Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dine College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL KINDS!

    Tips for prospective students

    You will have fun if you're involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the classes because they are not to crowed, this gives me the advantage so I could have a one on one time with the instructor.

    Am learning a lot

    Dine College is a great school attend. It may be in a very rural area but it has its resources there. The mission and vision of the school is exceeding and its a school to find yourself spiritually, and culturally.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have campus securities that work 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested then you join

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some like before mid-term n finals, and holidays

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships or pocket money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are meal plans for each semester and the dining facility is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    As for me i don't know much about the dorm life, but according to other students it is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The course here are pretty much basic and have qualification for each or what evere you are trying to achieve. every degree program as there check list, which pretty much you go by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are looking at a slow pace for their education, they should look into Dine College.

    In three sentences

    Dine college there really nothiong to say, except that it is a good community school and the courses are excellent for a 2 year college. the instructors are magnificant and well educated and have a sense of humor. That what makes Dine Colllege great.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safety! because of its small populations! they are security there!

    Greek Life

    NONE i believe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are variety of clubs and activities! but i haven't joined any yet!

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to learn about Navajo culture, or take real beauty of Navajo ways.... or even trying something new!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are Navajo traditions there, but they are choices you can make! its great to learn also!

    Bang for the buck

    NONE

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat, you can head to a near by town, or even make new friends and they can show you around, which is great!

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining! only at some colleges, the one I go to has none for now!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, only in some campuses! There are several of Dine colleges in the Reservation.

    Academic Rigor

    They try to teach you to make you know in your mind, not just to do their job! Its very interesting! there are professors there that can open up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Small population, on the Reservation, bare, and nice

    In three sentences

    Dine College is a great college for students to start and have experiences. It is a small college but has amazing staff to get along with, and know who they are. Its a chance that will always be there, and be helpful for Native Americans and others.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Dine College has security on campus.

    Greek Life

    This does not apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dine College offers the ambassadors club to many eager students and student leaders.

    Great for these types of students

    Dine College has a program that helps and assists with recycling cans, paper, plastic, other, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dine College has awareness for birthday's, welcome back to school, mid-term, and finals for the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Dine College is worth every penny because it has taught me valuable information about the Navajo culture and the detailed history.

    What to do for fun

    On the Dine College campus they offer the ambassador's club and newsletter. It is available to get involved with the school concerns and/or activities such as Earth Day.

    Food and Dining

    This does not apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Dine College instructors almost always give deadlines when to submit your homework and when there's a test. The instructors do excellent with academic teachings and make clear instructions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Obtain a proper amount of study time and submit your work on time. Attend your classes and take notes during the lectures. Always make sure you get your rest and eat well too.

    In three sentences

    Dine College has great qualities with student learning through thinking, planning, living, and assuring. Additionally, Dine College offers research and teachings with the Navajo culture, clan-ship and language. Most of all, Dine College is located on the Navajo reservation for many eager students to learn within their hometown.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dine College makes sure its students and community members are safe as well as comfortable.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot that goes on at Dine College, there are a variety in clubs such as agriculture, save the planet groups, news paper and as for activities there is competitions and contest that happen as well as entertainment.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who are open minded and are very interested in learning new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As for unusual traditions would be the American Indian ceremonies that are held.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are recreational activities such as camping, fishing, exploring the forest areas and conversing with the community, there are plenty of activities that happen and that benefit the students about cultural connections with the area.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and is part of the culture as well as satisfying hunger.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is very interesting, it does its best to suit its students needs.

    Academic Rigor

    The only academic rigor would be learning the language and culture, it takes a very open mind to understand the way Dine College is.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who want to attend Dine College tips would be to have fun and learn as much as you can, its an excellent school for students who wish to learn about a different culture and life style.

    In three sentences

    Dine College provides helps to all of its students. Dine College is a great place to start for students. Dine College is a unique and brilliant place to attend.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a lake to go fishing nearby and also camping in the woods. We have a mountain where it rains often its beautiful. Also hiking is a good excercise with a town with many varieties a hour away.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and dining provide good meals to students since everything is needed on the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Staying in the dorm is great for students who are a full time student. Many friends to make and more study buddies with a library nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic field of studies to look into for any major. Many classes required too take that will bring your educational one step further.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task and ask for help if you need it. People are their to help and succeed.

    In three sentences

    Dine College is a great college with small classrooms, friendly people and nice teachers. The college makes me feel at home with my Navajo culture and aspects. I love the school with workers and teachers who help us students a lot to apply and with school work.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like to stay home with my family mostly. To have fun, you can go into a neighboring town to shop, dine n wine, watch a movie or if there are any events going on.

    Food and Dining

    Food is on your own. You can choose to eat at home or if you have the money you can eat at the local fast food joints and restraunts.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've had we're okay. It was hard at time but also very simple at the same time. You just have to listen, and do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time!! Do the homework because it's half or more of your overall grade. Have fun, but not too much.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small. The teachers are nice and helpful. College is close to home.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at $360 for 12 credits is bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. Dorm students can travel to neighboring towns for movies, drives, etc. Fishing, camping, and other outdoor activities are within distance of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of meals throughout the week. Also offer a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Enjoy staying here at the dorms. Although the dorms are full now and a waiting list in place.

    Academic Rigor

    As for the academic rigor, I feel it's pretty laid back but everyone has their own unique schedules and challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips, I would recommend asking questions since that's the only way you will get all your answers to any problems.

    In three sentences

    This my first semester here at Dine College. The application process was simple and quick. I enjoy being here on campus among other intelligent minds.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's in a nice location surrounded with people and it's best to be around people that you know.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the kayenta site, there not much clubs or activites beside picking up trash to support our community.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't want to leave there kids or family, don't have any babysitter, mother's who don't want to take there kids with them struggling dealing with day care payment and etc.

    What to do for fun

    I can basically do everything i use to do when i was in high school and it's good for me and my son.

    Food and Dining

    My family cook for me or either my son's dad.

    Dorm Life

    I am going to school at the Kayenta site which is where i live and live with my parents and it's good to be near my family, better than being home sick.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student's with children will love that there is a college on the navajo reservation and don't have to worry about child care because they will be near relatives.

    In three sentences

    I rate Dine College a 10 because it a college on the Navajo Nation.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have securities who watch over us at night just to make sure that were safe. We have curfew, rules to obey in dorms and well dorm life is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    So much activities for the students here on campus, such aa; walks, hikes, basketball clubs, rodeo, archary, green club, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every school year we have a bahozho meeting for welcoming back the students, and to protect them through the year with positive minds. We also so some song and dances here for the community. Our location is beautiful there our places to hike and a lot of moutains. We have a lake about a mile out where students walk just to get things off their minds.

    Bang for the buck

    i hope you like the review i made of Dine College. We hope to be seeing more students here than there is now.

    What to do for fun

    If your ever bored and have nothing to do then make a club. You the student have the right to make a club for the entire student body, if they choose to be in your club. Theres all sorts of activities to do here such as; softball, baseball, basketball, volleyball and cross country

    Food and Dining

    We have 3 meals a day theirs; breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food here is unbelievable you have a choice between two different meals, and theres a salad bar for those who watch their weight.

    Dorm Life

    Perfect always having fun, always things to do. For this holiday, halloween, we are having zombie week. It's very interesting and well basically you try and stay alive. Think you can survive a week?

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll like it here, theirs tons of things to do. Oh and always be 15 minutes early to class, gives you a good name.

    In three sentences

    Dine College is a good place to go to school, the teachers are their for you when you need them. They always have activities during the evenings. Dine College is the place to if you want to grow up to be successful.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what you wanna be and your not ready for a university life then here is a place to start. the classes are small and you get know your professors and other student's in your class.

    In three sentences

    It's a great Native American school and it's a great place to start before attending a University.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Had to be a computer and do a lot of work and stay up late nights.

    Great for these types of students

    That want to study Navajo Culture and want a taste of college life.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy watching the sheep at Dine College, and being social with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good a lot of opinion but they keep serving mostly every three hours and i gain weight.

    Dorm Life

    Everybody is nice and friend got along with everybody and even felt like family.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to speak Navajo dine college well help you even if your nonnative.

    In three sentences

    Dine College is a good place for natives and nonnative whom want to learn navajo culture. It helped me understand about my heritage and made me strong for who I am. Any work i do, i follow the dine college planning guide and has helped me in my college work.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located 20 miles from the nearest fast food place.

    Bang for the buck

    Tutition at reasonable price. Leaves a little money in your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Not much other than take nature walks, walks to the local grocery/gas station.

    Food and Dining

    Native cusine is offered at time which adds a nice touch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are acceptable, each room is 2 per room. Each dorm buidling have there own personal kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic are very friendly and inviting. They are at time challenging but enlightening.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure to get all required documents into admission on time, show up early for on site registeration. Check college email constantly

    In three sentences

    Great community college in a rural area to focus on academic studies. Great instructors that are very understanding and open for teaching styles. A friendly and enriching cultural environment.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is near a public school which also has its own security department. the local security is only a phone call away or a mere step of the feet. the security is always on patrol 24/7 and always give a helping hand.

    Clubs and Activities

    the school has an arsenal of clubs ranging from native american church(NAC), to the anime club. the school has something for everybody. workstudy is always available if u are bored or else u need cash to maintain. the school is always doing community project clean ups. and always making people aware of the environment .

    Great for these types of students

    -future leaders -revolutionarys -ordinary -shy -energetic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year the college had a zombie game that they initiate. some zombies are chosen and u must survive with a vast array of weapons and perks. the game is satisfying with all that large oak trees towering above us in every direction. the last remaining survivors get a meal of their choice (free)

    Bang for the buck

    the college offers a deal to those who stay in the dorm such as the meal plan. the tuition is not too shabby and the dorm life is well worth the life. meals are cooked for dorm attendees and refreshments are always lurking in the main dorm.

    What to do for fun

    the college offers local wifi and a vast ammount of events are happening every week. from small concerts, to bake sales. their is also a local pool hall and air hockey that always brings joys to the locals. the library has multiple computers and high speed internet as fast as 138 mbps.

    Food and Dining

    the local cafeteria has a wide variety of food, and some local to navajos such as the navajo taco. a lunch menu is always available so the meals are always precedented. the cafeteria is very large and is equipped with a very healthy snack bar.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is an amazing and fantastic experience. the residential advisors are very friendly and at times, they are the kids. all together the from life is an experience for yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    the school contains a numerous amount of classes that support you in every way. its prestigous reading classes have given me insight and knowledge to a bigger world.

    Tips for prospective students

    the school has a wide variety of students from all types of enthicitys, but mainly navajo. it offers numerous types of classes and degrees that have some of the most knowledgeable teachers i know.

    In three sentences

    dine college is an excellent school for those who want to learn about Navajo culture and thinking. the school collaborates Navajo way of thinking into its philosophy and everyday life. i wouldn't attend any other college that dine college.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have securities that monitor the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are several clubs and activities that go on, although working full time and then driving 100 miles to take these class make it almost impossible to join or be apart of the school's clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are just out of high school and those that want credit that transfer to a university. Not very much colleges do this.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being new to the college, I am not too aware of traditions in the school, but have found that they held events that relate to the navajo culture.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Dine College will give me the Education and experience that I need at a low affordable rate.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my family and try to keep us busy by attending local parks and local events that are held in our community, and in surrounding area.

    Food and Dining

    So far its on our own and we have local fast food, and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    On the main campass there is a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It's good, they help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try out new things, even if they seem far to different than what you know. Strive to learn and don't be afraid to ask your advisors anything.

    In three sentences

    Dine College is affordable and fits my finical situation. I also has a B.A. program in Elementary Education at a low cost for me. The school is near my relative who help me support my education goals.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During the night, the campus gate would be lock. And there is always a security there, patrolling the campus area. Making sure there is no one running through the campus, or trying to break in any of the facility.

    Greek Life

    There is hardly any greek life here at Tuba City Dine College campus. I have no idea about the main campus in Tsaile.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs here at Tuba City Dine College Campus. But at the main campus in Tsaile, there are a bunch of clubs and any activities there. Here at this campus, there are only a few clubs. There is an upcoming meeting for students that can participate. This type of meeting is well like a ceremony meeting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Within the perimeter of the campus, there are local plants growing, as well as, a few trees here and there. But there are some mounds of sands or dirt. The location of the campus is, almost, by an old abandon airway.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition here at Dine College, is very accord to the students. It could leave students with enough money for anything they would need in the upcoming future. Such as books, laptop, pencils, rulers, and other school items.

    What to do for fun

    Well, even though people have said that its boring here in Tuba City. Just because they aren't enjoying the outdoors especially in the summer. There's the Yellowman Recreational Park for the community. Even the local schools have playgrounds for the children, and basketball courts to the football fields.

    Food and Dining

    Only at the main campus, Tsaile.

    Dorm Life

    Only at the main campus, Tsaile.

    Academic Rigor

    The education here is well deserve for students who are willingly to learn. Teachers provide resourceful informations about the subject they are teaching. Always prepare the assignments and assigned homeworks well. Having a moment of time for the students to study any quizzes or test.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are well informed and have any resources to the students in each classroom and subject. The Learning Center provide scholarships information and computer usage. The counselors are very helpful to each students and provide any information to the student's needs.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is the number one priory. It just does not affect one, but the whole campus. They have a zero policy set for drugs, alcohol, tolerance, etc. The campus is high with security safety that it is to keep everything secure and safe no matter what.

    Greek Life

    We don't have much of a Greek Life, but as far as I know our school just basically treats people as one. Although it is a great opportunity to find friends who will be there for you for a lifetime. Is is based upon sisterhood, brotherhood, community, sorority, etc. Greek Life would be an amazing opportunity if we did have it though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join clubs such as: AIHEC, Green club, Animal Care Club, ASDC, Archery, Rodeo, Cross Country and etc.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students, for it has a low tuition, scholarships, nearby communities, and is worth the education. It is also an Institute for American Indians or Non-American Indians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main building (NHC) is built for the students to learn and to set their minds for their goals and represents the east. There is a corn stalk built in the center of the campus meaning it is the heart, for it was made during the time the college was built. The GCB is built on the south direction of the campus. The Dorms are on the West direction and North is the gym. It all has to do with the origins of the Dine (Navajo).

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth everyone's money. You'll be surprised how much money you saved.

    What to do for fun

    Their are various things to do for FUN! You can go hiking, travel, walk or run. Fun all depends where you put it either in-doors or outdoors; near or far.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are great, now that we recently got chiefs. The food is spectacular and it's better. Try it, whereas you can taste for yourself.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are perhaps the shape of a hexagon and represent the home of the Navajo's. It is built to give us shelter, for it also represents family dwelling, good health and fortune. It accommodates thirty-students who are full-time and maintain a 2.0. It's a home away from home accommodation and is remote.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is strict but fair. It has challenges just like other Community College or University. It's all worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a student here at Dine College I recommend you to apply, for you won't be sorry you did. The School has brought such momentum, for it is a pleasure to be a current student. I encourage you to join and become a Warrior. You'd be pleased what this school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Dine College is a great way to start your school year with low tuition costs, financially, and educationally. The Institute is knowledgeable in what they teach and has awesome Instructors as well. I'd give this program two thumbs up!

  • 08/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities that gets students involved. Not too far from the campus there is a lake to have cookouts and fish. The school is on the Navajo Nation, that is full of cultural events: pow-wows and gory dances.

    Food and Dining

    There will never be a time when the food tastes bad. The head chief use to work at Manila Bay in Las Vegas, NV.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't seen the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors are from the other colleges around. For example, UNM-Gallup,NTU-Crownpoint, Fort Lewis College.

    In three sentences

    Dine college has a main campus and five other smaller campuses that gives advantage to students to attend school from home, saving lots of money.Classes aren't to big, there is one-on-one with the professors.

  • 10/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety for the students and staffs here at Dine College is very good. they have security guards who work day and night to protect us from harm. The campus is one huge circle, but the safety here is protected.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    the college has sports for students who want to join. these sport groups are Cross Country, Basketball, Archery, and Rodeo. The club they have are the Dine group club. This college also has many activities they do, such as a Halloween dance and a thanksgiving dinner before fall break.

    Great for these types of students

    What will be great for you is the education and getting along with the instructors. The college has a mission and it is for you to attend this school and find out who you really are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The unusual traditions here on the campus is the Navajo way of life, the meetings they have that run in the Navajo tradition. it is always located in the south Hogan.

    Bang for the buck

    Very AFFORDABLE!

    What to do for fun

    I am a student and athlete. For me I joined cross country. The sport I am in is very amazing. I also like to hang out with my teammates, watch movies, and/or play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here at Dine College is very spectacular. The food is very good and the staffs are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    Dine College has nine dorms and student housing. The dorm life for students has them stratified. Being in the dorm is way better than driving from home. The dorms is a Hogan shape and it includes many rooms with a stove in the middle. The dorm life is very well decent with activities and sports.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here is very helpful, it is a great place to take your classes. The instructors are very helpful and they communicate with the students. The academic programs here provide the students the opportunity to gain their skills to shape their future. Dine College also provides study groups and tutoring with students who help you out on your class assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this school and consider yourself who you are. Be the student you want to be and apply. This college is offers a quality and affordable education across the Navajo Nation. The college has students success staffs who are there to help you with your needs and questions.

    In three sentences

    Being a student at dine college it is a pleasure to tell you that this college is the first tribal college of all tribal colleges across the country. I attended this college because it has the roots of the Navajo Language and culture. Dine College is the place to get your education. Be the person you are and come here for your education, it is a definite ten stars. The college offers students who have kids to attend while their kids are at day care. The college has a philosophy and it is the way of life.