Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Drew University - College of Liberal Arts Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vegans - the cafeteria is geared for you! Not even any bacon for breakfast!!!!! BOO! Diversity loving people. You'll meet all kinds of great people from all over! People who love a rural setting in the middle of a suburban town, with a small student body.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to join lots of clubs and activities to fill you time as a freshman or sophomore. Not much to do without a car. While the dorms in the back woods of the campus are nice... that hill is a killer to get up when it's wet! LOL! Make your advisor make time for you! They are just professors with tons of other stuff to do, and unless you make yourself known, you'll be forgotten.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive!!!!!!! Would definitely be more worth it if classes were the size advertised. Things that some schools give for nothing, we have to pay for as well... visiting lecturers, programs and concerts, laundry ($3.00 per load!), etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    Very diverse student body, which is great. Lots of good people! Gorgeous campus! Not nearly enough parking... Freshmen and sophomore residents can't have cars. Not at all flexible for those of us who have to work! You have to work within walking distance. LOTS of drinking on campus. They actually change the cafeteria food when parents are expected... eg. homecoming weekend. Not a lot to do in town. Close to trains and buses, though. Would be happier if things were more flexible... eg. parking, food plans, campus safety rules (in dorms by 8pm or you have to be let in by campus safety - new rule 2009-10), etc.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are bigger then they had said during the tours. I had wanted smaller classes with lots of personal interaction and less lecturing. I was disappointed that it's mostly lecture. They tell me that as I get through the basic classes into more advanced ones this will get better... we'll see.

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drew University is a melting pot of all types of students, although I will say that most of them are upper-middle class White kids from South Jersey. Still, we also have international and out-of-state students; we have artists and fashionistas; and we have athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Make the most of your time at Drew. Enjoy yourself. And GO TO CLASS. This should not even need to be mentioned, but many college students assume that they don't need to go to class because they are adults. At Drew, students take their education quite seriously, and prospective students should enter this college - or any college, for that matter - with the same mindset.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education here is excellent, but Drew is very expensive. Apparently, it is one of the most expensive schools in the nation. Why I rate this four/five stars is because Drew gives terrific financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Ever heard of the ol' quote, Life is what you make of it? This undeniably applies to student life at Drew. I will be honest: when I first arrived at Drew, I did not fall in love with it within the first few days or even with in the first couple of weeks. It took time for the school and campus life to grow on me. I think it was because my expectations were too high. I wanted to love it immediately without putting any effort into making the most of my life here. I think the trick to falling in love with any university is to get involved! For such a tiny school, Drew has a ridiculous amount of clubs and organizations, sports, internship opportunities, and campus jobs to immerse yourself in. There isn't much to do off-campus, because Madison is a very suburban town mostly filled with boutiques and restaurants, and the neighboring towns are not-so-cheap train rides away. But if you want to have fun, you can make it happen! So don't coop yourself up in your room all day. I've found that the people I know here who are truly unhappy are those who coincidentally are not involved (physically or emotionally). This is NOT the way to go. You must be interactive and social - even if you are shy or introspective by nature, like me, apply your social skills and you will find that it is easy to have fun on campus. I am someone who has never been very interested in sports, but in November, I joined the Varsity Fencing team - and later, began to take up free fitness and exercise courses offered at Drew. Get involved!

    Am learning a lot

    There is no doubt in my mind that I am learning a lot at Drew. This college is on the Princeton Review's list of top universities and top liberal arts colleges for a reason! The topics are very engaging and intense, and although I've had a couple of classes that I was required to take and did not necessarily enjoy (i.e. Statistics), the professors at Drew make every class worthwhile, so that I still feel motivated to attend their classes and learn more about the subject they are teaching. I would not say that I am having difficulty with the subjects, but that is because I keep up with my homework assignments. Each class challenges me to think on a critical and analytical level and sometimes leave me thinking about subjects unrelated to academics within the classroom. There are so many courses to take here at Drew. My only gripe is that some of the courses are specially-designed courses that do not necessarily exist outside of Drew. For example, my favorite class freshman year, The Global Burden of Mental Illness is not a class that is offered at other colleges, which can be a tad problematic.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want an academically rigorous experience, people who like to get involved, people interested in AMAZING research opportunities, and students who want a diverse population on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its not as small as it appears. With 3100 undergraduates, intro level courses have about 30-40 people in them, and as you take more upper level classes, your class size gets smaller. But if you come with an open mind it is a lot of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    It seems like you have to pay for everything. The shuttle into town is money, the shuttle to Newark Airport is money, there are fines for everything and we are already paying a lot to be here.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is a lot to do on campus. While I have to walk everywhere there is bingo (Ipad/ipods are normally the big prizes) once a month, a performer (free) every other Thursday night, many special events( Recycled percussion, Axis of Awesome, Baby Wants Candy, Food Dude, etc), great performances from the Drama Department (one play in progress a week, four main stage, one directors workshop, and a dance show per semester), lots of fun theme parties (Suitcase Dance, Silent Rave, Harry Potter Up All Night), and many fun excursions into the city.

    Am learning a lot

    I have had amazing professors and am learning quite a bit in my classes. However, the freshman curriculum (Seminar, Common Hour, College Writing) is a bit meticulous. Common Hour is pointless and counts as an extra credit (annoying second semester when I needed to register for one more class but couldn't because common hour put me over my credit limit). Seminar is useful but college writing seems redundant.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel incredibly safe attending this campus. The neighborhood is small, quiet, and inviting. There have been very few announcements of safety threats besides that of bear sightings or the crazy squirrels that inhabit our tall trees.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are very fun, but sometimes too basic and limiting to others; however, with newer students and ideas each year/semester, Drew is changing, and Drewids are changing their ideas and opinions towards clubs and activities. Club examples; French club, Asia club, Umoja Africa club, Theological School clubs, Harambee uniting diversity club, The Alliance (LGBTQAI), MESA for arabic students, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    DETERMINED, focused, organized yet laid-back, students who look ahead and know where they're going. No slackers!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is known for being haunted in various buildings. This attracts and entertains a few of the residents and prospective students, especially when touring our campus. We also engage in theme houses rather than fraternities and sororities. We have an Earth House, Asia Tree House, Casa Latina, even Spirituality House, into each all that is needed to enter is a desire to learn about each culture, previous participation in that culture, or solely the decision to live with others who share similar interests as you do.

    Bang for the buck

    For students who do not apply for financial aid or receive grants or loans according to their minority status or academic preferences, the bang for the buck question can be questioned. The students paying much money are getting that compensation in form of classes, teachers, and research, however, in terms of being provided a safe space to relax, a fun college environment, an affordable and comfortable living space, that decision depends on the person. This school is EXPENSIVE, and if it weren't for the comfortable size, landscape, and teachers, one is conflicted on whether or not this is really the way he or she wants to be spending his/her parents retirement funds, or loan endeavors.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, last year the existence of a student center opened many doors for Drewids to come together and enjoy free time after long days. There was a pool table, mail room, The Space (where comedians, poets, singers, etc. could come together and entertain), as well as an extension of that which housed dances and competitions. Since the recent closing and reconstruction of that building, many clubs have been forced to continue their get-togethers at inconvenient locations, the mail room has been moved across the way, The Space has completely disappeared. Unfortunately, for the time being, student leisure has really been put on hold. This, in turn, has affected the levels of stress among students and their decisions in enjoying their free time. There really isn't much to do on campus at this time, nonetheless, our close location to New York City provides many interesting journeys for students willing to take the train and explore the city.

    Food and Dining

    There have been a plethora of complaints against Drew University's food and dining services. A positive aspect to the dining services is that they allow small message boards to be posted on which students can leave note cards or even paper tissues with comments and concerns about their quality and taste expectations in food. Also, the food sustainability clubs on campus protest the quality and nutritional value of the food served; in past semesters, they have somewhat succeeded in having the dining services post vegetarian options, including food recipes. The cost of café dining as compared to cafeteria dining is quite painful to the wallet. Many of the options are overpriced, such as the costs of fruit, salads, and packaged sandwiches; however, the handmade deli sandwiches taste great!

    Dorm Life

    Drew's dorms are not as highly praised as the academic rigor. Dorm costs are relatively high given conditions that are average to below average. Despite the dorm downfalls, students find opportunities to enjoy their time living on campus. There are several club and dorm activities held throughout the week that offer the students their much needed break from academic strain. Like every college, there are parties, but it is each student's responsibility to recognize his or her limit and what is expected of him or her past the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Drew University, as mentioned before, thrives on its academic foundation. The students are tested to their ability and expectations. Coming to class, participating, and reviewing are what is expected from each and every student. Drew challenges its students with every imaginable form of evaluation: group and individual projects and presentations, critical essays, rigorous exams, even long class hours. Student ability and capability is put to the test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students; come to this university willing, organized, calm. This is not the average college. Do not expect all fun and games; if that is what one wishes to participate in, find another campus. Drew's small and quiet neighborhood location encourages a calm mind and relaxed spirit. In order to keep up with the school's momentum of assignments, etc, one must be in tune with his/her expectations and academic goals. One must be aware of what he/she desires to gain from attending this university. Come to Drew ready to learn, ready to be put to the test, ready for academic explorations.

    In three sentences

    Drew University is a small, diverse, and intensive study community that encourages and supports its students to engage in academic discussions (whether spoken or written) to foster and develop their intellect. Drew's small environment is crucial to its stability and success in working with students and their abilities. This university asks much from is students, and in order to succeed, they as well must give their 110% effort.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Saftey is ok, it depends which officer responds to your call. My first experience with public safety was not a good one, because my friend got sick and the officers had no idea what to ask or what they were looking for. My other friend had his laptop stolen out of his locked room. I kept my car on campus and it was completely safe- nothing ever happened to it. They love writing tickets though.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was involved in over 5 clubs on campuses, and they're great. I was always busy and barely had any down time, and I loved it.

    What to do for fun

    The surrounding town has restaurants and a movie theater within walking distance, and a bowling alley a little farther down. There is always stuff going on around campus at night during the week.

    Food and Dining

    People always complain about the commons, but you just have to be able to pick around the bad stuff. We have a snack bar which makes really good food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life as a freshman is horrible. I lived in Welch/ Holloway, which is the worst on campus. The bathrooms were gross, the showers disgusting, and the hallways always smelled.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are challenging. There are a few that seem pointless, like the freshman seminar, however there are plenty of other classes to help out. All professors are available and most are very easy to be related to.

  • 04/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Theatre and Poli Sci majors whose family can afford the tuition or who can get a lot of financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you like a small school environment, and that you can afford the tuition. I strongly advise students not to go deeply into debt to attend Drew.

    Bang for the buck

    Drew is the most expensive school in New Jersey at $52,500 (not including books) for the 2011-2012 year. It's just not worth it, particularly considering all the BS that Drew students have to deal with with the school's administration. To make matters worse, scholarships and merit aid has decreased in recent years.

    Did enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful (heavily wooded, old buildings), but outside of academics, Drew is disappointing. There's a lot of red-tape, some departments (e.g., health services, public safety) are quite unprofessional, and the social life is often poor.

    Did learn a lot

    Drew is excellent academically. Most classes are small, and professors are very dedicated and very accessible. The Theater and Political Science departments are outstanding.

  • 09/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drew is great for people that want a small community with a personal and intimate feel. If you take advantage of all the opportunities given to you, you will excel at Drew, but you don't have to! Drew is also a great place for people who are laid back and looking for a great school with good people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, it is beautiful! Stay with an ambassador for the weekend and really get the college experience. Be open with your ambassador about what you want and what you plan to do while at Drew and they will introduce you to people and show you what you can expect at Drew.

    Bang for the buck

    Drew is quite expensive. I know they give out lots of scholarships, but without help you are going to be in debt.

    Did enjoy being here

    Don't be fooled by people who say everyone goes home on the weekends. I loved Drew because the option to go home was there and pretty much every Junior and Senior has a car on campus. But because I was involved in clubs at Drew I was always busy. There are so many activities going on at Drew that you could be busy with something new every day!

    Did learn a lot

    I loved the small class sizes at Drew and the one-on-one attention I received from my professors as well as other members of the staff and faculty. You can even meet with the President if you want! I wouldn't change anything about my education and recommend taking advantage of all the Drew has to offer--I studied abroad 3 times while I was there!

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    intelligent Liberal friendly outdoorsy laid back accepting intellectually diverse

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out an meet as many people as you can here , we're all pretty chill.

    Bang for the buck

    Academically, socially,and in-terms of location Drew is great. That being said it is also REALLY EXPENSIVE, This year's tuition is about $43,000.00 .for that expense you'd expect that the food would be better, however that is not the case! in fact the food at Drew is *cough* AWFUL *cough*, and despite student (and parent) outcry on the matter, and the availability of alternative food services companies the administration refuses to drop Aramark as our food provider. However if you can look past the food, cost, and administrative bureaucracy, Drew is an outstanding school in fun, friendly, and diverse environment. I can confidently say, from experience, most prospective students will really enjoy it here!

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment at Drew is AMAZING!! Everybody is really friendly and we're always happy to accept new people! Although we aren't a party school by any means we do have our fair share of fun parties that occur just about every weekend. If you aren't in to the party scene that's okay too, because there are plenty of places on campus for you to hang out friends or just be alone even. Aside from the people, the campus it's self is also pretty cool, It's basically surrounded by forest (our school's nickname is The University in the Forest). The wildlife on campus is like a 24 hour nature documentary, It's pretty entertaining. However if you want to spend a day outside of the campus it's a less than 10 minute walk into down town Madison NJ. and about a 45 minute train ride to NYC.

    Am learning a lot

    The Class sizes are small, so your professors actually have time to speak with you and get to know you. They (the profs.) also really care about seeing you succeed academically, and seem to genuinely love their jobs!

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities or fraternities but there are theme houses, which are just as fun and even more friendly.

    What to do for fun

    There are some great activities organized by RAs almost every week. There are some free movie nights, planned events off campus (such as horseback riding, Six Flags, trip to Manhattan, etc). There are parties for the wilder crowd, and always something fun to do and people to do it with.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best, but there's always something edible around campus. You just need to know when and where.

    Dorm Life

    People are so friendly, and it's really a family.

    Academic Rigor

    Drew classes challenge you, but with all the help around, you will not get lost unless you so choose so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek help when you need it, because there are a number of people at Drew to help. Don't leave anything for the last minute, especially not when it comes to financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Drew is a great place to figure out what field of study best suits you. It's small enough to get to know your professors and vice versa, but big enough to meet a large number of people. The services and help available is great.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Round the clock security and officials checking dorms and buildings at night

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities ranging from community service to films, comics, and video games

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student from the theoretical and scientific to literary scholars and artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A place with a few hauntings on campus and in dorms

    What to do for fun

    There's always going to team games and going to the movies at the local theater in town.

    Food and Dining

    High class dining, plenty of restaurants and bakeries available in town.

    Dorm Life

    I think there great also based on what other students have said. Personally I am unfamiliar because I am a transfer student.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be challenging but rewarding. High criteria for graduation but many opportunities for extracurriculars, and fun that can be had attending classes not key to your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a study group, remember when the registration dates are so as not to lose opportunity in applying for new classes.

    In three sentences

    Drew offers a wide variety of opportunities for aspiring individuals. The science program is vast and there are research opportunities that would benefit many. Its a great place for many types of individuals, seeking education, opportunity and friendship.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some of the officers are very good and do their job excellently. Generally... can be improved.

    Greek Life

    NONE. Hahaha yeah. None whatsoever.

    Clubs and Activities

    Literary clubs, sport clubs, music groups, cultural groups, fan clubs, the whole array is endless. And if one you want isn't there already, then you can always make one yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds, Gays, Theater majors, pretty much anyone and everyone. Drew is a very accepting campus and you'll find someone, if not a group, that will share and support your interests and goals.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually events happening every so often, or you could always walk down the hill to Madison and go to the cinemas, get ice cream, and such (or be like me and my friends, and have a party in Stop and Shop).

    Food and Dining

    We are still trying to get them to improve the food.

    Dorm Life

    This depends from building to building. There are a total of 13 dorms on campus, each with pros and cons of their own. Some of the buildings do not have air conditioning, which is brutal in the early fall and late spring, but hopefully with renovations, that will be improved. Some of the oldest buildings, like Hoyt and Asbury, are haunted, with some ghosts wandering about the campus and changing locations. TB Circle tends to get loud on the weekends, and Hoyt as well. McClendon is the newest dorm building, and probably the best one to live in (upperclassmen).

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what courses you are taking and what professors you have. Some prefer to have reading due every class and lecture the entire class period, while others have homework due and in-class discussions. It also varies on how many papers are due and how many tests that are assigned, but getting to know your professors is very easy because of the low professor to student ratio present (most classes do not exceed 30, and it gets even smaller as you progress to the upper level courses).

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the offices of the campus aren't necessarily the fastest, or the most coherent, so you have to be persistent on if you want to be certain that you get what you need. Be cautious if systems are changed - things can get hectic! (Also there are ghosts everywhere, so it'd be advisable to coexist XD they're relatively harmless though).

    In three sentences

    Drew is a very tightly knit community, and is incredibly liberal on most social issues. The range of different majors present on the campus provide for a very distinctly diverse setting. The small campus is beautiful and convenient, and it's very easy to get accustomed to.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not all the paths are well lit at night, but regardless, safety is one of Drew's strong points. The campus is located in a nice area with a low crime rate, and I have never felt threatened or concerned about my safety. As a female student, I feel completely confident roaming the campus at night by myself. I feel very safe and comfortable here.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally I am not a member of any clubs at Drew, though there is a decent list to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Drew is a good fit for students with above average intelligence, and those who are socially awkward. There is also a large gay community on campus, and diverse/unusual lifestyles are well accepted. If you are looking for a typical college experience though, Drew is not really the place for that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Drew University campus is characterized predominately by brick buildings as well as some stone and wooden ones which share consistent architectural designs, and these structures exist within a “forest” atmosphere; however, it is a tame forest. Asphalt paths traverse the campus and break up the sprawling green grass and tall trees into isolated segments. The usual layers of composting twigs and leaves have been cleared from the forest floor making it seem tidy. There is a decent balance between natural and man-made things on campus, and it is an overall beautiful place. Besides humans, squirrels are the most abundant creatures on the campus and they can often be seen foraging or quarreling with one another, sometimes raiding garbage bins and carting apples, oranges or bagels up into their tree holes. In the spring the air fills with the aroma of Drew's beautiful flowering trees. Personally, one of my favorite activities is going for strolls along the paths here.

    Bang for the buck

    While the courses and professors are great, overall I really do not think Drew University is worth its absurd tuition rates, and not worth the student loan debt. If you really want to go here for some reason, my advice would be to start college at a cheaper school first, get general education requirements out of the way, and then transfer to Drew if a particular department here interests you. The business office at Drew is particularly difficult, so I would warn parents of prospective students that they might wind up tearing their hair out over dealings with them.

    What to do for fun

    A visiting friend of mine asked me what Drew's parties were like, and someone replied, What Drew Parties? On campus there are technically events every weekend, although they are not usually very big, and in town very little is available for college students to do. All the shops are oriented towards upper-middle class, middle-aged people which makes a lot of places beyond the college-student price range. However, there is a movie theater in town as well as a train station, so New York City is easily accessible to all Drew Students.

    Food and Dining

    I would go so far to say that Drew University is a food desert, providing low quality and low availability food. There is only one conveniencestore on campus but it only sells junk food, and the Commons (aka the school cafeteria) will make it a challenge for you to eat healthy. Breakfast consists of greasy sausage, scrambled egg, and chicken nuggets, which literally (as told by a member of the dining services) are the same brand of chicken nuggets used by McDonald's. The food options don't get much better from there, and the freshman 15 is a guarantee because there are not enough healthy dining options. Vegetarians and Vegans in particular will starve at this school. The meal plan is enforced, so all students are stuck paying money for the horrible food at Drew. I have a hand full of friends with sensitive stomachs who get sick regularly off of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Rooms/accommodations range from not bad to quite nice. I lived in Holloway my freshman and sophomore year and now live in a McLendon Suite, and so far have been happy with all of my living arrangements. If you are a light sleeper, seek out accommodations on a quiet floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses and professors at Drew range from good to excellent (I adore all of my professors in the Anthropology department). Many classes will challenge you but the workload is usually not too bad, although that really depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering coming to Drew, the main positive points I will highlight are the courses, the professors, and the quiet, peaceful campus. The main negative points I will stress are the food/dining services, unnecessarily high tuition rates, and the lack of things to do in town. Be careful not to become isolated; since there is not always a lot to do, it is easy to end up in your room most of the time, so explore clubs and on-campus events. Utilize the train station in Madison and visit New York City. To do well academically, it's more important to learn your professors (and how they grade) than it is to learn your textbooks. If you figure out specifically what they are looking for, you can cater to that.

    In three sentences

    Drew University's course offerings and professors are fantastic; however, social opportunities and food availability are unfortunately lacking. The campus is beautiful but somewhat isolated, located in a safe, middle-upper class town which is nice but a bit pricey for a college student. The students themselves are mostly intelligent, out-of-the-box thinkers but many lack the ability to read social cues, and a number of my acquaintances have remarked that Drew is a bit strange.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety staff is always patrolling campus and on the look out for anyone that may need assistance. I feel very safe at Drew University.

    Greek Life

    There is little Greek life to speak of, something I appreciate as I was often warned in high school of the trouble fraternities and sororities often get into while partying a little too hard. Instead, we have theme houses which unite students that share similar interests and wish to raise awareness of a particular issue through community outreach. The only Greek letter societies we have here are for civil engagement and honors societies for various fields of study.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to engage in at Drew. We have a Humans vs. Zombies game every semester, in which students are stunned by Nerf guns and others are running for their lives. We also have bowling nights, movie nights, and plenty of dorm activities that RA's frequently surprise us with.

    Food and Dining

    The mess hall offers a nice variety of food, including vegetarian and gluten-free options. However, if you're eating there all the time, it can get redundant and the food isn't always up to par. However, there are quite a few restaurants a short walk from campus that have excellent quality food.

    Dorm Life

    Their roommate matching for first-years turned up amazing results for me. My roommate is as close to a perfect match as I think I could ever get and we have never had any problems getting along. Quiet hours are also a nice addition and substance-free floors are a plus. The only complaint I have is that some reinforcement of the quiet hours would be nice. For the most part, other students are very conscious of their peers and try not to make too much noise, but there's always a few times per semester where someone gets rowdy.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors at Drew are simply fantastic. I have not had a professor yet that has not been willing to give extra help whenever it's needed or turn down a student that wishes to discuss a topic they are interested in. Occasionally, the grading may be a little harsh, but it is always fair. Drew professors give credit where credit is due.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to thoroughly explore the scholarships Drew University has to offer. They really do have fantastic financial aid packages. And the best thing you can do for yourself is get involved around campus and in your local community.

    In three sentences

    Drew University offers students the opportunity to expand their horizons with liberal arts while learning marketable skills such as critical thinking, professional writing, and problem solving. At Drew University, students often find their views challenged and explored more in depth, allowing them to not only learn more about themselves but also about the world around them. Boasting a beautiful campus and an excellent liberal learning experience, Drew is a pretty tight-knit community that, while there is an emphasis on academics, really knows how to make the college experience fun.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't attended so I can't say what the food is like but I was wondering do we have to have a meal plan?

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure.. Any advice??

    Academic Rigor

    Seems like my kind of college. I haven't attended yet but from what I've read Drew is hard on academics but I love a challenge and nothing is better than paying for what you're actually getting, a priceless and valuable education.

    In three sentences

    I have recently been accepted into Drew and im extremely excited but SCARED!! Being a young country girl from Kentucky I'm not really sure what to expect. My main concern is if I'll be able to afford it? They offer excellent financial aid but where do I find $25,000 without going into debt??

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus, however, the security really isn't that tight. While you can't necessarily drive onto campus after a certain hour, anyone can walk on and off unnoticed.

    Greek Life

    We have theme houses instead of Greek life. Examples of these are Earth House (concerned with the environment), Women's Concerns (feminist house), Asia Tree House, Spirituality House, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are basically clubs for whatever your interested in, and it's very easy to get a club started if they don't offer what you want.

    Great for these types of students

    The Chinese department is amazing. We also have an award winning theatre program. We're very dedicated to the arts. We also have a great Biology department.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have TOE which is The Other End. It's a little hang out where you can listen to music and order nachos and milkshakes. It's great for cheap, late night snacks.

    Bang for the buck

    Drew is way overpriced, however, I wouldn't transfer. The friends I've made and the professors here are worth it in some way. I cannot stress enough how influential the professors have been to my education here. They are amazing and they really care. I haven't had one bad professor yet.

    What to do for fun

    Club life is fun at Drew. I'm the Marketing Director for Film Club and it's awesome. We take trips into New York City for film festivals and have weekly movies to watch and discuss. I'm also Secretary for Art History Club which is also a blast. We take trips to different museums and it's a great experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely horrible. It is almost inedible. Sometimes the only thing to eat is cereal. The Commons is disgusting. It's not clean and we always have to check our plates and utensils before we use them to make sure they're clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. They aren't gorgeous, but the Resident Attendants are friendly. However, there aren't many good parties, so be prepared to watch a lot of movies.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very stimulating and the work is hard, but it is well worth it and it feels extremely satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes that you're interested in. College is a time to learn about what you want to learn about. You're paying a lot of money, so you need to enjoy your time here.

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing; they're the best I've ever had. The campus is absolutely gorgeous, but the food is horrible. It is extraordinarily and ridiculously pricey.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs to choose from and from what I've seen and heard, there is always something to do on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Who love small class sizes and want a great education.

    What to do for fun

    NYC is an hour train ride away. So there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I've visted campus twice but only had the chance to eat in the commons once during the accpeted students day. They have a great deal to choose from. They also have vegan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms seem to be pretty much the same here as they are at most colleges. Freshman dorms do not have AC, which could suck during the summer months.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus and ask a ton of questions when there. Take your time as well when walking around the campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. It's small and you could never tell you are right out side Morristown and Madison.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened on campus, as the public safety is constantly patrolling. The RAs do not let people without IDs inside, creating a safe environment. The area surrounding Drew has a very low crime rate.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus, but we do have theme houses (people with common interests living together). This makes for a friendly environment where everybody feels welcome.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are very active on campus, making sure that everybody feels that there is a place for them. Clubs range from all ends of the spectrum; no one's beliefs are rejected.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for students who are open-minded to new experiences. The location is a bit isolated, thus making it necessary to get to know fellow students. Drew is without doubt for the outgoing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are plenty haunted buildings on campus, as well as a stunning nature preserve. In addition, the athletic facilities are high quality.

    Bang for the buck

    The only reason I do not give a five is the price of the school. It is definitely a difficult thing for most people, but if one does attend the university it is well worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    The town in which Drew is located is a small northern New Jersey town named Madison. There are incredible shops around town, including a renowned ice cream parlor. Madison gives a great homey feel.

    Food and Dining

    The dining options at Drew are less than stellar, but the university is attempting to improve them. The food is not inedible, but not incredible. If you do not expect a lot in regards to food, you will not be disappointed.

    Dorm Life

    I have enjoyed my experience in the dorms at the school a great amount. The freshman dorms are above average, and the upperclassman dorms come with amenities including personal bathrooms and air conditioning. The social scene in the dorms is amazing, in addition to the modern lounges.

    Academic Rigor

    I have felt challenged at the university, but not to a crazy extent. Professors go out of their way to aid students in finding exactly their place in the system, giving them a sense of comfort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell a prospective student that they need to come to Drew with an open mind. While the small town of Madison can feel a little quiet, Drew is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    Drew University is a school that celebrates individuality. As a transfer here, I have found myself very welcome by both students and staff. Drew makes a huge effort to help you find yourself.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is very good, and you constantly feel safe. Sometimes they are a little too tight sometimes, but for the most part they are reasonable.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for everything it seems, and they all have good budgets and are actively involved at Drew.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to be involved, work hard, travel abroad, make connections, and want an active environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The haunted tunnels beneath one of the dorms are always fun to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is really expensive, and part of it is due to all the renovations. Drew is always working on making the school better and more efficient, and there's a lot of work being done right now. Some of the professors are top-notch experts in their fields and are more than qualified to teach. The price seems really expensive for a small school, but there is a lot that the school does.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs will often host event, and the University Planning Board has something almost every weekend for students to do. Going into town there are places to eat, hang out, and see movies. The train station is a 10 minute walk, and about 45 minutes away from NYC if you choose to go on a day trip.

    Food and Dining

    It's a hit or miss in the main dining hall, sometimes there are multiple options, all of which look good. Other times the main meals do not look appetizing, but there are always other options. having multiple places to get food helps as well because there is always somewhere open with food available.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman buildings are hot, but every other dorm has air conditioning. The social life on the floors is usually very warm and open, and it's easy to make new friends. The bathrooms are usually pretty clean, and the communal bathrooms are not as bad as most people think they are.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough sometimes, and the teachers do not baby you. Some courses require a lot of outside effort, research, and reading to help the student get the most out of a class. There are not a lot of projects and exams, but when they come, they're meant to challenge the student and push them to their limits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, the teachers want you to do well, but yo have to work for it. Get involved, there are so many amazing groups that will help you get to know different people. Take risks and take classes you would never imagine taking before.

    In three sentences

    Possesses an amazing learning atmosphere. Offers many classes pertaining to multiple different interests. Holds a friendly and fun environment for student activities.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots and lots of extracurricular activities. In my case, I play intramural soccer with a group of friends. I also do zumba two times a week. I form part of the Wind Ensemble and we have one concert per semester. And of course there a lot more of activities to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I cannot say the best about Drew's food. Sometimes when big holidays come, you enjoy delicious feasts. Unfortunately there are days that you will not want to eat, because of the quality of the food. Most of time is good thou.

    Dorm Life

    In the beginning I thought that the transition to smaller rooms was going to be very hard. After a couple of day I could say that I adapted to college dorm life. The people I lived with, were very nice and sociable.

    Academic Rigor

    Drew challenges to do your best all the time. Challenging work and readings will be part of this college experience. As stated earlier complete dedication is required.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend this school to upcoming students. In order to keep up with the pace, the students have to dedicate completely to their studies.

    In three sentences

    Excellent student to professor ratio. Science programs are unique because of the fact that is a small school. After my first year I could say that drew has completely changed my life.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Food and Dining

    Great options, mediocre quality.

    Dorm Life

    Actual dorm life is great. Over 90% of the student body lives on campus so there's always something to do. The downside are actually the dorms. While some dorms are nice, when looking at some comparable private colleges it seems that they live in luxury compared to us.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors are clearly more difficult to achieve than others (ie. biochemistry compared to spanish), but as a student who has taken many courses in languages, the arts, social sciences and natural sciences--I have always been challenged in the best possible ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Always appeal for more financial aid--they have more to give than they lead on! 2) Get involved in clubs on campus 3) Get to know the professors; it's a small school--take advantage!

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sadly, there is no greek like at Drew. The only organization on campus is the co-ed volunteer fraternity Alpha Phi Omega.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is amazing for science majors and theater majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The last Saturday before exams Spring Semester is known as Sloppy Saturday, where we have so much fun with games and prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    Drew is a very expensive school so be very cautious when you decide to invest in Drew.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things you can do extracurricularly. There are intramural sports and various clubs ranging from an all-male a cappella group to an anime club. And, if you are unsatisfied with the variety of clubs, you can star your own.

    Food and Dining

    The quality and variety of food at Drew, I believe, is excellent. However, the reason behind the low score is because you are actually getting ripped off if you pay for board as a resident student. You are actually paying more per meal than the regular price. Also, the system in place is a rip off. I get ten meals a week because that is the option I chose. Whether or not I eat ten meals a week does not matter because I still pay for all ten meals. The meals you miss do not roll over until the end of the semester. Other schools give you a set number of meals per semester to use whenever you like. However, Drew intentionally scams you out of money with this system.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are small, unfortunately. But, upperclassmen housing is VERY nice, so that is something to look forward to. Also, the night life at Drew is not the greatest, but Fairleigh Dickinson is just up the street for more parties.

    Academic Rigor

    With this section, it is definitely relative. Since I am a science major, I know that there is plenty of competition and academic rigor available. I am not very sure about other majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to visit the school, make sure you ask specifically about internships and opportunities for the major that you are interested in, so that you may have some sense of what Drew has to offer for you. Also, try to sample the food to see if you'd be able to tolerate it. Personally, I like it but everyone is different.

    In three sentences

    Drew University has a very welcoming environment with great science and theatre arts programs. It has a small-knit community, which is great for getting to know professors. However, the steep price tag may be a turn off for those money conscious people.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything! New York City is close by and the school has a lot of events on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best but the school is working on improving. They love hearing suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm life! I suggest living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You must dedicate a lot of time to school work and studying. Although the curriculum is rigorous, the professors are more then happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to get involved. School is what you make it and if you try to become a part of the community, you'll have the time of your life. The opportunities are endless.

    In three sentences

    Excellent University for not only academics but social life as well. Students make great connections with faculty, staff, and alumni. The school is diverse and accepting of everyone in the community.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are countless student groups and activities to get involved in on campus, ranging from sports and recreation to performing arts to groups that take political and ethical stands. There are also many volunteer groups that provide excellent experiences and networking tools for students. The campus is also only a short 15 minute walk from the train station, so a fun night or weekend out in New York is always an option.

    Food and Dining

    Food options could certainly use improvement. It is presented in a buffet style, so food is commonly not as fresh as you would hope. However, healthy eating options are always available (including a salad and fruit bar).

    Dorm Life

    Your living space is as good as you make it. Drew offers nice living spaces. It's up to you and your peers to respect your home and take care of it.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the student body encompasses a wide range of students fresh out of high school, everybody is brought up to the same level of rigor by the end of freshman year. From the start of your college experience, professors hold high standards in order to drive their students to success. This is what makes a degree from Drew University so valuable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to approach your professor about extra work outside of class. As a science major, this is how I have landed all my research positions. I have heard from friends that the same is true for theatre and performing arts majors as well.

    In three sentences

    This liberal arts school has plenty of opportunities for students of all fields of study. There is a small student body, allowing for more personal experiences one-on-one with professors and experts from the field. At Drew, I have a large group of supportive friends to share countless memories with while striving to achieve my career goals.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    from 1-10. 9

    Greek Life

    they have one

    Clubs and Activities

    great number, a lot of opportunities for full time students

    Great for these types of students

    student studying sciences, and government related majors, as well as English,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    people say that the school is hunted. I have not seen anything as of now.

    Bang for the buck

    Drew is a great school I guaranteed it one hundred percent. everybody tries to help you be were you need to be.

    What to do for fun

    trips

    Food and Dining

    you can live with it

    Dorm Life

    great

    Academic Rigor

    hard but good

    Tips for prospective students

    learn lo love the environment

    In three sentences

    it is peaceful. A lot of trees. I'm more than sure that you decided to attend you will love.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NO greek life just theme houses!

    Bang for the buck

    WAYYY EXPENSIVE and wont let u in if u owe too much more than 800 dollars u cant check in.

    What to do for fun

    lots of activities, clubs and social events.

    Food and Dining

    Through time you either get used to it or it gets better! Lol

    Dorm Life

    NO AC!!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are so nice!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage time wisely Be prepared to come into such a friendly atmosphere

    In three sentences

    This school is great. The school is nicknamed The Forest. It has some deers and squirrels around the campus. The school is peaceful and just a good environment to study.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around, and are very helpful. However, they can be a bit of a pain in the butt sometimes. The campus is not dry, so alcohol is allowed to be possessed by students who are of age.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent! We do not have Greek Life here at Drew, however, we have Theme Houses and many of the sports teams live together on or off campus. These substitute the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club or activity for everyone! Cultural, sports, arts, and other interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, intelligent, artsy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tipple Pond is a pond that is created when there is a large amount of rain. It is said that each student should swim in Tipple Pond at least once during their time at Drew. The campus is also the 3rd most haunted campus in the country. Spooky!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, you could probably go to a respectable school for cheaper, but Drew does offer a lot of scholarships. I barely pay anything but I am still struggling. The education Drew offers is highly respected, however, you will wonder how certain classmates were accepted (there is a high acceptance rate).

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on, and when there aren't, Madison is a cute town to shop or dine in. Morristown is a $4 roundtrip train ride away and New York is $22 round trip and an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, you will hear everyone complain about the food. You won't think it's so bad during your first month, but after that, it's awful. Invest in a meal plan with points.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of crappy but living on campus is one of the ultimate rites of passage.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes require your full attention. Don't expect an easy A here, there is no hand-holding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Invest in a meal plan that has points (the food isn't very good). To be accepted, you should have a decent GPA, but they look more even at your community service.

    In three sentences

    Drew University is very diverse. The professors are all graduates of Ivy League institutions. The work is challenging and enjoyable.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Top 5 most hunted campus in the US.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for an overnight if you aren't totally convinced. Have an interview, it will put you on top of the admissions process.

    In three sentences

    Student centered. Feels like home. Very supportive for all student needs.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    My friends and I get together to hang out or attend parties or go bowling. We enjoy each other and being that some of us are from other states, we share stories.

    Food and Dining

    There is one dining common on campus. You get to meet up with friends during breakfast, lunch or dinner. They offer a variety of dining options. The only problem is that you cannot take food outside of the commons, even if you are running late to class. Many students wish they offer a better variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are co-ed and the students seem to get along well. Upon my arrival and being a freshman, there were students and resident assistants available to help me move in and give me direction until I became familiar with the campus. The rooms are large enough to accommodate one or two students.

    Academic Rigor

    The school offer numerous programs that students can earn a degree in. The classes are not overcrowded, which makes a difference when seeking assistance. The courses are not complex but challenging enough where you can achieve the course outcomes and learning assessments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seeking our schools that offer the major you plan to pursue. Be ready to feel homesick if you attend a school far away from home. Get involved in activities and be ready to make new friends. I found this to help with feeling homesick and making my college experience enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    This school is providing me with the skills I need to become a successful actress. I love the location because it is 30 minutes from New York, where I can visit to learn more about Broadway and acting opportunities. The instructors are knowledgeable in the areas they teach and helpful to students in comprehending the subjects.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Generally Public Safety are always available. You can contact them at anytime during the night or day.They are here to serve us. Public safety is here to assist in little problems to big problems. They have several public safety trucks driving around campus to make sure things are in order.

    Greek Life

    No greek life here at Drew. Drew replaces greek life with this idea of a theme house. Each theme house on campus promotes an awareness of some sort to the Drew community. Fostering the key ideas of a specific country, culture, or moral. You will find several theme houses throwing events around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A bunch of clubs are here on campus. You can look that up by going to www.drew.edu and searching for clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Some events would be 1) Sloppy Saturday 2) Haunted House 3) Masquerave Party 4) Luau Party 5) Kuumba Party 6) Fashion Show 7) Open Mic Night

    Bang for the buck

    VERY EXPENSIVE! Drew is a great school overall regards to it's problems. I know for sure that I chose the right school. Several set backs from first semester put me in a position I will not discuss but I did step out of my rut second semester. The tuition may seem a little pricey for some but don't let it ruin your chances of attending. You're always welcome here on our campus and we value everyone who steps foot on this campus. Drew makes anyone feel at home. Drew University, although not an ivy league has rigorous academics that challenges the mind, body and spirit of an individual. Fostering learning and growth through innovative ways that each student can share with.

    What to do for fun

    With a 10 minute walking distance into town from campus, you're left amazed with how many stores in a small town. Everything generally is in walking distance and food stores are opened late for the late night college student. As well as the train station which you can utilize if you want to travel elsewhere such as New York bridging the gap of endless possibilities it has to offer. On weekends several parties are being thrown so it's not a boring campus. You can generally find something to do if you know where to look and who to contact in that regard.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall here at Drew is not really tasteful. Everyday the school offers a variety of foods. We, the students believe that the food is not cooked to perfection which causes several people to use the bathroom abnormally.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is beyond what you can expect from just watching movies relating to college. Here at Drew we are a tight knit community and we have developed a bond like no other to the point where we are all considered a family. We take on the best of the best, to the worse of the worse each and everyday. No matter what we may go through we still can laugh together, cry together, and share great memories.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic portion of the school is very strong. Faculty are always available to guide you and listen to any of your concerns. You're amazed with how many professors are willing to talk to you even if they don't have you as a student. When midterms and finals come around the school sends a campus wide email enforcing QUIET HOURS which are 24 hours due to the fact that people take their academics seriously and would like to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students entering Drew should be prepared to work from the very first day of class. Come into school with a positive attitude, and if you find yourself struggling at any point during the course of the semester, don't be afraid to contact the Professor.They are here to help. They don't want to see a child fail. Don't come to Drew expecting to do great when all you're worried about is partying every weekend, drinking etc. This school is not a dry campus but it also looks bad on the student when officials see you. Always remember that people are watching you and you have to set a good impression because your first impression sticks.

    In three sentences

    Drew gets a 7.5/10. Needs to focus on renovating its tuition, and lack of diversity on campus. Food needs to improve since more students are getting sick off of it.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The members of the campus safety team don't want to be nameless, faceless security guards. They want students to be comfortable with coming to them for help, asking them questions, and even dropping by to have a chat.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want your faculty and staff to also be people that you can trust and really rely on, this school is the place for you. If you want to feel that you can trust the people around you, this is the school for you. If you want a college where you feel comfortable being yourself, Drew is the school for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities offered by the Student Activities Committee, that the only reason a student wouldn't leave campus would be because they couldn't decide which activity they wanted to do more. The town just a few minutes from the school houses a number of shops, restaurants, and a movie theater for some nearby good times.

    Food and Dining

    There are a WIDE variety of foods so even the pickiest eater can find something to appease their appetite.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms can be small, but the dorms provide a great way to meet and befriend fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes appear to be challenging and are taught by teachers who really want students to know and understand the lessons.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are on the fence about applying or attending, visit the campus. The immediate essence of the Drew campus will tell you right away whether or not it is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    The campus is big and beautiful with lovely trees and lovelier buildings. The faculty and staff are friendly and truly want the best for the students. The students are friendly and make up a tight-knit community.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's one of those schools where you can leave your phone and stuff on your table in the cafeteria when you get food and have no fear of it being touched let alone stolen.

    Greek Life

    There is non, which is a pro in that everybody knows and is friendly with everybody.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs in which people are very active, but between budget cuts and poor policies that have recently been enacted such as charging clubs to rent rooms ON CAMPUS, and not allowing students to drive students for club activities (which causes them to have to raise extra money to get transportation and a driver) the school has made it difficult to have a well functioning club.

    Great for these types of students

    Theater students, LGBT students, people looking to focus on just school, or who do not drink.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is gorgeous, but not that unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is an expensive school, but they offered a lot of scholarship opportunity. It would be better if the meal plan was not mandatory and there was more off campus housing.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley down the street and a movie theater. There are also some nice restaurants near by, but for the most part its a quiet little town with not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    For such an expensive school the food is TERRIBLE.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright, a little on the small side but hey, its a dorm. Because it is a small school with little to no people living off campus there is very little partying compared to a lot of other universities which can be a good thing.

    Academic Rigor

    Great, dedicated professors. The classes have been my favorite part of the school, the professors really make learning enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like theater this is a good school. The school is a bit of a nanny school in that it doesn't give much real life experience between the mandatory meal plan and the lack of off campus housing.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful school with great academics and professors. The school has some absurd policies and terrible food. The town it is in is really boring.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drew is a smaller campus, anytime I have been there there are always patrol cars around. I felt incredibly safe every time. I am looking forward to my education there.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a DREAM.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Instead of Greek Life, Drew offers some very interesting housing options. I will be living in the Earth House for example. This is great because it allows you to live with people you have things in common with, instead of just going because you are a legacy.

    Bang for the buck

    Drew offers many Study Abroad programs that are very reasonably priced! Take advantage of this and travel the world!!

    What to do for fun

    Drew is only a 47 minute train ride from NYC, therefore, there is ALWAYS something to do!! Also, Drew has a wonderful athletic department. I am extremely excited to play Field Hockey and Softball!

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet experienced any of the dining services on Campus. The town of Madison does have quite a few lovely little places. Their is a fabulous little Italian restaurant only a couple miles away that was delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Again, I do not yet live on campus, but my friend Hillary does. She was a commuter her first semester and just moved onto campus this year. She absolutely LOVES living on campus. She has advised me to live on campus, no question. I will undoubtably take her advice. There is just something different about being there for a full semester and enjoying the campus experience. When I took a tour of the school we did see a few of the dorms. They were larger than I anticipates and well furnished. I am excited to move onto campus this fall!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet studied at Drew, but from the research I have done it seems fair. The professors seem to make to push yourself and really think, however, they are always available. So if you need help or want to understand something a little more, they are there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are applying to Drew do not hold anything back. Drew, as a whole, has this burning desire to help students convert their dreams into reality. This is a smaller campus, which is AMAZING because every professor really gets to know their students. They are invested in every student's goals and life. Share your goals and dreams and talk to as many people as you can while you are there. Attend any and all the events leading up to your acceptance. Most of all, be positive!! This should be FUN!!

    In three sentences

    Drew is an incredibly well-rounded campus with a passionate focus on helping their students achieve their dreams. The campus is a completely different environment from other school that I have seen; one huge difference is that the professors truly KNOW each student and really care about their success. Drew also has a wonderful business program, including the Wall Street Semester, giving the students real world experiences.