Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dominican College of Blauvelt Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people that like being able to get to know their teachers and get involve or keep to them-self

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early and send in all your paperwork and complete FAFSA as soon as possible

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who stay involved

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to join. theres always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    study every night for your classes. stay involved so u won't get bored.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are there when you need them. the lrc tutoring sessions are helpful. the campus is small.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security was always there when needed and with all the safety rules, students feel safe and secured all the time.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There many clubs and student activities that students can join and be involved in such as The Latin Dance team, Dominican College Step team and Basketball club team.

    Great for these types of students

    Dominican is great for students who want to learn in a small atmosphere

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of on campus activities such as sporting events, school parties, trivia games, and movie nights.

    Food and Dining

    Food was good

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was enjoyable

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a huge to Dominican if professors see students struggling, there is extra help and learning centers provided to help encourage the student to perform better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is the most important aspect to passing college courses, and also plan your time management it'll make situations more easier.

    In three sentences

    Dominican College is a nice small private school where professors care and want to see students do well. Dominican College has many majors to decide from to help guide students to their future. At Dominican College you build a relationship and become close to others such as students and profesors.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities. You can create your own if it's not offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who would rather a small school setting.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is too high for what's offered.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities hosts many events.

    Food and Dining

    the food hall has a variety of different types of food. The food is pretty good too.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life gives you the full college experience. Allows you to connect with more people, and conduct study groups more easily.

    Academic Rigor

    fair-difficult

    In three sentences

    Small classes are great. Professors are great. Business office is stressful to deal with.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no sororities here -_-

    Clubs and Activities

    not organized

    Bang for the buck

    too expensive

    What to do for fun

    nothing really besides going to sports game.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good but makes a lot of people constipated

    Dorm Life

    Rooms are decent sized

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont go here if you intend to party, Dont expect it to be super fun, and get use to seeing the same people.

    In three sentences

    Dominican college is very expensive small private college and far from a party school. The weekends are depressing because everyone goes home. Besides that some teacher are really good and get to know their students.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a team. There are alot of events on campus such as Fire in the Sky festival, parties, and trips to six flags.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, a little expensive though

    Dorm Life

    Not bad, must have a car on campus for the suburban areas. The Resident Assistants provide plenty of fun activities that will have you on campus on weekends rather than going home

    Academic Rigor

    Moderate but some majors and studies are tougher than others. Make sure you focus on your studies overall

    Tips for prospective students

    Dominican is full of opportunities and helps you excel. The teachers are hands on and know you by name outside of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    A community worth being a part of. Great campus and wide range of diversity. Where you build lifelong relationships.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    you can make your own clubs at any time.

    Great for these types of students

    for the students that are the type to study all day there are study groups and study halls always open

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on campus one of the funnest events is the slip and slide behind rosary hall. its an event thats unusual because it is in the middle of cold weather but to the students its the funnest thing to take our mind of studies for just a quick second.

    What to do for fun

    there's always something on campus to do. if you feel like theres not something that you enjoy on campus than you can make it.

    Food and Dining

    the variety of things you have in the cafeteria is amazing. like i said dominican is like a family you can walk into the cafeteria and the cooks know you by name and what you want.

    Dorm Life

    i love the dorm life. if your in a single your whole hall way can relate to you,and if you have a roommate you can relate to your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    its not to hard but not to easy. its only hard if you dont look for help

    Tips for prospective students

    my tip for students is go to your professors and you will be successful, and get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Domnican college is more than just a school its a second home. at dominican your not just a number your more like a name who all staff want to see succeed. at dominican you will feel welcome the first day you step foot on campus as a freshmen

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always a security gaurd in sight.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is something for everyone at dominican.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who like small class environments and who want to do more then just go to school and get it done.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs you can join and there is always something going on at dominican. From volunteer work to free dance or excerise classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus becuase I can not afford it but i envy my friend that does. They have so many activities and when she roams the halls, she knows everyone by name not just by that girl that is in my english class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are transerferring make sure you have all the paperwork you need to make the process easier for you and the advisors. Do your research so that you choose a school that will give you what you need to accomplish your career goals.

    In three sentences

    Dominican College is was like a breath of fresh air for me. Transferred from a a community college and they took most of my credits. Classes are very small, allowing you to get the best out of your learning experience.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are not allowed on the dorm floors - so good luck with that and them helping.

    Great for these types of students

    pot heads

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tradition is to not acknowledge hazing

    What to do for fun

    Nothing - except drink and smoke pot. There is no football team, the biggest sport on campus is hazing and for most activities you learn about it the day of by e-mail.

    Food and Dining

    small dining hall not much choice. They try to make you something good with what they have. Not like Cortland and Syracuse or a big school

    Dorm Life

    kegs in the dorm and the vents are rigged so the pot smoke goes through the vents

    Academic Rigor

    Depends, if you are a big shot on campus you are golden

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not apply here, this is the worst, even when they finally find that students have been mistreated by other students, nothing happens. You are left with feeling like you have been violated and the school brushes everything under the rug. Even when you have pictures and proof. Do not put yourself in this kind of situation. Run to another school even if you have to take out loans. Dominican is not worth the problems.

    In three sentences

    Worst college ever

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Latin Dance Team

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend events.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm yet but I heard it's the best experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and have fun enjoy your college years and make many new friends.

    In three sentences

    Dominican college is on of the best colleges. I love all the people from here and making new friends is easy. They have one of the best nursing programs and I love this school.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Unless your paying less than 4 grand a semester , its not worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing, you know everyone by like the first week. It just like high school but worse.

    Food and Dining

    makes you very gassy & you get tired of it within a month.. AT MOST

    Dorm Life

    BORING making it easier to do nothing.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers, extremely sweet & willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply somewhere else, but i guess its an easy start.

    In three sentences

    I wish I could redo my senior year because I was brainwashed into coming here. The athletic, academic scholarship sugar coated the huge mess I was putting myself into. T trust me if you exceed the qualifications for admissions, find another school.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive for such easy work. Not worth it at all. Some buildings are so old and clearly no funding goes to them at all...except for the new science building for health sciences majors. 1/4 buildings on campus are actually decent.

    What to do for fun

    Not much besides joining clubs and going on school trips. Students here rarely ever participate in activities and school sponsored trips. This campus is d-e-a-d.

    Food and Dining

    The food was probably the only reason I thought against transferring from this school. It does get repetitive sometimes, but I really liked it.

    Dorm Life

    Worst experience ever. The rooms and really nice and are a decent size but there are many problems. #1 - Heat in the winter SUCKS. 99% of the time all winter my roommate and I froze for months. I would touch the heaters and they wouldn't even be on. #2- Unless you bring at least 2 fans with you in the beginning of the year prepare to sweat all day and night because the temperatures indoors will be soooo high. #3- Freshman halls are extremely loud. From your hallmates slamming doors all day and night (including during QUIET HOURS), to inexperienced freshmen running through the halls screaming and yelling, and people having contests to see who can blast their music the loudest. I found living in the dorms the worst mistake I've made thus far. I wouldn't recommend dorming here if you like to sleep at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are really easy. My freshman year I skipped classes every week because it was so easy and still eneded up passing with a B+ and above in every single class. Professors are pressured to give easy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    None really. This school lets anyone in literally. I met people accepted here who were way below college level and taking all developmental classes. With a majority of freshmen students in this position, it's clear this school cares mostly about $$$.

    In three sentences

    This is a small liberal arts school. The student body is way too small. Come here if you want to see the same faces everyday.