Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Drake University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 out of 29 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drake is great for motivated students who are willing to step up and try new things. It is a lovely small school and campus is all one block with no roads going through, which is great for getting around.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you explore campus to make sure it's for you. Also, if you decide to come to Drake bring rain boots and an umbrella! Trust me, you'll need them and Target has a ton of cute pairs for about $20. Make sure you stay overnight and attend a class to see what college life at Drake is really like.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake may be a bit expensive, but I think it's worth it. Plus, they offer students a lot of help financially and will take special cases into consideration for aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Drake is a fun college right outside of Des Moines. There are good places to eat around campus and they all deliver for free - in case you don't have a car. There are A LOT of activities to get involved in - you just have to say hello. Everyone is so friendly!

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I didn't learn anything in high school, but I love college! At Drake I feel like the professors really teach you the material and most make it interesting!

  • 08/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drake is great for low-key students. We keep things pretty casual around here. However, Drake really has something for everybody. For environmentalist, we have Drake Environmental Action League (DEAL) and Grey's Lake, which is not too far from campus. For nightlife divas we have bars, clubs, and frat houses. And we have everything between!

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip is talk to upperclassmen. They can tell you what to bring, what to do, and what to avoid. They have been around so they know what dining center has the best food and which are the events to skip. The drainage system at Drake is not the best; rain boots are a must! Like everyone everywhere says, be friendly. Make tons of friends your first few weeks at school and then decide which ones will be your core group. Keep in contact with as many people as possible, but remember you need a solid group to fall back on when times are rough!

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is expensive. Then again, so is every other college. The main reason I picked Drake was because of the financial aid they gave me. It was substantially more than any other college I applied to. We also get more for our money. Drake really prepares you for the real world. Professors and advisers let you in on little hints that make life and job hunting so much easier! Drake is expensive, but they have excellent financial aid and it will be worth the loans upon graduation!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Drake; coming here was one of the best decisions of my life. On the other hand, I know some of my friends don't like it as much as I do. My advice is check out the college a few times. The first time I visited campus I hated it. If I had written it off and not come back, I would be stuck at a college back home. The campus is great for studying and playing outside, and the city is just a short bus trip away. All around campus are tons of fun things to do and great places to explore.

    Am learning a lot

    You get out of Drake what you put into it. The classes really aren't too difficult, you just have to study quite a bit for some of them. It is really easy to take classes you are interested in, both in the general requirements or in the honors classes. If you sleep in class and don't do your homework (which some people do,) you aren't going to learn as much as someone who pays attention and goes into office hours. I have learned a lot about different cultures here at Drake. There are students from all over the world in every class and so you can learn outside of the classroom too!

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drake is great for students who know exactly what they want to major in because you get to begin your major in your first year. This makes it exceptionally easy to double or even triple major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Open up right away & be yourself. Unlike a lot of state schools, no one comes to Drake with half of their graduating class. Therefore, 90% of students that enter as first years know only 1 or 2 people when they get to campus, thus making it a lot easier to make friends. Take advantage of this by joining lots of different activities and leaving your room door open(when you're there) to encourage the people on your floor to come in and chat.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is definitely on the more expensive side, but as a private institution, it's well worth the money. The on campus residence halls are all recently renovated and the dining halls just got a major makeover as well. The majority of professors have an open door policy with office hours, and a lot list their cell and home phone numbers in their syllabus. Since Drake is a smaller school it is really easy to get involved which makes it easier to obtain leadership positions and build a resume. All of this, in combination with Drake's generous academic and need-based scholarship policy, makes the Drake experience more than worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always a lot to do at Drake. The student activities board does an excellent job planning events throughout the year like concerts(Eric Hutchinson, Quietdrive), Free Salsa Dancing Lessons, and even on campus laser tag. However, if you'd rather do something off campus downtown Des Moines is only 10 minutes away by car & has a lot of really neat places to visit. Drake students get to ride the Dart bus(Des Moines Public Transportation) for free and it will bring you right to Des Moines hot spots such as Court Avenue, which has a lot of nicer restaurants and bars for those over 21. There is also the Civic Center which plays host to big name shows such as RENT, Wicked, and Billy Elliot. Additionally, Des Moines is cluttered with cute little shops, coffee houses, and tea bars, all of which are with visiting.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes at Drake are definitely tough & if you didn't study in high school, that won't transfer well here. You will have to put in a significant amount of work no matter what your major is. Although the course material is difficult, it is definitely manageable, especially with the help of the approachable faculty. However, perhaps the greatest aspect about Drake is that you are not just getting a degree, but learning how to navigate the real world as well. Drake strongly stresses real world application through Mock Interviews and Resume/Cover Letter Workshops. Additionally, Drake has it's own career website, comparable to monster.com, which lists full-time positions & internships both in the Des Moines area and across the country so you can learn how to handle life in the work place before you get there.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drake's campus is located in a rough part of Des Moines. Because of this, security is extra helpful, and always available if needed. The central office for security is located across the street from the main campus. Security officers patrol the campus with cars, ATV vehicles, and bicycles. There are also many blue Emergency posts located all throughout the campus, each equipped with a camera for security to be able to see you when you need help. Security officers are very nice, and are very willing to come pick a student up anywhere on campus and take them to their desired location if they don't feel safe enough to walk. I know security was a big concern with my parents, and they definitely feel at ease, knowing that security is very strong on campus and can handle any situation.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is HUGE on Drake's campus! Located just down from Drake's campus, Greek Street is where the fraternities and sororities are located. Greek life offers fall and spring recruitment, with fall being the most popular. If someone is unsure if they want to get involved in Greek life and the social scene, there are options such as professional fraternities and service fraternities for students to become involved with.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drake University offers many ways for students to get involved on campus! Twice a year, Drake hosts an activities fair for students to learn more about what is offered on campus and to find what is most like them. From Chemistry Club to Anime Club, there is something for everyone on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Drake is great for students that want to feel like a person, rather than just a number. With the small number of students on campus, the professors have a chance to learn about each student and how they learn best. Each student has the opportunity to grow in their learning and also meet many new people, while making life long bonds with professors and fellow classmates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located near Old Main, the central building on campus, is a large rock called the Kissing Rock. Many alumni have been engaged at this spot over the years, and is a special place on campus for numerous couples.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Drake University's tuition is very high, (almost $40,000/year) they offer great scholarships to each student. When I was comparing colleges my senior year, it was going to cost about the same for me to attend a state school or Drake University. I obviously chose Drake University for the small atmosphere that the campus offers. Without a doubt, I made the right decision.

    What to do for fun

    Because Drake's campus is so diverse, many students stay on campus during the weekend. With this, Drake offers many opportunities for students on the weekend, as well as weekdays. There are many things to do on campus, such as going to the Bell Center to swim a few laps, or run on a treadmill, go to the library for a great study environment, or go to the Olmsted Student Center located right on campus. This offers pool tables, a coffee shop, and a brand new fitness area downstairs, equipped with over 25 machines, each with a TV on them and iPod hook up. If you want an opportunity to get off campus, Des Moines has so much to offer! Drake students get to ride free on the DART bus, Des Moines' public transportation system, and can go anywhere in the city. With four malls, many local sports and restaurants, and theaters, it is hard to be bored at Drake.

    Food and Dining

    Drake University is very lucky to have the food options that they offer. Drake works with Sodexo food services to provide delicious options for meals. Drake University has two different dining halls, the main dining hall called Hubble Dining Hall, where you can have an unlimited amount of food and sit down at a table with your friends. The other, Quad Creek Cafe, is more of the fast food type of dining option. Students get their food and can also sit down at tables with their friends, but the food is not unlimited. Food options vary every day and also offer many great home style foods. Drake students also have the opportunity to choose flex points with their meal plan. Flex points allow the students to purchase snacks and beverages at Spike's C-Store, a convenience store, located in the dining hall, or at various coffee shops around campus. Drake also offers food until 1am, and offers a new menu after 7pm, great for late night study snacking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! The four freshmen residence halls, known as the quads, have all recently been renovated within the past 3 years. The dorms have carpet, real sheet rock walls (not brick), and brand new furniture to accompany the room. Each room is also able to adjust the heat and air conditioning themselves, and the windows do open for fresh air. Each residence hall also contains a laundry room, kitchen, living room/study space, study room, and multiple vending machines, all for the students to use. The resident assistants are great and make each student feel welcome.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake University provides very rigorous academic courses, pushing each student to their full capacity. Drake's academic professors are more than willing to help a student succeed in the course, and provide extra opportunities for the student to understand the material covered in class. The class sizes are also small enough where each student feels a part of the learning process, and not just a number in the crowd.

    Tips for prospective students

    Drake University is the place to begin your college career! Drake's campus is small enough where you know many other students, but large enough that there are plenty of opportunities for everyone. Drake offers a wide range of academic options, and you can also make your own major too! Drake represents all 50 states and over 50 countries so the campus is very diverse- a great opportunity to meet many other students from around the world. Once you make a visit to Drake, you will know it is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Drake University is an amazing place to start the college journey. With its small-town feel, Drake University offers many opportunities to students, along with Des Moines, Iowa being a great resource to start job opportunities. Drake University is small enough where the professors know each of the students by name and that is the greatest feeling of all; to have that level of communication with professors.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Journalism, Pharmacy, Science

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself and go somewhere you truly love.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is a little pricey, but I think it is worth the price. They give out lots of financial aid and scholarships to help compensate it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus. Just about every single event is free. The sport events are free and the concert venues are free. The only thing I had to pay for was to see a play, and that was only 6 dollars.

    Am learning a lot

    I love Drake. I am learning so much. The classes are a lot harder than I expected, but that is what happens when you choose a school like Drake. I wanted a school to challenge me academically and Drake does.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who enjoy seeing students/faculty they know on their way to classes. This school is great for close relationships with faculty and other students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to professors and current students while touring. Tours only give out information Drake thinks is important, what's important to you may be different.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like everyone who works at Drake is trying their best to achieve personal satisfaction from each student.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met great people and have made great relationships. Also Drake helps students get involved, with so many options it's easy to choose which organization you would like to be a part of and make a difference with!

    Am learning a lot

    What I like about Drake is that it is a small enough school where professors care how you are doing in classes and most are willing to change their schedule to fit yours if you need extra help.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always patrolling. whenever there is an emergency they are there faster than you can believe.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    herriot hall (a freshman dorm) is fond of recreating hogwarts. this year we had the yule ball, triwizard tournament, quidditch, and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    as your mother always told you, you get what you pay for. this time it's in a good way though. drake is a private school, which means its expensive, which means that they actually want you to stay. the professors put extra effort into making sure you succeed and do well in their classes.

    What to do for fun

    join a club, walk to grey's lake, visit the many malls, walk around downtown and see the historic buildings, play quidditch, or go to a play.

    Food and Dining

    dining is supplied by sodexo, while the food itself is very tasty, after a while it begins to get old.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is amazing. the freshman dorm complex makes it easy to make new friends and make connections with others in your field of study. the upper class dorms are spacious and on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    study! as a private university drake has an ideal of excellence to uphold, so the classes are a little more strenuous than a public state school. as long as you do your homework and keep up in class, you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to do a campus tour, it will make or break your decision. only by spending time on campus and feeling the layout can you truly decide on where to go.

    In three sentences

    drake is an amazing school, the professors are easy to talk to and more than willing to help. the campus itself is beautiful and small enough to navigate easily without feeling compact. as a private school, it is a little costly but the quality of education is worth it.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone because of the diversity at Drake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to know your professors; if they see you are working hard and coming in for help, this might help to make the difference in a borderline situation between two grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is expensive. The education is worth it if you take full advantage of your classes by studying and using office hours. The teachers I have encountered were really helpful in wanting to help you if you show initiative and make the first step towards getting more help. Some teachers are nicer than others in their approach but all really cared about you understanding the material.

    Am enjoying being here

    Drake is located in Iowa. With that being said, the city Drake is located in is Des Moines, which is the biggest city in Iowa. I like the location because it is big enough to get involved in many things off and on campus but small enough to not have high crime rates and other negative things that come with big cities.

    Am learning a lot

    Drake's no Harvard but this school is really good for those who want to be challenged. I've sat in on many classes at many universities; most colleges, especially state colleges, felt like you were sitting in a high school class. I didn't feel this way at Drake.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The surrounding neighborhood isn't too great. But I have never been fearful of my life. I feel completely safe.

    Greek Life

    My roommate was involved in Greek Life, she loved it. And I could tell she always had fun with her sisters. Greek's include other students when doing on campus activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities around campus. More than you even will ever realize. Everyone gets involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will succeed if you put forth a little effort.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has many things going on, you never know what, but always something!! There are unique things on campus. It is a beautiful campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is expensive. But their job placement rate is higher than any school in the area. The education is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with my friends, order pizza, watch movies, and go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    It's school food. Its good, its bad. You can always find something good to eat even if there is a few bad options.

    Dorm Life

    Get involved. Your hall, and building are your best friends. Each hall has many activities throughout the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes may be hard, but do not hesitate to ask your professors for help. Many classes are available to all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any interest in Drake, follow through. They will not fail you.

    In three sentences

    Drake University is a very prestigious university that helps students excel to their best knowledge. Drake does whatever it can to help students find careers, and advise them in every possible way. Any type of student can excel and succeed at Drake.

  • 05/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out Drake when you are applying to college!

    Bang for the buck

    A little on the expensive side, however, I think I will receive an amazing education here!

    Will enjoy being here

    Des Moines is a very intriguing city with that seems like a lot to do! Awesome shopping and wonderfully restaurants!

    Will learn a lot

    I am looking forward to studying topics that I am actually interested in unlike high school and I am sure I will adhere so much knowledge at Drake!

  • 10/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 6 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but it is totally worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    This school has everything that I am looking for. It is in a great location, has the major I want and so much more.

    Will learn a lot

    If I am accepted I am looking forward to four years packed with learning and fun.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    drake's campus is very safe, but the neighborhood surrounding it is very sketchy as many students would say. east des moines is not the safest part of the city.

    Great for these types of students

    students who care about their education, but know how to have fun too.

    What to do for fun

    movie nights, walk around jordan creek mall, go to basketball games (you may end up watching the bulldogs pull out a triple ot thriller!)

    Food and Dining

    they don't always have the best variety or quality, but they satisfy!

    Dorm Life

    leave your door open!

    Academic Rigor

    small class sizes mean that you can't just slide by/skip a lot of classes. teachers have accessible office hours and are more than willing to answer your questions. classes (at least the ones that i have taken) challenge your critical thinking skills, and encourage you to participate in class and discuss what's being taught. friends of mine who have taken more lecture classes have found them tough, but they have learned a lot at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard. go to the activities fair. also, keep your door open during the first couple weeks of school - you'll never believe how many friends you'll make.

    In three sentences

    drake is a fantastic place to find your own. they challenge you academically and provide easy ways for you to get involved and to get professional experience. the atmosphere is fun, yet academically focused.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of shootings, let's be serious, des moines is not super classy.

    Greek Life

    can get a tad bit cliquey but overall it's pretty good.

    Great for these types of students

    like small towns.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there's a kissing rock...

    What to do for fun

    there's a nice mall about 15 minutes away. i'm in greek life, that's your best for fun.

    Food and Dining

    not a fan of the food. there are lots of options but it gets a little bland.

    Dorm Life

    dorms could be better, but at the same time they could be worse.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are certainly challenging. good academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's ridiculously easy to get into if you have above a 24 act score and above a 3.0 gpa

    In three sentences

    it is a small, cozy school. the class sizes are small, professors are superb, but it can get a little boring.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused, hardworking students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RELAYS, best time of the year.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities, sporting events, relays, student get togethers

    Tips for prospective students

    Investigate what you want to do and learn as much as possible about the opportunities you have.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to learn. Small campus where you know lots of people on campus. Relays is the best time of the year at Drake.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It may look like a bad neighborhood but security patrols 4 blocks around the whole campus so it is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    They have fairly large greek life with about on third of all students being greek. They also have professional and social ones.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for motivated, smart, and fun people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During orientation there is always a midnight McDonalds/Pizza run.

    Bang for the buck

    For the level of education you get and the new dorms I would say that the cost of tuition, room, and board is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    It is located in Des Moines so there are malls, movie theaters, restaurants, and amusement parks.

    Food and Dining

    They have many different types of eating places such as a cafe and a cafeteria. All around there food is good.

    Dorm Life

    They have amazing new dorms for the freshmen. You do have to live on campus for two years but these dorms will make it much better to cope with.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone that I have met there have been very focused on there academics. No one there are slackers. The classes here will not be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and visit campus! It is the first thing that drew me in. It is not too big and not too small. The people are very nice and you will love it there.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for motivated students to attend. The people that I have met have been very kind and jun people. It is a very welcoming college and I would recommend it for anyone I know.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can walk alone at night without feeling scared or nervous for my own safety. It's small and well protected school.

    Greek Life

    I have never been a part of Greek Life, but friends of mine who are love it and have made many friends through it. Greek Life is definitely a big part of Drake.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I've previously stated, life is never boring at Drake. So many clubs to join and events to attend. All different types of religious groups get together as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a desire to learn and expand their mind. The resources are all available, you just have to use them!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best part of Drake is the Drake Relays! People from all over Iowa and surrounding states come to watch students compete. Classes are closed and we are all free to attend if we so choose. Campus is always buzzing around Relay time.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is such a great school... filled with many opportunities. Anything from learning a foreign language or studying abroad, to research opportunities like shaping rats to press a lever at the sound of a bell. Drake has anything a student could want.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless student organizations to join, along with campus areas set aside specifically for games and get togethers. You're never bored at Drake.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! And several places to go on campus for a good meal.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but my friends who have love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake is the first school that has ever challenged me, allowing my mind to grow and expand. It is a demanding school, but the professors help you achieve your academic goals, encouraging you every step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid and scholarships, Drake is not the cheapest school, but it is worth every penny. Study and keep up with your work!

    In three sentences

    Drake University is a unique school that offers something for everyone. The professors and advisors truly enjoy their jobs and their love of their professions spill over onto the students. Drake is a close, tight knit community that I consider my home.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drake Security is always around, and there a Blue emergency poles located throughout campus that if you press the button security will get there as fast as possible. Dorms are locked at 9pm daily, and you have to show your ID with the dorm sticker on it, otherwise you will not get in. And Drake Security will help you get into your car if you lock yourself out!

    Greek Life

    There are both Sororities and Fraternities and Profession Fraternities! Sororities: Alpha Delta Pi, Alpha Phi, Delta Gamma, Kappa Kappa Gamma, Kappa Alpha Theta. Fraternities: Theta Chi, Phi Gamma Delta, Pi Kappa Alpha, Pi Kappa Phi, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Sigma Chi, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Tau Kappa Epsilon. Professional Fraternities: Delta Sigma Theta, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Phi Beta Sigma, and Alpha Kappa Alpha.

    What to do for fun

    Sit outside at the Agora, play a game in Helmick Commons, or work out at the Underground Fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo has a great variety, and is always trying to keep it nutritious.

    Dorm Life

    Great Resident Assistants that are really helpful and provide lots of opportunities to meet your fellow students in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very Competitive!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be vigilant with time management.

    In three sentences

    Great Professors who want to help you succeed and are very personable. Beautiful campus! Great living conditions.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus you are quite safe but there has been five shootings on the street i live on this year as it is a road that marks the boundary of campus.

    Greek Life

    drake greek life is worlds different from state schools! yes, there are members who drink but there is definitely no pressure to and the collective greek community consistently has a higher gpa than the normal student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    street painting!

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is increasing and no one is happy about that.

    What to do for fun

    the neighborhood around drake is somewhat rough so you can't really go exploring too much on your own but des moines itself has lots of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    some people like to whine about hubbell food but i find that it is quite good quality.

    Dorm Life

    nearly brand new dorms, only slight issue is the wall with the window condenses water in some rooms. (but at least that tells you the heater works)

    Academic Rigor

    obviously not an ivy league but a big step up from state school.

    Tips for prospective students

    get ready for iowa cold!

    In three sentences

    drake is a personal atmosphere. drake holds you to higher learning expectations. drake is not known for sports.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do on campus unless there is an event on campus. to seek fun you would have to go off campus. They are currently trying to have more on campus events to reduce the need for students to go off campus for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at Drake University does not have the best food, they are however improving by adding more variety to the dining options at school.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. The residence hall organizations always attempt to build community among the persons living on the residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major the rigor may differ. But I think it is above average generally since Drake has such high standards for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to be active on campus and participate in campus life but still put in time for study. Its all about balance

    In three sentences

    Drake University is a great academic institution. They are currently working to become a diverse campus but more work needs to be done in that area. Iowa is great state to help develop many of the majors that the school offers primarily actuary science.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are 5 sororities and 7 fraternities, one more is coming in the fall.

    Food and Dining

    Well, it's school food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are very very nice, upperclassman are not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    I can really only speak to science classes, but they are challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots! :)

    In three sentences

    Drake is small, but comfortable. I love going to school here and feel that I get a quality education and am not swimming in a sea of people I do not know.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Des Moines is packed with fun stuff. And it is easy to do because it's not a huge city. Campus keeps things busy.

    Food and Dining

    It's so handy to have food on campus and it's realistically pretty good compared to cooking on your own.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a third year RA and I love the halls so much I don't want to leave. All my best friends today are people I met in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Super hard but I know that I will be thoroughly prepared for real life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go all out. Get to know everyone. Get involved and show love to your fellow students.

    In three sentences

    Most amazing place for the most amazing time of my life. They have everything put together perfectly. I can't imagine my life had I not gone to Drake.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is super awesome, and I definately feel safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club that you could hope for, and if there isnt one, start one!

    Great for these types of students

    stuious, atheletes, anyone :)

    Bang for the buck

    Since Drake is a private school, it is rather on the pricey side, but they offer very generous scholarships and it is DEFINATELY worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many fun clubs and great people! There is a brand new workout facility, and since drake is in the middle of the Des Moines, just about anything that you would want is just a bus ride away! (free bus fare for students)

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    From what i have experienced at orientation, dorm life is so much fun! Everyone is eager to make friends and it is so easy to get a game of ultimate frisbe or soccer. :)

    Academic Rigor

    Since i have not taken classes yet, im not sure of the rigor of the academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and talk to the faculty and I promise that you will fall in love with Drake university. GO BULLDOGS!

    In three sentences

    The faculty is so helpful. They just renevated the entire campus and it is beautiful and inviting. I give it a 10/10.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe just the surrounding area...not so much!

    Greek Life

    Huge on Drake campus! Don't feel bad if you aren't in a house though there is still lots to do!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities! Go to the activities fair and you will be amazed!

    Great for these types of students

    Smart and hard working!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RELAYS!! Make sure you do street painting and go out with friends during this big event!

    Bang for the buck

    Super expensive! But, a degree from Drake is looked at highly.

    What to do for fun

    Going out is a lot of fun aka Peggys or Dublin! Also joining clubs and sports will help you make lots of good friends! Personally Alpha Phi Omega is a great group of people and is a service fraternity so you are doing good for the community while having fun with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food makes you gain weight! Be careful not to get all carbs and use the salad line!

    Dorm Life

    If you are a first year make sure you get in to the first year dorms! Don't live in Morehouse if you are a first year!

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard! Greek life is huge on the campus so plan to rush and meet lots of new people!

    In three sentences

    Drake is a very difficult school. To be successful you must study and work very hard. I am happy that I will receive a degree from here.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Before I came here, everyone warned me how dangerous it is to stray off campus, especially at night. Apparently there are bad neighborhoods around. I myself have never felt like I was in danger. As long as you use the buddy system, especially at night, it's not much to worry about. There are also security alarm pole things around the perimeter of campus. If you feel like you're in danger, you push a button, and a security guard will be there (I think it's within a minute or 30 seconds or something good like that).

    Greek Life

    About 30% of Drake is involved in Greek life. I myself took part in recruitment, but decided a sorority wasn't for me. A lot of people find them very fun, though. It's also a great way to meet more people and network. They raise lots of money for philanthropies both locally and nationally, so that's great!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of things to get involved in here, no matter what your interests are.

    Great for these types of students

    Overachievers or people who generally like to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm a first-year student, so I haven't gotten to experience street painting (during the week of Drake Relays) but I have heard it's the greatest thing all year. I can't think of any other traditions at the moment.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm learning a lot, which is really great. I'm getting my money out of it that way. Also, since Drake is so prestigious, it looks better on job applications, so you're more likely to get hired than, for example, someone from a public university. I guess its more bang for your buck in that sense too.

    What to do for fun

    Just get involved around campus with different clubs and organizations. Also, lots of people join fraternities & sororities. Get to know people on your floor and in your dorm building. I GREATLY encourage you to keep your door propped open whenever you're in your room. There are movie nights almost daily on my floor because everyone gets along so well.

    Food and Dining

    Oh man... Everyone said Hubbell (the dining hall) would get old fast. I didn't believe them, but I sure do now. I really hated my high school cafeteria food, but Hubbell is pretty bad. There ARE some healthy options, but the greasy, fatty foods greatly outnumber the healthy options. They try to vary all of their options in general, but, honestly, there are about 6 stations to get food from, and only 1 or 2 change per day.

    Dorm Life

    The first-year dorms are all very nice because they were recently renovated. The bathrooms are cleaned every morning, which is nice. There is also a kitchen sink in the middle of each floor, which is convenient for cleaning dishes. The lobby is also really nice; it's a great place to study or hang out with friends. The laundry rooms in the basement are kinda dumpy, but they're okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, which is why I gave this a 4. I was one of those high school students who didn't have to study and got straight A's. You can't do this here, especially not in my program of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus. You will fall in love.

    In three sentences

    Very homey because of the small campus. Lots of clubs to get involved in, whether it be for fun or related to your major. Very academically prestigious.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am going to need a lot of financial aid to be able to afford Drake!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were new and large!

    In three sentences

    I loved the campus, it is beautiful! i was surprised how nice everyone was, and how open they are about their experiences at Drake.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Drake offers a bunch of different clubs and activities. There is an activities fair during the beginning of September where all of the clubs have a table set up and you can get any info on the club. The one thing about signing up for the clubs is that they never take you off their emailing list, so even if you do not join the club you will constantly get emails from the club, for all four years that you are here! Also there is a business fraternity and two pharmacy fraternities and many pre-prefessional clubs for those who want to make their resume look extra nice!

    Great for these types of students

    Drake is great for all types of students! We are a small campus, so it's not too overwhelming and yet you can easily meet new people around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely a bang for the buck. It is cheaper than most Universities including some state schools. Also the academics outweigh the price of tuition because you are paying for your future.

    What to do for fun

    Drake offers a lot of events over the week and weekend. You sometimes get things in your mailbox or in an email about events going on around campus. Also there are a bunch of flyer's around campus that tell you about events coming up.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is like any other college dining... it's okay, but it gets old real fast. I actually prefer Hubbell which is the buffet hall. It's not the best, but it could definitely be worse.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be can be great, and it can be difficult at times. I currently live in a triple and I had a problem with one of my roommates. After talking to our RA it was decided that our room did not communicate at all about any of our feelings about the other roommates. And so to make it through the year with your roommate(s), communication is definitely a key aspect. Other than that you meet people from all of the residence halls and learn to love your own! Also the residence halls are co-ed by floor and they separate them by boys at one end of the hall, girls down the other. But not all floors are co-ed.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake does pride itself in the fact that we are a very prestigious university and that because of that our academics are extremely rigorous. Getting in may be an easy process but the actual classes will not come as easily as they did in high school. You have to take the initiative in class, the teachers do not coddle you as they do in high school. Also there is a high expectation for you since you now represent the University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students are that they should not eliminate any school, or have their heart set on one school initially. Because coming from my own experience I probably would never chosen Drake if I wasn't as open minded. Also fill out your applications before the week that they are due! And don't limit yourself to just a couple schools since you can never be absolutely sure if you will be accepted or not.

    In three sentences

    I would rate drake a 4.8. We are a one of the top best value schools, because of the low tuition price and our great academics. Drake is a prestigious college that will take you places.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drake Relays; an international track event hosting local state high school, collegiate, and professional athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    I would go to Drake without a doubt if the costs were about $10,000 less. Even with lots of automatic merit scholarships this isn't enough to convince me to go there.

    What to do for fun

    Being an Iowan I have to admit it is hard to find things to do outside of Des Moines. But Drake is in Des Moines! There are plenty of shows going on at the civic center or games to watch at Wells Fargo Arena. Hanging out with the people is great in general.

    Dorm Life

    I visited campus and the dorms were awesome! Large space, plenty of options including learning communities, AC, and single room options.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard it's like an ivy league for the Mid-West.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Students make up over 30 percent of the population

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters, Recluse

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Street Painting and Drake Relays

    What to do for fun

    Drink

    In three sentences

    Drake is a great institution to learn at an accelerated pace. The standard is A1 from grades, to clothes, to party life. Although it has students from all 50 states and 80 countries it lacks diversity.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to do and get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Meet as many people as you can 2.) STUDY! 2.) Go to programs

    In three sentences

    It is a small university with many different aspects for students. There are many opportunities to get involved. There is always a chance to meet new people

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    While Drake is fairly inexpensive as far as private schools are concerned, my personal opinion is that the sub-par academics and guidance that the school offers negate the benefits of the school's low tuition. Tuition only gets higher every year at Drake and I didn't feel like I was being given then one-on-one guidance in designing my four-year plan or the preparation for graduate school that my admissions counselors promised when I first toured the school. For those who just want to get a diploma while enjoying the college experience, partying hard, and not having to get too stressed about school - this is the perfect place for you and that's okay! For those who have goals that include education beyond Drake and really desire to get the most out of college without over-spending, it might be worth it to consider braving the woes of a state school like the University of Iowa or the U of Minnesota - Twin Cities where you're likely to get a much better education at an even lower cost.

    What to do for fun

    Drake LOVES to party and thirty-percent of students are involved in Greek life, so there's no shortage of places to go on the weekends if you're into the whole college party scene. In addition, even among those who aren't Greek, many students take advantage of the readily available fake ID market, and there are plenty of bars near campus. I knew there was going to be a lot of partying at Drake, but as someone who likes to party but can�t drink, even I was surprised by how intense the party scene is. I would say probably 20% of students go out (either to bars or house parties) at least 5 days a week and about 85% to 90% of students go out on the weekends and drink. If you do the math there, that leaves one or two people on your floor on Friday and Saturday nights who aren�t drinking or partying. If you aren�t into the party scene, get ready to be bored. Your first semester it might seem like there are lots of fun activities, but campus-sponsored events get old and seem childish real fast and Des Moines isn�t exactly a hotbed for interesting NA entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    When it comes to college food, it really doesn't get much worse than Drake dining. Having toured over 50 different colleges and visited many friends on non-visit weeks at other colleges, I know what most college food tastes like, and while very little of it could be considered decadent, Drake takes the horror of campus dining to a whole new level. I won't go into too much detail as I could go on for days with first-hand experiences and second-hand rumors about the unsanitary kitchen, but you need to know when considering Drake that you will be paying a lot of money for really, really bad food. I have personally struggled with food allergies and intolerances for many years and have to keep a very healthy diet as a result of a medical condition, and Drake provided me with almost no options. There are only two dining halls on campus (one buffet style and one grab-n-go), both share the same kitchen and grumpy staff, and neither is worth your money. At the end of my first semester I had over 100 unused meals and 350 of my original 500 flex dollars remaining which I had to use to buy a bunch of random, over-priced junk food in the convenience store to take home with me over winter break. 8 dollars for a pack of Oreo cookies. Seriously.

    Dorm Life

    To put it simply, the freshman dorm life experience at Drake is FAN-TASTIC compared to the majority of other schools, but after freshman year it goes downhill. The freshman dorms were renovated a few years ago and their only major drawback is that they have some pretty significant mold issues. Other than that though, the rooms have self-controlled heating and air-conditioning, windows that actually open, furnishings that don't look like they're from a prison, and carpeting that you don't have to be afraid to sit on. The bathrooms and common areas get cleaned daily and are fairly nice and spacious and the RA's do a great job of planning activities and events for residents. One of the major benefits of freshman year dorm life is that (in MOST cases) you live on a co-ed floor with people from your First Year Seminar (FYS) class. The FYS is a (supposedly) writing-intensive class that focuses on a certain theme and lasts through your first semester. You get to choose a course with a theme that's interesting to you (i.e. the science and soul of running, short stories, women in literature, illusions, people and their pets, etc) and the experience is intended to introduce you to college. Living with the people in this class really helps you get comfortable with a core group of people who you will likely keep in contact with for years to come. Like I said, however, dorm life goes downhill after your first year. The upperclassmen dorms are much less luxurious than the freshman dorms, they're father away from the center of campus, and the college experience is no longer novel. About 30% of campus is Greek, so a lot of people move into the fraternity and sorority houses their junior year, but that can be expensive (especially for student's whose scholarships would have otherwise covered room and board and it means that there isn't much to do for those upperclassmen left on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    With all due respect to my former classmates and to the institution itself, I went into my freshman year as part of the Drake Honors Program expecting college to be an immense challenge and came home for winter break utterly disappointed. Even my honors coursework was far from challenging, my professors asked for little of me, and when I sought additional challenge I was blatantly turned down by professors who said I was already doing more than I needed to and didn't want the extra work of grading longer, more complex papers and projects or guiding me in finding more challenging readings. From the perspective of a student who attended a large public high school and graduated 120th out of a class of 600, I'm certainly not any sort of genius. Still, despite only a modest background with AP and College in the Schools, I was utterly baffled by the low expectations of my professors - even in upper-level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a good, long look at the graduation and core curriculum requirements before committing to this (or any) school. Consider whether the courses you will be required to take while at Drake are really going to help you get to where you want to go or not, and take time to look through the school's course catalog to see if they offer classes that look interesting to you. One of my greatest disappointments was with the lack of diverse, engaging course offerings. I wish I would have taken a closer look at the courses offered as well as the experience of the faculty that teach them. If you're looking for faculty with really interesting stories and insight and relevant experience in the fields they teach, you might want to go to a bigger school.

    In three sentences

    Drake does a great job of recruiting students and making them feel as though they will find a great deal of support and one-on-one assistance while attending the school, but they don't really follow up. Being that it is a small school and not very academically rigorous, the atmosphere is very laid-back and while this is a plus in terms of students' social experience, it's not exactly the ideal scenario for ambitious, motivated students hoping to make the most of the fortune their spending on an education. If you're in it to learn and be challenged, Drake will disappoint.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Des Moines is a small city and you have to really look for things to do off campus. If you are bored though you can play pool at Olmstead or rent movies from the library, but you kind of have to look for fun. There are parties on campus, but since the school is small, the party scene gets repetitive.

    Food and Dining

    It is not the best food. You might want to check it out a little to make sure that is is cooked. The Dining hall is kind of your only choice for food unless you have money to spend off-campus all of the time. You get used to eating the food though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are strict depending on who your RA is. The freshman dorms are pretty small so if you can pick your roommate, pick them because it can be hard to share such a small space with someone that you do not really get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake is very rigorous in academics. It is really advanced and can be a little overwhelming in the beginning. Adjusting to it can be tough, but it is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on your major, this start getting hard very quick. Make sure you use the resources on campus. Find out where all the help centers are before you start to need help so when you do need help, you know where everything is. Be outgoing and get to know as many people as possible. Do not be quick to judge people. Give everyone a chance.

    In three sentences

    Drake is great academically. If you are looking to party, go to another school. When you graduate you will be set for life.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus itself is safe. The surrounding areas are not the greatest, but as long as you refrain from walking alone, or at night in these areas, there should never be a problem.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is the best kept secret during prospective student tours. Greek life is a huge part of Drake students, and the majority of students are in either a professional or social fraternity/sorority. People outside of the Greek system often times have a difficult time making friends, but it is not impossible. (This is coming from someone NOT involved in Greek life.)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and organizations available to students. They are all presented at the activities fair during the first week of school. It is easy to find something you might be interested in, but it is also easy to back-out due to schedules and whatnot.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, friendly, passionate students excel at Drake. If partying is the top priority when looking at colleges, there are far better schools that can accommodate those students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Street painting is the most anticipated event on campus. This occurs during Drake Relays week, and is a campus-wide party where various organizations paint a square on the street that runs through the middle of campus. The end result is a unique sidewalk that changes every year, and hundreds of students covered in paint.

    Bang for the buck

    A degree from Drake can help you land a job just about anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    The Des Moines area has a lot to offer if you investigate. The shopping centers are very nice, and there are countless dining options. There are outdoor activities to do during fall and spring, as well as indoor events, such as rock climbing, movies, bowling, etc. Keep in mind that in college, it is essential to make any situation fun, which is possible.

    Food and Dining

    The options are the same every day, so it is essential to make the personal choice to mix it up, otherwise one can get very tired of the same option and also gain weight from too much limited consumption.

    Dorm Life

    The first-year residence halls are the newest and nicest on campus. None of the dorms are very large, and all but one have communal bathrooms. The camaraderie amongst floors is generally very welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult but are geared toward making every student successful in any career after graduation. I appreciate the level of rigor required by my professors because I know it will make me a better person in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    While visiting as a prospective student, arrange meetings with professors in your intended degree program. They are experts and can answer your questions better than anyone.

    In three sentences

    Drake University has a tremendous amount of once-in-a-lifetime opportunities for all students, including world travel and internships. The professors are experts in their field, and are passionate. Although the university may be small, it is certainly one of the most successful places of education, especially in the midwest.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drake is a really safe campus with alerts on possible danger. There are security posts with emergency buttons all around campus, and campus security is continually patrolling the area and the dorms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drake hosts their annual Drake Relays each year and people from all around come to participate and watch. This is a huge event, creating large crowds in the area for days. Drake also has has a yearly spring event called street painting, which is a really fun activity where you can paint a square on the painted street for your particular organization and then toss your extra paint on all your friends! Both of these are great don't miss events at Drake.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't any extraordinary things to do for fun, but it's exciting to see Des Moines and get to visit local restaurants and bars.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is not fabulous. There are however plenty of nearby local options that are pretty fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    Drake requires students to live in the dorms for two years. Overall though, there could be a worse way to live than in the dorms. Dorm life is never really that awesome, but I would say that Drake's is pretty typical.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake pushes its students in the academic department. While the work may be challenging, it is also usually engaging and a great way to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Drake allows for great flexibility in double or even triple majoring. It really provides the opportunity to explore your interests and find what you love. The teachers are typically passionate about their subject, making the learning atmosphere an excellent one.

    In three sentences

    Drake is a beautiful campus. It allows a student to find what they love and to offers them the opportunity to do what they love. Overall Drake is a a great school to attend.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On any given night, there's always several activities happening. There are clubs you can join (including Greek life if that's your thing) and several great restaurants surrounding campus.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the Res Halls! The RAs are awesome, and there's always stuff going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's on the smaller side, so if you're looking for the size and resources of a huge campus, this is not it. Drake is a good fit if you are a strong student, enjoy academic discussions, and are looking for leadership opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Drake is a close community of students with small class sizes and professors that always go the extra mile. Though Des Moines isn't always the most exciting city in the world, there are plenty of fun activities on campus, and Drake Relays is the place to be. I am so grateful for the opportunities I've had at Drake!

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out downtown and West Des Moines!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out all your scholarship and financial aid options and compare them with state schools. You'd be surprised how closely Drake matches some of them.

    In three sentences

    Drake has a great focus on academics and, more importantly, equipping students with marketable and necessary skills for their future careers. It is a great size, small, but not so small as to limit students. The atmosphere of the campus and city are great as well.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My friends and I go to the farmer's market almost every Saturday - it's the biggest market I've ever seen. We also sometimes go downtown to eat dinner and walk along the river. There are restaurants and a small movie theater right near campus, but getting to the mall requires taking a car or bus.

    Food and Dining

    Drake has a buffet-style dining hall as well as a take-out style dining hall. There are also two coffee shops on campus that serve Starbucks coffee. Although there are a lot of food options, sometimes the food is not the freshest.

    Dorm Life

    First years and sophomores are required to live on campus. There are sometimes so many on-campus events that attendance at some events will be low because students have so many other commitments.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake is definitely a challenging school, but like anywhere else, I've had a few classes that were easy A's and a few where I was up until 1 am studying and in the teacher's office every other day.

    Tips for prospective students

    The education and skills Drake will provide you with are amazing, but it is not a cheap school. Make sure that you will be able to pay for it and/or be able to pay off loans before making any decisions.

    In three sentences

    Drake University provides an excellent education and gives many opportunities for learning off-campus, both in Des Moines and in other cities or countries. There are also plenty of ways to get involved on campus. My only complaint about Drake would be that environmental awareness and sustainability are not always top priority with the administration.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since its a smaller campus, you see these guys driving their golf carts everywhere. It makes me feel safe seeing them around, especially since the school is nearing the more ghetto side of town.

    Greek Life

    If you're greek, you will always have something to do, whether it is a philanthropy event or a social event. Other than that, there are many professional fraternities available for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    While some clubs are more active than others, the smaller population of the school means that there are not as many clubs as other big state schools.

    Bang for the buck

    I suppose it depends on where you come from, but the gas is definitely a lot cheaper than home. Same with the sales tax.

    What to do for fun

    Recently they've started Free Movie Fridays, which is exactly what it sounds like. On Fridays, they'll show one of the recent movies that are out for free for all of the students to enjoy. The school also brings in some comedians. Other than that, the city itself is not within walking distance. A car is needed to get anywhere.

    Food and Dining

    Food could use a bit more improvement. There is only one dining hall with two different sides, the buffet style or quicker to go section. This does not allow a lot of room for variety. The best meal is the omelets for breakfast. An upgrade in the quality of fruit would be nice too.

    Dorm Life

    The recently renovated freshman dorms are pretty great compared to other schools. They have A/C, and the rooms are just big. The only problem nowadays is the mice. The upperclassmen dorms are not as nice, but they have apartment style or quads, which is a nice change.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are definitely a lot harder than high school! Especially chemistry with all of the pre-pharmacy students. This is one of the harder classes for the non-majors. The lecture type classes are still pretty small, around 100 students while labs may consist of 20 students. Other classroom discussion type classes have about 30 students and give professors a better chance to know you. If you decide to take a language, be prepared, there are usually only 6 students in your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do one of those stay with a student things to see how dorm life actually is. Its one thing to see the school by walking around, and its something totally different to shadow someone throughout the day and see what classes are like.

    In three sentences

    A smaller school in a small city with a bigger focus on you as an individual. There are plenty of opportunities to get involved to those who are willing and a great school to meet many other students. The faculty is great and always willing to help those who ask for it.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drake is a great place for intelligent students who want to get involved. It is a school filled with bright students and involved professors. Drake has a small enough campus that one motivated student can make a difference.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is fairly expensive, but there is a 99% job placement and many Drake students get internships very early. Drake does not only offer a quality education, it offers business connections and resources that are useful in the real world.

    What to do for fun

    Drake is extremely close to downtown Des Moines. This may not sound very exciting to someone who has never been here before, but Des Moines is a vibrant, growing city. Drake students get free rides on the Des Moines Area Regional Transportation buses, which makes it extremely easy to get downtown for free (and without worrying about parking [although, if you do have a car, parking is free in Des Moines on the weekend]). There is always something going on downtown. There are free or cheap concerts by local bands and many national tours come through Des Moines (I'm seeing Macklemore in October!). A few blocks east of downtown, there is the East Village, which has boutique shopping and unique dining. In town, there are three malls (it's the farthest from Drake, but I recommend Jordan Creek). On campus, the Student Activities Board has events at least once a month, where they bring in bands or magicians or other live entertainment. Most weeks we have free movie Friday, which shows a movie just out of theaters in the movie theater in the basement of the student center. A lot of unexpected activities that can come to campus, as well. A few years ago we hosted a GOP debate and had the world's largest pie fight in the same year. But none of this compares to the Drake Relays: the biggest week of the year on campus. The celebration is due to a track and field competition on campus (which Drake Students get free admission to), but is not limited to the races. There is a paint fight, a carnival, a free downtown concert and campus is alive with excitement the entire week.

    Food and Dining

    Drake does not serve gourmet food. Not even food I would probably buy if I had a choice. But, for a college, Drake's food is pretty great. The major problem is a lack of variety: the food is on the same rotation every week and some of it (like pizza and burgers) is there every day.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the best dorms I have ever seen. The bathrooms are cleaned every day, except for the weekends. The freshman residence halls have been renovated within the past few years. You are required to live on campus for two years after high school and the upperclass dorms are a little older. Still, they are pretty nice compared to most other schools I visited. There is always something going on in the residence halls. The RAs are required to plan a program twice a month and there are about 5 RAs in each first-year hall, so there is an abundance and a variety of programs every month.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake is a quality private education. The professors generally teach topics that are practical to the workplace. They prepare you for the real world. It is not the hardest curriculum in academia, but it is certainly one that is respected by real-world employers.

    Tips for prospective students

    I will tell them what I was told: rain boots. Drake's campus is beautiful, but not quite irrigated correctly (the sidewalks become affectionately known as Drake Lake whenever it rains). Get a random roommate. You will want to room with your FYS members and that friend you have coming with you is not worth being isolated from EVERYONE in your class. Drake is great at assigning roommates. On my floor, only two rooms had roommate troubles, and one of them was 2 girls who had chosen each other. If you are undecided, go with the College of Business and Public Administration. You can always change colleges at any time, but the deans and professors in the CBPA are focused on the students and finding the perfect career for them. Business 001 and 002 (required for all CBPA first-years) are dedicated to finding your personality and learning about how to get a job, useful for wherever you end up.

    In three sentences

    I am in love with everything about Drake! The professors are helpful and the students intelligent. And the campus is enchanting and personal.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It looks like there's a lot of fun things and activities here, I can't wait to schedule a visit!

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drake security is a never-ending joke amongst the students, but don't let that fool you. They really are there to keep the students safe and they really care. There may be a shooting every week near Drake's campus, but there is never a threat to campus security. Remember that you do live in the city of Des Moines, so just don't venture too far off campus on your own at night. The school is so small that when you are walking through campus at night, the only people you will run into are friends, classmates, acquaintances and Drake security guards. All of the students feel safe here. When that occasional nervous feeling floods through you and you don't want to walk home alone, Drake security will gladly walk or drive you home- they are amazing!

    Greek Life

    Approximately 30% of Drake students are involved in Greek Life. It is a community of people that really stick together. When you join a sorority here, you don�t just gain 100 brothers or sisters, you find automatic friends in all houses. This is not your typical sorority and fraternity life that you see on television. Yes, there are parties and there is a significant amount of fun found in the nightlife, but there is a strong focus on academics and philanthropies here. Drake is a hard school and being a part of Greek life makes you strive to be your best. The fraternities and sororities expect you to attain a GPA higher than the all university average. Also, every single house has one week full of events to raise money for their specific philanthropy. And guess what? Every single house participates in everyone's philanthropies. That is how amazing Greek life is.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once you go here, it is hard to realize that no one really knows about Drake Relays. It is a week long track meet, but also a week long party. Every age of alumni comes back to participate in the festivities. It is the one time a year that this small school feels like a giant university.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is well respected. When looking for a job, people will see that you went to a small private college that is not known to be easy. It has an academic rigor competitive to many other private schools. The cost is lower than others and there are scholarships for academics.

    What to do for fun

    The great thing about Drake is that it is in Des Moines, the capital of Iowa. Now don't get too excited- this is know Chicago or New York. But there are plenty of festivals and malls to go to. There are also meuseums and parks. There is always something to do on campus as well, so don't feel like you have to go venture out!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't spectacular, but you can survive the two years that you live on campus. There are basically the same options offered over and over again, but since you are at a private university, there are plenty of breaks for you to go home and eat real food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a blast. At Drake, students are required to live on campus their first two years out of high school. The first-year dorms are all in a quad together which makes it easy to jump around to see all of your friends. The Sophmores have three different dorms they can be in. The majority live in Goodwin-Kirk which is two huge buildings that are connected. You never have to step outside in the winter to find your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    You will not find an 'easy A' class here. Everything from general electives, here called AOIs, to your high level major classes are difficult. The professors expect a lot out of every student. And if you can get into Drake, then you can do it. If you are the type of person who didn't have to study in high school to get A's, you will have to study here. Every class is a challenge that you will learn many things academically in, but you will also learn something about yourself as a person.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a fantastic business, science, or arts school then you are looking at the right place. The Drake faculty has amazing connections to get students into internships and jobs in any field. This is a place becomes home. The community is small which makes you feel like you have another family.

    In three sentences

    Drake is a school that is focused on developing leadership skills as well as teaching its students to embrace culture and diversity. The students are driven to be the best they can be by professors and advisors that actually care about their students. It is a fun, encouraging and hard-working environment will you will learn all of the skills to be successful anywhere in the world.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Drake University has a wonderful greek life because it is a much smaller school than state schools. This allows greek life to become more concentrated in philanthropies.

    What to do for fun

    Drake is located in the beautiful city of Des Moines which can have multiple places to visit for fun activities. The Drake Relays in the spring is also really fun because it is our biggest event of the school year! Drake University has a wonderful Student Activities Board, which plans out many fun activities for students during the school year. Drakes Greek Life also does a fantastic job providing several activities each week for their multiple philanthropies.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is surprisingly not too bad at Drake University. But with any cafeteria style serving, students like me tend to miss homestyle cooking every once in a while.

    Dorm Life

    Drake has a wonderful dorm life because the residence assistances really become involved and are dedicated in setting up fun activities for their new students. I had a blast living in the residence halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake does a great job challenging students academically because of the great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend checking out all the extra curricular activities around Drake University. Also, taking a tour is a great idea because prospective students really get to see where current students learn and look at what the residence halls look like.

    In three sentences

    Drake University has honestly given me some of the best experiences in my life so far. They have a wonderful educational system filled with well educated professors and inspiring peer students. Attending Drake University has been one of the best choices I've made so far because it has helped me grow into a better student and become more self motivated.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to activities around campus and meet friends.

    Food and Dining

    Hubbell is not so good after a month. Go to Quad.

    Dorm Life

    Good people, but can be boring at times.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what you are studying though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your neighbors and floor mates. Meet as many people as you can and get involved in campus.

    In three sentences

    Drake is a 4.2 out of 5. The classes are small and there are good one-on-one teacher interactions. The campus is small and you get to know a lot of people as well.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have yet to try the food at Drake, but I can't wait to experience the dining halls!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that I will be challenged to excel and do well in my classes if I attend Drake.

    In three sentences

    Drake has great opportunities to build up your academic portfolio and then go on for internships, such as Meredith Publishing Company right in Des Moines! The university has a wide selection of majors that would benefit and behoove a student to double major in. The overall feel of the school was pleasant.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    AMAZING greek life. Hazing is NOT tolerated at Drake.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who likes to have fun and also learn.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like for the most part, my money is going to good places.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo gets old fast, but it is edible.

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful dorms! Most of the RA's are fantastic. There is always the chance you could end up with a crazy one or the best one on campus could get fired (which happened this year), but you move on. Drunk people on the weekends can be a little noisy, but the walls are surprisingly soundproof, letting people sleep through any noise there is.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes in my major can be very challenging, but I feel like my FYS and some of my AOI's were super easy (which isn't actually a bad thing).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested at all in pharmacy, apply for the pharmacy program. It is absolutely fantastic.

    In three sentences

    Drake is an amazing place to continue your education and start the rest of your life. I have made so many amazing friends here, been involved with lots of fun and helpful organizations, and I have had the privilege of being taught by some fantastic professors. Not to mention, the living conditions and security around campus are FANTASTIC, and Des Moines is a fun place to be!

  • 03/08/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Popular campus traditions include Street Painting, an annual celebration during which organizations decorate the streets in and around campus; and the Beautiful Bulldog Contest, held every year to find a mascot for the annual Drake Relays outdoor track and field competition. One student rite of passage: receiving a kiss from your loved one on the kissing rock on Drakeâ??s campus.

    Food and Dining

    OK...

    Dorm Life

    Popular campus traditions include Street Painting, an annual celebration during which organizations decorate the streets in and around campus; and the Beautiful Bulldog Contest, held every year to find a mascot for the annual Drake Relays outdoor track and field competition. One student rite of passage: receiving a kiss from your loved one on the kissing rock on Drakeâ??s campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake is comprised of six schools and colleges. Graduate programs include the College of Business and Public Administration, School of Education, and School of Law. Other notable programs include the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Journalism and Mass Communication. The fine arts department of the College of Arts and Sciences offers courses of study in art and design, music, and theatre arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Drake University, located in Des Moines, Iowa, offers a range of student activities. The Donald V. Adams Leadership Institute offers courses, workshops, and leadership opportunities for students throughout the year. Among the 150 or so student organizations are Colleges Against Cancer, a campus newspaper, and a number of club and intramural sports teams, including broomball, racquetball, sports trivia, and team tennis. A sizeable Greek community encompasses about a dozen fraternities and sororities. Drake provides housing in its eight residence halls, and the majority of students choose to remain on campus all four years. The Drake Bulldogs compete primarily in the Division I Missouri Valley Conference.

    In three sentences

    Drake's mission is to provide an exceptional learning environment that prepares students for meaningful personal lives, professional accomplishments, and responsible global citizenship. The Drake experience is distinguished by collaborative learning among students, faculty, and staff and by the integration of the liberal arts and sciences with professional preparation. Drake is comprised of six schools and colleges.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drake is not in a perfect neighborhood. That being said, I have never felt threatened during my time here. Drake Security is constantly patrolling the campus, they provide multiple ways of contacting them in case of emergency, and they are all incredibly nice and helpful to students.

    Greek Life

    Approximately one-third of the Drake population is Greek - and they cater to all different personalities. This is great for people who wish to be in Greek life. However, even for those who are not interested, I have never felt like people in Greek life look negatively at non-Greeks (I usually am even invited to many of their parties).

    Clubs and Activities

    Drake already has many clubs, but the best part is, you can create your own. All a student needs is a few friends and a constitution and they are eligible to become a club. I can think of three friends who have started clubs that are successful and important in the campus community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drake is known for the Drake Relays. Every spring Drake holds a track and field event for athletes at all levels - high school, college, and even Olympians. If track and field does not interest you, there are numerous activities both on campus and in the area.

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is expensive, but so are most other private colleges. I am no expert on the matter, but Drake has been awarded multiple awards from independent reviewers - some of which include being the best value in the Midwest. The great thing about Des Moines is that the cost of living as well as entertainment is fairly low.

    What to do for fun

    Drake is located in the state capital of Iowa, Des Moines. Des Moines has sports (baseball, soccer, basketball) music of all genres, great places to eat, and a good night life. For fun on Drake's campus, you can do whatever you want - the school makes it very easy to start clubs and interest groups on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good at first. The only issue that I have with Drake's dining is they have very little variety. Every now and then you will have a poorly prepared meal, but for the most part the food is good, albeit limited.

    Dorm Life

    Drake's dorms are wonderful. Every college's dorms will have some little problems that are unavoidable, but they are much more spacious than other college dorm rooms that I have seen. The staff also provides many different activities in which the residence halls compete against each other to see who is the best.

    Academic Rigor

    Drake University is known for its academics. Many of the professors are not life long academics, but came from industry into teaching. This is important because the professors have first hand knowledge (not just what they have seen or read in a book) on what you need to know in order to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always consider what the college will do for you. A student can acquire a decent education at many colleges. However, if a college can help you find that job (which the College of Business has over 99% placement) that is an incredibly valuable attribute to consider.

    In three sentences

    There is no university the prepares you better for life after college. The School of Business urges all students to find internships and events off of campus to create a network of professionals in your field. You will not be disappointed.