Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

East Georgia State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    i like to study in your college. i am interested in this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    i think this college is good for every student

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am at the Statesboro campus so there is not actual greek life for East Georgia students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small towns that are not ready to make a big transition to a bigger population.

    Bang for the buck

    very very affordable!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities, sports and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to write top-notch papers.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia College is a wonderful school to attend. The professors are outstanding and the work is not over whelming. It is a great place to start college life.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus are pretty good, and since the campus is small they can get to wherever the problem is rather quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always tons of neat things going on, most involve free food.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for new, fresh-out-of-high-school students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bookstore is always a great place to go, besides having tons of snacks everyone is always really nice.

    Bang for the buck

    You get great education for tuition that it just over $1,000 bucks! Did I mention some of the professors are famous?

    What to do for fun

    Swainsboro itself is pretty boring but there are plenty of cities around Swainsboro that can be fun!

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is awesome. They cook all food to serve so sometimes there is a wait but its worth it to get delicious hot food!

    Dorm Life

    We just got brand spanking new dorms in Fall of 2011, they are simply fantastic! The clubhouse is awesome and the meal plan is worth it!

    Academic Rigor

    Its not too hard as long as you keep up with your homework and assignments. Like I said it makes for a great first time college to ease you into the experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to the bookstore, that staff is always super helpful and most of them have been going to the college for awhile and know the ins and outs of EGC.

    In three sentences

    Its a quiet little college that offers a great personal classroom experience. The advisers and staff are always friendly and helpful and ready to guide you through your college experience. Its a fantastic college for first time college goers.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe.. I actually had car trouble once, i received help in no time.. campus police are always easy to find

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    spirit week... each day of the week we dress up in various attire accordingly

    What to do for fun

    basketball, softball, baseball,flag football ,tennis, disc golf

    Food and Dining

    fresh and cheap

    Academic Rigor

    vigorous at times

    Tips for prospective students

    Small class sizes, neat campus, all in walking distance

    In three sentences

    I would recommend East Georgia College to anyone seeking higher education, one on one assistance, small class sizes and a friendly area. Since I have attended, I have been pleased with staff and activities offered. I'm looking forward to completing my degree here.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. We go to the Rac. and then we party alot

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college. I like the teachers there. The Teachers act like they really like to teach

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is secure. There is a security guard who assists and watches the campus. There are also security cameras to ensure the safety of us students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not enrolled in any clubs but they offer lots of them. Especially sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unsual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    My school's main major is Nursing. That is also my major.

    What to do for fun

    There are lot of leisure activities such as extra curriculums. If you are sociable, there are lots of social interraction clubs and advocative clubs for public awareness. Also, there are clubs to party with ones age group such as Gata's., The Grill, and Rude Rudies.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I live in an apartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students remain a average 3.0. Pay attention in class. Also, be passionate and ambitious.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia College is a conducive area. The teachers are very helpful and supportive. I really enjoy school here and might stay for the remaining 4 years.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, officers present.

    Greek Life

    2 yr colege

    Clubs and Activities

    in the statesboro campus, lots of parties

    Great for these types of students

    all types of students

    What to do for fun

    go to parties

    Food and Dining

    lots of fast food restaurants and grocers

    Dorm Life

    off campus apartments:)

    Tips for prospective students

    you will love the college..if you are interested in a two yr college. try east ga at statesboro campus.

    In three sentences

    I love the college experience. I definitely recommend to anyone. No ACT or SAT scores. You can take the compass test to be placed.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards and campus police patrol regularly and see too it everyone is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs to choose from for those interested in them.

    Great for these types of students

    East Georgia is great for students from a smaller school who aren't quite ready for the burden of a large college.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel East Georgia has expanded my learning, in the year and a half I have been enrolled, at a decent, fair price.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers fun games and group times for outside fun.

    Food and Dining

    The meals are enjoyable and offer a variety of choices. The dining hall is pleasant as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new, clean, and rather nice. A security guard is present to help those living out for the first time feel safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the college is challenging, but the homework assignments empower the students to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time for class. Attend class regularly. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia is a small college that's easy to get around. The staff are friendly and helpful. The housing is great!

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Nest. It's an interesting experience.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Bars next to the Georgia Southern Campus. Thursday threw the weekend, there's a lot of people and its fun every weekend.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT FALL BEHIND. If you got a plan stick to it.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college. I like that its part of Southern and makes transferring that much easier. I'd recommend it to anyone looking to start school.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Both Statesboro and Swainsboro have attractions for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    There is great restaurants all around the school. Also, the school has great food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but the dorms are beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    In your main courses, you need to attend and do your work to the best of your ability to get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and you will make this college experience benefit you.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia College is filled with amazing teachers. It is a small college that has classes to work around everyone's schedule. It let's you transfer to bigger colleges simply and easily.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At our campus, we always felt safe. We had a public safety officer who constantly monitered our campus to make sure we were all protected. East Georgia along with Georgia Southern have email and text alerts to warn students when a potential threat is present. This is a wonderful system considering how far technolog has come.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, the students of East Georgia College Statesboro were not allowed to join sororities at Georgia Southern. However, I understand how you should be a student at a particular college in order to join. I believe it would be greatly beneficial and fun for East Georgia College Statesboro to look into forming Greek Life functions.

    Clubs and Activities

    East Georgia did not have too many clubs or activites of their own. However, Georgia Southern University did and allowed our school to combine with them on the fun. I believe this is a great way to meet new people and see new things.

    Great for these types of students

    East Georgia College is a wonderful option for students, like myself, who did not graduate with the highest GPA, but wanted to persue a degree. This college eased my nerves of being a freshman and made life alot easier. It is a great beginner college for any student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There were not exactly what I would call unusual traditoins or locatoins on campus. However, Georgia Southern University shared its campus with us for various things such as recreational facilites, collegiate programs, and most importantly class locations.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that I received a wonderful education for the amount of money my family paid. I know obtain life lessons as well as educational values that I will carry for years to come. East Georgia definitely lived up to my expectations and more!

    What to do for fun

    To be perfectly honest, class itself I considered fun. Our campus had various trips in conjunction to the main campus and also activities at Georgia Southern University, where some East Georgia classes were held.

    Food and Dining

    Since this was a smaller campus compared to the main campus, food and dining options were not exactly available. However, we had a small campus store that sold great snacks and drinks at great prices. Our campus also had various cookouts troughout the semester making breaks from class fun!

    Dorm Life

    The campus location I attended, Statesboro, GA, did not have dorm facilities. This campus was conveniently located within twenty minutes of my home making my decision to stay at home greatly beneficial.

    Academic Rigor

    The entire East Georgia institution made their standards and expectations very clear. From the moment you were accepted, you had an understanding of what was expected of you. If you fail to comply with these expectations, no exceptions were made and you dealt with the consequences.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I suggest not being afraid to talk to your instructors! The instructors at East Georgia are more than willing to help. Before my first year, I was very skeptical because I had always heard that proffesors did not care about their students, it was just a job. This is not the case with East Georgia! My past instructors dedicated their time to each and every student and helped them to achieve their academic potential.

    In three sentences

    I believe East Georgia College to be an excellent school. This institution made my first year of college smooth and effective. I am very pleased with the knowledge I obtained and am greatly appreciative of the life lessons the school has given me to aid in my future college career.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. The security is top-notch, but it doesn't restrict on your freedom at the same time unless you lose your student id, which would be a huge problem. The school has a Connect-ed system which notifies students through their cells if someone has a gun or a hall has closed down. We do some drills once in a while, but nothing dangerous happens on campus even at 3 in the morning. There's always police patrolling campus. They pretty much keep things under control.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here. Sorry!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are the basic clubs and activities. It's just so limited, but they still find ways to make it fun. Intramural stuff is always entertaining and intense, even though they're only playing for t-shirts and pizza parties. The winning football team actually gets to go to an intamural football tournament in Statesboro where hundreds of teams compete. That's actually really cool. The International Club does a lot more activites than most clubs from food days to fashion shows to movie nights.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who prefer a small town. The cost and even the gas is cheap. It's for those students who don't feel ready for that hardcore university curriculum and just want to get a smooth transition into college. It almost feels like a second high school. It's a very personal environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The addition of a walking trail is pretty nice. Pretty much, the whole campus is a national wildlife reserve. I've never really been in contact with those animals. There's also a nice lake with ducks and geese living there. It does smell, but it is nice to look at.

    Bang for the buck

    With the school being really cheap to go to, there are much more benefits than losses. You can always find stuff to do, and if you're that bored, go to statesboro, which has TONS of things to do there. The clubs like Ruby's and Platinum are only $5 to get in. There's plenty of arcades like the Clubhouse, which is a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    There are game centers in the student center and the dorms. They are small, but I like hanging out there. There's a nature trail, which is also small but it is something you could do. We also have a gym and basketball courts where most of the intramural activities take places. There's volleyball, football, basketball, and other kinds of sports. The college has 4 sports people can go and watch: baseball, softball, men's and women's basketball. Some people go to Wal-mart for fun. I don't see much fun in that though. To go to the club or the movies or even the bowling alley you have to drive 30 minutes to Statesboro.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many restrictions on the food, which is what I love most about life. Plus, the food from the cafeteria is not even that great. It's pretty much on and off. They do give you $145 to eat at the cafe which has much better food and drinks, but they jacked up the prices so more people would eat at the cafeteria. More people would eat cafeteria food if it was GOOD. They are trying to make it better though. Plus, the choices are so limited. If it wasn't for the cafe, I'd give the college a 2 in this area.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice. They're pretty much brand new with a suite-style apartment. There are 4 rooms and 2 bathrooms with a kitchen and a common room with a large flat-screen and a couch. They provide a bed and a desk and a rack for clothes. The price might seem high, but it's worth the money. Plus, there's no curfew, but there are some rules about guests which is a bit annoying. The problem most people have is the people. It already sucks that you can hear everything in the building, yet some just have to run down the halls screaming their heads off. That's only a few though. I've had a roommates whose friends would take my stuff, which is a hassle, but if you pick the right roommates and friends, you won't have much issues with the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging, but that mostly depends on your major. The professors do everything they can to help you pass, but you have to show that you care at the same time, of course. Some classes feel like it's high school; the kids that fail those classes are just too lazy to do their work. Mostly, if you keep up with your work, you'll pass easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to start. You will get a very personal learning experience from teachers, and it is very easy to contact them if you need help. It's an easier and cheaper way to start college than from just going to a university.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia is a warm, comfortable environment filled with friendly people. It is one of the most beautiful junior colleges I have ever seen. Because it is located in a small town, however, you have to drive a bit to go to the movies and etc.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Swainsboro, there are not many opportunities for fun outside of school. There are towns near East Georgia College that offer many more options. Swainsboro has been considered as a retirement town, and the most interesting place in the town is the college.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten in the cafe on campus once. The food was good, but with many fast food restaurants in Swainsboro, I find it easier to go to one of them. I have heard bad reviews by other students about the food on campus, as well.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms. There were rumors of the dorms being trashed because of the students who were living in them at the time. Students who do not even use the dorms have a room, which does not make any sense because other students could, in fact, use it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes do not offer extremely difficult assignments, unless you are taking chemistry. The hardest part, academically, is just remembering your assignments and then actually completing them. The college eases new students into the college scene and into college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to go to the tutoring center if any complications in understanding a class arise. Talk to your advisor because, otherwise, it can feel like you're walking blind throughout your time at the college. Don't worry about having to make new friends, because everyone is friendly and very welcoming.

    In three sentences

    The majority of the professors are exceptional in their subjects. The coursework is fair and is great for first-time college students. Unfortunately, the financial aid office is not the brightest department on campus.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can attend ball games. They have many events every semester. You can also join clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of places to eat at in the Swainsboro and Statesboro area. You have a lot to choose from. Both are big cities.

    Dorm Life

    The Swainsboro campus has dorms, but the Statesboro campus doesn't.

    Academic Rigor

    Their Academic rigor is pretty swell. They have softball, baseball, basketball, football, etc. If your an athlete then you have found the right place.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your online, keep your head in the books. Its a lot harder than what it would be if you were on campus. Whenever you have questions, make sure you email or call your professor as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia College is a pretty good school. However, I am enrolled in Online classes. If your into nursing or just needing to take general classes, then its the perfect place for you.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i dont stay in the dorms so i dont know how its like.

    In three sentences

    A great school that helps you with your financial services and tuition. They have two well kept campuses also. The teachers are also great.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With police officers constantly patrolling campus, everyone is safe. In the two years I have attended, I have never heard of a report of any criminal activity. East Georgia is a quiet, safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, Greek Life has not been started on campus yet. Hopefully with the implement of the dorms, Greek Life will soon follow.

    Clubs and Activities

    With nearly thirty clubs on campus, student life is always busy and bustling. The clubs on campus are involved with everything from coordinating pageants to enforcing recycling efforts. Students at EGSC care about their environment and love the school they attend.

    Great for these types of students

    A student looking for a warm, home atmosphere would love East Georgia. The college is perfect for those not wanting to delve into a large university for their first two years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the Susie Fulford Center, there is a planetarium where local students and educators come for field trips to learn about the planet. Also, the school grounds are protected by state law for the diverse reptiles and mammals here that are endangered. The Gopher Tortoise has been seen on campus many, many times!

    Bang for the buck

    Located in a small town in central Georgia, EGSC offers low tuition. This is wonderful because the education is top-notch.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, as EGSC is located in a small town, there is nothing much to do for fun. That is why Student Life works very hard to keep the student experiences and activities so diverse. With a major city (Statesboro, GA) forty-five minutes away, the drive is not long to have a night out on the town.

    Food and Dining

    Being in a small town doesn't afford much of a dining experience, the cafeteria here is nice but it is no 5-star restaurant!

    Dorm Life

    Brand-new 200 bed dorms with LCD tvs, an active Student Life department, wonderful intramural sports, and always have an event on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easily difficult. This is college, therefore studying is important. Here at EGSC we have teachers from Europe, published educators, and an educator that once worked with NASA!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to make friends by stepping out of your comfort zone. A simple smile tells the world hello and gains you friends. Asking for help can be one of the most terrifying tasks in the world, but do not be afraid. More than likely the person sitting next to you in class is as scared - if not more - than you are on the first day.

    In three sentences

    Small town life at it's best is here at East Georgia College. With admission numbers less than five thousand, the teacher-to-student ratio is very low. East Georgia State College is one of the South's best kept secrets.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    all sorts of sports like football, baseball, basketball, volleyball, etc... and also bring visitors for shows.

    Food and Dining

    no dining, but they do have vending machines

    Dorm Life

    offer on campus housing for an affordable price

    Academic Rigor

    if they have the major, you will gain the knowledge you need

    Tips for prospective students

    1. apply 2. attend class 3. get the education you need in 2 years 4. graduate on time with your class

    In three sentences

    east Georgia college is a very cheap and helpful college to attend if your looking for and education but at an affordable price. EGSC also helps you gain the access to the money that you need to pay for tuition fees. overall try EGSC out and i promise you will be satisfied.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety officers are great. They are always patrolling campus to make sure that everyone is in a safe environment. If you have any problems, they are always there to help.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on around campus. You can visit the fitness center, get together a basketball game, play in the game room, play flag football, and participate in the many school activities around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. It just depends on what you eat. But I have heard many people enjoy it, I just have weird taste. There is a dining hall, a cafe, and a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have been in a few with friends. They are nice dorms that are only about 1 1/2 years old. They are very cozy, and allows you to get to know other students.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are so helpful. The work load isn't bad. If you pay attention in class and use your time wisely, you will be just fine.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school for people who are looking for an easy transition from high school to college. The professors are always so helpful. It is a great school environment, with great people.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate dorm life as my experience, because i do not stay in a dorm. So i will rate it as a 5, from the pictures i saw.

    Tips for prospective students

    All the students are not as friendly as they seem. If you are struggling in a class, go during the professors' hours and go get personal health.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia College has a large amount of helpful professors, that are willingly to help if you ask them. The staff is also friendly and will try to help with financial aid problems. Unlike Universities, East Georgia parking is much cheaper.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrols are everywhere here to keep you safe at all times and they take their job seriously but they can be friendly as well unlike so many other campus safety police.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game center here believe it or not. They have air hockey, billards, foosball, and playstation 3 to keep you entertained during your down time.

    Food and Dining

    The food at EGC is great and priced reasonably. However, if you have a meal plan, you might want to definatly watch how many times you eat at the cafe or diner a day.

    Dorm Life

    Even though the dorms are clean, the rooms are ridiculously small. The only god thing really about the dorm is the kitchen and the entertainment center or living room.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenges come with every college and this college really gets you to think. The professors want you to apply not only yourself but your mind so that you reap the benefits available to you. Just stay focused and the lessons will come easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be overwhelmed and pay attention in class. You are, after all,paying for your seat. Study and take note along with reading your chapter to stay in the kno of what is going on.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia College is an amazing college to begin your future, with smaller classes and more one on one time with the prefessor. The professors here really care about getting you to where you want to be and will give you tips and tricks every step of the way. Even calculus seems simple here!

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with nearby school campus events or Church events. I guarantee you will enjoy it once you get used to it and it will be worth your while.

    Food and Dining

    EGSC does not provide meal plans at the Statesboro campus so you must provide for your own food. This is not bad, it just means you need to incorporate food expenses into your budget. You will also need to find a way to get in those vegetables! You may want to eat out alot, but I would recommend cooking your own meals. (as long as you don't burn the place down.)

    Dorm Life

    As stated above, there are no dorms in Statesboro. Be good neighbors! Abide by the rules of the place you stay at. The last thing a student needs is to be evicted in the middle of a semester.

    Academic Rigor

    EGSC is by no means a push-over school. You will have plenty to learn. You must study for your exams and do homework for every class. It is much easier to keep up and make sure all your work is done if you take the time to schedule it on your calendar.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students at the Statesboro campus: -Parking Stickers for your car expire at the end of each semester. You must get the new one or you WILL be ticketed. If you get three tickets, your car will be TOWED!!! This is very important! (If you are going from one campus to the other, pay extra for the bus transport!) -Because EGSC does not provide housing at the Statesboro campus, try to find out if you can room with someone else at an apartment nearby. -Do not party too hard! All work affects your final grade.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia State College is a great college to start off at because East Georgia college is cheaper than most other colleges and offers core classes that transfer to other schools. East Georgia State college has two campuses, in Swainsboro and in Statesboro, although most classes and all events are held at the main center in Swainsboro. EGSC is currently adding dormitories at the main campus, but the Statesboro campus doesn't have a dormitory- although at both places they do not require you to live on campus (obviously).

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch sports, play intramurals, and ping pong!

    Food and Dining

    The college offered a small cafe which was pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live in dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't an easy academic trek, but can over take a person not willing to put the effort into it/

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask for help whether it's from faculty or support staff.

    In three sentences

    East Georgia is a great school for beginning the college experience, It provides the support and guidance needed for new students and students continuing their education. The faculty and staff is very helpful and nice.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At the Statesboro campus there is a bowling ally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep up with your work and when work is due.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. There are some great teachers and some not so great teachers. Over all I like this college.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a pole with a button for security around. You can also call the campus security on your phone and they are always riding or walking around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to chose from and many activities to participate in or go to. There is something for almost everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    This school tuition is reasonable. If you take classes at Statesboro, you can use GSU library and go to their gym. Its worth the money. Its like you going to two schools for the price of one almost.

    What to do for fun

    The lobby area was a god place to meet up with friends or meet new friends. I went to class on the statesboro campus so i could go to GSU gym to work out or go swim or play volleyball or basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The machines in the lobby area was always stacked with good snacks and ice cream. They had a microwave so you can bring your own food and warm it up too.

    Dorm Life

    I didnt stay in the dorm. So, i cant comment on it.

    Academic Rigor

    This was my first college. My experience here was pretty great. I met all different types of people and the teachers I had my first 2 semesters were good and i had a great helpful adviser.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on rate my professor to know what situation you are going into. some teachers are really great and very helpful and others are sort of helpful and give too much work to handle as a freshman. The ACE center was the go-to place for me when i needed help in any subject.

    In three sentences

    This school is very good for a 2 year college. It has many athletic classes to take. The employees are also friendly and helpful.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The law enforcement personnel are efficient and well trained. There are little to no safety issues on EGC campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am so involved in my personal education, full time employment, and a child that I do not have time to experience the various clubs and activities that EGC has to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is a great starting point for students that plan to continue their education elsewhere. This is a college for students that are serious about their college education and learning.

    Bang for the buck

    With East Georgia College, you will all the bang for the buck you have been expecting out of a college experience. The campus in Statesboro utilizes the neighboring Georgia Southern University campus facilities and East Georgia students have all that is available to GSU students.

    What to do for fun

    East Georgia College has various campus locations that include Swainsboro, Statesboro, and Augusta. The campus offers many educational job fairs, chess club, spelling b's, and various community relations that the student may be involved in.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Acquire good study habits early in your college career. 2.) Assume full responsibility for your grades and take each failure as a chance to do better. 3.) When studying, learn the material as if you are preparing for a pop quiz the following morning. 4.) Attitude is everything. If you think you can do it, you probably can.

    In three sentences

    The instruction, education, and even friendship that I have acquired within the last year of my college experience has, without a doubt, changed my life for the better. The faculty and staff here at East Georgia College are undeniably knowledgeable on their subject of expertise and overwhelmingly caring for the education and futures of every student. East Georgia College is off the charts on a one to ten ranking system!

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    GREAT

    Dorm Life

    AMAZING

    Academic Rigor

    GOOD

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I give East Georgia State College 5 stars. The teachers love to work with you to help you learn your school work. The school is a safe friend place to be.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities to join here. They have many community activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wonderful cafe located right in the building.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and also go to an extension branch so dorm are unavailable here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are up to par and you have the ability to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in for a small class room feel and a personal basis this school is a great choice for you.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very friendly. At East Georgia, you can get the guidance you need if you are off track. I am very pleased with this school and am looking forward to my next few years here.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on campus made just for the school. I no way, shape, or form have I ever felt that my safety was threatened or even close to being threatened.

    Greek Life

    There are currently no sororities or fraternities at East Georgia. There is an honors club though that is a branch of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club day at the beginning of the semester. There are far too many clubs to name but if you go to the schools website you'll be able to view a complete listing of all clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of the university system of georgia school, East Georgia is the least expensive. It's amazing the quality of life that you can have for the price that it cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. We received free aqua massages during finals week. We've had euro bungee jumping, regatta races, 5k fun runs, a hypnotist came out, olympic medalist came to the school too, and that was all during the fall semester. Who even knows what the spring holds.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is actually really good. Surprising I know. The have a chef that makes nearly all of the meals, and to say the least she can cook.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor in my opinion is based on the class load that you choose for yourself. My personal opinion is that it isn't too hard, but just right. I currently have a 4.0 gap. I complete my assignments but in no way am I the smartest apple in the bunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in attending East Georgia come check out the school. The tours are great and I doubt that you'll be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, small class sizes, and the faculty is very approachable and helpful is assisting with any student needs. Somewhat secluded, so If that's you you'd def enjoy East Georgia.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards all around campus. At night the campus is lit up very well so you don't have to worry about walking around in the dark.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are great. There are book clubs, the international club, art club, drama club, outdoor rec club. Pretty much anything for anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The duct tape boat race has become a tradition. That's pretty fun.

    Bang for the buck

    You get all you pay for with this college. You get a great education. The college is in an awesome location and the classes are lots of fun.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of fun things to do. There's always some sort of event taking place. Go to a basketball or baseball game. Go watch a vision series production (movies, concerts and so on). Join some clubs and they will keep you busy with all kinds of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good. The cafeteria is good too.

    Dorm Life

    This is just based on what I've heard because I never stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I had to study a lot for most of the classes that I was taking, but all of my teachers were great and would help out if I needed them to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as much as you can on campus. Join some clubs and have fun, but make sure to keep up with your studies as well. If you are having trouble with classes go to the A.C.E. center or ask your teachers for help.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed my time at East Georgia. Great classes and teachers. Also some great activities.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take full advantage of ACE!

    In three sentences

    East Georgia is a great school to start you off. East Georgia provides excellent professors who excel at what they do. Making the decision to attend East Georgia first was one of the best decisions I think I have made.