Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Denison University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Denison is great for students who love doing a little bit of everything and enjoy all fields of academics. Denison is a true liberal arts school so students should expect to explore all academic fields. Denison is great for those who wish to take a variety of classes. Moreover, Denison is an active campus, its is great for students who love being in student organizations and making a difference on campus and in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school to get great grades, perform well on standardized tests, participate in extracurricular activities, and show Denison that you want to be a productive and active student on their campus (possibly the most important criterion). Denison wants to see interest from their prospective students so make friends with the admissions officers, meet students, and make numerous visits or stay for an overnight.

    Bang for the buck

    Denison is expensive as any other prestigious liberal arts school; however, it is generous with merit scholarships and a degree from Denison pays dividends! A Denison education is enlightening, making students into autonomous thinkers and productive members of society.

    Am enjoying being here

    Denison University is by no means a party school, but that doesn't mean you can't have a great time their, especially in alcohol-free activities. Denison has extremely active student organization that bring impressive speakers, musician, and authors to campus. For instance, Rebecca Skloot, a New York Times best-selling author was recently on campus giving a presentation, which was extremely well attended! There is also a strong sense of community, which helps students get comfortable with college life quickly and everyone truly cares about each other. Last week, I left my thumb drive in the computer lab and a senior found it and returned it to me! I was so grateful, but events lik these are everyday occurrences at Denison.

    Academic Rigor

    Denison University has amazing and engaging professors, who genuinely care about your intellectual, moral, and social development. Moreover, the learning environment is friendly and encouraging to students of all backgrounds, while challenging everyone to become their best!

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who has diverse interests. I am a Studio Art major soon to declare an Art History minor, but I have also done much study in various dance forms and in the Ancient Greek language while at Denison, as well as taken courses in communication, anatomy (we dissected cats and had the option to go on a field trip to see human cadavers), theatre, and other fields. Such experiences are the norm at Denison. Indeed, you cannot graduate without having taken a very wide range of classes. Denison is particularly great for Studio Artists because you can earn a BFA here, which is the degree you would earn from an art school. Thus, you are basically at a mini (but mighty) art school with all the benefits of studying at a private liberal arts college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your current teachers and other older adults as much as possible about both intellectual and non-academic subjects, as that will help to prepare you for the relationships that you will indubitably have once you get here. Be as involved as possible at your current school in VARIOUS activities and with volunteer opportunities, because that also trains you for life on Denison's campus and will gain you scholarships if you really do a lot. Practice writing as much as possible. Overall, Denison is all about diverse experiences, diverse people, and dialogue.

    Bang for the buck

    You may be thinking that it would be difficult for Denison to live up to its buck value, because that value is so high. Most students here, though, only pay about half of that amount. I personally am paying less than ten percent of their estimated cost. You can pay the same amount or less as you would for a state school, but have an amazing, in-depth, private liberal arts school education. Denison works very hard to not let costs prevent students from attending, or from studying abroad later in their college careers.

    Am enjoying being here

    There comes a point in every college student's career where they hate where they are and what they do. It is natural. I have experienced it, and you will too no matter where you go. For me it happened during sophomore year, when I had a lot of emotional, family, health, and roommate issues. What I can say is that I do not know if I would have been able to get through that time in my life while studying at any other school or with any other professors. You will find that at Denison the professors you work with - or even just the professors in the department you primarily work in - actually care about you and what is going on in your life. They try to help you grow as a member of society, a student, and as a human being. This level of attention and care makes Denison truly different and worthwhile.

    Am learning a lot

    Denison is excellent in regards to academics, and we are such a small school that professors are better able to slow down or speed up their classes depending upon how their students are doing. Also, if an individual student is struggling or has an interest in a specific or other related topic, most professors are more than willing to meet and help or discuss. That's one of the best parts of Denison. The professors love working here, and it shows. Thus, the students all benefit and come away with more than they might have at another school. One fault I can mention is that it is not as easy to learn practical life skills (street smarts) here as at many bigger schools. We are, for the most part, trained to operate in the impractical, scholarly realm. By no means is it impossible to learn street smarts here, just more difficult. One skill that I do believe we learn better more easily than students at many other schools is how to communicate clearly and effectively, because it is such a huge focus in all classes and extracurricular activities, both in written and spoken forms.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is a large and fairly prominent minority on campus. However, Greeks do not dominate the social scene.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for anything and, if not, it's easy to set one up! Also, clubs provide excellent opportunities for leadership and networking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal in front of Swasey Chapel! You won't graduate from Denison if you do.

    Bang for the buck

    Denison is expensive but it also gives out a ton of financial aid. Given that, the experience matches the high end price tag but almost nobody pays that. It's an incredible time in college for how much most students end up paying.

    What to do for fun

    Parties are limited on an entirely-residential campus with minimal satellite housing. But, plenty of events happen like comedians, movies, plays, concerts, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. Students have to be creative with what they eat. However, dining services are putting out more and more local and organic foods.

    Dorm Life

    This can go both ways. Quiet and substance free dorms aren't for everybody and neither are the normal dorms. Rooms are generally spacious and the RAs are great!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary in rigor generally based on field of study. Some departments are more difficult than others. However, all classes are demanding and challenging, some just more than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take difficult classes in high school- the experience of that level of rigor pays off. Learn time management before going to school. GET INVOLVED in high school and even more so in college.

    In three sentences

    Denison feels a lot bigger than it is; just over two thousand people sounds small but there are always faculty/staff, Granville, and other places to experience! Students are friendly and involved. The potential to succeed here is incredible- students can achieve anything!

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Denison is a very safe campus. You can walk around at 2 in the morning and be as safe as 2 in the afternoon. Denison is monitored 24/7 by campus PD and has almost immediate access to Granville PD. That being said, as with any campus, Denison does have its (small) share of student code violations. However, these violations are handled swiftly, and students really try to look after one another.

    Greek Life

    While Denison does have several sororities and fraternities, its Greek life isn't typical of most campuses. Sororities and fraternities are not housed separately on campus, although participation in each group is fairly standard (chapter once a week, dues, service projects, etc.).

    Clubs and Activities

    I mentioned this a little in the what to do for fun section, but Denison really is exceptional when it comes to the amount of clubs and activities you can participate in without even leaving campus. There really is something for everyone. If you like music, you can participate in a number of student lead ensembles; if you like recreational sports you can take your pick from activities as diverse as extreme Frisbee to quidditch. If you are a great communicator or love a particular style of music, you can host your own radio show for the campus radio station. If you're an academic all the way, you can participate in extracurricular studies - from tutoring your peers to events with honorary societies. If you are a giver, you can be part of any number of on campus organizations that work with charitable causes (e.g. Habitat for Humanity, DCA, etc.). If you are a problem solver and justice oriented individual, you can serve as a member of the student conduct board or academic integrity board. Finally, if you are a representative, you can run to be part of the campus student government, which is responsible for a wide variety of campus organizations. Most of the students I knew at Denison were a combination of these types. If you are a combination student too, then great. Your commitment to any one organization is defined solely by you and the time you have available to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Denison is great for students who are looking for an academic challenge and access to a wide variety of academic and professional resources. Denison is also great for the go-getter student. If you like being involved and appreciate the balance of academics and extracurricular activities, Denison is definitely the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For unusual traditions: out of respect (and now superstition) no one on campus walks over the university seal in front of Swasey Chapel. Also, practically everyone on campus eats at Whit's - a frozen custard shop down in the nearby village of Granville (within walking distance). As for unusual locations on campus: Denison is an old college (around since 1831) and has two cemeteries on campus grounds.

    Bang for the buck

    Denison is expensive; there is no doubt about it. However, the quality of academics, diversity of faculty, opportunity for campus involvement, and post-Denison resources are well worth the cost. What is more, Denison provides great financial aid packages (both merit and need based). All that being said, it is definitely worth your money to double major at Denison. Many majors do not require as many classes for the major as others, and if you are already interested in diverse areas of study, double majoring is a great way to exchange the cost of Denison with a greater opportunity for a job in the future.

    What to do for fun

    For being a small campus, Denison has an unusual amount of clubs to join. If you have an odd interest, chances are Denison has a club for that. What is more, if you are interested in something that is not currently sponsored by the campus, it is relatively simple to get your group approved by DCGA, which can even provide you funding for events. Other than clubs, Denison also has a movie night tradition, where we screen recently released films out on the commons. If movies aren't your thing, there are also plenty of sport and music ensembles. Basically, you name it, we've got it.

    Food and Dining

    Honesty was my priority filling this review out, so to keep up with the honest answers, I have to say dining is Denison's weakness. I'll still give it three stars because over my four years I saw improvement in the diversity (and quality) of food in the dining halls. Also, Denison has Slayter Union, which has several snack bars, a pizza hut, a deli, and a grill line if you don't feel like eating in the dining halls. Slayter even provides Meal Exchange, which allows you to eat a meal (sandwich or other dinner item, two sides, a large drink, and desert) for free (as part of the meal plan) every day.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in several different types of housing in my four years at Denison, and I liked them all. My first year I was in a freshman only dorm (a practice at Denison), which was great because I got to know a lot of the members of my class. Sophomore and junior year I lived in a Victorian style house that was open to honors students (now summer research students) and only had 9 other people in my dorm. Finally, senior year I lived in an on-campus apartment with three other seniors. Overall housing is great. The housing lottery is a little bit of a nightmare (which is why I gave housing 4 instead 5 stars), although they are getting better.

    Academic Rigor

    While not every class is an ivy-league clone, many classes (particularly in the social sciences and languages) are very academically challenging. You move through the material very quickly and are expected to actively contribute in every class. The class sizes are very small (average 15 students, although this may change as Denison's population grows), and you are expected to do quite a bit of reading to prepare for each class. Also, no matter what your major, you will be expected to write papers. In my experience, my papers were anywhere from 5 to 25 pages in length, with my senior research landing around 50. Finally, exams are almost always cumulative. However, many classes provide the opportunity to gain a large portion of points throughout the semester (downside, this means a lot of homework), so you have a safety net of sorts when you get to the final.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since my acceptance to the college, Denison has steadily increased its acceptance rate, with this last year (2012) representing the largest incoming class ever on campus. This is great news for prospective students, as Denison is providing more chances than ever at being accepted. Just be sure to keep up your grades. While Denison doesn't limit its incoming population to 4.0 students and national merit finalists, it does provide incredible merit based financial aid to those who qualify. Not a straight A student? No problem. Denison really takes each application into account to look for students, who represent a diversity of backgrounds and the potential to excel. Just note that once you come to Denison, you will be challenged academically, but if you were accepted to the university, that means you are one of the students who is likely to excel in such an environment.

    In three sentences

    Denison University is an exceptional private liberal arts college in Granville, Ohio. Although the campus is small, the diversity of both students and academics makes the university a perfect match for students, who are looking to create an intellectual legacy as well as make a number of diverse friends and future professional contacts. With a high priority on academics as well as an equal commitment to providing hundreds of opportunities for campus involvement, Denison is truly a stand-out university.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, security from Granville is often on campus for the weekends. Otherwise services like Safe-Ride are widely available.

    Greek Life

    No students live in Greek housing although all sororities have their own house off campus. Frat houses are used as dorms for general student population although part of the house if for the fraternities use only. Everyone has friends in other houses and with those that are unaffiliated. Great mix of affiliated students and those who aren't.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from or start your own! Yoga, rock-climbing, service clubs, language clubs, sports teams for club and varsity.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of different types of students. Definitely the majority who love are a mix between good in academics and having fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a freshman convocation where students receive their tassels for graduation. If you hold on to your tassel all four years you get to keep the colored one, otherwise you get a black one senior year. The art buildings have some great rooms and classrooms are open to study which is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing school and offers lots of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of on-campus events, parties and clubs to join. Granville has farmer's markets, festivals, museums, and Columbus is not too far. Always something to keep you busy even in such a small town.

    Food and Dining

    Meals at the dining halls are average, not that great. There are efforts to make foods more local and such, but very repetitive in general. Tons of places in town to eat and nearby. Kitchens in every dorm building. There are options to go to the on-campus cafe to do dinner meal exchange instead of the dining hall. This year they added a simply-to-go option so salads and sandwiches food can be picked up all day at the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    So amazing to be surrounded by all of your friends all of the time. Everyone living on campus can be stressful because of living so close, often with a roommate and little personal space. Apartments for seniors are idolized and there's always the option for a single, quiet building, substance-free dorm, and residency on any of the four quads. Lots of fun and very safe because students don't drive on weekends and don't have to leave campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Completely depends on your major. Multiple labs in one semester are challenging and there are GE requirements for all students. Definitely learn to take advantage of time between classes to do work, as extra-curriculars and sports are often in the evening.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of campus opportunities. All of the students live on campus so there are always events held here like concerts, speakers, arcades, movies, crafts, yoga, club activities and greek events. Just because it is school-sponsored doesn't mean it won't be fun; a lot of my most memorable times here have been at small school events.

    In three sentences

    Denison University is a small-liberal arts college nestled in the small, gorgeous town of Granville but only a thirty minute drive from Columbus. The campus atop the hill is beyond words and all of the faculty and administration are excited to interact with and help students. I have loved my college experience so far.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is pretty good on campus. We offer a service called safe ride and safe walk. For any reason a student feels unsafe on campus, he/she can call security for an escort to their dorm or wherever the need to go. Denison also is equipped with blue lights across campus, which when pressed, security arrives to the scene in minutes.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is prevalent on campus but is not the majority. Around a third of the students are involved in greek life. None of the fraternities or sororities live in their houses. The houses are used for chapter meetings and other get togethers. There are both Panhellenic and Multicultural sororities and fraternities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have a D-day or Denison Day. The President of Denison hires entertainment and there is a huge cookout. Students can have fun with the various activities and get some great free food and entertainment.

    What to do for fun

    Students usually stay on campus on the week-ends. There are many fun activities for students to do. The University Programming Council brings in comedians, magicians, hypnotists, and musicians to come and perform. We also have yearly concerts and various big name artists have come and performed such as: Wiz Khalifa, Asher Roth, Jay Sean, and Travis Porter. We also host the vail series, in which musicians such as Yo Yo Ma come and play at our Swasey Chapel. We also have sorority and fraternity parties, if students are interested in that too. Everything is free to Denison students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Denison is pretty good. We have a variety of options for students. We offer gluten-free options as well as vegetarian options for students who have special dietary needs. We recently introduced sushi and have an ice cream bar located in the student union.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty big with good lightening and bathrooms that are serviced daily.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty rigorous but manageable. As a student athlete I am able to balance my academics with my school work. The classes challenge you to think beyond the black and white answer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before coming to Denison, I recommend getting some good athletic shoes. The hills are a bit of nuisance, but are manageable with good supportive shoes. I also recommend bringing clothes for all types of weather (ohio's weather is unpredictable). Coming into school, have an open mind and be friendly towards other students. Most likely you will meet other friendly students who welcome incoming students to the Denison community.

    In three sentences

    Denison University is a friendly campus with a diverse student body who excel in the classroom, on the field, and in the community. Known as the quaint campus up on the hill, the students who enroll become part of the strong Denison community. A liberal arts school, students are challenged academically as they take classes in different fields of study.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe campus. I have never felt threaten in any way even on party nights.

    What to do for fun

    Despite Denison being a small school in a rural town there is plenty to do. Aside from the campus parties, there are comedians, concerts, movie nights, plays and dances.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all right. It will sometimes get repetitive but the school does try to spice up the menu.

    Dorm Life

    Quiet and/or substance free dorms are available as well as general housing situations. Rooms are fairly spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on one's major but to be fairly general all courses are challenging yet manageable. There is always work to be done.

    In three sentences

    Denison University is a quaint scenic liberal arts college located atop of a hill. While Denison is a small campus, one will always see a new face whether its a student, professor or staff member.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not exceptional or horrible. Average.

    Dorm Life

    The students there are, for the most part, party goers. They throw huge parties inside of the dorms, meaning sleep is hard to come by. To top it off, the rooms are tiny, even for dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have great academics and have a fantastic writing program for people interested in that.

    In three sentences

    Denison is a prestigious school with challenging academics. Denison is also a huge partying school and if you do an over night stay there, it will be evident as soon as you talk to a current student.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, we get alerts immediately if there is anything we need to be aware of, and security will drive people to where they need to be at late hours if they feel unsafe. Overall, we have nothing to worry about other than some deers that love to roam around our campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life exists at Denison and it has a presence mostly through its philanthropies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are cultural clubs, club sports, activities like event planning, humane society, peer counseling, language practicing, habitats for humanity, and so much more. Our event fair hosts several clubs definitely worth exploring.

    Great for these types of students

    Denison has so many different types of students, and freshman year it may not seem like it, but keep your mind open, and you'll find a friend in the person you least expect one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Denison has naked week... it may seem odd, but it's cool because it's for the cause of raising awareness for eating disorders.

    Bang for the buck

    Denison is pricy, but the academics are completely worth it. Not to mention that Denison offers great financial assistance.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, take a bike ride around Granville (Denison has bikes that we may use for free!) it's so beautiful. We also just had our gym and pool remodeled and rebuilt and the pool is open to all students. It is beautiful. Like at most colleges there are parties, but Denison also has comedians, concerts, movies, guest speakers, and much more going on. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of options, but about half way through the semester you'll have to get creative. Go to the deli section and make your own quesadilla. Definitely go to the stir fry section!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a fair size, nothing too luxurious. There are quiet dorms and special interest housing options that are substance free. Because our campus is so small we are all very much connected.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Denison are challenging and stimulating. Denison courses make you think not only on the specific subject at hand but how to apply what you learn to the real world, it is a very distinct way of looking at education through liberal arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Denison is very unique, specifically for its' size and location. At times it may feel like you are trapped, but there are plenty of activities for students on campus, and always alternatives so just explore! There's plenty to do!

    In three sentences

    Denison is a perfect school academically especially because of our very dedicated professors. I also find that Denison's staff overall is great because they are always willing to help with anything you may need. Denison has great resources like the Career Services Center which helps students whom are undecided or students that know exactly what they would like to focus on in suggesting courses, finding internships, writing resumes and preparing for job interviews.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You feel very safe both on Denison's campus and within the village of Granville. The school definitely has the feel of a small-town college. However, when any incident should arise (which does not occur very often) the administration is sure to make students aware. In the moment, security is always available and different measures are put in place to insure speedy response (i.e. blue light system).

    Clubs and Activities

    Endless options and the opportunity to start new ones at anytime.

    Great for these types of students

    Generally accepting individuals. The school and people here are open-minded and considerate of everyone around them. It is such a happy environment because despite all of the diversity around here, we are able to coexist in a mature and respectful fashion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of bonding happens on The Hill even if it is just having to walk it everyday. One very unusual tradition is Naked Week, during which students strip naked and run around different parts of campus each night. The practice has been recognized for its uniqueness in several national publications. For those who participate, it is said to be incredibly freeing, and for those who do not, it can still be funny to just be a spectator.

    Bang for the buck

    The education and experiences you will find here are endlessly rewarding and will definitely benefit you in life after college. However, it can definitely be a pricey school, so if you should choose Denison, be sure that you can afford it.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything. Possibly the only downside (if you can look at it this way) is that you can't do everything. There are opportunities here that you can't find on other campuses. The administration and students alike make sure that there is always something to take part in, no matter what your interests.

    Food and Dining

    If you enjoy being on a meal plan, the selection could not be better. All around campus there are numerous options and good ones at that. However, if you choose to cook for yourself, there are no options to save the money you are forced to spend on a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Improvements could be made to the dorms on an individual basis, but overall dorm life is very enjoyable and definitely fulfills all needs.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work hard, but there is help every step of the way and it really can be done. The work you do here can be so gratifying.

    Tips for prospective students

    People at Denison are endlessly encouraging. You must be willing to work hard if you want to do your part for the community, but it is a rewarding experience. Also be sure that the size of the school suits you.

    In three sentences

    Endless opportunities. Positive and encouraging community. Freedom to choose your college experience.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The star reductions is due to poor communication from administration rather than any actually safety issues. The Denison Alerts system, which is meant to contact all students in the event of an emergency, always seems to be a few hours behind. This can be alarming when the tornado alarms are going off and no one knows what that means.

    Greek Life

    Barely existent. Greek life is mainly active for the sake of parties rather than actual group involvement.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous and involved. My advice is to attend as many as you can at first, and filter into what you like. It sounds cliche, but Denison really is great about supporting new clubs, so don't be dissuaded if you don't see what you like.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked Day. I hadn't heard of this until I was on campus, and from what I understand it its not widely practiced but... it happens. The Wingless Angels. Apparently they're a secret society with diverse roots: they used to be a white supremacy group, which morphed into a civil/students rights group, and has degenerated into a fratboy society. They not exactly active aside from stupid pranks (such as burning a W into the lawn).

    Bang for the buck

    If you limit this to academics, I would give Denison five stars. The classes are small and involved, and professors go out of their way to make time for students and questions. The tutor service is free and easy to receive, the library is extensive due to the OhioLINK program which connects all the Ohio Five schools, and there are several computer labs with printers all over campus. The buildings are also well maintained, and constant upgrades are put into place, such as both our dining halls are being renovated this year. However, my rating decrease stems from the expense of housing and dining. The dining plans are very limiting- you can either spend a lot for meal swipes to the halls, or you can redirect that money to Denison Dollars, which can only be spend in the Student Union anyways. Neither option is very satisfying. The dorms are in fair condition, but they are simply not worth the money you pay. I'm sure this can be said of every college, but due to the required residency on campus for all four years, you will not be able to look for more competitive housing in Granville.

    What to do for fun

    Don't depend on any sort of local scene for fun. The main advantage of Denison is that the school resources are always being put to use, including concerts, comedians, and events in the Student Union. Due to restrictions put into effect by administration, and the absence of Greek housing, parties are normally held in cramped dorm rooms. This past year has led to increased rules, including a Party Registration System, so if this is your goal in coming to college, I would suggest another school.

    Food and Dining

    Something to note is that Denison is changing their food supply company from Sodexco, who has worked with the school for forty years. The food isn't bad, just repetitive. There are always salad bars, fruit, and sandwich stations available throughout the day. Pizza and pasta is normally offered with lunch and dinner. There is usually one entree that is always vegetarian, as well as a gluten-free dessert area for those who need it, but the selection is limited.

    Dorm Life

    Again, it depends a lot on those around you. I live in the freshman quiet dorm, and compared to the rest of campus it is very controlled. Other dorms, such as those on East Quad and Shorney/Smith on West Quad, can get out of control. This year in particular has been a battle between students and the admisinstration over issues of drinking and EMS runs. However, there are certainly dorms and people who remain uninvolved with any party scene.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are heavily dependent on your major and its classes. Communications and Psychology classes act as a catch-all for people who are there for reasons other than school. Most of the sciences (mostly comprised of Chemistry, Biology, and Computer Science) are extremely strict in their class requirements and expectations. Humanities such as English and Area Studies are dependent on the teacher. Most professors are fair, but they expect attendance and effort from students.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Denison sets aside a lot of money for the use of clubs, and looks for students who want to be involved. Get involved with something you enjoy and STICK WITH IT. Don't try to pad your application, instead prove that you are dedicated and follow through. 2. Take advantage of essays to reflect someone who is eloquent and open-minded. Denison takes pride in providing opportunities to broaden your mind, and they want students who will appreciate it. 3. Don't depend on Denison scholarships to carry the day. Apply for anything you can, but there are National Merit Finalists here (my roommate is one) who still didn't get offers to supplement federal aid.

    In three sentences

    Although the campus is small and can feel suffocating at first, students on campus are very involved and the professors are second to none. There are dozens of clubs on campus, and Student Services are very liberal about funding and space. However, the general thriftiness in regards to scholarships may affect whether Denison is worth the price of admissions.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Denison's located in the tiny town of Granville, OH, and is quite safe. There's also plenty of campus security.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is non-residential at Denison, which makes it a lot less clique-y. People in Greek life are often friends with non-Greeks. Rush is also in the spring, giving you time to decide if you're interested in joining and if so, which fraternities/sororities you like.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus and most have weekly meetings, if not more often. Whatever your interests, you can find a club for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart, driven, and likes to party - just make sure you study first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every February there's a week when a lot of people streak across campus. As a freshman, I haven't experienced this yet but it should be quite interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    Denison's got a pretty steep cover price - over $50,000 a year for room and board - but they give out a lot of scholarships and financial aid, and the time here is worth it all.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually concerts and plays going on, and you can always get involved in movie nights (whether they're in your dorm or Slayter or the campus commons), and there are plenty of clubs and activities to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pretty average, but they're changing dining services next year, so fingers crossed for something excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I love living with all of my friends close by. The dorms are pretty standard, and most people get along with their roommates well. The bathrooms are cleaned daily, and when you're an upperclassmen you get more options for suites and apartment-style living.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but doable. Denison has a pretty prestigious reputation as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can, stay overnight. Make sure you ask questions about things you're interested, but also just try to get a feel for the campus and see if you can imagine yourself living here. Try to make a couple of friends while you're visiting; talking to them about the decision will make it easier and it's great to know some people if you do decide to go here. Denison is really what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    Denison is social - whether you're eating, studying, or wandering around campus, you do it with friends. Denison is smart - it's amazing to be around this many people who have higher than average intelligence. Denison is a bit of a party school, but simultaneously accessible for those who don't like the party scene.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always standing by when students call for help.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is practiced on campus but it is not obnoxious. It is very inclusive and is not overwhelming or even very prevalent to those that aren't involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs on campus from sports to volunteer groups. There is a lot to get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    A Denison education is definitely worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus and there are many groups and organizations to join to get involved. If there isn't already a group you're interested in, you can start one yourself.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a wide variety of food to choose from in case you don't like what is in the main line.

    Dorm Life

    While dorms that aren't designated as quiet dorms can get very loud, the dorms that are quiet or other special designations do comprise people that try to uphold the rules of their dorm at all times.

    Academic Rigor

    While I felt I was prepared for college, even coming from a very rigorous high school, the work load at Denison is still definitely a wake up call.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that students be prepared to participate a lot in classes and let your opinions be heard. It is also important to be able to work well with other students.

    In three sentences

    Denison is a challenging school academically, but as far as campus goes, it is a wonderful place to attend college. Professors really do care about your academic standing and go out of their way to help you in any way possible. Being a residential campus, you make friends fast and become very close with those that live around you.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    You can join a sports team, hang out with friends, party, watch movies, go off campus to shop. Thereâ??s endless opportunities to amuse yourself. There is always an event on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be healthier.

    Dorm Life

    everyone is just so friendly!

    Academic Rigor

    Denisonâ??s academics are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on the Denison page to learn more about the college.

    In three sentences

    Denison is the place to be! Who wouldn�t want to attend a small liberal college where every individual matters? Denison strives and succeeds in providing the best education for its students.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well patrolled, well lit, and safe environment.

    Greek Life

    Many clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list, opportunities for all !

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, Artistic, Cultured, and Liberal.

    Bang for the buck

    The most beautiful campus in Ohio.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, theater, swimming, walks around campus, and friends.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing with alot of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Supportive and fun atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit us !

    In three sentences

    Excellent campus, atmosphere, and educational opportunities.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't know how it will be in the real world, as us Denisonians like to call it, once I graduate. We have a very close knit community so it's extremely safe here.

    Greek Life

    Sometimes it may seem like the whole campus is part of greek life but less than 30% of our campus is Greek. So if you like it or it's something you want to try, don't be afraid to join. But if it's not for you, don't bother..there are plenty of other student not doing it also!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 160 clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    People who like diversity, being challenged, and attended private OR public high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University seal. It's said that you can't step on it or you will not graduate. You better believe come May 12, 2013 about 450 students (my class size) will be paying this seal a visit!!

    Bang for the buck

    You either LOVE Denison or you don't. You'll find that very few students do not like it.

    What to do for fun

    Denison is about 25 minutes east of Columbus so we often take trips there to have a good time. You do not necessarily need to leave campus to have a good time. It is required for our student to live on campus all four years, so you always are around friends and Denison always has planned activities to get involve in.

    Food and Dining

    Apparently this is changing this year. The students also had a say in the dining services they wanted to bring in.

    Dorm Life

    Denison staff do a pretty good job at matching you up with a good roommate your first year. By-far some of the cleaniest/nicest dorms I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here definitely challenge you, but if you weren't being challenged then what are you paying all that money for?

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit!! You'll love what you see. Everyone is genuinely friendly. If you get a chance make friends with upper classmen. They know all the good secrets!

    In three sentences

    Denison has an amazing campus full of very dedicated professors that genuinely care about your learning. The small class size and living on campus is definitely a bonus that will benefit many. If I had another chance, I would 100% choose Denison.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Probably the safest campus to exist ever!!!! I walk alone at night from quad to quad sometimes and I've never been concerned once! We are basically on top of a hill all by ourselves so we don't have to worry about creepy people coming onto campus. Also, students are very respectful and safe because it's a small campus so you never really have to worry about other students.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very prominent on campus. It's the biggest organization on campus and if you are a very social person planning to take part in the party scene you almost have to be involved with greek life. That being said, our frats and sororities are not completely stereotypical. There is a huge mix of people that belong to each one so you can easily find the right place for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of student organizations on campus!! We probably have one for every interest you could imagine and if there isn't a club already in place for something you're interested in, it's not very difficult to form your own club and get funding from the school. Every club gets funding from the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Denison is really great for students who love to have a good time and party but are also very professional and preparing for the professional world. It's a great place to make connections, while working hard, and partying hard(er).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Naked Week is an awesome tradition at Denison every year where people basically get together in a big organized group and streak across different parts of campus. The opening ceremonies take place around noon on academic quad an the rest of the naked runs take place at night. The last night there's a huge naked party and this year there were 200 people there participating! It was one of the best nights of my life!

    What to do for fun

    We have A LOT of fun here at Denison. Even though the administration and security tries to limit it often. We party every weekend and often on mondays and wednesdays too. Drinking is a really big part of a social life here at Denison so it would probably be difficult if you didn't drink, but that being said, I do know a couple of people who choose not to drink at all. I don't know how they do it though.

    Food and Dining

    Currently the dining sucks, but we are actually getting a new dining service next fall (2013)! So, everyone is SUPER excited about this and hopefully it will be a lot better than our current dining company, which shouldn't be too difficult. Also, one of our dining halls is currently being renovated so it will be really nice when it's done.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Denison is unique because everyone lives on campus all 4 years. Personally, I really like it this way. It makes the campus seem like more of a community and I love living in the dorms with all of my friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Denison is very challenging academically. I would say there are few easy classes. However, if you choose, you can get by without doing toooo much. Your GPA will definitely be affected though.

    In three sentences

    I really love Denison and our beautiful campus! The students are great and we know how to have A LOT of fun. Sometimes too much.....

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is helpful and up to date. They offer escort services after dark, react quickly to calls, attempt to get to know the students and teach them about safety, and there are also emergency-call towers all around campus so that any one who needs immediate help can press the button on the tower and help will come as soon as possible. Accidents and some things can still get out of hand, but overall they do a good job.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in a few clubs, and there are many to choose from! There is a club fair each semester so all of the students can sign up for whatever they like, then possibly narrow it down so it fits both their interests and schedule. Whatever you choose, it will take your mind off of that term paper deadline.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Denison holds an annual tradition called Naked Week. In support of body health awareness, students streak (from underwear-clad to completely naked, based on comfort level) across different parts of campus, throughout the school week at night, except for during the opening ceremony, which is held in broad daylight and many, many people gather around to watch. It's fun, celebrated, respected by the students and staff, and fairly safe (security stands by, just in case).

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do on campus! There are extracurriculars (varsity and intramural), there is a recreation center that has many uses, clubs that meet regularly, events are hosted weekly by the school (such as comedy events and concerts in the main building), and parties to attend (hosted by the school and otherwise), and more, if you know where to look.

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge variety of food in the dining halls and in the main building cafeteria. Some of the food is questionable, but there is usually fruit or some other alternative, such as going to the main building for food.

    Dorm Life

    The people on campus are really friendly. Resident Assistants do their best to make sure that we know them, as well as our floor mates. The dorms are nice, with good-sized rooms and comfortable common rooms with TVs.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very good at teaching what they love. The classes are somewhat tough but pro-active. Also, do not be afraid to ask for help when you need it- their office hours are pretty flexible and they are willing to make appointments with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tuition is costly. There are scholarships to be awarded from the school, but definitely earn as many outside scholarships as possible. Also, be open-minded- there is a lot of diversity on campus and a lot to take in and get used to, so it makes the transition from home or from another school much easier.

    In three sentences

    Denison is a great school for anyone who wants to study liberal arts and the humanities. The student body is nice and small with about 2,500 students on campus. The student body is very diverse.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are either nice or jerks.

    Greek Life

    Yes, need to be allowed to live in the houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Greek life has potential if the school doesn't crack down on it. They hold all the traditions. There is also naked week where people streak across campus that is quite interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    The lacrosse games are actually pretty exciting.

    What to do for fun

    Drink.

    Food and Dining

    You'll go hungry after 1:00AM. The options are not cheap and not yummy. The food in town is better.

    Dorm Life

    The school needs off-campus housing or more single rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't think this school gets enough respect for how challenging it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply Early.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Denison a 7.5/10. The students and professors at this school are fantastic and give the school much potential to reach 10/10. The administration and townies are a drag.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe & they have emergency booth things all around campus just in case you need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sooooo many clubs. There is something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is stepping on the seal outside of the Swasey Chapel. It is said that if you step on it you will not graduate on time. Everyone avoids it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs on campus that do a great job at planning different events for the weekend. There is always stuff going on. We get great speakers all the time and fun things to, like magicians and movies. There is really no dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, On some days its really great & then it'll be okay again. It varies but there is always sandwiches and salad so it is not so bad if you do not like any of the other stations.

    Dorm Life

    It depeneds which dorm you get assigned to. There is your typical party hall and your regular quiet houses but administration does a good job in putting you in the right hall.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not so bad, but if a student who never took AP classes came into this environment it would be hard for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If applying to Denison I suggest you visit the campus. It helped me decide because you don't get to experience the vibe unless you are there. The people here are just very nice and courteous it will surprise you. Also, keep up on your school work because we are a bit fast paced but it is manageable.

    In three sentences

    Denison University is a community of its own on the hill. It values diversity and integrity. Denison is a great place to be.