Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Delta College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students enrolled at Delta Community College will feel comfortable with the atmosphere. Everyone is helpful and it's easy to find information on topics such as: school to work, FAFSA forms, and transfer programs. Students that need guidance in their career field and help planning courses will be satisfied with the faculty. Even the teachers are willing to give advice if you seek it. The environment is phenomenal and a smoke-free is a plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Delta College is worth your money. If you seek help from counselors your bound to receive what you ask for. The teachers are friendly for the most part and so are the students. The faculty is always willing to go above and beyond whats asked of them. The whole experience of Delta College is neat, it's the education your required without feeling the stress of a huge university.

  • 10/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to learn. Truly. I haven't yet met a person for whom Delta wasn't ideal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't make any assumptions, and make the best of it.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality is as great as any university for a mere fraction of the cost. I can afford to learn.

    Am enjoying being here

    I spend a lot of time at Delta, and it's a great environment all around. When I'm not in the classroom I spend a lot of time at the coffeeshop, in the library or working (supposedly) in the commons. I've made a lot of friends here, some of them teachers. I became involved with a lot of activites and I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    I was pleasantly surprised about the quality of the education. I wrongly assumed that a community college offered less than a four year. I'm glad I was wrong; the classes and teachers are excellent and have taught me so much.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Delta College is great for student who don't quite know what they want to get into but they want to wet their feet into the different types of majors. Delta is also great for those who wish to save on college. Students who wishes to finish an associates degree Delta is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students go to the counseling and advising center. Even if you are not a student you will be able to talk with an advisor. They will discuss with you what you want to go into, how long it will take, and how much it will cost. There are plenty of places to go on campus including the financial aid office, the library, and the bookstore.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a community college after one pays tuition there are other fees you have to worry about. There is a fee connected with each course you enroll with, this is the teachers out of classroom consultation fee. All in all you aren't paying for a four year university but there are fees that are not publicized.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy Delta College campus. There are private study rooms throughout the college. They have the best tutoring center no matter what the class. The staff are the best though. They are willing to help no matter the problem. The best part is if they can't help you they won't blow you off they will send you to the correct department.

    Am learning a lot

    Every class is filled with information at your fingertips. The teachers are an immense help, all you need to do is ask. They have office hours posted and they welcome the feedback from their students. Most classes are small 15-30 people, which gives one a lot of time for questions and instruction.

  • 01/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    Making the transition from being a high school student to a college student was so easy and hassle free, and I have Delta College to thank for that. The class sizes are relatively small so I feel like I'm really getting that one-on-one attention from the professors that I'm sure I wouldn't have gotten if I had decided to start my college education at a larger university.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, those who enjoy learning, and those with little money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as you can, since classes fill up fast.

    Bang for the buck

    Even for a community college, Delta has the best prices I have found for tuition, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    The facilities here are top-notch and the students and staff are incredibly friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    The instructors are very caring and willing to help or make accomodations.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to get to know your teacher and the students that walk around you in the halls this is the place for you. If you like smaller class sizes and want more help from teachers from time to time you should really consider Delta.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and ask for help when you need it, don't worry about feeling dumb or anything like that because if you don't ask for help then your not going to do as well as you could, and there's a good chance that someone else wont understand it either and have the same question. Other than that, just have fun and make good friends and work towards your goals and do your best.

    Bang for the buck

    I couldn't be happier with the cost of tuition. It is the cheapest way to get through all the prerequisite classes that you need and you also get to have some great professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to Delta, it's a smaller college and you get to meet some amazing people in class. You get more teacher-student interaction and that is something I really value.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot from the year that I have been attending Delta College. I have learned about simple things like, how to make a better resume and how to write a paper well and I have also learned things I have never even thought about before. I have learned about genetics and many other thing.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    delta has both a securtiy staff and a police boot camp right on campus. delta was also recently rated one of the safest campuses in the state!

    Great for these types of students

    nurses! delta has one of the best nursing programs in the state.

    Bang for the buck

    as far as community colleges go delta is one of the best around.

    What to do for fun

    delta has a wide variety of sports teams, it also has an endless amount of extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    delta has a small cafeteria, but it is not a very good one.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at delta.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging but not nearly as challenging as most 4 year universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are going to register for classes do it early, they fill up very fast.

    In three sentences

    delta college is a great stepping stone for students planning to transfer like me. it is also a great place to achieve an associates degree and or a certificate. that's why delta has over 17,000 students.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I've heard about a Peace Club here at Delta College.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all. Seriously.

    Bang for the buck

    So worth it not to be in debt.

    What to do for fun

    Delta College is strictly my educational institution and workplace but I know there are many clubs and organizations to be involved in for fun-purposes. There's also a great pool and workout area.

    Food and Dining

    I love the Red Brix cafe. I eat there almost every day when I'm studying or working at Delta.

    Academic Rigor

    Some may think it's easier to attend a community college, but that's not been the case with me. I am well-aware of how much work my friends that go to a University do in comparison to me and it doesn't seem to be much difference. The only difference is the class sizes and the price, which both seem like a plus to me in that the classes are smaller and more inimate and the price is less than half of a University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never feel that because you plan on attending Delta College that you are less than others because it's a community college. Be sure to be in touch with your counselors, they're more helpful than you'd think. Same with your professors, all of mine have been more than willing to help when and if I asked for it.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great place to start whether you know your major or not. Delta College offers many transferrable classes and even specialized programs if you're not planning on transferring. You can go to Delta College at your own pace, I'll have my Associate's Degree in Liberal Arts after only a full year and a half here at Delta College.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is really safe. Since it is small, the campus police are able to patrol it very well. I haven't heard of any incidents occurring during my time here. Campus police are very helpful as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a handful of clubs and organizations on campus. We have soccer, basketball, softball, hockey and baseball as club sports.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for incoming freshmen or students who have no idea what they want to do with their lives yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Most Delta credits transfer to many of the major schools in Michigan which saves you a ton of money! If you plan on going to Michigan State for example, you can earn your general education requirements in about 1/3 of the tuition cost per year at Delta.

    What to do for fun

    It's location in the Tri-Cities allows for ample activities. You have Saginaw, Bay City, and Midland with 15 minutes of each other. Shopping, night life, parks and gardens, skate-parks, theaters, sports teams, and much more surround the area. There is always something to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't really all that special, but it does provide nutrients to get through the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are as easy as high school classes and some are truly challenging, but I'm sure this goes for any college or university. The staff is much more willing to help you one on one here though because of the small and intimate class settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is very important. Since Delta College is a commuter college all students live off campus and many are on their own. This requires them to have job to pay for living expenses. Sometimes work and school can be overbearing (especially exam weeks), but if you learn quickly how to manage your time, you will have no problem handling the load. If you have the choice at all, try to schedule all your classes in two days (M+W or T+TH etc.). This will save you a ton on gas since there are on-campus living arrangements.

    In three sentences

    Delta College offers a simple and easy transition from high school to college life. They have a staff of instructors that truly care for the future of their students. Delta College should be the first choice for your first time college experience.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can go to Delta; it's that great of a college. This is definitely a good starting out college for those just coming out of high school, especially if they don't know what area they want to go into. Also, if you don't have the big bucks to spend at a university, Delta's tuition is not that bad; even better if you are able to get a scholarship.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the counselors a lot. I don't know how I would've gotten through my first year without my counselor's guidance in my program. Also, I highly suggest tying to get a job there- you'll get to know more people around the campus, which will really help you in the long run. You'll get to know more instructors and maybe one day they could write a letter of recommendation for you. The Career Pathways Center will guide you through the process of finding an available job and they can also help you with your major.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition isn't bad and book prices are pretty normal. The money you get from selling back your books at the end of the semester is fairly decent as well. Class sizes are small which allows a lot of one-on-one time with instructors. I haven't used the Tutoring Center or Writing Lab but I hear that they are extremely helpful. I personally know that the Library staff is patient and always willing to help.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am so glad I decided to start out at Delta! The whole campus atmosphere is uplifting. Students and faculty are pleasant to be around. There are always events going on that will get the students involved as well. I also work here which has been a great experience. I can go to my classes then go to work and I don't have to use gas to go anywhere else. The staff that I work with are all wonderful people. They are very knowledgeable and willing to answer any question I have.

    Am learning a lot

    This is my first year at Delta College and I am very pleased with the amount of knowledge I am obtaining from Delta. I have had and met many wonderful instructors who have not only taught me lessons in the subject matter but in life as well.

  • 09/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy!

    Bang for the buck

    Classes were reasonable and financial aid office was helpful.

    Did enjoy being here

    I did and I thought the class of other students was well rounded.

    Did learn a lot

    Yes, I learned all that I needed for the program I was in,great teachers!

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delta has it's own Campus Police Force that keeps the campus very safe and secure. You can always see a Delta Security car driving around the parking lots at every time of day and there is always and officer nearby to assist you should you need it. There is also a Security Department that one can visit to see if someone had turned in anything that was lost or if you had any questions about something that was stolen.

    Greek Life

    The only one that I know is the Alpha Kappa Phi Fraternity, mainly just academic fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of different clubs at Delta, from a ceramics and pottery club, a nice sized theater and Theatrics/Drama Club to a Debate Team. You'd just have to go and research what you're interested in yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students that struggled in High School and wouldn't be able to do well in a giant University. It's also a great stepping stone for students that need that college experience before going off to that larger University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are large art sculptures and other displays of art around the art building. Once you walk inside there's a giant gallery were different artist are displayed, including the Annual Student Art Show. Also there's a giant courtyard in the middle of the entire campus consisting of tree's and fountains.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very economical school, the quality of education is great for the price of tuition and supplies. It's nice stepping stone for transfer students as Delta is a great school with their credits and transferring. It's also a great way to get your basic credits at an easier price than starting straight off at a larger University.

    What to do for fun

    There's a great fitness center, and also a large indoor pool with a huge slide and whirlpool along with a nice sized hot tub.

    Food and Dining

    Delta has the Red Brix in the Common's that has great food and specials every week, as well as the Coffee 'n More coffee shop that's next othe library that's great for snacks if the Red Brix is a bit too far away.

    Dorm Life

    Delta has no dorms, so you would have to find your own housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are in-depth and well-set up. The professor's are more than happy to email and get in touch with you if you're having problems, as well as tutoring options are available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try different counselors if you're not satisfied with your first visit. Recommend using Delta's career center. If you're not sure of what major you'd like to go for, take advantage of Delta's career center and other options, as they're there to help you find the career that best fits your interests.

    In three sentences

    On a 1-10 scale, I would rate Delta a 7. It is a good stepping stone from a small high school to a bigger college or university. Professors have all been very understanding and knowledgeable in their field.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Along with an on campus public safety office, there is also a post of police on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Delta is right for everyone whether your a full time student that's a little older. A new high school graduate, or a part timer there is something for everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    Delta being a community college the $ per credit hour is really low. at about $79/credit hour this is why i'm attending here before i transfer to a university.

    What to do for fun

    My type of fun is working out or sports. and on top of a giant swimming area they also have club sports like hockey, baseball and an amazing fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has many food options that all taste great and also include a value meal for us broke college students.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so unfortunately I cannot assist in this aspect.

    Academic Rigor

    I know a lot of alumni from this school because i'm not fresh out of high school I am 23yrs old and they are successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even tho it is a 2 year college take a serious look at them. They are also very knowledgeable in transfer credits.

    In three sentences

    Direct assistance Easy to learn campus small class sizes

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun at Delta College there are many activities! There is always something interesting going on. Sports are always an option. Clubs and activities are available to be involved in.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, i would simply say to just enjoy college, and strive to be the absolute best you can be. The staff at Delta college is willing to to push you to work hard, it is up to you to push yourself.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is an excellent college for first year college students! Making the choice to attend Delta will save one a lot of money. The counseling help, and teachers push you to be the best you can be!

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and easily accessible and seems to have security everywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, re-entry students

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, especially considering how good the computer department looks.

    What to do for fun

    Well, I am a non-traditional student and I am just beginning classes so I have yet to get involved with anything extracurricular.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't dined on campus as I am a non-traditional student, I usually just go home

    Dorm Life

    Not living in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are informative and move pretty quickly, do no blow off any classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start looking for financial aid early, fill out your FASFA whether you are enrolled in school or not. Be determined, if you are planning to go to school, make a commitment to do what you have to do to graduate.

    In three sentences

    I have found Delta College to be quite affordable. The computer department seems very comprehensive and knowledgable. The instructors are informative and friendly.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hands on students, great for students not sure what they want to do yet

    Bang for the buck

    so worth the price. i have saved a lot by going here and not so private university

    What to do for fun

    you are close to a good size city with stores malls food and other fun places

    Food and Dining

    the red bricks cafe has very good food and a lot to chose from

    Dorm Life

    this college does not offer dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i have learned a lot the teachers are great and helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    speak with a counselor they are very good and will get you on the road you need to be on

    In three sentences

    i enjoy delta college. the school is a lot less money then other schools that offer the same program. the campus is very clean and orderly

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to start at a smaller college to save money while getting a great education.

    Bang for the buck

    Delta is affordable and allows you to set up a payment plan.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy being in the library. There are lots of activities happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned a great amount in my classes. Professors push you to your potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend office hours and take advantage of instructors that are willing to work with students.

    In three sentences

    Transferring into Delta was simple and the staff was very helpful. Tuition is very affordable. I have enjoyed all my classes and instructors here thus far.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, clubs, outdoor areas

    Food and Dining

    Decent cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    Only place I attended so cannot give accurate rating

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor. Look for used books at the bookstore or try renting online. Get to class early to find a place to park

    In three sentences

    Delta offers many class times for working students. Delta has many qualified and wonderful professors. Delta is an affordable place to get an education.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    sports such as soccer, baseball, and hockey.

    Great for these types of students

    first time students who are unsure of a field of study, parents, people who work full time.

    What to do for fun

    there are occasional campus events but nothing too spectacular.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Delta are as challenging as any university.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend class and study.

    In three sentences

    Delta is one of the top community colleges in the country and i would recommend it to anyone in the saginaw, midland, ba city area. credits transfer very easily and the classes are moderately challenging. Scheduling clases are also simple and flexible.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about going into college its not that big of a change from high school, but definitely make sure your applying for scholarships and financial aid if you need it. The scholarships and money i have earned has helped a lot.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great school and i love it. The staff is always friendly and everyone seems to get along well. Its my Freshman year and i feel very welcomed into the school.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attend concert, plays,sports games etc.

    Food and Dining

    there are many different food choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Delta does not have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    studying, reading materials assigned and doing homework will ensure your grades are on top.

    Tips for prospective students

    if beginning college for the first time make sure that you meet with a counselor concerning your major to ensure you are taking the right classes in order to graduate on time.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great college to pursue your degree. the professors are very fluent and knowledgeable about the course(s) they teach. they ensure that all students get there monies worth. Delta college is the place to be.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are beginner college and wish to save a buck getting their associates degree

    Tips for prospective students

    The financial aid department is crappy. Get things in on time.

    In three sentences

    Great community college! Small class sizes, caring instructors. Great beginner college.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, clubs, there's a gym, and places to chat.

    Food and Dining

    their is a cafe in the basement with lots of food and seating and areas to hang at.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at delta.

    Academic Rigor

    Delta's grading scale is only like 7% less then major university's so its easier to pass with higher grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    To take a lot of classes, over full time at delta is not as hard as university's. Most teachers are really nice, so be nice back.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a nice School, with 3 building Midland Bay City and Saginaw. Lots of good majors to pick from. nice teachers and nice students.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delta College is a college where students can feel safe. Delta always has security guards and officers patrolling the halls and parking lots to ensure your safety is a priority. Likewise, the public safety office is always open and available to students with concerns.

    Clubs and Activities

    Delta College offers many clubs and activities, academic and non-academic related. Delta has a revered Honor's Program for students wishing to transfer, looking to get an edge over their peers. Also, they have many non-academic peer groups, such as rec sports, LGBT groups, art clubs, and theater groups. Delta has an activity for all, whether your looking for something to add to your college resume, or just looking for some low-key fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Delta is great for high school students interested in dual enrolling to earn college credits, for workers looking to enhance their skills, or for students who financially cannot afford to start at a 4 year college. Because Delta College offers many night classes, it is ideal for the working student as well. Likewise, Delta offers 090-200 level credits, for students of all skill levels, in addition to many co-op programs for students interested in trade careers.

    Bang for the buck

    Many high school students receive almost all of their tuition waived at Delta College, because of the abundance of scholarships Delta offers. Most in-district students pay about $2,000 per year at Delta, which is a bargain for students looking to transfer, or for students interested in immediately entering the workforce. If finances are an issue, Delta also has financial advisers on-site to help make ends meet.

    What to do for fun

    Delta has an extensive fitness center, complete with a gym including a cardio room, weight room, and an aquatic center with 3 pools. Also, many students take advantage of the many racquetball courts, dance studio, gyms, and outdoor tennis courts. Many students also spend their free time wandering the art gallery, or picking up a good book at the media center/library. Delta always offers something to keep a student occupied!

    Food and Dining

    Although the cafeteria dining can be pricey, the Red Brix Cafe at Delta is delicious and offers a wide variety of dining options for students. The Red Brix Cafe offers pre-packaged meals and snacks, in addition to a hot lunch menu, servicing items such as soup, sandwiches, and pizza. Additionally, the Red Brix Cafe has a salad bar for healthy eaters, and other food stuffs such as smoothies and sweet treats.

    Dorm Life

    Delta does not offer on campus housing; however, Delta has many spacious student areas where friends can meet and greet. Likewise, Delta has several outdoor courtyards and an extensive nature trail, which many students call home during the summer months.

    Academic Rigor

    Delta offers classes that can help you earn a GED, all the way from Honor's sophomore college classes that transfer to top 4 year universities. Going to Delta is like getting a personalized educational plan.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Delta has many opportunities, such as the Honor's Program and student run groups to develop new relationships. Figure out your academic pathway early on by meeting with one of the many academic advisers available. Many students transfer from Delta, but Delta also offers many programs that only require a 2 year degree, so students can immediately enter the workforce. Lastly, study hard! Delta is only a 2 year community college, but what you have the ability to challenge yourself at Delta by enrolling in classes that can help you fill learning deficits or help you make leaps and bounds academically.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is the best college for high school students looking to gain a head start on collegiate studies, students who cannot afford to start at a four-year university, or non-traditional students. Delta is warm, welcoming, accommodating, and has many resources available for students looking for academic help, looking to join peer groups, or looking to challenge themselves academically. Delta is the gateway to many opportunities for students of all backgrounds.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is dorm life, however the student commons gives you all the fun of one.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start with your basics (general studies) using the MACRAO transfer agreements. This allows you a better chance to transfer your credits if you decide to go to a 4 year college.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is an excellent college for many different career paths. If you are looking for an Associates degree or wanting to transfer to a 4 year college, Delta has very good transfer credits.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Delta is inexpensive when compared to a four year college and a good place to take start out at because of the affordability. A student might take explore different classes and find out which degree suits them the best without fear of killing the pocket book or graduation with a huge amount of debt. Many students start out here to get a feel of college and their degrees before heading out to a four year university.

    Food and Dining

    Red Brix offers a wide variety of foods ranging for soup or salad to hamburgers and personal pizzas so there is a little bit of everything for everyone. The Cafe offers everything a late night college student could want, coffee and caffeine in many different forms as well as healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Many students push themselves in their studies at their own pace. Teachers are really supportive and engaging towards students who reach out and have a willingness to learn. It does not matter who you are or your grade point average here, but students are highly encouraged to do their very best

    Tips for prospective students

    Delta offers a wide variety of classes geared for all levels of learning. It is up to you to ask for help, but the plus side is there is a lot of help offered. The tutoring center is great for help with your homework, the writing center is always open for students who struggle with English, FAFSA help is offered by financial aid office, not to mention all the teachers who work their hardest to reach out to students to help them succeed.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a come as you are, learn at your own pace college in a nonjudgmental zone. Students here are full of energy and enthusiasm for learning, faculty here are helpful and resourceful, and teachers are more than willing to go the extra mile to help students learn. Over all Delta is an affordable place to receive an college education and a place to be yourself.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No matter where you go there will be some type of campus security, whether it be watching out for bad activity inside the school, or driving around making sure the parking lot remains a safe place.

    Great for these types of students

    Delta College is great for any type of student at any level because the environment is very well set up for success in every way possible.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors and staff are always available to make everything run smoothly and to help each student successfully get through college.

    What to do for fun

    Right off from the cafeteria there is a pool table as well as televisions located throughout the eating area so students can enjoy themselves while getting something to eat or working on a little homework.

    Food and Dining

    The Red Brix Cafe has many different choices and the menus change regularly so there will almost always be something for everyone to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always there to answer questions and help out as to successfully get every student down the right path.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you work hard and stay on top of things, everything points to success and the staff will strive to get you there.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a very student-oriented learning environment. The classes are never too large as to become overwhelming. Also, the professors are always there to meet and help out through email or through one-on-one sessions if the students need help.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has basic food to get you by but nothing like a bigger university.

    Dorm Life

    Since delta is a community college their is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on each individual teacher. Some teachers are more challenging than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to always be on deadlines and complete your homework on time.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a good starter school. The staff are really helpful and care about if you succeed. Delta teaches you about how college is before you go off to a bigger school.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's security everywhere. To some people it makes them nervous, especially since its a pretty safe campus anyway, but they just drive around in their cars and don't really talk to anyone.

    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a great education but don't want to pay University tuition. Also great for students looking to get through school quickly or get a certificate program.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny. You get a University Quality education for a community college price. I've never had a bad professor here and with all of the tutoring that's available if you are willing to try and work hard you can't fail the classes so you are wasting your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs you can join from education club to weightlifting, but they also have an amazing recreation center with a full gym, pool, hottub basketball and racquetball courts and a water slide.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten the campus food once and though it was a great quality for the price it's all junk food. If you're anything of a health nut or care about eating right it's just better to pack your own food. If you like pizza, burgers, and cheesy salads then you can eat on campus!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but if you're looking for the roommate experience they have bulletin boards posted around campus where you can easily find an apartment and a roommate!

    Academic Rigor

    After transferring from a University in Arizona I was surprised at the quality of the courses here. Though they are challenging and push the student to think they are designed in ways that even a person who is bad at school can succeed if they work hard. They definitely are preparing you to understand each course you are taking and make sure you know what you're doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though it is a community college the professors and teachers are all highly qualified and treat the classes as though its a top university. Come to your classes prepared and don't ignore your school email or you may miss something important. Also, get your Lifelong Wellness credit out of the way in your first semester so you don't need to worry about it later.

    In three sentences

    Delta college is a great option for anyone in Michigan to get started in their college experience. With great professors, challenging classes, and the cheap tuition I don't understand why everyone doesn't come here! For only $2,000-3,000 a semester you get a $24,000 education.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low, especially if you get scholarships. I haven't used the tutoring center but I've heard they're really helpful. I've been to the writ center and they're very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    Its near Saginaw, so there's the mall and other shopping areas. on campus there is a really great fitness center and pool with a hot tub and slide.

    Food and Dining

    Red Brix cafe is pretty good. The coffee N' more is good but somewhat expensive for the coffee.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Delta.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes I found really easy, but there were a few that were challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as you can, because they fill up fast. If you are planning a vacation sometimeduring the semester, tell your professors. They will likely be able to work something out and you may be able to turn assignments online or in advance.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is a great stepping stone for those just getting out of high school. The food is good there, but if you'd rather have something else, Saginaw is five minutes away and had many dining options. The staff is really knowledgable and friendly.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are trying to get a great education for a reasonable price, or students who just aren't sure what they want to major in yet

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the money you will save rather than going to an expensive university, i'd say it's pretty great!

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on Campus, but there are places to buy food between classes

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't assume that because Delta isn't a University there won't still be a lot of cool students and professors who are going to push and challenge you

    In three sentences

    I have not started my classes yet, but so far my experience at Delta has been great. The counselors were very helpful, and I have been able to connect with some program advisers who were more than willing to help and explain everything to me that I needed to know. I was a little hesitant to go to a community college but as of now I am excited!

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greeklife

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse ways to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to take it slow and not plunge into a large school.

    Bang for the buck

    Way worth the money, save thousands, and have a more personable approach from instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, make sure you stick to your outlined education plan.

    In three sentences

    Community Colleges are the best way to start out. Delta, a close to home, affordable, and convenient school. Make the right choice, make the Delta difference.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a bunch of activities and a mall not to far from there.

    Food and Dining

    yummy food for college food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    good academics

    Tips for prospective students

    study the map and go see where your classes are before the first day

    In three sentences

    Its a very friendly school. Just very big and not marked well. But I love it and would recommend it for everyone!

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Delta. I have never felt threaten or worried about my security.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not hear or see any clubs going on at delta. But i do hear about activities going on by postings around the school or on Deltas web site.

    Great for these types of students

    working. living at home. living by your self. unsure of degree. needing a different direction in life. having a dream.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the main campus at delta they have a beautiful court yard that has a man made river flowing though it. I see many art classes drawing the court yard at delta that is full of nature. It really brightens up your day passing thought the halls looking into the court yard.

    Bang for the buck

    Delta College is very affordable. They make it possible for almost anyone to go to college, and the teachers and staff are great.

    What to do for fun

    Gym, Swimming pool with slide, groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Delta College has a great cafeteria. Good healthy food, that is affordable. They also have a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here at delta college

    Academic Rigor

    My teachers are great, very helpful when needed. They explain the subject matter well for me to move foward.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is different than any other schooling that has been done before. In college the goal is for you to learn, and teach your self. There are many resources out there to help you, so take the hand.

    In three sentences

    Delta College is great for anyone who is looking to start college but not sure what they are going for. The advisors and career center can be fantastic help.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places to sit around and just hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Delta has a pretty good choice of food and decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor depends a lot on the teacher chosen, but for the most part the classes are good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try your best and use rate my professor.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a great start for a student. For the most part, the atmosphere and teachers are pretty good. Delta encourages anyone to go to school.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good Security

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the Phi Theta Honors Society and I am going on the Alternative Spring Break Trip this year.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to get some credits done before transferring or people just going to get an associates. A huge variety of people attend this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for the price, books are expensive like any other school.

    What to do for fun

    Delta has a gym you can workout at . Also we have several clubs you can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, has vegetarian choices as well.

    Dorm Life

    - No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I am always learning something new in each of my classes. The teachers are very helpful. I can remember most everything I learn because we do a lot of practice to make sure that everyone has intact in their brain!

    Tips for prospective students

    Delta is a good starting point. It is in a good location, not too expensive and you learn a lot. Also they transfer just about anywhere.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a very great college. The staff and professors do a great job and are very helpful! There is always resources to get help as well.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station located right inside the school. And there are always available when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities to engage in at Delta College

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to save money and then transition to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Delta is a great school to attend for those who are looking for affordable tuition. It is also a great school for those who are fearful of 4 year university's classroom sizes by allowing students to have that one on one contact with your instructor.

    What to do for fun

    With Saginaw Valley State University being right down the street, there are a ton of activities and things that you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Delta has an eatery that offers everything from fried and greasy foods to nice and healthy choices. They also have the best coffee cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Currently Delta College does not have any dorms but there are homes around the area that are available for rent as well as apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    You can still hold down a full-time or part-time job regardless of what academic major you are pursuing as well as continuing to get A+ grades and maintaining a great GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Delta is a great school that can provide you with the skills and knowledge that you need to transition to a 4 year university.

    In three sentences

    Overall Delta College is an awesome school that provides small classroom sizes for that one on one interaction with your professor. Delta College also provides affordable tuition. This is a great school to attend before you transition to a 4 year university.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Delta has a nice and safe environment with polite professionals.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy repairing my house and hanging out with friends and family. On my down time i like to relax and catch up on some of my favorite TV shows. Physical fitness is also a priority as well getting outside and appreciating what the world has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and at a decent price.

    Dorm Life

    I currently own my own home and delta does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Delta has some of the best teachers in my opinion from what I have heard from students that go to other universities. The professors test your abilities to the fullest and are always willing to set time aside to guide you in the right direction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a community college before attending a university so you can save your money!!!! I believe it is a better way to transition from high school to college.

    In three sentences

    For being a community college, I am very impressed with what Delta has to offer. They are affordable and challenging, allowing me to interact with my peers and seek help when needed, this is due to smaller classrooms. I'm glad I made the choice to attend Delta it has saved me a ton of money!

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 41

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Becoming a part of the extracurricular activities. My favorite club is the Hispanic club, I love my heritage and enjoy spending time with others who feel the same as I do.

    Academic Rigor

    I find some classes harder than others but of course a lot of studying does help. The professors are very helpful if you are struggling in a class they are more than willing to help. The professors notice if you are struggling and if you don't ask for help, they will ask you why your struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    To the students that are going to be attending Delta in the future I would strongly recommend them to do their absolute best in their studies, especially in their first year to allow for a high GPA. I would encourage them to take full advantage of the extracurricular activities that they offer and become involved. I would also let them know that self discipline goes a long way in college, have fun but always allow enough time for their studies.

    In three sentences

    I am able to attend college because Delta allows for a flexible schedule, with convenient class hours. I am offered a variety of places to take my courses, including the planetarium, online and the university itself. I'd rate this University a 10 out of 10 because they actually care about their students.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 41

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to get their basic classes done.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly affordable.

    What to do for fun

    The library and coffee shop are quiet places to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    The Red Brix Cafe is nice, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, as Delta is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as soon as you're able to, or else the classes you want may fill up quickly. Look at professors on ratemyprofessor.com to see which ones will fit your needs best.

    In three sentences

    Delta is a great place for getting the classes you need and transferring to a four year university. It's a small campus with people who are mostly focused on their education. It's a great stepping stone to something bigger.