Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Drury University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pre-Med, Pre-Optometry, Architecture, Music, Business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Drury is a great school! If you are interested in Medicine, be sure to go! They have a great reserved seating Pre-Med program. If you want to be an architect... then come here! We have a really great Architectural program, as well as Business and Music programs.

    Bang for the buck

    Drury's tuition is a fairly regular price for small liberal arts schools. It is a very good school and all their facilities are great!

    Am enjoying being here

    When I first came to Drury I just came for the Pre-Med program. What I didn't realize; though, was that it is a University that is so much more than that. It a University where you can learn a lot and still have GREAT fun! Everyone is down to earth and will make sure you have a great time, whoever you are.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are so focused on helping you. Since Drury is a smaller university it has smaller classes. It gives the professors more time to get to know each student individually and get to know how they think and learn best. When that is done it is simple for the professors to connect with you and teach you the way you learn the best!

  • 11/08/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly academic and talented degree seeking students

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus, you'll love it!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone wanting a small campus and a quality education

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the admissions counselors. They are extremely helpful and will answer any question you may have! They can also set up a tour of the campus for you. Come and visit and you will fall in love!

    Bang for the buck

    Drury is a great school, but it can be a little expensive. Especially if you live on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is great! I love the fact that it's small and you get to know a lot of the people here. It's a great environment! I wouldn't want to be anywhere else!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are really helpful and take the time to make sure you understand the subject. If you are having trouble, they are more than willing to set up a time to help you outside of class.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe/secure campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Didn't belong to any clubs or participate in any other activities except the Innocent Project Clinic which was absolutely fascinating.

    Great for these types of students

    Online

    Bang for the buck

    I don't think there would have been any better education at any other online college.

    What to do for fun

    The new O'Reilly Center has some top name entertainment and Drury students get a chance to buy tickets before the general public.

    Food and Dining

    My degree was earned online.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Online classes are very fast paced and the workload of the 8 week classes is double that of the 16 week ones but it was not difficult for me to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch your student loans very carefully. You could run out of aid before you have completed your degree and the financial aid department will not tell you in time to do anything about it.

    In three sentences

    The educational opportunity here is wonderful. I am 9 credit hours from receiving a bachelor's degree in criminal justice/psychology and have had very few problems. The advisory staff is great to work with.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university is just north of Springfield's downtown, but the campus is private so soliciting is illegal. The security officers patrol all hours of the day/night and there is a Springfield Police Station on campus. You can call the security office for escorts at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are student clubs for every person! You name it, we've got it!

    Great for these types of students

    Drury is great for any student looking for a personalized education as well as making lasting friendships and having fun too!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The first tradition at Drury is our Convocation series. Speakers from all over the country come to give presentations on Thursday mornings. Another tradition is the Late Night Breakfast served during finals week at 10 p.m. A hot spot on campus is the Fraternity Quad. All the good parties are there.

    Bang for the buck

    Drury is expensive, but compared to the other area colleges, is totally worth it! The university is accredited with many great undergad opportunities, such as study abroad, which over 50% of students participate. It is also the perfect size. Not too big, where you are overwhelmed, but not too small so you do feel like you are in college.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, there are many events planned throughout the year by the Residence Life Association and the Student Government Association, along with sporting events. Nearby is the Springfield Downtown area which has many restaurants, bars, a movie theater, a vintage arcade and much more!

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining options on campus. The first is a cafeteria -style dining hall, which serves an array of food choices, including vegetarian/vegan options. The second is the CampusExchange (CX), which is more of a fast food style restaurant with very yummy meals. There are also many restaurants near campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms, but I have heard complaints that maintenance on the buildings is sometimes sub-par, and they are very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Once you declare your major and start upper level classes in that department, the classes become a little more challenging, but because the professors are helpful, success in them is achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Drury isn't cheap, but the education is worth it. If you value one-on-one work with teachers and a small, friendly environment, I would highly recommend it! Whether you know exactly what you want to major in or not, Drury is the perfect place. The academic advisers are extremely helpful!

    In three sentences

    Drury University is a small, private, liberal arts college in the heart of the Midwest. The area is beautiful and provides the perfect environment for a great education. The staff and faculty are very helpful and truly care about the education and success of their students.

  • 03/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The University really works with you to help you financially.

    Am enjoying being here

    The everyone on the campus is like a family.

    Am learning a lot

    You would be amazed with all the options you can study.

  • 11/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus!

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As found on the Drury website page safety and security, The Drury Department of Safety & Security is dedicated to maintaining a safe living and learning environment for all students and members of the Drury community. The department maintains 24-hour patrols of campus, investigates on-campus offense reports, and works with local law enforcement and emergency response personnel when necessary to ensure a safe campus. The Safety and Security Department is located in the Findlay Student Center 101, 900 North Benton Ave, Springfield, MO 65802. Students, parents, visitors, and employees are welcome to call at (417) 873-7400 or come by and visit. Drury is dedicated to crime prevention and reporting refer to: http://www.drury.edu/safetyandsecurity/pdf/CampusCrimeReport.pdf for all relative actions.

    Greek Life

    Drury University has both local and national fraternities on campus. Greeks host about 30% of Drury's population. These communities are dedicated to giving back to the community. They provide support to one another during school year through stress and strain. These communities are invaluable to campus life and an imperative part of the academic community. Brotherhood and sisterhood unite!!! Our on campus fraternal order consists of: Kappa Alpha, Lambda Chi Alpha, Sigma Nu, and Sigma Pi. They house anywhere from 23 to 26 men on campus. Drury's fraternities are known for their excellent parties and fund raisers. Do not miss the fraternal quad. As for the campus's sororities sisterhood they consist of: Delta Delta Delta, Kappa Delta, Pi Beta Phi and Zeta Tau Alpha. These networks of woman do not have a quad on campus, rather they have campus privileges superior to other student bodies. Such as, an entire suite on campus and newly designed. They have a choice to their own roommates, this way if, they would rather live with a sorority sister then, sorority sisters may opt to live with one another and, are not delegated roommates as strangers. These sorority suites on campus include, a foyer, a very charming social gathering room for tea and cookies, and a kitchen. They express their membership with flags and banners on the exterior of their suites to show their pride. Lastly, Sorority events are typically held off campus and sustain the campus environment. The fraternities are located on Fraternity Quad and the sororities are located on Freeman Hall. Visit at your leisure or call ahead and book an appointment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drury University offers sporting students a chance at a number of regionally sanctioned activities, such as, Ultimate Frisbee, soccer, tennis and hockey. Now, individual club sports have a distinct design and categorize each sport not to replicate one another. An example of this is club sport soccer that may require practice in mornings and evenings five days a week, whereas, club sport frisbee may require two nights practice a week only. Also, Drury offers club sports, international sports, and intramural sports. Thus, active students who love and endure sports must continue to acquire and pool their resources by good decision making habits about sport and game. Keeping in mind that time and academics may also intrude on sporting commitments hence gauging oneself level of intelligence and level of strength is also a desirable trait in choosing a club to join. As clubbing would have hoped Drury also has helpful student leaders and/or student advisors to assist in helping Drury students choose the best possible outcome for their clubbing needs and preferences. We like to see successful students involved with club activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Drury University offers a place for living on campus called Honors House. Honors House is a fantastic living condition for Honor's program students who have demonstrated, through their academic success, abilities unlike other achievers. Honors students at Drury University possessing these unique qualities and characteristics who apply and award may choose to live in this six bedroom house. Honors house has a parlor, as you knowâ?¦ six bedrooms, a kitchen, and two baths. This is an amazing house dedicated to preserving students who are authentic on the inside and out. God bless these men and woman for their achievements to fields they dominate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Only a decade after Civil War ended did, Drury's founders build this Congregationalist compound into a college, what is now considered Drury University. These war heroes chose Springfield as a divine are to grow both spiritually and mentally after this traumatic event. The collegeâ??s mission began with Nathan Morrison, first President to Drury's, whose main goal was minister to the healing of the horrid wounds made by civil war. (Church Affiliations, 2012.) Drury has maintained this fellowship on campus with the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Fellowship members and organizational leader meet for bible study the Potter House. Originally the DOC fellowship was held in the Drury School of Religion. This fellowship has remained a major influence and tradition of Druryâ??s heritage. (Church Traditions, 2012.) According to Drury, The DOC tradition emphasizes the integration of the theoretical and the practical. (Church Traditions, para, 4. 2012) Hence, influence by the Scottish School of Common Sense played an express role when they demonstrated how cold pragmatic leadership is a strict diplomatic implementation of both moral and religious experience. They were clear about the importance of human knowledge and discipline (Church Traditions, 2012.) Site: 1. Drury University. 2012. Church Affiliations. Retrieved: 12/25/2012. https://www.drury.edu/multinl/story.cfm?ID=3013&NLID=39 2. Drury University. 2012. Church Traditions. Retrieved: 12/25/2012. https://www.drury.edu/multinl/story.cfm?ID=3014&NLID=39

    Bang for the buck

    Drury offers online courses at $269.00 per unit, compared to Harvard $1000.00 per unit, Pennsylvania State University $574.00 per unit and, Cornell University at $764.00 per unit. This is by far a most affordable online campus offered at this rank, prestige, and honor. Not to mention our ability to create divinity privately in our homes, and in peaceful serenity.

    What to do for fun

    Findley Hall is where local and national bands come to play their hard rocking music. Rock band Nirvana once played in this dramatic arena. Sutherland Field is where you locate active students playing outdoor intramural sports, pick up frisbee, and touch football. Sutherland field also hosts outdoor movies for the buff in a lawn chair. Do not miss the July 4th's fireworks display! That is the most toxic event for the scientist inside, who has no fear of smoke and flamesâ?¦ alright so niceâ?¦ Blowe!!! Sutherland field is full of energy and ka boom! Springfield Hall is another place you will find the active student enjoying dance class and/or a play and/or a symphony. This is where the theatre is located and the studios stretch and pull at the hamstrings and gluteous maximus. Ahhhâ?¦ Feel and watch as the strength and beauty shines throughout this theatre. Just head on up to the second floor in southwing. Remember when all stretching and watching through go to the first floor to engage in our most elegant part of this dramatic experience. Sit downâ?¦ speak of love and laughter through a cup of coffee at the Campus eXchange. Talk of the beauty and art of human anatomy and how good humans look in theatre and how good we feel when we work out. Speak of the elegance and grace in every flowing movement and motion of dance and energy production. Make joy of our masterpieces and bask in their glory of refined skill. This is where amazing works are defined, you seeâ?¦ Coffee or tea?

    Food and Dining

    The Commons Dining Hall features rich robust buttery meals to health nutty grain and fiber meals. All of these choices center students options of food items such as, deli meats, cheeses, breads, warm comfort food, vegan entrees and vegetarian entrees, ethnic foods and tastes, wellness entrees, a fun salad bar, and a yummy dessert station! The Commons is known to specialize in weekly and seasonal events to elevate students out of their mind and body and into a new frame of mind. No one needs stress and strain when they are trying to eat chicken wings. They just need some good olâ?? warmth and enjoyment! For the busy student on the go they offer handy to go containers and fancy to go silverware! Onward Ho young warrior! Not to mention the dietician on site for those who need extra weight control and/or a little extra fiber in their diet!

    Dorm Life

    This is what I read dorm life is like at Drury University... Amber Perdue says, Each Resident Assistant (RA) is responsible for planning social and educational events for the hall each semester. Activities can range from attending a Drury campus event together to having a private hall party with your fellow residents. Whether you head to Wilhoit theatre to see the latest Drury Theatre Department production or everyone tie-dyes t-shirts and has a pizza party, there are numerous opportunities to have fun and connect with your hall-mates. I also read they have barbeques and caramel apple making parties also. Seems like a blast... All they need is me and some water balloons. Move-In Day As stated by Amber Perdue a junior at Drury, As you pull into the parking lot, a group of enthusiastic Drury students greet you and start helping you move all your things into your residence hall. By the time you check-in and register, all your stuff will arrive in your room, leaving you lots of time to unpack, become familiar with the residence hall and settle into your room a bit before orientation activities later that day. This sounds like a whale of a lot fun... I wish I could attend a dorm party and a move in... What fun!!! Again, all they need is me and some water balloons... Lol.

    Academic Rigor

    Ah haâ?¦ The vision for our program is what makes Drury a place of greatness. This is where academic rigor meets community engagement. Why? Drury Connect is a program bringing forth a plan to build stronger ties with the community and the population at large. This program is designed to stress the importance within the school to achieve team work and networking skills. These events are structured around a series of Advisory Councils in areas where we most obviously connect to the university and/or have the greatest potential for doing so in these focus areas: â?¢Architecture â?¢Business and Economic Development â?¢Continuing Professional Studies â?¢Education and Outreach â?¢Environment â?¢Fine and Performing Arts â?¢Health Sciences â?¢Campus Culture These initial priorities represent, in our collective judgment, those areas that most obviously connect us to the community and in which we are best poised to move forward most quickly in the community to produce the most impact on society. For instance, we have a meeting on Habitat for Humanity and other organizations to improve society. Our University pulls ahead in achievement directly surrounding our community. These are our imperatives and, we set them to motion. This design will only help our school flourish and grow radically.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Prepare yourself to communicate with your professors. 2. Have no fear when holding pen and tongue. 3. Express yourself creatively and divinely. 4. Courage is the key to exemplary and successful education.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is an outstanding education for a very reasonable price. Drury remains rated 11th Best Midwest Universities by U.S. News and World Report and was named one of the nation's 50 Best Value private colleges in 2010 by the Princeton Review. Not to mention last year alone, Drury students were awarded $9.1 million in scholarships and grants.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't ever had problems....

    Clubs and Activities

    there's a club for just about every person.

    What to do for fun

    the pool, the library, the game center, the computer lab, the cx. plus all the clubs and

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has many options and pretty good food for being a college campus. the cx (campus exchange) has awesome smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorms are renovated or were recently built and the ra's are great.

    In three sentences

    drury is a very historic looking school with a new age look on education. the food is actually pretty good most of the time. the staff are all very friendly.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at Drury is different from the stereotypical version of college fraternities and sororities portrayed in the media. There is an opportunity for everyone who wishes to be involved in Greek Life to join and be a part of something greater than themselves.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons serve several types of comfort foods. Although it is nothing like your mother's home cooked meals, it is a big step up from high school cafeteria meals.

    Dorm Life

    Each of the different halls has its own flair to it. The general atmosphere at Drury is inviting and safe. Any one of the dorms would be a great choice to live at.

    Academic Rigor

    With good study habits, anyone can succeed at Drury. Many of these instructors are top notch instructors who are professionals in their subject. With the smaller class sizes, it is easy to have great relationships with instructors.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security can always be seen driving around and making sure everything is as it should be. They are on call 24/7 to all students and are very good about sending out emails about suspicious behavior. There was not a time that I did not feel safe when on campus.

    Greek Life

    I love Greek Life at Drury. They have 4 fraternities and 4 sororities that are all wonderful. About 33% of the campus is greek. The philanthropies are strong and are supported by every greek chapter. They help each other out with their big philanthropy events which helps get campus wide support.

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless clubs and activities for almost anyone's interest. You can help plan student events, play sports, promote awareness for different things, and so much more. The possibilities are endless because you can also create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Drury is great for any type of student. Their are so many options on campus that everyone can find their niche. Drury has a fabulous Architecture program and MBA program. There is a very wide variety of majors available.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Drury is worth every penny you have to pay. They cater to their students and create an unforgettable college experience. This is a fabulous priced private school.

    What to do for fun

    Drury has many extracurricular clubs that put on many events throughout the year. The best part about Drury is that nearly all of these events are free to their students. You can almost always find something to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall is nice and the food is decent. It is typical cafeteria food but there is a ride range of options for every meal. The staff that works in the dining hall is great as well.

    Dorm Life

    I loved dorm life. I met the most wonderful people when living in the dorm and had a fabulous experience. The Drury RA staff is spectacular and do an excellent job of creating community in the dorm facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but very fair. If you apply yourself in the classroom, the teacher will take note of that. The teachers will help you with whatever you need. All teachers are required to have office hours and most will plan to meet with you at whatever time is convenient for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate to ask any questions. The Drury staff is more than willing to help in any way you need. Be sure to take advantage of any opportunities Drury offers to you during your college hunting process.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is a wonderful school that creates many opportunities for all of their students. They have countless student activities and personal relationships with the professors are easy to make. The faculty of Drury truly care about you and your educational experience and strive to make sure you are reaching your full potential.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Recently, there was a guy stalking one of the students, and they immediately nipped the problem in the bud. The man was arrested, and his picture was posted everywhere and sent out in an email saying that if anyone saw him on campus, they were to call security. Drury Security was ON IT. They did everything to make sure that people were aware and safe. Now, usually things like that don't happen, but when they do, it's quickly taken care of.

    Great for these types of students

    Architecture, Music, Business.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do on campus. The problem is, hardly anyone ever knows about them.

    Food and Dining

    I don't have a meal plan, so I don't ever eat in the Commons, but I often eat in the CX (the Campus Exchange) and I only ever order the grilled cheese because it's hard to mess that up. But the food is still kind of hit-and-miss.

    Dorm Life

    I actually didn't live in the dorms, I lived off-campus, but from what I've heard they all have good and bad qualities. But one thing is for sure, the RAs are awesome and the friends that you make living in the dorms are the people that you will look back and remember.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work, but no more than is typical of any other college. You do learn, if you take the right classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school, but it wasn't right for me, as a theatre major. The architecture program is wonderful, however. Generally, it's a brilliant university.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great, have not have any safety problems

    Greek Life

    All fairly easy to join and receive a bid.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities for many interests

    What to do for fun

    Downtown is the place to go to experience some fun, there are many local restaurants that support the university, SUB offers many inviting creative events.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better but this is from a view of an athlete. there is still great healthy selection just cant be tempted by the fast food like selections.

    Dorm Life

    Is a great experience to meet new people that are fun and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    Drury offers great challenging courses in the pre-med department.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and apply to many clubs, get involved. Be open to new ideas and new personalities.

    In three sentences

    Drury university has great diversity. Drury university has one of the top swimming programs in the country. It is a great place to meet new people.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and organization to join. If you don't feel like joining a club, there are various courts (basketball, volleyball, tennis, etc) to play on and just relax.

    Food and Dining

    You have a lot of dining options and the food actually has flavor, unlike high school cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is a great experience. You meet some awesome people and there are tons of places for a study session or two.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard enough to challenge you, but you will not fail as long as you honestly try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by the workload of college. If you really need it, most of the professors will work with you on any obstacle.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is an excellent university. The professors are so helpful and understanding. I couldn't ask for better professors or education.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not found any safety issues with this college.

    Great for these types of students

    The evening and online courses are great for working parent(s).

    Bang for the buck

    This college and the instructors are worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    For fun I enjoy hunting, fishing, softball, volleyball, basketball, and spending as much time as possible with my children.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus, therefore I find it unfair to rate the food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, therefore I find it unfair to rate the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses are challenging, but as long as they are truly ready to buckle down and study hard they will do well.

    In three sentences

    DRURY University has been great! The teachers make learning fun. If they think you may be having trouble graping the concept of certain aspects, they don't hesitate to stop and help. I feel like I get what I pay for with this college.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education is great and I feel a lot more confident going into my field of study knowing what I've learned so far, and to me, thats priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Springfield is a fun town to do pretty much what ever you want from going to the movies, to trying local restaurants, to playing mini golf. Theres plenty of things to do to keep you from getting bored.

    Food and Dining

    Commons at the FSC always has something to eat, even when the food on the menu doesn't seem appealing. At times it can be repetitive with what food they make, but we also have the Campus Exchange, or CX as the students call it, that always has great food and is included in what ever meal plan you choose.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok. All freshman need to live in either Wallace or Smith Hall with a roommate and two other suite mates, but after that, there are great options for apartment style and off-campus living. Sunderland Hall is also an option for freshman, which is a little more independent in terms of living with your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, no matter what your major, are going to be tough at times. The professors at Drury believe in challenging you to your limits as a student in order to better prepare you for what your career choice will throw at you. However, the smaller student-teacher ratio makes for easier transitioning into a higher academic level and increases the amount of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    What tips could I give that you haven't heard before? If you enjoy a smaller, less crowded campus in a fun town with lots to do on and off campus, with the college town feel, and a great education that will put you ahead of other students at state colleges, then Drury University is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Drury is a great school for anyone who wishes to take the next step in their academic career. Classes are challenging, but one would get a lot more out of the experience due to the closer student-professor relationship. Athletics and clubs at Drury are all huge on campus and bring the student body and professors alike closer together.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police substation on campus and the campus security is very good at doing their job. Sidewalks are well-lighted at night and there is not a constant fear of being attacked like at a big university where almost anyone would just be wandering around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations, considering the size of Drury University. There are always new clubs every year, so if you somehow don't see what you want, then don't be afraid to start something!

    Great for these types of students

    For those that want a smaller university where they can feel at home...look no further! If you want to be academically challenged and have fun and graduate with a job offer, then you are definitely part of Drury already.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year around the holidays, SGA and SUB decorate a little tree close to the FSC Circle. People gather around and sing carols and drink hot chocolate and eat cookies or cupcakes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely worth it! The other great thing about Drury is that they are very very generous with scholarships. You can pay most of your tuition with scholarships if you're a good student in high school. Another great thing is that you get a LOT of free stuff. T-shirts, food, great events, you name it.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at Drury! Whether it's a basketball game or spin classes or a choir concert, there will always be something to do. If you do get bored then downtown is not too far away! You can hit all the little shops and restaurants or try the Palace Theater on Tuesday nights for $1 tickets!

    Food and Dining

    The official food service for the university isn't the greatest, but most days it's pretty good. They have a lot of variety (foreign food, salad bar, home-style food, dessert bar, grill, etc. ) and they offer a self-serve buffet at the end of each semester. Other than that we have the CX which is like pre-packaged food and some people prefer that. We also have a little Chinese restaurant on campus that is pretty good. The only downside to that is that it closes at 3pm. There is also a Subway at about a 10 minute walk and a Steak-Out across the street.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in the dorms, but from everyone I've heard, it's a blast. It's one of the best ways to meet people, but if you have to commute (like I do), don't sweat! Just be open to trying new things and pretty soon you'll know at least half of the campus (I'm not kidding). The buildings are also fairly new, or renovated at Drury so you don't have to worry much about living in perilous conditions. From what I've heard, Sunderland has the best rooms, but Wallace is the best for the price.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is definitely challenging but I gave it four stars because the faculty are so willing to help you if you have trouble, 99.99% of the time you will be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved and talk to your professors. Put all of your fears aside and think of it as a new beginning where anything and everything can happen.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is the epitome of private universities! Everyone is so welcoming and even though it's a private school, there are so many opportunities to get involved and to further your career. The faculty and staff are especially welcoming and will do whatever they can to help you!

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Commons (the cafeteria) is surprisingly good for a college campus. They frequently switch up the menu and offer a wonderful salad bar. The CX is also very good, with a good selection of sandwiches. But don't look for a candy bar here - the only selection is in the bookstore, and those are way overpriced!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, so I don't know about the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Drury is a small, private school in the midst of Springfield, MO. We are the home of the Panthers Basketball team, which made the playoffs in 2013. We also have the only architecture program in Missouri.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    At Drury University, you definitely get what you pay for. Academics are outstanding, the campus is thriving, and the students and faculty are amazing. Drury becomes home to most students because of the beautiful and welcoming campus life.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus, normally for free. SUB (Student Union Board) puts on events all year round and with sports, there is always something. There is never a dull moment here at Drury University. Campus involvement is a large portion of what makes campus so inviting to so many different people, from all around the world.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is good, to some student. With this being such a small university, the cooks do a fantastic job at representing many different cultures in the cafeteria on a daily basis.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is such an amazing opportunity. You get to meet so many new people that they become your family later on. The atmosphere in the dorms is warm, happy, and inviting.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are tough on their students but only because this school is a private, classy, university. Every student at Drury University has the ability to succeed beyond their potential, and the professors know that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective student, please make sure that you complete your homework and stay ahead in your studies. Nothing is more important than your college career.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is the most phenomenal school that I have looked at. The atmosphere is inviting and the professors are brilliant. Anyone that has went or is going to Drury University has had a hand in the success of an incredible university.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The level of education and one on one experience is no compare to a public college, being that there are so many scholarships available on top of that.

    What to do for fun

    Drury is continually throwing on campus events through their student-run organization called SUB. Through SUB Drury students often get freebies from businesses around such as free chipotle, andes, and even back massages during finals week. On top of SUB students can get involved with Greek Life or Drury's many athletic teams. Outside of Drury, there are a ton of local events and activities going on around Springfield, MO, where Drury University is located, with great student pricing because since it is a major college town with two other colleges there. The city of Springfield is what adds to much of Drury's attraction.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is a bit subpar. Some nights are great, while others are pretty bad leaving you with the options of cereal or salad bar. The best thing to do is cook in your apartment, plus it's cheaper!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great transition into both college and real life in general. You are experiencing what it is to live on your own, while surround by others going through the exact same instance that allows you to bond with one another and feel welcomed into the school. As well, the dorms are very nice. Drury has both older and newer dorms for any freshman's desire.

    Academic Rigor

    Drury most certainly has high academic standards. You are always expected to give more, but that is why we go to college: to learn, to grow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students of Drury, or any college for that matter, should go into their first year with the expectancy of change and a perceptive mind to accept that change. And if the opportunity should be available, study abroad. Never turn down the experience to learn another culture outside of yours because to understand who we are, we have to understand who we are not.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is a college where you can be a name rather than a number opposed to larger schools. Like all colleges Drury University has its issues, but none the less a great college on levels of education and person experience. On levels of education you are continually pushed as a student by professors to do more than you thought capable; and on levels of personal experience you are met with diverse situations teaching you about yourself and others.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is small, but fantastic. With only 4 fraternity chapters and 4 sorority chapters, everyone knows everyone. The houses all get along with each other but still have some fun rivalries. With Drury being a wet campus, the houses are able to host parties while still being under the careful eye of the school. This provides a good and safe environment for fun. The philanthropy events hosted by the Greeks almost always have a good turnout by the rest of the school and are usually pretty fun. Furthermore, Greek life often provides an academic support system for those who join.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for the type of student who cares about learning and desires to see the world differently. Even if you are the type to need a push a little now and then, you'll find that here because the professors care and know the students. Very few types of students wouldn't fit in at Drury University.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining options are Drury University split between two places. The Commons and Campus Exchange. The Commons provides a buffet style meal plan that offers many different options of food, but isn't open all through the day. The Campus Exchange, or CX, is open longer and has higher quality food that you can pay for with credit from a meal plan or cash. Both make great food, but the CX is always faster and often times better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Drury University is very diverse. There are three main options for dorms that have pros and cons for each of them. The RA's are very supportive and helpful, and the RD's are fair in any disciplinary actions. The community raised in the dorms here at Drury is a special one. You can make friends that will last you for the next few years even if their majors don't line up with yours at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are obviously extremely important to Drury. The quality of the classes are better than I expected. This is especially true when considering the personal touch added by the professors. Each class for me has been challenging without making me feel like I'm in way over my head.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn as much as you can about the school so that when orientation begins you don't feel so lost. There are many clubs and committees to join, and to see them all at once can become a little overwhelming. If you learn what there is to offer, it becomes easier to seek out what you want without being overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    Drury University is a wonderful, private university that focuses greatly on a global awareness for it's students. The class sizes are small enough that each student gets personal attention and doesn't feel out of place by visiting the office hours. Drury is a fantastic mix of quality and quaint.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Writers, Leaders, Artists, Volunteers

    Bang for the buck

    You're going to be paying a pretty penny for just about any private liberal arts college, but Drury is really good about offering financial aid. No matter how much you have to pay out of pocket though you are going to get a great lineup of classes, activities, clubs, and experiences.

    What to do for fun

    Drury almost always has something going on from convocations to after hours events sponsored by a club to fun workouts. To find something to do all you have to go to the Drury Calendar (D.Cal) and you are guaranteed to find something. If volunteering is your thing then you can also check out some of the upcoming volunteer opportunities through the community outreach and leadership development page.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons at Drury are a pretty standard buffet-style setup with a decent variety of options. The CX also has a pretty common lineup of chicken wraps, burgers, sandwiches, etc. if you know that you want something like that for certain. The hours for either of these choices are usually pretty great whether you're an early riser or you forgot to eat before you went to the library to study. When in doubt for dinner though, explore some options in Springfield because there are very few places you can go wrong. I highly recommend Pickelman's, Kai, and Bambino's for food, but if you're looking for a good coffee place try The Potter's House.

    Dorm Life

    There is a HUGE variety of housing on campus with a variety of prices to go with them. The roommate placement survey is kind of scarily accurate, but that just makes the dorm living arrangements so much better. Sunderland is a really good building for incoming freshmen because they will place you in Living Learning Communities where everyone in your hall will have a common interest and share a Core class, but you get to have a room to yourself and only share a bathroom with one other person. College Park apartments have a similar setup to Sunderland, but you also get a furnished living room and decent kitchen. The apartments are a little beat up, but that is to be expected from general wear and tear through the years. With all housing on campus comes housing activities as well, which usually involve games and free food!

    Academic Rigor

    If you choose the right classes that interest you then you will learn and have a good time, but if you take a class simply to fulfill a requirement (without it striking your interest) it can be really difficult (for example: Intro to Comparative Politics to fulfill an English major's global studies requirement). Most professors will assign things accordingly based on the level of the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Get to know as many faculty and staff on campus as possible because they can help you with almost anything! 2) Unless you're a big guy, don't go with the largest meal plan because it is kind of overkill. 3) Feel free to join every club you're interested in, then slowly weed them out as you discover how they fit in your schedule and interests. 4) When making your schedule, if none of your friends have had the professor in question then check out their reviews online. 5) Sign up for the leadership certificate program! It looks spectacular on your resume and it just gets you involved that much more.

    In three sentences

    Drury has a spectacular, comfortable campus and a wonderful atmosphere to go with it. Because it is a smaller campus the focus is on the students as individuals first. Best of all, this campus strives to involve students throughout the community.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have encountered a wide variety of students and all seem very eager to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended Missouri State University as well as five local high schools and Drury was by far the best bang for the buck! Quality education close to home.

    What to do for fun

    I honestly have had just as much fun in class as I have found outside of the classroom. I have not encountered one boring or mono toned professor. I have thoroughly enjoyed each course and made numerous life-long friends.

    Food and Dining

    I attend classes at a separate campus, but we have multiple food choices within five minutes of driving distance!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For the first time in my life I feel confident in math! My instructor prepared me for each evaluation in ways in which I had never been shown throughout any of the FIVE schools I have attended!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in mind that Drury is a liberal arts school, the teachers want to hear what you have to say! Don't be afraid to find your voice in your writing. Use your voice in every course you are enrolled in to better communicate your opinions and thoughts!

    In three sentences

    Attending Drury University has helped me prepare for the real world in all aspects. The instructors have been most helpful and possess a deep love for teaching. Drury was definitely the best choice for me!

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their are always many things to do on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always feel free to ask teachers for help and always go to your adviser for help.

    In three sentences

    Drury is one of the top University's that you can go to in Missouri. Not only does it have day school, but it also offers night and online school to help those who go to school and have a working schedule. You will not regret your decision to choose Drury as your college.