Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

East Central University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is seen at East Central University. I think that the campus life adapts to the age of the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your ACT testing done early so you can get a great score. It will help you with scholarships. Even if you don't know what you want to become, go to college and try it out. You don't know until you experience college for the first time.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that what Ada has to offer with East Central University, I do get a bang for my buck. I pay for my own classes and I think that each professor has made me more aware of the learning environment that this college has to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is easy to get around in. It's not too big that I would get lost going to and from class. Everyone is very friendly. Maybe it's because Ada is a smaller town, but even the students are receptive to me.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are just right in size. From the class of 6 to the class of 21 they all have been appropriate for learning. I have had great teachers, each one wants me to learn and take something from the classes.

  • 02/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small, community-like atmosphere where you know all of your teachers and classmates then East Central is perfect for you. There is also a great sense of school pride here, so if your favorite colors are orange and black, there's no better place!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! College is such a great experience but you are there first and foremost as a student. If you go to class and show your professors that you are making an effort you should have no trouble being successful at ECU.

    Bang for the buck

    There are tons of scholarship opportunities here and I have been lucky enough to not have to pay for any of my education. Even if I did have to pay my own tuition, though, I believe it would be well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The only thing I don't like about ECU is the location. I commute from Seminole and the 45-minute drive every morning is not fun! Everything else about East Central is wonderful. It's a great community.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned more at ECU than I ever thought I would! The classes are small and my teachers all know me by name. Teachers also really care about your academic success. As with any college you'll find a professor or two who don't connect with (or care about) students, but that is definitely not the norm.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ECU caters to pretty much every type of interest. We have the usual mix of super-smarties, frat boys/sorority girls, jocks, non-traditional students and regular students. Anyone who wants to get a good education wihout paying through the nose should give ECU a look. Hard partiers beware, however. ECU is pretty empty on the weekends, and Ada is a fairly small town.

    Tips for prospective students

    - The Honors Program is very big here, and it's a good way to gain prestige and make scholarly friends. Unfortunately, many students join on a whim and drop out of the program halfway through. The HSA requires a lot of effort; make sure you can keep it up before you join. -Take the tour before you enroll. The tour is led by student guides, and it covers every corner of the campus. Touring is a great way to get the feel of the school and ask questions about things that aren't covered in the official information. -Turn in your housing application as early as you can. Housing fills up fast here, and the good housing goes fastest. Get your application in early for the best chance at a good room.

    Bang for the buck

    ECU is a cheap school with all the amenities of a bigger college. We have the same sports teams, student organizations, festivals and fraternities/soroities a bigger college has, but at a fraction of the tuition. It is a small college though, in a fairly small town. Also, the dorms are a toss-up. The rooms are quite big, and the nice dorms (Knight, Briles) are very nice, but the bad dorms (Pesagi, Pontotoc) are pretty bad.

    Am enjoying being here

    I originally planned to transfer to UCO my third year, but year three has arrived and I'm still at ECU. I just couldn't bring myself to leave. ECU is more than a school; it's my home now. The campus is my playground, the dorm lounge is my living room, and the cafo is my breakfast room, dining room and snack pantry all in one. I know all the professors by name, I have a network of friends that stretches from one end of campus to another, I have a great on-campus job, and I'm involved in several student organizations. I love ECU.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned a lot in my time at ECU, both in and out of class. I feel that the classes here are giving me all the knowledge I need to prepare for my career. I've learned things I didn't know I needed to know, and sharpened skills I already had. The only problem is that there aren't many professors at this small school. So if you take certain classes, for example Photography I and II, you may get stuck with a professor who just can't teach. Luckily though, most of the profs know their stuff.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student could find ECU appealing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the residual if you can, it helped me a lot because all the pressures of the big ACT nerves aren't there.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges around, ECU is definitely the best option for low price but you still get a quality education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love that the campus is easy to navigate and that the staff is willing to help new students find their way around. There is enough people that a person of any interest could find friends and people that share their interests. Their is a club for EVERYTHING.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are a great size, not too big. The teachers are friendly and willing to help for the most part.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of things to do in ada for entertainment. go to the movies, attend an ecu sports game, and even go to the university center and enjoy the amenities there.

    Food and Dining

    the ecu cafeteria is a buffet style cafeteria and the food is always good.

    Dorm Life

    the freshman dorms are not the nicest dorms, but you can move into the tiger commons as a sophomore and they are very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    the school will help you with anything you need. don't be afraid to ask. the campus is not that big, study the online map to find your classes.

    In three sentences

    a great school with a wonderful atmosphere. the teachers are very helpful and willing to make sure you learn. very welcoming for incoming students.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a small town with that small town vibe. It is a very safe school to attend. You know everyone and everyone seems to have each other's backs if it was ever needed.

    Great for these types of students

    All of ECU athletic programs are going nowhere but up. If you are an athlete this is a great school to attend.

    Bang for the buck

    I attended this school because I was offered a full ride scholarship for women's basketball. If I wasn't playing sports I probably would not have attended this college. However, because the sports atmosphere is so much fun you learn to love it.

    What to do for fun

    ECU athletics motto is 13 Sports 1 Team and we take that to heart. Everyone attends every game and they are very supportive. The funnest times you will have will be at sporting events. Everyone gets very involved!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is terrible. You will hate going everyday, but if you are on a free meal plan then you will learn to suck it up. The serve the exact same foods all the time and they are of very poor quality. When I first started I was sick for 2 weeks. Then my stomach got used to it finally.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Pontotoc Dorm which is where the Athletes stay. There are activities that the dorm directors will have, but the activities that all of us athletes come up with are a blast. There is never a dull moment at Pontotoc.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology is one of the hardest departments on campus. Their teachers are the toughest you will see, but they are also the ones that will work with you the most and help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there is something going on at the campus you should definitely attend. The athletes here are very involved with student activity. The more involved you are the more you will enjoy it. The less involved you are, the more you will find yourself disliking East Central.

    In three sentences

    ECU is a great athletic school that is doing nothing but moving up. Most people refer to ECU as Easy Credit University when it comes to academics except in the biology department. Student life is great and they are very involved in all sports' activities.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The officers of the ECU Police Department are good at what they do. It is comforting to see patrolling officers, and to know that they are only a phone call (or emergency station) away.

    Clubs and Activities

    East Central is home to a large number of student led organizations. Ranging from the Anime Club, to service organizations like Alpha Phi Omega, it is not difficult to keep busy.

    What to do for fun

    East Central constantly has events happening. Whether you enjoy sports, fine arts, or the odd hypnotist, it is not hard to find something to do!

    Food and Dining

    ECU has contracted Chartwells to provide on campus dining. The cafeteria is mediocre, while the snack bar in the UC is top notch. The ladies there will do everything they can to help.

    Dorm Life

    The residence scene at ECU is average. There is very little danger present, because of our awesome on campus police department. There is almost always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at ECU will not go out of their way to make your life hard. This does not mean that educational opportunity is lost, only that the focus is on learning, not useless work.

    Tips for prospective students

    East Central has a wide variety of campus organizations and clubs. Whether you are looking for social activities like the greek fraternities/sororities, or for service opportunities like Alpha Phi Omega, ECU is a great place to be!

    In three sentences

    ECU is a wonderful school. The various academic departments are fully student focused. It is wonderful to be able to have access to, and feel accepted by the professors.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its not expensive at all and you feel good about your education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or fraternity/sorority, get involved in college groups at church, or just got to the events around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has plenty of food to choose from and its good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty well put together and taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many majors to choose from!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here. You will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    This college has great professors that are willing to help you whenever you need. The campus is right in the middle of town so your right by other businesses and food places. The classes here are challenging enough to where you feel like your money is not being wasted.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports is a huge activity on campus. There are 13 sports that have games throughout the year. There are also numerous arts events and campus clubs. And there are Chritstian groups such as Club Alt. that anyone can check out.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is large and has a huge selection. There is food here for all pallets. The meal plans are also great and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. If you are a student athlete it is even better because of the community formed in and out of the dorms. All the dorms, though, are clean, nice, and a comfortable size.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough in that they challenge you, but you are not overwhelmed, especially freshman year. Most teachers are flexible when it comes to student athletes as well. Also, the classes definately take you out of your comfort zone to explore your full potential of learning, including honors programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the campus workers, especially the ones who have attended the college. Thay have great advice, teacher recommendations and more!

    In three sentences

    It is a extraordinarily welcoming campus, with people who are willing to help new students. The atmosphere is supportive and school spirit is evicent. I rate the school a 10 for how kind and easily accessible the school is.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rub the presidents nose in the library for good luck :)

    What to do for fun

    They have performers on campus sometimes and you can always hang out during the first week and finals week at all the things they have planned.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, but it could also be worse. I don't mind it really you just have to get there early to get the good stuff.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a fan of dorm life. Not much goes on in the halls, that I hear about anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    It's similar to high school, it could be harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send your apps to join student organizations early. The deadline for most is March.

    In three sentences

    ECU is very small and all the professors are friendly. The classes are small, the biggest I have have 50 people. The campus is very, very pretty.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are at least a dozen or so call boxes on campus and within at least every 200 feet. Call boxes are where you can quickly contact the campus police in case of any emergency.

    What to do for fun

    13 sports, organizations, students working on campus, swim, play pool, work out, and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home but I had had their food before. It's the best food I've ever had in my life.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I am sure that are really great!!

    In three sentences

    There are fewer than 5,000 students which makes it easier for students to get one-on-one attention or help when you need it. All the buildings are close so you don't have to walk for like twenty minutes to class. There are hundreds of parking spots for students who commute everyday to school.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well there a lot of things to do from pool to ping pong. Also we have sports between the dorms here. We play volleyball, basketball, and flag football. The best fun you might have all year is when we play human vs. zombies.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. They have different selection for u to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The staff here are pretty easy going and friendly. Also its fun when get to have friends dorm with you if you all going to the same college.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what you are majoring in. But if you do need help with school work the professor here would love to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you a type of student who wants one on one talk with a professor because u struggling, then this is the place for you. Also if you like to travel or want to travel around the world and the seven sea's, then this is the place for you. We have students from different places.

    In three sentences

    The faculty here are friendly and like to help students if they on struggling. Also it has a lot of different culture and countries here. The campus is easy to get around.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    ECU has a lot of extracurricular activities and classes to offer students.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Ada there is a little shopping mall, restaurants, and even a movie theater. Students are always at the movies on monday because of the student discount.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't too bad. There is definately a variety and plenty of space to dine with your team or friends.

    Dorm Life

    If one is looking for the typical dorm lifestyle then ECU has the dorms. If a problem occurs then the maintenance staff is there at one's call. the Resident Advisors are very considerate and friendly. they will help anyone to the best of their ability to help make the dorms to feel awesome like home.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers definately challenge the students, whether overcoming public speeches or tutoring in any subject, it offers great learning experiences

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend this school knowing there might be some challenges but the staff will do all they can to help anyone who needs it.

    In three sentences

    East Central University is great for those small town students who just aren't ready for a big city. This school is comfortable and very diverse. It offers great teachers and staff and is very friendly and clean.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be as creative as possible and don't turn down invitations. Such as, if someone asks you to go to a small concert or get together: Go! If you don't like it: cool, now you know. If you do: awesome! You have something to do now.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't bad at all. It is actually better than I had expected it to be.

    Dorm Life

    It is very boring and not very entertaining. So you have to make the most of it.

    Academic Rigor

    It's only a little more rigorous than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join in as many extra-curricular activities as possible. If there are events going on, join in. Don't just stay in your dorm and then wonder why you're never having any fun. And you have to put yourself out there, and be open to make any friends.

    In three sentences

    East Central University is a very pleasant and adaptable college. It is full of bright students. The scenery here is very nice.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food at East Central is splendid. The variety of food offered each day caters to a variety of palates.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at East Central is good. The interaction between the students living in the dorm is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The teacher/student partnership in learning at the college is great.

    In three sentences

    East Central University was great in introducing freshman into college life. The enrollment process went smoothly and effortlessly. The staff is amazing and is happy to assist in anyway possible.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs on campus for you to join. there are the college campus ministries, literary clubs, international clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the tiger fountain that people will put dish soap and detergent in and foam up the whole courtyard. also there are bushes cut into the shapes of animals such as a cat, an elephant, and a snail.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on campus. dodgeball tournaments, volleyball games.

    Dorm Life

    i love living in the dorms. it is a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do the work and you will be out of there in 4 years.

    In three sentences

    it is an amazing school with friendly faculty and a beautiful campus. Everyone here is proud to be a part of this college. They have everything i need to complete my degree.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs are a ton of fun! I love ECU's organizations and variety of activities.

    Food and Dining

    Taft Cafeteria is constantly changing things up on their cuisine menu. Everything is there from a dessert bar to the pizza bar and even a pasta station. No matter what food preferences you may desire, Taff Cafeteria will surely please you.

    Dorm Life

    Pesagi Hall is the freshman dorm. It's clean, comfortable, and constantly fun! It's a coed dorm so there are plenty of opportunities to gain new friends thought your college career. I love living in the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but certainly not impossible. The professors make it a point to constantly assist students with their educational issues. In the end, working hard in school will get you very far in life and East Central is ready to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend class. It will benefit you in the long run. Save your money, there will be tons of fun things to be involved in at ECU. Join organizations/clubs. They are always a blast!

    In three sentences

    ECU is a great university for students who want a more intimate educational setting to prosper in. I rate my school a solid 10/10 for and up close experience and enjoyable atmosphere. It's the school to attend for students wanting to gain a 'home' away from home.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I have the utmost respect for all the staff and faculty. I believe they do take a more personal interest in their students you may not always find at a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really spread your wings while at school. You will meet people with interests and experiences you never even knew existed before. Try to meet a variety of people. Don't be afraid to venture out of your comfort zone and major field of interest. You may learn you're interested in something completely new to you.

    In three sentences

    This is my 2nd time at ECU. I grew up near and am familiar with the school. I'm proud to finally be earning my degree from ECU.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the small school setting. It is easy to get one on one help with my professors. I plan to continue here for as long as I can.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is a wide variety and i'm considering going greek next year. I didn't have the money this semester.

    What to do for fun

    Go out with roommates to the movies, bowling, or the park. Play basketball, tennis, or run.

    Tips for prospective students

    In 2003 East Central University had the #1 nursing program in the United States. The class sizes range from 20-32 students so you can connect well with your teacher. --Each teacher will know your name

    In three sentences

    East Central has such a big variety of degree majors. They continue to expand each year, and the teacher's are so helping. If you come here and go to college and try your hardest --you will succeed!

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A ---A small town, so generally not an issue.

    Greek Life

    Non participating; so I have no opinion.

    Clubs and Activities

    With the exception of Phi Theta Kappa, I am not a joiner

    Great for these types of students

    A student that comes to learn and want to live in a small town.

    Bang for the buck

    A--A good school for the dollar spent.

    What to do for fun

    What you would expect in a small town, which is what I like about the school.

    Food and Dining

    Only a small amount of exposure.

    Academic Rigor

    B to A- ..- this depends on the student, you will get out only as much as you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come preapred learn.

    In three sentences

    Because the school is small the student and his needs are not lost in the shuffle. The instruction is student based, and the instructors care about and are willing to help the student. Generally the Professors are dedicated to teaching the students instead of throwing the information at a audience.

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good!

    What to do for fun

    Events every month and all sporting events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved because ecu offers a lot.

    In three sentences

    Great school!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot more one on one with the teachers and the books are cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to the many great places around town or at the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Many challenges, but also lots of help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go visit your professors, and get to know them.

    In three sentences

    East Central University is a great colllege. The atmosphere there is great. The entire staff has full compassion for their students.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    East Centrals campus is very safe. The campus police are always driving around and just a phone call away! There are also many call boxed located around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    East Central is definitely a cheaper school but you get amazing professors and a beautiful campus!

    What to do for fun

    You can always go to the park which is not far from campus, there's Fieldhouse, and many other things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    They caff food is surprisingly good! You have so many options to pick from! Anywhere from pizza to salad, to pasta, to burgers!

    Dorm Life

    They dorm life has its ups and downs just like any other campus. You never have to drive to class! A major down for me is the shower situation. They showers in Pesagi stink! But thankfully they are putting new showers in this summer.

    In three sentences

    East Central is a great university. Because of its smaller size you really get to know all of your professors on a personal level. They are also building an amazing new business building for all of you business majors!

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Is good!

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors want you to be challenged to learn new stuff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with the advisor and explain your life goals. If you dont have said goals have your advisor explain the different job opportunities and responsibilities that each career would entail.

    In three sentences

    The help technicians are knowledgeable in how to navigate the web page. The staff is kind,caring, considerate, and helpful. Small class sizes allow students to obtain more 1 on 1 with the instructor.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the movies. Go to athletic events. Go to the donut shop late at night.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is much better than you would expect and there is an excellent variety so you can pretty much have anything you want. And the dessert is BOMB. And the ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and ugly on the inside. But they are clean and most of the RA's are cool so that's why it earned at least 2 stars. And it's fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't tough at all as long as you show up and do your work A's and B's are definitely realistic. You can do it. Just go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Get out and interact and don't be afraid to ask questions and get to know your professors. This will make it much more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    East Central is a small and very homy campus. It isn't hard to become acquainted with many of the students on campus. If you are looking for a good place to start or something that is just a small step up from high school then this is your place.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police that patrol the campus at all times as well as emergency boxes set up throughout the campus so that anybody can call for help if they need

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to challenge themselves by joining the Honors program and who like doing after school activities as well as students who struggle in the classroom and need more hands on attention from the teachers

    Bang for the buck

    It's not as prestigious as Harvard or Yale, but it much less expensive with smaller classes so the professors have more time to devote to each student and are more interested in each students sucess

    What to do for fun

    Visit the University Center and play pool, study, watch some tv or just hang out with your friends

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and the dinning facilities are kept clean and free of debris. The facilities are sizeable, allowing for several people to dine at a time.

    Dorm Life

    The people are friendly and maintenance generally works to resolve issues quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers challenge their students to learn and know the material, but they also give merit to the students who try and so showing up to class and participating will help earn your grade as much as just doing the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start college with the intention of attending your classes as many teachers will include a classroom attendance grading scale. Expect to set time aside to study, but remember that you have to have fun while your at it or you won't be able to learn.

    In three sentences

    The professors care about the students education and are willing to use their personal time to ensure that students are successful. Most professors are extremely knowledgeable about their fields of study and often will teach you more than just what is in the book. If you attend this college you will graduate knowing more than you hoped to about your field of study.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are games that you can go to.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has great food

    Dorm Life

    its a home away from home

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are there to challenge you

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your homework

    In three sentences

    East Central is a great college to go to. Its got a lot of fun things to do. there are a lot of people that want to help you.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are interested in becoming nurses. East Central has one of the best Nursing Programs in the state and they definitely make you work for your degree. ECU turns out some of the best nurses in the state.

    What to do for fun

    As I mentioned before, the RA's are always doing things in the dorm lobbies. On any given night you will find students in the lobbies playing ping pong, pool, or any other game you can think of. Movie nights are definitely a big thing in some of the dorms. Off-campus there may not be as much as some people would like. There is a Lazer Zone and some fairly good stores to go shopping in, though.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria usually has pretty good food. While there may not be as much variety as there is at some schools, there is plenty of fast food and restaurants to choose from in town that are just a couple of minutes from campus. Local favorites would include Taco Bell, Chicken Express, and McDonald's.

    Dorm Life

    Having lived on campus for the past three semesters, I would definitely recommend it. You make amazing friends and are never bored. The RAs, host programs every month or so that keep dorm life interesting. We have had everything from glow paint parties to paint twister and it always a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I mentioned previously, the professors are rigorous in their courses. East Central will definitely make you work for your degree but it is all worth it. The professors may be challenging, but they are willing to do what it takes to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live in the dorms, you will immediately have friends. The Resident Assistants hold programs every month in most of the dorms that are to help students feel like they are apart of the school and to encourage lasting friendships. Also, when it comes to classes, you should definitely go and ask lots of questions. The professors are some of the best and they definitely challenge their classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus, faculty, and all other aspects of ECU are amazing. I have lived on campus for going on two years and have loved every moment of it. It may be small, but it certainly makes up for it in spirit and experiences.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much crime ever really happens at ECU. It is a very safe campus, I have never been afraid there once.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities seem to be very enjoyable at ECU.

    Clubs and Activities

    ECU has tons of clubs and activities. There is definitely something for everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Many church events are held on campus for students who enjoy staying connected in church groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The CMA (christian motorcycle association) meets at ECU.

    Bang for the buck

    I think ECU is very fair with their prices. All colleges are expensive but ECU is worth the money

    What to do for fun

    ECU always has something going on. Going to the sporting events is always fun but for the people who do not enjoy sports there are also many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is great. They have a lot of options and there are also many restaurants near campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have heard they are not very good. They are very small and not extremely clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics are great. The teachers know how to keep their students interested and they teach in a way that is easy to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an idea of what classes you want to take and with which professors before you go to enroll or talk to your advisor.

    In three sentences

    ECU has interactive classes that are easy to enjoy. The staff is very helpful. Also the campus has tons of fun activities going on all the time.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! There is a police call box every few yards. 24 hour campus police. Trust me they are very effective.

    Greek Life

    Not really a big thing here, but there are two fraternities, and the sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baptist Student Union. United Campus Ministries. Silent Friends Club. Student Government. Art and Drama department.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town people who don't want to get lost in the crowd. Students who want to attend college for a degree not for parties.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the home football games is the thing. In town there is a movie theatre, and a fun center. On campus there are many activities. Some night's there are movies outside in the square. Tennis courts, basket ball.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are affordable. Cafeteria is nice and has excellent food and a buffet. The student center has a nice shop and burger stand.

    Dorm Life

    Average. Not coed. Rooms are quaint. Secure. No parties or illegal activities take place within. Very homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Each student is considered an individual when it comes to academics, not a statistic. If you are struggling, an academic advisor will contact you and go over your individual needs and goals and what they can do to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they can be very helpful and understanding. Make friends, your in a small town and you will need help throughout your college career. Don't be afraid to ask your teacher for help, it's why they are there.

    In three sentences

    ECU is a very welcoming and friendly place. The professors at ECU are very helpful and understanding. The school puts academics and individuality first.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I honestly believe that if you go to school that you will have a great time while you enjoy learning. Most important, show up for class and make sure you do all of your homework even if you may not think its correct, ask for help don't be shy shyness gets you no where a teacher or classmate will not be able to help you if you don't speak up and ask for help.

    What to do for fun

    Here on campus there's always something to do , whether it be just hanging out in the Student Union, going for a swim, working out, or just playing pool and Ping-Pong, and usually the Greeks have open house where they welcome anyone to just come and play games and do different activities.

    Food and Dining

    Here at ECU we have the Taff Cafeteria which is a great place with a nice staff and many different varieties of food, there's really something here for everyone. No matter what you will always leave happy and full!!

    Dorm Life

    The ECU dorm life is really a great experience for everyone to meet new people. There's always something going on especially in the lobbies of all the dorms like having meet and greets, a night with the Greeks etc...

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at ECU are great, many may think college is scary or the teachers are all mean and don't care about you being here or not. Well that's really not the case here the teachers actually care and they have plenty of office hours and times or tutor sessions where you can have one on one time with your teacher to get help and ask all the questions you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student I would honestly recommend ECU as a choice for your future college, because you are guaranteed to meet new people and have fun but most of all get a great education out of it all.

    In three sentences

    I feel East Central University is a great school. I feel that ECU has many opportunities for many people and this school has a wonderful campus with small classes and plenty of one on one time between students and teachers. I also feel that ECU has that feeling of security where you aren't too far from home but you are just far enough.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University Center has plenty of things to do, Pool, Ping Pong, Computers, Basketball, piano, etcetera.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are average at best. The meal plan is extremely expensive and it is worth commuting every day just so you do not have to pay for the meal plan.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class or you will definitely regret it.

    In three sentences

    ECU is a great university if you want a nice homey feeling. They have a cartography program (hard to find) and wonderful arts and health science college. The campus is small enough where you can get to class right after another easily.