Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Durham Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Medical Students Transfer Students Learning Adults Financially impaired

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very good idea to go to a community college to get your undergad classes out the way. It is a lot easier on the pockets. Durham Tech is one of the Community Colleges that understands that and gives all they can to make the experience worth while. It is one of the best NC Community Colleges in its county.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at all times on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a tutor.

    Great for these types of students

    Self motivated student will do well here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The addmission office is great because I know what my first step was to get in.

    Bang for the buck

    These school is great and the cost is excellent.

    What to do for fun

    I work out side of school on music and hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there. But they do have healthy meal options for students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Durham tech.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging which I like

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend you need to know why. Go there with a mindset of greatness. Learn all that you can.

    In three sentences

    Durham tech has teachers that care about your success .You are able to do your general educational classes at a lower price.The staff is helpful.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adults (young or older) Transfer Degree Seekers

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive compared to university prices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in on time. Set up financial aid. Get started.

    In three sentences

    Durham Tech is very organized. The staff is helpful. The teachers are there to help.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Basic school cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is based on academic level course number

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for an unorganized administration.

    In three sentences

    Over all great school based on the instructors. The administration needs improvement as they don't seem to care about students in general. Durham tech offers great programs and the instructors are usually great

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to sew, fish, and go to church.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not served through a cafe. It is vending or bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am studying to become a lawyer.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should really decide on going to Durham tech college. My experience has been wonderful.

    In three sentences

    I think Durham tech college is a very good school. The teachers make sure that the work is broken down so will not fail. The campus has good security.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is very alert and vigilant.

    Clubs and Activities

    some clubs and activities but not a vast variety.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cheaper to start off at a community college to knock out the pre reqs and then transfer to a university.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is small and food is okay but works when you have time between classes to grab a quick bite to eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Love the challenge!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work ahead of time, get your financial aid completed early as well as registering for your classes.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. The classes are fast paced. Small class sizes.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not involved in Greek Life

    Great for these types of students

    Achademically focused.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't stick to tradition. I am a free spirit.

    What to do for fun

    I work for fun. Even though it doesn't sound as equally entertaining as a night on the town, it is where I go to escape.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, achedemics is very important.

    In three sentences

    Durham Technical Community college is a great school. It has a professional atmosphere, and has a feeling of success. I attend a great school.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    A large majority of adults coming back to school and young students wanting to save money on their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Durham Tech is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and groups that meet throughout the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Just vending machines and a cafeteria I have not tried.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well in your work and be respectful to your teachers and they will love you.

    In three sentences

    Good education on a small campus. Mostly good professors willing to be very helpful when needed. I feel safe on this campus.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't seen any problems with security in the 3 months of me being there. Campus police is located in the middle of the campus.

    Greek Life

    Have no idea but I know there are a few Greek clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    It surprised me how many clubs they have for a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a great deal on tuition, great involved teachers, and late classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome for residents of NC. It's about 67 dollars a credit and they have a flat rate after 16 credits. You shouldn't spend more than 2500 dollars a semester, including books.

    Food and Dining

    This is what I dislike most about Durham Tech. They have dining services but it starts from 9am-1pm. When I get there for my afternoon classes I have to eat out of the campus store.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You have dedicated teachers and departments who strive to make this university level academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply by the deadline so you can get financial aid. Have everything turned in at least 1 month before classes start so you don't run into problems. Visit at least once before classes to make extra sure everything is in order to start classes.

    In three sentences

    Great financial aid department. It has very involved teachers. Great resources like tutoring, and computer labs.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuter or late-in-life students.

    Bang for the buck

    Quality for an inexpensive price.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Durham has many fun things to do and it is a five minute car ride away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has inexpensive food, but limited hours and selection.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    There is sufficient academic rigor, but the school is primarily geared towards occupational readiness.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Your classmates are hard-workers, so you should be, too.

    In three sentences

    It is easy to attend from the community. Tuition is inexpensive. There are varied schedules for day and evening.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Durham Tech is great if you are interesting in saving money before transferring to a four year university.

    Food and Dining

    Durham Tech has a cafeteria in the Wynn building; the food there is not the greatest, but about 10 minutes away is Downtown Durham which is home to many great coffee shops and restaurants (chicken and waffles, anyone?).

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, Durham Tech does not have dorms but there are many housing locations close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of my teachers here at Durham Tech have been well-educated and have a passion for what they teach. You are getting the same education you would be receiving at any four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to other students about what classes they have enjoyed and which teachers to take or avoid. Also, if you would like to meet new friends while here there are many opportunities to join new clubs.

    In three sentences

    Durham Tech is a great choice for people looking to save money during their college career before transferring to a four-year college. You can knock out your general education classes with great teachers for much less than at a four year university. I recommend going to this school if you are looking for a chance to go to college, but don't want to spend more than you have to on those classes that have nothing to do with your prospective career path.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards regularly patrol, though there really doesn't appear to be much need for them.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few clubs, but nothing special.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer program.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for transfer students.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in a small community college. There are a few clubs you may join as long as they don't meet up during one of your classes.

    Food and Dining

    There's apparently a cafeteria, but I have not tried it and it has always been closed during my late classes. Otherwise a few vending machines with sparse offerings are available here and there.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is not really challenging, but typical of most colleges there will be a lot of work that you will need to do at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you've completed your financial aid process early on, and register early for your classes. The best instructors and courses will fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Great value for the money if you plan on transferring to a larger university. If you do not plan on transferring, then you may want to go to a better college.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All cops on campus very kind and attentive!

    Great for these types of students

    Busy in life outside of school, but still dedicated to completing higher education.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent. Especially if you qualify for financial aid!

    What to do for fun

    Not much is provided by the school other than occasional guest speakers, etc.

    Food and Dining

    None on campus, but in the Durham area there is plenty to eat!

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early! Take every class seriously. Take advantage of their online resources, and the posted academic course plans. I do not personally recommend taking challenging courses online.

    In three sentences

    Durham Tech. is an excellent school dedicated to informing and helping every one of their students. Both the Orange County and Durham County campus are equally enjoyable. It is a truly exceptional school in the sense of diversity!

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My experience when it comes to campus security was perfect. I never had any problems with theft or assault. However, I would hear from other enrolled students that they experienced theft such as having their car being broken into or cell phone stolen. Also, it is easy for someone who is not a Durham Tech. student to walk on campus without being identified as a college student or checked for concealed weapons.

    Clubs and Activities

    I enjoyed being a Student Senate representative for the Spanish Club, Amigos Unidos at Durham Tech. Community College. As a Student Senate representative I exercise my leadership skills by attending both business meetings and community outreach meetings to gather volunteer opportunities for students and faculty to participate in. Some of these opportunities included packing food trays for Meals on Wheels, cleaning bus stops for Adopt-a-Stop, and donating clothes to McDougal Terrace. We also organize food drives that allow faculty and students alike to donate to the Durham County Food Pantry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that I really enjoyed participating in was called Welcomania. Welcomania is a event that allows clubs and organizations to set up booths to recruit new members or just share more information about their club. Also, this event gives students and faculty the opportunity to socialize and participate in song, dance and poetry readings.

    What to do for fun

    For fun students can join multiple clubs or socialize with the many interesting and diverse students on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I never experienced the food from the campus cafeteria because I always packed my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There weren't any dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Durham Technical Community College is known for being one of the most demanding community colleges in the area. Being a demanding school allows many students the opportunity to be accepted into top schools such as NC State, UNC and Duke because these universities know that Durham Tech. keeps up with their expectations. I am very satisfied with the academic demands here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise future students to always come prepared and to not take the work load for granted. Always make sure to keep up on assignments, deadlines, and emails daily because if you slack even for a little bit you will miss a lot.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Durham Technical Community College a 4 out of 5 because it is a widely respected school and it offers many academic opportunities. Also, it is very strict when it comes to turning assignments in on time and not accepting any late work. This school helps builds its students into being sufficient, hard-working and driven individuals ready to enter top universities.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling. Good lighting after dark.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students, returning students and those looking for a change in career.

    Bang for the buck

    It's great value.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of social events in Durham and other surrounding cities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria closes early (either 1 or 2pm?) and there's limited choices, especially if you want to eat healthy on a budget. Also, it lacks good coffee & tea.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, it's all off-campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers have high standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to the attendance policy--you can get dropped from a class if you miss it too many times!

    In three sentences

    Durham Tech offers solid academics. The teachers are very skilled and resources include tutoring and a well stocked library. They work closely with students planning to transfer to 4 year universities.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just like any other schools, be aware of your surroundings.

    Great for these types of students

    People on a budget an would like to minimize loans. Any student trying to take refresher courses. Pursuing a longstanding career in most fields, transfer students. University students trying take college course credits for less. Open minded students who enjoy meeting others and who are serious about procuring a career.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone that I have come across students and instructors have been quite friendly.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent and in a cafeteria type atmosphere where there is wifi and socializing. Of course there are vending machines. There are cool places to eat outside as well. There picnic tables outside in case you want to get a little vitamin D while you grub I actually try to bring my lunch most days unless I don't didn't have time to grocery shop. Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola bars and water are my staple items.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, I have my own apt about 10 minutes away. I feel if you decide no to live on campus, they are many places to live because there are a few colleges and universities in the surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not easy. Unless you have a photographic memory and don't need to study, you will have to put effort into getting a decent grade. I actually try hard to make the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan, be organized and course study and reward yourself. What I did my first semester before I purchased internet was go to the library and study every free moment I had. I had to study in quite so I used the quiet rooms located in library.

    In three sentences

    Hi there. I am an older adult returning to school for a Nursing degree. It an intimate school compared to what I am used in Florida but I like the instructors because they actually like teaching and are very helpful in giving of their time especially if you need additional help. The school is set up so that you do not waste time taking classes you do not need. Each semester you register for school based on how many credits you have. You have an advisor and anytime you have questions, they are available to meet. Once your registration restrictions are lifted, then the system that they use to register is simple to use.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Durham Tech has clubs for many different things like Science, Gaming, Spanish and etc. It's fun you are active in the clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Durham Tech is good. The only problem is that the food is expensive and sometimes the snack machines steal money.

    Dorm Life

    Durham Tech doesn't have any dorms so I can't say much about that.

    Academic Rigor

    Durham Tech wants their students to succeed so they put a lot of effort into get us ready for extended education or ready for the working world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have a scholarship for say 10,000 dollars, go here and you'll run through without taking out much money from the pocket.

    In three sentences

    Durham Tech is a nice place to start your journey towards the working world. The campus is nice and it's a good place to build up yourself. Overall, I would give Durham Tech a 4.5 out of a 5. If the snack machines didn't steal money, then it would be a five.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police do a fairly good job of keeping the campus safe. Everything shuts down fairly early, preventing some crime. I have yet to witness a violent incident, and feel fairly safe in general.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Theta Lambda, and Tau Eta Sigma have a presence at Durham Technical. Phi Theta Kappa is an academic honors society. Sigma Delta Mu is an honors society that recognizes students in Spanish curriculum. Phi Theta Lambda helps students prepare for the business world. These organizations are also involved in civic outreach. Tau Eta Sigma is a Greek dental society, imagine that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs like the spanish club, science club, international student club, women's leadership club, and the final draft club. The science club goes on field trips and the final draft club puts out their own literary journal. The spectrum club advocates fro the LGBT community. The clubs tend to be pretty active. I only wish their were more artistic and performance oriented clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in pursuing an AS or certificate program which they can complete at Durham Technical. There are many evening courses, which works well for those that work in the day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm a fan of the outdoor seating next to the student lounge in the collins building. It's the closest I've found to private seating. The outdoor seating next to cafeteria can also be very peaceful.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, the tuition cost is fairly high for a community college. However, it can be a good value for certain programs. Durham Technical supports some programs that allow you to get a degree of certificate without needing to transfer to a university. If you are interested in physical therapy, child development, dentistry, optometry, nursing, or an IT program, Durham Technical is a better value.

    What to do for fun

    When the weather is nice students like to gather on the quad and socialize, maybe toss a football or frisbee. There is a fall and spring festival where there's live music, clubs, and some games. These are festivities to check out, especially is you are interested in a club. There's a variety of clubs on campus, and off campus, for students to get involved with. Some are social, academic, or even religious. The Brigg's Avenue Community Garden is unique in that it is has students gardening off campus. This is a fun activity that also lets you give back to the community.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that sells food at very limited hours. I like to eat healthy so I am not much of a fan of chicken tenders and burgers. The prices are fairly low, however that tells me that they are getting their meat from poor sources and are likely supporting factory farming. I would like to see a full salad bar and extended hours. It would be especially nice to get food from local farmers, as there are many in the area and the college already has a volunteer program that goes to Brigg's Avenue Community Garden. In general, I see many students grabbing food out of vending machines. The selection is poor, mostly processed junk food. Buying vending machines with healthier food choices would be a good investment.

    Dorm Life

    Durham Technical Community college has no dorms because it is so small. There are cheap apartments near the main campus, however, they are not in a very safe neighborhood.

    Academic Rigor

    I was surprised at how intense the academic courseload was at Durham Technical. I have been studying sciences, which is especially rigorous. These courses put higher expectations on students than the classes I took when I earned a BA at a state college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set up appointments in person in advance. Before I even had an adviser I met with an adviser to get an idea of the courses I needed and how long they would take. I also would recommend getting all your transcripts and financial aid in order in person. It can be difficult to get all of your questions answered or even get a hold of people on the phone and via email. However, in person people are especially helpful.

    In three sentences

    Durham Technical Community college is a good launching point if you are interested in sciences or technology. The professors and adjunct teachers tend to be very knowledgeable. If you need to address issues the department heads and counselors are open to meet with you.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No matter where you are, there is always a security gard around.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek I know is Phi Theta Kappa :-). And that is the only club that I am involved with. However, they do a lot of activities and community service projects throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Disciplined, but laid back students. Great for both adults returning to school or for young people just getting their bearings.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, the tuition doesn't do the school justice. For $71/credit hour you get excellent, professional and knowledgable teachers, cutting edge information in texts and through supplimental information provided by instructors. Many of the instructors work in the field so they are very knowledgable. Most of all, you are treated with respect, dignity, and integrity.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs, organizations and activities for the students. There is always something going on there.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there as I am a distance learner.

    Academic Rigor

    Most assignments are straightforward, but challenging. We get plenty of homework, mostly in the form of reading, but we get very few curve balls on assignments and/or exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be shocked if you've ever dealt with another college or university, because this school will impress you. Everyone is so friendly and know their stuff...it's truly been a breath of fresh air.

    In three sentences

    Durham Tech has truly been a joy to work with. The staff is knowledgable and the financial aid office and the college book store are secon to none when it comes to customer service and product knowledge. The school is small enough that you actually matter as a student and not just tuition dollars.