Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Delaware County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for student who like to be in a close knit community with other fellow students and their instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead of the game and stay up on any work that may be due. Time flys when you have a full load.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same fullfillment education wise from Delware county as you would from a four year school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoyed being here because I was able to get a four year courses from a 2 year college for less.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned more than I though I would. I didn't think I would gain much because it was a communit college but I have.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem.

    Greek Life

    Honor's Society Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    A LOT!

    Great for these types of students

    Regular, Loud, Fun, Studious, Creative, Smart, Snarfticious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Blood drives! Being totally awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely you get a terrific education and the school doesn't make you break the bank.

    What to do for fun

    Lounge

    Food and Dining

    Burlap & Bean

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Imagine the things you don't know... that's what you'll learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any problems talk to your advisor, they are GODS!

    In three sentences

    Ratemyprofessor.com! Craigslist/FB search for books! Enjoy, seriously it goes by fast and then you're standing at graduation like.. how the hell?!

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ones who like to learn

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want the best? Consider DCCC

    Tips for prospective students

    Compare tuition but make resource comparison your top priority. DCCC may not have as many majors as other community colleges but they have to resources to get you where you want to go.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types - part time, full-time, adult learner, just graduated from high school - you name it! This college will work with you to help you succeed and knows how to deal with all types of students!

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses are just as rigorous as any college - be prepared to work and learn!

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    parking is huge and there a lot of security!

    Clubs and Activities

    alot of them and different types from a-z

    What to do for fun

    there is sports, different types of clubs but not at every campus.

    Food and Dining

    i have never eaten there but heard the food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm, you have to commute.2345

    Academic Rigor

    great teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    do what your teacher says. read the chapters ahead of time and review before class. do your homework, if required, on time. follow the rules of the school.

    In three sentences

    if you like a high school type of learning and have a tough schedule to work around. counslors will sort of work with you, depend on counslor. good school to get stupid classes out of the way of your major.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do as far as extracurricular activities, but socializing is key to having fun at the college

    Food and Dining

    There is no food at the Southeast campus, but the vending machines are pretty cool.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for any of the campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    The down to earth professors understand you are a student first, but you also have other priorities too. They usually wont overload you with work as long as you keep up with the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your work. In college, nobody is going to remind you and make you do your work everyday. It is a huge responsibility and maturity change attending college so be prepared for it.

    In three sentences

    I attend the Southeast Center Campus and is a small campus. It is beneficial to me because of the small student body because it allows more teacher student interactions. I find this college to be a good one for a community college.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    they offer a lot of different degrees and are supportive of their students. i've attended off and on, and now that i know my career track, i've gotten a lot of information and support from the transfer office and nursing department.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always 2 security guards on duty when the school is open, whether there are classses or not. also, every so often a deputy checks out the parking lot for any suspicious behavior.

    Greek Life

    no greek life for us.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many sports available at the main campus, (marple, pa), but at the campus i attend, (downingtown, pa), it is very small and we do not have sports teams. however, we do have a number of clubs and activities that the student can be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    dccc is an achieving the dream college which means everyone is accepted because they believe everyone deserves an opportunity at obtaining some type of degree. it is great for working adults becuase they have very flexible hours and classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus events directors like to keep their students happy so every so often they will host free events such as stuffed animals (like build-a-bear), chocolated fountain with dipping treats, and pizza parties.

    Bang for the buck

    dccc delivers great education at an affordable cost. it is a community college which means no on-campus housing or meal plans, which saves a ton a money for both students and parents.

    What to do for fun

    dccc has a nice sized gymnasium and also a beautiful outdoor patio which is a great hang out for students inbetween classes.

    Food and Dining

    we only have vending machines and no hot meals available.

    Dorm Life

    dccc is a community college which means there are no dorms or on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    the faculty and staff go above and beyond to ensure the student schedules are perfect for transferring to a 4 year institution and they help every step of the way. teachers are available many times during the day for help and 24/7 through e-mail. the are motivated by the students' success.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students, mainly freshman, need to be openminded and ready to learn. they have to have the desire to better themselves with a secondary education. teachers and faculty at this school are very helpful and encouraging because they do truly care about the students.

    In three sentences

    dccc is an excellent school for freshman and sophomores to start off because it delivers a great education at an affordable price. small classes means a smaller teacher to student ratio which offers a greater personal experience. they also have a learning resource center that offers plenty of tutors and extra help that is always available, on campus or online.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for those students who do not like to be around large crowds. The campus is small but not too small. You are not walking into people just to hurry to your next class. The atmosphere of the student body is quite friendly.

    Food and Dining

    Never really ate on campus except one time when i was having a problem scheduling my courses online. The food was good though. I usually get to campus go to class and leave grabbing a bite to eat on my way home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically speaking I did not expect the work to be on the difficulty level that it was on. I cam from Penn State than transferred to Delaware County I do not know why but i expected the work to be easier. Do not believe the lies that community is like 13th grade it is not true at all. It helps with the transition between high school and higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for all prospective students do not wait too long to schedule your classes. If your start date to schedule for summer is march 13th you need to be looking march 13th. Yes, it is true that you have until May to schedule your classes. But, the truth of the matter is that all the good classes, good as in times, get filled quickly. Try taking online courses, personally I love them they are extremely flexible and I tend to do better because it pushes me to work harder.

    In three sentences

    I would give this school high ratings. The professors are quite interactive, and they are there for you when you need them even when not during office hours. The campus is beautiful and peaceful, you can sit on the bench on a nice day study and not worry about all the noise around you.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i am a soccer play at dccc

    Food and Dining

    food and the lobby is really in a great position

    Academic Rigor

    everything is really well-organized at dccc

    In three sentences

    this is a great school it gives me so much opportunity i would like to inform many students to attend this school.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a constant security presence in the parking lots and I have not seen or heard of anyone having their cars broken into. Security officers patrol the school occasionally and there is an office of Security located in the main building to report any problems.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety. It is fairly easy to start a club if one isn't already hosted at the College. The types of clubs and activities range from Gay-Straight Alliances, to History clubs, to Black Gentleman's Organizations. Some of the sports include tennis, volleyball, and basketball. They even have your traditional chess clubs and World Culture groups. Delaware County Community College is home to Phi Theta Kappa, an honor society for two-year colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    You must be driven, motivated, and have goals in mind to succeed here. The work load may not be the most difficult but the more that you take on here, the better off you will be. DCCC is also great for those financially-conscious: the first two years here are NOT bad at all and whether you have an Ivy league, Private, or State school in mind for transfer schools, you will save money in the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    As was stated before, it is what you make of it. The tuition is very bearable and financial aid is available, though the people working in the finaid office are not always the most pleasant. People here are fairly driven provided you find yourself in the right crowd: many people have the goal of transferring especially if you're in classes geared towards transfer degrees. The networking is there if you seek it out.

    What to do for fun

    DCCC is not a mecca for partiers or campus fun. It is what YOU make of it. If you get involved, the organizations here host trips to NYC and DC occasionally, which is always a fun trip. The few sports that are hosted here allow you to meet new people and forming friendships make the whole CC experience a lot more enjoyable. It is also fairly easy to start your own club so don't be hesitant if you have a few people who share your interests in a sport or activity to try to make it an official college group.

    Food and Dining

    Extremely expensive and mimics your traditional high school food: fries, pizza, more junk. Their sandwiches are made to order and are worth it, if you're in the mood to spend a little in the cafeteria. It makes more sense to drive to the local WaWa for lunch, though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here; DCCC is a commuter school. The parking lot can be atrocious.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the most rigorous of classes are here, however if you are struggling in a class, there is help available in the form of tutors and even some professors will spend extra time with you during office hours. My high school was more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you're attending a community college for financial reasons, take some serious advantage out of it. Going to Delaware County Community College with the prospect of transferring out after the due amount of credits and classes are taken, will open you up to a world of scholarship possibilites. Many schools will offer scholarships just because you are a transfer, however, the majority of the money will come out of your GPA and participation. Take CC seriously, earn good grades, work a job, and try to be involved: it'll look good on a transfer resume and it'll teach you a thing about time management and work ethic.

    In three sentences

    Campus would be a lot nicer if the majority of the population didn't smoke: they are everywhere and walking outside on a nice day can be like strolling through the smoke section of a bar. The amount of student organizations here on main campus are fairly high in variety for a community college and if you enjoy participating in more than just your classes, you'll find something to do. The professors teaching full-credit courses, not so much the remedial classes, are wonderful and have plenty of time for you outside of class.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I know there are always safety patrols during normal campus hours.

    Great for these types of students

    DCCC is great if you have a full time job like myself, you have the option to take almost all classes online or at night.

    Bang for the buck

    $300/credit hour seems a bit expensive to me for a community college. On top of that, most books are books written by or solely provided through the University and are EXTREMELY expensive. I just shelled out close to $300 to for two books for my summer session

    Academic Rigor

    I guess this largely depends on the professor and course level but thus found I have found all classes to be an easy A if you simply turn in the work on time and are diligent about taking notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the coursework to change drastically from the syllabus your professor provides you at the beginning of the semester. Also prepare to get out of classes early all the time. That may seem nice, but because of the the work load at home is almost double what I was used to.

    In three sentences

    Unfortunately, there is nothing too special about DCCC. It does however provide an education for those with unusual circumstances- there are many night classes and online classes available as well as multiple campuses. I feel the teachers do not adequately prepare students who plan to transfer to 4 year institutions though.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there's a whole lot of activities and club. I couldn't join one because i was so busy with schoolwork and my part time job.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it. It is even cheaper than the community college of Philadelphia.

    What to do for fun

    When i'm not messing around and trying to fix some old computers that i play video games, and watch movies with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There's no meal plan at least none that i know of. So you have to pay from your own pocket. The food itself is alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure to do all the work that is assigned by your instructor; even if it's too much just bear with it. You will be thankful later.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college. You get all the help you need from instructors. The parking lot is always full; if you have a car your doomed.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every floor has at least 2 security officer. The campus has security cameras inside and out. Out side near the parking there is phone lines to make emergency calls

    Greek Life

    There is Greek clubs available

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers many activities. The school offers workshops to improve life in general. There is many different clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    students that need flexible hours. Students that love to learn. Students that want to later tranfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the end of spring, the school does hold an college festival fill with music and games. They do blood drives and Blood test screening. They offer workshops to help deal with personal issues and better school managements.

    Bang for the buck

    As part of you tuition the school does offer you 300 free papers for any project. The school offers computers that you are able to rent if you are not able to buy one for yourself. The school also has book programs for those that can not offered the academic books needed.

    What to do for fun

    Student can enjoy their free time in the student lounge with may computers available. The school does offer sports, art, aerobics any hobbies your are interested in. If you are like me, you can tutor other students which not only only help you retain information but help others also.

    Food and Dining

    They offer all different types of food but could be a little costly. The school does offer vegan friendly food and microwave for your frozen food if you do not want to buy any of the food. There are vending machine available if you are short with time and many areas you are able to sit and enjoy your meal.

    Academic Rigor

    Worth going and meets my needs. There is many options for career choices. The terminology is up-to date.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just listen with an open mind. Always ask for help even if it seems silly. Please take this seriously.

    In three sentences

    I would have to give high ratings for Delaware County Community College. The counselors are there for your best interest. The professors want you to succeed.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has patrols and numerous emergency phones in the parking lots, however at night I get a little spooked. The patrols are constantly patrolling however.

    Clubs and Activities

    The poetry is alive at DCCC. The contest/performances are moving. The art is displayed all over the college walls, and is exquisite.

    Great for these types of students

    This school id great for students who are on a budget, are undecided, want a hometown experience. Media's slogan is it's everybody's hometown!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school newspaper reports DCCC bumper sticker sightings!

    Bang for the buck

    Since DCCC is a community college, you are really getting more than what you pay for! Many of the professors work at other much more expensive universities, so in that nature you are getting the same professor as students in Drexel and even John Hopkins! Double score!

    What to do for fun

    The college has theatre productions to attend. There Rose Tree park about a mile away which has free concerts all summer, and tons of fun activities through out the year. State Street, located in the same town is a strip of eclectic stores, bars, and restaurants. Second Saturdays of every month are always a treat there, when store owners offer their fronts to local music and art. There are also three playhouses quite close!

    Food and Dining

    I have to admit that I haven't used to the cafeteria because I am a night school student, but the cafe makes excellent chai lattes. The surrounding town however offers a myriad of delightful restaurants. This includes my absolute favorite La Na, a French Thia fusion. The options are plentiful on State Street.

    Academic Rigor

    This is really the student's choice. Every student needs to participate to their ability, so If you don't feel you have a lot time don't take as many classes. The college will definitely work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for the classes you would like to take fast, because they fill up fast! Buy your texts online because you can usually find the previous edition for around ten dollars, as opposed to around one hundred! (and most teachers don't mind).

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College can certainly stand up to other colleges. I have never been dissapointed with any instruction which I have received there; in fact I have only been impressed with teachers that have went out of their way for students to succeed. I highly recommend studying at DCCC, and you will be able to save some money doing so!

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    DCCC's flexible scheduling and affordability makes it a great choice for those returning to school after a long absence, working adults, single parents and those looking for a fresh start. It is also a great place for young students who are not quite sure what they want to major in.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is extremely affordable, and the quality of education is excellent. I feel well prepared to transfer to a four-year college.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers several sports, such as Softball, Volleyball, and dance classes.

    Food and Dining

    Although the cafeteria food is good, the hours of operation are limited and the only choice for evening students is the coffee cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply,

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Math/Science major, so my courses are quite rigorous. I have found that all classes do require much reading and writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Science courses fill up early, so sign up as soon as course selection begins. Make an appointment with a transfer counselor to be certain that your courses will transfer. Don't be afraid to take a class that is out of your field of interest. You'd be surprised what you find out about yourself. The online courses are flexible, but plan on spending at least 6 hours a week on coursework and homework.

    In three sentences

    DCCC offers students a wide range of courses with excellent professors. The curriculum is challenging, and diversified, offering a number of on-line, hybrid, evening, day and weekend classes. The credits easily transfer to many quality colleges and universities.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone whose looking to save money before going to a 4 year college or looking for a flexible college schedule!

    What to do for fun

    Since DCCC is a commuter college you're basically doing the same things you've been doing for fun which makes going from high school to college an easy transition.

    Tips for prospective students

    DCCC is a great college to start at to save some money and get some of your classes done. The teachers are all really nice and helpful, your bound to succeed!

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. Great People. Great cost saver!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe for there is always a guard that I spot going into the school. They patrol the grounds and safety is key.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students, mom rejoining the workforce, moms that work full time, people changing careers.

    Bang for the buck

    In a way I don't want to transfer away from this school. It has helped me to grow so much over the past two years. The teachers are always helpful, as are the tutors. Never could I have ever imagined that going back to school would help me to grow even more in my adult years. I love DCCC and what they have done for my life.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    I rarely dine at the school, but what they offer to those that do looks appealing.

    Academic Rigor

    I like the challenges that I face in my courses, they are building a better me at DCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communication is key. As long as you do the work that is assigned you will get good grades. The tutors are helpful, the teachers are amazing. You get what you put out.

    In three sentences

    This school was the best choice for me. The teachers are amazing! DCCC has shown me that I can make my dreams come true.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is highly responsive and respectful of the student body.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The schools honor society is a great way to help push yourself as a student and make you a competitive student upon enrollment into area colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to work collaboratively in a multi-cultural environment will enjoy working alongside some of the regions diverse demographics.

    Bang for the buck

    DCCC is worth its expense which is only a fraction of the average university tuition. The schools great facilities, professors, tech department and amazing partnerships with area universities make it the choice for the first two years of any college student who is paying for college out of pocket. It is also a great way to explore different career fields without the cost, and or hassle that most colleges incur. As a Biochemistry, and Business Management major I chose DCCC to help me start in my academic journey as a I pursue a dual bachelors program prior to my transfer to Temple University.

    What to do for fun

    Joining the clubs, sport teams, and recreational intramural's are some of the best ways to wind down from class and get yourself in shape. DCCC has some great facilities for all students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food here has stepped up in terms of quality since my first semester, however that has also raised the prices. To avoid unhealthy options for breakfast simply just pack a lunch or enjoy paying what can become an expansive breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    This is not a campus at which students can live.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of this institution reflects what most modern day universities expect of their student bodies. Everything from the code of ethics, class attendance policies, lectures, and hands on learning students are taught that their grade is dependent on the quality work they produce.

    Tips for prospective students

    For a prospective student my advice would be to take each and every class as seriously as possible since the course work you receive here is only a fraction of what 4 year universities require of their students. This college is a great start for someone who wants to learn more about different fields and the careers they contain, and also be exposed to a widely diverse student body. Lastly, if you are a full-time student here do not work anywhere that requires you to arrive late to class or to bed late, though the course work is not always intensive every grade you get counts so give it your best at every chance.

    In three sentences

    The Marple campus which I attend, features beautiful modernist furniture and great panoramic architecture. Aside from a great campus life, DCCC is home to some of the regions most hands on instructors, most of whom teach also at partnering Universities, allowing you to receive quality instruction from University level instructors. Class sizes are small and the college has great education technology available for all courses.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to join, such as the honor society Phi Theta Kappa, business society, multicultural club, band, religious clubs and many more. There is always a festival every year where most clubs will provide food from a certain country and the entire student body can come and have a bite of it without being charged.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There are two main cafeterias in the campus. There are not that many choices of food to choose from but the price is reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    Many people say that attending a community college is an easy way to get a degree. That is not the case in DCCC. Students still have to work to earn their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs and organizations as possible as it is a great way to make friends and connections. Take advantage of its career and counseling center for any issues regarding to choosing a major or transferring to a 4-year institution.

    In three sentences

    Attending Delaware County Community College is an affordable way to get education. For its price, the education is considerably great, just like many 4-year institutions. New and modern facilities are equipped to assist students in learning.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good food just on pare with a good cafeteria of a corporation.

    Dorm Life

    There are none. No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The core courses are hard with the high work load, but the information is given in a slow pace. The electives tend to be easy, and are great way to get good experience related to the major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every thing sould be done early. If you are not early you are late. There is some one there to help you just ask the right questions. And most important kindness opens new doors.

    In three sentences

    To explore your potential, and the possible careers you may not have thought of DCCC is the place to be. The courses are harder then one would expect, making it more rewording. The campus is growing and becoming more modern as the campus is expanding rapidly.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is nothing to worry about here at DCCC simply because this community college offers such a peaceful atmosphere full of well mannered staff and students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Engineering Club, Chess Club, Science Club, African American Society, Multicultural Organizations, and a lot more groups are available to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Low income or Money saver Students, Undecided or I think this is what I want to study Majors, First Year or No one that I know attended college before Students, Second Degree or This economy is tough, I need a trade Pursuers, and everyone in between should attend this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With Ridley Creek State Park nearby, Delaware County Community College's Main Campus seems to be located in a remote setting far from the hustle and bustle of Philadelphia's Center City.

    Bang for the buck

    My education is paid for not because I received scholarships, but because financial aid covered the entire cost of attendance here at Delaware County Community College. The only things that remained were the cost of my books and my morning coffee.

    What to do for fun

    Form study groups, hang out with friends in the lounge, participate in Wednesday's Yoga class or Thursday's Boot Camp located in the fitness room, even join the Phantoms as they strive for the playoffs in Basketball - there's a ton of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    From cafes, lunch rooms, and coffee stands, DCCC offers a wide selection of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    DCCC does not offer any On-Campus or Off-Campus housing or living arrangements, but with several campuses located throughout the Delaware County area, commuting is not an issue.

    Academic Rigor

    All of DCCC's Science, Reading, and Math courses are set to challenge students while preparing them for furthering their education at an ivy league institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and stay involved, perform well in all classes, express any concerns or hesitation to any DCCC staff member - they will be sure to guide you through any process whether it be changing majors or finding a class schedule that caters to your needs.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is one of the best community colleges to attend because of staff involvement, student participation, and affordable rates. This community college will set any student, no matter their background or history, on the path to success. DCCC excels in student development through their profound transferring agreements and internship opportunities.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think Delaware County Community College is a good school. you learn the similar material that you do in a 4 year college, but for less money and most teachers can help students more because of the smaller class sizes

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias in the school, which is grate. The food is good, but pricey. The good thing is everyday there is a lunch special and the lunch ladies are extremely nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is a little rigorous depending on your major and class you are taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in to the school with an open mind because some of the professors are unconventional, but grate professors and they will guide when you are struggling.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is a grate place to start off especially if you do not know what you want to major in or just want to work your way up to a 4 year degree. The consolers help you a lot with transferring and guidance. People there are friendly and the place is full with diversity also there are clubs or activities for everyone there, which is grate.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Regular patrols with call boxes everywhere and great lighting

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided students, returning adults, students trying to save money on school

    Bang for the buck

    You get a high level education for a fraction of the cost and almost every class will transfer for full credit to a larger institution.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs, intramural sports teams and organizations to get involved in while attending.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is not really a cafeteria, just a small dining area with a small variety.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just challenging as any other college and the workload is just as heavy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research you opportunities prior to choosing a major. You never know what scholarships, co ops or transfer agreements are available. Choose your major then your school. You will have an all around better experience.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County is a great school to begin your education if you want to pursue a bachelors degree. It is also a fantastic school to gain technical education and learn a trade. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the selection of majors is endless.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would like to say that since I been attending I haven't heard anything negative going on, I would also say that it has to be the security doing its job.

    Greek Life

    I'm not really into the Greek life so i wouldn't really know.

    Clubs and Activities

    DCCC has sports and all types of other clubs and always are having some type of event going on.

    Great for these types of students

    DCCC would be a great for parents and workers because the school is very flexible with there schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college, is doesn't cost that much and its a good educational college.

    What to do for fun

    I would say just stay tune with the events that the school be having. (sports, plays, etc...)

    Food and Dining

    The couple of things that I have ate from the school was fresh and always ready, I really cant say to much about this.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure your focused and always on time.

    In three sentences

    Delaware county is a very great school. It helped me out a lot, by attending DCCC I have gained a lot. I actually enjoy going to school now because it really gives me opportunities to become better in life.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. All the entrances and exits are in plain view. security is readily available throughout the buildings. Call phones are placed at every level of the parking lot. The parking lot is well lit and very visible. I have never had a problem at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for tuition here is unbelievable inexpensive. It makes you wonder why anyone would NOT go here, because they could get the same credits here that they received at other schools, but for half the price.

    What to do for fun

    The cafteria at Delaware County is a fantastic place to hang out with your friends, do some homework, or meet new people. It is a very open environment, and you meet new people every day.

    Food and Dining

    There are no food stations or trucks within the campus limits, but there are multiple restaurants within a very short driving distance of the school.

    Dorm Life

    I am attending the Downingtown Campus on 322. There are no dorms at this campus, so i have no experience with the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor of Delaware County is very good. Its courses are challenging, its teachers are professional, and the overall atmosphere of the college is geared towards student success.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a very inexpensive and effective way to receive many transferable credits. This school is serious about education, and is dedicated to helping its students succeed.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College has given me everything I had hoped to find in its programs. Its teachers are professional, its staff are understanding and will work with you, and the buildings are always clean and up to speed. I would recommend this college for other students in the area.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    join clubs and study

    In three sentences

    Great school, a lot of helping giving

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs available on campus. Plus make it easy to start your own. The college also offers incentive programs, and several different events.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, Adults, Continuing Ed, Paying Out Of Pocket, Ambitious High School Students, Very Competitive Prospective Nurses.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazingly affordable. You get a steep discount for living in a sponsoring school district, as well. For less than $7000 per year, you can get a real education.

    What to do for fun

    Learn! Plus this school is full of really great students and staff. Socializing is half the fun.

    Food and Dining

    Main campus has the good food, but if you head out to a satellite campus, prepare to starve.

    Dorm Life

    DCCC is a commuter college. No dormitories are available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recipe for success: Get your momentum going, stay interested and go to class. You will do well.

    In three sentences

    DCCC is full of affordable opportunities. The college appeals to all walks of life, and many different interests. This school is a great place to start your life.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe is it gets

    Bang for the buck

    its fun, the teachers i hhad are great

    What to do for fun

    clubs,meet new people

    Food and Dining

    its great

    Dorm Life

    sadly no dorms or housing is here

    Academic Rigor

    its ok

    In three sentences

    its ok but not much

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    depends on the campus you go to

    Food and Dining

    depending on which campus you go to

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Flexibility - a majority of your courses can be taken online

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak with a Career Counselor on helping you choose the courses you need to take for your career choice

    In three sentences

    Overall, it is the best college to start your career in and then possibly transferring to another college.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new people and roam campus exploring the different lobbies and also the nature scene surrounding the college.

    Food and Dining

    The caf���© on campus is quite tasty but can be expensive depending on what you purchase.

    Dorm Life

    I can not comment since I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was only challenged in a timely manner rather than a difficulty matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applied for financial aid to prevent delays and possible loss of classes, and also avoid purchasing books from their bookstore because online book stores ask for way less. Just another way to save your own money.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is a prime location to start your educational career. It also provides opportunities to complete a career here without going broke in the process.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Excellent clubs and Activities

    What to do for fun

    The college offer sports, aerobics, and other social activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is good.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, not familiar with the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor emerges itself into a variety of academic program, community services, and support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Each semester many students find they way through Delaware County Community College.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is flexible with my schedule, tuition is affordable and the college offer a wide variety of academic programs.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    its a community college, so you pretty much just go there and then leave and thats it.

    Tips for prospective students

    get your paperwork in early.

    In three sentences

    A pretty diverse campus--DCCC has students right out of high school as well as adult learners. The classes are pretty much what you make of them--it doesn't take a lot to get good grades, but most of the faculty seems pretty knowledgeable and willing to go deeper into a subject if you want to. All in all, it seems like one of the better and more affordable community colleges in the area.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers a great deal of various clubs and sports for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I really do believe the tuition is reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    The Downingtown campus has a basketball court in the lower level, so you can play a game with friends or just shoot basketballs around.

    Food and Dining

    I attend the Downingtown campus in Chester County, and they only have food and drink vending machines. I know the main campus in Marple has a Cafeteria that serves hot/cold food, but I have not attended this campus.

    Dorm Life

    Their is no dorm given its a community college. If you would need housing though, the faculty would be willing to help.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work varies for each class. I never have been over whelmed with the amount of course work given to me. The professors are very understanding and emphasis to ask questions if you don't understand something.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this school to any student interested. The tuition is very reasonable and most courses will transfer to other colleges if you're looking to transfer institutions.

    In three sentences

    I love the freedom my adviser left me to pick my own course schedule. She assisted when I had questions and was very nice about it, which I think is important. Also, the school sets up a variety of workshops throughout each semester and they are very interesting and eye-catching.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DCCC has the best campus safety campus security are always on top of everything and respond very quickly and extremely well to trouble or danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't really know too much about the activities bu dccc has a very good athletic program and a pretty good choice of sports to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    first years who just need to adjust to the college lifestyle. students who are troubled financially.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately DCCC does not have dorms because it's a commuting community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of any and every academic oppurnty often. Make a schedule for yourself so you stay on track. In college do not ever b afraid to ask questions about anything. Work very closely with your academic advisor DCCC staff really are very helpful and they care about the students best interest if the student cares.

    In three sentences

    Great community and positive atmoshpere. Outstanding staff and excellent oppurtunity. excellent and wide variety of degree programs.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    DCCC is great for anybody who actually wants to study rather then goof off.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I am tired I sometimes take a nap on one of the couches by the faculty offices on the third floor of the 'A' building, it's usually quiet and uncrouded, and the couches are comfy

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the best community colleges in the aria! The Nursing program is so popular that they had to place limitations on who can apply in the first place, and it is still very competitive to get in. Community colleges typically have small class sizes and this one is no exception. They are so good, I would expect them to raise their rates to those equidistant to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of classes in the fitness center including ballroom dancing and marshal arts. There is also an abundance of computers, and a lounge where student's often hang out.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice big caffiterea in the bottom of the administrative building, with a smaller branch in a central location. Burlap & Bean also operates 2 ceffe stands: one in the new STEM building where most people enter the school, and one in the 'Learning Commons' opposite the library.

    Dorm Life

    DCCC has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers try to be challenging, but they know that most people who attend DCCC have other obligations outside of school, so I think that they try not to give us more than we can handle, but still make sure that we actually learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the Student success class, and get a mentor for your first semester.

    In three sentences

    A modern campus with computers available in numerous locations. The fitness center in the New STEM building includes an aerobics room with a beautiful view. Great teachers, who have our best interest at heart, they are always accessible, during office hours and by email.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE SECURITY ON EACH CAMPUS

    Clubs and Activities

    DIVERSE AMOUNT OF CLUBS YOU NAME IT.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL TYPES AND STARTERS.

    Bang for the buck

    YES!!!!!!!!!!! WORTH IT !!!

    What to do for fun

    Our College travels, offers info sessions on life, C.E. continuing education, assistance in personal knowledge based info, free give a ways and college trips.

    Food and Dining

    I love their cafes. Some of food is health y and organic best of both worlds.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms just campus life they are helpful with college apartments to suit your needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Very prestigious curriculum

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to major in a Health Science Profession Degree DCC is the Best way to start off your new career path.

    In three sentences

    I am a very proud student to attend DCCC Delaware County Community college. The education is purposeful, the professors are over extending in help and I believe this college is convenient and that it pushes you towards greatness.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    DCCC has not one but two cafeterias available to students one open during the early part of the day and the other for students who have late day to night classes. Serving different meals everyday but have take out, fast food, and healthy and hearty meals as well.

    Dorm Life

    Has no dorms but has an exceptional amount of on campus activities, great campus life and a pretty good choice of athletics both men and women.

    Academic Rigor

    Delaware County Community college has some of the best teachers who also teach at other Universities and also have come from other Universities as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend Delaware County Community College just use every academic resource made available to you. Also use your Delaware county community college (delagate) portal it shows you what athletics, and campus activities are available to participate in every week.

    In three sentences

    Excellent variety of major degree programs. Amazing study locations, and great tutors in every subject. Very clean environment, and an excellent counseling staff if you are unsure of what major degree program you want to enter.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    yes. the teachers are very well qualified to teach here. It's as if you're going to a four year college or university just for a lot less money.

    What to do for fun

    you can join different clubs and organinzations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. I normally eat breakfast at home before I get here, so i'm not hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms. this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    your teachers always help out with things that may be hard to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your game here. Always turn in your work. Because you don't want your gpa to drop.

    In three sentences

    This school is very affordable. The class schedules are made to fit into your outside school schedule. You will have a wonderful experience here.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is sports teams. Many different clubs to join. Many different activities around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cheap and easy to access. There is something for everyone. The food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    We are a community college so there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be easy if you are paying attention. Do not expect to pass without working hard. If needed tutoring is always available online or on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your work. If struggling do not be afraid to ask questions. If you are confused set up appointments with your professor.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very new comer friendly. The work is challenging at times. The professor/student interaction is amazing.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    ... I'm not so sure about that...

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many groups that are available to people and there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, and passive people everyone can find something here, at least I that's my opinion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the woods out back during summer semester is a great place for study.

    Bang for the buck

    best place to get a head start for the less cost!

    What to do for fun

    varies on what you like and want to get involved in....

    Food and Dining

    pretty pricey, but if you need to grab something to fill you up it hits the spot.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here people commute.

    Academic Rigor

    If you have a serious and committed counselor then its bound to get really hardcore for your studies, if you're just as serious...

    Tips for prospective students

    Come having an plan, don't come switching major to major because you will never get done.

    In three sentences

    Found it, after high school, and that the work force wasn't going to satisfy my long term goals and dreams so I headed back to school immediately, granted I've made a few mistakes and they have cost me time but at least I was bright enough to come here in be out a few grand then be elsewhere and be out 40 grand... you do the math its quite simple.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the best parts of the college. The tuition rate is low, but it offers so many cool things such as kickboxing classes, workout areas, and daily issues of the new york times. All of these things together with the great teachers makes this college choice entirely worthwhile.

    What to do for fun

    There are boards posted all around the school with many different clubs and activities you can take part of, take advantage of it early!

    Food and Dining

    The food at the college cafeteria is creative, and always changing. As far as specials go, the college seems to offer every different type of cuisine there is. From chinese, to italian, to vegetarian meals, there's always something new to try, though, some of the dishes can be lacking in flavor.

    Dorm Life

    Because this is a community college, there are no dorms, but the campus is big and full of life and diversity among the students. From kids playing hacky sack in the courtyard, to playing card games in the Founder's Hall lounge, there's always something to take part in.

    Academic Rigor

    One thing about this college is that teachers from many different universities including Temple, Nuemann, and Montgomery County Community College come to teach at this school, so the academics will challenge you, and will prepare you for a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, this is a great choice for a college, one tip, however, is to take advantage of all of the opportunities from the very beginning. This school has so much to offer in terms of academic advising, different clubs, and academic scholarship organizations such as Phi Theta Kappa.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County is a great college for students transitioning into the post-high school world of education. It provides a great environment that is able to help students to hone in on what they might want to pursue career-wise. All in all, this school is one of the best launching pads for any student who wants to save money, and prepare themselves for a university, or even starting a career path.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I'm getting a great education. Programs are competitive Conducive to working mother lifestyle

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    A wealth of great clubs. Everything from an honor society (Phi Theta Kappa) to a Student-Run Radio (WDCR) to a great theater program and a modern rock band.

    Great for these types of students

    Low-income students Students who aren't decided on a major yet

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs, hang out in the lounge.

    Food and Dining

    You don't go here for the food. Typical cafeteria fare

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in activities at the school. DCCC offers fantastic clubs and opportunities for you to get involved with, and they are all worth it.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College's slogan is Find Yourself Here - and it's a slogan that I find to hold true. It may be a community college, but it provides a comparable education to a four-year school at less than half the price.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a kick boxing class just started this year. I also know that they have sports at the main campus.

    Great for these types of students

    DCCC is great for students on a budget, those just entering college and people returning to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of at the moment; it is only my first year.

    Bang for the buck

    To save money to pay for books for school, I always check the book store for used books or go to half.com

    What to do for fun

    There are activities through the school, but I prefer to do activities with my family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    Only the main campus has a dining area but the smaller campus does have machines to purchase snacks in a pinch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm live.

    Academic Rigor

    Expectations are high, but professors are willing to help you and tutors are available Mon-Thurs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a course in the summer to get accustomed to the expectations of college life.

    In three sentences

    I presently go to the Southeast Center because I don't drive and it is convenient by bus. It is a nice, small campus and most of the professors are helpful.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable!

    Dorm Life

    I do not think they have campus housing, but they do offer a Homestay Program which houses international students!

    Academic Rigor

    DCCC works at a very steady pace, as for most classes. It still involves hard work and a lot of studying, but not as much as some colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be fooled by the term community college. There is still a lot of work you have to get done, and you should take it as serious as you would at any higher university.

    In three sentences

    This community college has given me useful knowledge through its quality courses, and they are a lot more inexpensive than a typical university. Delaware County Community College gives educational opportunities to students like me, who's family is unable to help support me through the expensive costs of university tuition. This community college gives students a great head start to their college career with their high quality courses and affordability.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security constantly monitors the parking lots as well as the actual campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes plenty of good clubs and organizations to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    right out of high school, career change, working adults, going back to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a great workshop series called navigating leadership. They do workshops ranging from our school counselors teaching study skills to having famous poets, authors, and social activists come to the campus and do presentations and meet students.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it!!!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, aerobic classes

    Food and Dining

    a main cafeteria and then small cafes located throughout the buildings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek out all the services the school provides; get involved in clubs and organizations; become a tutor; get employment services; plan a smooth transfer; see a counselor; and most of all enjoy your time at DCCC.

    In three sentences

    A great college to attend. They have many benefits of four-year schools within a community college price.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is a really good community college that helps their students to start on their education. It is reasonably priced and it is a good college to fill up pre-requisites classes to transfer to another school. Delaware County Community College also a good school to just easily get a certified degree or an Associate Degree.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is present, although I'm not so sure how much they are needed.

    Greek Life

    There is only one frat, and I believe it is co-ed. But it is not your typical frat, it's a business frat.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Weird ones.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The weirdest people go here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very cheap and you still get college credits so it's worth it from that perspective.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. You just sit around waiting for your next class to begin.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all too bad, but it's also not awesome. Especially for the expensive price you pay for it, it just isn't worth it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It's really easy, but if you don't go to class it can pile up on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    A great tip would be to not go here.

    In three sentences

    I hate it here. It's really small, and I feel as though I'm back at a high school then rather at a college. The advisors aren't really helpful and it's really unorganized.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is now a tobacco free campus

    Greek Life

    the greek life is wonderful

    Clubs and Activities

    so many different clubs

    Great for these types of students

    the organizations

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing really unusual

    What to do for fun

    they have many sports to choose from

    Food and Dining

    the food is good

    Dorm Life

    It's a commute college

    Academic Rigor

    many majors to chose from

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, Attend every class and study.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is a great college. It is a great start on saving money. The education there is wonderful.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for all students

    Bang for the buck

    This college has changed my life. Confident that I can achieve my goal of earning a masters degree in the future. Proud to be a future Delaware County Community Alumni.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, watch webinars, and attend school functions'.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. The staff is very kind. The kitchen is clean, and the coffee is always hot.

    Dorm Life

    Many out of state students are able to live together. This college does not have on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    This College offers different sources to help students study. Included in the tuitions are tutoring services for students who may need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to seek help, and do not give up.

    In three sentences

    A great Community College with many degree choices! Great Professors and Staff members, who are inspiring. A school that is respectful to all students.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not that there really is much security on my campus (there's not), it's more that there probably doesn't need to be. I can't think of any motivation anyone would have to do the place harm. Since it's mostly older people seeking professional degrees, there isn't even enough teenage angst going around to worry about someone doing something irrational.

    Greek Life

    I don't even know what this means, but I'm assuming it's to do with fraternities. The only one DCCC has, that I'm aware of, is Phi Theta Kappa. Then again, they don't have any real presence at the college, since they're just an honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've looked at the full list of clubs, for all the campuses, and it is negligible. That's probably our (the student body's) fault, since we are supposed to start, run and attend them ourselves. Most students here have full time jobs/families/lives to run, and can't spare the time to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Virtually broke people who are going back to school after a long time out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I'm aware of on my campus, although there may be such things in Marple.

    Bang for the buck

    This is where DCCC really shines. My particular county doesn't even have a community college, and neither do quite a few others nearby. Without this college and all its branch campuses, I think many of the current students would have just never gone back to school. It's really the only affordable option without entirely relocating, and for some even doing that would be prohibitively expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Not a whole lot. Once again, my campus is in Downingtown, and it's the only one I can really speak for. The campus life director, who really puts in heroic efforts, does keep everyone entertained when he can. I understand there's some sort of gymnasium somewhere, but I haven't seen it. I don't think many people have.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus appears to have a variety of food options, including a coffee shop. My campus, in Downingtown, has a big cafeteria with nothing in it save for a few vending machines. One of them is for coffee, which I consider indispensable (see what I did there). Occasionally it just pours water. Other times it gives you coffee but no cup. In fairness, the campus life director organizes a few events per semester which always have good food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm, even at the main campus, so it gets three stars just out of ambivalence. I do wish it had one though.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't have any other institutions to compare this one against, so I can only guess at its comparative rigor. However, its rigor taken absolutely seems quite lacking. I consistently get A's on assignments that even I know are not A material. With each one I get back, I can't help but imagine what grade I would have gotten at some more reputable place of learning. Although it's nice for now, I know it will only cause difficulties down the road.

    Tips for prospective students

    Badger the staff with questions all the time. Ask them every last thing you can possibly think of, even if it doesn't seem important at the time. You won't believe the catastrophes that can be averted this way. If you have any financial questions, don't ask the almost useless counselors. Instead, ask the beleaguered and terribly overworked cashiers. They know everything the counselors are supposed to know (but don't) and they don't take two weeks to get an appointment with. Use Delagate all the time. Get the new app for it. Check the textbook requirements a few times right up until class starts, to make sure they haven't wantonly changed them all at the last minute. They do that. If you want to know exactly how much you need to pay out of pocket before a tuition deadline, choose the option to pay your bill with a credit card, under the records tab, and then just don't follow it all the way through. This is inexplicably the only way to find out. The bill won't tell you, since it fails to mention that various financial aid packages come through at various different times, many of them too late.

    In three sentences

    Best price in the entire area it serves. Definitely not the best college in the area. Possibly the only option for a lot of folks.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    working students

    Bang for the buck

    many campuses in the counties.

    What to do for fun

    sports theater art clubs are the best

    Food and Dining

    im vegan and they have options for me in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    i recommend you know what major you're passionate about.

    In three sentences

    Delaware County Community College is flexible. it has innovative tools to study. the school is very diverse.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police seen all of the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to choose from, but not as much (obviously) as a traditional university.

    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget who want to save for university, those interested in trades or apprenticehips, those interested in STEM careers (new STEM center) and on, and on...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of. However, there's some cool mini-woods behind the campus, though going too far would be trespassing. Saw some deer back there once!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great community college. Of course you're getting your money's worth. (In my opinion.)

    What to do for fun

    I've never participated in clubs, but DCCC has plenty. There are also presentations and fun events with free food. The amount of free information and valuable presentations by professionals is astounding- take advantage of it!

    Food and Dining

    I've never tried it so I cannot say, having always brought my own lunches. However, the coffee shops charge you an arm and a leg- TRY to avoid them, unless it's finals and you desperately need a coffee (like me).

    Academic Rigor

    As someone who spent a year at a university (Kutztown) previously, this is like college with training wheels. Look at it as an opportunity to get excellent grades before the real tough college classes begin. Also, some are still hard. Not all college classes are created equal, even community college classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have transportation (either bus, car, whatever) and send them in the mail all necessary documentation to register for classes. Learn from my mistake- I am a transfer who forgot to send in their high school transcript and had to rush in last minute to just make it in time to register. If you can handle 4-5 hours of classes in a row (with 10/15 minute breaks- enough to eat food, go to the bathroom, etc) DCCC has wonderful scheduling options so you can go to school only Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Don't slack on the classwork though! Very easy to get a 4.0 here- which you will want to get for applying to universities and scholarships!

    In three sentences

    So many options. Easy to learn how to go with the flow here. You personalize it as you wish.

  • 06/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers a variety of clubs that students can join.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the college and there are nearby stores if you wanted to get food in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any on campus living. So you will have to live nearby to attend classes. However, this school has many campuses in various areas of PA and also offers online classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt the classes I took challenged me and helped me to learn a lot in each subject area. The difficulty of the classes was reasonable and was realistically set up so that a high grad was achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I can give is to ask teachers for help whenever you are confused about anything. Don't be afraid to ask questions or visit teachers during their office times between classes. Also, the counselors are very helpful as well. I was having some trouble with an online English class and one of the counselors helped me by going over my essays with me before I submitted it.

    In three sentences

    This is a really nice community college that truly tries to help their students go in the right direction. The counselors and teachers help students whenever they can. Teachers are available to meet with students if they need extra help in the subject area and counselors help in college planning very well.