Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Dillard University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for students who want to attend: an Ivy League HBCU, a school with a rich history, a private university, a school where you are in touch with a diverse student body, and if you are interested in an EXCELLENT EDUCATION!!

    Tips for prospective students

    COME, COME, COME!!! We would love to have you here at Dillard University for whatever your study may be. Here at Dillard we have plenty of history and great educators. By coming to Dillard University you become equipped with the necessary knowledge you need to further your education and become top in your career!1

    Bang for the buck

    As far as academics goes Dillard University offers much for your dollars. They offer Student Support services, tutoring for every subjects, study groups, one on one office hours with your professors, social gatherings , a library equipped with computers and printers for your convience with no pay, and excellent food service. I believe i have a great quality education and I am receiving all the supoort i can get for my dollars. Here at Dillard University you have great bang for you bucks!!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I thoroughly enjoy being here!! Dillard University has this atmosphere about the campus that just causes you to open up, loosen up and have an all-round better day. The students, faculty members , and professors do their best to make you feel more comfortable here , they do all that they can to help you and more. Dillard University is a small close-knit campus and we all here a family and connected in one way or the other. I have made more genuine friends here than i know i would have any where else. I LOVE IT SO MUCH HERE!! and I couldn't have made a better choice.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Dillard University curriculum is excellent. Each and every student and professor inspire you to learn. They encourage you to read to become knowledgeable, they also teach you not to read to retain information for test, but to read to learn and understand. For the almost two months i have learned and have understood more than i would have in high school.

  • 10/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a Historically Black College or University that can cater to the major of their choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student teacher ratio is where you are not just a number on the roll. Each professor gets to know each student on a one on one basis.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is based on a private institution, so financial aid is a very important asset.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the surroundings of Dillard University and the Staff has welcomed me with open arms.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been elected as the Freshman Class President and my classes are very interesting and the professors really care about the students learning abilities and assist with getting help if needed.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IF YOU LOVE TO DO YOUR WORK AND HAVE FUN DILLARD UNIVERSITY IS THE PLACE TO BE!

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY INVOLVED, GO TO CLASS, DO YOUR WORK, ATTEND COMMUNITY SERVICE/ SERVICE LEARNING PROJECTS OR OUTINGS, GO TO YOUR PROFESSORS OFFICE HOURS IF YOU ARE STRUGGLING!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, we all know Dillard is expensive, however, if you make good grades Dillard has no choice but to give you the money you deserve!

    Am enjoying being here

    Many people say Dillard is boring. Well, my freshman year at Dillard was not boring at all. I joined the California Club (Chaplain), Vision Quest Mime Ministry, and was apart of the DU Diamonds(official dance team of Dillard.) If you sit around in your dorm all day of course its going to be boring. Being involved helped me to enjoy my Dillard experience.

    Am learning a lot

    Dillard University Professors will not lead you to failure, if academics are concerned. If you show to them that you are trying and still need help they are willing to help. You have to show that you care about your education, therefore they will care to help you receive it.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    my campus has recently upgraded for campus security to certified campus police.

    Greek Life

    greek life on my campus is one of the main social attractions. they provide community service and campus acitivities for the student body.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are exactly 60 clubs and organizations on dillard's campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an unusual tradition on my campus is a game that includes a series of objects and a weird way of presenting them.

    Bang for the buck

    tutition for off-campus students is approximately $7,600.

    What to do for fun

    engage in campus activities such as student government association, teams and clubs. do reseach on studying abroad as well as greek life.

    Food and Dining

    at my school, and at most univesities, there is a food meal plan in which on-campus students utilize as means of nurishment.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately i do am not an on-campus student but i enjoy visiting the dorms of my friends and classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor is best implemented by the use of your univesity's academic integity statement. up hold the importance of scholarship and gpa. keep academics as a top priority!

    Tips for prospective students

    my best advice for prospective students is to get extremely familiar with your campus and consider constructive time management.

    In three sentences

    dillard univesity is a black ivy league school and a hbcu. it is an eviroment filled with broad diversity and rich culture. develops successful leaders of the surrounding community and city of new orleans.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police is very strict on student i.d's and making sure the students stay safe.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life is looked upon very well. All our Greeks take their sorority and feternities very seriously, but they also have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dillard has a lot of on campus activities that any student can participate in. Please be active at your university.

    Bang for the buck

    Dillard has no football team but we have strong school spirit. We are dedicated to the sports we have such as, basketball, track, and volleyball.

    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends, go to the student union to work out and occasionally, i go to hosted party events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent and so is the cafe. More variety would be nice but its fair in food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, we get the short end of the stick. But as you become an upper class men, housing gets better. Also, room with someone who you can actually live with.

    Academic Rigor

    They push for the best students academically so each student has to stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focused in everything that you do and never give up when times get hard.

    In three sentences

    I feel Dillard University can definitely help me excel in my future career as a Registered nurse. They have on campus tutoring services that can also help me along the way. It is a great school.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the campus is small, campus does their job when it comes to student safety. They check ids for walking students along with parking decals that allows students to park on campus even if they commute.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs include Honor Society and Black Ivy Couture. There is also a choir that has been recognized in numerous places, they even sang at the White House for President Barack Obama.

    Great for these types of students

    Dillard University is great for students who want to experience a smaller university with outstanding academics and social life. Dillard is also known for their spectacular Nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the commencement ceremony the graduating students are allowed to walk on the Oaks, which are never to be walked on until graduation day.

    What to do for fun

    There are often mini fairs and games that go on near Kabbacoff and also a game room at the bottom of Kearny. Students always have the latest news on the best parties and fashion shows that go on campus, so there is never a dull moment at Dillard University.

    Food and Dining

    I have had the pleasure to eat the cajun inspired cuisine of Dillard University, because the University is located in New Orleans, LA they always have the best food. You can find everything from gumbo to freshly made sandwiches in the dinning hall Kearny. In Kearny there is always friendly staff members around to assist with any needs, as well as flat screen televisions and the latest music playing through speakers.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Dillard University does a great job of helping high school students transition from a high load of work to college load, because they [faculty] understand what it takes to become a successful college freshman. I have not had any problems with academics just be sure to STUDY STUDY STUDY!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming to Dillard University, be sure to have all of your financial issues resolved, because waiting in line to speak to your financial advisor can be tedious. Also, as at any institution, it is best to become familiar with the most recent student course catalog so that picking classes for next semester will be a breeze.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is unique and refreshing because of it's small size, family values, and religious backgrounds. I truly love and enjoy everyday that I get to walk on campus and greet friendly faces. Dillard university is the best place to receive a great education.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Located in the exciting city of New Orleans, which is famous for its beautiful gardens, art galleries, parks, and illuminating nightlife, there is always something to do. In addition, the university hosts many different extracurricular events such as parties hosted by on-campus organizations, Greek-affiliated events, and concerts performed by the university famous student choir, VisionQuest.

    Food and Dining

    Dillard University offers students the option of purchasing a meal plan that gives the student access to the Kearny dining hall where breakfast, lunch, and dinner is offered. Students are not given a limitation on the amount of plates or dishes that they are able to have during a particular time as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Dillard University is a positive experience, as it allows for the students to become closer to one another, often times forming bonds that lasts their entire tenure at the university. Most of the students that attend Dillard live on-campus in a dormitory, university-owned apartment complex, or on-campus townhouse.

    Academic Rigor

    One will find that the curriculum at Dillard University offers just the right amount of challenge without becoming too difficult to manage. The courses offered at the university are accommodating to a strong majority of the student population. However if a student does find themselves struggling with a particular course, assistance from professors is always available with flexible office hours that are conducive to a student's course schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would first recommend that they be open-minded and well-rounded when it comes to living in the city of New Orleans. It is also suggested that they also be accepting of peoples from different social, economic, and cultural backgrounds, as Dillard has a student population that is very much diverse.

    In three sentences

    I would say that Dillard University is an exceptional school, geared towards the academic success of its students. With a picturesque campus set in the seventh ward of the vibrant city of New Orleans, Dillard University offers an array of opportunities from the scholastic, as well as from the extracurricular, aspect.

  • 07/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Well rounded campus. Southern hospitality school. Very very friendly and family like students as well as faculty. I have had a wonderful first year here at Dillard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Play later.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a natural science major or a nursing major than Dillard is the perfect school for you to attend. GO BLEU

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a college tour. Do research on the school. Find out from other students about the college life.

    Bang for the buck

    For Dillard to be a private college you get the most bang for your buck, and no out of state fees is one of the reasons I chose Dillard.

    Am enjoying being here

    I thought I was going to be bored and not having any fun, but was I so wrong about that. Dillard has some of the best on campus parties and activities for students, the school wants it to feel like home a little bit.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much since attending Dillard. The school makes you feel welcome and try and assist you in any way possible. Most of the professors know you a personal level and will be there for you if you are having trouble and need help.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is a closed campus, so if you do not attend the university it is sort of a hassle to get on campus.

    Greek Life

    greek life isnt like a great big school. the university is smaller so the greek life is small.

    Clubs and Activities

    texas club, california club, c-100, class councils, pre alumni council, psychology club, s.k.i.r.t.s, blue crew, commuters club... there are many clubs i can list. as i stated before, you can start your own club on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    realistically dillard isnt for everybody, your experience is what you make it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    parting cermony, where students part from their parents in the chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    all i have to say is, make sure you visit your college before attending, key note to all out of state students.

    What to do for fun

    there are many orgazations and clubs that you can join on campus, and if there is one you would like to start, then so be it. there are sports teams. the student union and other on campus sites. many students make there own fun on the weekends off campus and so fourth.

    Food and Dining

    honestly the food isnt great at all. the only 2 days the students look forward to is mondays and fridays, the other days are just blah!

    Dorm Life

    there are 5 dorms on campus 3 of them are under construction due to katrina, which will reopen in fall 2012. there are 3 off campus sites for sudents and staff, the university provides a shuttle for off campus students in the university housing.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are good. the professors are pretty much easy once you learn the way they teach. its a small school, class sizes range from 20 students to 1 professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    willing and open to try new things, comprepared to work and join a family here at dillard university.

    In three sentences

    dillard is amazing overall, if planning on attending this university you must come here with a open mind set and willing to try new things!

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Lots to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Dillard University is a great school for motivated, and hard working students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an tradition that no one can walk on the Oaks. That has been a tradition for years.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities to partake in that goes on at Dillard University on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dillard has great dorms with lots of space and tight security.

    Tips for prospective students

    While attending Dillard University try to be active in all of the campus activities. Engaging in campus activities gives students a chance to network and, meet other students from all over the world.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a great school. I love the classes because, they are small. The smaller class settings give students the chance to have more one on one time with teachers.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Dillard University is strictly enforced. The whole campus is gated and the University has it's own campus police. Before entering Dillard, you have to check through with security.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dillard University has tons of traditions. It would be impossible to name them all. But the first day you arrive, you'll definitely learn that no one is allowed to walk on the grass. In the cafeteria, on Mondays the New Orleans tradition is followed with red beans and rice, cornbread, and fried chicken.

    Bang for the buck

    Dillard University is a private school. So tuition is more expensive than your average public school unfortunately.

    What to do for fun

    Dillard University offers many events thanks to their new Student Activities Board. From Fashion Shows to Forums and even on-campus parties, Dillard offers a variety of things to do for fun. But if you ever get tired of on-campus events, the city of New Orleans is always at your feet!

    Food and Dining

    Kearny is the name of the dining hall on the campus. The food is pretty good. It's of course not a four star restaurant, but when you're hungry (and trust me, you will definitely see those days) Kearny is definitely there to serve you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life wasn't the best for me as a female. Dillard University has strict Dorm Rules and a curfew. And to add on, there were many infrastructure problems that the University was currently dealing with.

    Academic Rigor

    At Dillard, if you study and show dedication to the particular subject, any professor will certainly be willing to help! Not saying it's going to be easy, but at Dillard University, help is always there to those who ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace your college experience. You only get ONE! Meet and network with as many of your fellow classmates and professors as possible. I promise it'll go a long way.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is all about what you make it. Seeing as how Dillard University isn't a large school, you have to embrace the loving people who go there. Everyone is friendly and you can always find someone to help you at Dillard University.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dillard University's campus security is one of the best I have ever seen, and by Dillard being a smaller school, they know when someone doesn't belong.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at Dillard University is prevalent, they has a lot of different organizations that you can join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dillard offers Men's Basketball and Track and Field, Women's Basketball, Volleyball, and Track and Field. Also Dillard has intramural sports and other clubs such as the Chicago Club, Commuter Student Club, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    Dillard is a great place for students who are optimistic and that are ready to work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that Dillard has is not walking on the grass that lays in the center of Dillard's campus, it is known as The Avenue of The Oaks. It is said that if you walk on the Oaks that you will not graduate on time. Another tradition that Dillard has is Catfish Fridays which is when the cafeteria makes catfish, macaroni, and gumbo every Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    Dillard definitely will provide you with plenty opportunities, you just have to be willing to go after them. The school will put something out there but you have to go get it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to work out, listen to music, and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Dillard isn't the best but it's not the worst either.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Dillard University is very nice, it's air conditioning in every hall and it has plenty of space now that new dorms have opened up.

    Academic Rigor

    Dillard is definitely not a place where you can sit back skate by; you have to be willing to sacrifice partying and other parts of our social life in order to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any new student entering Dillard University, i would recommend that you go into Dillard with an open mind, and also that you would make the best of all opportunities because you never know what could happen.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is one of the best experiences I've had in my life. Also Dillard is an avenue of opportunity and the possibilities for you are endless. Dillard also is like a family, and I say this because the professors and other faculty members really care.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    All of the Divine Nine are currently active on the campus and are constantly participating in various community service projects.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide varitey of clubs avaliable to all students which will also give students a chance to participate in service projects within the city, state, nation, and world!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DONT WALK ON THE GRASS!!!

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for the closeness of the environment which nurtures you as a student and helps in making sure you are able to receive as much help as possible.

    What to do for fun

    Kearny Parties !

    Food and Dining

    Great southern dining always. Everything tastes just like home. There is also a large range of choices in dining .

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in need of a place of growth. This is the place for you. Although the school's main focus is on nursing , biology, mass communications, and criminal justice there is still a great variety of majors which includes all STEM Majors.

    In three sentences

    Dillard is a private HBCU located in New Orleans. Student population 1,200. It is very family oriented. On a scale from 1-10 Dillard would recieve a 7

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented, focused and putting in your study time

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies and become exceptional on your time management skills

    Bang for the buck

    Definately, getting my moneys worth

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the whole enviorment

    Am learning a lot

    Dillard is an excellent school and I am learning a lot

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometime security over does it , they give students a hard time when trying to drive on campus, but overall it is a place that we all feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs to name ! My main piece of advice is to research the clubs and find which one best fits you.

    Great for these types of students

    Leaders, Socially Conscious, and any student that wants an undergraduate educate that will prepare them for post graduate life and their careers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Straight is the Dormitory that is supposed to be haunted ( i don't believe it.) The Oaks is possibly the most sacred place on campus because of it's beauty and because of what it means to march up the Oaks for graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many resources available to students on campus, it is just a matter of pursuing them.

    What to do for fun

    Get to know your peers! The university is much more entertaining when you are involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great on Mondays and Fridays , and the pancakes Sunday morning are to die for ! Every other day will be a gamble, but you will live .

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms aren't bad, they are suite style and you wont have to share a bathroom with an entire floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the courses will prove to be challenging however the great thing about Dillard is that the professors are WILLING to bend over backwards to assure that you develop a level of mastery of the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. When dealing with Financial Aid do not take no for an answer. 2. Buy your textbooks somewhere online (it's way cheaper). 3. Campus life is what you make it, don't be turned off by the size of the student body. 4. Bring Rain boots! lol

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a small, family oriented environment. Once you step onto the campus you will become a part of the Bleu Devil family! We work hard in class, we have a lot of fun on campus, but we also go out into our community and make a difference.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very big on the safety of our students. We have an assortment of campus police, security, and guards that protect our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activites that are open to join on our campus. Some clubs you have to fill out an application and then have an interview. While some other clubs, you simply have to sign up.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for the type of students who love to be involved. Are campus is all about doing something great for others. We like to service our community as well as each other on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It really isn't an unusual tradition, but Dillard does have a tradition where students aren't allowed to walk on the grass in between The Oaks. That grass is sacred and is only to be walked on the day of commencement. Also, being an HBCU, every Monday they serve fried chicken and red beans and rice, and Fridays they serve catfish and cabbage.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a lot to offer its students. If you apply yourself to your curriculum and stay involved in the campus life, you have the opportunity to do amazingly well and thrive.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of active clubs on campus as well as social groups. They often are the ones to put on the social events that we have. Those include parties, basketball games, and other events where everyone can come out to have a good time. The school is also in a great location with many amenities around. Such as downtown, the French Quarters, malls, and movie theatres.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a variety of delicious food items that are offered on our campus. It can get a bit repetitive but the food is always of good quality and quantity. I personally enjoy the traditional foods that we are offered each week.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are set up exceptionally nice. There are some dorms that are under construction, but that doesn't interfere with the current students at all. We are all placed into comfortable and convenient housing. The atmosphere in the dorms has a nice fun vibe, but still respects the other students who reside there as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered at Dillard University are very diverse. There is a variety of academics and curriculum that is offered. There are some classes that may seem extremely challenging and there are others that seem extremely easy. It all depends on the subject, the professors, and your learning abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you follow the proper steps for applying for admission. Then make sure you receive a detailed description of everything you must do once enrolled. Lastly, keep a copy of all of your paperwork.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a real community based university. They work hard to see their students achieve. If you stay on top of your business, excelling at this school will be easy.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    New Orleans is a fun place to be all together.

    Food and Dining

    I have not started yet so therefore I do not know how the food tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I have not yet experienced the dorm life

    In three sentences

    The campus is nice and quiet. The staff were very helpful. They have a new state of the art building which houses my majors classes.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many different activities that takes place on Dillard's campus. There are concerts, basketball games, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Students are able to get meal plans and also have a card to buy fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms for freshmen are shared between two people.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is very strict about their students keeping up with their GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Make sure that all of your records are up-to-date. -Make sure that all of your paperwork and fees are paid on time. -Apply for scholarships as soon as possible. -Make sure that your GPA is at least a 2.5 or higher. -Don't hesitate to take ACT as many times as it take to get the right score.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Dillard University a top 10 college. It is a very big campus, but not too big. Everything is very neat and clean and easy to get around.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dillard University is a private and gated-community school. Security is available on campus 24/7. Dillard has a zero drug tolerance which keeps the school a dry safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Dillard has the Divine Nine Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities offered to students at Dillard University, Clubs and Activities are free to join and a great way to keep active on campus. Listed below are some clubs and activities offered at Dillard. -SGA (Student Government Association) -SBA (Student Activities Board) -Class Councils (Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, and Senior) -State Clubs (California Club, Chicago Club, etc.) -Vision Quest (Chorale, Mime, and Liturgical Dancing) -Concert Choir -Cheer Leading -Track and Field -Volleyball -Basketball

    Great for these types of students

    Dillard University is great for all type of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition of Dillard University is Don't Step On The Oaks.

    Bang for the buck

    Dillard University offers great opportunities for students that's a bang for the buck such as: Internships, Community Service at the Hornets Arena and Mardi Gras experience. Also, Dillard University is the only university that offers Theater Arts in New Orleans, Louisiana.

    What to do for fun

    Dillard University have a swimming pool, fitness gym, bowling alley and movie theater that students are allowed to take part of for fun. Dillard also have activities, organizations, sports and exercise classes for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Kearny Hall is the cafeteria at Dillard University. Unfortunately, Dillard does not have fast food restaurants on campus but Kearny serves many food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Dillard is a life changing experience. Meeting new people and making new relationships in the dorms is the beginning of a new journey. Dillard offers dorms, on-campus and off-campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Dillard University has a small population which is an advantage to current students and prospective students. Students at Dillard don''t have to worry about being a number to their professors. Professors and advisers at Dillard know students by name to keep the family-oriented bound. Getting help with academics is not a problem for students because Dillard offers free tutoring for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make sure to get involved on campus. Prospective students should befriend their professors and advisers. Prospective students should stay focus on school at all times.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is an amazing family-bounded school that guide students on a successful pathway to desired careers. Dillard is a Historical Black College and University. Dillard University deserves a rating 10 out of 10.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big concern of ours, which is why we are a closed campus. The security here are certified campus police and we have a strict student i.d. policy. Whether you get in trouble or not, be sure to befriend our beloved CHIEF.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is something to focus on AFTER your freshmen year but they do hold the most social attraction on campus by creating multiple activities and community service for the student body to participate in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Deciding to join a club(s) is easy when you attend the many many activities on campus. You'll be able to get a great sense of which club(s) you can really do excel in.

    Great for these types of students

    This can be an exceptional experience for students who want to attend a private HBCU, intended major is nursing, or not nursing, we'd love to have you anyways, if you're goal oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Me and my friends hang at flagpole, in the dorm lounges, anywhere it's convenient. Also, walking down the Oaks, NOT ON THE OAKS( please stay off our grass ), is something anyone can enjoy, appreciating the sacred beauty it possesses.

    Bang for the buck

    While here, i have come to realize i am learning way more than i ever did in high school. Beyond the classroom, being here teaches you about yourself and life. Leaving you with knowledge that will last a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    Your experience here is what you make it. You can have the most fun just picking up a game with friends, doing movie nights, or venturing down the shops of magazine.

    Food and Dining

    Dinning with us is 50/50, we will always surprise you and have our WOW moments but there are some times when we have the not so WOW moments. Mondays are the best lunches, Friday dinners are great, but for me, i love the weekend brunches.!

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dormitory can possibly be the best thing for you. Being close to the friends you have made and living with them can turn them into the extended family you need.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor here can be a breeze or a windy force field depending on how your treat it. Get to know your professors, get help when you need it, and try your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join an organization. Know your learning style and stick with good study habits Develop time management skills

    In three sentences

    Dillard has a great family based foundation. It is definitely a challenge. Love the excellence and heritage.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you know what you want to major in before enrolling into this university because it is very costly

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 Star

    Greek Life

    5 Star

    Clubs and Activities

    5 Star

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    5 Stars

    What to do for fun

    Particpated in the activities the school always have for students.

    Food and Dining

    3 Stars

    Dorm Life

    5 Stars

    Academic Rigor

    5 Stars

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have goals and dreams stick to them.

    In three sentences

    Its a good school to get your education. The teachers are nice and they woked with you. Its affordable.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attend the small gathering of friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend social events and get to know your peers and fellow students

    In three sentences

    dillard university is a small university. the social life of the school is family like. dillard not only builds your education but also your personality.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are compus security guards who do a good job securing our campus!

    Greek Life

    i have only saw one faternity step so i wouldn't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and they always have something going on.

    What to do for fun

    get involved in campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    kearny is fine but i absolutely love grill 155.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    dillard is annoying at times. there are great, lenient professors. it is not the best college experience.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go swimming, play tennis and more.

    Food and Dining

    great food!

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and never give up.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is an amazing school that cares about education. The teachers go beyond to help students learn. Education is Dillard University!

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus housing is very safe. We have an actual police force to guard the main campus. The off campus dorms they have (such as Elysian Fields) is horrible. They do not take good care of the students there.

    Greek Life

    We have the typical NPHC Greek organizations that you will find at an HBCU (Historically Black College or University)

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs for dancers, cultural activist, thespians, and those that are homesick.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a place full of a culture besides your own, NEW ORLEANS IS THE PLACE. It is a different world full of artistic ventures.

    Bang for the buck

    They need more food choices and late night options for those that stay up to study. Need to pay as much attention to the off campus dorms as they do the on campus. Other than that, it is well worth the investment.

    What to do for fun

    In good company, you can have fun doing anything. Go down to Frenchman, Magazine, Decatur, or Bourbon street to walk around.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is buffet style and only open during certain hours. Food is okay

    Dorm Life

    On campus students have curfew, and have to live in Historic buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are wiling to do the work, the professors are willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a dress code for on campus freshman. Please dress as if you wish to enter the academic world as a professional!

    In three sentences

    Dillard is a small University that gets to know their students as individuals. It focuses on what it means to excel in the world as a minority. Emphasizes the different cultures that derived from African decent.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its gated and the security cards everyone who comes through. So you know it's safe.

    What to do for fun

    It's New Orleans, what you think?

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    It's okay. We have curfew though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like the more fast pace life, don't come.

    In three sentences

    Dillard is prestigious black private institution. We about our business and profressionalism yet the fun of New Orleans at the same time. I am a freshman 2012, they welcome you with open arms.. they instantly became family.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several Clubs and activities on the Dillard campus.

    Food and Dining

    Kearny is good and edible. I had plenty of good times at Kearny.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. Girls live in a dorm but guys live in apartments with the 3 to an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The school can be academically challenging at times but the fact that there is few students allows professors to make a lot of adjustments and help for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are plenty of things to do as well as distractions at Dillard but the thing is that remember your goal and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a wonderful institution. The school is pretty small, but it allows you to get extra tender, love, and care in order to succeed in the rough world. I personally like the fact that our classes our small and everyone gets to know each other pretty well.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dillard has armed security and a gate that surrounds our whole campus. The gate is mostly brick so security is great.

    Greek Life

    Yes, we have Greek life. We are a HBCU.

    Clubs and Activities

    To many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are ready to learn, and have a since of why they are here. Our history is rich and it shows with our alumni

    Bang for the buck

    You will get your moneys worth at Dillard.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of options for fun.... we are in New Orleans! We have a lot of movie productions filmed here and impromptu music from the students

    Food and Dining

    Food could be improved but the food will satisfy you. Dining experience is always loud and on Friday the music starts and the step show begins. We are a liberal arts school also.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is relatively nice. some problems with wi-fi but other than that....typical dorm i guess.

    Academic Rigor

    The course study for nursing is advanced and they have no time to hold your hand. We started out with 97 students 1st semester we are down to 45 so no time to play.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should apply early for a chance to be considered for on campus scholarships. Be prepared to do community service and volunteer service it is a criteria to graduate with 100 plus hours.

    In three sentences

    Dillard has a rich history.Dillard is Safe and provides a stellar education for a fraction of some colleges. Dillard requires it nursing students to take higher course levels than some other institutions.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There aren't that many activities and events that occur on the regular basis. But when they do, it is pretty exciting. I just wish that there were more events on the weekends, because Saturdays and Sundays are really dry. We have a student union that has a bowling alley, movie theater, and a game room but they are never open, and only one of the lanes in the bowling alley actually work. I think we just need some improvement in this area.

    Food and Dining

    So, here's the thing. I have a love/hate relationship with Kearny Hall (which is the cafeteria). I love Mondays because it is fried chicken day, but I hate the surprises they come up with any other day. The food isn't too bad, it just gets tiring after a while. So, its good to splurge on yourself and get some fast food, or go to a restaurant. But, no matter what, you always know that Kearny will be there for you when your funds are low.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Williams Hall, which is an all girls dorm. The rooms are an okay size, and if you move the furniture around, you can find what best fits to you and your roomates liking. It's pretty average. The only bad thing I could say about it is that when we come back from break, the first floor always smells weird.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers make you teach yourselves, some are too tired and the lesson doesn't come out too clearly, and others are unorganized. But, there are some that really love what they do and you can tell by the way they teach. You most likely will succeed more in those types of classes rather than with the difficult teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be stuck in the office for the first week of school so that you could be cleared. It's a long process, but it is worth it in the end. Don't be afraid to have school spirit, especially during the games. College is what you make it, so don't waste your time complaining about it.

    In three sentences

    Dillard can be really unorganized. But, throughout its faults, Dillard sucks you in and makes you want to stay. At first I hated the school, and I considered transferring, but now I wouldn't even consider leaving.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with a nice number of security who are always fast and available.

    Greek Life

    Great they are very popular

    Great for these types of students

    Dillard is great for anyone. There are many majors to study, and the programs are terrfic here. You wont be here just to get a degree and leave Dillard is great for students who are dedicated to their studies.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball games are always fun, on campus parties, and many informational workshops throughout the school are always happening.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area is big with many selections.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. Visitation hours and rules are fair as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Dillard challenges their students, but professors here are very helpful and will help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dillard is a small school with a big heart. Dillard staff, and students treat each other like family, always willing to help. My suggestion is to come and try to make the best out of the great experience that you have.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University has been one of the best experiences of my life. Have met great people here who has no lending out a helping hand with things such as homework and studying. Dillard has put me on a path to having a chance to have a great career and I am glad i chose this University.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    New Orleans, LA is a great place to be for fun whether you are on campus or off campus. Bourbon street, the french quarters, and magazine street are just a few of the popular attractions many of the students visit throughout their time here at Dillard. I have had an awesome experience being out in the city, enjoyed every minute of it, and have many more fun experiences to come before I graduate.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    As of now, dorm life is quite a good experience. At the moment, housing is in the process of being built on campus so we are expectant of those dorms being completed soon.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is dependent upon the major that you are in. As a physics major, I speak solely for the department of STEM when I say that the classes can be quite difficult at times, as I am taking a heavy course load in addition to a high level of difficulty. At the same time, I also take electives that are not as difficult which make it much more feasible for me to obtain a high grade. Just in the same, it is likely that students of other majors have classes that are challenging to them, while others may come much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student, it should be in the best interest of the student to be well informed about the school in order to be aware of the decision that you are making. While everyone knows that college is a great step in the right direction for most of the individuals who intend to reach prosperity from a great financial life, it is also important to understand that choosing a college to attend can be difficult from the large pool that one may have available to them. Instead of knowing only half as much as you could have by simply going onto the website of the prospective institution, it is in your best interest to have a very thorough understanding of the academic standard, services, and other ammenities that are available to the student community.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a great school to attend because it offers a great academic experience in conjuction with the very intense nightlife atmosphere. Not only will you have fun when it comes time to go out and party on campus, or in the city of new orleans, but you can also be assured that when you are bound for class the teachers will provide a great academic realm for students who are intent on being successful wtihin the classroom.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Participate in different organizations and community service

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should get active around campus. Students shouldn't be afraid to ask for help with any subject they are talking.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very active. There are many ways for students to get help with homework or anything. The teaching is amazing to the point it makes the student undersatnd it much better.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Singing in the choir is what I do for fun.

    Dorm Life

    I've never been on campus but the video I saw of the dorm wasn't bad. The beds are just right and it's enough space to get around

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not most academically stable student but hopefully I'll change that this time around

    Tips for prospective students

    Be attentive and respective of campus environment. Try not to stress over hard work and be ambitious

    In three sentences

    The dillard university looks great from what I have seen on the Internet. Also I have heard some great things from the choir members. Hopefully I will become one this fall

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency boxes around campus, a security gate at entrances that are manned by securty staff who are all current and past NOPD officers. Curfews are in place and monitored daily.

    Greek Life

    Available and present.

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, student government, academic clubs and sport activities are encouraged for all students.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcome, those who place cultural importance on attending a historic black college or university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dillard University is rich in its African-American history. Located in historic New Orleans, there are many events and festivals year round. The campus is historic in itself.

    Bang for the buck

    There are diverse majors and many employees are past graduates with varied educational experiences.

    What to do for fun

    The university sponsors on campus concerts. I've attended sports events, bowling and community events. There has also been movie productions on campus.

    Food and Dining

    What better place than New Orleans to find great food off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun! You meet other students from various walks of life.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are designed to push you toward achieving your goals. They are demanding and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for academic success and community involvement.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a great HBCU that provides a quality education,as well a student development in many areas. It has the academic support for student success through counseling and tuitoring services. I am confident it will prepare me for success in life.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have constant patrol on our campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is sooooo much to do. SGA, SAB, Class Council, International club, Chicago Club, Alabama Club, the list goes on

    Great for these types of students

    Determined, driven, fun, outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People cannot walk on the Oaks if you do the legend is you will not graduate.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do. They usually have stuff going on on campus most of the time. The other schools also advertise at Dillard, so you can also interact with other colleges in the area. One could just go roam around the city it just amazing all the stuff a person can do in the Beautiful city of New Orleans.

    Food and Dining

    Kearny (dining hall) has its moments when it can be the best thing you have ever eaten, and it has days were it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is typical from other colleges. There are no co-ed dorms;the dorms are separated by gender and classification.

    Academic Rigor

    Dillard is a very academic school you have to be focused and actually apply yourself to pass most of the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring Rainboots. Study. Have fun but not too much fun. Study. Enjoy the City. Study. Make Friends. Study. Join student government. and Study

    In three sentences

    Dillard is very family oriented. It is a very traditional campus. The students are friendly and come from all over.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour on campus security that's very cautious.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very popular on campus. Most traditional frats and sororitys exist at Dillard.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 240 clubs at Dillard University.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for Nursing and Business majoring students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have not experiences a situation of this sort just yet. Maybe will once I attend in the fall

    Bang for the buck

    At this school not only are the staff very informative, but the current students are also very friendly and helping. The schools overall goal is to produce successful students. Overall the school is a place that creates a very helping environment.

    What to do for fun

    There is much to do for fun when on campus. Including social activities, the gym, sports activities, and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    Great food in the dining area. The school serves 3 meals a day.

    Dorm Life

    Many of my piers enjoy living on campus. The meal plan that's included with student housing is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Academically

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to stay on top of all informations required to turn in to admissions, business and finance, and financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a really great school for many reasons. Not only are academics a big part of the school mission, socially the school is great also. I think the school is a great area to obtain a degree.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are trained by the New Orleans police department training system.

    Greek Life

    The school is home to the notorious nine greek fraternities and sororities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is filled with historic oak trees. When students gradute they march down the oaks to receive their diplomas.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is equipped with a student exercise gym, movie theatre, bowling alley, game room, and intra murals gym. There are a wide variety of clubs and programs for all interests.

    Food and Dining

    The Kearny dining hall is filled with down south home cooking, and meals that will have you wanting seconds.

    Dorm Life

    Dillard has just renovated thre complete dorm buildings, and equipped the on campus apartments with new appliances.

    Tips for prospective students

    -be aware of the fact that dillard is a small campus -be mindful that with this small campus comes a life long family bond formed amonst all students and faculty -dillard offers you every key to success that you will need a long the way,but it is up to you to earn is key -expect to be academically challenged, and have lots of fun at the same time

    In three sentences

    Dillard is a small,but beautiful campus filled with historic oak trees and huge white buildings, that hold the keys to your success. The school has multiple academic and career programs to ensure the current and future success of each student. The school is fit to serve students of all interests, from the award winning theatre department, to the medeal earning track team, as well as the highly accredited nursing program.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would go to all the events they have on campus to enjoy yourself.

    Food and Dining

    I love to eat in the grill.it taste more like New Orleans food.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very important to me because you will get somewhere with the education that you are gaining.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to apply to Dillard university.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Dillard university a five star school. I love the way the classes are very small. The teachers will help you when you need help.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety isn't what it once was. On a scale of one to ten, it falls at about a 6.

    Greek Life

    There are many different sororities and fraternities, all of which are non-hazing organizations. Each one yields its own benefits.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities that are hosted by different departments and counselors.

    Great for these types of students

    None.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions on campus unless one belongs to a specific club or organization that has one or more.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus activities that are held by various organizations on campus such as sororities and fraternities, and different clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is only as good as the contract that the school holds with the agency Sodexo, and quite honestly, it sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average, I suppose. There is not much to it other than the fact that they are not co-ed. Seniors and juniors have the privilege of apartment style living, while underclassmen must live in dorms. There is a curfew of 12am on weekdays and 2am on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is far from what I anticipated. As a former AP/Honors students, I was accustomed to a certain level of difficulty that presented various challenges that later helped me advance in terms of my college career. However, since Louisiana is ranked 49th in the country for education, students should know that above all else, taking the initiative is what matters most.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that prospective students enter the experience with an open mind, and that they understand the importance of challenging themselves first and foremost, because not every faculty member on campus will do so. It's in the student's best interest to begin taking the initiative upon being admitted to the university.

    In three sentences

    Dillard is definitely a one of a kind university. It yields its own experiences that some may find stimulating, and others may find dull and frustrating. Dillard offers provides its students with different perspectives on not only college life, but life in general.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The entire campus is a huge gated community.

    Great for these types of students

    Dillard is great for laid back easygoing students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love hanging out on the oaks

    What to do for fun

    The student union is a good place to go to for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect anything too good.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a fairly decent college with much room for improvement. The campus is beautiful and all of the students are very friendly. However, I feel it is not as good as it can be academically.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for sun on campus. But the University is in New Orleans, Louisiana. So there is always something you can find to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good although we only have a cafeteria and not a food court.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms in the new buildings. I suggest you get a single room if you can afford it.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard if you don't keep up. The teachers are a lot easier on students because there aren't so many of us. You get to get help from teachers because they know you by name and not number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college with an open mind. you will learn a lot but be strong minded so that you will want to find things out on your own. Enjoy your college experience but try to finish on time.

    In three sentences

    Dillard University is a University known for its excellence. The student population is very small which means there's not a lot going on all the time. But the small population allows the students to form better relationships with their professors to get the needed help.