have to worry about fitness center costs, there is a fitness center just down the road (within walking distance) from the college that students are able to go to for free. All Defiance College students are able to attend the sporting events free of charge.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are lots of activities to do on campus, you make lots of new friends, and have a opportunity to grow as a person. I made new friends the first night I was here, there is always activities on campus and you receive constant emails about activities. The college offers opportunities to the students to get out in the community by helping others and experiencing new things.

    Am learning a lot

    All my professors have many years of experience in there fields. I am a Digital Forensics student and my professor knows a lot about this new growing field. Anyone would be impressed just by looking at his resume. The professors really work with you here also, they will help you with any problem, they actually learn you by name instead of just another student in there class. There is a Academic Resource Center that helps you with papers along the whole course of writing the paper. Also, the president opens up his house to students on weekdays for Study Table. Here students are able to work on homework in a quite environment.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a card scanner in every dorm building, that you use. They also have campus security that if you do have a night class and you don't want to walk back to the dorm by yourself, then you just call them and tell them, and they will send someone over to walk you back. They also have a alcohol free zone in the freshman dorm, due to everyone being under 21. The campus is also a smoke-free one, but there are designated areas that you can smoke.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities, one fraternity, and a co-ed fraternity. Sigma Sigma Sigma is more of a service sorority while Alpha Xi Delta is more social. The fraternity Phi Sigma Chi helps each other become better individuals and wants to see each other succeed in life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus that most students, including myself, fill up their schedules. They have a musical, Greek Life, DC PRIDE, Service Leadership, they also have a disc golf coarse through out the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Defiance is great for any kind of student. Since there is so many activities, every type of student can find the activities or sport that interests them the best.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little on the expense side, but they offer more to you. Since you are paying a large amount in tuition, they want you to keep your grades up by offering free tutoring and study tables in the library. They really don't want to see a student suffer in any way, so they work with you and your professors to make it easier for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities and clubs here on campus. We have sports from football and baseball to swimming and diving. Activities are Greek Life to DC PRIDE. There is a mall right up the street, and a bowling alley either way.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there is a lot of variety here. We have a salad bar, a grill for burgers, pizza, pasta, cereal, and the drinks range from milk and juice to pop.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are a double and they can be roomy or clutter, however you design your room. The halls are always filled with life, with people stopping by other's room and just saying Hi, how are you? and there are parties in some of the hallways during the school year. Plus the Resident Assistants are extremely nice and helpful, and want to make your stay here in the dorms great.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here at Defiance, are not really strict but they are fair in their judgement. They want you to be responsible for your own work, and if you don't do it or cannot make it to class, they want you to notify them ahead of time so they can expect it to be late or not to see you in class. In the dorms however, they are strict. If you are extremely loud during quiet hours then you're first told to turn it down, then if you have to be told more times, they get the Hall Directors and if need be the Dean of Students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! You will need to study but there is The Learning Commons here and they will help you with homework, pre-reading a paper, and will also improve your note taking skills.

    In three sentences

    Defiance is an excellent school because your are a person to them and not another number. They have so many activities for everyone to join. You're going to make a lot of new friends here before you even have your first day of classes.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a small mall next to the school also a bowling alley. But the Night Life is at Bowling Green approximately 45 mins away.

    Food and Dining

    there is two places that serve food for Defiance College. a cafe open three times a day always all you can eat, and the hive is an order-serviced place open for lunch and dinner times where you can order food to-go.

    Dorm Life

    Their are two dorms, Whitney and Mcreynolds,(Mcreynolds being the freshmen dorm) both co-ed. both offering lounges and great facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    The Classes are small and challenging, but since the classes are small theres plenty of one-on-one time for you to get problems handled,

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for small classes, and be ready to meet a variety of people!

    In three sentences

    Defiance College is a place where the class sizes are small, everyone is connected through a sport, class, or club. And has a president that lives on ensuring EVERYONE is enjoying their time and being challenged as a student.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located in north west Ohio.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs on campus. Depending on the club you are part of, there is always activity going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good. And the dining area is nice and peaceful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in Defiance College is very respectful. Even though people like to party a lot, at the same time we respect each others privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    The fact that Defiance College is small also make the academic very fun. There are many resources present for students to use. You actually have a real professor in all your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a school that you think is right for your major and always visit the school and request to go to one of the class to feel how is like.

    In three sentences

    Defiance college is a small school that set students on the right path for a career. The small size classes make students gain confidence to ask questions and approach the professors.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is extremely safe and in the middle of no where! I never feel uncomfortable or in danger, even when walking across campus at 4am.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Xi Delta, & Sigma Sigma Sigma - National social sororities. Phi Sigma Chi -local social fraternity. Alpha Phi Omega -national co-ed service fraternity. All groups are between 9 and 30 members.

    Clubs and Activities

    Project 701, Campus Activities Board, Students in free enterprise (SIFE), Gay Lesbians and Straight Supporters (Glass), Ecology Club, Drama Club, String ensemble, band, choir, sports, inter-murals, Service Leaders, diversity team, Black Action Student Association, Free Health Clinic, Fair Trade, Graphic Design, and more!

    Great for these types of students

    Normal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is never quite, and the basement of McReynolds is creepy.

    What to do for fun

    I'm involved in a ton of different organizations, bowling, party and go dancing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and try to keep your business to yourself. The school is small, so it is easy to get involved and have friends but if you spread your business the school will get really small really quickly. If you love service and to succeed this is a great place!

    In three sentences

    It is very small but very supportive if you want to succeed. There are tons of opportunities to grow and get hands on experience in your field. There are also tons of service opportunities.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study! Group work with friends. School events.

    Food and Dining

    Very healthy if you make the right choice.

    Academic Rigor

    We are very focused on thriving as a team. Also need to keep focus on class work. Do not get to involved where you forget your purpose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help, don't be scared. Engage in groups. Keep away from negativity.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very helpful. The classes are small which makes it easier to learn. The president talks to you personally to help through struggles and he also helps find solutions to your problems.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Defiance has good security, they have people patrol the campus pretty much all night. There are also people at the front desks in the dorms until three or four in the morning. They even offer safe rides for people that have been drinking with no questions. They really care about us here and want us safe no matter what.

    Clubs and Activities

    Defiance offers a wide range of clubs, I couldn't even explain how many there are. No matter what you do I'm positive DC has a club for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Defiance is a great choice for people from small towns . The campus is really small and every one knows each other, We're like a little family. Plus the president loves to have guests so if you know you're going to miss home it's great. Also, if you're an athlete Defiance is great most of the campus are athletes and it's a good spot for people to come.

    What to do for fun

    In the actual town there isn't that much. We have a movie theater and a lot of parks. There is also a river and a reservoir right in town. Defiance is less than an hour away form Toledo, Fort Wayne, and Bowling Green so there are a lot of things to do there from shopping to clubbing.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus really isn't that bad. The simple fact is it's cafe food and it gets boring eventually. They always have a good variety though and offer vegetarian alternatives. The food around town is great. It's a small town, but there are a lot of choices to eat out at.

    Dorm Life

    Life around the dorms is really what you make of it. If you want to have fun you will always find it, DC has some really crazy fun people. The rooms aren't bad at all, like any other school you'll have trouble figuring out how to pack all your belongings into it, but all the furniture moves so you can rearrange it how ever you want. It's really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academics go DC is great. The classes are always small so the professors can give you one on one attention. The professors are also very easy to get along with and generally will work with you to keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest getting involved in as many things as possible, many give you the opportunity for additional scholarship money, and it helps you meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Defiance is a small town, but you can always find something to do. On campus there is a ton of things to get involved with. Also, most of the students that go here are athletes, so you can always play pick up games.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The dean is always throwing barbecue functions and I enjoy those a lot. I also like to listen to music and play football.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm like is okay, rooms need to be updated though.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor 5

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for a prospective student would be to make sure all documents are filled out before his or her arrival. Also, to make a list of questions to ask.

    In three sentences

    At the present time I will rate my college excellent. I rate my college excellent because they were very thorough and patient with my mom during orientation. In addition, my mom and I were met one on one with the dean.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have rides that we can call to pick us up and take us to our dorms at night. Also we have camera's in every hallway.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life has three sororities and fraternities. Two girls and one guys.

    Clubs and Activities

    We don't have any clubs but our activities are plenty.

    Great for these types of students

    Our activities are very thought out and we have many of them. At least four a week. If on the day of an activity it is raining, we have alternative locations or if necessary, alternative days.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a restaurant called the Hive that we can eat other than the cafeteria. The food is magnificent!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure what this is.

    What to do for fun

    We at DC have many opportunities to be social with the staff, President, and students. We have movies with the president, Bonfires, Poker night's, Benefits for children, and game nights.

    Food and Dining

    We have many choices to eat in the Cafeteria but we also have a restaurant named the Hive that we can eat at. Their food is really good!!!

    Dorm Life

    Our dorm life is great because we have hours that we can have our music up and then we have quiet hours that we have to respect the students that are studying and who are sleeping.

    Academic Rigor

    Our classes are based on one on one teaching with staff and students with classes 12:1 teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task, do your work, go to class, don't be late, and participate in the College Activities that help us communicate with others.

    In three sentences

    Defiance College has a very Compassionate Faculty. I'd give Defiance College a 10 for best one on one classes. Defiance College is a college that focuses on their students becoming successful.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities to choose from and one fraternity. They all cooperate and get along well, all of them focused on the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many good clubs to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    This education is definitely worth the money you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different groups and clubs that you can join in this college, and if there isn't one you ae looking for, you can make a new group!

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't five star restaurant, but they are willing to work on anything you have issues with.

    Dorm Life

    The small dorm sizes allow you to get to know the people that you live with and get into good relationships with them.

    Academic Rigor

    You are required to think and study when you go to this college, it is not always easy. It is worth it if you keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to have a good attitude to go to this school, they are willing to help those who help themselves.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great place to learn and grow, especially when you are from a small school to begin with. The personalized environment helps you get closer with your instructors and be able to learn well. I would recommend this college to anyone who is looking for a small school with a big heart.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards on duty and driving around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or activity for everyone and if you can't find one you like, you have the option of making one.

    Bang for the buck

    The amount I paid to come here is good because when I graduate in four years, I will be on the fast-track to my Masters degree.

    What to do for fun

    Disk Golf.

    Food and Dining

    The Hive is the best thing ever, the Cafe sucks most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes demand your best and are pretty challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your best and if something is going on, don't be afraid to speak up.

    In three sentences

    Food is only good when there are prospective students coming in. Dorms are pretty nice. English teachers suck.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    focused

    What to do for fun

    Just chill and talk to everyone, or go workout and play basketball or etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are going to this school to work hard and just focus on school because it is a small community.

    In three sentences

    Defiance is a great school, small class rooms, the people are great they welcome you with open arms. The sporting events are fun and allows you to met other people.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although our campus is really friendly and there are not really any problems around we still have reliable campus security that patrols around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a number a fraternities and sororities here that are very fun and great to be involved in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Given that our campus is small, we still have many clubs and activities to do. One of the more popular ones are service activities. These activities look pretty good of resumes as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Very social, friendly, helpful, and bright minded students. Although if you would like to receive a great education but experience a lot of things you should come to Defiance College.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus encourages studying abroad. If you would like to travel internationally, Defiance is a great place. Not only do you learn within the community but all over the world.

    What to do for fun

    With so many things here on campus you really can't run out of things to do. We have intercollegiate sports that you can get involved in. If you want to just have fun at a lower level of competition you can join a intramural sport. We have have a pretty good music department. Our choir is ran by a great teacher who will assist you with learning how to sing. There are many service programs and opportunities available here. Since the campus is not that big there are places in town that you can visit such as a YMCA. In addition to that we have our own athletic center that has a partnership with the YMCA.

    Food and Dining

    Here at defiance, we have nice size cafeteria where the main breakfast, lunch, and dinner are held. There is plenty of food here. There are a few different options for vegetarians but they are still working to increase those options. There is a board where if you want you can put in your opinion on what could be served one day. If it is popular then it will get served more frequently.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a nice size. They are pretty well maintained by the campus workers. Many students that live on campus become so comfortable with each other, everyone feels like a family. There are also many places available to study in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In order to achieve high academics you really do need to stay on top of your work here. If you do find yourself falling behind, you can talk about different strategies with your professor. This really helped me. In all of my classes that I had asked for help I was able to work with the teachers and bring my grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student that needed personal attention in classes, Defiance is a great place to get enrolled into. If paying for college is an issue, the business office is very helpful in finding ways to assist you with paying for school. The science and criminal justice majors are very popular here but the class sizes are still around the ratio of 25:1.

    In three sentences

    It is very Community Oriented. The professors that are here reach out to help their students succeed. This is a very good college to attend if you like to be involved.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security people, feel protected walking around, not worried about safety

    Greek Life

    frats are on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    sports teams, ect.

    Great for these types of students

    like small classes, like one on one time with professors. like small towns

    Bang for the buck

    cost is pretty high

    What to do for fun

    hangout with friends, movies, parties, sports

    Food and Dining

    the food is not very good here, it could be much better.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice but could always be better.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are hard but you gain a ton of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do. Focus hard and study. Be prepared for great internships and much more.

    In three sentences

    here the class sizes are great. Personal one on one connection with professors. A great place to meet new friends.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security, dorms are locked to non-students and staff, and cameras are present everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ecology club is where it is at!! lots of projects, animals, trips, etc. its great!

    Great for these types of students

    hard workers, and athletes , it is a very sports oriented school, VERY.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hive is great it is the campus's own restaurant, if you get bored of cafe food, go the hive its great, plus there is a computer lab and pool tables too.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive, but the teachers are really great, almost worth the debt you will have when you leave

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall, movies, ice cream, and activity's on campus all within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The staff that serves the food is amazing, i am a vegetarian and they have always made extra effort for me. The food is almost always good, and warm.

    Dorm Life

    Its loud living in the dorms, and people dont always have the common curtsy that you wish they would, but other than that it is actually quite pleasant.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic at Defiance are not hard at all, its much like being a high school senior again ( if being a senior was easy for you).

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus a few times before enrolling. It will help make sure this is the right place for you. Talk to people, teachers, staff, and students, see what they like about life on campus.

    In three sentences

    Defiance college is a friendly environment for any student, especially those who enjoy a small and close to home setting. The teachers are some of the best I have ever had in my life, not just in teaching skill but in personality. Last but not least the food is pretty great, and you'll never go hungry,

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    $5 movie Mondays at the local movie theater, intramural sports, and on the weekends go to other close by cities (Bowling Green, Toledo, Fort Wayne, etc...)

    Food and Dining

    The food is a hit and miss. One day the Cafe will serve something terrible then the next day turn around and serve a great meal. No matter how bad the meal is, there is always the option for fruit and a salad bar. The hive (after Cafe is closed) gets old pretty quick seeing how there are only about 5 things on the menu, but its not that bad

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are OK. There is no air conditioning, so when 1st semester starts its pretty hot. The rooms are a decent size, but there are multiple ways to set the room up.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've experienced the classes aren't really that hard (I'm only a freshman though) as long as you turn your work in on time, you should be OK

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every the library has to offer. (Writing consultants, online resources, etc..) Dont just sit in the dorms and complain, make your own fun

    In three sentences

    Small campus that really appeals to the need of each individual student. Professors really care about the success of each student. Socially, not much to do in town so I would advice bringing a car or being cool with someone with a car

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The buildings are easy to get into even when you do not live on campus, the cameras are of such low quality you cannot see to the end o the hall. There are only like two or three campus security people

    Greek Life

    I have no idea I did not participate

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some really great activities and clubs, but their sports teams are based upon favorites and who the coach likes.

    Great for these types of students

    For very social and out there students, those going into science oriented or graphic design areas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really is not anything unusual, except all freshmen go to the president's house for ice cream at the beginning of every year.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount you pay to go it is a kinda sorry experience, its pretty dirty, they buy cheep food, especially cheep fruit. Just pretty disappointing

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun activities or movies playing on the weekends

    Food and Dining

    The rooms are a nice size, but they are old and kinda falling apart, the bathrooms are not cleaned well. There are separate girl and boy hallways, but there is no doors stopping girls or boys from walking down each others halls.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a lot of out side of class work, but as long as you read and do what you need it is not that bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not like loud people and loud dorm rooms you better become good friends with the library.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and professors care about their students. The maintenance and upkeep of the buildings is somewhat poor. Located in a good area, with lots of stores and restaurants .

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've only been there for one year and nothing has happened. I also just feel safe on campus, with the police mot being so far away and they pass through the campus from time to time just to make sure nothing is happening.

    Greek Life

    I believe we have three Greek organizations, one female, one male, and one unisex. They all do so much for people on and off campus. They all charter to bigger sororities and fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs I can't even name them, and you have the opportunity to start your own club of you want to.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded, fun, students who love to help others while building toward your better future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll always know it's a game day by the flags being up at the stadium. We have a shortcut coming from the stadium all the way to the dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Sports games, hang out with friends and teammates. Go to Bowling Green, Toledo, or any of those surrounding towns and cities.

    Food and Dining

    After you get in to it and understanding how things go, eating isn't bad at all.

    Dorm Life

    If you ever want to see the fastest forming family, those dorms will show you. Just walking around, people will speak to you, nine times out of ten. I've had so much fun and made so many friends in those dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard about other majors they are tough, but my major, athletic training seems to be one of the most demanding, time consuming and flat out toughest majors offered on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sometimes you may feel like there's nothing to do, but if your open minded you can find fun anywhere. Attending sports games are a must, pretty much everyone does. There's always someone to talk to for every reason, from being homes sick, depressed or just wanting to talk. You may encounter the nicest mass of people you may ever encounter. every major is ita on little family, some bigger than others buy they all support their students, they never turn you away if you need help. All professors go above and beyond for their students if you need them to.

    In three sentences

    Defiance College is one of the most accepting places you may come across. From day one on campus your apart of a family that helps with whatever you need. The entire staff wants to see you do well, no matter what.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in a decent sized city so you can always find something to do as well as activities on campus.

    In three sentences

    This school is great with one-on-one, service opportunities and studying abroad. I love how the president takes his time to know you by name and major. Everyone takes that extra step to help you with whatever.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play sports and hang out with friends in the lounge areas.

    Food and Dining

    Not the greatest cafeteria as far as variety and nutritional food.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I do not live in the dorms but I have heard little complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    I am really enjoying the academic part of college here at Defiance College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure DC is a college you can afford to attend. It is not the newest college so somethings need updated or are simply old.

    In three sentences

    Defiance College provides a solid education to all students who are willing to work hard and attend class. Good professors and small classroom settings to encourage conversation between students and professors.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus that it is crazy and if there is not a club that you want to be in, I'm sure that if you went to faculty they would support the club, within reason of course.

    What to do for fun

    Well for fun there are usually campus activities or groups that have things every once in awhile, and there is also a movie theater not far from the college and a pretty small mall that has some stores. There are also the sporting events that students can attend. But being a college student, is there really time for fun? Just kidding of course there is but studying and doing work for class is definitely what most of my time consists of, that and video games when there is time.

    Food and Dining

    The dining choices are limited to pretty much the cafe and the hive, because it is such a small college, and the food choices are definitely improving. There are also some fast food restaurants like subway, McDonalds, Burger King, Arbys, Pizza Hut, and some more that are not that far away from the college.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, there are only two dorms one for freshmen and another for the upperclassmen, but there are other living opportunities, there are apartments, and what we like to call the pods, which are a kind of like apartments, because you share a kitchen and a bathroom with two other people, but you have your own room. The RAs are also really good people once you get to known them.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small and that helps with the stress of academics, because you can always go to your professors for help. And of course classes vary from person to person, so it is up to the student, because how hard you work inside and outside of class is what ultimately effects your grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the campus and community activities!!!

    In three sentences

    Defiance College is great, the community is really supportive of the students at the college. There are so many opportunities that the students have, travel both domestic and foreign, a lot of campus activities, and just all around great people to be around. The best thing is though, that it is a really small college and that allows students to connect with their professors and meet with them, so you are not just a number in a crowd of one hundred students in a classroom, you are you and your professors will know your name, and even the president of the college will get to know you as well.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If you are a student athlete looking for a close tight family, that will help you strive to meet your potential, DC might be the place for you. With being small and not as crazy as some big time universities can be, the athletic student body does a great job at supporting one another as well as their own team.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid can be helpful to those who need it. Also, there are work study jobs that help pay for school and that can work around your class schedule and athletics if you play a sport.

    What to do for fun

    Other than hanging out with friends or teammates, majority of the students live pretty close to DC so they may go home on the weekends. Yes others who stay off campus have parties, but another place people go is to Bowling Green or the local bars downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The food is definitely not like home cooking, lets put that out first. However, the cooks do a good job at providing the best quality of food with what they have. A few selections that I like are the meatloaf, lasagna, chicken patty sandwiches, and subs. We also have a snack bar are where you can get burgers, fries, smoothies, and other little snacks for those late study nights.

    Dorm Life

    Home away from home, the dorm life at DC is pretty good. Mostly everyone knows each other, so by living in the dorms and seeing one another on a daily basis makes it more fun. You may have people playing music in the room, people laughing in the hallways, or students having a movie marathon in the lobby.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take and the major you want to pursue, the classes are not all that hard. However, some professors can take it to the extreme when it comes to assignments or papers. Overall, the faculty is helpful whenever you need it, you just have to ask for it. Another good thing is that there are tutors who can work around busy schedules to help make sure students stay on the right track in class work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before choosing Defiance, make sure you visit the campus and area. Don't go by what people tell you and get a first hand feel for the college atmosphere. Also, if you're coming from a big school or city like I did, make sure you can stand the slow pace of a small town and college.

    In three sentences

    Even though it is not as big as other schools, DC is pretty well rounded. The student body is relatively friendly, as well as the faculty members. Students usually make the best out of Defiance.