Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Doane College-Crete Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love campus involvement, there is almost always something going on all over campus. It's also great for both the free minded, and structural based thinkers as Doane will challenge your perspective and change how you see the world. Great for students who want a small college and emphasis on student success, a teacher will always stay after class or come in early to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student thinking about a smaller college should consider Doane. It is an old school with lots of heritage and tradition. The class size is small and attention on the student is the main focus of the college. A small campus always keeps everyone involved. If you want to be a part of a plethora of activities and meet many new friends than Doane College is right for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Doane is an expensive school, but with the expense comes a great education, if you plan on being a teacher no school is better than Doane. With smaller class sizes the teacher really gets to know you and with a smaller staff the teachers you have once you're likely to have again, and they will know exactly how to help you succeed, The teaching staff at Doane is top notch and will do anything to see their students succeed.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is always alive whether it's with school planned activities such as dances, or video game tournament, or student planned activities like intramural sports or cutting loose on the weekends. Doane always keeps you involved and that's why the campus feels more like a community rather than making you feel like you're just a number at a big school.

    Am learning a lot

    Doane College is a small college therefore class sizes are small and the material gets relayed and related to you in new and innovative ways. Teachers have more time to focus on the students because of the smaller class sizes. Doane is a great choice especially for teaching, musical, and human sciences majors.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students who like familiar things. -Students who want to be in close quarters with others. -Don't wanna walk 15 minutes to class, you won't have to! It takes about 5 minutes to walk to every class on Doane Campus. -Students who enjoy school spirit. Doane is proud of not only it's alumni and academics, but it's athletics, and clubs. A majority of Doane students play a sport, so go support!

    Tips for prospective students

    -When you decide Doane is for you, don't hesitate to fill out residence hall applications to get your pick, rooms go fast! -Find out where all your classes are BEFORE the day of classes! -Attend Orientation Week! It's a great way to meet the incoming freshmen and get a feel for the campus before the upperclassmen come! -Get a good meal plan. You will be in Crete, NE so there aren't the biggest picks of restaurants around town if you end up hungry after dinner. -Coordinate things with your roommate so you both are on the same page! (I've seen too many clash-ups with roommates before!) -Check your mail frequently. Doane has so many things going on ALL the time and they make sure you know it! Also, there have been too many times where I show up to class and it ends up being cancelled. -Take notes. (Self-explanatory) -Don't skip class. Doane has a policy in which it's vital to come to class. When you start missing, grades start dropping. -Have fun! It's college. Don't hold anything back.

    Bang for the buck

    Doane has many scholarship opportunities for everyone! You just have to apply and you have to ask and stay on top of things! For me, I was on an athletic scholarship and I also had an academic scholarship. I basically had everything paid for, it was awesome. The great things is, Doane wants you to be a student at their school and they will try everything in their power to do so. Because it is a private school, it is costly but you are getting the best education in Nebraska that is possible. Apply for all scholarships that you can! Talk to advisors!

    Did enjoy being here

    For my own personal preference, I don't think I'm much of a small college person. Doane is increasing it's incoming freshman numbers as the years go by but I felt as though I were in high school all over again there. If you like familiarity, Doane is for you. Everyone knows your name. I was on the track team and I loved it. Being a part of clubs and activities on campus will definitely help your college experience. Doane hosts many events and is always looking out for all its students. At Doane, you will find close ties and friendships for life.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes that you will take at Doane will be private school sized classes (being that Doane is a private school). My classes ranged from 10-14 people. It was great. If you needed extra help, the professors are right there to help and they make sure that you know they are there for YOU. The small classes helps the learning environment in being that there are not as many distractions. The professors are excellent in their teaching and knowledge and they show it off well. Whether you are a fast learner or it takes you some time to understand things, Doane is a great school for learning.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who might want more attention in their classroom. Students who prefer smaller class sizes and a smaller campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for expenses. College is not cheap. Try to enjoy yourself. College is also supposed to be fun. Try to take advantage of all of the things they provide for you. Different activites or discount that will help you have the best experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Doane is well rounded with the focus on students. It is expensive because it is a private college, but those extra expenses help provide you with the best education possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are many different activies provided by SAC (Student Activities Council) to keep students busy during their extra time. These activities cover a wide variety of things; plays, concerts, comedians, etc. This gives the students a time to bond with each other and make great friendships. This helps you enjoy yourself as much as possible.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small so you can get the extra help you need. The teachers work with you to make it possible to get the best grade you can. There are also a lot of extra things such as the writing center to help you achieve the highest grade. Learning as much as possible is definately the goal

  • 07/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for student athletes, students who want to learn, who work hard, go to class. It's as easy as that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, don't slack off, and ask for help. At times college can be a little frustrating, life gets in the way, and you won't want to go to class, but trust me when I say it'll be worth it if you do. College isn't easy, but neither is life, and that's what it's supposed to prepare you for, isn't it? And make sure to talk to your Professors if you need help, they'll be more than happy to hear it, and willing to help.

    Bang for the buck

    Doane has all the help a student could ever ask for. Student advisers, free tutors, a writing center in order to get help on those pesky college papers (just kidding, of course.) and your professors are more then willing to help out too. Sure, it's expensive, but it's more than worth it for all the help a student is able to receive. At any other large university, you're just a number, but not at Doane. Your professors often know your name by the end of the first week of class. If any of those aren't worth the money for tuition, I don't know what is.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this college, it's only been a year, but I'll give it 5 stars across the board. The campus is beautiful, the faculty are amazing, and we've really got one heck of a track team. I really couldn't picture myself anywhere else, I feel at home, I enjoy my professors, and my coaches, what more could you ask for?

    Am learning a lot

    According to www.doane.edu/Athletics/ 134 students were named scholar athletes just this last year, and since Doane is a small school, I find that extremely impressive. What I can also tell you, is that I'm one of those 134 students, and honored to be. I've loved every minute at Doane, every class, and every track practice. In the 8 months I've spent at the school I can't tell you there's ever been a day that I haven't learned something whether it be in the class room, or on the track, at Doane there's always something to be discovered.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Doane is not a campus with the stereotypical greek life. The sororities and fraternities are not national groups, and therefore are specific to Doane, and do not exist at any other college or university. The groups are much smaller, and do not have the university feel to them. The dues are significantly cheaper, and there is a wide variety of groups on campus, even though there are only four sororities, and four fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are ample amounts of clubs, organizations, and honorary programs for students to get involved in at Doane. Many are within the majors offered at Doane, and some are completely random that have developed over the years. Doane offers a club fair day, and with the honorary organizations, often times they will email you, or put a letter in your mailbox inviting you to join them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a student that wants to know or know of most of your peers whether it is by being their friend, or just recognizing faces on a day to day basis, Doane is the school for you. It is not small enough for every single person on campus to know your business, but it is definitely not large enough for you to hardly recognize anyone you pass by during the day. If you don't mind taking a few classes in subjects you don't like, Doane is perfect for you. While everyone might not like science, or english might not be their favorite subject, most of the Doane plan classes that aren't in your field of study are actually pretty interesting, and make taking a class in a subject you hate, pretty enjoyable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doane's campus is beautiful, and some students dedicate their time to exploring it, and finding all of the hidden or secret spots. There are a few secret passageways to different locations on campus that if you weren't looking for them, you wouldn't see them.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of Doane's education improves every single year, and is already at an amazing level. The passion from the professors and advisors is contagious, and most students leave Doane looking back at a wonderful, purposeful, and well spent four years.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! It sounds so cheesy, but it is true. The more involved you are in student organizations, the more fun you have, and the more connections you make. Doane often offers dances on Saturday nights in Butler gym, there is the student activities council that brings in artists, singers, performers, and hosts talent shows, that are a lot of fun. Even if you sit out in the lounge of your dorm hall on any given night, you're guaranteed at least a laugh or two with other people you will run into.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is probably Doane's biggest downfall. When visiting the school, you see all the options and think that you'll never be dissatisfied, but the truth is - most people are. It's the average cafeteria food, with not many healthy options advertised or focused on. There is a coffee shop, but if you are ever interested in getting a drink in the evening, it is often not mixed or made well. Tiger, the fast food option, while open at more convenient hours for busy students, does not have much variety once you've eaten there for a couple weeks. The food is satisfactory, and gets you through the day, but not ideal.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms at Doane is one of the most fun experiences I have ever had. It is a perfect way to get to know people that you might not have classes with, and a great way to spend your weekends. Most of the dorms have classrooms and lounges where you can meet up with a couple classmates and study. There are also plenty of activities planned by the Residence Hall Association (run by students) if you are ever looking for something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Like with most schools, you get out of your classes what you put in. Doane professors do their best to really encourage participation and a respectful learning environment, and are extremely passionate about their subjects. However, if you just don't care, you probably won't get much out of the class, even though the opportunity is right there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to a school in Nebraska, but not feel like you are in Nebraska, Doane is the college for you. It is gorgeous, and feels so much like its own little world, without letting you forget about the real world, and making sure you get a job when you graduate (in four years!). So much of the Doane experience is socializing; don't drive home every weekend, or lock yourself in your dorm! One of the best parts about Doane is the relationships you build with your peers outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    A perfect fit for people who want to know a little bit about everything, and a whole lot about your major. A small, beautiful campus, it is the perfect college for the ultimate college experience. Doane is all about getting their students involved in many things, and the students absolutely love every minute of it.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security can be strict, but they are trying to keep everyone safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big here.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports. Doane Sac always tries getting something fun for students to do almost every movie. There are events that are put up, for example Casino Night. Also, Doane can get a night to have a free movie at the downtown movie theatre. You can go look at the art gallery in the library, if showing, the plays that theatre department puts on.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria, Tiger Inn, which is fast food and a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms have been renovated. All the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can a good college, try Doane. Small classes, Doane faculity tries their hardest for you to graduate.

    In three sentences

    The learning environment is wonderful. The classes are small enough to get one on one time with teachers. Most of the teachers try to make you and others better and try to help you succeed. Its a wonderful school!

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Doane has a nice Safety unit. They are mostly friendly and willing to help.

    Greek Life

    I can't provide an accurate description on Greek Life other than my comments on Greek Week above.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    Doane is great for everyone. If you're shy, Doane will get you out. If you're not...welcome. :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Greek Week: You'll have to experience that. It's entertaining and slightly scary, coming from someone who didn't join the Greek life. There are many cool places to go. Myth has it that some places are haunted. Many places to explore if you're bored.

    Bang for the buck

    Doane is expensive, but it gives great scholarships. The students were in an uproar about Doane raising the tuition price to compete with other colleges. It's worth the money, though. You get a great liberal arts education with some pretty decent financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Doane is a very active college. It has over 150 clubs/activities/sports/etc. It's actually hard to not find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    You have three choices. Tiger Inn (fast food), Common Grounds (coffee shop/cafe), and the cafeteria. The meal plan options are not as great, but they are said to be working on that.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. Doane does a good job with cleaning and making sure the students keep their dorms clean. All of the dorm halls are co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    There is pretty much a class for every interest. They don't have a lot of majors; however, they do have the ability to create your own major, and the faculty works really closely in that process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved instantly. Don't be the person who sits in his/her dorm all day and night. Be involved, but make sure you have a balance on your academics and life.

    In three sentences

    Doane is a very down to earth, liberal college that makes it a priority to get every student involved. The students and faculty at Doane want to know each other; they practically beg for your acquaintanceship. Doane is like a family away from your family, and you won't want to leave.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the art club is fun.

    What to do for fun

    i don't go out so i couldn't tell anyone what to do for fun.

    Dorm Life

    i personally do not like small rooms and like my own space. my floor is very loud the students are always up late.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not fall back on your work.

    In three sentences

    doane college is a beautiful college. the professors are down to earth and make the classes interesting. doane is one of the top colleges in the united states.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is always there when you need them and they are personable. They know you by name and ask you about yourself. They are even willing to walk with you if you feel that you are unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Doane greek life is not nationally affiliated but they do sponsor a lot of campus activities too. For example, they put on dances and parties. They are also very involved in other things around campus other than their own sorority or fraternity events.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs and activities on campus that no one would be able to count them all. Also students have the opportunity to make up their own club if they want to through student congress.

    Great for these types of students

    Proactive, athletic, critical thinking, and fun-loving.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think the coolest thing on our campus that we do is ring a bell called Merrill for special events on campus. Also the candle lighting ceremony for the freshman is a great community builder among the students.

    Bang for the buck

    I think being a part of the Doane community is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Stop Day! Doane sponsors a lot of student activities from concerts to ping pong tournaments. Relay for Life was fun and what made it even better was the fact that it all was for a good cause. Doane is great at promoting all kinds of fun around campus.

    Food and Dining

    This is where I feel Doane could improve. I like the to go lunch that they offer but otherwise there aren't many healthy alternatives for students in the food department.

    Dorm Life

    There are great faculty that are always willing to help you out with your living situation. Some of the dorms need extensive repair though.

    Academic Rigor

    I do feel like Doane has a variety of subjects that one could study but Doane is also primarily an education based campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved around campus. Take advantage of the free opportunities that Doane has to offer. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Doane is a place where I feel I can expand my horizons both in the classroom and out. It has a beautiful campus and a great learning environment. Doane promotes a very helpful learning environment for me.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good safety staff

    Greek Life

    Have their own charters and so Greek life is pretty close knit and flexible

    Great for these types of students

    Leadership oriented

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities available every weekend, a great party scene, and lots of nature areas around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in right away. So many opportunities are available to you immediately and you should attach yourself to groups as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    Doane College provides an incredible atmosphere for students who want to obtain leadership positions and truly learn. You will be able to take on leadership positions your first two years and will never be taught by a grad student. If you like to work hard you will succeed.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24/7 safety on campus, which are available by phone who take care of the parking, parties, and general safety. The doors on campus are electronically locked with card-key access. The doors on the dorms are only available to those that live there and the academic buildings lock after 8pm.

    Greek Life

    None of the Greek groups on campus are nationally recognized, so they are more local. There are no Greek houses and the groups rush in the Spring, so everyone can have longer to decide if the Greek life is right for them and which group. There are four female groups and five male groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of groups on campus from religious groups to academic groups to theater and activist groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doane College has a day called Stop Day in April where classes are stopped for a day and there are campus-based activities such as canoe races and sport games. We have two ponds with swans with bridges over each.

    What to do for fun

    The school usually has concerts, movies, and lecturers to speak to us throughout the year, as well as game nights once a month. The Greek Life usually holds dances every other week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is rarely balanced and often sits too long to be fresh and the food usually is chicken or pork. Steak is offered once a month, but it is tough and rare. The meal plans are expensive and rarely worth it, but the coffee shop is a good option.

    Dorm Life

    The halls are filling up quickly with new incoming freshman, so don't expect to have a private room. Most of the halls are decent to live in, but the furnishing are sub-par and most of the public areas that were built into the buildings are being turned into dormrooms. The ResLife is sporatic in their availability, but it has not been difficult to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to have high expectations from the teachers. They will not tolerate students who sit in the back saying nothing or poor attendance, as well as students who do not finish their work. Expect to have five or more projects due at one time and have the average class load of seven or more classes at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students should make sure that they know how they will pay for their college education before they enter Doane, as it is pricey and much of it falls to the responsibility of the students. Prospective students should also know that professors expect excellent attendance and will not tolerate students missing class often.

    In three sentences

    Doane is ideal for anyone looking for a small, intimate college with an excellent academic program. It ranks high in student participation, grades, and professor involvement. Overall, Doane College is a great college for anyone looking for education, science, or music majors.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs at Doane are very interactive and full of activities to keep students busy through the school year

    Great for these types of students

    Willing students who want to better their education and care about what they want to do with their future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stop Day. All you need to know is it will be one of the greatest days of your life

    Bang for the buck

    Doane to me is worth every penny I pay for it.

    What to do for fun

    All though Doane is located in a small community, there is big city life only a 20 minute drive away. Often times the big city isn't necessary as there are plenty of activities to take up your time at the college

    Food and Dining

    The unfortunate drawback to Doane is the poor quality of food in the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is excellent, everyone is very welcoming to new people and it is very easy to find new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Doane has many classes that challenge even the brightest of students and some classes can be very rigorous for most students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small liberal arts college that will help you flourish as a student and as a person Doane is the place for you. With every knew year I learn more about myself and how I can achieve my goals with Doane.

    In three sentences

    Doane College has exceeded expectations by far. The community at Doane is impeccable, everyone is very friendly and wants to get to know you as a person. Professors here actually care about the success of the students and don't consider them just another nameless face.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a Safety Administrator on duty and making rounds, and they have the training to handle certain situations, and if they are unable to handle a situation, Crete PD is just a phone call away.

    Greek Life

    There are five fraternities and four sororities, all of which are local chapters that rush in the spring. The advantage of rushing in the spring is that you have time to think about whether or not you may want to rush. Each group has its own personality, and each one is diverse, so it won't be hard to find a group that you will fit into.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for many different students, and there are intramural sports for those who want to play.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who learn better in a more personal environment, this is the place to be. The teachers can work with you personally to make sure you pass.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stop day occurs a day in the spring semester, where there are many campus activities, such as a softball tournament, a talent show, a row boat competition, and a few more.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a tad pricey, but the amount of scholarships given is fantastic. The small classes and education is well worth the price you end up paying, which can be cheaper than many state schools.

    What to do for fun

    In the Perry Campus Center, there's a ping pong table and a pool table to play between classes, otherwise there are a lot of clubs you can join for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't very good, but we have Tiger Inn, which is a grill downstairs, and Common Grounds, a coffee shop. Tiger Inn and Common Grounds are better for quick and easy meals, and are sometimes better for a meal in general.

    Dorm Life

    There are a couple of newly renovated dorms, and they look very nice. The rooms are a good size, and there are many common areas to hang out in.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major or course load, the classes can be quite difficult, but with a tutor or one on one meetings with your teacher, everything is doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, and don't slack off. Each course is challenging, but there's always someone or someway to help you.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The professors are really there to help you. In such a small community, it's great knowing everyone.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports games are the biggest thing on campus. Almost everyone shows up supporting the Tigers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Doane offers a lot for a lot of people so get involved and have fun.

    In three sentences

    I love Doane. The staff are so helpful with anything you need to do and the professors really care about your education. Doane is filled with opportunities and people who are willing to help you as much as they can.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel really secure on camps.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is fine. Some people take it really seriously and only associate with their brothers or sisters, but most people are really relaxed about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Doane has a large number of clubs and activities, all of which are great. Just don't do too many of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who come from small town or simply don't want to be in a big city. I am both and Doane is perfect for me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In front of the Conservatory (where theatre takes place), there is a circle of bricks that is designed to project any noise.

    Bang for the buck

    Doane is pretty expensive, but if you're looking for an excellent small school, this is it.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, Crete is a smaller town and there's not much to do. If you have a car, driving to Lincoln is recommended. Between a 30 and 40 minute drive, depending where you want to go.

    Food and Dining

    There's not a whole lot of healthy options at Doane.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend ALL freshman orientations. They are required and they're useful.

    In three sentences

    Doane College is a fantastic college. The professors and faculty truly care about your experience here. You're well looked-after at Doane.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Stop Day! Celebration when all classes are cancelled for the day. We play games, races and have fun! This year Stop Day is focused on community service.

    What to do for fun

    Many things happen on campus but if that doesn't satisfy you we are close to Lincoln.

    Food and Dining

    They have hot meals so I can't complain, but nothing can beat a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    Is Awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    All of my major classes have pushed and challenged me academically. The Doane plan classes are generally easier because most of them are are an introductory into a new field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being that it's a liberal arts college, Doane wants to offer you a well rounded eduction. So be ready to embrace diversity.

    In three sentences

    Doane has presented me with opportunities for growth in all areas of my life. I feel I have grown the most through my leadership involvement on campus.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Being apart of a Greek group I can speak first hand and say that they are awesome. We do not have national fraternities or sororities like the big colleges do since we are a small private liberal arts college. That doesn't take away from the fact that we have a strong Greek system. The five fraternities on campus are Alpha Pi Epsilon, Alpha Omega, Delta Kappa Pi, Sigma Phi Theta, and Tau Sigma Zeta. The sororities on campus are Chi Delta, Gamma Phi Iota, Phi Sigma Tau, and Omega Psi Theta. The Greek groups are very active in the community with service projects being preformed, to their involvement on campus. They preform skits and provide entertainment during homecoming week as well as hosting dances in Butler Gym. With a wide variety of groups you can find the one that best fits you. With life long bonds and memories joining a Greek group is something you won't regret.

    Clubs and Activities

    College is a place where you are supposed to learn about yourself and to meet others who may or may not share the same ideas as yourself. One thing is sure though that Doane College is a great place for that. Diversity is a large thing on campus with people from all walks of life. You have foreign exchange students, out of staters, and hometown heros and with such a wide variety of people we have a group just for you. Whether your into sports or the arts, religious or non-religious, or a part of the LGBT community we have a group of organization fit for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    From the bell tower that stands on the place where the first building on campus burned, to the haunted rooms of Gaylord Hall, Doane has many interesting places and things to see. You can stand in the middle of the circle at the theater and clap and hear an echo bounce back to you. Take your chances and stare at the beautiful lake, but beware of the temperamental swans. There are these and many more things you will learn if you visit Doane.

    What to do for fun

    Doane is located in Crete, Nebraska. On campus you have options of the common area where you can play pool or pingpong, which is a very popular thing to do while waiting for your food from Tiger Inn. The Student Programming Board is a group of students that sets up activities such as live bands, games like a campus wide scavenger hunt, and movie nights in the open air Cassel Theater. If you want to get of campus and do stuff you can drive approximately 25 minutes to get to the state capital Lincoln. Here you have malls, movies, restaurants. Many places to go, see, and do to keep entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Being a smaller school we do not have fast food chains represented on campus, though you have the option if you walk downtown. The options on campus are Common Grounds, which is our coffee shop where you can by pastries, smoothies, and of course coffee. Then we have Tiger Inn, which is a little fast food restaurant if your in a hurry and on the go. Your food options are the basic burgers and chicken strips but you also have days where you can choose mini corn dogs, mini tacos, buffalo chicken nuggets, and nachos. Of course, you have the main option of The Caf or cafeteria. Here you can get the healthy option of Simply to Go, which offers a variety of sandwiches, fruits and yogurts, and salads. You can also go through the buffet style lunch line and get as much or as little as you would like.

    Dorm Life

    You have many options to choose from for living at Doane. We have three main dorms Frees Hall, Sheldon Hall, and Smith Hall. These three halls have been renovated within the past few years so you have a fresh clean place to live in. You also have Hanson Hall which is home to the Directions Leadership program, where you live with those that are in the program with you. Lastly, for the upper class you have the Quads which are Colonial and Burrage. This form of housing is good if you want to live with more than one other person, because at the quads you have eight roommates instead of one.

    Academic Rigor

    Your classes are meant to challenge you. With Doane that is no exception. We have a well known education program and amazing music and art programs. That success doesn't come without a cost. In order to succeed in these and many other programs you need to fully invest yourself and dive into the curriculum here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have a couple tips to all of you getting ready to start the next stage of your life. Listen. Listen to everything everyone is telling you. Coming to college many people told me what to expect and, but I shrugged off some of the things being said to me and I really wish I hadn't. Tip number two,when your lost you can always find help. From the financial wisdom of the staff in the Financial Aid Office to the Career Development Office located in our Student Leadership Office, you will have no problem finding help in whatever area you need. Whether it's academic, physical, or emotional help your looking for Doane College's staff is here for you. Lastly, create new habits that will help you become successful for the road ahead. A habit that drastically needed changing was my work ethic. I procrastinated too much in high school which made life in college very hard. Lucky for me the professors here really want you to succeed so the work with you in the class room and through designated meetings. We also have a great tutoring system here on campus. The tutors are students who have been recommended by their professors as knowledgeable, so you know your getting the best help possible.

    In three sentences

    To sum up Doane College in three sentences, you only need one word: Community. It is pretty obvious when you visit Doane, that the small student population gives you a sense of home that larger universities can't offer you. From the beautiful campus scenery, the small class sizes, and great people I met on my tour that Doane was the right choice for someone coming from out of state like myself.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The entire campus had an open and very safe feeling about it. Though I can't imagine why anyone wouldn't feel safe, they do offer security guards to accompany students to and from there classes to make them feel safer.

    Food and Dining

    The food was absolutely amazing. Not only did it taste wonderful, but there was a large variety and it was very affordable.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part, Doane has traditional dorm rooms. While they were beautiful and comfortable, this was really a downside for me because I prefer apartment style dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I heard from other students, the class load seems to vary based on major; however, the professors are very understanding and there are multiple ways to attain help with classes and time management.

    In three sentences

    Doane was very open and inviting. The campus is absolutely beautiful. The People were very polite and the staff were extremely friendly.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Doane is all for keeping their students safe, and out of harms way.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of Doane, the sororities and Frats put on many activities for students such as dances and other things.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities and clubs to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Doane is great for any type of student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The earning your stripes for freshman is and interesting bunch of traditions that are great for making new students not feel uncomfortable and getting the students comfortable with interacting with one another.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is expensive, but offers many financial support opportunities, and the education is beyond great.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends, and go workout.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time. Don't party too much. Be a part of as many school activities as you can.

    In three sentences

    Doane is a great school. There are many options for fields of study. The teaching staff is absolutely amazing.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you always can reach or you see campus police.

    Greek Life

    very respectful they do not harass you to join if you are not interested, there is no hazing allowed .

    Clubs and Activities

    Im in Track & Field and have done the music side also loved them both . We also have great theater also. We even have a Horse club.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students there is something for everyone !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The swans in the pond and the pond it self .

    Bang for the buck

    I have a learning issue and they have got me a lot of help and Sherri is great and the nice thing about it is they do not hold it against you or single you out if you are different which I hated in high school.I really appropriate this factor at this collage.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has something going on if you want to look.Many different things to do every day.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food choices -get tired of eating at one place so they have several places to get food.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life, people are respectful of you as a person and the RA's are great . Rooms are neet and repair if needed is done right away -very clean place.

    Academic Rigor

    They are really good at helping you and the classes are small enough that you can get individual help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see the Campus and Meet the Professor in the subject you are interested in. Talk to the students that go here to get a fill of the whole collage and different prospective.

    In three sentences

    Great Professors, Staff that helps you when you need it , beautiful campus , great housing and they try and help you out financial as much as they can.