Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Dyersburg State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who want to stay in their hometown for a few more years, maybe they have a job, and can't quit or something. Or maybe they just want to make a little extra cash before going off to a bigger city. Students who want a great school, in a smaller city should most definitely take a look at Dyersburg State. The school even has a list of schools where your credits can transfer to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to take before you get here. Have in mind the options you can weigh. If one class is full, have a backup class in mind. Get all of your Financial Aid together as soon as possible. Think positive whenever you start school. If you think that you're going to fail your classes, of course you'll fail them. Keep the positive energy flowing. Make new friends from your classes, and maybe start a study group. You will do a lot of research papers in your college years, so, learn to make an amazing paper!

    Am enjoying being here

    Dyersburg State is a small school, which can be a great thing. Small schools allow you to have more time to spend with your instructor if you need help with anything. Also, since this school is actually at the Dyersburg Campus, it is much easier to live in town, and go to school. I may not live super close to the school, but it does not take me an hour to get there. It is also easier to hold a job, and go to school all at once.

    Am learning a lot

    Dyersburg State is a pretty good school. The teachers are great at what they do and how they do things. You can learn so much from this school. They have an amazing Nursing program, and most recently got an EMT course. Of course, since Dyersburg State is just a community college, they do not have everything that most schools have. They do allow you to take basic courses for the major of your choice, so that you may go on to a bigger University afterwards.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who need to save money so that they can eventually go to the school of their dreams. People who want to live at home during college. People who like small class sizes. Positive people. The world needs you. :) Unconfident people who want to get out of their shell, but especially the ones who don't want out of their shell.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get off the computer, stop procrastinating, and study. Most things you can do later, you can also do right now-- so do them! Ignore stinky attitudes and stay positive. Study, study, study! Formulate an anti-burnout plan! Don't be afraid of the professor. Respect the professor. Laugh a little.

    Bang for the buck

    With the Tennessee HOPE scholarship, DSCC cost about the same as the University of Memphis (for a commuter, anyway.) The total cost is around $5,000. That includes books, credit hours, and different fees you will need to pay. Most people will leave DSCC with little to no debt because of the low cost.

    Will enjoy being here

    I can see how DSCC is going to be so good for me in the future. True, I still wonder if the education I will get will be up to par with a four year university, but I plan on making sure I soak up every bit of information I can. The classes are small, and that excites me. Actually being seen and heard by my professor is important to me, like it would be to anyone. The staff is pretty friendly, although at times I couldn't tell if they were well meaning or snarky. Regardless, I wouldn't mind interacting with them daily. I met some slackers and some creepers and some complainers, you will to. The point is that they are not the only people who go to DSCC. I thing I will enjoy DSCC.

    Will learn a lot

    This review is based on the experience of taking a dual enrollment class at the Covington campus. I plan to attend the Covington campus in the fall. I learned a lot during my time at Dyersburg State. So much so that I raised my ACT English score (the subject of my dual enrollment class) 4 points. The class set a lot of grammar rules in stone for me. I have always second guessed my reasoning on a lot of those rules, so this was incredibly helpful. The flip side of that is that it taught me a lot about BEING in college. It taught me how important each day of a class is and how I need to make it a high priority because it is preparation for me future. Before this class I had never heard of a syllabus-- by now I've heard it more times than I have cared to. It taught me how to speak up even when no one else will (or no one else cares to have an opinion.) .Those are some pretty important life skills. Unfortunately, my teacher didn't always stick to the books. As much as I enjoy any type of civilized debate (including the ones I participated in during class), I didn't pay more than a hundred dollars for English books so I could defend my beliefs/religion. I'm a big advocate for getting what's been paid for, and with this specific teacher, I didn't always get that. I have grown mentally, intellectually, and spiritually because of my experience at DSCC. All in all, it was a good experience even though I messed up quite a bit along the way

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there isn't a large selection but for the small amount of students that stop in, it is just right.

    Dorm Life

    there currently aren't any dorms, but they are reviewing the need for them and are looking at building some.

    Academic Rigor

    the level of information is the same as anywhere else, but the instructors here make things easier to understand and retain.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions, they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    dscc is a wonderful college. i transferred to another college but decided to go back to dyersburg. the teachers are helpful, and it is easy to find any help you may need.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students are relatively safe at Dyersburg State. The crime rate around the school is not so bad. Security guards are constantly circling the parking lots and walking the hallways to keep things in check.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a plenty of clubs to join at Dyersburg. Some include the Psychology Club, M.A.S.S, and S.I.F.E. Clubs such as these always have activities going on.

    What to do for fun

    On the main campus there are more activities because of its size. There is a baseball team. There are all types of different clubs on all of the campus' that put on activities such as cook outs. Visitors come to speak, sing, and educate on different subjects. This is always good because it gives the students a little break to listen to something different and expand their minds to different ways of thinking.

    Food and Dining

    At Dyersburg State Community College there is a cafe on campus. The cook is a very kind woman who loves to hear what the students have to say about their classes and the food. She makes food home made and it is served buffet style. There are two dining areas that are small but efficient since students are usually in and out quickly.

    Dorm Life

    Since Dyersburg State is a community college there are not any dorms. Most students live with family or friends while they are attending this school.

    Academic Rigor

    As mentioned before there are activities and groups to become involved in. However, since it is a smaller campus and a community college, the rigor towards academics compared to activities is greater. The community college focus is to transfer its scholars to universities or into the career the students choose. Therefore, making the focus on academics primary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any college there are some activities that are easy to blur the focus of gaining degrees at Dyersburg. It is important to have fun, but it is more important to stay focused on studies than anything. Always show respect for your professors because they are there to help you at this college. Take advantage of the teacher student ratio of 1:30.

    In three sentences

    Dyersburg State Community College is a school focused on education rather than activities. To me, this makes the school exceptional because it shows the seriousness of acquiring degrees and obtaining careers. Thus being the primary reason for attending college.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe! You can practically leave your car unlocked with the key in it!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students! In my class I have classmate form all walks of life!

    Bang for the buck

    This community college gives you a lot for what you pay for! The computer labs are free and unrestricted. They also don't keep tabs on how much you print so atleast you have that freedom!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, sports, and academic teams!

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus, but there are plenty of places to eat outside of campus!

    Dorm Life

    Does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken English Composition so far and the class is average. However, the instructor was not an tough grader so the grades where fair!

    Tips for prospective students

    Have your ACT score sent ASAP. The scores are required before you can register for class!

    In three sentences

    Dyersburg State has teachers and staff who will jump through hoops to help you! The small campus is easy to navigate and within an easy walking distance. But don't let the small campus trick you, there is a diverse student body.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always plays, basketball games, softball games and events to look forward to.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't seen any food shops.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know about the dorm life our campus is small and without housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep track of your grades, because some professors lack organizational skills. I have had to bring papers back to professors because they had given me a grade that didn't reflect the grade I actually made on an assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make the counselors are aware of your educational plans.

    In three sentences

    Some professors at Dyersburg state are inspiring, smart, and welling to help. The student life on campus is great and the class sizes make learning easier and more hands on.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the classes that I have completed have been challenging to say the least.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn and practice time management.

    In three sentences

    Dyersburg State offers an excellent range of classes to meet a variety of student need. Instructors seem genuinely hopeful that all students are successful within their class. Everyone seems approachable, from the custodial staff to the Dean of the college.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your teachers, use the helps offered to students

    In three sentences

    I like the smaller campus that is Dyersburg State Comm. College. I like the assistance they offer to students with tutors, etc. , and I like being able to live at home.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Over the top.

    Greek Life

    Not any that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just typical community college clubs. Student Council, Phi Theta Kappa, Psych Club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't have the money for university and do not want to go into extreme debt just to get through school. Nontraditional students getting back into the swing of things.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school to go to get the general education credits out of the way and get used to college in a smaller, less intimidating environment. I would say my professors prepared me for the university.

    What to do for fun

    Volleyball and gameroom. The student council also holds a lot of events.

    Food and Dining

    Not much.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home.

    Academic Rigor

    it is typical for a community college I believe; although the professors push students to keep going and do the best they can. A student ceratinly has to put in hours studying at DSCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get a parking pass. ;) Set a meeting with an advisor.

    In three sentences

    DSCC is a typical community college with a great staff. There is a great caring atmosphere about the school. The professors want the best for all students in all circumstances.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Exellent

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs and activities if you take the time to read on the website and pamphlets on campus. There is something that fits everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are dedicated, and want to get the most out of their college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great place to start getting your basics out of the way before you transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the BCM. It is behind the bookstore, and welcomes anyone with open arms. There is a Wii, multiple computers and old Nintendo systems that we mess around with. Also there is a ping pong table, and a pool table.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food service on campus that lasts long, but the restaurants in town are 5 minutes up the road, and the BCM has free lunch on wednesdays.

    Dorm Life

    As of right now the only places to live are at the BCM, and only 4 people live there every semester. But that place is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are dedicated, this place will really open up to you. Show the professors that you are serious and they will do anything in their power to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare and expect to do what is asked of you. I have met a few people here that think just because it is a community college that there will be no challenge. Expect to learn in your classes and do what is expected of you and you will really enjoy it here.

    In three sentences

    Very good first step out of high school. Easy to get the hang of college life. Very accepting community.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A variety of different clubs, plenty activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that want to stay with their parents and continue their education. Home-sick students, TN Achieve students get two free years at a community college if they meet all requirements.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BCM, everyone goes there to get something to eat on Wednesdays and we also have a Calvin Jr's where you can purchase food and day of the week.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports games to attend and extra curricular programs to be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    Great !

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers and advisers want students to pass each class. They are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class everyday that you have to go, be on time. Do the work, ask for help if needed, and make the best out of every experience. Every experience is a learning experience. be proud, be happy, stay positive.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Dyersburg State Community College a seven. My reason being is because they actually care about your education. They also have a ministry that prepares food for the students every Wednesday.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has history of mishaps but since i have attending only one incident has occurred and it was after hours.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved go to plays :)

    Food and Dining

    I do not really eat on campus but from what i have had it was very good. They have a new delivery and dine in on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of courses here are very difficult! Studying is a MUST.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to come out of pocket depending on you course fees, most of your scholarships will not pay for it. Do not be afraid to get involved. Remember studying is always important!

    In three sentences

    I would rate DSCC a six. The reason is because although they are very helpful you have to come out of pocket a lot. I recommend going because of the great teachers, that are always willing to help.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. The campus is very small and well-lit at night and there is constant security patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are not any fraternities/sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Agriculture Club, Baptist Collegiate Ministry (BCM), Consortia for Adult Student Organization (CASO), Criminal Justice Association (CJA), Dyersburg Business and Administrative Office Support Association (DSBOSA), Friends Organized to Reach Others for Christ Eternally (FORCE), Media Club, Multicultural Association of Successful Students (MASS), Music Club, Oak Tree Players Drama Club, Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) (Honors Society), Psychology Club, Student Ambassadors, Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE), Student Government Association (SGA), Student Nurses Association (SNA), Student Tennessee Education Association (STEA)

    Great for these types of students

    Great for first-time students, those who are having to pay out-of-pocket for college, and people who prefer smaller class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Dyersburg State is one of the cheapest colleges I have found, but the quality of the classes far above what you would expect for the price. I am very thankful that I decided to attend to get all of my basic course credits that would have been double or triple the price at a four-year institute.

    What to do for fun

    Dyersburg is a very small town, but there are usually events on-campus to attend, along with the town having a movie theatre. You could also travel to nearby Union City to visit the Discovery Park of America or travel to Jackson for plenty of restaurants, shopping, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on-campus cafe with plenty of seating. Also, there are plenty of vending machines in each building.

    Dorm Life

    There is not any on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are very basic, but you will get out of the class what you need. I have never had to struggle or stress about having work done for all my classes at one time. All my professors work with me if I need help, but you have to make sure you keep communication open if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though you can only achieve Associate's Degrees at Dyersburg State, I would highly recommend attending here first before transferring to a larger, four-year college. It will save you money on basic classes and the classes will be easier, especially if you're nervous about the workload of attending college.

    In three sentences

    Dyersburg State is a great college for first-time students or people who are interested in at least giving college a try. The classes are small, so there is plenty of one-on-one time with professors if you need help. The campus is small and everything is easy to find.