Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Delaware Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for those who have a love of animals or agriculture, those who are looking for a small community college out of the city, and those who are looking to stay away from party-schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    A excellent tip for future students is always stay on top of your work. While some of the classes are pretty easy, they are only easy if you keep up with it. Another tip is that if you know a way to save money, do it. Buy textbooks online, take advantage of the meal plan, make payments to the school instead of taking out a loan for smaller amounts such as $400. Every little amount does make a difference.

    Bang for the buck

    This college may seem to be a bit costly but it offers a lot of majors and opportunities that can not be found anywhere else.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college has many clubs that put on activities and events for students on campus. If there is nothing happening on campus then just take a ten to fifteen minute walk into downtown Doylestown. Plus if nothing in Doylestown interests you, then hop on the Septa for a trip into Philadelphia, PA.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes offer a good level of work and challenge that makes sure you will not be forgetting any of it soon.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is passionate about any type of ag-related career would do great here. From horses and cattle to hogs, sheep, and chickens. Also, the Criminal Justice and Psychology programs have become more noted for their success in readying students for careers in those fields. Students from any background are welcomed with open arms as their is little if any prejudice on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is very calm and laid back. We are passionate about our sports teams and many times you will see our side of the bleachers packed with students. You will meet so many people here and make a ton of new friends. There is always something fun to do whether it be touring down at the farms, going for a run around the campus, hanging out in the recreation rooms, or just hanging out with people.

    Bang for the buck

    Although many would say that the tuition fees are a little pricey, they are definitely worth it. Delaware Valley College is one of the most hands-on colleges in the country. 500 hours of internship in one's field of study are required. This gives students a taste of the career path they have chosen to see if it is indeed the correct path for them. The experience also helps tremendously when applying for graduate/medical/veterinary school or for a job.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a blast living here. All of the faculty, staff, and students have been very welcoming. The dorms are huge and well-kept. Also, the food is amazing. Served in buffet style at the dining hall, there is always something good to eat, so you will never go hungry!

    Am learning a lot

    I have completed my first semester here at Delaware Valley College and have learned so much already. The core classes like English 1 and Chemistry 1 tuned up my skills from high school in each of those areas. My major-specific courses were very interesting and the teachers taught all of the material in a way that we students could absorb it.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the suburbs will love this school. close to the shopping centers but not in the city. It's a very agricultural school. Small school, around 2,000 kids. People are friendly and the campus is a good size. not to small and not to big. I love the school.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who have a love for science and agriculture and becoming involved on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Simply, just be honest with yourself. When deciding on the perfect college for you, reflect on what your interests are and what you expect from your college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the tuition is higher than similar schools, Delaware Valley College is worth spending your money on. Since the class sizes are so small, a more personal relationship with the professors is possible and hands-on learning is much easier. Also, Delaware Valley College provides very specific majors that many colleges do not offer such as small animal science, zoo science, floriculture and nursery production and hydrocponic crop science. I sincerely believe I have had a true college experience so far and have enjoyed every minute of it. And DelVal has also been very helpful with financial aid. More than 90% of the students receive financial aid of some sort.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have deifnitely enjoyed my time here so far. For the freshmen orientation at the beginning of the year, there was a club expo and I immediately found clubs I was interested in and was involved right away. The main club I am in has become my family away from home and I have had such an amazing time with that. There are many events held by clubs on campus and the student activities council hosts many activities such as concerts, comedians and games. The dorms are decent; I decided to live in the same dorm for next year and I am very glad. Also, the campus is beautiful. There are many small pockets of the campus where you can be alone and relax or study.

    Academic Rigor

    I have definitely learned a lot this year. This past year, I was a freshman and I was nervous at first about the work load, but honestly, as long as you manage your time, it is no problem. The teachers give you just enough to challenge yourself and if you feel overwhelmed, there are tutors and the professors have office hours during the week.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who enjoys the outdoors and a close community. Very easy to get to and very easy to get to other places.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *Reminder it is an agricultural school. But I can say I have found that there are many students here for majors that hardly have anything or even nothing to do with agriculture. DelVal is wonderful for anything equine. It is a small school, but I find that more personal relationships can be formed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well since I have yet to officially begin school at DelVal I can not give loads of tips. I can however say that the earlier you send in the $400 down payment in the spring that reserves your room, the better pick of housing you get. The $400 is just for freshman (I believe it goes down to $200 for each other year). But I sent in my money as soon as I was accepted to DelVal and I was almost assured the housing I requested.

    Bang for the buck

    Generally private schools are more expensive than state schools. DelVal is no exception. My advice would be to work hard to find scholarships. The school has many for freshman and for upperclassman as well. Do you research so you don't miss out on any free money that may go unused. The price is high but the education will certainly be worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Being a small school you get to know everyone. Plus it seems that the sky is the limit at DelVal. There are so many opportunities available to students. The surrounding community just adds to the charm and great opportunities of the school.

    Will learn a lot

    I have already met with a few of the teachers (teachers from my major and those not from my major) all of which have been great to speak with. They seem so intelligent and willing to share their knowledge with everyone. They seem so close and friendly with the students, building great relationships, that it is impossible not to learn anything.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our personable security guards are always willing to help you with even the smallest problems. Need to know the train schedule? They've got it. Security is also efficient in its job-during the night they do regular patrols of buildings and the grounds, and respond to an emergency with cool and grace!

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life is so expansive we have to have a council where they can all meet. Focused mostly on service, our brothers and sisters understand the importance of community and make it known to all. If you're not looking for men or women only, join our Co-Ed organization!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for every major at DelVal, but you don't have to be in every major to join their club. Want something out of the ordinary? Join the beekeepers in the Apiary Club, or stop by to a Flower and Garden Club meeting! Every group is active and eager for more members!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a quiet, outdoorsy person, this is the school for you. Quiet hours are enforced every single night, including weekends, and a short walk will have you in some very peaceful places.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DelVal is built on 600 acres of farm. We have two cows with see through stomachs, and some students have to get up at dawn to milk the other cows. Take a walk to the beekeeping building to check out the hives or just stroll down to see the new calves. They're adorable!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is the place to be if you want to go into any agricultural or life science fields. And in two years, they are becoming a University. It'll be great to be viewed at a high standard, because that is what this school is all about!

    What to do for fun

    Doylestown, PA is just a walk away, and in October they have many fun family events that DelVal students are welcome to. There is also a beautiful park a 10 minute walk from campus, complete with a marvelous wooden castle playground! Stop by the farmer's market for fresh ice cream and lunch, or just attend some of the fun-packed events sponsored by the Student Activities Council! If you're looking for more, take the train from our on-campus station to Philadelphia for the day!

    Food and Dining

    Lots of students complain about the food at DelVal, but considering how hard the staff works to feed us all, I appreciate it. It's exciting to go in and say to hello to all the friendly staff, especially on days where they have made us something especially delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Yes, the dorms at DelVal are old fashioned but they are well maintained and the atmosphere in the halls is great. My dorm mates are my neighbors now, and they're the neighbors that you know by name and love.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at DelVal require you to think in a new light and adapt to the ever-changing world with speed and grace. This is the kind of school that is going to prepare you for the world whether you like it or not!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for the more specific programs, and be patient while waiting for a decision. Getting yourself all worked up waiting doesn't make it any better.

    In three sentences

    I am the happiest little zoo science student in the world here at Delaware Valley College. Our tight-knit community, fantastic learning environment, and people who have the same dreams as me have made the transition to college more manageable than I ever dreamed!

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, nothing bad ever happens on the campus.Security is always around and blue safety lights are everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of things to get involved with for all types of people. If theres not a club you want, make one.

    Great for these types of students

    science major pre vet agriculture

    Food and Dining

    Foods alright not a lot of choices but there is food for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    its what you make it. bring your own decor and create a homey feeling. Great place to meet people and study together. there is cable tv, wireless internet, mini fridges, and microwaves. lounges in every dorm with a flat screen tv and computers.

    Academic Rigor

    great teachers and staff. free tutoring and help with many subjects. Very hands on. tons of courses to chose from

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with all types of animals on campus and a student run farm. Great teachers and staff. Many clubs and activities to chose from.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Willing to helpany students dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are a good size.

    Academic Rigor

    Excepts AP credits and doubles there value. You hve excellent chances with a good GPA.

    In three sentences

    Awsome campus! Would love to go there. Offer exactly what I want.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone interested in biology and animal sciences. If you love animals, farmer's markets, that small town feel, the idea of a farm on campus, the idea that you are not limited to just a biology major for pre-vet studies, want to be close enough to the City and other fun places without being over-powered by them, want a place where you aren't lost in the crowd, want a hands on education, then you will love this school as much as I do!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attend Del-Val be prepared to pay a good bit of money but know that it is totally worthwhile! They are a rolling admissions school so there is no real deadline but apply as soon as possible because some programs fill up fast! If you are applying for any science major you have to have completed some biology and chemistry classes in High School to be considered; it is also good to take the Biology and Chemistry SAT subject tests if you can, especially if you are home-schooled. They give fantastic merit based scholarships so do the best you can in school!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very pricey! However, the school is definitely worth the price. My experience with tuition isn't the standard so it may not be so pricey for everyone else. You definitely get what you pay for so even if you have to pay a lot you will get every cent's worth! You could end up paying just as much at another school with just a plain biology major but at this school you will get so much more!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is stunningly beautiful and the location is perfect! It is close enough to both New York and Philadelphia but far enough away not to be bothered by either. The farm on the campus is huge! It is so encouraging to see the animals that I will eventually work with! Any school can offer biology as a major but not every school has a farm! The campus is very lively and very spacious; they have a lot of events for the students to do and there really never seems to be a dull moment. There are many shopping centers around (but not that close where they encroach on the school) so it isn't a boring place to live. Everyone was very kind and welcoming; the dorm rooms aren't bad either. This is the type of place where you can sit on the field and have a nice lunch or play games with friends under the clear skies; it is a very lovely school.

    Will learn a lot

    They are one of the few private institutions in Pennsylvania that has a real pre-veterinarian medicine program. I have researched a lot of colleges and most just throw their pre-vet students in with the pre-med students and really make you go out of your way to build your own curriculum to apply to a certain veterinarian college. Veterinarian Medicine is a very competitive field so having a program that will let you apply to multiple vet schools after graduation is awesome! They not only have animal science as a major but they have zoology, large and small animal science, equine science, and so much more! This is the best school to attend if you are into pursuing a major in any animal related field.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Higher in the price but I feel it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Wish it was a little bigger campus but it is a very comfy and relaxed atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are small size so you are able to have more access to professors and they are very willing to help.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i am not currently a part of greek life yet but i plan on changing that very soon. i know some of the greeks and it's a great organization that i would recommend joining.

    Clubs and Activities

    personally, i am involved in drama club, students for diversity, wildlife society, and am rushing a greek sorority next week. there is always something to keep you busy on campus.

    What to do for fun

    there are always things to do on campus. whether it be movie night or an ice cream party or just a club meeting, something is always happening. just last week the school hosted a magician duo that was very ewntertaining and this week there will be a comedian.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has adequate food. however, the pub (located in the student center) has great food. i eat there every day.

    Dorm Life

    i personally love my dorm life. the housing department does a good job of matching up roommates. there are often dorm activities, depending on the ra you are placed under.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your major, delval can be very difficult. however, in my experience, the classes are fairly manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would advise prospective students to choose the platinum meal plan when deciding. it is only $50 more than the silver, and the same price as the gold. however, it allows you to eat at the pub rather than the cafeteria and definitely worth it.

    In three sentences

    delval is a home away from home for me. the students are friendly, the campus is beautiful, and the staff are accommodating. overall, i love it here and i am hoping to be able continue here.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    worst, no houses, basically just clubs, hazing

    Clubs and Activities

    none really exist

    Great for these types of students

    independent, only concern is grades, loner,

    What to do for fun

    go home, philly

    Food and Dining

    the worst, if your a vegan youll die, if you want to eat healthy youll die

    Dorm Life

    average

    Tips for prospective students

    dont come here

    In three sentences

    not worth applying

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall like 10 minutes away and same with a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    From what I hear thier food is great and they are re-doing this summer 2012.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms arent all that big but enough room to function. Also a cool thing about freshman dorms they are co-ed but not mixed on the same floor. Its either guys on top floor and girls on bottom floor or vice versa

    Tips for prospective students

    I dont have any cause Im a incoming freshman

    In three sentences

    It is a small college, with a lot of tradition. They have great faculty and good facilities. They are upgrading every chance they get to make the college better for the students.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can easily feel safe on our quiet campus and will most likely become friends with our wonderful security staff just passing them on rounds.

    Greek Life

    We may have a small Greek Life but almost everyone is friends and most of our own Greeks never thought they would ever join the very false stereotype.

    Clubs and Activities

    Name a club or activity and if we don't have it, we can start it up here. Ranging from rock-climbing to community services to circus stunts on horses to 4H to drama, we have it all at DVC.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes one-on-one professors even in a larger lecture group.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Talk to the Ram in front of the Student Center, help with A-Day, and relax by Lake Archer.

    Bang for the buck

    Expect a quiet campus with city athletes and cowboys/cowgirls hanging out together, unforgettable professors, and impressive animals.

    What to do for fun

    We are close enough to Doylestown for shopping and day/night events. There are concerts, performers, comedians, etc. on campus year-round too. But the day we work towards is our giant county fair type event called A-Day in the spring: a day you cannot forget.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fresh and varied, coming right from our farms if not locals. The Pub and the Market will come in Handy for a good treat.

    Dorm Life

    Tiny but always welcoming is the only way I can describe dorm life at DVC.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to sciences just remember, this is a science and agriculture-based school: expect a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your science class notes from your previous schools and remember to relax.

    In three sentences

    DVC is a wonderful school if you are an animal major and like a country environment close to a city. The people here really do care for each other and the hands-on experience is incredible. Everyone can find a program to join here without trying hard.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is nothing to be afraid of on campus.

    Greek Life

    They don't have any housing, but the people involved in them are actually pretty nice, not the normal douchebags at other schools.

    Great for these types of students

    rednecks, pre-vet majors, people interested in plants

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Caesar the ram is a bronze statue in the middle of campus, if you stand at the right spot and speak it will all reflect back and sound like there are voices all around you. It actually is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very expensive school.

    What to do for fun

    They usually have activities going on on most days, but don't expect too much.

    Food and Dining

    At first it might seem pretty good, then you realize that you are just eating the same exact thing every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Almost all teachers drop your worst test grade and curve the grades ridiculously. So don't panic if you're getting all 60's in your class. You might be the class's best student!

    In three sentences

    It is a great school if you are really passionate about your intended major. It is not a party school, and it is mostly barn kids and rednecks here. If you really want to do something in agriculture then this school is for you.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm plannin on being a Veterinarian, and with the animals on campus, I felt I would have a better edge for grad school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seriouly consider DelVal for your college career. Originally I was planning on PennState, but when I went to DelVal's open house, I just fell in love with it.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere, the sports, the academics....just the best!

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for small town people.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive but they accept GI Bills and are a yellow ribbon school.

    Will enjoy being here

    A lot of people I know go here because of their excellent animal related majors. It's a gorgeous campus and everyone was super friendly when I went on my campus tour. The staff is always very helpful and--being from California--I had to apply and set up everything over the phone and online.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for mainly agricutural students but even if your not part of agriculture students becoming teachers, zoo keepers, and business people will fit in here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study. Pay all of your bills.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is expensive to attend here it is worth it. The entire experience on campus makes up for the high cost of attendance.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something going on on campus. It's just a quick walk down to the barns to see all the animals. Tons of clubs and orgainzations to join and get involved both on and off of campus. The Student Activities Council has movies, weekend trips and trips planned through out the week.

    Am learning a lot

    The small class sizes really allow for one on one with the professors and rest of the faculty. The classes are fun and excting to learn. There is lots of opportunity to ask questions during class if you don't understand something. They took what I learned in high school classes and went to the next step with them.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Delaware Valley is absolutely an agriculture school. The liberal arts majors are just as great, but you will find predominantly agriculture majors or equine studies. Delaware Valley really can suit everyone, as it isn't a school where the students segregate themselves by major. All students interact with each other, and the school encourages them to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the school so you can get a feel for everything, and if you are interested in joining the Equine Studies program, drop by the Equestrian Center and check out the barn and the horses. Apply early and try to live on campus. It may seem like a daunting task at first, but it really is fun to live on campus. You get the advantage of always being near your professors, the library, the student center, and your a short distance walk from downtown Doylestown!

    Bang for the buck

    Delaware Valley is a little on the expensive side, but the education that you receive is well worth it. The school give society great agriculturally enriched students.

    Am enjoying being here

    The dorms are pretty good, granted I was a freshman so I'm sure it only gets better with the upperclassmen dorms. The students are friendly and always willing to help, as well as the faculty. There is never a time where I have felt stuck.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are very informative and fun. There really aren't any very large classes where everyone is bored listening to a professor lecture. Lectures are always interactive and attention grabbing.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart and hardworking students will love it here. Great science programs including equestrian and agriculture.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a wonderful college for the sciences. I am a Microbiology Major and have had a lot of hands on lessons and great professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive. Luckily if your smart you get pretty good scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great small campus, wonderful labs and beautiful setting. There are a lot of trip and good concerts.

    Am learning a lot

    Wonderful new labs and caring and supportive Professors.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many students join clubs ranging from the Turf Club, to equestrian teams, livestock judging, drama, and much more. On campus each year is a large fair (similar to a state fair) featuring all of DelVal's agriculture and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Much of the food served is grown at DelVal, including the on campus market which sells all the products of DelVal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and modern on the inside but have a more traditional and eye-appealing outside.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though DelVal is small, it is also very demanding. DelVal produces top professionals in their field but that does not come without hours of dedication. There are many top professors who are very knowledgeable and who give all that knowledge to the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit DelVal and talk to everyone and anyone. Once you step foot on the campus you will fall in love with its small farm-town like atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    DelVal is an exceptional agricultural and science college. Since it is a small school students get one-on-one attention and receive every opportunity to excel in their given field. The campus is basically an array of farms run by students which allows for specialized work in a student's given field and real world experience.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This Campus has a great security system with spots all around the campus to contact security.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Delaware Valley college i play football for the school so that is pretty much my fun. Other than that just seeing the nice country side is a fantastic experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food and Dinning is one of the down falls of the school.

    Dorm Life

    I live the Dorm life at DVC because each dorm is like a small community. Each dorm has its own lounge where students can come and talk and enjoy themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic Rigor is to work as hard as i can towards my grades. And i have to go 110 percent to truly succeed. Just getting by does not help.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending Delaware Valley College. It is a wonderful school that gives you multiple ways to enhance your education. I plan on attending Delaware Valley College for my full four years too attend bachelors degree.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Annoying, always around. But very safe.

    Greek Life

    Biggest joke ever. Not real Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various, but not very big or active.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students. Commuters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Goldman dorms is an interesting place to live. Fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Not the school if you're on a budget. Very pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Go into Philly. Not a college town. Or go visit friends at other schools.

    Food and Dining

    Doesn't deserve a one even. Extremely expensive, very terrible. Few choices, same thing every day.

    Dorm Life

    Very expensive for what you get.

    Academic Rigor

    Very similar to high school. Personally, I struggled because I wasn't motivated to do anything due to the environment I was around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved right off the bat.

    In three sentences

    Very small school, not in a college town. Small, out of date programs. Very much like high school.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes, went to the open house. I ask for campus safety report, no big issues on campus. That's why i chose Delaware Valley.

    What to do for fun

    I like to play football with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus yet

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stay on campus yet. sorry can't rate.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic I was given a scholarship/honor award.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recommend a background check on school first. Talk to students that attend and ask them questions. Visit first before you make a decision.

    In three sentences

    When my family and I visited on open house, they were friendly and helpful (staff & students). Campus was very clean and well maintained. I like the campus size not too big and everything is close by.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always present on campus, and a positive presence. The Security Office regularly hold meeting to hear student concerns, they are on-campus 24/7, and completely accessible.

    Greek Life

    All the Greek houses are here. I love the fund-raisers-- the cupcake sales are phenomenal.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is every club you can imagine, and the emphasis is in diversity, celebration of culture, acceptance, and respect. They encourage you, the student, to BE the difference, BE the change.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for The Arts, for Business, Agriculture and Conservation, and also Equine Studies and Competition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know yet of any unusual traditions, but this is my first year.

    Bang for the buck

    As a tranfer student, I was fortunate to receive a scholarship based on my GPA. The financial aid office is wonderful, and communicates all available scholarships and grants in a timely fashion.

    What to do for fun

    Well, at my age, just being on campus is fun. I do observe a very active student life, there is always something going on every day and weekend, there are a wide variety of diverse and multi-cultural art events,clubs and committees, and yes, there is football. They even have their own country market.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe Pub in the Student Center, and a building that houses the cafeteria. A wide variety of healthy, nutritious food and drink is offered. GREAT COFFEE.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, but what I hear from the residents is all positive.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are intense, the reading load heavy; sincere effort and hard work are expected and acknowledged. There is help and support anywhere and everywhere you look for it. I give DelVal 5 out of 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open, unafraid, take the challenge offered to you. Nothing is easy that is worthwhile. Learn everything you can, from everyone you can. Be invested in the global community, and in yourself.

    In three sentences

    Surrounded in a lush country garden setting and intimate atmosphere, the fell and sounds of academia sink in through your skin to your bones. The old agricultural college building are welcoming, comforting. Every person I've interacted with, from Administration to Education, takes a sincere and personal interest in your success as a student.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have blue lights all over campus, so if you ever feel threatened, you can look for the light and press the button for a help call. Overall, DVC is a really safe place to be. In the two years I have been here, I have only heard one suspicious persons alert. Security vehicles cruise around campus all day, so you are bound to pass one on the way to class. They will help you with anything if you just ask.

    Greek Life

    We have Greek life, but not fraternity or sorority houses. the Greeks are more a social gathering thing, depending on the one you choose. They are not known for partying or hazing; they just are there to help people make new friends basically. Some are academic and service based so you will get those aspects in addition to the social life as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    For being a small school, we have a lot of clubs. Many of the clubs are major related which is a great way to network and meet people from your field of study. Y are bound to find at least one club that you like, and if not, DVC makes it really easy to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want acollege campus that feels rural, DVC is the place. With all of the farms with animals and crops, as well as the wooded areas, you will feel like you are out in the country. But, once you leave campus, action is right at the doorstep. You will not feel like you are trapped in the middle of nowhere that is for sure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DVC used to be called the National Farm School. It was founded in 1896 as a school for Jewish boys who wanted to learn how to farm. Now it is co-ed and has no religious affiliations, but the original Jewish temple that was built on campus still stands and occasionally special events are held in it. To keep with our roots, the college is closed for all Jewish holidays such as Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur.

    Bang for the buck

    DVC is a very expensive college so make sure you can commit financially before coming here. We offer a lot of scholarships, so do some research and find out what you are eligible to apply for. Every little bit of money makes all the difference! Despite the expense, you will leave here with a very solid education, and four great years of experiences to share.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Doylestown is a very nice, artsy town with lots of cute shops to wander around. There are shopping centers all around the county so you will find what you want no problem. We are a short train ride away from Philadelphia so grab some friends and hit the city for the day. On campus, we always have student activities, whether it is movie nights in our own theater, comedians, magicians, exercise classes, or just walking down to the barns to see the animals. Our biggest even is A-Day, which is an agricultural fair held on campus. Lots of good food, games, prizes, shows, and vendors to enjoy with friends and family alike.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall is on campus and it is much better than it used to be. It has been completely renovated in the past year and it looks amazing inside! The food is not the best; you are going to get A LOT of repeats, and it is pretty typical mass produced cafeteria food. Lots, of pizza, pasta, burgers, and fries. There is a salad bar and sandwich line f a healthier option. Every day there is a made to order special that they cook right in front of you, and that is usually pretty good. But there are tons of grocery stores around, so stock up on your favorites and keep them in the in your room.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not the greatest, but they do what they were built for- sleeping! They are really old, and have no air conditioning. The size is very small; two people live in one room, and any more makes it crowded. You can bunk the beds if you choose, depending on which dorm you are in. The bathrooms are communal, but are usually clean. Each room has a microwave and small fridge which is VERY necessary! Some freshman dorms are known for trouble more than others, so ask upperclassmen before choosing. Upperclassmen dorms are a little better, but not much. They are not air conditioned either and the size is about the same. There are two upperclassmen dorms that allow you to have you own personal bathroom; it splits two bedrooms from each other forming a quad. They are a little more expensive to live in, but totally worth it for more privacy, laundry access and kitchen access. Dorms are dorms, and there are going to be ups and downs. If you can't handle a dorm, there are lots of apartments around town to rent if you choose.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that any college is going to be difficult academically, especially compared to high school. DVC is no exception. You are going to work for that A if that is what you want. Since there are labs that go with every science course, you are going to spend MANY hours in a classroom, as labs are two hours and forty minutes and lectures are one hour and fifteen minutes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in any sort of animal related career, DVC is the place to be. We have excellent Small/Large Animal Science programs that prepare students for various animal related careers, especially Veterinary. The courses allow you to have hands on experience with our laboratory animals such as rats, mice, rabbits, fish, amphibians, etc. as well as farm animals like cows, horses, sheep, pigs, goats, and more! You will not leave DVC feeling unprepared to go to vet school because you definitely are given multiple opportunities to find out if it is right for you.

    In three sentences

    DVC is a great place for students to gain hands-on experience in their major of choice. The science related majors all have required labs that allow students apply what they learned in lecture. By doing this, students can get a feel for what is in store in the future of their career.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Delval Campus is extremely safe. Security patrols regularly and emergency lights can be seen from anywhere on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is popular, but not overwhelming. The groups are much more open than society views many greek organizations, and most of the fraternities are community service based.

    Clubs and Activities

    Every weekend has a new activity for students to partake in, and with over one hundred clubs, everybody has somewhere to go to share their interests. If you don't see a club you like, you're encouraged to start one of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    There are over one hundred clubs on campus; everybody has something at Delval.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A-day is an interesting event held by the college in which community members come to take part in agricultural activities put on by the college. Each club participates with an activity or booth of their choosing and many of the farm animals come out to play.

    Bang for the buck

    As an agricultural student, this school is absolutely ideal. We have multiple farms with livestock including sheep, swine, dairy, beef, and poultry. We also have equine breeding facilities and equine sport facilities as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and activities hosted by the school. There is a sports event to attend every weekend, dances once a month, as well as performers such as comedians, musical groups, and guest speakers.

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar is always spectacular and everything is always fresh. As a vegetarian, I'm not sure what the meat-filled options are like, but people seem happy with it.

    Dorm Life

    It's nice having laundry in the building, especially when it's free. Our dorm is generally quiet which allows us to get work done, but if we want to have fun with our friends, other dorms are a little more rowdy. Unfortunately, we were housed with upperclassmen, so we don't know a lot of our neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    As an incoming freshman, I was only given 13 credits. I wasn't aware I could register for more classes, and perhaps this made the transition from high school to college much easier, but it isn't what I'd call a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Those who are interested in coming to Delval should really inform themselves on transportation outside of the campus as it can be very confusing. I also recommend they get to know not only professors, but administrators as well.

    In three sentences

    Delaware Valley College is a beautiful campus with small class sizes for individualized attention. Professors are well informed and well organized providing the best resources and information. Classes are hands-on with great opportunities to learn in the field you're interested in.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    DelVal is tailored to fit the interests of agriculturally based people. There are not a lot of night clubs in the area, or bars; there are open fields and the quaint town of Doylestown. There are movie theaters, public parks, bowling alleys, and destinations such as New Hope and Lambertville within a 30 minute drive.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall was recently renovated along with some of the food choices. The food used to be bland and tasteless, but now there are a wider range of choices, and the new recipes (especially the pizza) have been re-vamped. There are many healthy choices, but snacks are never hard to find, and the baked goods are always extremely satisfactory. There are always vegan and vegetarian options as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of dorm options, including some higher quality - yet affordable - suite-style rooms with private bathrooms, carpet, etc. The regular housing options are just fine for the needs of a college student: a microwave and mini fridge are provided, and the communal bathrooms are usually kept in very good condition. The RAs on campus are also very attentive to the needs of the residents, so any issues are usually resolved very quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    DelVal is at its heart an agricultural college so the students who choose to come here are usually more science based in their thinking, and thus the classes cater very much to that type of student. The professors are all at the top of their fields and share their knowledge with the students any way they can, so sometimes the academics are found in experience, not exams. The academic rigor comes into play only if the student does not apply him or herself to the experience of being in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for parties and cool hot spots, this is not the school for you. The current student body is open, friendly, and comprised mostly of those who understand the meaning of family and hard work. If you want a small family feeling, this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    DelVal is one of a kind, not because of its minute size and academic focus, but because of its character. No school anywhere else has quite the same homey feeling. The campus is beautiful and quaint, the professors are the best of the best, and the classes are so hands on there is no way you could feel like you are being schooled - you feel like you are gaining a once in a lifetime experience.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk into town.

    Food and Dining

    Caf food could be better. Pub is where it's at.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are the right size. All dorms are located near each other to get around nicely. Set up nicely.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and advisers make sure you know what is going on and you're doing well. Work can be hard, but college is hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Make it known you want to go to college. Make sure Del Val is the right place for you. Visit the campus. Talk to current students.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Small, but very good. Focused on doing whatever they can so the students succeed.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is always on duty and willing to help you at any time. I have them on speed dial!

    Greek Life

    There are both sororities and fraternities on campus, but their focus is more community service than what movies may lead you to expect.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a long list of clubs and activities for students. There's a club for everyone! Also, the school has many different activities going on each week!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a small school with small classes, this is a great school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a dairy farm and many different animals right on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the college is a bit too expensive for the quality of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Doylestown is within walking distance, so there are many shops and places to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to party and your focus is not mainly your education, DelVal may not be the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Delaware Valley college is a small, student oriented college. It is located in the middle of Doylestown, Pennsylvania, which gives it a somewhat rural landscape. But, it's not that far from the city, so everything you need is not far in distance.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DelVal is one of the safest campuses in the United States.

    Great for these types of students

    DVC is the place to go if you love animals and want to pursue a science or agricultural major.

    What to do for fun

    DelVal offers many clubs for people with a wide variety of interests. There are also sports teams, one that is unique to DVC are the equestrian teams and there are also music departments for those who wish to join a music ensemble of some sort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely don't hesitate to seek help. There is free tutoring in which you can take advantage of and it really helps. Also, there is free counseling to all students which is another very useful commodity that DelVal has to offer. Keep up with your reading and studying in class and do not wait until the last minute to get work or studying done. Most of the professors are very approachable and willing to help those in need.

    In three sentences

    DVC has a very friendly atmosphere, beautiful campus, and great professors. There is also a working farm on campus within walking distance so you can go see horses and other farm animals. DelVal is a small school and is also very hands-on in which you learn by doing things yourself.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very strict and personable. Just about every student has met and talked with a couple of the security officers because they are always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about any interest and they are all very active.

    Great for these types of students

    An agriculture student that enjoys hands on activity and wants to receive a good education.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel the amount we pay to attend this school is an awful lot for the little we get. The meal plan is outrageous and the dorm stay is expensive too. But the quality of education we receive here at Del Val is exceptional and makes up for the wasted money on other items.

    What to do for fun

    Del Val is not a party school. Fun activities only happen if you get involved with clubs. Sitting around and waiting for someone to tell you about a party or a social event does not happen at Del Val. Plus, Doylestown, the town the college is located, is a very wealthy area so to go into Doylestown and find something reasonably cheap to enjoy is nearly impossible. Del Val is about academics, not parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its good days and bad days. They are definitely improving the food and cafe but it is very expensive. A meal plan is mandatory to have if you life on campus and on average it costs about $12 a meal.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, dorm life is not so great because the dorms are very small. As an upperclassman the dorm rooms get much nicer but the nicer the rooms, the more the student has to pay.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of complexity at Del Val is very difficult but pushes the students to be more prepared for the real world. Teachers do not take anything lightly and will assign projects, essays and research papers on a regular bases.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to speak up in class. In high school, being quite was acceptable and the student could still pass. I college however, if you do not make yourself known to the teachers, they will not make the effort to get to know you and that can negatively impact your grades. Be social, be active and don't be afraid to try new things.

    In three sentences

    Delaware Valley College may be a small school, but the 18:1 ratio of students to teachers increases the chances of gaining a hands on experience for a future job. Del Val is very good at setting up a schedule for students to make sure they graduate on time and achieve a high level of education proficiency. Also, Del Val is excellent with ensuring a job right out of college as they provide great services at the college for us to obtain help.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    could be better

    Greek Life

    its ok

    Great for these types of students

    people who ws given an actual major and not a program that slowed you down

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing unusual

    What to do for fun

    walk around since everything they do is boring

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont go to this school if you are placed on the choices program. you are left fighting a battle you cant win

    In three sentences

    decent non lenient somewhat unfair

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security on campus is great.

    Greek Life

    There are many different Greeks on campus each with there own style so there is a lot of diversity and something for everyone. I was part of APO which is a Greek so I believe that the Greek life is a good thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities for me to name but the range from biology club, chemistry club, student for diversity, student affairs, 4h, and much much more - you should just go on delval.edu and search it up. There is honestly a club for anyone and everyone

    Great for these types of students

    This is a science and agricultural school but all the other majors on campus are interesting. The sports teams are great. If you are looking for a great education but yet still looking for a good time in a smaller school this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year Del Val host a A-day [ agricultural day] and everyone on campus takes it as an opportunity basically to be grateful about what we do there at del val and the community joins for rides, games, entertainment, food and more.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many club and organizations. The train station stops on campus so you would be able to go to town or to the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    As for education this school is one of the best and professors focus on you; you should just visit the campus to see if it fits your life style.

    In three sentences

    This college has an unbelievable exceptional academic courses. Going to this school will lead to success. The education at this school will lead you to a promising future.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus, or around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a small school, where they can get to know the professors and other students. Especially good for students wanting to go into agriculture or work with animals.

    What to do for fun

    I love to hang out with my friends and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    It's college food, so lets be honest its not the best, but you do have the selection between the cafeteria and the Pub (where they will make you a burger, or other options).

    Dorm Life

    Because it's such a small school, the housing opportunities can be limiting. A lot of students are commuters, and many of those who live on campus go home on most weekends, making them pretty quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially the upper class levels can be very difficult and the professors expect a lot from you, but it is all information that will be applicable to a future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour first, and ask lots of questions about the programs. Because it's such a specialized school, it may not be for everyone, so look before you leap.

    In three sentences

    Delaware Valley College is a small school, with hands-on oriented classes. It's great if you are looking into working in agriculture or animals. But, because it such a specialized school, with specific programs, it's not for everyone.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not the best food around, but you can always find a nearby apartment and become a commuter student. There's a lot of great places to eat in the nearby town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, always, always visit a college before committing to it. I new within five minutes on a campus whether it was a good choice for me, or not.

    In three sentences

    Very personal. Small class sizes mean everything to me, so this school was the best choice. With my major I have, at most, 9 people in my core classes. It's amazing!

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always there to help, very friendly

    Clubs and Activities

    anything you can think of and if you cant find it you can create it.

    Great for these types of students

    great for agriculture students, environmental students and animal majors. Also people who like small schools

    What to do for fun

    Doyelstown is right down the road with lots of nice small shops and there is transportation to and from town. There is also a shopping mall a movie theater not too far from here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, a little expensive if you don't have a food plan.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I don't live in the dorms but I here they are nice (especially the newer ones)

    Academic Rigor

    Very prestigious, good employment outcomes.

    Tips for prospective students

    -take advantage of all the tutoring services and faculty office hours, everyone is very helpfull.

    In three sentences

    Delaware Valley College is a charming small school. There is a 15 to 1 student faculty ratio and your professors all know your name. The students are all very nice and staff are all here to make your time here special.