Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Delgado Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Medical field

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the study/tutor lab. The tutors are very useful and the models come in handy. I appreciate having the tutor lab because other colleges do not have that and therefore they cannot review the material on the models.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students that attend here are very friendly, and you make friends easily with in the classes.

    Am learning a lot

    People always say Delgado was easy........WRONGG! Its very tough and challenging but if you put the time into studying, you walk out the class with the grade you deserve and learn alot of information!

  • 03/15/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Park in the yellow lines only; they love giving tickets. Come early, but not too early before... nevermind just walk because you will never get a parking spot.

    Did enjoy being here

    I wouldn't say I enjoyed being there. The parking was horrendous and the City Park location was the worst. I still have a bad taste from my freshman year. The staff gave me the run around. Delgado, in my opinion was just okay.

    Did learn a lot

    I attended both Westbank and City Park locations. Some of the teachers are really great, some should never teach. The classes are NOT that easy. You will study and study hard to pass most classes.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have 911 call buttons all around campus, if that says anything. I haven't had a problem myself though, nor have I heard any complaints.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a really cheap school, especially if you're paying out of pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Check out New Orleans and the French Quarter

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good dining close by.

    Dorm Life

    I don't like in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you go to the school, make sure you have every document you need or they'll make you come back multiple times.

    In three sentences

    I haven't taken any classes, only online. The experiences that I had going to the school were horrible, I could never get straight answers on anything.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delgado is one of the safest schools around. There are emergency pedestals located throughout the campus, and security guards regularly patrol. The campus is generally well lighted. Of course, common sense such as staying in a well-lit, high traffic area can help personal safety in any setting. I was waiting for a friend one weekend and the campus was mostly empty, and two separate guards offered to let me in the locked building or wait with me -- in the daylight!

    Great for these types of students

    Delgado is great for evening / weekend students, distance learners, transfer students, and those seeking a technical degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are many many festivals throughout the year, as well as a lot of events of campus for daytime students. Evening students are pretty limited as far as on campus events, but New Orleans has plenty of free or cheap entertainment. There are a lot of great volunteer opportunities that are both fun and useful at http://www.handsonneworleans.org/

    Food and Dining

    The City Park campus has a surprising number of places to get food for its size. There are many places to eat within walking distance, and more if you have a car or bike. Several water fountains were broken all semester Spring 2012, which bumps this category down a full star.

    Dorm Life

    Delgado hasn't had dorms since Katrina to my knowledge.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors try to make it possible to make the grade you want or need, but those who think that it's going to be like High School Sr. are sorely mistaken. You truly need to put in 2-6 hours per class per week if an A is your goal. Tutoring is included in tuition, and I've heard excellent things about it, so utilize it if you're behind or if the material isn't clicking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and check with the Answer Center a few weeks before the semester starts. Many people sell text books on Facebook or through posted messages, but I have had several classes with new texts or where the book was not required. Wait until you get your syllabus before spending any money. Exchange numbers / emails with at least 2 people in each class... it will almost definitely come in handy at some point, and it's a great way to meet people.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is an excellent place to take extracurricular and gen. ed. courses, those who plan to go into nursing, and those interested in a 2+2 transfer degree. The faculty is well qualified and the instruction is great. Administration needs more staff / resources.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delgado is a very safe environment. The campus police are all very friendly, proactive, and informative. The school sends emails about any crime in the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs you can join, and they are all very active in the community. The people are also very friendly. There is anything and everything from sport teams to book clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Delgado is a great place for students who are not ready for a 4 year university because the classes are smaller and the the professors will give you the attention you need. The education is affordable and great.

    Bang for the buck

    The most common expense for students are text books. The bookstore is reasonable and they always sell you the used books first. But if its too pricey there is a chimes right across the street.

    What to do for fun

    They have pep rallies, sports events, and a mini crawfish festival every year. There is the gym and a workout room. You can also hang out in the student life center!

    Food and Dining

    Delgado community college's main campus is located near city park. You can catch the street car at the end of canal and city park and ride down to mid city where there is cafe Minh, brocatos, el ranchero, toupes, and many more, just minutes away from the college.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at delgado.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard, but they can be challenging. If you are having trouble, most of your professors will help you if you ask.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a 5 out of 5. The staff are friendly and informative. There is always a quiet place for you to study.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see multiple police officers walking around campus. I feel very safe and at ease knowing that I am protected by them every time I go to campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at Delgado.

    Dorm Life

    The Westbank Campus does not have dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    My first semester at Delgado went GREAT! I was an online only student and all of my professors kept me interested in my classes and wanting to do more. One professor in particular was AMAZING. She held more study classes then I expected. She helped me understand all of my work and did an awesome review for finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip for prospective students is to make sure you hand deliver all of your documents for financial aid and make sure you get a receipt for the documents you turn in because I was told that I did not turn in papers when I know I did.

    In three sentences

    This is my second semester At Delgado and I am thinking about applying to another college because of all of the trouble I had to go through for financial aid and scheduling. I went to the campus 5 times in 3 weeks and the financial aid office told me Everything was fine. Of course, everything was NOT FINE, I stood in a line for 5 hours of about a hundred or more students on the LAST day to pay for classes to sign a promissory note because the FINANCIAL AID office said that was the only day to sign it. I am highly dissatisfied with the way they handled my financial aid.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and extra-curricular activities offered at all of the different campuses at Delgado.

    Food and Dining

    I do not attend the main campus, so I am not sure about food and dining. At my campus there are many vending machines!

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure if Delgado has dorms. I do not attend the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience the classes are not has rigorous as at a traditional four year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research before registering for classes. Learn about all the programs that the college has to offer before making a decision.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start college for a first time freshman. Delgado offers a small classroom setting, but also has larger classroom setting at the main campus. Delgado has many campuses across south-east Louisiana.

  • 09/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dont expect that it will be super easy.:)

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police, real police patrol the streets nearby. Also, they have emergency poles to push a button and the cops come shortly after.

    Greek Life

    Don't have it.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have some activities. As of clubs, I don't know, I don't attend anything besides class. Don't have time, since a full time job and a kid.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think we have any. If we do, I haven't attended it or heard of it yet.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can attend extracuriclar actitvities. You can also attend events set up by the art club. They also have other things to get into.

    Food and Dining

    Food is resonable. I can't complain. They have decent food there.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to school and get an education in something that you like. If u don't than you won't like your job and end up quitting or getting fired. Even possibly doing a columbine, hopefully not. If you get a job doing something you love its almost as if its not a job.

    In three sentences

    Its a community college. It's not to expensive, compared to other colleges. I would have to say for the degree I'm going for, its worth it. The teachers are great and are willing to help you out.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Any question that you might have just ask and you will get the answer that you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    Delgado Is a conveniente college for those students that have a full time job or a family to take care at home after work. It's also very fexible with scheduling classes. Also it is affortable to most people.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are campus police in every building to make everything is going smooth.

    What to do for fun

    hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    there's a lounge and book store. in the lounge there are salads and other kind of foods. in the book store there are snacks and a microwave to warm any food from home.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    delgado is a good college and enrollment os rank number two under lsu! therefore, schedule classes early.

    In three sentences

    delgado is a great community college! my classes work around my schedule and instructors are great. everything is taught thoroughly and understandable.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is only a Wendy's and McDonald's located within 2 miles.

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class early. You'll need to wash your car a lot because it is in front of garbage company with dirt roads. Learn to hold your nose when the wind blows a certain direction.

    In three sentences

    It is small and I like that. The building is falling apart. Need more area for students.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delgado has security guards on duty at all times, also they have emergency buttons everywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Delgado only offers Associate Degrees, working towards that goal before you transfer to a 4 year college will get a degree under your belt. Also, once you get a degree, you can't lose it. If you only take a few courses then transfer, you take the chance of losing all your hard work if you do not graduate.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on the Delgado calendar. It's in the heart of New Orleans, so there are many, many things to do locally.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Student Life Center that has a few places to eat. Delgado is near many food and dining establishments.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Turn in all of your homework on time and try not to miss classes, then you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get with your faculty advisor before you register for classes.

    In three sentences

    My experience as a student at Delgado has been wonderful so far. The instructors are very knowledgeable and helpful. Delgado offers classes at all hours of the day & late evening as well as on-line and flex classes.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I only get items from vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No on capus housing

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of everything. Delgado loves to give the run around.

    In three sentences

    Dcc is a very unorganized school. Dcc is not time friendly when choosing deadlines. I would not recommend Dcc to others.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking lot security is about as far as it gets but for being such a large enrollment, there isnt much danger going on.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students go to this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions that I know of but I know they offer Crawfish boils from the SGA every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good school for the student on a budget. Tuition and expenses are inexpensive and they offer a lot of scholarships and financial assistance.

    What to do for fun

    Have a life outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines, a small cafe on their bigger campus and snacks in the bookstore are what make up the dining at this school.

    Dorm Life

    They don't really offer housing solutions as it is a small community college.

    Academic Rigor

    They have good classes and offer a wide range.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of everything during your enrollment process and time there and ask for as much help with everything without fear.

    In three sentences

    This school is for those who want to save money and get a quick degree. This school is very unorganized in the admissions and financial aid offices. This school offers several different education options.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is on the campus all the time. No one ever gets into any problems at Delgado, but it is great to know that the campus police are always there

    Great for these types of students

    Delgado is great for every type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    Delgado gives you great quality classes for a really low price

    What to do for fun

    Join one of their many sports teams or join one of their extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. The only thing that is really good at Delgado is their breakfast.

    Academic Rigor

    Delgado Community College is full of wonderful teachers that are willing to help every student and truly want to see their students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and get your prerequisites out of the way first. It is very important that you get out of remedial classes. Everyone should make getting out of remedial classes a priority

    In three sentences

    Delgado Community College is a good school with dedicated teachers. It is a stress free environment where students can learn multiple subjects. Delgado Community College is definitely one of the best community colleges in Louisiana

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus are very protective, sometimes overly so.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a small number of organizations, mostly collegiate.

    Great for these types of students

    It's not really a party school, unless you make friends with people that have their own parties. It's a school for those who want to get in and get out, mostly.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe Delgado is the cheapest education that can be had in New Orleans. But it feels like it should cost more because of the quality of the education.

    What to do for fun

    There's usually an event going on at the campus - dog expo, health fair, bake sales, music event, Crawfest (every semester), etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good, not fine dining. There's a Student Life Center, which contains a PJ's coffee shop and a cafeteria with subs, salads, burgers, fries, and many other food.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here at Delgado are not to be taken lightly. I know of many students whom have had to drop out of classes because they could not take the pressure and expectations of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip is to know what you are going to Delgado for, be it for the college transition experience without the full-on 4-year exposure or for learning a skill in a short amount of time.

    In three sentences

    Delgado Community College is actually a nice school, compared to what many are led to believe. They get a lot of flak for being, first and foremost, a trade school, but the academics are top notch. I love this school.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They all have all type of events .. You just have to keep it with it

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria food is great

    Dorm Life

    Delgado does not have any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared , and ready to work

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a very affordable college it gives you every thing you need. People are very friendly and help full. It makes any one feel like there at home.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always a staff of security protecting the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to finish school in two years or for students who want to transfer to a 4 year school.

    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of activities such as crawfest.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that sells regular food and often while holding events give out food such as pizza

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as this is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here can be challenging, but with hard work and taking advantage of the tutoring, there's no reason while you shouldn't be able to make an A. I've made all A's and B's while i been over here. While I had to work hard for my GPA, it all payed off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in here with a plan on exactly what you vision doing. Know what courses you want to take. I would advise you to take your general courses while you're over here

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a very good school for a student looking to transfer to a 4 year school. I went from not being able to get into any school coming out of high school, and now turned into a student that can go to various schools.the teachers are great, the students are great, but the employees can be rude at times.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Science, technology, criminal justice, tv/radio, nursing, medical assistant.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the major, Delgado is a good option for the first two years. The instructors try to give options for a four year transfer degree instead of a job skill degree. The classes transfer to many of the area universities.

    Food and Dining

    On campus has a nice grill for breakfast. A Subway and Taco Del Mar are right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    The science and math departments are good but the English and general studies departments have really low expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aggressive with class choices because many classes are taught by several instructors. Take advantage of the various options for science classes, the options are incredible for the size of school. Learning to be self sufficient and doing things independently online will speed the process of enrolling, paying tuition and fees as well as keeping up with grades.

    In three sentences

    Delgado has done a very good job in providing majors relevant to the New Orleans job market. For the most part, the staff and instructors are more than willing to help with enrollment questions and class schedule. The online math options are truly exceptional with excellent instructors.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is on point. There is always a t least one officer walking around the campus or pointing out where the offices are located 5 stars

    Clubs and Activities

    5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    there is always something going on here at Delgado.From bake sales to concerts. Every week the is something new to catch your attention and keep you involved

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    concerts every thursday

    Bang for the buck

    5 stars

    What to do for fun

    everything

    Food and Dining

    2 stars

    Dorm Life

    1 star

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class!! Take notes and enjoy the experience

    In three sentences

    I think Delgado is a great community college because they really care about the education of the students. No matter what day of the week it is, you walk in and you are greeted to a smile.The place for anybody trying to get into school, is Delgado Community College

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I rate the campus police a five star.

    Greek Life

    I read and study a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am in the PTO at my kids school. I volunteer at Woodmere Elementary for my child psychology class.

    Bang for the buck

    I study and work at least 5 days a week.

    What to do for fun

    Watch love stories or read books from Oprah Winfrey book club.

    Food and Dining

    The cafateria on city park campus is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I give the academic department a five star.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep up with your own financial aid. Learn who the instructors are and you'll be just fine.

    In three sentences

    I rate Delgado as a 8. There are flaws with the financial aid department. The academics on the flip side is fantastic.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much around here to do except go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class :)

    In three sentences

    Great school for students who would like personal attention.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The law enforcement is kind and very responsible.

    Food and Dining

    The student lounge is nice and has a peaceful atmosphere to it. The meals offered here meet my expectations.

    Dorm Life

    Delgado Community college isn't a college where you can live on campus. In spite of that, there are plenty of kind people that can assist you.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the instructors I've had in the past year empower you intellectually and spiritually in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any student that's pursuing a multitude of goals, I suggest that they visit the academic advisor on our campus.

    In three sentences

    I think Delgado Community college is a wonderful start for any person seeking a better life. People can schedule classes at times that suit them. Delgado Community college is a place with education that works.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is staffed by it's own police force, who are always on call and on patrol around the campus. They are very helpful and attentive.

    Greek Life

    There are numerous Greek organizations on the campuses based on major.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and organizations on the campuses. In fact, there are so many clubs scattered among the campuses, I can't name all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Delgado is great for all people from all walks of life. Whether you are a student just graduating from high school, or a working adult returning to the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The number one tradition on all campuses in the New Orleans area is the crawfish boil. There are tons of crawfish from the Mississippi riverm served with potatoes and corn on the cob. Admission is free for students. Non-students will have to pay a small fee.

    Bang for the buck

    Delgado is very inexpensive. Payment plans and financial aid are available to all students.

    What to do for fun

    Although there's not much to do on the Westbank Campus, you always have access to activities across the river at the City Park campus, where there's a dance studio, fitness center, and various intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    You can find all types of food on-campus, whether you have time to spare, or on the go.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on campus because there aren't any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because Delgado is a community college, the teachers and courses are still very challenging. Come prepared to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focused on the future. Preparedness always leads to opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Delgado Community College is a great school. The School of Business and Technology is the best in the state of Louisiana. The staff and faculty are top-notch and are always willing to help you.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is no dining on the northshore.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life on the northshore.

    Academic Rigor

    Delgado is a college where academically anyone can be successful. The instructors are caring and concern about students college career at Delgado. Delgado i would rate as a great school for students of all walks of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    All prospective students stay focused, study, and ask questions if you need too.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a great junior college to transition from to a university. Delgado is a college where students are on the way to a successful career.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My school have many fun activities that future students can participate in. We have a lotparties.

    Food and Dining

    I pay food my on food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on Campus I stay with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay humble and study every day. If you receive an bad grade try harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should stay focus but also have fun. Study a lot and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is an wonderful learning experiences. The teachers are hands on with their students. They have many study halls and tutoring available for students.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is the cheapest option to gain college credits.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities in the main courtyard most days.

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of options on campus and nearby off campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easier than at a 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes are generally easier than what you will find at a 4 year university. It is cheaper and you can boost your gpa by taking as many classes as possible before transferring to a university.

    In three sentences

    It is a decent and affordable college. Many classes transfer to 4 year universities. The class sizes are no more than 30 students, which allows the teachers to really help their students.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Have patience.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a good place to earn credits during the summer. My favorite site of the college is the city park campus.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are activities and various clubs offered

    Food and Dining

    Since i live off campus i generally eat at home

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Its a challenge which it should be i like the fact that i am pushed to and beyond my limit. it stimulates my mind to go further Practical Nursing is hard and is not for everyone, God blessed me with the heart and the mind to be a nurse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work and work hard at everything you do. Don't sell yourself short they have tutors use them. Whatever you set your mind to you can do believe that I have learned too.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a exceptional place to learn. It is challenging and sometimes hard. You get the help you need when you need it most.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everybody is safe there are security guards that monitor . Nothing really happens at delgado everybody is focused or trying to get there. They have respect for the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nursing Club Baseball Softball Volleyball Track Debate team etc Black history club And 20 - 30 other clubs to choose from or more

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are new to college , can't afford school ., continuing students , returning students and people who have been out of school for long periods of time. Good for anybody that's trying be a better person and start life also need help with anything housing etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They traditional have seafood brooks and outside activities bbqs etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Delgado is your own little world , they train and prepare you for life not just education they help you get into the stage of being an adult and getting ready for the real world while also giving you an education. Delgado helps with anything they listen to your problems and needs .they get you to where you need to be or trying to get but you have help them assist you .also they even have programs for GES or high School diploma if you haven't yet received it .

    What to do for fun

    You get to meet new people. They have all types of clubs . Everybody is friendly . Also they do a lot of events especially out doors .

    Food and Dining

    They help assist you with that because delgado isn't a university so there is no dorm and food but they can assist you finically with all of those things .

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but they can help you finically with housing and food , other stuff.

    Academic Rigor

    They help you achieve the grades you need they also have honor classes and an honors club.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never to late to register. Pick your classes based on how you like to learn because there is no one way of learning and all the instructors teach differently. Be yourself and find out what it is you want to do because you don't want to waste time and money on something you don't like .

    In three sentences

    It's nice very welcoming . Easy to catch if you have been out of school for awhile. Gives you a second chance to retake test so you can be placed in a even higher course . You can relate and pick your instructor all of them have different personalities for you to choose from. It's a more of a hands on school.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety provides much needed campus police and others to keep the college safe.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    Gyms, art gallery viewing by students, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of student that's working, parents, and even grandparents. There is no limit here which makes it abundant in opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Delgado is in the heart of City Park with a beautiful park to go and relax, spend time with family and friends. It also has a nearby extravagant museum with he rich history of New Orleans.

    What to do for fun

    You can join extracurricular activities such as basketball, volleyball, just to name a few. You can also participate in many of the college events such as crawfish bash they have annually and many more.

    Food and Dining

    Great prices and making great expansions with choices.

    Dorm Life

    No campus

    Academic Rigor

    Delgado is actively engaged with teaching their students in whatever course the students are enrolled. They have great programs like nursing and others that lead to great future job opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take a tour around the campus and don't be afraid to ask questions concerning Delgado you will be surprised at what you learn. Explore labs, classrooms, professors, and other areas to enhance your learning experiences. Always try to come to the college prepared at what you want to know and would like to learn either way the college have staffs ready to assist you making it easier for you.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is fun, cool, and very engaging in their learning styles. I would rate Delgado as a great community college to help jumpstart your career. The college has expanded new programs, jobs, and many other opportunities for students which is awesome.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police officer on campus at all times. He is very observant and friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few nursing organizations on campus. I plan to join next semester once I have a more structured work schedule.

    Great for these types of students

    Delgado is great for students who are self motivated and eager to learn without being pushed or monitored daily. You have to want to go to school for yourself, not because a family member wants you to enroll.

    Bang for the buck

    Delgado is not the most expensive college around, but tuition and fees have noticeably increased.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun while in the nursing program!! There is always something to study.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lounge that serves sandwiches and there are many snack and drink machines around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing curriculum is stressful and overwhelming. There are clinicals, a math test, and book tests throughout each semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say, be prepared to get thrown into chaos. Just try to look at the main reason for attending Delgado... to obtain a good job or start a career.

    In three sentences

    I am in the nursing program at Charity and the parking has been horrible this semester. The instructors and the course material are great, but the program is still unorganized since the budget cuts. Overall, I am pleased with the school and hoping to do well and graduate next fall.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though it's a small campus, there is always an officer present.

    Great for these types of students

    Students going into allied health professions and other hands-on jobs.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a snack bar that makes a variety of dishes.

    Dorm Life

    This is a college, not a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for technical classes (nursing, welding, auto) this is a very good choice that will save you money.

    In three sentences

    I attend Delgado as a Dual Enrolled student from Bonnabel High School. After my first period at Bonnabel, I go to the smaller Delgado campus on Airline Highway with other students. This campus offers many technical classes.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have crawfish for free if your a student!

    Food and Dining

    The school has some good food there but you can go to subway it is across the street.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this school!

    Academic Rigor

    The school can give you a good education if you get the right teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students should learn how to stick up for themselves.

    In three sentences

    At Delgado, a person can make good friends. A person can also get a lot classes done in a shirt time. The school is a non- expensive school!

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    requently see campus police

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Bang for the buck

    Definetly alot cheaper and most classes transfer to public universities.

    What to do for fun

    Go to new orleans.

    Food and Dining

    Relatively good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and all assignments are posted online so you know what to expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have all your personal information when applying online.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is a great Community College for someone fresh out of high school. The classes are relatively small and the staff are always available.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is grate. It's always a different things everyday. Quality is always meet.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. It's a community college. No Greek life

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are tough to get in for a community college. Pharmacy program tops any other college in Louisiana.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many sports teams and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    They have snack shops but no cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are not hard but you do have to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check up on deadlines. Never leave things for last minute. If you need something from someone don't call, don't leave a message, go find their office and talk to them in person.

    In three sentences

    Delgado has several caring instructors that will do everything in their power to help students understand the material. Everyone is respectful and professional. It has become like a second home for me.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge there's only Phi Theta Kappa which is an honors society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's drama club and athletic clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low which makes it affordable for just about anyone to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Delgado usually has events that are fun, like crawfest so just stay updated on that.

    Food and Dining

    I try to stay out of the life center which is where the food is, because it usually filled with noises and sadly some of the most immature students. There is a subway across the street from the campus which I go to often.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Students usually live near by or travel from the next city over.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are mostly good at their jobs, and most students are really trying to pass the class. Most students who are just there for the financial aid money or who aren't quite ready for college life usually don't stay the full semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your paperwork. Paperwork is where Delgado falls short, and causes problems for students.

    In three sentences

    Delago is a good school. There are teachers who actually take their jobs serious, and go out of their way to help students. Also, students who excel in academics may be offered an invitation to join honor societies.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Exercise they have a awesome gym.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate from here.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It has a great academic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick to yourself, study a lot because there are always surprises with these professors.

    In three sentences

    Delgado is typically organized. The professors are usually strict but friendly. Delgado is just like high school, I rate it a 6.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe environment, due to the police being on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are academic and sports clubs available, as well as, career help in getting a job.

    Great for these types of students

    International students, and passionate students ready to aim high.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mardi Gras is a holiday! So, you will be off a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get all you need and want, rich in resources.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Gym facility, along with sports at another facility.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of snacking and food available. My favorite is Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    You have to commute back and forth, so the dorm life doesn't apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Delgado has a lot of resources to offer, so it's on you how far you want to excel... Just ask!

    Tips for prospective students

    Research all types of degrees to make sure that is what you really want to do because they have a lot to offer.

    In three sentences

    Diverse, Friendly, Professional

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a security guard on two on campus that are always very alert.

    Bang for the buck

    Most affordable money for the education that you receive, definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Student Government Association! The people there are also very friendly, so there is a lot to do in making friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food Is not offered on campus, but there are many places around the school that you can get food as well.

    Dorm Life

    Delgado Community College is a community college, so dorms are not apart of attending here.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars! The teachers make sure that you understand the topic, and they always offer a helping hand, if you do not have the foggiest idea of what they just taught. All you have to do if speak up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you have all of your school supplies ready to go, even if your textbooks are taking longer than you expected to arrive the teachers are very understanding when it comes to true issues. As with any college career, do not procrastinate, do things ahead of time, and you will be fine. (:

    In three sentences

    Delgado Community College is very easy to commute to. The professors here are outstanding, and care about the students success more so than the students just being a number. The courses offered offer more of a personal experience and stories pertaining to the course which makes them all the more relatable and interesting.