Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Del Mar College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    health care

    Bang for the buck

    much cheaper and faster than a university

    Am enjoying being here

    great enviornment

    Am learning a lot

    the paramedic program is top notch. and the nursing program for rn's is ranked top 5 in the u.s.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is college, absolutely nothing like high school. If you don't want to be there don't bother wasting your time. It's not easy, but definitely worth it in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    Del Mar is about 20-80% cheaper than a university and definitely is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    One word...awesome

    Am learning a lot

    Del Mar is one of the best community colleges in the country. Most of the teachers will teach you every detail that you need to know; I've been going since summer 2010 and I've learned more than most people learn in their 4 years of college.

  • 11/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to do something that can be done in two years it is great, but it is also good as a stepping stone to a four year. It is great to get you into the routine of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main thing is to study. Always go to class. I try very hard not to miss. Take notes!

    Bang for the buck

    It is probably 3 times cheaper than other colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is close by to where I live and it is pretty centrally located ( close to the malls!)

    Academic Rigor

    It is probably one of the hardest community colleges out there, but it is a good college.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Del mar is a very safe campus and always available assistance from Campus Security. Officers are available 24 hours a day, every day of the week!

    Greek Life

    Del Mar offers both Departmental GREEK affiliated clubs such as Alpha Beta Gamma, Phi Mu Alpha, and Phi Sigma, as well as Honory GREEK affiliated one such as Phi Theta Kappa that offers students the choice to join a international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs (this GREEK honor society also includes Associates degree-granting programs offered by four-year colleges) and Alpha Beta Gamma-Alpha Psi which recognizes and promotes academic excellence among junior and community college students enrolled in business curriculum.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honorary clubs Phi Theta Kappa, Student Government Association, East Campus (S.G.A.), K-Club (Kinesiology), Biology and Health Science Club, Occupational Therapy are just a few clubs i have joined, but there are over 100 different types of clubs and weekly activities to become a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcome to join and become a part of Del Mar College.

    Bang for the buck

    Whether you are interest in an Associates degree or a certificate of specialization in a subject, Del Mar College is the place for you. With over 100 certificates and degrees available, you aÂ?re sure to find an area of study to meet your interests. The first step in reaching your dream is to apply for admission. Del Mar offers a very affordable rate for college students, and also offers a wide range of options for financial aid, loans, grants, employment and work study.

    Academic Rigor

    Along the way you will also be nurtured and challenged by faculty who bring a wealth of academic and professional expertise to the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are coming right out of high school, transferring in or returning to Del Mar you will find enthusiastic staff to help you with the application process or learn more about Del Mar's award winning programs.

    In three sentences

    As the largest institution of higher education in South Texas for over 75 years, Del Mar College offers a unique blend of academic programs to meet a broad range of career goals and educational aspirations.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security around, I know I feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Delmar is great for people who work or have families. Professors are very understanding of your situations.

    Bang for the buck

    Delmar is the most affordable schooling in all of corpus. It is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are always intramural sports going on!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is affordable and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    They unfortunately don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but your teachers are willing to help you get through it. You have to want to be there in order to do well in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid within a good amount of time otherwise you'll be waiting for awhile.

    In three sentences

    Delmar is a wonderful school! Everyone is friendly and the campus is close to great places to eat. The campus is beautiful and full of diversity.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is relatively small and so not much happens. There are always campus patrol cars driving around and emergency stations in key places that are very useful!

    Greek Life

    There's one sorority/fraternity that I know of on campus and it's for music majors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are fliers posted around campus for just about everything. Students get full use of all of the gymnasium building, track, tennis, and badminton courts! There's

    Great for these types of students

    The classes are small, so I've found that people usually don't talk in class. Don't be afraid to speak up in class; the professors are every nice and will answer any questions you have no matter how stupid you feel when your asking them!

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive! It's not much of a secret. Del Mar is a less expensive option that will save you a lot of money in the long run! The cost for hours is about a third of what you would pay elsewhere! It's $91 a credit hour and the professors teach at the same level as top schools!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and make friends!

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten a few times in the Harvin Center and that was a while ago. It's the only building on campus with food, so it's usually very busy. The food quality is okay, but there are better spots a few minutes from campus!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at Del Mar College meaning that you either live at home or with your friends and that's pretty great! I have heard rumors of dorms but I also heard that they look look they've been pulled out of a horror movie.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Del Mar College are rigorous because the professors understand that you are most likely going to continue your education after your two or more years at Del Mar. They teach at the same levels as major universities such as A&M , UT, and Baylor so that you will be prepared and you won't be completely overwhelmed by the course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your older friends that attend or have attended Del Mar College about their perspective. Books are expensive, so don't be afraid to ask around to find books at a much lower price! Take advantage of all the resources available! There is FREE peer tutoring available as well as a computer lab and seminars on how to succeed in all of your classes. You can also check out calculators and laptops for FREE! Make sure to get there early because the laptops go fast and you may be put on a waiting list!

    In three sentences

    There are very small class sizes. Great for starting off your college life. Very friendly professors!

  • 09/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honestly... i would have to say all types...this school has opportunities for everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your Financial Aid early and register on time. If you are pushing the deadlines of them, you will be left to run around picking up what you didnt do earlier.. make your start to college a smooth transaction and get it done early.

    Bang for the buck

    this community college is so much less than going to a University but still you get top knotch teachers!

    Am enjoying being here

    The students as well as staff here are very plesant to be around. It gives off a good vibe to be one of the students in such a good community college

    Am learning a lot

    Coming back to continue my college education, I am still very pleased w/ the professors here. They work w/ you to make sure you understand what your are doing.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types really, they have great programs, and i would recommend it to everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Well, just check what classes you need, since Del Mar has 2 main Buildings, East and West Campus. Over at East Campus you take your basics, and over at West Campus, you take classes for your profession and others.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best part! Its not even expensive at all, tuition is fairly cheap, i hear the tuition my friends pay in other colleges and i am privileged that i don't pay as much.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is really great, all the students mind their own business, there's no disruptions, and students are by far very respectable, a great learning environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Wooo, well i am in the HVAC Program, and ALL my teachers there are State Certified A/C Technicians, and not just some teacher, they know what they are teaching and i am receiving very valuable knowledge. but i know for a fact that each department the teachers that teach all have a degree in what they themselves are teaching.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Del Mar is the place to be, they have everything a student will ever need to succeed in their careers.

    Bang for the buck

    Although, Del Mar is a little pricey, the classes themselves are amazing, your will learn great things with all the exceptional teachers they have.

    Am enjoying being here

    Del Mar is a nice environment to be in and to be involved in. The campuses are great, and easy to get around.

    Am learning a lot

    Del Mar has a wide range of amiable and knowledgeable professors, that are willing to help you get through classes and to help get through the program any student may be interested in.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think campus is pretty safe here at del mar college. not too many problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi sigma phi theta kappa

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    don't really know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    del mar is good for the price your paying for college. classes are cheap and exciting

    What to do for fun

    they don't really have that many activites there to do for fun. they should a gameroom and snack bar.

    Food and Dining

    the food is a bit expensive. i think they should lower the prices on the food in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    del mar college doesn't have dorms because it a community college

    Academic Rigor

    this college is challenging for student here. a lot of homework and class work

    Tips for prospective students

    to be prepared and to be on time and work extremly hard.

    In three sentences

    i think this college is great it offers a lot of programs for student to earn a degree. i would rate it a 8 from 10 being the best. it is a little small for a campus

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    every class that i took was definetly worth the money.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard. strive for the best. study, study, study!

    In three sentences

    del mar has great teachers who really care about education. the hometown atmosphere is amazing. this college is very affordable!

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    it a lot to do in corpus christi

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come in the will help you

    In three sentences

    Best college to be.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Del Mar doesn't have dorms for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Affordable and great if your interested in a two or four year degree plan. Del Mar also offers lots of help and groups to help you pass your classes.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a reasonably priced community college. Del Mar has great 2 year programs to earn your degree fast. I chose Del mar because both of my degree plans are two year programs here.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good security always patrolling around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Slow-learning students or students that don't know exactly what they want to do yet.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a quality education for a tuition that won't make you cringe and have a heart attack.

    What to do for fun

    The campus holds many activities for those who want to branch out and have some fun with new people, like video game or karaoke nights. There are constantly new events being held and there is also plenty to do in the city of Corpus Christi, TX.

    Food and Dining

    The small cafeteria serves pretty appetizing food and has a nice salad bar but the lines can get long at times. Reminds me of a typical high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Being a relatively small community college, there are no dorms on campus. However, there are plenty of apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Since my first semester, I have never felt particularly challenged when it came to my classes and work. I might have felt overwhelmed at times but never once have I felt that I was given something that I couldn't accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register early for classes as they fill up quickly and don't judge a book by its cover. You will meet plenty of new and interesting people while attending here and the teachers are very good at what they do.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a good school for those who want to gently be put into a college atmosphere at a slow pace. It is a good beginner school for those that aren't quite ready to go into the big leagues, not to mention it is particularly cheap.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs

    Food and Dining

    Very Delicious.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Its great

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    They have Great Teaching. They want you to succeed. They provide great opportunities.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Harvin Center is the dining area at Del Mar. The Harvin Center has various types of food, so a student doesn't have to leave campus in order to recieve a delicious meal. Also, the Harvin Center has different forms of entertainment throughout the week. Socializing with fellow classmates is a major plus to the Harvin Center.

    Dorm Life

    Currently, there are no dorms at Del Mar.

    Academic Rigor

    How rigorous a class is depends on the class itself and on a students individual ability to tackle certain tasks. At Del Mar, the kinesiology classes are not rigourous, but the science classes are extremely rigourous.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar is a prestige college that has many opportunities for the average person, determined to recieve their associates degree. There are various types of degrees that you may obtain at Del Mar. Del Mar is a well-rounded school that will help anyone gain two years of necessary education.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work and don't have time to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pricey and some of it is good.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry I can't answer this. I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Del Mar College encourages student to study and get tutoring or visit with them to figure out how they are studying and if it is working for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to prior students and get there input on teachers and there teaching views.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and Del Mar College has a great nursing program. The people are nice and helpful. The tutors are very helpful and nice.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's good for competitive, local students.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small campus, they have some get togethers, and fundraiseres, but I've never gone.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried their food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I love this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a big, fast paced campus, Del Mar is not it. But if you want small, clean, and competitive you've found the right school

    In three sentences

    Del Mar is a clean school. Del Mar is a small school. Del Mar is a competitive school.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every Student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I especially like the Speech Lab. They allow parents to come in with their children and also have private rooms for the parents with younger children. They also allow children to get involved and have access to the computers as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Over all the classes are smaller than a 4 year college so there is much more one on one learning going on. The classes cost is much less than a traditional 4 yr, and there is computer access for every student and even availability for a family atmosphere for those parents who just are not able to have a sitter that day.

    What to do for fun

    Learn.

    Food and Dining

    Everything is yummy.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyday, and with every class I learn something new about the boundaries to which my mind has the capacity to absorb the information that I am being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready, give it your all, and then push yourself even more. It's worth it.

    In three sentences

    My experience here at Del Mar College has been nothing but top notch. Everyone here is so eager to help in any way possible and I couldn't have asked for a better school to enroll in to better educate myself. I feel that this whole experience has helped renew my confidence levels to an all new extreme.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The city is small but has many attractive attractions. It takes about 15 minutes to get anywhere. La Palmera mall is a excellent place to shop for new school clothes and has a small indoor playground and even a train for the kids or just the kid at heart. The downtown beach is the perfect place to cool off as well. There are also many other attractions downtown like the Art Museum and the Science and History Museum. If you love Sea creatures we also have The Texas State Aquarium that has a fun dolphin show for everyone to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many options from tacos to wraps.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not have any dorms but many of the apartments do offer discounts to students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have much studying to do but thankfully the school has a great library and a fantastic math lab that gets me through those tough questions I might have.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must do all your paper work early so everything gets done by the due date.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a great local school to attend at an affordable price. Its not to far and the campus is small so you never have to worry about being late to your next class. If you have children they also have a on campus daycare for the students at little to no cost to you with financial aid.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to get an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student success center is an outstanding facility and a great free service to all students.

    Bang for the buck

    Exceptional education for less than half the price of a major university.

    Food and Dining

    Great food on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determination and perseverance is the key to your success in anything you do. The only thing standing in the way of you and your dreams is you.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I have been fortunate enough to have some of the best teachers who want nothing more than to see you succeed. Del Mar college is a great school to start your future.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is on patrol 24/7 Very safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    High school graduates, single parents, and older students returning to school. Part/full time workers.

    Bang for the buck

    Del Mar College is cheaper than most 2 year colleges and the credits and very easy to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do on campus, such as going to the gym to work out, play basketball, swim, and there are even raquet ball and tennis courts.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is easy to get to between classes and the food is said to be good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Del Mar College is one of the most top rated community colleges in the nation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete all required forms on time and register early if possible to beat the long lines.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a diverse school that offers quality, affordable education that works around your life. The campus is in a central area that enables everyone to commute there without much of a hassel. The teachers and resources there help make the transition of going to college easy.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swimming indoor pool!

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is limited. Arrive early.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar is a wonderful college with plenty of resources for students. The learning labs are all helpful and the staff are very considerate. The cafeteria has fantastic food. The campus is close to home.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are the blue emergency alert poles everywhere, and campus police is always there, even when classes are not in session.

    Great for these types of students

    -Young -New to city life -Not ready to move far away from home -Have a job, kids, or any other big responsibilites (Lots of classes offered throughout the whole day, including evenings)

    Bang for the buck

    Great school if you're looking for simple, quiet, and just get through to get on to a University. They also offer plenty of two-year programs for those who lots of college isn't an option. Best of all, Del Mar is CHEAP!

    What to do for fun

    I work and unfortunately don't have the time to take advantage of all the clubs and intramural sports they have on campus, but they are always advertising them! I've even seen a flyer looking for some Ultimate Frisbee players--fun! Del Mar is in Corpus Christi which is hot most of the year, so you always have the beach! Bonfires and beach parties are thrown year-round. Make some friends and you'll see many!

    Food and Dining

    Not very many options, sad to say. Everyone can agree that junk-food is pretty delicious, but doesn't do to well for the body. (We don't need any help with the Freshman 15, or the Sophomore 20!) Although, on those days you forget to bring your lunch, they do have some healthy options, including tasty parfaits and wraps.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry, no dorms for Del Mar!

    Academic Rigor

    I give Del Mar four stars. If for some reason you have difficulty understanding something from your professors, Del Mar offers MANY student instructors, tutors, study groups, and programs to keep you on task and get you through your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1: Get your financial aid in early! Del Mar is notorious for withholding your money, and leaves many students in a bind when it comes to coughing up half of our tuition, on top of book expenses. Tip 2: Get to class! Most classes are small, and your professor WILL notice when you're not there. Tip 3: Avoid the Harvin Center from 12-1. It's a crowded, loud, nightmare! (Unless of course you're into that sort of thing) Tip 4: During registration, go as early as possible. The earlier, the better. After about 10 A.M., especially close to school starting, the lines are horrendous. Tip 5: I have three words for you: Stone Writing Center. They have a great reputation for helping out students with their papers. So if you're iffy about a paper, I definitely reccommend swinging by there and having them check your work. It's free and there for you, so take advantage of it!

    In three sentences

    Del Mar is a great transition for students from highschool to college with small classrooms, cheap tuition, a good-sized campus, and many great, helpful and understanding professors. However, they seem to lack in the general area of staff that are supposed to help students find their way through college. The financial aid staff and the counselors are not very helpful when trying to register for classes, often send us students in circles, and don't have any genuine sense of urgency or concern regarding students attending the school.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs!

    Food and Dining

    the food is really fantastic. its not your normal cafeteria food!

    Dorm Life

    we dont have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you always do what your supposed to. Never procrastinate on your homework. and always stay on top of the ball. if you do this, youll be sure to always succeed!

    In three sentences

    Absolutely an amazing college. i really wouldnt want to have attended anywhere else. i would recommend it to anyone fresh out of high school.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I get to eat my work!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms for you to stay in.

    In three sentences

    I am taking a dual credit class at this school and love it. The culinary program is great.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    What to do for fun

    beach

    Food and Dining

    A lot of restaurants

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly

    In three sentences

    It is a good Community College.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    is excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    from what i have heard about they are great.

    Great for these types of students

    it is a great institution for all, young and old yhey work hard to educate and to make you feel at home and welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not yet familiar with that yet

    Bang for the buck

    much more cheaper than a university

    What to do for fun

    they offer a lot i know, a gym and work out, and movies and shows and concerts, and other stuff that I can't remember everything, but it is great

    Food and Dining

    the food is phenomenal, i love it

    Academic Rigor

    Above the 5 star rating gold all the way

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you know what you want, and just make sure you keep communicating, you'll do fine, always check all your registration and financial up to date and again correspondence is very important, they are great at helping you to find every thing you need.

    In three sentences

    It is a good college, the teachers are considerate and easy to work with, although they try to be very thorough they care and help, and the college works well with it's students, I have been Blessed to been able to go.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is delicious but a bit overpriced. It is difficult to look for an empty table and as well it is over-packed with people. They also have tables outside the library so you could go ahead and eat there but I wouldn't recommend it during the summer time.

    Dorm Life

    Here at this location they do not offer dorms so I don't know what dorm life is like. I'm sorry i wasn't able to answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    Not being prepared for class is the main aspect of the challenges you face. You can forget to study for a major exam. Also forgetting your textbooks and materials.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some advice that I can offer is to attend every class meeting because if you don't you will be lost the next time you meet. Another tip is to read your materials before class so you could have a better sense of what the professor is talking about. Don't arrive late to class because that disrupts the entire class and lecture.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a great school if you like small classes. By having small classes it gives you the opportunity to communicate with your professor and ask for help. The professors will take time to help so you can understand the objective or topic.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Security is always taking rounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of fun and exciting clubs to be a member of. l am personally a huge fan of SGA as does a lot for the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are ready to go into College but are avoiding the hassle of being in a crowded lecture room. The class sizes at Del Mar are just perfect.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Friday morning l go in and sit on one of the couches in the librabry and read the weeks papers. From the local paper to the New York Times.

    What to do for fun

    So often we have comedians or singers come in to perform. But sometimes we just amuse ourselves at intramural events and competitions.

    Food and Dining

    I wish our caffeteria had more of a variety, however, the place is clean and the food is served fresh.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing, it is a commute College.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the instructors have a passion for what they teach, thus, they teach well, resulting in good grades. There are also free tutoring services if one needs help with a particular class.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The neighborhood is quite low-income. Sometimes, there are odd people walking around the outskirts of campus (East and West). However, you never feel unsafe. Security is always around the corner and you feel safe. If anything, watch out when crossing the streets if you park further away.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are fun. You meet many interesting people and have many events occurring.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who quickly want to get their license/certification or want to do their basics. I enjoy being a student here at Del Mar, and I'll miss it after I graduate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really know. Something always comes up and I get the news either through conversations in class or via online. You'll find something interesting going on.

    Bang for the buck

    It's about $3,500 per school year for overall expenses (if you're a full time student too). However, I would definitely not get textbooks at the campus or at the nearby stores (although Neebo has the best prices). I'm getting my textbooks online because they're priced lower.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is usually busy and loud, but it is lively. The food is great and if you disagree, there are some nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Even students from universities think the classes are tougher. But, if you have issues with a particular subject, there's plenty of tutoring in most subjects and the professors are nice if you have any questions during lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get used to writing essays. If someone has issues writing essays, he would be glad to know about the Stone Writing Center, which is great at helping students with their essays. There are tutoring services, the food is great, and people are friendly.

    In three sentences

    My only beef is the parking, because if you have morning classes, you have to get to school very early. However, I've had some incredible professors here. Say what you want about community colleges, I definitely recommend this college to anyone.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good prices for the curriculum.

    Food and Dining

    Not too much on campus.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. I have so many open options on the classes I want to take.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see a campus officer or polieman everywhere i go. i beilieve since the world is going crazy at the moment all campuses are increasing security. I have never had to use campus security before but by the amount i see available i believe the students are as safe as any other college campus.

    Greek Life

    There are so frats available that i have seen around school but they arent like the movie frats. there more educational in my beliefe. Then again i dont know what happens behind closed doors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from from Botany to Computer clubs to English clubs. Just about anything for everyone. Just cant be afraid to talk to people and get set up.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for low income students as Del Mar helps you pay for classes as long as ask for the help. They even have a payment plan which i have used before because everyone has hard times so its there if anyone needs it. Its also great for students who need to get there quick 2 year degree or transfer credits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since its a comunity college there isnt any traditions or locations that i know of. unless your talkin about the library restrooms where i have heard about some nasty stuff going on in there. GROSS!!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many colleges this campus is not too expensive and is affordable to students around the area and outside the area. There is Financial Aid available so dont be afraid to hit up the office and get some help.

    What to do for fun

    There really isnt anything to do on campus for fun. I mean you can bring your occasional ball for throwing or listen to music. but thats about it. maybe go to a musial conert if there is one going on. But its mostly an educationl based shool.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is fairly good. They have alot of choies and various varieties of food groups to choose from. I prefer the salad bar whih is my favorite beause it is charged by weight so u can pack on the greens and not pay an arm and a leg.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms onc ampus because its a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Academially i believe Del Mar is a bit rough. I dont know if its true but i have heard that its more difficult than A&M CC. But it has a good success rate. Again it all depends on the student and how hard you are willing to work to achieve your goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    I do encourage students to apply here at Del Mar and get classes done. It does have some great teachers who truly care about their students. Never believe what you hear about a college or a professor, because in the end it all depenndes on the student and how they want to learn and how far they will go to achieve there goals.

    In three sentences

    I rate Del Mar out of 5 stars a 3.5. Its lost alot of its accredidation after the whole nursing scandal that took place over last couple of years. Its a great shool, but it needs to regain its power once more for it to earn its great name again.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth here.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm here, it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Classes may seem easy, but you will definitely learn something from any teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all free tutoring, it does come in handy.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a real exciting institution with a ready to learn atmosphere. Everyone is real helpful and wants you to succeed. There is more free tutoring than you will ever need.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Only attend when your ready to give it everything you have in you, do not attend to fail, come with the goal of being an honor roll student.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar College is a phenomenal college, every single professor has bent backwards to help as much as possible. There are several resources to ensure your success.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I have two high school children and I tell them now a days there is no reason not to succeed. Del Mar provides that can do attitude.

    In three sentences

    After being out of school for 15+ years Del Mar made it easy for me to enroll and stay on track. The professors are generous with their time and have a can do attitude towards their students. I look forward to transferring but will miss the small classes that come with Del Mar.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lot's of stuff to do in the Library - the reference librarians ROCK!

    Food and Dining

    The staff in the campus grill are very polite and friendly. And the food is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on this campus - Del Mar is a 2 year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Show up on time and demonstrate interest in each class, for it's your future. - Do the work! - Ask for help when you need it!!! You will be surprised how much your teachers want to see you succeed. The peer-tutor center saved my life. - Realize this is your life and make it what you want it to be!

    In three sentences

    Teachers make all the difference in the world and the professors at Del Mar are simply amazing. Even though I'm a non-traditional student, I feel inspired, motivated, and optimistic from the support and encouragement I've received from these educators. My 3.88 GPA comes not only personal efforts, but from the heart and soul of the college - the teachers.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you think this college is your only opportunity to college , think again , research , research again. There are other schools that you can benefit from.

    What to do for fun

    they have a bunch of programs and other stuff to do when not in classes. I know they update that every year.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is alright.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life since its only a community college since everyone that is going mostly lives around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    I hear that Del Mar is harder and more challenging than the University here in corpus.

    Tips for prospective students

    research your schools before applying and putting forth that effort. Its better in the long run.

    In three sentences

    Its a Great College for being a community college, But now since all the rules have changed due to the law about meningitis shot that is required prior to registration. I'm not able to attend, because of the cost. Since then I have researched other schools I can complete my degree at.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's camera's EVERYWHERE

    Great for these types of students

    Chill, laid back, outgoing personality.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are cheap!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared !!

    In three sentences

    It's a really great school, teachers make the classes into being a fun working environment. They have lots of neat programs and very helpful if your lost. They keep the campus a safe environment.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It never fells that I see security right after my classes; either in a vehicle driving around the parking lots or on bikes patrolling the campus where the vehicles can not enter. I've never had a problem not feeling safe on campus. I even remember a driver hitting a students vehicle one day and driving off with the security officers following after the person that caused the wreck.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list goes on and on. The campus always has an event or club that is getting together in planning gathering and entertainment for not just the students but for the city of Corpus Christi area.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. There are even students that come to this campus from their start of high school (9th grade). In a special program called Collegiate students.

    Bang for the buck

    School is always going to be expensive but considering everything that you get on this campus the money is will worth it. Classes are cheaper than most Universities at Del Mar but there is plenty of help to further your education like financial aid and scholarships. It is just up to you to take the time to apply and meet the requirements for these great opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There is a running track, a gym, a pool, plenty of peer torturing, and video games at the cafeterias to enjoy some relaxing time after classes or during lunch.

    Food and Dining

    Great selection of food. Everything from breakfast to lunch till five o'clock. Serving food like tacos, burgers, sandwiches, and healthy salads.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but to me that is a positive thing. Cost efficient and parking efficient.

    Academic Rigor

    Plenty of torturing on campus but after campus closes there are meeting and educational events that happen every week on campus and outside campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in to the registers office and start your engines to knowledge. Ask for everything you need to get enrolled and everything will fall into place. Every door is open in this campus so don't be afraid to ask questions or get advise from students or councilors. This campus is well organized with classrooms near each other and and all the help you can get with places like the library and technology rooms.

    In three sentences

    There are many great opportunities to learn and expand your mind with knowledge and skills for your future. The teachers are great instructors to the point that all you have to do to get help is ask. Though it is only a two year college, it the best place to get you associates degree at a lower price.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The harvin center is great for people who just want to kick back, hangout and de-stress. The library is great for individuals that want to get work done and if you have a project or something that requires a group to work together, you can get a room in the third or fifth floor in the library. They have chalkboards and they are soundproof to avoid distractions. The library also has a tv on the first floor and chairs to sit down and relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but a bit pricey. I do not eat on campus, I bring my own food. I find it beneficial in that you eat what you want and it is cheaper. For example if you ate pizza which costs $2, for a week you would have to pay somewhere around $8 (depending on your schedule) plus a side item or drink. It would be cheaper to buy something from the grocery store for less of what you spend.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I can not give suitable criticism.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and interesting.

    In three sentences

    It is easy to get around campus. It is a friendly environment. The teachers are nice and helpful.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very cheap, education is remarkable, A+ option in my opinion

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports and events. Various Clubs.

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria, small but perfect for the amount of students.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to work for an A, but it is achievable at Del Mar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take granted that Del Mar is a community college, the curriculum is just as hard if not harder than a university.

    In three sentences

    The education you receive from Del Mar is amazing. Classrooms are small so the professors will learn your name, and be able to work with you one on one if needed. Nice student life.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I don't know a lot about the quality of the many different programs at Del Mar, but the fine arts department is great! I am not any type of art major personally, but have taken an art class and have a friend who is an art major and one who is a music major. Both the art and music programs are amazing, and I've been told that the art department at Texas A&M Corpus Christi is rather disappointing compared to Del Mar's.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is VERY cheap compared to large universities, the most money you spend will of course be on books.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually lots of campus activities going on, especially with the fine arts department there are often music concerts, art shows, and dance recitals that you can attend. There are also some clubs available to join as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria area in the Harvin Student Center, but I cannot say how it is because I have never eaten there.

    Academic Rigor

    With the smaller class sizes, teachers are able to cover more material in more detail, so you will be getting a more plentiful education here. It is not necessarily too difficult, and there are lots of resources (Student Success Center, Math Learning Center, etc.) and lots of tutors available to help you when you're having some trouble.

    In three sentences

    Del Mar is a great place for people to start their college endeavors while staying at home. As a community college, it is much smaller than the universities and there are lots of resources for students if you need extra help and attention.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to make the best of your schooling and try as hard as you can

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors, at least in the business fields, also apply what they teach to the real world. The accounting Professors have there own accounting firms in Corpus Christi or the surrounding areas, and know what questions or events come up in different businesses. Every Professor that I have had pushed me to be do the best that I could, and always said to never give up.

  • 10/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of fun events

    Bang for the buck

    21 love to be with friends 5million dollor

    What to do for fun

    Sing and party

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Attitude awesome great favorite

    In three sentences

    It is awesome