Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Des Moines Area Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is wonderful for students who don't quite know what they want to do. It gives them the opportunity to discover more about themselves through taking a wide variety of classes. It's also wonderful for students who are working toward saving money for a university or private college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and willing to try new things. Most importantly, find an academic advisor to help you plan out your two years. It's very easy to get lost in all the classes and be confused about where you would like to go. The advisors are there to help you figure things out. Use them to your advantage.

    Bang for the buck

    The education here is of great quality for so little money. It also opens up many opportunities. Just make sure you are looking for them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Each campus is a little different and it took me a while to find my niche. Now that I have found the campus I like, I am around students and faculty that I enjoy being around. It is a great atmosphere to learn and is a great transition from high school to college life.

    Am learning a lot

    Each class I have taken has taught me a little bit about myself. College is so much about self discovery and that is one of the great qualities of DMACC. Not only am I learning about myself, my likes and dislikes, and who I am as a person, I am learning so much about each of the subjects I am taking. Even if a class does not directly relate to my area of study I can always take some part of it to apply to my major. This school does a great job of crossover education.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are unsure of what you would like to major in, I highly suggest going to this college. It's a great way to get your generals done and by taking a variety of classes, maybe you can narrow down your decision by seeing what you like/dislike. If you are thinking about transferring to a four year college after going to a two year, DMACC offers a few 2+2 programs that will help make a smooth transfer. It will also be cheaper than many other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many resources that are offered for students, so use them to your advantage. If you ever are struggling in a certain class, seek out some extra help. The Academic Achievement Center at DMACC can help out with a lot of different subject areas including math, writing, science, and other areas. Also, do the best you can. It's easy to slack off sometimes, but if you put your all into it, you'll get the most out of your education and be able to use what you have learned beyond the classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. Tuition is much cheaper than many colleges, which is awesome. Don't think that you won't get a good education because it's a cheap community college. I have learned a lot in the past few semesters here and the teachers I have had in my classes have been extremely helpful in my learning experience. They care and want what's best for each of their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being here. One thing I really like about this college is that the teachers seem to really care about their students and are willing to take the time to help individual students if they need it. There are many resources that they offer for students to receive extra help for certain subject areas too. Students can also choose from a few different campuses to where they would want to attend. I have had classes at Ankeny and Urban. Personally, I would recommend going to Ankeny, which is the main campus. It's a little bigger (including the campus, student size, library, cafeteria, student lounge, etc.) and they offer a few more classes than at Urban. It all depends on what your preferences would be though. I also think that Des Moines is a good place to be and has a lot to offer. From Ankeny campus, it's probably about a 15 minute drive and the Urban campus is located near downtown.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently attending my second year at DMACC. I have learned a lot from my classes, teachers, and peers not only about class material but about myself. When I first came to this college, I did not know what I wanted to major in. I decided to take a variety of different classes to see what I liked or disliked and thought that hopefully I would get a feel of what I would want to have a career in. Through this process and through the people I met, I made a decision by my second year and started to direct my classes towards that major. College isn't just about getting a degree, but it's about finding out who you are and who you want to be.

  • 08/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Single parents, unemployed, lowerclass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for fall term early in July!!

    Am learning a lot

    Great school, everyone is helpful and encourage you to be the best you can be.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great place for people who are low income, want to get a degree, but don't want to take 4 year, and people who want to get there basic classes done and then move on to a 4 year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers here are great and you get one on one attention from the teacher since your classes sizes aren't more then 20 to 30 students per class.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a enrolled as a graphic design student here and when I looking at school I had asked my art teacher what school she recommend and she said DMACC. So I applied and since being I have learned a lot. Plus our teachers goals are to teach you what you will need to know in the industry and not a whole bunch of other stuff they do not use. what they do is go out and talk to professionals in the industry about what they want students to know when they come out school. Then when they find this out this is what they end up teaching us.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I only use the vending machines for drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea, live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Follow the path your instructor has set for you by going to class and doing the assignments and you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, meet other students, have fun and study.

    In three sentences

    DMACC offers a wide variety of opportunities to a diverse student population. The instructors are very interested in your success and are willing give you extra help as needed. DMACC is a great solution for bettering your future.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that don't want to get lost in a large university. students that want to ease into a college experience. students that have been out of school for some time and are ready to get a higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are not ready for a 4 year university then go to dmacc your first 2 years. it introduces you to what college is about but it's not so overwhelming for first time college students. ask for help if you are feeling lost, someone will be able to help you.

    In three sentences

    i find dmacc perfect for my needs at this time. it's convenient and accessible. dmacc is small enough that you don't get lost in the crowd but yet it has the technology available for your specific needs.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education that you receive is totally worth it in the long run. It is very affordable and most of the credits transfer to four-year universities.

    What to do for fun

    I usually ride my bike around campus. There are a lot of extracurricular activities such as plays, sports, religious groups, and all sorts of other clubs.

    Food and Dining

    My parents cook for me sometimes, but I can usually cook for myself.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I don't need to rent a dorm or an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as I keep up on my reading and writing, i have no problem with DMACC. I have had a few math courses online that take awhile to finish, but they are relatively easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you wish to enroll at DMACC, be sure to contact your instructor at some point when your course begins and get an idea of what they expect from you. Keeping a casual acquaintanceship with your professor can better your chances of success in the class.

    In three sentences

    From my personal experiences at DMACC, I have discovered how great it is to start out at the community college level. The professors are very helpful and they have made me feel more confident on finishing my degree. DMACC is a wonderful place to get a general education at a very low cost.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I have received tremendous encouragement from all of my instructors! The challenge has been rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have greatly enjoyed my experiences here!

    In three sentences

    I am graduating in May from the DMACC Carroll Campus with my Associates Degree. I have greatly enjoyed my experiences here! I have received tremendous encouragement from all of my instructors! I love the small campus and atmosphere!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education is cheap and affordable. The books can be cheap and the dorm rent can be to. The food is cheap too.

    What to do for fun

    They have study rooms and game rooms. They also have a gym to workout in. They have areas to just sit and relax, while socializing with others.

    Food and Dining

    Has varities of foods to pick from. they have lots of healthy choices to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    They have so many classes to take. Also, many opportunities to take for career life.The instructors are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on your education. Don't mess around on your classes. Also, Don't take classes you cant do.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is one of the best community colleges to help students with their dreams. They have so many resources and ideas to help you. They have a dorm and child daycare that is amazing.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These folks are helpful, friendly and they will take the time to help in any way they can!

    Clubs and Activities

    DMACC offers quite a variety of clubs and activities and the SAC sponsors many fun and educational activities.

    Great for these types of students

    A great place to begin post-high school education, especially if you are still exploring career choices.

    Bang for the buck

    Very economical. The small class size and low tuition costs combine to make DMACC an exceptional value.

    Food and Dining

    The Ankeny area has a plethora of eateries near DMACC.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply in my case.

    Academic Rigor

    The expectations are achievable if a student attends class, completes assignments and studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Immerse yourself in the DMACC experience. The more connected you are to instructors and students, the higher the probability that you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    The staff at DMACC is knowledgeable, compassionate and extremely committed to the students. The Academic Achievement Center provides students with many resources which contribute to their success. The cost is very economical and well worth the investment.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For about any type of student. It is really good for students just out of high-school or not sure what they want to be in school for.

    Tips for prospective students

    College isn't as bad as you may think. You just need to pay attention to your classes and study so you can do well and learn what you need.

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't cost that much to go to this school and you get good quality learning.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the classes that I am taking. It helped me to come here while I was trying to figure out what I was wanting to go to college for.

    Am learning a lot

    I am only taking online classes at this school. You get a lot of choices of classes to choose from that interest you. They have good teachers that help you learn.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Going to school at DMACC has shown to be alot cheaper than most colleges in this area.

    What to do for fun

    Buc's Night! It's the local hockey team, the school gives great discounts to the games.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are ok. I don't use their services enough to give you a good answer.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I give it four stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to talk to as many students as possible about what classes are hard and who are the mean teachers and so on; it really helps to know what you are getting yourself into before each class starts.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college, that does amazing things for the students and the community. I feel that by the time I finish attending college here I will be very educated and comfortable heading out into the field of nursing.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always feel safe and that is a great feeling to have.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many clubs like for example the SAC club which always offers many fun activities. They also had many activities from sports to drama and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are used to being in a small class. Also for people who like having one on one time with professors.

    What to do for fun

    Things to do for fun are always just going to the library or computer lab and discovering great new ways to learn. It also offers a game room.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to any prospective student is to of course always get your work done and stay on top of things. Never lose hope and be determined. Always believe in yourself.

    In three sentences

    Des Moines Area Community College is a great place to get started with your education. You can always get the help you need from teachers and tutors. Everyone is really nice. This college amazing for anyone willing to learn and achieve their career goals.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security personal posted in the main building and they walk through the other buildings multiple times a day. If you need a ride from building to building at night you can call them to escort you. I know a couple of them as friends and they are very friendly as well.

    Greek Life

    Not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    I have had a great time being on the student activities council at the Urban campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students just out of college who do not want to have quite so much college debt upon graduation (DMACC is very transfer-friendly). And older adults who may already have a busy schedule and would lie to move on to the net step in their careers, or who want to start a new career!

    Bang for the buck

    I have enjoyed all of my DMACC classes and I have learned a lot from them. Because of going to DMACC, I feel more ready to tackle a four-year college that I was when I graduated high school.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities council plans many events for students that are either very cheap of free. activities include, but are not limited to: sporting event tickets, cheap spring break trips to surrounding states, day trips to museums or historical places, and funding some free lunch days. There are also quite a few different clubs to be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at Ankney campus because that is where the culinary school is and they employ the students to do lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorms are apartments that are affiliated with the Ankney campus. I have not lived in one but they seem nice. I cant really give a solid review on this subject.

    Academic Rigor

    You should not have trouble passing any class at DMACC with good grades as long as you stay on top of the work. Leave some time in your schedule to study, depending on your class content. Remember: The teachers are there to help so do not be afraid to ask them if you are confused about something. There is also more than one academic help office plus tutoring programs for additional help. Take advantage of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved. I am on the Student Activities Council at DMACC and because of it I have been able to meet many new people and we go on trips to places that I would not have been able to go. Along those same lines, almost all important communication happens through the DMACC email system so be sure to check your email often.

    In three sentences

    Going to DMACC was the best idea I have ever had. It is affordable and I have loved all of my teachers, they are very friendly and knowledgeable. Because of my adventures at DMACC, I finally have a solid plan of what I will do with my future.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Ankeny campus is very safe. They have security on patrol and the police are very close. They also have a police program on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that going into a field such as nursing, dental, or culinary arts. All of these fields have a hands on study program. the dental and culinary students both run a clinic or a restaurant.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very affordable. You get the education that you pay for. you haves small classes in most cases so that you have quite a bit of one on one with the teachers if you choose to take the opportunity.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different groups and clubs that you can join. There are fliers posted all over the school so you can see what groups you can find. The Ankey campus also has a wonderful walking trail that is very gorgeous.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok and is not hard to find. It seems to be typical cafeteria food. There are also vending machines all over the campus that accept credit cards and cash.

    Dorm Life

    They have apartments that you can rent but not really dorms. I lived off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the teachers they are willing to help and you can learn a large amount more that way. If you take online classes set aside a scheduled time to work on that class.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is a very good school for both part and full time students. Most of the teachers are very good and want to see you succeed. The school and teachers are willing to work with you to see that you have the best education possible.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the money, DMACC is an excellent option. They have an agreement in place with all of the large in-state schools so that many credits will transfer. DMACC also has some awesome trade programs for those interested in nursing and auto mechanic programs.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at DMACC once or twice. There is a convenience store and a dining area.

    Academic Rigor

    DMACC is still fairly challenging if you are trying to keep a 4.0 GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    This can be a great start to a college education. Make sure to take it seriously and do your best, because this is still college. Take advantage of everything that DMACC offers. It is much less expensive than a larger university, and has smaller class size.

    In three sentences

    Its a good choice to get prerequisites out of the way if you plan on transferring to a 4-year university. It does have some excellent classes and teachers available. Very affordable for anyone considering a two-year degree, or an eventual transition to a larger college.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always have security guards around

    Clubs and Activities

    Sac and PTK

    Bang for the buck

    Its alittle more money once you start a program

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and attend class.

    In three sentences

    I think this is one of the best places to go in central Iowa. They are the only school in central Iowa that offer Dental hygiene. The teachers are nice and great to get along with.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe. The campus seemed to have a very low crime rate and anything that I heard about came up and then was dealt with very quickly.

    Greek Life

    I didn't really hear anything about it. There may have been people who were part of one or another but nothing that was main-frame.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural was one I never participated in but I saw that a lot of people enjoyed. I didn't get into any actual clubs through DMACC but I am also the kind of person who will walk up to people i do not know and start casual conversation, for no more reason than my curiosity.

    Great for these types of students

    All types, I can't think of a person or student who couldn't fit in or benefit from DMACC. I knew some who had to retake a class they failed where ever they were going to school normally, so when they came home for the summer they retook the transferring class through DMACC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is no hazing. lol

    Bang for the buck

    I was honestly blown away at how much the professor are into their students, how much they care about the success of each one. Instructors teach at DMACC because they are passionate and because they love to see their students excel. I have take almost two years worth of classes through DMACC, I will have completed 50s.h. there after this summer. I regret one class. How many people can say that at a university? I had all the help i asked for and even outlets I never needed that were free and always accessible to me.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said earlier, there are tons upon tons of events during the fall and spring semesters. There are still events during the summer, but I take a night class so I don�t get to see a lot of them. DMACC has them all listed, I think the week at a time, on the website homepage, and on the tables in the dining area. So the schedule is Never hard to find, and I don�t think any of them cost to show up for. This summer they actually had a pow-wow on campus one afternoon, and not just DMACC but the public was invited to that, which is unusual. I have been to a pow-wow before but was unable to attend this one because I had to work. What else? During the spring semester this year we had two different jugglers, a couple comedians, and some guest singers who were actually pretty good. Karaoke was every Thursday both semesters, and grocery bingo two or four times a month, as well. Grocery bingo is free, you get two bingo cards, and if you win you go up and pick something from the groceries that are by whoever is calling out numbers. As well, DMACC students get tons of discounts on places or stuff around town and even tickets to Adventure Land. Don�t get me wrong that may mean more to someone with kids, but either way, it�s cool. Especially since they added the new waterpark. Well DMACC is close to old downtown of Ankeny and even closer to Deleware Rd. If you don�t know Ankeny, let me say that Deleware is a main road that runs through the east side of Ankeny and has just about anything you can think of on it somewhere, except the pools, booth of the pool are off of State St ( also 2nd Ave). One the north side, the bigger one on the south side less than 10 minutes from DMACC, I guess that�s about Ankeny not necessarily DMACC, but the town your school is located in is still important.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest food that is prepared for masses does tend to lack a certain quality. In contrast, the Ankeny campus DMACC had some okay and some great. There was something kind of like a mock-subway it was really good, always the people who work it are really nice, which surprised me when I first started at DMACC. The food center has a lot of variety for its size.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the on campus housing but from what i have seen of them, they are very nice. Seeming well up kept and anyone I ever met who did live in them raved about them, and when I say raved I should capitalize the word. As well, I can�t recall ever hearing someone complain about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very understanding and specifically accessible to their students. I never felt as if I could not access or reason with my instructors, they are very easy to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be a transfer student, if you can get the same classes cheaper (especially general education classes) through another institution that are accepted by the institution you need to go to, take them at the cheaper of the two. Start backwards in planning your post-high-school education. Start with what you want to do for the rest of your life, find something you like to do that is going to be around and pertinent for a long time. Figure out what it takes to be successful at it, where 'the best in the business' grew their success and how to top it. Know what college offers the best program to get you where you want to be, and do Everything that it takes to get into that college. If summer classes will help your chances, they are no longer optional or extra, take them and put in the effort to get through them with good grades. Ways to get ahead in the classroom; give your professors a reason to think highly of you, go not just the extra mile but the three after that they didn�t ask for. This is not a two way street; look for a reasons to like your instructors, get over your irritations and preferences. To be blunt you opinions of them are just going to get in your way, and at best, unimportant because your instructor will not change for your options. Focusing on reasons you do not like or agree with them is just going to get in your way and hurt your learning. Keep in mind that it is their classroom, and you're paying for the class because you need the information they will try to teach you. If you attend every class and still do not shine in the class after the first two weeks, stay after or approach the professor during his/her office hours and ask the your instructor to help you figure out why and what course of action they recommend. The professor may honestly mean it as a suggestion but you should take it as mandatory , and something that requires action at your soonest opportunity.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is exceptional and focused, all but exclusively, on their students. The atmosphere is fairly informal, vivacious, general not stuck up, and has on campus housing. The faculty, and sometimes other students, hold events free in the commons or dining area almost daily during fall and spring semesters, more often there are multiple events in a day making it easy to pass time and meet people in comfortable situations on campus. Furthermore it is much less expensive to complete classes, even just general education requirements, here than just about any other sufficiently accredited school; despite low costs, the Ankeny campus is the most beautiful and skillful cared for community college campus I have ever seen.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is alway campus security on guard there and ready to help anyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    They always have events going on, and discounted prices on tickets for baseball games, movies, and plays.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to go on to a four-year college, students who aren't sure what they want to go into, students who aren't sure if college is for them. Young, old, it doesn't matter because you can find a wide range of students here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a great pond with a walking path right on campus that not only draws in students but also members of the community. Its a great place to be and to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Starting out here really helped me prepare for continuing on after and also helped me save to do so.

    What to do for fun

    The college is always providing some sort of activities for students to do which is a great way to get to know other students. There are games, sports options, classes at the gym, pizza, and entertainment nights.

    Food and Dining

    There is always something available to students.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently a Resident Assistant at the apartments on campus, and I love being there for other students.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many options for classes you can take, and degrees you can get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources provided to you like the library, the help centers, even staff. Everyone is willing to help you as long as you are willing to try.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the Ankeny Des Moines Community College as a very helpful and great community college. The instructors are willing to help, and understand many different learning styles. I am glad I picked this college to start out with.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vocational, older adults, and people who are needing schooling at an economical price.

    What to do for fun

    Athletics

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for Federal Government Loans. Pay attention to due dates. Go in early the morning to speak to advisors for financial aid and building a schedule.

    In three sentences

    Affordable and economical college. Makes an older adult feel great about themselves going back to college.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for some of the different majors/interest areas, sports clubs, an honors society, an LGBTQA club, student activities counsel, and several others. Information on these are difficult to find, though.

    Great for these types of students

    Local students, non-traditional students, and high school students.

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC is a very economically-friendly option!

    What to do for fun

    There are sports, of course, as well as a gym. Fitness classes are offered (for free, I believe), there are regularly scheduled activities, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Many people opt to eat at home or a restaurant, as the campus only has a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Campus housing is available, but few people live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors also teach at other colleges/universities, such as Simpson, Iowa State, and Mercy. They know what they're doing, and teach the same lessons at DMACC as they do at the other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the maps online before your classes! The room numbering system is confusing.

    In three sentences

    At DMACC you receive an education equal to that at a public or private university, but for much less cost. One drawback is that little social life involved. Another is that their student services office is extremely disorganized and hard to navigate.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Was decent.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers seem to be well informed, and know what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early and sign up for classes right way.

    In three sentences

    DMACC has small but interactive classes where the teachers seem to care. The college itself has a high school feel to it. The parking lot is the worst part about the school.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security driving around almost non stop and often the security is watching the college on surveillance also. There is very little fighting on records at the school and fairly low crime rate in general. over all they do their best to prevent any illegal or unsafe conditions but those conditions occur every once in awhile.

    Greek Life

    Haven't experience that much yet either. It's my first year and I feel you get in where you fit in. Eventually I wouldn't mind joining an honor society and I am constantly working towards achieving my goal of getting there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been in the college long enough in order to join any groups yet. I'm making sure I can handle the peaks of my education before I add in doing clubs and activities to the mix.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is sincere about expanding there horizons and learning. They have many majors, programs to help you decide your major, and are a credited college that can get you into several other 4 year colleges if your goal is to get your foot into a door to broaden your college horizons

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a walking path and a small pool hall inside of the school itself. Other than that haven't seen many unusual locations.

    Bang for the buck

    This place is awesome. Overall I would have to give DMACC 5 stars; They provide a great class variety for a community college, quite a few fun things to always dig your nose into, and teachers that truly care about your grades. In the AAC they are always willing to help you get personal help on anything that you are having a rough time getting threw.

    What to do for fun

    For fun they have quite a few clubs and a few honor societies, and if that isn't down your isle they have a decent library and fairly large computer room. They also occasionally provide activities, have a weight room, yoga classes, and other physical activities. Most of the yoga classes and other workout classes are free two students and two or three dollars a day if you bring a guest;

    Food and Dining

    In one of the buildings they often have there culinary arts cooks making food and you can go in there for some good fine dining for ten dollars a meal, or you can go to the cafeteria and they sell food also but not nearly as good as the culinary arts room.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I don't know. I do however drive past the dorm rooms often and they look decent but from what I hear they charge you over 400 dollars a month to share a apartment with someone when right down the street I have a duplex for that only cost s me 600 a month.

    Academic Rigor

    Like all schools some classes are harder than others and some teachers are more strict than others but it all balances out. It's what you make of it, but if you wanted to attend a college for being a community college this would be the place to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could tell the students anything it would be to make use of the resources that this great school has to offer such as the Academic Achievement Center and their library; I couldn't stress the importance and gratification that I have for these departments. They could be your best friend throughout the year and there library is up to date on library technologies. I would also stress the importance of showing up early to all your classes because sometimes parking can be hectic, but it's well worth it with the small class sizes and the one on one interface you get with instructors and tutors, and lastly I would suggest getting to know your instructors at a down to earth level because at DMACC you can tell that most instructors truly care how there students do.

    In three sentences

    Des Moines Area Community College has extremely easy to get along with instructors; also they are very helpful all around. They have an academic achievement center where I go to study daily and if I am need of assistance they will help you hands on and pay for a tutor for you if needed. It's honestly a great learning atmosphere and I look forward to the next 3 years of education.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has full time security guards on patrol of the campus. Gives a secure feeling.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm currently in a fledgling state of a Ultimate Frisbee club.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student activities and clubs that everyone is welcome to join!

    Food and Dining

    Great choices in foods.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but I wish there were college owned dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Students work very hard for the time they are here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do the homework and study, you'll do great.

    In three sentences

    Great campus. Better teachers. Amazing students

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DMACC is very safe. They have security everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Des Moines!

    Food and Dining

    Go to SE Delaware! We call it Food Street.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics aren't super difficult. I'd say this is a good place to break yourself in for a 4 Year College.

    In three sentences

    It is affordable! I love small classes and individual attention you can get from the instructors.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I personally am in the Ultimate Frisbee Club!

    Food and Dining

    Ankeny and West both have really delicious food. Ankeny has a lot more options however.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, however a few of my friends do and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are the perfect amount of challenging. Not too difficult and not super easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a lot of clubs!

    In three sentences

    I love it here, the people are all friendly. The classes are all really information filled, engaging, and i have learned a lot so far. It's wonderful that all my classes and work schedule don't conflict because the options they have for class times!

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An ATM was stolen but DMACC has security constantly. I feel safe here.

    Greek Life

    Non existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports plus there are many clubs for the majors here.

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC is very cheap. The instructors know a lot about the subject as many of them are retired from that career.

    Food and Dining

    Food in one of the buildings is pretty good but DMACC does not have a meal plan since most do not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be easy, but they can also be difficult. Since credits transfer to 4 year colleges the classes are more difficult. If there are problems DMACC offers free tutoring in one of the buildings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. Attend class. Don't waste your time, be a full time student if possible.

    In three sentences

    DMACC classes are cheap affordable and easy. All these things can be attractive to a new college student also, many credits transfer to the 4 year colleges. With small classes I get more involved with my learning.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is so lax, if you call them for help they take over an hour to get there. then they blame you for what happened. They let Students with Criminal records Rent/go to class.. they take reports of threats from other students as if it is a joke. they laugh and put you down, and shake hands with the person who came after you.

    Clubs and Activities

    This place only has maybe 5 events in a year!

    Great for these types of students

    Jocks, drug addict's, alcohol abusers, ....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some of the traditions at DMACC is: Hazing students. Parting is #1 here. no one does their Home work it is too easy to do!

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC should be on the list for worst colleges!

    What to do for fun

    most of the city is broken down. you can find the broken down bowling alley and many other stores here. you have to go to out of Town for anything to do

    Dorm Life

    Here at the campus view Students just take things with out asking, sometimes invading your own bed room at the Dorm. and even doing serious damage to personal stuff. When I moved in the place looked great, and then 3 - 5 bags of garbage all over the Complex. stairs filled with junk, red stuff which looked like blood. fights all the time at night, drug/alcohol parties. talk about the Roach motel.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic wise, the HW is too easy and most teachers give better grades to certain students. if the teacher does not know you, expect a low grade.

    In three sentences

    This college rocks for the first few days, but students and staff members here have bad tempers. the college is tiny, and they have some of the classes I need but, I had to transfer out. while they are building new dorms, student class size is shrinking. the Library is small, the Computer labs are always filled up. there is a lot of crime in Ankeny, and around the campus. the Security officers are too busy Checking doors and having fun to actually do anything.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very high here at DMACC, they have cameras in the parking lots, security driving through the parking lots, lots of safe places to go and staff to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities all over campus

    Great for these types of students

    Young students, older students, single moms, single dads, any ethnicicity

    What to do for fun

    There are too many events to name through DMACC, they have so much to offer for students.

    Food and Dining

    If your hungry during class, their cafeteria has much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard the dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all my classes I am taking to become an Agronomist, DMACC is helping me achieve my goal, being a single mom, they have made me feel very welcome in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest choosing DMACC to start out with for your 2 year degree, the instructors, students, faculty, and classes are relaxed, any help you need with anything is here, and easy to ask for.

    In three sentences

    The Agronomy instructors are all what I expected, they make the courses interesting, therefore able to learn. The tuition is affordable, with the help of scholarships, grants and loans. They offer many different degrees to choose from.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety here is great, theres campus security guard that will even jump start your car, when your battery died unexpectedly. Also they are all very nice and friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    I highly recommend Dmacc Campus Fellowship. Its a great way to meet some new people and learn about God and how he impacts our lives and how he cares about us.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who wants a smart way to start college at a affordable price range.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sometimes there will be plays in the auditorium that are fun to watch and only cost a dollar to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    This community college is tons more cheaper than a big university like Iowa State. Also going to a big University is a huge mistake for first time students. Students are more likely to be washed out since it is a big cultural shock, and so many other reasons.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to do, for example making homemade Christmas cards during the end of the semester is a great activity. The best way to find out about activities is to go on the Dmacc homepage to learn about activities. Also on Wednesday nights there is a Dmacc Campus Fellowship that is a lot of fun, meeting new people and so on and so forth.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on Dmacc Ankeny Campus. One is the cafe, which is somewhat okay, its great for getting snacks on the go, but can be not very healthy. The second place is the bistro on campus that is done by the culinary students and professors on campus. Even though it is more expensive by a couple of dollars, it is well worth it. Everything is made from scratch and all of it is a lot healthier than the cafe. I highly recommend trying it.

    Dorm Life

    There are some apartments on campus, but they are very expensive and very tiny. My advise is to stay with your parents for the two years of college, for many reasons. One is that you do not have to pay for food, rent, utilities and so much more that add up and make living expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are all very nice. Also its best to go to their office during their office hours, if there is something that a student needs help with. The teachers are more than welcomed, to help any student exceed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to every class. Some professors give points for just being there, so a great way to help boost anyones grade. Also get plenty of sleep, partying late at night is not a wise way to start the next day when you never know what will be discussed in your classes, and you want to be alert at all times.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and staff here are excellent to work with and they really care about helping a student exceed in their field of study. The campus is a beautiful campus, especially with the lake surrounding it. Also the tutors here are worth the effort to get to know and get some help in any course that a student is having trouble with, plus its free!

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel as if the campus is very safe. There are always faculty where ever you go. It is a small town and close knit communtiy that I feel very safe at.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a wide variety of sports teams and clubs. There is the honors club and Phi theta Kapa. There is also the Drama club, and activities counsel.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like a small campus and small town. This school is great for students who enjoy sports and like the small classroom. The instructors at this school are great with students and oopen to meet with students at any time. This school is great for all types of students. If you want to be successful, then come to Dmacc.

    What to do for fun

    Sports! I play softball and it is an amazing experience! There is always fun campus activities throughout the week. Every week there are on average three different activites for students to take part in!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't really tried the food of Dmacc, other than their pizza during parent visitations. During that time the pizza was great.

    Dorm Life

    I love the apartments at Dmacc. It is so nice having everything you need at one reasonable price. They students living in Dmacc housing are open to living with up to 3 other roommates. There are two bathrooms, kitchen, living room, and four bedrooms in each apartment. The living conditions are nice and clean. It is extremely nice being able to just walk across the street to class. Really saves gas money. Everyone is Dmacc housing is respectable and enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as if every instructor loves their job and what they do. They are highly educated in their profession and enjoy teaching other students how to be successful in their profession also. It is easy to just give up and stop trying, but the instructors at Dmacc are not okay with that. They will do everything and anything to assure you 100% satissfaction. They want you to be successful. No instructor wants their student to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dmacc is a great school to consider when looking for a community college to attend. The students and faculty are great. They care for each student and treat everyone and anyone with respect. The students of Dmacc live up to high standards and have a great success rate. My experience at Dmacc has been great.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is a great school that prepares students for a successful future. DMACC is about bringing students together and showing them the importance of an education. DMACC makes learning an enjoyable experience for all ages, and all races.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DMACC is a very safe campus. There is always at least one security guard on campus and if you have night classes, the outside is lit up very well so you won't have to walk in the dark.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the honors program at DMACC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities at DMACC from art clubs to sports clubs and also honors clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I think people who want to have the experience of a university with just a smaller setting will love DMACC.

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC is very affordable and is a great quality community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of intramural sports to participate in. Also there are many contests to enter, for example, there was a pumpkin carving contest during Halloween time. Also there are karaoke days in the lunch room.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very clean and organized. There are many choices of food each day and also a lot of healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not personally live in the dorms/apartments but I have only heard great things about them. Very clean and spacous.

    Academic Rigor

    All the professors are very qualified and provide quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join many clubs and organizations to get involved with other students. Also, use all the amenities provided, including the achievement center, library, tutor services, and computer lab.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is a great community college. It has great living facilities. It has many opportunities for students to accomplish all their goals.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are an independent soul who isn't quite sure what they want to do, DMACC is a great option for getting your general education out of the way and discovering a potential career and intended major.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to the local Mexican restaurant Rancho Grande, and ordering a soda with the free chips and salsa are the best way to get the most bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    In Carroll there is a bowling alley, many fun restaurants, a skate park, a local coffee shop, and many other options for fun.

    Food and Dining

    With many options in Carroll, there is always somewhere new and interesting to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no local dorms specifically local for DMACC's Carroll campus, but there are local apartments that can suffice perfectly.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are more than happy to help you keep up with your schoolwork, as long as you are willing to put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only helpful concepts I can stress to students is do your best, and try not to get behind. I also understand that attending class whether you feel like it or not is key. It is much more difficult to have to play catch-up and juggle all the responsibilities of being a student, than to have kept up with homework and classes in the first place.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is a very well-organized and goal-oriented college that focuses on student success at a palatable cost. This school enables students to have the option of being involved on-campus and helping with community service off-campus, but nothing is forced on students.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think having the dorms so close to the classrooms is a plus, especially when it is cold. The parking lot is lit up as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I think DMACC is very economical if you compare to other colleges. You will get a degree for much less than many universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities that the college provides...Hypnotist, Karaoke, etc. and they usually notify you by email of these events. The college also has sporting events that are fun to attend. The fitness center is fun to go to also.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with a variety of foods. However, my dorm is so close that I find myself trying to cook new things. It is fun!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are apartment style. You have a community area to hang out with your friends, and still have your own space if you need to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging yet help is available if you need it. You need to study to get good grades and achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that you visit DMACC and see for yourself how nice it is. I would also apply for the scholarships before their deadlines.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is a smaller campus and a great place for an education. The class sizes are small and there is always help available if needed. The housing is the best that I have seen on any campus.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was able to receivce my Associate of Arts degree at way less of the cost than any other four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Each campus will have different activities held at festive times of the year. They are fun to be a part of and change every year.

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has a different menu, but most of the food I have eaten at the campuses has been good.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted.

    Academic Rigor

    DMACC is a good college and many of the teachers and college course work has pushed me to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell current or future students to check out the reviews for the teachers. All of the teachers I have taken classes with are very knowledgable, but every once in a while you might get a teacher that you do not necessarily click with. Just check out reviews and see if it will be a right fit for you.

    In three sentences

    DMACC really helped me get my first two years of college done at a reasonable cost when compared to any other four year school.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smoke free and very safe.

    Greek Life

    https://go.dmacc.edu/clubs/ankeny/phithetakappa/Shared%20Documents/Phi%20Theta%20Kappa%20Orientation%20Packet-fall-2012.pdf Is the link to read about the Phi Betas

    Clubs and Activities

    A very wide variety that leaves the head spinning a bit. There are outdoor intramurals and sports teams, kappas and international groups. We are a military friendly school and also have a disability help provider.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student could do well here. The things that surprised me were the tech, culinary and tavel abroad opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know about some of the recent happenings at DMACC but do not know of any unusual things. We just hosted a donation gathering for the homeless that was out of this world. Our college is very caring and believes that doing good things is the way to go.

    Bang for the buck

    I am paying half of what my friends are that have chosen Indian Hills or William Penn. We are taking the same classes and I put in less travel time and homework time but am attaining better grades. I believe choosing DMACC was the best choice I ever made.

    What to do for fun

    DMACC offers sports, speakers, group activities, contests, physical fitness and workout rooms, etc. Ankeny area is full of outside activities being close to Saylorville lake you can go to the beach, rent boats etc. There is a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and evening events.

    Food and Dining

    I have eatten at the cafeteria and the food is close to home or close to fast food. The choices are there fo you to make.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student and live at home so I don't have information here.

    Academic Rigor

    I do have a heavy course load, but this is of my choosing. Students can take anywhere from 1 class at a time up to 18 credit hours per semester. If I have trouble in any of my classes I have tutors handy and my instructors have been wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to future consideration for potential students is to take advantage of the academic advisors knowledge before choosing a class schedule. Do not take on a I can do this by yself attitude because the advisors were of great help to me where as other students in my class regret not doing so.

    In three sentences

    Dmacc has been very helpful in every step of the way, from admissions to blue printing my future to helping me with my choice of career. I would reccomend this collge to all of my friends and children. It has been a very pleasant experience so far and I enjoy my time here as a sudent.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to start taking classes then transfer to a university. DMACC is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    For fun my friend and I like to try to do all the free things DMACC has to offer around the campus. Last week we had street signs made and today we got our eyesight checked.

    Food and Dining

    They have great deals and rate your food to help you make better choices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus however they have just built new ones that look amazing and the older ones are quite stylish too.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are extremely difficult and need more hours to study others are little more simple. Overall has a great balance.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend you have a plan for graduating. Take SDV 115 with Nancy and she will help you preform at your best through college and for your future.

    In three sentences

    DMACC has many locations to help me further my education. They are very helpful and friendly here. DMACC has lost of programs to choose from.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and I haven't ever felt like I was in danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college is lacking in clubs and activities but there are still quite a few if you're interested.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My specific campus has an innovation week which has many different speakers talk about their success in different areas. There is also many speakers that are invited to speak on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is much cheaper than a public university or college and it's a great place to get your general classes done.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events that go on. I suggest that you take part in them. Get involved with the clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    This school doesn't provide much variety in what you can buy for lunch. The quality of food isn't the worst. The food is a little pricey as it is in all colleges.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do everything you're supposed to, it shouldn't be too rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of the assigned reading and homework that the classes provided. Take advantage of the speakers that frequently visit.

    In three sentences

    This college provides a good alternative to taking expensive general classes at other colleges and universities. Many of the professors here are experienced and may have taught on other well known colleges and universities. This college allows you to take a step toward your desired major while saving a lot of money that would be spent another well known college or university.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Returning students/adult students/working students. Basically, it is fantastic for non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC is not what I expected from a community college. These classes are, in my opinion, the same quality and difficulty that a student would receive at a 4-year school.

    What to do for fun

    I go to classes for fun!

    Food and Dining

    I've eaten at the Ankeny campus. The food is pretty good and the convenience store had a decent variety.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult without being overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor-- they are very helpful!

    In three sentences

    The professors so far have been very knowledgeable and friendly. The other staff are very helpful. I have learned more in 2 of the science classes I've taken here than I did in the science classes I took at Iowa State.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafe DMACC offers hot meals every day, along with a salad bar and lots of refrigerated items. Not to mention, the Student Activities Counsel has $1 walking taco days in Building 5. Yum!

    Dorm Life

    Campus View is over-priced, and you don't really get the college experience. The hammocks in the courtyard are amazing, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Academic Achievement Center and the free tutors. Utilize the counselors and the helpful staff here.

    In three sentences

    Des Moines Area Community College is the perfect place for students looking to get a quality education without creating piles of debt. The free services offered to students just can't be matched at this price. From free tutoring to free counseling, DMACC makes it easy for students to succeed here.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great college for students who are unsure of what they want to major in. The tuition for DMACC is a lot less expensive than other colleges and universities in Iowa.

    Bang for the buck

    They have cross enrollment programs that allows full-time students to take classes they can't get at DMACC at ISU, Grandview, or Drake and DMACC will cover tuition. I've used this a few times and it has been really nice. The only drawback is that this can only be done once per school year. In certain buildings on the different campuses, usually the informational building or building 1 on Ankeny Campus you can get discounted tickets to movies and other things.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and each food item is rated depending on how many calories there are and how healthy it is for a person.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not for sure about the dorm life because I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class and teacher the academics can be rigorous. DMACC provides Honor Classes to allow students who want to have a more rigorous education to be challenged. The honor students are given extra assignments to complete that relate to classes, can get into classes specifically designed for honor students, and are usually in Phi Theta Kappa which allows them to transfer to other schools and get into their honors programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't plan on graduating from DMACC don't take SDV 108; it is basically orientation all over again and you don't need it if you do not plan on graduating from DMACC. If you need help paying for school apply to the DMACC Foundation Scholarship it doesn't take very long to apply and they give out quite a few each fall and spring semester.

    In three sentences

    DMACC provides small classes with teachers who usually care about how you do personally. These classes are an inexpensive way to receive credit for general education classes or to find out whether or not the major you are pursuing is the one for you. Overall, tuition is inexpensive, most teachers are pretty awesome, and classes are small.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a small security prescence.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of activities you can take part in.

    Great for these types of students

    Freshman and undeclared majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have the DMACC lake and wood carving throughout campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Really cheap and a good investment for the first 2 years.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramurals and many clubs you can join at the campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a tiny little cafeteria with not many options,

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Because a lot of students work the rigor is a little easier because students don't have as much time.

    Tips for prospective students

    DMACC is really good to start out of high school. It is cheap and can help you get into motion for a University.

    In three sentences

    It was an enjoyable experience. It helped me get on the right path. DMACC is a great choice to pay for college cheap and get the general classes out of the way.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is the usual.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this college to anyone!

    In three sentences

    I've been to DMACC campus once and it was very easy to find and get to where I needed without it being confusing.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe there is security and the teachers care.

    Greek Life

    None sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama is something I look forward to and there are always sports playing.

    Great for these types of students

    the library is great for everyone always study!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I stick to the library.

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC has everything you need and is located in different places in Iowa. Teachers are nice and it's easy to study on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends there's always something to do and sports to watch.

    Food and Dining

    Really good food and good prices.

    Dorm Life

    Good dorm, but I've never lived in a dorm friends have.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and good education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try a community college before going for a big school.

    In three sentences

    Dmacc is a great school. It has all the class in need for my career. Plus it a reasonable price.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Male profs are willing to walk out with you to your car if your class ends after dark.

    What to do for fun

    Very atheletic centered, there are quite a few activities that are put on by the student activities council but I wish they would put on something like homecoming week or a dance.

    Food and Dining

    They need to go back to the cafeteria they had before they had an outside company come in to do the food service.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms since I'm a non-traditional student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take 2 classes per semester. Don't overburden yourself that you don't do well in your classes.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes, great profs & a great atmosphere provide a great opportunity to learn. I would recommend DMACC to any student who wants to go to college but doesn't want to be a number.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great price even if you're planning on attending a 4 year college, get the basics out of the way for cheep!

    What to do for fun

    Ankeny is close to Des Moines and there are lots of fun activities and concerts, places to eat and there are lots of fairs and events there.

    Food and Dining

    School food, enough said.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say, I've always lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college, but to be fair, my husband went to DMACC, and also to Iowa State and there wasn't a huge difference in the learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ankeny is a beautiful area with lots of off campus rentals where you can save lots of money.

    In three sentences

    Good Community College, the professors really care and want you to learns and succeed. Beautiful campus with a nice little walking trail. The online classes are really nice, you can take classes in you living room.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The presence of campus security is widely seen often each day. During the course of my day, I see security regulary at entrances as well as roaming the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs include: Busines, Literatureand Theatre, African American, Honors, to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students of all ages, races, cutlures, and walks of life. Works great for working and single parents as well as non-traditonal students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sorry, I am not aware of any.

    Bang for the buck

    DMACC most definitely offers a quality education for the a lower and affordable price. My average cost for 12 hour is about $1800.00 for classes and about $600.00 for books.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations you can become involved in on campus as well as, intramural sports, arts, and greek organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is tasty and appealing. There variety is limited however because the facility is not very big. You can enjoy anything from breakfast pizza, to burgers, chicken strips, and nachos.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dormitories. However, brand new construction is underway and will be completed for the fall 2013 - 2014 year. The location is perfect and located minutes from major freeways and interstates as well as, prominent entertainment, lodging, restaraunts, and shopping.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not underestimate or sell short what this community college has to offer. It is power packed with professors and acadeim well suited to challenge the minds of all who are thirsty for higher learning and academe.

    Tips for prospective students

    I really encourage all entering freshman students to enroll in the the course The College Experience. This class equips every student with information on topics such as; budgeting, identifying your study style and habits, and college transfer planning to name a few.

    In three sentences

    I am pleasantly surprised by the affordable education that I am receving from the diverse campus of the Des Moines Area Community College. The courses are challenging and meet my requirements for transfer to another 4 year university here is Des Moines, IA. The professors care about the students that they teach, and are willing to go the extra mile for the students.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I never had any dining done on campus, I always ate home. From other class mates, there commentary on the kitchen is that it is open until certain hours. For some they prefer to cook in there dorms or go out for some pizza. Some students prefer the cooking experience because they are from other cultures with different customs and traditions. It just depends in the person you are.

    Dorm Life

    I can not give a rating on this one because I never lived on campus. I always drove back and forth. From what I have heard from other students is that the dorms are really nice. The furnishings are great. For the bigger dorms there is even a washer and dryer, how nice is that! No need to go to a laundry mat.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, they do give out big assignments, but they give you enough time to complete them. There is always that academic help which is great. The key factor of when recieving assignments is to start them early. From experience I have done them last minute and since I do them in a rush I don't get the result I wanted to achieve. When I start an assignment early it gives me the chance to re look at things and even change certain items that I wouldn't want to be the way they were.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would sat to prepare, by first knowing that it is not going to be like highschool where teacher remind you of everything. Teacher will remind you every now and then, but not every day. If you every have a question, just ask they are more than happy to help.

    In three sentences

    The rating on dmacc would be a 10. It is a good place to start. Everyone is helpful and it is not that expensive compared to other colleges. There is a tremendous amount of support. All a person must to is ask. When it comes for expenses it is always important to fill out fasfa. The biggest expense is the tuition. There are many scholarships that are out there that will help out it is just important to fill them out.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great idea to start here to save money or if you don't know what to go into right away.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good value, classes aren't too hard.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transitioning to a 4 year university, continuing education, and vocational programs

    What to do for fun

    Many recreation activities, good social network system, close to Des Moines night life

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow through with your goals Don't let others discourage you Stay positive

    In three sentences

    Open environment Good educational opportunities wonderful campus

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hunt and fish any thing outdoors

    Dorm Life

    live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    hard if you do not do your work

    Tips for prospective students

    stick with school its worth it

    In three sentences

    great technical school

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good I feel safe all the time.

    Greek Life

    Varies

    Clubs and Activities

    DMACC Bears

    Great for these types of students

    Very good

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many locations around the Des Moines area

    What to do for fun

    Zoo is a couple miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Near the Southridge Mall a lot of food options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    They will push you to get where you want. They offer lots of help from advisors and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a really good school to attend, DMACC is the right option. Teachers are really focused in helping you finish your degree. The classes aren't really crowd, witch is very important

    In three sentences

    Exelent staff. New installations. Vey good learning experience.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a very decent price.

    What to do for fun

    There are athletic games and then there are clubs and plays.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is a little over priced but it is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I still live at home so I do not know what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    The choices of classes a very good. I enjoy all of my classes honestly!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always always always get your homework turned in on time even if it isn't finished completely.

    In three sentences

    It has very good counselors. There is a very good variety of classes. The instructors are very supportive.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SO SO SO much cheaper than a university but you still are learning!

    What to do for fun

    There are student activities and clubs that anyone can be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is pretty good. It is the only place for food on-campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no technical dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't go to class and don't do the homework, you ARE going to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with the professors if you have a problem! Go to class because a lot of points can be for just showing up.

    In three sentences

    Good for anyone who hasn't decided a major! If you have decided a major, it is a great place to get your general education courses out of the way before transferring. The staff is friendly and easy to work with.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a number where you can call and text to get access to security 24/7 and it just makes me feel so comfortable being there.

    Greek Life

    Dmacc doesn't have a greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Huge variety of clubs and activities throughout all campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The west campus is really interesting! It has a 'futuristic' feel and is like something I've never seen before.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college, so it is reasonably priced. The class rooms are small enough to where the teachers call you by name and you do lots of group activites.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of activities going on around campus and off campus. Dmacc has a lot of friendly people and makes it super fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is always cooked great! Always available and super clean.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in a dorm yet but I know people who have and it is super convenient and not too expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Dmacc helps students understand knowledge and concepts that are complex, and they help students acquire skills that can can applied in a variety of ways throughout their lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and stay on track. You don't have to know exactly what you are doing, but it makes it a lot easier.

    In three sentences

    A very flexible school and friendly staff if you find the right people. There are lots of locations nearby and many career opportunities. Overall, I personally think DMACC is a great college.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe on Campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although DMACC doesn't have near the amount of clubs and activities a state school does, it still has plenty to get involved in. I am joining the Honor's Program, pep band, and drama club so I cannot wait for those to start.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to have close relationships with your professors, it's definitely for you! The buildings are all very close, so if you don't like to walk very far in between classes, here is your place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't learned any of these yet. Everything seems normal so far.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as I'm concerned, two-year colleges are the best way to go nowadays in terms of money. You get the same (if not better classes), more opportunities to play sports, and a great experience for a far better price.

    What to do for fun

    I'm going to golf for fun! I also intend on making friends with a lot of the people there. It is a small college so the more people I know the merrier! I will also go the sporting events, act in the play, and play saxophone in the pep band.

    Food and Dining

    DMACC doesn't have fantastic dining services, at least not at the Boone Campus. You get your own kitchen, however, so I think that's even better than dining service because I like to cook. This could be good or bad though, depending on your preference.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem perfect for a girl like me! I don't like to party so the no-alcohol policy doesn't bother me. I love the fact that we get our own rooms, a living room, a kitchen, a bathroom, and our own washer/dryer! Plus great roommates!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, from what I have heard, are tough. That's what we're paying for, right? The close relationships you will make with your professors will make them a lot easier and help you to actually understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student, but I would recommend getting involved! I am joining the golf team and that has already opened so many doors for me. I am also going to be in the Honor's Program which will lead me to a brighter future. Another thing to remember is to be organized with deadlines.

    In three sentences

    DMACC is small college at its finest. The people there are great, and I cannot wait to attend. It is perfect if your looking for a college where you are more than just another student.

  • 10/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am not on campus more than just for classes but security seems good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are growing but lack members

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to get a degree fast and affordable

    What to do for fun

    Must leave campus for anything fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is small and food is not that great.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and meet new people to gain networking options for job prospects.

    In three sentences

    DMACC has a small quiet campus that is easily accessible for new students to find. There is not much to do on campus but it is growing with new clubs opening up for a variety of interests. Over all I would recommend DMACC to anyone in the area but not enough there to draw in students from out of town.

  • 10/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you're looking for an easy time, or want to transfer, DMACC is a good fit.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college around, and most of the credits will transfer if you need them to

    What to do for fun

    Don't stay on campus. There's a movie theater, and a lake with trails nearby. Not a whole lot to do though, honestly

    Food and Dining

    Food is more or less what could be found at a gas station

    Dorm Life

    Very nice on campus apartments. Rent is monthly and a little bit on the high side, but the apartments are roomy, and well furnished.

    Academic Rigor

    way less rigor the the college credit/AP classes offered at my high school. Probably about the same rigor as the actually high school classes offered there. more or less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really, not too much is expected of you. I wouldn't say I've even done most of the homework/readings but I currently have 2 A's and 2 high Bs. Just try to do a little bit of the readings, go over powerpoints, take notes in class and you'll do fine.

    In three sentences

    As long as you do the work it is not a difficult course load. So far I have only had to write one essay, less than two pages long, and I'm 2 months in taking four class. The vast majority of work outside of class has just been reading over material, most of which is gone over in class anyway