Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dominican University of California Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dominican would benefit students who really enjoy learning but also crave the help from instructors. Dominican will cater to your every need, if you are willing to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to balance your priorities: at a small school it's easy to get caught up in drama and rumors, but remember you're in college and education is the goal. Take advantage of your teacher's willingness to assist, because the small individual attention is what you're paying for. Have fun meeting new people and getting to know the city, but also keep in mind Dominican takes education seriously.

    Bang for the buck

    I love Dominican (I will be an incoming sophomore), and I find that with the combination of merit-based scholarships Dominican offers, private scholarships, and let's not forget...loans, Dominican is doable. The social life is there, but more importantly the small classes, knowledgeable counselors, and helpful career counseling department are all reasons to give Dominican a try.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dominican has a gorgeous campus, with lush grass and tall green trees with beautiful weather (even when it's winter and raining). Dominican is about a fifteen minute bus ride to the mall and a ten minute walk from a bustling downtown area complete with small independent movie theatres, to little boutiques, to mainstream shoe shops. The social life is a bit strange. From the exterior, Dominican seems extremely friendly and inviting, but what I have noticed so far is a lack of the college cohesiveness I had expected. Dominican is similar to a high school because of how small it is. The students are VERY tight knit and stick to their own group of friends instead of the social freeness I would've expected from a college campus. The students are cordial with each other and are extroverted, but in an almost superficial way.

    Am learning a lot

    At Dominican, class sizes are, at most, twenty students per teacher; however, if you plan to major in nursing (a competitive major), be sure to expect classes of at least fifty students. All the teachers I have encountered have been easy to get along with, understanding, kind, and helpful; they are the best teachers I have ever had because they cater to the student's needs instead of their own agendas. They are sure to stay after class, come early to class, and follow office hours if students need extra attention; some of my favorite teachers even offer one-on-one tutoring. They try to stay very involved in their student's education.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for the type of students that enjoy a slower paced environment or students that need to truly focus on school such as myself. I know that if i was placed in a large school with plenty of partying and everything i would be completely distracted from my studies so Dominican is the perfect fit for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing that needs to be watched out for in Dominican is the fact that it is indeed a small school which means that it is easy to get caught up in rumors and high school drama but it is also easy to extricate yourself from all of those situations. The benefit of going to a small school is that you are actually a person to everyone rather than just a number or a student ID. Everyone is pretty close and its a real community.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is rather pricey however every penny is worth it. Dominican promises graduation in 4 years and any longer that it takes they will pay the remainder of the tuition. I think that's a great deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dominican is a very pleasant, peaceful place to be. There is an abundant amount of nature on campus and benches to sit and relax for quite study or for clearing of the mind. You can walk up to anyone and share a smile and you wont be looked at like a criminal. Everything is peaceful in Dominican.

    Am learning a lot

    Dominican isn't the average large college that makes it easy to get lost in. It is very small and the class sizes are much like a high school classroom ranging from 20-30 students. The teachers here educate exceptionally well. They relate to their students and make it their number one priority to make sure the students understand the material at hand. There is also plenty of other educational resources if a student needs a little extra help. I have first hand experience because I needed help myself and with all the assistance Dominican provides, I passed my classes with flying colors and no sweat.

  • 12/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1) If you want a small class 2) If you want one-on-one help from your instructor 3) Likes to meet other people quickly 4) Likes to attend different school events 5) Get involved with campus ministry AND there are many different activities to do in this area such as: 1) traveling to one of the most beautiful city, San Francisco 2) shop at Northgate Mall 2 exits away from Dominican University. 3) explore downtown San Rafael. (Try Sol Food's Bistec's Sandwich. It's delicious! ) 4) Go on a hike to see the sunrise or sunset. And much more...

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a small university that focuses more on your educator and your ability to graduate within 4 years, then this university is the best place for you. It'll take more than 4 years to obtain your bachelor's degree at a public college, but at this private university, the classes are small and the instructors actually care about your education.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is quite expensive but it is very likely that you will receive some sort of financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at this school. The university is small and it gives me the chance to meet other people. Since I live on campus, it's easier for me to get to my classes, meet with my instructors one-on-one, and attend school events.

    Am learning a lot

    I was admitted into the nursing program here at Dominican University. The class are very difficult but the instructors here are very flexible. Their attention is focused on the students. If a student can not meet with the instructor during their office hours, the instructor will likely meet with the student at the students needs. The instructors offer lots of help that will help a student to become successful in the class. I just finished my first semester, thanks to the help of my instructors.

  • 07/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for new students, Get to know as many people as you can so that you will know students in different study areas and they will be able to help you when it comes to homework and other things.

    Bang for the buck

    Dominican is Pricey but you get a GREAT education for your money the experience is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dominican Is a very relaxing and peaceful environment. The people are really nice and everything is within a good distance so you get exercise without thinking so much about it. The students here are very close nit and you will always find a friend to hang out with during the weekends so you'll always have something to do and you'll never get bored.

    Am learning a lot

    Dominican is a School where you can learn from being interactive in class and getting used to the material very easily. The teachers are always open to help you every step of the way and give one on one extra help that may be needed.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools and prefer one-on-one attention from teachers. Who don't mind teachers calling you if you are absent to class. Should visit the campus it is beautiful. The people are very kind and welcoming. I love it!

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does their job well.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not currently apart of a club but during club fair it seems like there are a lot of people passionate and interested in the club they are apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who are used to small schools, enjoy a green campus, and want personal relationships with their classmates and professors.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is great academically and all, but I'm not sure exactly where all of my money is going. Maybe they are spending too much on something that's not necessary...?

    What to do for fun

    There are things to do for fun, we just have to look for them. Making our own fun has been most successful because sitting back and waiting for something fun to happen gets old very quickly.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great compared to what I've seen at other schools. We don't only get better meals but more variety. The food is also all organic which makes me feel better about what I'm eating.

    Dorm Life

    Getting to know people in the dorms was a very needed experience. After staying in the same town/city for more than ten years, it is definitely time to meet new people and explore new places. Moving to the dorms at Dominican was great because there are three people to a room, plus the other three people we share a bathroom with. Getting to know people on that personal of a level is great--it feels like we're living in a crazy humungous house full of people our age!

    Academic Rigor

    It is expected that we are there to learn and prepare ourselves for the next step in our lives. There is no longer room to play around as if we are in high school. However, if we are struggling the teachers are always more than willing to help us.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would consider the fact that it is a small school, you may get tired of seeing the same faces everyday. However, they will help you get a job right out of school which you can't count on at many schools today.

    In three sentences

    Dominican has a very helpful and caring staff that go out of their way to help us get through college. I can tell they actually care about where we go after college and do a good job in preparing us for the real world. Not to mention the campus is beautiful and the atmosphere is very mature but fun at the same time.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There was an incident about a month ago where a man was threatening girls with a knife off campus. Otherwise, just lock up your bikes and you'll be good. Security guards are always walking around late.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most clubs don't actually do anything. the filipino club meets frequently but that's pretty much it.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Biology, Dance. Maybe Psychology. If you liked high school, you'll like it here.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very very expensive, but they do offer financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown offers some stuff, but San Rafael is very small. San Francisco is a short drive away, but as a freshman you will not be allowed a car. Be prepared to walk everywhere, or bike uphill, and ride the bus if you want to go to SF.

    Food and Dining

    Food is mostly terrible but will be decent occasionally. They will trick you with catering at orientation and tours! Also the hours are terribly inconvenient and closed for lunch on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Very much like high school, except worse: you live with them. You share a bathroom with 4-5 other people if you're in Pennafort, and it's a communal bathroom if you're in Fanjeaux. Be prepared for a tiny room if you decide to unbunk your beds.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman you will take Big History: From the big bang to the present. It is not a challenging class at all, and in my opinion is a waste of time and credits. The rest of your classes will be more or less challenging depending on your major. From my experience, and many of others I know, classes here are not hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this school if you are studying Nursing, Biology, or Dance. I'm not saying that this school sucks for everything else, but the majority of students here are studying those 3 majors, and if you are studying something else, it will be slightly harder to find friends (if you don't find them within the first couple of weeks.)

    In three sentences

    This place is very much like high school with its students but also the environment; I am transferring and will not return for Spring because of this and also its cost. If you're looking for the classic college experience, you will not find it here. On the bright side, this school is very pretty and offers a lot of financial aid.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has 24 hour security and has a close relationship with the local police dept. I feel very safe but common sense still applies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has Midnight madness wear all the athletic teams perform dance routines for the student body very fun and funny

    What to do for fun

    The school is small so activities are some what limited however San Fransico is only 20 minutes away providing big city adventures. We also have several sports teams which participate in NCAA Div II athletics which play through out the school year.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning facility are clean and nice. The food is good and menu's change with regularity to keep you from getting bored with the same taste. The dining hall in centrally located so it easy to get to and chilly's is open for quick snacks

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great but takes time to get use to. The school is small so you get an opportunity meet all the new freshman as we all live in the same dorm. The room are nice size vs some of the dorm at other colleges I visited. All in all a nice experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is challenging however with the small instructor to student ratio it is easy to get individual help. The school also has a very supportive tutor program available as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved early with the activities the school provides especially midnight mayhem. Early on you may feel home sick but the school has many programs available to assist if needed. Enjoy yourself get involved.

    In three sentences

    Dominican university provides a quality education by having small classes and very knowledgable professors who care about the success of each student. The student throughout campus go out of their way to make all new students feel welcome and at ease.

  • 12/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Yes it's great for any type of students. Just work hard and keep applying for scholarships. Do not take them for granted!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as much scholarships before you go to college and during because it will take a load off of worrying about your grades than financial aid. If you plan to go to Dominican, focus on your studies because there will always be parties. The first semester will show you if you want to continue your major, so by the next semester you will need to think fast about other interest you have otherwise you will be known as another freshman than a sophomore.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive to attend this college due to it being a private university. But for the most part it is worth paying for because of the amount of experience and material given isn't what you would get the first year at any other university.

    Am enjoying being here

    My college experience is there, even though it's known to not have a lot of students than a UC. But the college experience seems no different than any other college. There are things to do at school and outside of school. It's the matter of you wanting to make thee best out of college.

    Am learning a lot

    The challenge at Dominican University is very clear. It is very different from high school and is a wake up call to expose you to the major you want to look more into. My experience as a Biology major at Dominican has exposed me to a lot of material whether its lecture, lab or seminar.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always available if you want an escort to your car.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent.

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    What to do for fun

    The campus is right in the middle of a residential neighborhood so there isn't much to do there but it is a short walk to the downtown area. Thursday nights there is an awesome farmers market with all kinds of good food and entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome (most days)! They use a lot of organic ingredients and there are is a lot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but from what I've heard they are nice enough.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors make classes challenging, but you have to keep in mind that they're doing it to help you. As long as you put the work in and do your best, you'll pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you live on campus at least one year, it is a great way to make new friends! Also, get to know the professors because they have connections that will help you further your prospective career and land you a job eventually.

    In three sentences

    Going to Dominican University was the best choice I've ever made, the professors provide you with one on one attention and truly care about you as an individual. On top of that, the campus is beautiful and it is easy to be inspired while there. It does cost a lot, but the tuition is totally worth it!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. If ever a dangerous situation arises you will be notifies almost immediately. There are RA's in each side of every hallway to keep an eye on you as well and help whenever necessary. Security patrols campus day and night, and an ID card is required to enter the dorm buildings keeping out those who do not belong.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Dominican.

    Clubs and Activities

    While there are numerous clubs at Dominican, you are always welcome to create your own. The process is pretty easy, so if there's a club that you'd like to have that isn't offered it can easily be started. The ASDU (Associated Students of Dominican University) are always putting on events or socials for the students to participate in on weeknights as well as weekends.

    Great for these types of students

    For me Dominican is good because I still get face time with my professors. It keeps me on my game and working hard in my classes so I don't fall behind. Besides the free tutoring help I can always meet up with my teachers if I'm ever in need of assistance. Dominican is also a great place for outgoing and spirited students who are looking to have fun. If you put yourself out there you'll see you can make great friends and have some amazing times.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are quite a few traditions at Dominican that you'll have to wait to find out. There is also an interesting ghost story about the Meadowlands residence hall that students make sure to keep alive each year at Halloween.

    Bang for the buck

    Paying for Dominican may seem overwhelming, but one thing about this private school is that it prides itself in its students. The financial aid support is amazing and will greatly reduce the cost of this school especially if you have a good high school GPA or a sports scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    Dominican is located in a prime spot of Marin. San Rafael is only about a half hour drive to the crazy city of San Francisco. A short drive out to Stinson beach, and the school is only a few miles away from the ferry building that can take you to Angel Island or wherever else you're traveling in the bay. Downtown San Rafael is also full of great spots to eat and lots of shopping options from goodwill and thrift stores to the mall and smaller village boutiques.

    Food and Dining

    The Caleruega Dining hall will quickly become quite familiar to you. Although it did become a tad repetitive and we commonly complained about the food options it was pretty good as far as cafeteria dining goes. The food is healthy and there are always options for vegetarian and vegan eating styles. Brunch and lunch are by far the best meals at the dining hall. There are tons of different options that are always changing.

    Dorm Life

    For my freshman year at Dominican I lived in the Pennafort dorms and I loved it. The hallway style housing lets you meet tons of people and keeps you all in touch with one another so you can get to know your fellow classmates. The rooms themselves are easy to arrange and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses here may be challenging, but the smaller class size allows personal one-on-one time with your professors both in class and during their office hours. Many will also make appointments to meet you when it's convenient for you and your busy schedule as well. At Dominican you won't be just another number in the crowd. You will get to know you're professors and fellow students which is highly valued.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know from personal experience that staying on top of school work can be hard, and yes the smaller school size means the teachers pay a bit more attention to you than at larger Universities. In the end, however, this will benefit you and the career you choose to go into. At Dominican you

    In three sentences

    At Dominican University you're a family. Although the school is small you will meet tons of new people and make great friends. You will make your own family there and have the chance to create some great memories and experience countless new things.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DU's campus is incredibly safe. If at any point someone does not feel safe, just call security and they will be there practically instantaneously. During my whole time at DU, I never heard of any criminal activities.

    Greek Life

    DU does not have a Greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not that many sports teams at DU, but there are quite a few clubs to join. If there is not an existing club you are interested in, it is easy to begin your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    DU is great for students wanting to attend a small school and that take pride in their academics. I played multiple sports for DU and the nickname for our students from our opponents were the brainiacs, which we were completely fine with :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition I have heard of at DU was painting the dog statue outside of one of the dorm buildings. Since I did not live in the dorms I only heard about this. It was thought of as a yearly prank--but the painting of the dog was encouraged.

    Bang for the buck

    Although DU is quite expensive, my education there was completely worth it. I still remember information from classes I took three years ago, which is pretty rare. The professors were incredible and always open to talk if you needed advice. I was very happy with my experience there.

    What to do for fun

    San Rafael is a fairly small city, but close to many larger cities. A lot of times students would go hang out in San Francisco for the day or go to San Jose for the weekend. A regular class week for students is Monday-Thursday, so there are also plenty of house parties to attend on Thursday and Friday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall was great in my opinion. There were many choices at each of the meals and there was food for everyone--there were plenty of vegan/vegetarian choices and even gluten-free choices. Much of the food was organic and locally grown I believe.

    Dorm Life

    I did not have the privilege of staying in the dorms at DU, but they are very college traditional. All of the underclassman dorms are all one-room units with shared bathrooms. The rooms are small, but you get to meet so many people and make many new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    In the science department (where I usually was), the classes do not seem that difficult, but that could be because the professors teach the material in ways that it is easy to understand. I held a 3.9 GPA at DU.

    Tips for prospective students

    DU athletics may not be top-notch, but the student body supports them like they are the best teams around. If you are looking into playing sports at DU, I would highly consider it. As for an academic tip--DU is known for its science degrees and nursing degrees. I was a biology major. The professors are incredibly knowledgeable and are genuinely passionate about the subjects they teach. Also, the DU professors and staff know how to prepare you for graduate school--I will be attending Chiropractic school soon and many of my friends chose nursing school or medical schools.

    In three sentences

    DU is a wonderful college with a supportive high school feel. The campus is small and absolutely gorgeous. DU is a perfect school for students wanting one-on-one time with professors as well as students wanting to be known in their school.

  • 06/04/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who value their education, and want one on one help from their teachers. If you don't mind knowing pretty much everyone that attends the school, you'll be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount you have to pay for the school, the education should be amazing. So far I'm pretty optimistic that I wont regret attending this school.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful. And the people are nice and friendly. It's a great atmosphere!

    Will learn a lot

    Just by talking to the professors and administration over the phone, they have already began to help me in so many ways. They already want the best for me, while they have only seen me once.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When applying be involved and show that you care don't be shy. Showing interest is a big deal since it is a small enough school that people will notice if you don't care.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's quite expensive, but the education you receive here is amazing. The teachers know what they are doing, the TLC center is perfect if you need to get help with assignments or just trying to find a tutor and even the library is a huge help.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous, the people are well rounded and being here is just amazing. Everyone is into the sports, so supporting one another is a huge deal for us. We've all became almost like a family. There isn't any way you can walk through campus and not see at least 15 familiar faces, all of which, if you say hi or definitely going to say Hi back.

    Am learning a lot

    Being able to have one on one's with the professor's make learning and understanding the concepts being taught that much easier. Each day in the class is a step closer to passing or a least getting a firm grasp on the material.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    none whatsoever

    Great for these types of students

    small school. private. people who aren't concerned about partying and want to pay close attention to their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's a haunted house where a rumored ghost of a child resides. it is also a dorm.

    Bang for the buck

    good education, but not the college experience i'd hoped for.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of events from the asdu, but not everyone comes to them so it's not that great.

    Food and Dining

    the food is organic, but you can get sick of it sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    high school part 2. petty drama and lots of cliches.

    Academic Rigor

    it's not that hard, but the small classes really feel like high school. a small high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    come here if you like the very small, woodsy setting. nursing is a good program here. the people are not as diverse as i'd hoped.

    In three sentences

    it's a small school with a big heart. but it's a little too small for my liking (it feels like high school). i'm only here for nursing.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    this is a good school and it has many good classes but i dislike the social aspect of it because i do not feel like i have fit in with my classmates so i plan on leaving next semester.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of social activities on campus but the downtown area can also be fun. the mall is close as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    participate in extra curricular activities and be a part of the social activities because you will find that it can be hard to make friends if you do not. also, do not get behind in your classes because it will get difficult to catch up.

    In three sentences

    it is a small and beautiful campus, but i don't feel like it is as tight knit as i believed it would be. the classes are very intense and have a rigorous curriculum. i haven't found the people to be so nice either.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe community, in a residential neighborhood, no campus police, only the city police

    Greek Life

    does not exist at this university

    Clubs and Activities

    very limited, student population is only about 2,000

    Great for these types of students

    lots of money, lots of parties,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Not, very expensive, money goes ???? doesn't go to student support, housing or dining

    What to do for fun

    if you don't have a car you are out of luck, the only fun places to go is into the city of San Francisco, this community is an old person's place, nothing stays open past 9:30pm, even on weekends

    Food and Dining

    only 1 place, only open an hour and a half for breakfast and lunch and 2 hours for dinner....otherwise closed. Oh, weekends only open twice a day. No where else to get food or drink

    Dorm Life

    parties, and squalor conditions

    Academic Rigor

    inconsistent, some dept's super easy, others haze the students

    Tips for prospective students

    don't let the pretty campus and old buildings lull you into some sort of trance

    In three sentences

    Not worth the money, lack of student support and horrible dorm conditions, no local transportation

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good, responds quickly.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent, i loved that about DU, but some others may want a Greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    they just recently started a grief support group for loss! something i greatly needed when i was a freshman

    Great for these types of students

    independent, prefer one on one attention in the classroom, likes the outdoors, able to make friends outside of your click,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    laying in library lawn on sunny marin days

    Bang for the buck

    WAYYYY TOO EXPENSIVE

    What to do for fun

    lay in the grass, house parties, not a typical college town

    Food and Dining

    horrible

    Dorm Life

    need apartment style dorms with kitchens, food/cafeteria on campus suck

    Academic Rigor

    not challenging whatsoever, most of my classes left me unsatisfied wanting more. especially out of the GED courses

    Tips for prospective students

    only go to this school for nursing or for dance.

    In three sentences

    Unprepared, slow, dissatisfying

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for something with small class sizes, quiet campus and beautiful landscape.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the gym in the mornings, it's small and hardly ever packed!

    What to do for fun

    Lay on the grassy lawns Eat at Sol Food in downtown San Rafael Take the short drive over the Golden Gate Bridge and into San Francisco

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what type of an academic experience you are looking for. If you want something small in a beautiful setting then this is a great fit. If you want the big campus and big city experience, Dominican is probably not for you.

    In three sentences

    Small private nature setting that feels more like an east coast Ivy league than a bay area campus. Students and faculty are friendly, patient and helpful. Nice library, gym and organic food at the cafeteria!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I advise to look online for reports, there have been incidents of theft due to people not locking their doors or leaving their ground floor windows open while they are out. the campus is very safe, just be responsible.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Club activity here is not huge, small school/campus so the club sizes are small as well. but expect a tight knit group.

    Great for these types of students

    if you are seeking a degree in nursing or biology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight madness before finals, breakfast food late at night and entertainment.

    Bang for the buck

    If you go here with the right mindset and are focused on your goal, you'll get the most out of your college experience. It may not be Chico state but you'll find ways to have fun.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking the fire trail behind edgehill has always been a favorite, offers great views of the bay if you can make it to the radio tower. gym is a good place to hoop, get some friends and play football on meadowlands lawn. 4th street farmers markets. most of the fun is across the bridge in the city.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food isn't very tasty and is usually quite dry, (if you dorm you are required to have a meal plan). not many options either, everything is organic / no pesticides, best food is during events / campus visit days. Food options outside campus are decent, but expect to shell out about $10 per person per meal outside.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but it's easy to get to know people there, everybody is generally friendly. Once you find your group of friends, you'll be making group outings to 4th street, the city, etc...

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, your courses can range from easy to very difficult, the nursing and bio majors have it the hardest with tons of reading and exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorms are small so if you plan on dorming, don't bring your whole room. Parking is limited so arrive to school early if you want a close parking space. Don't expect it to be a party school.

    In three sentences

    Small campus with nice outdoor scene, if you're looking for parties expect to cross the Golden Gate Bridge. Small classrooms and the teachers get to know you. If you go here make sure you plan on graduating on time, tuition is expensive.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Movies, San Francisco, Hike

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go in undeclared. There isn't a wide selection of majors, go in leaning towards a major.

    In three sentences

    Established sense of community. Very interested in the success of students. Many financial opportunities available.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Beach is less than an 1 hours away. Bike, hike, shop, sail, you think of it and it's available.

    Dorm Life

    Have nice buildings/dorms, beautiful landscape, very relaxing.

    Academic Rigor

    One unit courses are awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Write down all your questions, research your questions and try to answer them yourself. Especially when it comes to financial aid questions, unless you don't mind the feeling of are you too lazy to find this out on your own?

    In three sentences

    Financial aid male is not student friendly. Business Center-Ms Isabel is awesome and wonderful-answers all questions even if outside her jurisdiction. Academic advising- build a rapport if possible so you are valued as a person and not just a number.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although it is a rare occurrence for anything out of the blue to come up, our campus security runs throughout the day to ensure each student's well-being.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about the Greek life because I am a new transfer, however, I am aware we do have a few programs that allude to students in specific majors.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students are lucky to be provided with the ASDU (Associated Students of Dominican University) which create extracurricular activities for all students to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    For all the outgoing, nature-loving and thrill seeking students, Dominican University of California is the perfect place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The location of the campus is unorthodox to your typical University. We are surrounded by the many trees that shelter the animals throughout our campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The students at Dominican University of California are one of a kind. Although each individual has their own path to follow, we are our own community filled with trust and helpfulness. We even have deer roaming around campus!

    What to do for fun

    Behind the campus, students are blessed to have China Camp State Park within walking distance. With its many trails and high elevation, it allows students to ease their mind off the books and to view the scenic destinations San Rafael has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides a variety of different foods throughout the day which serves as an excellent supplier to the appetite of all hungry college students.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on the campus of Dominican University of California, however, I have visited friend's who lived in the dorms. They have enjoyed living on campus for the first year and would not mind staying in the dorms for their following years at the University. They have put it in accordance with safe, fun, and an experience all students should evoke.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the Professors are friendly and helpful, the challenges given are set to prepare students for the rigors of the working industry.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dominican is known for having a friendly campus with its many student-lead activities, but discipline in the classroom must be discrete from time spent having fun.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University of California is a prestigious institution known for its academic excellence. With its average teacher-student ratio of 1-15, each student is given the time and opportunity to pose their thoughts and questions on any given subject. As a transfer student, I place Dominican University of California with the highest honor a student can give a school.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    San Rafeal, CA is a beautiful area with lots to do. The campus is also very close to San Francisco, CA.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! Lots of healthy options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Do not plan on living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Have not attended classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour with a student ambassador. They are very helpful! It also gives you a completed look at the campus and a students idea of what the school is really like.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful! The admissions staff has been so helpful and really eager to guide you through the admissions process. The university offers a wonderful variety of opportunities to advance your education.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. 24/7 Security. They are always a call away for a late night walk or help. Basically any trouble, they are there to assist in any way possible.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bunch of fun clubs. Some are fun, while others are serious business. You can always make your own, just for fun. (spare time) Looks good on applications. Very involved and fun campus, with activities done by student council.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions- Really focus on ideals: Study, Community, Reflection and Service.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown San Rafael is right across the freeway. It is filled with community events weekly, restaurants, clothing stores, etc. A ton of fun!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good food, although can be repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Fun. Safe. Friendly people. Awesome RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    A decent load of homework, lots and lots of reading assignments!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the amazing professors, they are truly helpful. This is only the case if you show interest and ask for help. If you just sit back and wait for a may I help you its not going to come.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The staff/teachers are always available to answer questions and student concerns. The academic statistics are very high.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IT is pretty safe, it gets scarey at night but there a campus security and you can always call one of them to escort you to where ever you need to go ant any time

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good variety of clubs but theres always opportunities to make your own!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind the school, theres high hills and has a great view of the entire school.

    Bang for the buck

    If you have a car, whether you live or don't liveon campus, BUY A PARKING PASS!

    What to do for fun

    Run. HIKE (great hiking trail). Workout. DEFENITLEY RECOMMENT VOLUNTEERING! Get involved with the community. Go on retreats.

    Food and Dining

    First year of cafeteria food may be decent, however anything after that it becomes disgusting. Food choices are repetative and there isn't much to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is important. Meet your neighbors, know everyone!

    Academic Rigor

    great!

    Tips for prospective students

    -Definetly dorm your first year there -Get involved & network with everyone you meet -You dont need the full meal plan. Usually you'll be just fine with a 10 or 14

    In three sentences

    This school gives off a home feeling with a small campus in th middle of nature growing everywhere and it small population. Teachers are attentive to their students are willinging to be there every step of the way. This university is great for that student who knows what they want, determined to get it, and wants to get their future moving.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While visiting, I saw a fair amount of security guards around campus and felt like I was in a safe environment, despite the fact that Dominican is an open-campus

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a cheerleading squad!!

    Bang for the buck

    From what I've experianced so far after my 2 visits to Dominican University, it is definitley one of those schools where memories can be made and kept throughout your life.

    What to do for fun

    Dominican is an open campus and just 3 minutes away from a busy area where there are a variety of resteraunts to choose from; followed with a shopping center, and lastly, San Francisco is 20 minutes away from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tasted the food yet, but while I was taking a placement test my family had breakfast in the dining room and said the food was great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are very old-fashioned and look very well taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    The psychology program seems very promising.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stick with your instinct. Find what you enjoy and love doing.

    In three sentences

    The campus is gorgeous! The tour guides make you feel welcome and accepted to this school.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very good. The security guards are always on duty and just a phone call away. Because Dominican is in a residential area, it is safe.

    Greek Life

    There is not a Greek system on campus which is nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not involved in an Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Every type!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every month or so, ASDU puts together a Mystery Bus which takes a certain amount of students to different places. We have gone to the beach, to Giants games and Fright Fest.

    What to do for fun

    For fun my friends and I are always in downtown San Rafael. It is only a 20 minute walk from campus and there are a lot of places to go. Sol Food and San Jose Taqueria are both amazing restaurants on Fourth Street and Double Rainbow, an ice cream place, is amazing as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, especially in comparison with other colleges. It is cafeteria style, but is catered by Bon Appetit. Some days the food is not as good as others but there is a good variety and you can always find something appetizing. Every Thursday is Ice Cream Thursday and every other Thursday there are hot dogs and hamburgers during lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. I definitely recommend living in a dorm. It is an entirely different experience; you meet so many new people and are able to get to classes easily, everything is easier than having to commute and worry about meals because a meal plan is included in Room & Board.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses that are offered are very good. It is easy to get into classes that you need and the class sizes are still small. Of course it is difficult, but I find that it is not really that much harder than high school. It is simply that your professors treat you like an adult and hold you to a higher standard than in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip is to apply Early Action. As with every school, Dominican admits a larger percentage of those who apply early than those who apply regularly. Plus, Dominican is very competitive for its Nursing and Dance programs, so applying sooner is better.

    In three sentences

    There are so many things that I love about Dominican University of California. The people here are really nice, the class sizes are small enough that each student gets individual attention from the professors and the dorms are really nice in comparison to many others. Everything, including the gorgeous campus makes Dominican wonderful.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dominican has round the clock security, I always feel safe when walking at night.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of any fraternities at Dominican.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always events to go to each week, and multiple clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for aspiring nurses and people that need more personal attention when it comes to their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dominican's main sport is lacrosse, which is kind of awesome compared to the traditional football.

    Bang for the buck

    The class sizes are well worth the extra money.

    What to do for fun

    At Dominican, they have a lot of spirit. There are always new events going on each week.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten at the cafeteria once, but it was good food. They also have other options like a cafe and vending machines around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but I here their dorm life is superb.

    Academic Rigor

    Their science classes are amazing, and their First Year Experience courses really open up your eyes to things that you are not exposed to in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to Dominican, make an appointment with the admissions office and meet with them face to face. They're really personal here, and if you know someone that attends there a good word also helps.

    In three sentences

    Dominican is a great school for anyone that's looking into nursing. The staff are very helpful and there when you need some guidance. The class sizes are small, which is important for those who need closer attention.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for studious people who do not like to party a lot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Seniors get to paint this dog statue at school every year.

    What to do for fun

    The city is only 20 minutes away. Their are also multiple shopping centers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up to class on time, because attendance is almost 1/3 of your grade. Do not be afraid to ask questions if you have them. Try new things, even if you are uncomfortable at first.

    In three sentences

    This school is a peaceful community that shares Penguin Pride everywhere on campus. Since it is close to the city, weekend outings make weekends fun, without the mess of it in the dorm rooms. The library also has late hours to help students maximize their studying and learning experiences.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! I always see two security guards at all times walking around.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I played volleyball and that was the only club that I participated in because it took up all my time. There are some activities like school dances that are good for the freshmen and sophomores, but the bars are for the seniors and juniors.

    Great for these types of students

    DUC is great for students who are low-key and like quiet, small environments. If you are a partier, this is not the right place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No crazy traditions that I know of, I am usually in the Library doing homework.

    Bang for the buck

    I am in the 4+1 Masters Program and have to say, it's totally worth it. Even though DUC is expensive, you get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There is honestly not that many fun things to do on campus, but DUC is 15 minutes away from San Francisco. There is bowling in San Rafael, and that's pretty much it. The bars (if you're 21 and over) are not too exciting.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is good and healthy! I am a vegetarian and they had yummy options for me everyday. Chilly's Cafe is also a great place to eat if you are on-the-go.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for 1 semester and loved it my Freshmen year. But after the first year, I would get an apartment. It's cheaper and you are away from school which is nice. In the dorms, it is loud and crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and assignments are hard, but do-able! You have to give a lot of your extra time to assignments, but it pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have you tuition set up and ready to go so you don't stack up those ugly student loans. I would also recommend living off campus; way cheaper and quieter.

    In three sentences

    Dominican is a beautiful, lush campus that is welcoming for everyone. The teacher to student ration is about 1:15 which is great for learning and getting one-on-one help. The teachers and staff want you to succeed and will make it happen!

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The best part about living in Marin County is the close proximity to Mt. Tamalpais, numerous hiking and biking trails, and the many, many beaches! Outdoor recreation is the best form of fun, in my opinion. However, there are many decent bars in downtown San Rafael and activities in nearby San Francisco, as well.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall was unexpectedly amazing. I love the choices and the atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and conveniently located. I wouldn't mind living here!

    Academic Rigor

    There are a number of highly competitive programs available at Dominican. Even if you slid by acceptance with a 2.0 GPA, you will want to earn the highest amount of recognition possible, including the highest GPA, to be able to take advantage of all these amazing academic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest planning your academic success now. If you are a transfer student, meet with an academic advisor that can help you take the right courses before you transfer. If you are a high school student, meet with the academic advisor! Preparation is key.

    In three sentences

    The first thing I noticed when I stepped on campus was the natural beauty. The second thing I noticed was how friendly everyone was! Students and faculty alike were very welcoming and made me feel at home in moments.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I dance with their BFA program and enjoy the beautiful grass they have on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food i bet is great since it is a private school.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot say much because i will live at home but i know they have beautiful dorms since they are on campus already.

    Academic Rigor

    Since they have small classes students can really emphasize on topics thoroughly and discuss with one another.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for various outside scholarships before attendance to help reduce the cost of attendance. Get all of your forms in to make sure you have everything you need before you start school. Apply for FAFSA, they give lots of Financial Aid to outside students.

    In three sentences

    The campus has a beautiful ambiance. Classes with no more than 15 students that make it more intriguing for students to partake in class activities. They have a great Dance program there affiliated with LINES Ballet.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always available.

    Greek Life

    None. Let's keep it that way.

    Clubs and Activities

    Associated Students of Dominican University (ASDU) is a joke. From my experience the clubs are loosely organized and not really worth the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated students that want to change the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haunted building previously owned by the De Young family (owners, San Francisco Chronicle). Fruit trees all over campus with oranges, apples, pears, figs, pomegranates, and quinces ready to pick. Plenty of trees to climb too.

    Bang for the buck

    Education and experience worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, road biking, mountain biking, exploring, Mt Tamalpais, Muir Woods, the bay, the Pacific Ocean, San Francisco, local bars and restaurants, farmers markets, Lagunitas Brewing Co, creek spots, lakes, climbing the radio tower, parties, kickbacks, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The required meal plan if you live on campus is $600 a month and totally not worth it. The food is good but you'll get tired of it. It's not organic or local or free-range. The good news is there are hundreds of small business restaurants in San Rafael and Marin that are terrific and affordable in addition to several great health food grocery stores and farmers markets all in walking distance to campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome, but you are crammed into a room with two other people and three other suite mates that share a bathroom. Dorms are super expensive but worth it the first year, lots of good times to be had and really easy to meet people.

    Academic Rigor

    As a private school it's probably hard to fail a course, but professors and course material is challenging and intellectually stimulating. Hard enough to make it worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get as much fin aid as you can from the school. Come with an open mind. Spend your first year in the dorms, live off campus and save money afterwards.

    In three sentences

    Dominican University of California was worth every penny, although I did receive substantial scholarships and grants from the institution. The campus is beautiful, and situated in a great neighborhood in San Rafael. The faculty is amazing.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really safe, you can be escorted at night if wanted.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots of variety, something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to feel a part of something and actually be recognized as a name and face instead of a number.

    What to do for fun

    Everything is reachable even without a car, there's public transportation and places within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The food here has its up and downs, sometimes it's amazingly good and sometimes it's a total miss you just have to test your luck.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice, they are old buildings but are pretty modern on the inside. The rooms are a good size with hardwood floors. It's nice that you don't have to share showers with more than your suite mates.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes range from easy to super hard. Teachers are helpful and willing to give you their time.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should apply here.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is an open-campus, but there is always more than 4 security guards on campus. There has never been an incident where the students were in danger.

    Greek Life

    There is no Sorority or Fraternity groups/housing on campus. Everyone (like every other college campus) has their own social groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Larping club!!! For those that don't know what that is, go on youtube and type in larping. It takes place on the lawn outside of the library and weapons (made of foam)/shields are provided by the leader of the group. The ASDU members are always trying to keep the campus active as much as possible with whatever holiday is coming up (for Halloween, they have a haunted house).

    Great for these types of students

    There is a strong nursing and business program here if there are any nursing or business majors out there. The campus has lots of grass, flowers, and trees. It is also a flat campus for those who don't like climbing a bunch of stairs to get from your dorm room to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This isn't really unusual, but Michael de Young's summer mansion is on our campus and used to be known as the Haunted Mansion. It used to be a dorm residence building (I used to live there last year) but that recently changed and is now under construction.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes there are campus activities going on. Outside of campus (within walking distance), there is a busy street contained with restaurants, furniture stores, a gym, and movie theater. Also, there are a couple malls near by that require auto-transportation.

    Food and Dining

    I personally enjoy the food and I'm often content with whatever is being served because I know they're cooking for over 100 students and think about how many people are starving & would do anything to receive easy access to a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The only complaint I have of dorm life is the fact that the walls and ceilings (if you live below someone) are paper-thin; it gets rather disruptive.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes meet your requirements for whatever you choose to study/major in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up to class on time, ask questions (no matter what), and never be afraid to speak up.

    In three sentences

    Very straight-forward to the students. The financial-aid is always accurate and helpful if there is an error. The professors are all willing to make every student their top priority and show dedication.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dominican is great for hardworking, focused students.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, Dominican can be a bit boring sometimes. It is not a large school with Greek life or intense school spirit. There are sports games to attend and occasional events, such as male beauty pageants and auctions, a Christmas Tree Lighting, etc. Many things are sort of poorly advertised, so you may miss some events.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very hit or miss. You never know how the food will be, although lunch is probably the best meal of the day. We have Ice Cream Thursdays and Burger/Hot Dog Fridays, which are both great.

    Dorm Life

    With such a small population living on campus, you get to know everyone and living in the dorms can be so much fun. I was totally against it at first, but this is my second year and I will be living on campus again.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college, the academic rigor of classes vary, but I found all of my classes to be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    THIS IS NOT A PARTY SCHOOL. This is not Chico, Arizona, or Santa Barbara. The only reason I say this is because I know so many people who regret coming to Dominican and complain about the lack of parties all the time. Yes, there are parties sometimes (mostly in the beginning of the year), but Dominican is a mostly academic school.

    In three sentences

    Dominican is a great school for those focused on academics.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the city

    Food and Dining

    good on some days, others not so much. But you can never go wrong with the soups and salad bar

    Dorm Life

    Hard to study with all the noise

    Academic Rigor

    Have to put in a lot of extra time to study

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like a small school with mostly girls

    In three sentences

    Dominican is very diverse and it is a small community. Class sizes are small and professors know your name. The campus is beautiful as well surrounded by trees in Marin county.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems to be very safe. If there is anything going on you will be notified and reassured that campus police will handle issues. There is always campus police available on campus and visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great amount of clubs and activites on campus. From black student union to starting your own club. You are provided with a lot of options that accommodate to your liking.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who like a smaller ratio of students to teachers. Appreciate interacting with fellow peers and professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Dominican University is worth every penny. The experience of campus is very pleasant.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty activities on campus that you are notified through your school e-mail account. From tail gating for sporting events, club events, coffee and donut socials etc. There are plenty of things to do on campus and it does not hurt to be 20 minutes away from San Francisco.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning commons are healthy and provide a lot of variety for all.

    Dorm Life

    Although, I do not live on campus the dorms look beautiful and seem to be affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Dominican provides a very rigorous academic catalog for students. Teachers give a good amount of work and go over in great detail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be offered an excellent education with Dominican University. A helpful staff and friendly teachers. Also, Dominican is affordable! There are plenty of resources provided to you and some that can be easily researched. Tip: Prepare to succeed.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful with open space and nature, providing a peaceful academic space. Staff, teachers and students are all very friendly and helpful. Dominican has a very accommodating schedule, it works for students, parents and working adults.