Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Delaware Tech. Comm. Col.-Stanton/Wilmington Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking to go to a college that can help you get your degree the smartest and cheapest way, then this college is for you. I did not plan on attending a community college just because of the name and my pride. But, I made the last minute decision to attend and get my prerequisites out of the way for way less money and then transfer to a university to further my education. So far I can say this has been one of the smartest decisions I habe made in my entire life and I don't regret it. I suspect you won't either if you're in this for a similar reason.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep in mind that just because it's a community college, that doesn't mean the classes are much easier. DTCC actually has a tougher grading scale than many Universities out there so my suggestion is to always be alert and on top of your classes. It will definitely help you in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    I received the SEED scholarship which is for well behaved Delaware high school graduates with a GPA of 2.5 or above. It pays for all my tuition for up to 6 semesters, excluding summer semesters, and I can say it's a true blessing to not have to pay tuition. It also pays summer semesters if your credits are eligible, too. However, for out of state students or students that graduated from high school awhile ago, there is plenty of financial aid available. Trust me, there are hundreds of scholarships that the college itself offers to its students. All you have to do is submit one application for all of them and the Financial Aid Committee decides who will get them. I have not paid for anything in the three semesters I have attended!!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is very peaceful, because it's a community college, everyone that comes here is really focused on getting their work done. The teachers are really friendly and down to earth ant they will work with you in any case. I have one of the toughest majors and the teachers and students really make it less stressful for me. The study areas are comfortable and private, which is great for when you want to study for an upcoming exam. However, there are also group study rooms that allow up to 6 people to study together.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Biotechnology major so all my classes have a lot of information to give and I have plenty to receive. Not only that, the math, English, and even the computer classes have taught me things I never knew of.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety is always there to help you.

    Clubs and Activities

    business club, vangaurd society,

    What to do for fun

    go to the gym. we have a lot of clubs here. go to the riverfront.

    Food and Dining

    we have a cafeteria with great varieties of good food.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life here but its a good place to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you study. be on time for class. go to the tutors for help.

    In three sentences

    they have a good academic program. the instructors are great. they have like 60 different majors to choose from.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and law enforcement are a constant presence. Upon arriving into the building, they ensure that everyone entering has a right to be there. There are also phones in the parking lot in the event there is ever an emergency where you need help. I feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    I do not have the time for these types of activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have several clubs and it is a great way to meet people with similar interests. You also have access to more scholarship information.

    Great for these types of students

    I hear that all of the campuses are supposed to align their nursing programs (every campuses is doing something different and grading is different as well). Hopefully, after that is completed, Del-Tech will be great for all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any at this time.

    Bang for the buck

    Get ready to blindly feel your way through your college experience. You can make appointments with advisers, only to discover they have nothing to do with your field and have given you misinformation that further sets you back. You will apply, apply, apply again for financial assistance only to never receive help. By the end of it all, you will learn that a two year program actually takes four or more years to complete. The best part of it all? It will be your responsibility to locate your teachers inaccuracies and not get paid for it.

    What to do for fun

    Classmates will gather after exams to vent our frustrations. It helps us keep our sanity when there are 80 questions on an exam and at least 1/4 of the exam was never presented to us.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate there, but I did buy several sodas that had expired. The cafeteria seems to be well kept any time I have visited there.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so I do not know how the actual dorms are. I do like the convenience of having multiple campuses in my area to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is tough, but it is the teachers that make it tougher. Some of the exams have material that was not in the lectures, readings, seminars, etc. Material presented by teachers sometimes contradicts what we learn in the books and at times the teacher will give information that goes against what they presented not even five minutes ago.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research. Look into all of your options. Check out the school's graduation rate, percentage of students that pass boards on the first attempt, and if you are able to find someone that attends the school you are interested in, find out what you can about the school/program.

    In three sentences

    Overall I would not give this college a good rating. Most of the faculty seems to be against it's students. Whether it is Admissions, Financial Aid, or the teachers themselves. There are a few teachers that are really good at what they do, but that doesn't appear to be the norm.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely enjoyed being at Delaware Tech

    Am learning a lot

    I learnt a lot at Delaware Tech but felt like they made you take classes which you did not very much.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is one entrance to the college and is guarded by security; photo id must be shown to enter. if one is not used to the city, the wilmington campus can be a little unnerving at first, but it is completely safe.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are not many sports available but there are a vast array of clubs in each of the majors.

    Great for these types of students

    delaware tech is great for working students because of its flexible scheduling and low tuition rate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    delaware tech has an excellent tuition rate for its top-notch courses.

    What to do for fun

    delaware tech has a gym that is free to all students and has very flexible hours. there are very few sports that are available as the school is located in the heart of wilmington. there are many clubs that are available to students.

    Food and Dining

    delaware tech has a cafeteria that accepts cash only. they have some healthy foods, however mainly serves quick lunches, such as chicken tenders and french fries. the bookstore has snacks and does accept credit cards.

    Dorm Life

    delaware tech is off-campus only.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are mainly lecture-based, as other instructors encourage group learning. tests are challenging, reading is required, and there are papers and journals due frequently.

    Tips for prospective students

    ensure that you arrive to the college early since there are more students than there are parking spots. speak with your advisor frequently as they will help you select the correct courses at the correct time; some are prerequisites and/or corequisites of others.

    In three sentences

    if i had to rate delaware technical and community college, i would give them 9 out of 10. delaware tech has instructors that care and will strive to help their students succeed in every way; the coursework is challenging, yet manageable for the working student. parking can be frustrating since there are not as many spaces as there are student.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If there are any questions you may have, do not hesitate to ask. The teachers/administrators are always happy to help.

    In three sentences

    I love going to this school. It's so friendly and caring. Everybody that works here actually care about their student's success.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have just started so I have not tapped into any of their activities as of yet...

    Food and Dining

    I work full time so by the time I get off of work, the cafeteria is closed...

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for the Stanton campus

    Academic Rigor

    For the time in which I've been attending, doing well in your academics seem to be of great importance.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both campuses are fairly safe.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the education is good but the price of books is expensive and when it comes to returning them, you do not get as much money back.

    What to do for fun

    There are various clubs to participate in but if it is possible schedule conflicts will prevent you from being able to participate. Other than the clubs there aren't many ways to have fun. To have fun socializing might be the best option

    Food and Dining

    The food provided in the cafeteria is pretty good depending on the campus some items are better than others.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion the curriculum isn't harsh at all for beginning students. The college level courses are seemingly perfectly matched for most students who are coming right out of high school.However the math classes are the true test of what you have actually learned in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips i have for future students is not to procrastinate in any way because it isn't beneficial. I would also advise students to choose their classes and schedule wisely.Another tip i have for students is if you are having trouble with the curriculum get help as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1-10 one being the worst and ten being the best i would rate the Stanton campus as a 8 because the environment is more professional and clean. On the other hand i would rate the Wilmington campus a 6 just because the environment feels like high school and resembles it as well.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No concerns

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like small classes

    Bang for the buck

    An inexpensive way to take basic, required courses

    What to do for fun

    athletic fields are at the Georgetown campus

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the school

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get your pick of Wilmington or Stanton. Don't take A&P over the summer-it is a lot of material in a very short time. Buy used text books if possible. Parking is a challenge-arrive early.

    In three sentences

    I took math twice and neither instructor completed the semester. Adviser had me enroll in a chemistry class I did not need so I had to take A&P over the summer-not good!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much for a student to do unless he or she makes their own plans with their friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work hard and study than your success is guaranteed.

    In three sentences

    It is a very capable institution with comfortable classes and excellent teachers.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are great clubs available pertaining to every of the majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Students coming directly out of high school and for those who wish to continue their education.

    What to do for fun

    The school hosts on-campus activities and the city does as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria onsite and there is a host of places to eat within a 3 block radius.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academia is directly related to my major

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the college's resources made available to you

    In three sentences

    Instructors are awesome and are student centered. The class sizes are relatively small. Location is in the heart of the city.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very safe campus ON CAMPUS. There are guards and security officers everywhere, and they are very approachable. They are also easy to spot as they wear vibrant yellow shirts/coats.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't know what they want to major in, thrived in a high school setting, or those who work better at a slower pace. It is a great transitional school into another college or program.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot going on one block over from the Wilmington campus on Market Street. Food, shops, and much more can be found very close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has surprisingly good food, at affordable prices! They offer Pepsi products, and have amazing fries. Not to mention, the lady who works the cash register is the sweetest woman who works in the whole building. The only negative thing is that it is a cash only cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are not that difficult and most professors are very lax about due dates and missing classes. Most of the professors, however, seem to be well qualified and genuinely care about the students that they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to the school EARLY if you plan on parking there, otherwise it is very difficult to find a spot! Also, the bookstore is not cheap; use it as a last resort.

    In three sentences

    The campus is well kept and monitored by staff and security officers. The cafeteria offers a decent amount of food at reasonable prices, and is a great place to study before/ after class with classmates. Classrooms are easy to find, and professors usually have great office hours.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally I like to socialize and sing.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is to keep on too of things don't wait until last minute to do things.

    In three sentences

    This college is great. The people are nice and informative. Great school if you don't want to go to a big town but still get a good education.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. If you feel unsafe at any time, the campus patrol will walk you to your car.

    Great for these types of students

    Close to home type kids. Great for easing into college.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable!

    Food and Dining

    Cheep and the quality is okay.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    Very professional and well picked teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do what you need to on time and DO NOT hesitate to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    The enrolling process is simple, and online if you choose, after the first time! Teachers are very professional and always there to help you. One of the greatest and affordable opportunity that can be provided to many.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult students, hands-on learners, students interested in transferring to a university

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is extremely reasonable.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent, they offer a wide selection of food for reasonable cost and they are open during both day and night classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no opportunities for dorm life, but there are plenty of apartments in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    I attended full-time and attended summer classes. Summer classes are accelerated classes, and can present a great challenge, which I enjoyed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Del-Tech is a great way to complete the first two years of a 4 year degree. They have a program in which you can easily transfer to University of Delaware to continue your education.

    In three sentences

    Del-Tech is a great community college with very reasonable tuition. It offers the opportunity to take small classes, which allows for a lot of one-on-one time with the teachers. I loved the teachers at Del-Tech, they all genuinely want their students to succeed and will do whatever it takes to make it happen.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Busy hard working students with jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions just yet.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun like joining a club or playing a sport for the college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in Del-Tech

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your professors and counselors they truly are here to help you with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Del-Tech with 4 stars because they truly have some of the best professors and courses anyone could take. Del-Tech let's you take classes in your own time and they offer classes from early morning till late night. So far my experiences in Del-Tech have been wonderful, and I am glad I came here right after high school.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Public Safety Staff are great. They make sure that everyone is safe and they get involved as well. They talk to you and help you with any questions.

    Greek Life

    Give it your best shot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here are some of the names of the clubs; we have all types of activities: Humanities Club Math Club Reading Club Writing Center Education Club Business Club Student Government Association Spanish Club Photography Club

    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENTS ARE WELCOME! Ones that want to go to a community college. Someone that wants to go in the city live off campus and is very diverse.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The great part about Delaware Technical Community College is that everyone gets along. We are like one big family. We help each other grow and learn. Everyone gets involved as much as they can and support one another the best way we can.

    What to do for fun

    You have the gym and library and computer lab to go to. And you can watch TV near the cafe area and there are computers there for your convince and the best of all its first come.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe upgrade is great. Their food is more healthy and their staff are the best.

    Dorm Life

    None at Delaware Technical Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Delaware Technical Community College has Math Lab, Accounting Lab, Writing Center, Computer Lab, Library, Tutors, and a lot more. Not only, but has study areas all over campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Top 10 for me to you: 1. Have a positive attitude towards classes. 2. Read your hand book its important. 3. Meet your teaches before classes start. 4. find your class before classes start. 5. Read your syllabus all of them. 6. Make sure that all payments are in on time and paperwork is up to date. 7. Do not OPEN your BOOKS until you go into class unless already told otherwise before hand. 8. Use all of the resource, math lab, writing center, computer lab, library, free gym clubs of all kinds, events. 9. GO to the welcome students event first week. 10. GET INVOLVED AS MUCH AS YOU CAN!

    In three sentences

    Very diverse, down to earth. Has very knowledgeable instructors and students. Great place to start a college life.