Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

East Central College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all students who want a smaller step before going off to a big school or who just want their associate's. They also have a great nursing program, so I'd recommend this school for those students as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour or a look around before you start, you don't want to get lost. Be friendly to your teachers, if you respect them then they will respect you.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a 2-year community college, this school has one of the cheapest tuition rates around. There are also many scholarships you can get and they offer book buyback at the end of the semester for everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is so friendly and helpful all over. People greet you with a smile on their face and are willing to go that extra mile and do something for you.

    Am learning a lot

    I have loved almost every class I've had here, even the ones that were more challenging. The faculty is excellent, and even though there are a few duds that slip in an out occasionally, this school by far has great teachers.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I can't speak for any other areas, but the fine art and graphic design students will fit well at East Central. I've heard the nursing program is really great as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy about going to the school and talking with students and teachers, especially in the art department. East Central is really friendly and all of us in the art department love to welcome new people into the studios and talk to them about fine arts and answer any questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Because East Central is a small community college the prices are so affordable! My tuition, including books, is about $2,000 a semester. It's great for getting general education classes out of the way so I don't have to pay a ton of money to take them at a bigger school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I spend most of my time at school in the art studios and art department. The school is small so all the teachers and other art students know me really well. It's like a little family and everyone helps each other with bigger art projects and tight deadlines.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a fine arts major and have learned so much. I just finished my first year and learned so much more about painting and drawing techniques than I ever expected. It's made me excited to start next semester so I can learn even more!

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    i took a biology class that was the most difficult thing i have ever had to do. i think that the nursing and science programs, especially, are extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the courses offered in the summer time. talking to the advisors about possible ways to get ahead is a great way to begin to head in the right direction for your future.

    In three sentences

    i think that east central college offers a great variety of courses, and the work is challenging. i am happy that i have had the opportunity to further my education in this type of environment.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get off the campus and have a life! If you have the time, use it wisely and unwind. Your brain will thank you.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus cafeteria is average. Nothing to write home about.

    Dorm Life

    Not at community college!

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses start out rather slowly and build to a deafening crescendo at mid-semester. After that point, the rush is both exhiliarating and exhausting. Courses then tend to wane after that point and slow down towards finals week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check with your advisors on a regular basis. Make sure that you understand what your advisor is telling you. If you feel that your degree plan is not being properly adhered to, ask questions and get answers. Always get your coursework done and handed in on time. Follow the campus rules, have a good time, and remember to breathe.

    In three sentences

    ECC is an outstanding place to get an education. The faculty and staff are very attentive to student needs. No student should ever feel unfairly treated or ignored in this facility.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on campus and driving around so I think the campus is very safe to attend. I have never felt threatened at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    $71 per credit hour, but tution rates rise every year. I think ECC has one of the lowest rates in Missouri for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things going on around campus. There are clubs to get involved in, plays, musical performances, and many others that I don't know about. :)

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria at school, but I never ate there so I can't really say what the food is like. I do know that the cafeteria is a great place to study or hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    ECC does not have on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are fairly small so it is very easy to get outside help, or in class help, which is helpful for students to keep their grades up. The teachers do their best to prepare students for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think students should take the time out of their schedule to talk with financial aid to make sure they have everything on file. I also think that it is very important that if students are struggling in a class, they go to a tutor to get help. ECC has a Learning Center with free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    ECC is a fairly small campus, but that doesn't mean the quality of education is poor. The classes are all fairly small and the teachers are always willing to take time out of their schedule to help students out. It is also very inexpensive to attend at $71 per credit hour!

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe they have security that patrols all day every day.

    Greek Life

    There are a few.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and groups to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a little of everything to either get started in that field or to earn a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of yet this is only my second semester.

    Bang for the buck

    They are way cheaper than any university or tech school.

    What to do for fun

    Union has a skating rink, bowling ally, movie theater, local bars, and is less than a hours drive from St. Louis.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good cafeteria, and they are located next to many fast food options.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are offered all day Monday - Friday. They have on campus, on-line, and hybrid classes. There is 3 campuses.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can do just your gen Ed's here then transfer to any college or university. They are affiliated with many Missouri colleges. Offer many finical aid options.

    In three sentences

    A great school to get a degree. They transfer to any major university. The staff is helpful and will do whatever it takes to help you.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have a mini police station on campus and also campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot. I can't even write how many there are.

    Great for these types of students

    Work on your own, make your own schedule.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten in the cafeteria yet. Heard it was good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The hardest class I ever took was Intro to Chem. Luckily I got the best teacher and he took the time to help all the students understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do everything early.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    Single cafe, no much variety, same price range as McDonalds.

    Tips for prospective students

    Advising for specific degrees tends to be murky. Check with both general advisers and department advisers more than once.

    In three sentences

    Student oriented, affordable, accessible, the faculty and staff tend to be friendly and caring.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and activities to be a part of. Things like Falcon Fest and The Student Government Club.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria where you can get very delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    East Central does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look into the classes and the instructors. Some teachers teach in different ways and you want to find what best suits you.

    In three sentences

    East Central is a great community college. It has a very stress free social environment. The classes there push you to do your best.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only safety I know of on campus is a Securitas car (which wasn't in the best of shape) that sometimes makes rounds around the school, and several security guards. The security guards came in to the school to make rounds.

    Greek Life

    ECC does not have greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not join any clubs while I was at ECC, but know there were quite a few available.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are planning on getting an associates and transferring to a four year university, ECC is a good option. It accepts the A+ Program, which is why I attended.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There weren't any traditions or special campus locations I knew of at ECC.

    Bang for the buck

    I only had to pay for books while at ECC because of the A+ Program, but the tuition is much more affordable here than other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley, roller skating rink, and movie theatre very close to the campus. Union is located about 45 minutes away from St. Louis, where there are lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus cafeteria always seemed to have a good variety of food. There are three or four restaurants really close to campus as well. There is a great amount of seating at school for eating.

    Dorm Life

    Since ECC is a community college, there is no residential life.

    Academic Rigor

    ECC was not challenging. The only classes I had that required a decent amount of effort were the advanced classes I chose.

    Tips for prospective students

    An incoming advisor will set up your first classes;I would recommend checking the classes they sign you up for with your actual advisor to make sure they put you in the right classes. I was signed up for an advanced 3 hour biology class and freshman introduction to college life class that I did not need, and didn't find out until the end of the semester.

    In three sentences

    ECC was an good option to complete my general education courses. There wasn't much of a college life feel to the school. It has a great library/study center, but I had big issues with being signed up for classes that I didn't need.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of anyone having any troubles so pretty good.

    Clubs and Activities

    East Central offers a pretty good variety of clubs and activities. Not really sure of what but I plan on joining at least one this upcoming semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money spent on classes, tuition at other colleges are outrageous and it's nice to have a college close by that is well rounded.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really, there was a pool table usually taken and a Foosball table that was all the way in the back of the cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    Eh, never ate at the cafeteria. Usually went across the street to a fast food joint.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Academic Rigor

    From attending East Central in the past, I know how rigorous the course material and teachers can be and that is a quality that has kept me coming back to further pursue my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    East Central is one of, if not the cheapest, colleges in Missouri. Weather you're just getting out of High School or transferring from another college, East Central should be a heavy consideration. Aside from the cheap tuition, they offer a wide selection of transferable classes as well as educated and friendly professors/staff members.

    In three sentences

    Tuition is affordable, class sizes aren't too big, and teachers are friendly and helpful as well as the staff. All though, not everyone can be on their game all of the time, for the most part I would rate East Central College a 4/5 on an overall scale. The campus is also becoming quite modern with the addition of the new Admissions building.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Close to St. Louis!

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe's food is not very good, but the seating area is nice

    Dorm Life

    No on campus housing

    Tips for prospective students

    ECC has great advisers. The campus is on a hill. Lots of walking

    In three sentences

    East Central College is a wonderful 2 year college that really puts students first. East Central College has several fantastic instructors! East Central College has a beautiful campus.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security at all times and crime, though has occurred in the past, is extremely minimal.

    Clubs and Activities

    ECC has a multitude of clubs and activities, including the Student Government Association, Art Club, Performing Arts Club, Engineering Club, Allied Health Club, Campus Crusade for Christ, Roteract, Phi Theta Kappa, and many others. It's very easy and accessible to get involved with any club on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The school has a very strong nursing program, as well as newly renovated and wonderfully equipped studios for the art and graphic design programs. If you like the feel of a bigger school without going to a university, it's easy to attend whether you're an introvert or an extrovert.

    Bang for the buck

    Students who are, or have faculty members as either parents or spouses, can attend for free (tuition), and this school is also listed as the cheapest tuition in Missouri. Other fees aren't too over the top, usually just for studio or lab fees for the appropriate classes. Many teachers are also perfectly fine with older editions of textbooks, although the bookstore carries only the newest editions.

    What to do for fun

    There is a roller skating rink and movie theater just across the road, and the school itself has a lot of student activities like game and movie nights, as well as an art gallery, plays, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus with multiple different options, from fruit and salads to sandwiches, burgers and pizza. There is no food plan, and frankly the food is a little overpriced. However, there is an Arby's, Subway, Mexican, Chinese place and a DQ just across the street, along with a WalMart across the road. There are also multiple different options in Union, all within a mile of campus.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have a dorm, however I believe they can now assist with finding students a place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a very good school, but of course the level of student participation really depends on the class and/or programs. They will try to place you into the appropriate classes (Honors Comp vs. regular English Composition, for example), but there are often multiple teachers for core classes so if one is too difficult or too easy it's possible to switch early in the semester. Programs like Nursing or Biology will be more academically vigorous than Music or Art, but each program makes the effort to make sure each student has the right core classes intertwined with their studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your teachers, and especially your advisor. Probably the best way though to ensure your successful completion is involvement in a club or organization, but again, relationships really count. The school does have a multitude of resources, including tutors, private study rooms, an expansive library, counselors, and advisors are always available to help. Involvement in your education and in meeting with people is probably the best thing any student could do.

    In three sentences

    East Central College is a small school with big opportunities. The teachers are all very friendly and understanding, with small class sizes which optimize teacher/student relationships and learning. Each teacher cares deeply about their programs and classes, and a lot of work is put into each student's opportunity to learn and be able to transfer to the school of their choice smoothly.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Multiple activities on campus You have to get involved

    Food and Dining

    Good food in cafeteria Also has a grill where you can order hamburgers, etc

    Dorm Life

    Enjoyed dorm life, have met new and interesting friends

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging Professors are very helpful Professors make classes interesting

    Tips for prospective students

    1-visit campus 2-Talk with a counselor 3-Find out all activities available on campus and get involved

    In three sentences

    East Central Community College is an excellent first step into college life. This college has helped to prepare me for the next step in my college career. I would recommend this college for anyone wanting to attend community college first.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want a quick transfer degree

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said to begin with, $89/per credit hour for in-district students. I believe it is $99 but don't quote me on that for out of district rate.

    What to do for fun

    Computers with internet access is literally around every corner. Doing homework or browsing the web has never been easier. The Cafe setting also allows a stress-free environment or place to cool off.

    Food and Dining

    Rated two stars, not because the food is bad. I bring my pack and bring my own lunch to save money. The times I've had the food was not bad, but it can always be better.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. This is a campus/online school only with no dorm options.

    Academic Rigor

    Like anywhere else, instructors/professors tend to be both easy and hard. Study and know the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early and find the best study method for you.

    In three sentences

    Best bang for your buck! Currently $89 in-district tuition per credit hour. Easy to get transfer degree and move on to bigger and better things!

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any problems with safety in Union. People can be weird around here but you're not in any sort of danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs seem a bit unorganized at times but there is plenty extracurriculars to keep you interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Associate of Fine Arts Majors

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a fantastic bargain. Anyone with low funds and the ability to commute cheaply to this area should go.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus dorms but just down the road their are student apartments being built. I actually live in one of these, rent is about 450 per month and they're super nice. Small, but still nice.

    Academic Rigor

    ECC seems very similar to the learning style and difficulty of the high school I attended. It's easy to get overwhelmed, but easy to complete your work depending on the time of year.

    In three sentences

    East Central College seemed to be hardly any transition at all from attending High School in Union, MO. The tuition here is the lowest I've seen; paying for college here has been made entirely easy. The art program is fantastic, if you're a Fine Arts major you will love the faculty.