Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Dutchess Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great if you're unsure of your major because the cost of tuition is so low.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if you're not sure what you want to be. Also because of the price and location. When in search of help, look for student help desks that are run by students. I suggest that you get to school early...you could be walking a half mile or more to your class otherwise.

    Bang for the buck

    Not to sound negative, but from my experience, you get what you pay for in this school. Low tuition=minimal help in this instance.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed the help from a few select teachers in the school. However, the faculty in charge of admissions and the registrars office are not helpful. I was bounced between at least 3-4 different offices regularly when I had a question or was registering for a new class. If you need help, ask fellow students. (especially the student help desk)

    Did learn a lot

    In the short time I attended Dutchess I did have a fairly good learning experience. But when it came to receiving help at their south campus it was a nightmare.

  • 05/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart, budget-aware students. Doesn't matter how good your GPA is: unless you have $30,000+ a year just sitting around, go to a C.C. It'll save you soooo much money in loans that you shouldn't even be taking out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just cause it's a c.c. APPLY and take the placement test EARLY. It'll give you the chance to make your schedule before everyone else and ensure you get into classes.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the best community colleges around and lowest price.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's a community college, so better than high school, but nothing I will be crazy about.

    Will learn a lot

    Have been told most people get a better than expected education.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    dcc has the lowest tuition in the state and is a good choice for people on a budget.

    What to do for fun

    there are computers in the dining hall as well as the library which you can use for entertainment in addition to researching. dcc holds various events as well as free movie nights for students.

    Food and Dining

    at dcc there is a dining hall, as well as several areas throughout the campus buildings with snack machines, etc. they have a large choice of meals at the dining hall including fresh pizza and salads.

    Dorm Life

    currently dcc does not have livable dorm rooms. but you would be pleased to know that living quarters are being built and will open at the beginning of the fall semester.

    Academic Rigor

    at dcc, you will have to work hard to reach your goals, they have informative seminar courses as well as a great library. at the library one can find many reference books and a lot of information that can help the student with assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    to anyone who is thinking of, or is definitely applying to dcc, be sure to speak to an advisor who can assist you in finding the right classes for you. they will help you find a degree program that fits your goals! dcc has low tuition as well, and the staff there are there to help.

    In three sentences

    dutchess community college is a great school for those who are on a budget. the campus is beautiful and reflects the creativity of the students, also the teachers here are extremely committed to the success of their students. their open admission policy makes it possible for anyone to succeed here.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They give you actuvties like BBQS, Man Hunt, Karaoke, Dances, Games, sport events.

    Food and Dining

    The food can use a little more work. The Cooks get distracted and talk a lot, which causes them to burn the food. They also need to work on their prices because everything costs too much.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is new and exciting! It gives you a chance to get out of your comfort zone and be who you are, that's all the college ever wants from their students. They just want you to be everything you want to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life is wonderful, everyone is on task and ready to help. The staff is very generous and try to give you as many options as possible. They also offer jobs on campus as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go to Dutchess don't just look at it as a school, look at it as a home. See the people as if they are family and not just friends. Just be yourself and thats all you could ever ask for when you're there.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess Community College is a wonderful school. The staff actually sits down and goes through every little detail with you to help you succeed. They also try to get you active in events and sports.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college has an open enrollment policy, but robots do not tend to fare well here. Students with a personality do very well here. The average person who does not like that much attention brought to them does well here. Also, the person without a whole lot of money can do well here. My family does not have enough to help me, so I pay for college alone. I have had little money, but because of help from scholarships and a part-time job, I was able to make the bills AND focus on my work to get the most out what I have bought.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take you education seriously. That should go without saying, but I have witnessed a constant misconception that a community college's classes are easy to breeze through affect the work ethic of new students until after their first semester. As at any respectable college, if you do not do the work, do not expect the credit.Also, have fun. Enjoy your stay here. Join a local club and meet new people. Take advantage of the academic and professional resources offered. In any department, if one person is not able to help you as much as you like, remember that there is always someone above them that can pull more strings and make what you want happen. I seamlessly changed majors and transferred because of the staff's useful advice and assistance, even when I faced very unique circumstances at times. Also, If you are in the top ten percent of your class in any local high school, check out the Charles E. and Mabel E. Conklin Scholarship. It is a full tuition and fees scholarship for those who have pushed the extra mile. (Oh yeah, and make sure your guidance counselor actually gives you paperwork to sign, so the application goes through).

    Bang for the buck

    Dutchess has the lowest tuition in the state of any college or university. That's a no-brainer. A great education is available at the lowest price on the market. If you are interested and want a quick peek at just how unique Dutchess is even among community colleges I suggest checking out their Fast Facts page on their website at: http://www.sunydutchess.edu/aboutdcc/fastfacts.html. Dutchess is a college that is interested in going green and students who attend DCC are usually consistently successful in keeping their ambition to chase a higher degree or a better job and attaining their goals.

    Did enjoy being here

    I absolutely loved having the opportunity to attend Dutchess. The campus and facilities are very well-maintained unlike plenty of colleges I have heard of since, and the atmosphere is comfortable. Also, different parts of campus provide different environments for students' needs. Some places are rowdier and louder for those who just want to relax between classes with their friends or play games and have fun. Other places provide the solace some people need for study or to just be away from people for awhile. The schedules were fairly simple and the campus was easy to navigate. Some majors required a little different of a schedule (like some art and science classes), but I always found it easy to compact my day if I wanted to be on and off campus fast or to spread out the classes if I did not want to learn everything in a short period of time like elementary through high school. The food is okay, but keep in mind that it's a school cafeteria in a school that does not have campus housing. It's great for getting a snack while stuck on campus. If you prefer to buy food elsewhere there are a couple of little delis and diners and plenty of other restaurants in and around Main St. in Poughkeepsie. Books are moderately priced although I would always recommend shopping around as with any important purchase. Another thing: there are a lot of student jobs on campus and career resources can work with you to find a job, even in a tough economy. For jobs though, you have to be ahead of the game. There are several positions, but the positions do not remain open long. Also, if you do not like spending much time in buildings or on the lawn, Hyde Park and Staatsburg are only around a fifteen minute drive away, easy to find, and home of two state parks with trails and field alike.

    Did learn a lot

    ~ DCC provides a very excellent education. Most of the standards are strict, and the administration is always working to improve the education, the staff, the campus, and the experience of attending a higher education institution.The administration remains very active and is always working hard to improve an already progressive college. The education provided is definitely on par with a four-year university, and because DCC is a SUNY school, your education counts doubly over. Many colleges, especially local colleges and universities recognize most of what DCC offers, excepting where there is not a similar course provided. ALL of my credits transferred except where a similar course wasn't available. ~ One of my favorite aspects of the whole campus is the staff. My teachers at DCC were most of the greatest teachers I ever had. Not only could they teach, but they were engaging and interesting. They made learning a fun and desirable experience beyond If I don't get a degree, I won't be able to get a good job. They really pulled all the stops and DCC has managed to bring together a conglomeration of some of the quirkiest teachers, too. These teachers actually care about their students and seeing them succeed because they know that learning happens both inside and outside the classroom. Many of them treat teaching as a passion instead of a job. They are more interesting all around and many of them are very willing to work with you and provide any help you might need. They are not lenient about falling behind, especially if it is because the student is not willing to do the work, but the majority of them realize that most of students at the school are troopers. The staff realizes that most of the students also work or probably have families and/or a social life outside of school. They prefer that students remain engaged and often find the students at DCC refreshing to teach because They are not robots (as one of my teachers put it). Also, this is an adult environment, and they treat their students as adults. ~ I felt very respected through my entire two years of being there though let me offer three caveats. First, in an adult environment, you will not be respected if you do not respect others. Second, most of the teachers are wonderful, but, as in any school, there a handful of teachers who do not effectively engage students (for various reasons, but usually due to inexperience because they are learning, too). End-of-the-semester reviews help the administration discover which teachers need a push, a shove, or (if necessary) the boot. The best part is that the reviews are anonymous and the teachers don't see them until the next semester - well after the grades have been submitted. If you don't receive one in the classroom, just ask the administration. They'll make sure the surveys are handed out because they depend on student feedback. Third, in the real world, help is not an adventurer looking for you. It takes all of a couple of seconds to say I'd like some help with something. Would you mind talking with me? After that, all different kinds of doors and windows open. If you ask, you will receive the help you need whether from a teacher during office hours or a private session or from the academic resource department. I experienced first hand tutoring help from the centers and even offered my own in the Writing Center where students are able to casually sit down with a tutor and slow down to look at their work a little more closely or have a pair of fresh eyes read what they have. People during these sessions and sessions like it for other subjects receive assistance in learning for whatever stage the person is in, including understanding the beginning and basic concepts, right through practicing the developed concepts. ~ Overall, I wish DCC was a four-year institution because the education, the teachers, and the learning environment is excellent.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are a joke. They hit on the female students worse then the students do.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Has a decent amount of clubs, the biggest one being the anime club. Yeah i said anime.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't terrible.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are being built now as i type this.

    Academic Rigor

    All depends on the teacher. I have been told countless times from my own professors that it will be harder when I get to a real college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    Terrible. Don't waste your time here. It way be cheaper then other schools but you can tell by the teaching staff.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all kinds!

    Bang for the buck

    dutchess is a great 2 year school with a very high standard of education, excellent for transfer students!

    What to do for fun

    walk around, read in the library, make friends, hang out in the school lounges/quiet areas? computer rooms, study rooms, anything there is lots of technology at the school to keep oneself occupied

    Food and Dining

    all sorts of food to buy nothing fancy but a great selection

    Dorm Life

    school jsut built new dorms opening up next semester 2012!

    Academic Rigor

    the life at dutchess is only as tough as you let it be

    Tips for prospective students

    for all students wishing to go here, its an excellent choice to go to a cheap school that gives you a very high level of education!

    In three sentences

    this school is absolutely top notch the teachers are excellent. your grades are only as good as the effort you put in the staff is excellent all around at dutchess!

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always a presence of safety here. the guards are pretty friendly as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    a wonderful selection of clubs and activities for all types. highly recommend the campus life here!

    Great for these types of students

    great for beginner, unsure major, adule and local students looking to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    you cannot be the price versus quality.

    What to do for fun

    tons of clubs and trips. a wonderful activity base and plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    a little costly and not great, not a healthy selection.

    Academic Rigor

    i had first rate professors who did not compromise. they continued to push and strive for excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    use the services available, they are there for your help. enjoy the high quality professors, many people pay 1,000's more based on their credentials. take advantage of the location and benefits because your time here flies!

    In three sentences

    when i stood at the doors of dutchess broken and scared, the administration was waiting with open arms to take me in. when i stumbled and fell during classes, the student support services showed me my wings. when i didn't know where to go, my professors showed me how to fly.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always visible.

    Bang for the buck

    excellent education for low tuition.

    Academic Rigor

    most professors are willing to go beyond for their students

    Tips for prospective students

    try to be on the main campus each semester that you attend, this is where all the activities happen and you could be missing out on a great experience.

    In three sentences

    dutchess is an excellent college that inspired me to learn, grow, and find myself. the administration and staff go above and beyond for the student body.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food is ok for cafeteria food. soups and salads are really good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    amount of work and difficulty in a class is varied by the class and professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    just because its a community college don't think the work won't be easy, some of it is very challenging. always try to stay on top.

    In three sentences

    dutchess is a great starter school. many of the professors i had cared about my future. a very affordable school.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe. there are very few incidents on campus, and if there are, security is very responsive.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs to choose from that have meeting times during the day. the only problem is that a club you are interested could meet during one of your scheduled classes.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to save money and still get a pretty great education should check it out. it's also a great fall back plan if you do not get accepted elsewhere or aren't offered enough financial aid to attend elsewhere. also great for students who enjoy living at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you can find some interesting people in the various lounges around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    for $120 a credit, it was definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs on campus and getting involved with them can be enjoyable, beneficial, and could be a great way to make friends with similar interests or beliefs.

    Food and Dining

    the food tastes pretty good, but may not be that healthy for you. there are many options of things to eat, but can become pricey.

    Dorm Life

    the college has recently established dorms, but while i attended we did not have the option of living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    for a low tuition school, the value of the courses is okay. also, classes are sometimes a hit or miss. some classes are really great, some aren't. some are incredibly difficult, some aren't.

    Tips for prospective students

    make a positive effort to make new friends. a lot of students have the pleasure (or the unfortunate experience, depending how you look at it) of attending this school with a great number of their graduating class. however, things change when you graduate high school, so it's important to make sure you try to make friends. it is also a great idea to get the name/number/email of at least one classmate in each class in case you ever have to miss a class.

    In three sentences

    attending school here will really save you money. because of my attendance here, i am college debt free! the courses aren't bad either; you definitely get more than you pay for.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is wonderful! Lighting at night is great, and if you want an escort security will be there for you. I have always felt safe!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are at least 40 clubs on campus so the variety is great. If a student can't find something they like to do, there is also the opportunity to put together your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    Dutchess is great for all students. It does offer a lot of remedial classes so is very good for those students who need this and can't get into a four-year university/college. It also offers the other extreme - honors classes. The honors program is nice because it can be challenging for students who are great academically, can not afford high tuition costs, and/or want to stay close to home if they live in Dutchess County.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some satellite locations to make it easy for many students to make it to campus and cut driving costs down. There are also some on-line courses available to help with scheduling.

    Bang for the buck

    Your bang for the buck is exceptional. It is low cost tuition and good academics so you can't beat that. Also there are many scholarships available to Dutchess students to apply for that can help.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities such as friday night movies, lyceum series, and lots of clubs. There is a fitness center and intramurals if you want, and for Deans List students and graduates they offer dinner dances which are nice.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, but prices are high.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so I can not give any comments on dorm life. They are however in the process of building dorms that will open in Fall 2012.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is what I would expect at college. I have taken some honors classes and find that while these classes are more difficult overall, they also tend to be smaller in numbers so this helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say try to take advantage of the many opportunities Dutchess affords for help. Also, make sure to apply for the many scholarships Dutchess has to offer. Finally, get involved in the many variety of extra-curricular activities and you will make friends and feel comfortable very quickly at Dutchess.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess is a great place to explore various courses and career choices. Most teachers are very friendly and helpful. The choices of classes and the flexibility of scheduling makes it easy to be able to work and do other things in your life too.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess is a great option if your not sure on what you want to do. I'm so glad I went here! I would give Dutchess a 7.5 out of 10.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, free Friday movies, and discounts to movies, theme parks, and trips to NYC.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not bad and is around the price of McDonalds.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are just being opened the fall semester of 2012.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but not always interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, keep up with the reading, and do the assigned work for your classes.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess is a good starting school, with good teachers and classes. The course load is not too bad, and if you put in an effort it is easy to get good grades. It is a good stepping stone to a four-year college.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations and clubs for students to join on-campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you show up to class! That is where most of your grade will come from.

    In three sentences

    An excellent school that allows students the opportunity to grow as quickly or as slowly as needed. At Dutchess, all the classes are small in size allowing for a close relationship to be built between students and teachers. Dutchess is perfect for students right out of high school or adults looking to further their education at a reasonable price.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Dutchess Community college is quite affordable and the education is on par with a school you'd pay three times the price for.

    What to do for fun

    Smoke a cigarette outside of buildings and wait for beautiful girls to pass.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms will be available next semester. I don't have much to say about them. I'm not dorming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! Talk to them about things in and out of the curriculum. Go to the math lab or the writing center if you need help. Talk to the librarians. Get to know your advisor. Be as resourceful as possible! This is a community college with a lot to offer, you just have to take initiative or you'll be one of the thousands of people who just come here to hand in homework.

    In three sentences

    DCC has an incredible library full of any type of resource you might want to find. The campus is beautiful. As far as the faculty goes, there are definitely some hidden gems at DCC.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Use your campus ID cards! If you put money on them then you get a discount in the cafeteria and deli and in the vending machines. Never buy text books straight from the store if you can help it, and double check with a teacher first if a book is really necessary, sometimes they aren't. However, DCC is the most affordable community college in the state and is being considered into becoming a 4-year school because we have so much to offer, so it's great!

    Food and Dining

    There is healthy and good food available, it can be slightly expensive, but the salad bar is worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are enw next semester, so we don't know yet. I imagine it will be nice not to have to drive to campus every day.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers here are over-qualified, and some are under-qualified. Again as long as you are responsible for your education then Dutchess is a very valuable resource to learn from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your information, remember that you are your best advocate. If something doesn't seem correct to you, chances are your right, so figure out what is going wrong and work with the system to fix it. Check up on professors first through other students or on rate my professor web sites.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and students are hardworking and committed, bu the office faculty aren't much help, and records get mixed up often. Registration advisors aren't helpful what-so-ever. As long as you act responsible for your eductaion, you will receive a great one here.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip to prospective students is to stay on track and organize priorities.

    In three sentences

    DCC is an excellent community college with a beautiful campus, great teachers, and low tuition. The way in which this college teaches and treats their students should serve as a model to all college and universities.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The lightning is every poor in both main parking areas. In addition the security is scarce, useless and in need of a stair master. There are several emergency phones posted throughout the campus and have bright blue lights on the top of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Local, friendly, low income students will feel right at home.

    What to do for fun

    There are many, many clubs and activities but if you don't want to join any clubs or make any commitment then there are always one day events going on. These include plays, movies, fairs and shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food their is decent. We do have some very skilled young men and women working behind the counters but the most part anyone will tell you it lacks variety, longer hours of operation and more consistency on quickly food is prepared.

    Dorm Life

    I have not and will not be living in the dorms here at Dutchess but it to the best of my ability that I say it looks like it will cramped, boring and awkward(based on where the building is).

    Academic Rigor

    Much like any other school a classes difficulty mainly depends on two things. The first what teacher is assigned to you. It is the professor who makes the tests, makes the assignments, gives the lectures; if you and your professor are not compatible then find a new instructor. Second it depends on how much work you are willing to give into the class. You reap what you sow. Although for the most part Dutchess is challenging on a few levels but passable.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for students looking at Dutchess is to know that just because this is a community college isn't to say that the classes are not difficult and are not as demanding as a four year school. In addition Dutchess has many career events such as job fairs and transfer fairs. This school is an excellent stepping stone to bigger and better schools because the staff of Dutchess has many different connections.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess Community College is an excellent school with many academic and social opportunities. Although the campus is small this allows for tight close relationships to be built between students and students and their teachers. Classes are informative, challenging and an excellent boost for the workforce of America.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is.

    Food and Dining

    good food

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life......

    Academic Rigor

    Good Education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the homework and you will pass.

    In three sentences

    DCC is a good school. It is the right place to start. The school is affordable.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unfortunately, the city of Poughkeepsie could have better crime ratings. Because of this, security is offered to escort students to and from the parking lots of desired. I personally never felt my safety was at risk at DCC. Overall, it's a pretty busy place, and its hard to find yourself alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs to choose from. My favorite was the literary magazine, which did a great job showcasing the work of writers and artists at dutchess. The student art gallery also hosts events that are great resume builders for young artists.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who did poorly in high school or have financial troubles can benefit from DCC. They have the lowest tuition in NY state, and programs that help alleviate the cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In Washington Hall, the arts and science building, you can climb all the way up to the top tower where you can see all of Poughkeepsie and Hyde Park. Surprisingly few students know about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Summer classes are really inexpensive and allow you to knock out humanities and some electives in five or seven week periods. Using this can help you bang out your degree in less time.

    What to do for fun

    Dutchess is within a few minutes of the rail trail and the Walkway of the Hudson. There is a weight room open almost all the time for student use. Student Activities host events in the cafeteria very frequently and there are lots of clubs and day trips to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Food at school was surprisingly good and there was a lot of variety. I found it to be a little pricey, but there are a lot of other options for food within a few minutes of campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not experience the dorms at dutchess as they were just being built my last semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I found most classes to be easy if you simply did the homework and followed along. I had few classes that assigned outrageous projects or maintained a huge workload all semester. Most teachers balanced test scores with other assignments to help students who don't test well pull through.

    Tips for prospective students

    After your first semester, don't go to registrar to sign up for classes. Most students i knew and virtually every problem I had at dutchess stemmed from student services. You can register for classes online. There are program outlines available in the main office. Follow those outlines closely.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess is a smart decision for students with economic troubles or who are putting themselves through. It is designed to help students maintain a good gpa. Most teachers were personable and wanted to help.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DCC has great campus security.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there are any greek clubs, as it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    DCC is great for all students.

    Bang for the buck

    DCC is very reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    DCC holds a lot of Student trips through the Student Activites office. Everything from museums to mets games are included.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of foods available and it's tasty and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply. It's a community college and there are no dorms, as of yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The RN program at Dutchess is current and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into which classes and teachers will suit you best. There are excellent teachers, but all have different styles.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess is a great college. The teachers are excellent. The facility is magnificent.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around. Whenever you need them they'll be right there. Always walking around checking out the campus and driving around to see if anyone needs to be assisted with their cars and so forth.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs DCC has to offer are mainly for freshman students because they don't know too much about the school and what's taking place on what dates. But the clubs can be a very big help to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't want to be away from home because they want to maintain a job, provide for their kids, or who just wants a quick 2-year associates degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable. Each credit there's a cost, financial aid helps out a lot in many ways. Wether it's for books, classes, or anything that the school has prices on.

    What to do for fun

    Be social with classmates and others around the campus. Walk around. Make new friends. Become involved in any extracurricular activities that the school offers.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is pretty good. The cafe is not too far from where they are building the dorms. The mini cafe is a little distant from the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as of right now. After the summer of 2012 they will be up and students will have access to the on campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off, come to school on time, hand in all work on time. And be on top of your game.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess Community College is a very good school choice if you don't want to go to far. The education is good too. The professors there are more than understanding, they will do whatever it takes to help you succeed.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a great selection. It however does need more healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its challenging coursework which is good especially for students who want to transfer to 4 year colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get all your documents from DCC you need to get a proof of residency form and make sure that you get it very quickly because it affects your financial aid and whether you have the money for books and tuition.

    In three sentences

    DCC is a school that has many advantages to students including there book voucher plan. Which allows students to get there textbooks but then whatever money they don't use they can put on their student id and they can use it anywhere in the school. There financial aid office is amazing I have never had a problem with them.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is as safe as any school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 33 different clubs available on campus. Trips, discount activities and activities are also offered by student activities.

    What to do for fun

    Student services provides many opportunities for students to participate in a variety of activities outside of the many clubs that ar available to join.

    Food and Dining

    The prices for the healthier choices are a bit pricey for the average college student.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses require a commitment from the students to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help if needed. Be prepared to work.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to start. They provided all the tools needed to help a student succeed.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Blue Safety lights are placed throughout the campus. If somebody feels uncomfortable or unsafe, you press this button and someone will go to the Blue Light where you pressed the button and will guide you to wherever you want to go.

    Greek Life

    No greek life in this Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join to be more involved in the College. Just ask anybody and they'll let you know more about it.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is really for anybody and anybody. The diversity here is great!

    What to do for fun

    Since the Walkway Over The Hudson has been opened, that's a great way of getting fit, walking your dogs, riding bike, going for a walk with friends. There's a Drive In in Hyde Park that sells their tickets cheap!

    Food and Dining

    The food is clean and well made by its crew.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that they have just build for Fall 2012 are brand new and spacious.

    In three sentences

    The campus is pretty small compared to other community colleges. Lowest tuition in NY State. Great for meeting new people.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    exceptional

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    DCC has every club you can think of and administration will -hear ideas for new clubs !

    Great for these types of students

    all students willing to save money and enjoy small classes with personnel attention from falcilty

    Bang for the buck

    low tutition, small class sizes and huge library

    Dorm Life

    brand new dorms were just constructed for students entering this fall!! be the first to live at the campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the career counseling services that dutchess has to offer. meet with an advisor regularly to discuss the proper path for your desired major. earn credits that will transfer to almost any four year institution

    In three sentences

    DCC has a beautiful campus with breath taking views of the hudson valley. the small class sizes and caring facilty made this community college a great choice. a great place to get started on the path to higher education

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has many security officers around campus at all times, and if a student feels unsafe walking to their car when it is dark, they can call a security officer to walk them there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities a student can join from academic clubs to recreational. Students receive emails of the club meetings and activities each week.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a tennis court located on campus for students interested in tennis, there is an art gallery with all the work of the tallented Dutchess students, there are numerous quiet study areas where students can focus on their school work easier, and there are speakers that come to the school each week; for example historians and politicians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A spot that is unusual and unique is this specific scenic spot on campus that has become student's sanctuary. It is it is filled with beautiful trees and wooden sculptures, and it is a great hang out spot.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition price is very low and affordable, and the academic programs are as good as ones from a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    Many fun activities are offered on campus. Some of the activities are movie nights on Friday and Saturday nights, Bingo nights, football, basketball, and baseball games that the school provides transportation for, Broadway shows, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    There are many food options offered every day and it tastes great, although some days it is not a vegetarian friendly menu.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were built over the summer, they look great, and I hear the best comments from students that are living there this semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The school offers many classes, including upper level classes, has a strong academic program, and amazing professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students are to meet frequently with their advisor, to take advantage of the free tutoring that is offered on campus, take advantage of the professor's office hours, and also to become a part of the clubs that are offered on campus campus.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess is a remarkable start for students of any major, but especially students that are unsure of what major to chose. The college has a great academic program, and has numerous clubs and activities for all interests. The college makes sure their students are accommodated, and all their expectations are met.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since most of the students do not live on campus that have activities during the day and at night. They have dances at night and activities during the day. They also have really fun trips that the students can go on. I went on a trip to go see a New York Rangers hockey game and the ticket was only $50 with a bus included.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Dutchess is good it is not great. The food in the cafeteria can be a little on the pricey side. Sometime a drink, sandwich, and chips can cost up to ten dollars. It is just easy if the students are coming from home that they bring their lunch from home. To eat in the cafeteria then the students should be frugal.

    Dorm Life

    I am not actually sure about the dorm life because i don't live in the dorms. I here stories about the dorms and that their is a lot of parties that go on every night and I am kind of happy that i don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Dutchess Community College is vert high. All of the students want to do well. Everyone wants to do well because they want to transfer to a well respected school after their two years at Dutchess.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you are going to come to visit the school on a week day make sure you come early because the main parking lot E gets filled up extremely fast. Also if you come visit the school go to the Academic Services and Testing, they know pretty much anything you need to know and they are very friendly. That is where you would go to make your first semester schedule.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess Community College is a really great school to attend. All of the faculty and the students are great and if there is any question to be answered they can answer it. The campus is very beautiful and the maintenance men really keep it looking elegant.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and activities

    Food and Dining

    Decent food

    Dorm Life

    New dorms but very strict rules.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but good quality.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and use as many resources as possible.

    In three sentences

    Very good quality education for a community college. Great environment. The students come first.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are cheaper but its not bad for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to actually do for fun seeing that it is a community college but there are movies that play in Dutchess Hall and they have events here and there.

    Food and Dining

    I also do not eat there except once I had a burger and it wasnt bad. Expectations werent too high cause it still is a cafeteria but it was okay.

    Dorm Life

    I dont dorm so I dont know but since it just opened it must be pretty nice, so I hear.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not that hard but again it just depends on the classes you take. They offer lots of tutoring and help centers so you have lots of options to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont come in there not expecting to do a lot of work, its not as easy as a person may think. Depending on the classes you take and the time you spend in each one it may require a lot of work.

    In three sentences

    The school isnt bad, it can be interesting at times but its nothing special personally. Just a place to get your work done and move on to a better college I think. Or stay the two years and finish an associates degree so you can transfer easier.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities (at least 20).

    Bang for the buck

    Dutchess has a very competitive tuition and as far as I know is still the least expensive of the SUNY schools.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the campus cafeteria once and it was of average quality.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging but informational.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dutchess has a very competitive tuition but you should still find out exactly what you can qualify for and use it to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess has great teachers and wide variety of programs to choose from. Great campus and atmosphere, along with awesome online courses. The only negative I have experienced is sometimes getting different information from different offices so be sure to double check any information that you need.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus. Any club you can think of, and if they don't have it you can create one!

    Bang for the buck

    For the small tuition Dutchess is, you are getting well worth your money as long as you actually give your full effort.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall nearby and clubs and bars. There are several movie theaters as well.

    Food and Dining

    Many places to get food from and they all have excellent and affordable food.

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm here

    Academic Rigor

    The 200 level classes become very difficult. Don't think because its a community college it will be easy and disappointing because the classes are not. They test your knowledge and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate this college just because of its price and that its a community college! Its an excellent school with the most caring and intelligent teachers you will find.

    In three sentences

    Excellent teachers here that will guide you through your college experience. The best professors I've had so far have been at Dutchess Community College. Also it is very affordable.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe even though it is in the city of Poughkeepsie. Security guards are always standing by.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for all students. Commuters or students wanting to live on campus, students of any age, gender, or ethnic background.

    Bang for the buck

    It is considerably cheaper then most schools. Why waste thousands of dollars to take the same classes you could take for $1500 at Dutchess?

    What to do for fun

    DCC is in the heart of the city of Poughkeepsie. There are a lot of places you can go to at night or on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options in the cafe. It's good for grabbing something on the way to class, or to sit down for lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are always there to push you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider Dutchess Community College. Great school if you are undecided, or even just to save money. You can live there now to if you want to get the full college experience.

    In three sentences

    Great two-year school! Dutchess has very helpful and supportive faculty and staff. Saves you a lot of money and time, especially if you're undecided.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs to join that suit everybody and student activities always have something going on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and talk to people, explore and try everything that interests you, and have fun!

    In three sentences

    It's a very friendly environment with great students and teachers attending who are always welcoming. The campus is beautiful and there's a wide range of programs for everyone's interests!

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs, but very few are publicized.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, part time students, or those who prefer night classes

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely the most economically wise decision! Look out also for scholarships when you plan to transfer out of here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious but expensive. I usually end up bringing lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new, and from what I hear, they're terrible, but I don't live in them so I can't say for sure.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't feel challenged until I switched from the teaching program to the engineering program, but that's personal preference. The courses I have taken at DCC in the past year are challenging. I feel prepared for my next school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your studies seriously. Just because some people call DCC and other community colleges 13th grade doesn't mean it has to be that way. Any college is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    It's not a four year school, but it's a good stepping stone to many of the best four year universities! The faculty are very helpful, especially in the math and science departments, and there are many resources to help both traditional and non-traditional students. Not to mention it saves a ton of money!

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems to be safe enough. Could use more lighting on walkways going to parking lot. Some parking lots by bus station could be better lit. More lighting at night makes it safer for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    I think they provide lots help, one can get a peer tutor for any class.

    Bang for the buck

    A lot of the students now feel the campus is too crowded with the dorms on campus. I have not see a huge difference, but I no longer use the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    Not that much in the area. At least it is only 90 minutes from New York City. They school needs to arrange for more activities. They had plenty when there was not a dorm, but now with the students there all the time, they need to provide more low cost trips to the city.

    Food and Dining

    Food is OK.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been inside the building but it looks new and very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to ratemyteacher.com some of the teachers are terrible.

    In three sentences

    Overall the quality of the school is excellent. Beautiful campus and well kept buildings. New Teachers should be given some sort of training so they don't fail students, you know the power trip its the students fault the whole class failed.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has security, cameras, and emergency phones.

    Greek Life

    Two honor societies on campus. Alpha Beta Gamma Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    So many!

    Great for these types of students

    Just graduated from high school Did not get accepted to a 4 year school Has taken time off Looking for a flexible schedule Undecided

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school used to be a hospital. The building that is currently holding records and such was a morgue (basement level). On Halloween students can explore the basement to search for ghosts.

    Bang for the buck

    You couldn't ask for a better quality of education for the cost of tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs and activities offered at DCC. The school hosts social events, bingo nights, and much more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in at least one club so you can ease yourself into a new environment. Don't overload on difficult courses like taking a science and a law class in the same semester.

    In three sentences

    You would not think it was a community college! Great opportunities and programs! High levels of involvement on the part of the school for its students.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for students who want to save money and get a degree and also if they want to stay closer to home.

    What to do for fun

    there are movie nights and other things that go on for the students

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you no where your classes are

    In three sentences

    i would give dutchess a 7 because the campus is a okay size and is clean but everything is kind of expensive to buy.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do on and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is a bit expensive, but you have a lot of choices.

    Dorm Life

    I'm looking forward to being in the dorms. It is my way of growing up and making positive choices on my own.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors are very helpful, making he transition from high school to college easy. The courses are a bit harder but there is a lot of available help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the college and meet the staff. If possible take a summer class, it is a great way to get a head start on what to expect for the regular semester.

    In three sentences

    I'm in a summer program at Dutchess and it is great. This program is helping me get ready for the fall semester. In addition, I am meeting and making friends already.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their is literally security every where, especially by the dorms

    What to do for fun

    They have sports like volleyball, track. Cross country , and more. They also have so many clubs and discount tickets to events in the city.

    Food and Dining

    I'm new to the school but from what i saw at the tour they have a wide variety you can choose from .

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were just build last year and right now it's the second year the dorms have been open. The rooms at very clean and large. Go on the website to take a closer look at the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very good programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early to get all the classes you need early.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are the blue light security phones all over campus. The emergency exits are all clearly marked and the emergency number is posted in almost every classroom so the EMTs can come directly to your location in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an endless list of clubs and things to do. Dutchess always has discount tickets for students and their friends to activities like plays and even to places such as Six Flags.

    Bang for the buck

    Dutchess gives you a well rounded experience for an amazing price. There financial aid is great and very giving.

    What to do for fun

    Great campus to walk around. Tons of clubs to join. All sorts of things to do within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent flavor wise. There are usually quite a few choices. The lines tend to get extremely long around the 3 daily meal times though.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say how dorm life is exactly because I am a commuter student. My friends who live in the dorm say they love it and two are even RAs.

    Academic Rigor

    Dutchess is a great challenge for many students, especially those who are in the Honors program. Teachers take their assignments very seriously and expect your work to be done well and handed in on time. There are tutors and the writing center for anyone who is struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class on time and never hand in any late assignments unless you speak with your teacher beforehand. Don't stress too much Dutchess is aa welcoming place and there are many people willing to help you and answer any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    A great study environment. Wonderful teachers. Overall comfortable place to be.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    none

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    none

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    defintely worth it. i believe its the cheapest community college in NY.

    What to do for fun

    nothing but get in your car and go home when class is over since its a commuter school.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok but way overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    i didnt live in the dorms so i cant tell you. Many people commute.

    Academic Rigor

    not to hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused. the classes are easy if you keep up with the work.

    In three sentences

    Its a good school with a nice campus. Communter college so every one pretty much keeps to them selves unless they went to the local higschool and know each other. College now has dorms

  • 09/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is not currently greek life on campus because it is a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't exactly know what they want to do in life yet as a career, but they know they want to get an education and succeed in life. DCC will definitely help you figure that all out.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition alone is approximately $2000 or even less for a semesters worth of credits. Classes are per credit, and with the quality of the education you'll receive at this school, it's definitely worth it. Especially if you don't know exactly what you want to do in life.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events on campus. Tons of movie nights, trips to the city or other places, and stuff like that. There are a bunch of different clubs that you can join, and each of those clubs have fun events that you can attend whether or not you're in the club. There's a drama club that puts on fabulous productions every year.

    Food and Dining

    I've only experienced the food at the south campus, but it's pretty horrible. It's like a little deli in the corner of the building. You can get sandwiches and snacks and drinks. If you get a hot sandwich, they're usually cold and they're not very tasty at all. I've been told that it's not much better at the north campus, and it takes forever to get your food because there are so many people.

    Dorm Life

    I have yet to live on campus, but I'm hoping to next semester. The dorm building is only a year old, and from pictures I've seen it looks really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Dutchess Community College is a great school for students who didn't do too great in high school. That's what most community colleges are for. It's a bit more challenging than others, but it's definitely worth the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going in as a freshman with an undecided major or a liberal arts major is fine, but by the second semester of your freshman year you should really start thinking about changing your major. Try to take all of your classes at one campus, or if you're taking classes at both campuses, just make sure you don't have to rush a half an hour from North to South or vice versa to make it to your next class. Get used to lots of walking and lots of stairs. The front staircase alone at the North Campus is torture, and you can't really avoid them if you're a commuter. The parking lot for commuters is across the street from campus, so it's definitely a work out.

    In three sentences

    Dutchess Community College is a great two year community college for anyone who doesn't exactly know what they want to do in life, but knows they want to get an education. Their curriculum is challenging, but not too challenging, and a majority of the teachers either adjunct in the field of their course or used to be what you're striving to be career wise. It's known as one of the best community colleges in the state of New York, and it owns up to it's name.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isnt really much student involvement on campus

    Food and Dining

    Few options, just like high school cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    I wouldnt know, I commute to school

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small enough that there can be one on one attention from professors. Classes can be tough at times depending on what you take but there are student tutors and centers available

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i often take night class. most nights not getting out until 9:30pm/10pm and to get to my car i sometimes have to walk to the outskirts of the property lines. but i never feel nervous, the campus is nicely lit and if you are ever nervous you can call campus security and they will escort you to your car

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a great amount of clubs at DCC. and there are always activities and free movies being shown, you can also get discount tickets to anything from football, basketball, bowling, and movie tickets too through the student activities office

    Great for these types of students

    students who are Average learning students will succeed at DCC. there are way too many resources to fail

    Bang for the buck

    A++ lowest tuition i have ever come across for any college

    What to do for fun

    i like to play video games, watch documentaries, go to the movie theater and go for long drives for fun

    Food and Dining

    the food is always fresh and delicious. you really get a good deal for your price at the hall

    Dorm Life

    i can only rate thins upon appearance. i do not live on campus, but the dorms are newly built and look amazing

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers here really make you put your mind at work

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) make sure your serious about college and the commitment 2.) discover the resources available to you 3.) finding your own short cuts through campus will save you alot of time 4.) as long as you put in the effort needed, you will do fine and succeed

    In three sentences

    DCC is the most affordable college in the state, now your most likely thinking affordable means that professors wont care or try their hardest, that is not true at all. All the Staff at DCC are always more then helpful and interaction with other students has always been a positive one for me.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Food and Dining

    Decent food, just not a big selection.

    In three sentences

    DCC Registrars office is completely incompetent. I requested for my official transcript to be sent to my new college and DCC had no problem cashing my check but unfortunately was unable to send my transcript, they were rude and nasty on the phone and did not have the decency to return calls or emails. Every other part of DCC I felt for a great job just STEER CLEAR OF REGISTRARS OFFICE! If you need something done From there, make sure you stand there and wait so you know it actually gets done.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good, albeit expensive, and there are a lot of dining options. There is a deli, a Greek style dining area, and a cafeteria with a main lunch that changes daily.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the more advanced classes can be very rigorous, but they won't push you too hard in the intro classes so you don't get scared away from a prospective major.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for new students. It has a wide variety of courses and programs to take and there is no hassle changing majors since you can get most of your general education credits out of the way here. It's a very nice transition school from home to a four-year college.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I study at night and feel quite safe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Nursing club is a good option for Nursing students

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are not sure what career path they want to take. There are many avenues to explore at Dutchess.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I can't speak to this.

    Bang for the buck

    Students at Dutchess are fiscally prudent and can be willing to give advice on ways to get discounts for books and alternative avenues for gaining college course credit.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs to become involved with. Also there are free movie nights and lectures.

    Food and Dining

    I am a part time student so I don't know how the food is.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic excellence is expected and there is a high rate of competition in the field that I study. (Nursing)

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend as much time with the staff at Career Counseling as you can. Joseph Reilly is a great counselor and will help you understand the possibilities and opportunities that Dutchess has to offer.

    In three sentences

    As a returning student embarking on a new career, Dutchess Community College has helped me develop and realize my intellectual and personal abilities. They have guided and encouraged excellence in academics with a well trained teaching staff and furnished me with the opportunity to give back by tutoring through their student resource community. Dutchess has given me the tools to solidify my goals and dreams.

  • 03/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Dutchess Community College is well kept and clean. The prices are fair in my opinion and the staff seem to be helpful and nice as well. The food is also very good there, for college food that is. There are many choices, there is a grill for students and teacher to request a sandwich or something, there is a salad bar with a variety of choices. Also in another building, a deli is perched downstairs and they make excellent sandwiches there as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live on campus at Dutchess Community College but I do have friends that do. They seem to enjoy living on campus, everything is close (meaning the buildings and the cafeteria). There are many events and activities that are held for students such as laser tag, basketball games, dances etc. Its a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience at Dutchess Community College during class time seem to be alright. The major thing that i enjoy at Dutchess academically is that if a student is struggling there are many opportunities and ways for you to receive help in the school. Like every school, you can get a great teacher and some bad ones as well, for me personally I have been getting lucky and receiving some excellent and helpful teacher that really care.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the campus is quite safe. The security staff is noticeably present and even when I have been on campus late, I have felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants an affordable, intermediate education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I personally know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Being located in the Hudson Valley, there are many historic sites to visit, the beautiful Dutchess Rail Trail to walk or bike on, and this connects to the magnificent Walk Way Over the Hudson. Additonally, NYC is only a train ride away if a bus trip isn't convenient for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do including weekend movies, bus trips down to NYC, and many, many, on campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten in the cafeteria a couple of times and it was fine. There is a great deli in one of the buildings too. Everything is always fresh and the price is right.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the dorms. I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You can definitely be challenged in your classes if you are engaged and participate in the experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help if you need it. The staff is there to help and will do all they can to make your experience at DCC be a positive one.

    In three sentences

    DCC is an amazing community college with an incredibly diverse student body, and staff to match. This institution can help you figure out what you want do, help you further an education you have already started, or be a very welcoming place for a non-traditional student who want to learn something new or even begin a new career. The variety of classes available is fantastic, and best of all, the price is right!