Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dickinson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dickinson is a great place for students who strive for a great education, who are willing to get outside their comfort zone and take chances. It is a place for students to grow and for those who want to engage the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being in college is definitely going to be a challenge. Never give up and if you're having trouble ask for help, there is always going to be someone who is willing to lend support. Study hard but always make sure you give yourself a break now and then to just relax.

    Bang for the buck

    In one word...expensive. But don't let this get you down. There are many ways in which to pay for tuition. For Dickinson provides a great financial aid package, there are plenty of scholarships out there and there are always student loans. Don't ever let the cost of college interfere with your future.

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming from a big city and moving to Carlisle was difficult. My first month at Dickinson was especially difficult because it seemed as if there wasn't anything to do, but once I started getting involved in volunteering and performing in plays, my social circle branched out and I realized that I was no longer bored out of my mind. I'm happy here.

    Am learning a lot

    I come from a school where I was the smart kid in the class and coming to Dickinson I am now just the average kid and I know I have a lot to learn. The professors here are extremely helpful, they know what they are doing and are always willing to help. I'm not just learning in the classroom, I also learn from other students who are willing to share what they know everyday.

  • 07/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who can appreciate the history of their school and the fact that being a Dickinsonian means that you will challenge ideas and think creatively as an active citizen of the global community. Students who want to their professors to know their names and their strengths (as well as weaknesses). Students who want a place where students work hard as well as know how to let loose and have a good time in various ways. Students who don't mind that there is a physical education requirement. Students who will research who Benjamin Rush is after reading this sentence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visiting Dickinson is the best way to tell if it is the best college for you. Talking with students and asking questions about different internships and classes can really help you determine if you would fit in. Keep an open mind and don't automatically eliminate Dickinson because of its small size.

    Bang for the buck

    Dickinson is a private school, so it is going to be on the expensive side. The college provides need based financial aid, merit scholarships, and grants to deserving students and many students take full advantage of these opportunities. The higher cost of the education can be seen, though, in the small class sizes and student to teacher ratio.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met some of the most interesting and amazing people at Dickinson. I enjoy going to the different speakers that are on campus almost every week as they are usually very interesting and the topics usually relate to classes that are being offered. Even just grabbing a cup of coffee with a friend at the Quarry turn out to be the most memorable experiences because each person brings something fun and interesting to a conversation that could last for hours.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors have been more than helpful when it comes to spending extra time with their students. This extra personal time out of class has aided me in gaining a greater understanding of the material we cover in class and in our readings. After a year at Dickinson, I have gained more confidence in my writing skills and I am better able to express myself through writing, which is one of the most important and useful skills to have after graduating from Dickinson.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who wish to be introduced to the world of new languages. People from around the world attend Dickinson despite it's student population. If you're looking for a small class size that has the potential for education, Dickinson will be great for you. There are plenty of activities and events on campus to attend for the party-goers and those who don't really go to parties. Students who want to have a more personal relationship with well-qualified professors (not assistants) should definitely take a look at Dickinson.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you enter, don't expect to get too close to people too quickly. You will probably be hanging out with a group of students the first few days that you'll barely even speak to again. Different professors have vastly different expectations of the student body. Find one that is right for you and stick with him or her. Don't be afraid of a lower GPA than you anticipated, a lot could have factored into it.

    Bang for the buck

    If you get pretty good financial aid, this school is definitely worth it. If you don't, then you might find it to be a bit expensive. The tuition and activities fees are probably the best value at the college, offering top-notch education and events that require no additional payment. A concern might be the residential costs, but they may vary depending on your living situation.

    Am enjoying being here

    You will probably find yourself conversating with several other students at random places on campus. Too often though, people can tend to be cliquey and zoned. If you're not a generically social person, the social climate may be somewhat difficult in terms of adaptation, but it doesn't mean that it's impossible to have a decent time, especially with many opportunities to gather with other people.

    Am learning a lot

    There are a wide variety of classes that span an array of academic areas. Each class is of global standards with professors that are knowledgeable in their respective subjects. The classes can be challenging, comparable to the Ivies, and offer an intergrated classroom experience.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students looking to get variety in their education, from the lab sciences, to performance studies. Also, if you learn best by being engaged, than go to a small school like this one.

    Tips for prospective students

    FILL OUT YOUR FAFSA! To address Dickinson, come in open-minded and do not be concerned with making friends off the bat. The orientation program is excellent and you will be taking classes and living with other students, so focus on school and the friends will follow. Also, don't be afraid to eat in the cafeteria alone or with complete strangers. I guarantee you that you will meet at least one interesting person that you otherwise would never have.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive. Although I feel that I am getting a fantastic education, Dickinson College should not cost the same as an ivy league school. That being said, I did receive a very nice financial aid package and I know for a fact that others did as well, so I am not complaining.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes Dickinson is in the borough of Carlisle, but there are a good amount of activities to engage in. Greek life is not overly prevalent. I am meeting some really good people here and am building very close relationships to my peers and my professors. I mean, I had crepes with President Bill Durden. That just doesn't happen at large schools.

    Am learning a lot

    This institution has tremendous staff members. The physics, biology, mathematics, and music programs are the top ones that I have seen and they are simply stellar. I am not only learning a lot about Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, but I am taking violin lessons and playing in the orchestra, so I am learning about music as well. I am not getting a simple generic education. I am learning and understanding more than I ever did in my 12 previous years of education.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    dps is great

    Greek Life

    declining

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot to choose from and if you sign up the leaders are great about keeping you informed

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or intramural sport or regular sport, find a good group of friends who enjoy doing the same things as you.

    Food and Dining

    It gets so old. There are either good days or bad and you have to get creative on the bad days.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are very unequal, it all depends on which one you end up in. you cant pick your roommate freshman year either. sophomore dorms are probably worse, but once you get to live off campus, etc it gets better

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard so be ready to put in a lot of extra time and effort into studying and homework/ reading assignments

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to connect with others through facebook before arriving at campus to ensure you will have connections at first, also reach out to others during freshman orientation because you are all in the same situation. Explore all major options and combinations early to make sure you are headed in a direction you find interesting. Apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson has helpful professors and faculty. Dickinson College needs to lower its tuition, add more food and major options. It has a good study abroad program.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    For a liberal arts school, the schools offers a various number of sports and clubs n campus. You can't really go through Dickinson and not be involved in a club. There's always people joining clubs and gaining interest for them and thinking of ways to make them better.

    What to do for fun

    The night life on Dickinson's campus is very lively. There are organizational boards that also do a great job of creating a lively scene for students so they're not so bored on campus. The school gives a hefty amount of money to these boards to bring mainstream artists, entertainers, and festive events that students can attend.

    Food and Dining

    For a small liberal arts school, the food here is average. It does a great job of making banquets for the holidays and making people look forward to them. There is a small variety of places to go eat on campus, but the overall cafeteria always has various foods to eat and try for all types of people who have distinct eating preferences.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm community has it's own vibe. The school's RAs and Community advisors do a great job of promoting and finding people who are passionate about creating a safe space and safe community within the dorms. As a student who is more than 2,000 miles away from home, my time here so far has gone smoothly thanks to the great relationships that I've created with people in my dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Dickinson allows students to take part in classes that go beyond their concentration. They encourage students to take a variety of classes their first two years of college in order for them to really have a sense of their world around them. The classes are hard but very interesting in all aspects and the intro classes give a great overview of what topics are about. This way, you are able to know a little bit about a broad number of topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is very inviting and as you walk the campus grounds, any student walking will be willing to answer your questions about the school. There are a wide variety of majors on campus but students always have directions or information to say on topics that don't relate to them. The campus overall is small but very inviting with the town's people walking around along with college students.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson is probably one of the best schools that prepares you for the world. It's curriculum is based on creating well rounded students that are being prepared for the real world. The campus is inviting and the calm atmosphere is a great place for a great academic, social, and growing experience.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mermaid on the roof of Old West. Won't graduate if you go through the Dickinson College gates. Sign in during Orientation and Sign Out during Graduation. Etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely highly regarded school. A lot of people know it across the U.S. and internationally. Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities on campus every weekend. Lots of school spirit. Plenty of ethnic and multicultural restaurants within walking distance of the school. Many school organizations hold events every week.

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful food in town, decent food in the dining hall. Most of the food is organic and comes from the school's 150-acre, student- and faculty- operated farm, or from local farmers and producers.

    Dorm Life

    Typical college dorms. Alcohol is prevalent, but the school is combating underage drinking. Legal drinking is not discouraged. Very little if any hard core drug use.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are skilled and knowledgeable, and students work hard for their grades. It is not an unfriendly or hostile environment, such as you see at other such schools. Students do not rip pages out of books, and will help each other out. Professors expect a lot, and teach a lot in return.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that because it is small, it doesn't give you opportunities to get a job or succeed, whatever the measure. Most graduates are in graduate school or working within one year, and career placement is wonderful at finding alumni-linked job opportunities. I gave up offers from Ivy League schools and Little Ivy League schools to go to Dickinson because of these opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson is a prestigious small liberal arts school nestled within the beautiful mountains and valleys of Central Pennsylvania. Dickinson offers some of the most competitive business, political science, history, and education programs in the nation, according to Ruggs 2011 ratings. Professors are nice, accommodating, and knowledgeable, and the students are driven and full of school spirit.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dickinson strongly encourages and regularly reminds students to never go alone anywhere, especially at night. Dorms are close together and centralized to all educational buildings, including the library. Emergency Dial posts are located throughout the campus and the Dickinson Department of Public Safety offers free pick up and transportation for any student.

    Greek Life

    There are many Greek life groups on the campus ranging from social to academic core values. These must be sanctioned by the school, but there is a relatively accessible process to gain approval.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dickinson prides itself on its diversity and this is GREATLY reflected in the wide range of clubs, both student and faculty led. Desire to start an additional club is encouraged and made accessible to all students.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great choice for students who are high achievers, focused, dedicated, and self-educators.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a long-standing, healthy competition with another DIII college in the area; Franklin & Marshal. this often leads to things such as Dickinson's signature red lawn chairs turning up in odd places and equally harmless tricks being schemed and carried out on Franklin and Marshal.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you are going to get here is phenomenal. The professors, guest speakers, etc. are top rate and conduct cutting edge research and partner or guest teach at other prestigious schools such as Harvard, Oxford, etc. The reason I gave it only 4 stars, however, is the amount of money one pours into books and tuition only to use the books minimally or have finance extra hidden fees for many classes.

    What to do for fun

    Get out and make friends! In this comparatively small town, it may seem that there is little to do for fun. When you've got a great and diverse group of friends, you can always find things to do, ways to network, and share expenses to venture out further from Carlisle.

    Food and Dining

    The food services here are sublime. The cuisine is varied, all dietary needs accomodated, and the quality of food is off the charts. Fresh fruit is ALWAYS available and healthy options presented and encouraged. This is NOT typical cafeteria food but runs more along the lines of something you'd find in a dining room on a top of the line cruise.

    Dorm Life

    A variety of housing options are available. The typical two person/one room, suites with four persons/two rooms/and a common room, single rooms, and apartments are available. The dorms are largely in large, old stone buildings that lend a nostalgic recollection to the rich history of the college (est. 1773), but have all the modern conveniences we are used to.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a highly selective school for a reason. The academic rigor is at its highest here and so is the workload. Come prepared to buckle down and learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Think of the one thing that is going to give you an edge. Also, establish a personal relationship with your professor. The more interested they are in you as a person, the more dedicated to your personal growth and academic achievement they will be.

    In three sentences

    A highly selective, diverse college. Everyone's needs and input are accomodated and highly valued. The ntimate community supports personal growth and academics.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do around Carlisle and around the Harrisburg area. I have already spent a year at Dickinson and feel that I have tons left to explore in the small town. There are shuttles that take students to Harrisburg every weekend- to shop, to go to concerts, etc. Also, Phili, Pittsburg, NY, and Washington, D.C. are all less than three hours away. On campus there are always daily events and weekend events that usually are all going on at the same time, causing some difficult choices.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services offer flexible options for on the go students- from grab n' go to cafes and snack bars to give you a variety. The cafeteria is also on the whole pretty good for the cost.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more than fair for a small school. They also improve with each year, as well as allowing for a diverse type of living community- from special interest housing to regular dorms to off- campus living as well.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt prepared for the academics coming from a rigorous high school in Pittsford, NY. You will definitely be challenged and will experience many different types of teaching styles, from lecture to discussion- based to hands-on learning, depending on the area of study, all of which will challenge you in different ways. The professors are extremely knowledgeable in their area of study many of whom have written recent works.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a tour! Make sure you get to know yourself as well as the campus and philosophy before you make your final decision. It is a wonderful school but definitely is one with a particular philosophy that should be shared by you as a student.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson is a unique college that stresses personal responsibility, sustainability on a small and large scale, and a global education. It allows for a diverse educational opportunity as well as giving students a great, small-town campus and a community. It definitely has its own flair and keeps students coming back for more.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Curious. Resourceful. Patient. Independent. Comfortable with solitude. Liberal. Open-minded. Proactive. Adventurous. Nature-lovers. Simple.

    What to do for fun

    You can go downtown for food or try to discover Carlisle's little gems. I'm not going to tell you where that is; that's the best part! Just last spring, I discovered this street that resembles Georgetown, DC with a cute row of stores, including one of my favorite places that sell fresh fruit juices. There are more places that you can go to easily, too, if you own a bike or car, or any other mode of transportation. (Hint: haunted house, mountains, farm, taco bell) You can also use classrooms to make a movie nights with your friends in the weekends. Sometimes, we also play ping pong in the basement of Adams Hall. As I've said before, Dickinson calls for resourceful and curious students. Students who can see the beauty and fun in simple things.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf is often proud for the organic stuff that they serve. The food's taste is okay, and I mean, looking at Carlisle's random location, I definitely am not complaining for the variety of food that they serve. I think that most of the Caf's food is really healthy. However, that being said, I prefer the Quarry or the Underground, which serves sushi and amazing sandwiches, when I'm choosing to eat at school. Unfortunately, the food is overpriced outside of the Caf. Outside of the school itself, the dining options are minimal, but a lack of variety does not mean a lack of quality! Definitely not. Downtown, they have a Belgian restaurant, a crepe place, and Japanese restaurant. All of them have really, really good dishes! I have been to a lot of places in the world, and have tried authentic foreign food, and Carlisle, despite the selection, still has the best taste/service combination for their restaurants. I recommend people from out of town to come too.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Davidson-Wilson (DaWi) my first year. There, the door closes automatically because it's heavy - unlike Adams. Naturally, that creates somewhat of a boundary for first-years to hang out. I know that in Adams, people hang out all the time also because of their big common space in the basement. In DaWi, there's less of that tendency. Not that there is none at all, but definitely less. If you move to special interest housing there is a definite difference because most of you will be living in a smaller community, but you all would also care about the same issues most of the time. I'm not saying this is guaranteed for all Special Interest Housing. There is just more opportunities to find friends who might have the same interests as you. When you are an upperclassman, there are more opportunities for you in the apartements and Dickinson-owned buildings in downtown Carlisle. And even though it's not too far from any other dorms, a little change is definitely a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are manageable. However, like most schools, there are definitely time periods when you feel like teachers would conspire against you, giving you 3-4 papers if you count them altogether. Now at times like this, you might think you'll be okay, but a lot of people forget about other commitments, such as clubs and dates and friends and sleep. Yes, college is all about time management. As long as you get that down, you'll be alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can be as busy as you'd like. The classes that you will have in the first semester will be challenging, especially if you have never studied in a boarding/residential community setting before. Even if you have, this is college, so you really are left to your own devices. Knowing that, you should be careful when enrolling into clubs. Make sure that you do not overdo it. I know it sounds, perhaps, exciting for those of you who want to be involved or make friends. However, make sure that you get a feel of the load of your work and your study habits before committing into one. Some people get really overwhelmed, and then cranky by mid-year because of this. Don't get lulled into the busy-ness. Pace yourselves. Also, never be scared to ask professors for explanations, extra time, etc. They are really helpful and accomodating most of the time. You should spend less time worrying about not turning something in, and actually DO something that could probably save your grade!

    In three sentences

    The most successful students in Dickinson are the ones that know they are comfortable both in a crowd and in solitude, by themselves. You wouldn't expect it at first, but the setting of the college demands that students will be able to navigate their way through the facilities provided only if they are consciously proactive. Dickinson is not for the close-minded and impatient.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Work hard! Play harder!

    What to do for fun

    Join any club and/or class that interests you. Friends and activities will follow!

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful, The staff know what they are doing!

    Dorm Life

    Get to know your dorm mates early!

    Academic Rigor

    This is a place where academics come first. If you came to party, turn your head the other way. Dickinson is special in that the professors want you to speak with them and want to help you learn and think critically and analytically about the content in any particular course. It is not only about working hard, it is learning to work differently that will ensure ones success here at Dickinson College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read, write, love learning and practice study strategies!

    In three sentences

    Dickinson College is a place immersed in history. At Dickinson one will find that a change in ones previous schedule is necessary. Dickinson is a wonderful Liberal Arts Institution where all the students are challenged in many different ways.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue lights are everywhere, there are crossing guards, and DPS is always patrolling. Very Safe.

    Greek Life

    About 20% do it. It's not a huge thing on campus, but if you're in it, it runs your life. Frats run a lot of parties but most people can get in them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of options, and very easy to create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Preppy, athletic, LGBTQ, Eco-Friendly

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thanksgiving and Christmas Feasts, Allison Hall is a desanctified church, Old West is one of the main academic buildings that students enter during orientation freshman year and exit during graduation senior year-this is the only time people walk up and down the steps of Old West. Students do not step on the college seal (it's bad luck).

    Bang for the buck

    SO expensive ($60,000) but I love the school, so it's worth it to me.

    What to do for fun

    Going out to parties is pretty big on the weekends, but if you're not into that, there's always something going on at the social hall, such as a movie or theme night. Usually there's also a group of people always watching a movie in the common room of the dorms as well.

    Food and Dining

    Most days food is pretty good. The worst part about it is that it just gets boring. We don't have a food service, we have chefs, so the food isn't gross, mass-produced in a factory. Also we have a soup chef that used to a White House soup chef!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are really nice, especially if you live in Adams or Dreyer. The Quads are smaller, but still nice. Things are generally kept clean. There's a pretty good sense of community, and the RA's are overall really helpful and chill.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, but as you gain seniority, classes get increasingly more difficult (as expected). While some 100 level classes are really easy, there are also a lot of very difficult 100 levels. The professor has a big part in it. Overall, expect a lot of reading and expect to improve your writing skills! That said, I've actually enjoyed going to most of my classes, unlike high school where classes were deadly boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on an overnight. I host prospective students, and I really wish I would have done one before coming here. It really gives a prospective students a good day in the life feel for what Dickinson will be like, and it also offers a good opportunity to 1) stand out to admissions and 2) ask questions you may not have thought of before or were too embarrassed to ask in front of your parents.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson College is a small, liberal arts school. It has a small community feeling, but it certainly doesn't feel like high school like I was worried about before coming here. While it does have a very diverse mix of students, most students tend to be preppy, sporty, and liberal.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I creep on the menu daily and decide what I would eat if I got to pick.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem awesome with many choices.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I will get a challenge here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research and visit where you plan on going to school. It really makes a difference to see it in person.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson seems like the perfect college for me. It's close, but not too close to where I live, there are many opportunities, and the study abroad program is awesome.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You have to make the best of it honestly. It is a small town so it's not a lot going on around. Most people like to party and host school events and others like to go out of town for some fun. Whatever suits you it is available at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great!! When you first come there you enjoy what you eat and if you ever get tired of eating at the Caf or the school facilities, there are plenty of restaurants and pizzerias around town.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the freshmen dorms are co-ed and some are separated to certain categories that fits students need. There are learning communities, ROTC housing, Women Center, and many more.

    Academic Rigor

    Each classes are designed so that you get the attention you need from both faculties and career councilors. The classes are both challenging and engaging at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the best out of your college experience no matter where you go.

    In three sentences

    It's a very enjoyable small town. The faculties are great so are the students and town folks. You also get all the attention you need in and out of the classroom.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Their admission process is harder than the college.

    Bang for the buck

    For 55k per year, more student life would be appreciated. School does not respond to concerns regarding this. Save your money.

    What to do for fun

    None to be found. Frats control the world here.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    See my comment about frats

    Academic Rigor

    Good academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for the truth about the frats.

    In three sentences

    Unless you are one of the three categories then your social life will be bad: > female > in a frat > in a sport

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a large diverse amount of clubs and organizations to join, greek life, or if you do not see something that your interested in, create a club of your own!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions! There is help everywhere. The college really does it's best to work WITH you.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson is a private liberal arts college, a place of freedom and a safe place to find who you are. Dickinson is among the best schools in the country. It gives you the chance to try new things and relive the old.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm involved with Greek life on my campus and I love it, but the school is really down on Greek life and make it difficult for us to remain on campus. It's pretty clear they want to get rid of it, but for now it's still there. It gives you more fun things to do on the weekends, opportunities for charity and community outreach, great friendships with people you may have never gotten to know on campus, and

    Bang for the buck

    You do get an incredible education at Dickinson. But they drain so much of your money they could at least give you good housing options, have a better class selection process, have better transportation options to get out of Carlisle, etc. The study abroad programs are awesome, though, so junior year take advantage!!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs on campus and ways to meet people. Weekend activities can be lacking, though. It's a shame the school doesn't provide transportation to Harrisburg so you could find more to do outside of Carlisle.

    Food and Dining

    The caf has decent food, but the design is pretty bleak. Also, think back to every high school movie cliche -- yup there are assigned tables. Sports teams, frats, sororities, and even random groups of friends claim tables. The track team will harass you until you leave their table.

    Dorm Life

    Dickinson has really been terrible when it comes to housing. They keep accepting bigger and bigger classes and creating forced triples in rooms that barely fit two people. You could have bad housing until you're a senior and can finally get off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors often have high expectations and the work load can be pretty heavy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to put a lot of work into your classes. If you apply, think about ways you'd want to get involved on campus because they'll be sure to ask about that in the interview process.

    In three sentences

    The school is very dedicated to sustainability. Many people (including myself) are dissatisfied with the social environment, though and this produces a negative vibe sometimes around campus. The standards for education are very high and there are many incredible, helpful, inspiring professors.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus will definitely be aware of your safety and will keep you safe.

    What to do for fun

    Joining clubs and even going to the gym are some fun things I do. It depends on the type of person you are and what you like to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    It is great. You get to form great friendships with the people in your dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will definitely challenge you, as long as you stay interested and are willing to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small campus with a great atmosphere, you should really consider Dickinson College. There are many clubs, activities, and things you can become involved with.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus and it allows you to get to know everyone. The professors are extremely helpful and forming study groups is beneficial. It is situated in a great environment that makes a person seek their interests.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent at Dickinson and there is a variety of places on and off campus to get good food at different times of day.

    Dorm Life

    Although I have not started my education at Dickinson yet, between the activities provided for students and the facilities, dorm life will be very good.

    Academic Rigor

    Dickinson is prestigious and expects a lot out of its students. There certainly isn't an easy way out of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although grades are not everything, it is important to push yourself throughout high school to maintain good grades and to score will on standardized testing. It is important to be involved in your community, both inside and outside of school. Most importantly, be yourself! Colleges often look for people who best fit their institution and only by truly being yourself can that aspect be judged properly.

    In three sentences

    Dickinson College provides a friendly yet challenging atmosphere for those who wish to push themselves to their full potential. Acceptance is incredibly selective but is not based solely on academic standing. The college looks for well-rounded students who are adequately prepared for this next step in their education.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There, but not a huge part of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal.

    Bang for the buck

    So much is included in tuition, even though it is pricey. Study abroad doesn't cost any extra, printing is free, laundry is almost free (you're allotted a certain amount of free loads) and the list goes on.

    What to do for fun

    Join groups! Be active and meet new people. Also, study abroad!

    Food and Dining

    The town is small, so there isn't too much to choose from, but the dining hall has good food and brunch is a big thing at Dickinson.

    Dorm Life

    Again, I'm not yet a student, but I've visited and the dorms are great. Typical size, but organized in such a way that it harbors hall friendships. Floors are coed. And upperclassman housing is amazing. So many different options and they're just beautiful, I can't wait to try them out.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really say because I am starting next year, but it is a highly ranked college--one of the oldest in the nation--so assume it will be more challenging than many other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put a lot of thought into your personal statement. It really does play a big factor in getting into the school. Don't write it like a regular school essay. Maybe make it almost a narrative. Be willing to take advantage of study abroad. Most students do and it would be a shame to miss out on the great opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Great commitment to global education. Personable atmosphere. Great deal.