Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

East Texas Baptist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small campus. I personally love how independent I can be because of the school's size. :)

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it does cost more than public schools. Financial aid is really good at putting together scholarship packages to help you out though.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since it's such a small campus and it's required (in most cases) to live on campus, it's easy to make and stay in touch with alot of people. I've already made a ton of new friends in my first semester.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors at ETBU are always going above and beyond. They're available quite often if you ever need help. It's obvious that they love to do what they're doing.

  • 12/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ETBU is a wonderful university for those who are on fire for God. If you want to receive an outstanding education, and have multiple missionary opportunities this is the campus for you. The various athletic teams, along with the music program, are great for students who have such interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is best to look into ETBU early. Make sure you would enjoy going to a small university smaller than some high schools. If so, look at the opportunities available, and check to see if they match what you want to get out of a college.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private Christian university, the price tag is fairly large. However, many scholarships are available. The education one receives here, in my opinion, is worth it. With professors who are passionate about Christ, students learn so much more than math and english. Students learns life skills and grow in the Lord. I believe the tuition is a small price to pay for such an education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus always has something going on. Whether it be small group bible lessons, corporate worship, or guest musician performing/speaking, there are multiple things one can participate in. This allows for many opportunities to meet new people, and make life-long friends. The Campus itself is beautiful: perfect for walks outside or outdoor gatherings. Overflowing with the love of Christ, the students and faculty are genuine and friendly. All of these factors combined create an enjoyable environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers show a love for the subject they teach, and are available for extra help if needed. They push you to learn and give your best effort, but are there for you when you struggle. The small class sizes allow for more engaging participation.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ETBU is a wonderful school for everyone. They have so many different disciplines to study there. It is one of the few small universities to have a Nationally Accredited Athletic Training Program. They also have an awesome exchange student program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick the school that you love and not some school that your friend or boyfriend loves. You need to be where you will feel comfortable and fit in. You need to walk on that campus and feel like this is where you belong. Once you get to the campus you choose, get involved with campus life and your classes. Don't waste the opportunities college has to offer to meet people and gain life experience. Great for these types of students

    Bang for the buck

    You will get your money's worth when you go to ETBU. Yes it is an expensive school, but the education you receive is well-worth the expense. You also meet some of your best friends here. This school is so much fun as well. School is what you make of it. If you want to party all the time and waste your opportunities, that is your choice. If you want to learn to balance social life and studying that is also your choice, and you will be a better person for learning balance

    Am enjoying being here

    I love ETBU. I call it my home. The people here are wonderful. There are so many helpful and friendly people here who are easy to talk to. You can also find some older students who have experience in classes and activities and ask them for help

    Am learning a lot

    At ETBU you learn so much more than what you would learn at a larger, less personal university. . The classrooms are small so you can have that one-on-one time with the professor if you are in need of a little extra help. They also teach you life lessons. You learn something new here everyday

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    East Texas Baptist University is a community of faith and that aspect is shown everywhere. This school is really great for Christian students who want to further their faith while also getting a great education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. There are tons of little ministries and groups here on campus. Also don't be afraid to ask questions. ETBU's admissions counselors are super helpful at making sure ETBU is a right for you (Which I know it'll be!)

    Bang for the buck

    Personally as a major in Religion East Texas Baptist University provides me with everything I need to succeed in the future. And realistically their tuition prices are great for the quality of education you get here. ETBU also has a great nursing, business, education, and pre-med program and is ranked highly for those programs. I never feel as if I'm wasting my money or time here at ETBU.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a small campus but by no means is it boring. We have tons of places where you can go with friends to hang out with on-campus and even off-campus there are many places to go out. The people are here are really nice and you'll make friends in no time!

    Am learning a lot

    East Texas Baptist University's professors are incredibly articulate and are very dedicated to their students. They make themselves available to the students for any academic issue they might have and will work with the students to make sure they pass their class!

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians who are in desire of a school built on the faith of Jesus, students who want to go to a smaller school but not a small school, students who desire accountability, students who desire to be themselves (we have some odd styles), students who want to get out into the community to serve, and anyone who desires to be a ETBU Tiger!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just come. The community here is wonderful. People truly desire to get to know you. The campus is small so it is just like one huge family who loves one another. I am missing ETBU so much right now. Also do not go home all the time. You form relationships on the weekends so if you are always going home you will be miserable.

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag for ETBU is indeed high, but the admissions office has done everything in their will to make it possible to go. My tuition is so cheap my parents nor I have taken out a loan and we are paying out of pocket. If you are looking into ETBU but the price tag scares you away just know admissions will fight for you to come. (I didn't mark 5 stars because I am still paying some money).

    Am enjoying being here

    The friends I have made here are unbelievable. They guide me spiritually as well as challenge my walk with the LORD. ETBU offers many opportunities to get involved. Being involved with BSM gets us out into the community to just love on the people who live in and around Marshall. ETBU has gone beyond my expectations.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors will push you and sincerely have great care and concern for your grades as well as your personal life. We are required to take Old as well as New Testament which is enhancing my knowledge of the Lord. Being here is not just about learning facts but it is about learning to apply what you learn in and outside of the classroom.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian

    What to do for fun

    Join friends at the student center. Cheap movie theater and bowling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over load your schedule and enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    It has a great athletic training program. It's kind of expensive but worth it. The campus is beautiful to walk around.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a Christian athlete, or a religion major, this is defiantly a college that you should tour.

    What to do for fun

    ETBU offers many intramural activities such as, kickball, baseball, volleyball, basketball, football, and many group organizations. Friends are always a plenty, so there will always be something to join in on, or someone to hang out with.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is very straight forward; you get cafeteria food 1, 2, or 3 times a day, depending on the meal plan you choose. They also offer about 100 to 150 dollars to spend on a coffee shop, and a sub sandwich restaurant on campus. The food isn't special but they offer new things daily, and on special events, they often provide free food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is about average. Nothing too special about the dorm size, or bathrooms. Usually you share a bathroom with 4-6 people. The internet is cable, so very quick and easy. Although you could supply your own wireless router, this is a small drawback for fast internet.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are very kind and understanding. They are often very personal with the students, giving help when needed. The classes are small enough for a kind of interaction that reminds me of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a child of Christ, you should definitely tour this campus. Although, if you are not of faith, this college is still worth checking out. It has a very accepting student body, and you won't be shunned for your personal beliefs.

    In three sentences

    ETBU is a very small, yet comfortable campus. It upholds many Christian ideas and values, with many opportunities to give back to the community. Although, it is a Christian school, I will still highly recommend this to any college student looking for a friendly, and comfortable environment.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You never hear anything happening in terms of safety. There are help poles around campus and security drives around campus also.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The debate team is one of the best teams in the nation. There are clubs for most majors.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot of money! There are ways not to pay,but after your freshman year it gets hard.

    Food and Dining

    It is better than you think for college food. it is better than high school. They have their on and off days.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on what dorm you are in. This year the freshman dorms are always having people in their lobbies.The Dorms are required to do three activities a year for the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I can tell the freshman classes are just like high school (although i did take AP) I have heard some classes upper level classes are hard. I have heard some professors are hard but they care for you.

  • 03/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it is expensive to go there. In the long run though, I think it will be a better idea for me.

    Will enjoy being here

    I think that in an environment where I have to live on campus and be around the school as often as possible, I will have a better chance at succeeding in what I want to do. For me, that is what I will enjoy.

    Will learn a lot

    I think that with the size of the school, I will learn as much as I possibly can. Also from hearing what students, that are attending this school now, are telling me about the teachers, it is a great opportunity.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletes and religious students.

    What to do for fun

    well being a college football player isn't the easiest job. with school work, study hall, practice, and workouts i really don't have much time for a lot of social events. but intramural sports is very big on campus. students love to be involved in intramural sports. i usually don't involve in them but it's always fun to go watch and support my friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is absolutely great! i love the cafeteria and the food is great during breakfast, lunch, and dinner. there is a large variety of food and if you love breakfast like myself there is even a breakfast location in the cafeteria that you can get breakfast at lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    the residence life has very strict rules. not the average college rules but it's reason for that is because of the christian beliefs. it's very secure and the bedrooms are nice and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    east texas baptist university is a great academic school. the professors are here for you and not just for a pay check. they actually want to put in effort to help you learn. they want to help you and see you succeed and they are very understanding and are great listeners.

    Tips for prospective students

    etbu is beyond a great school for christians. if you believe in god then you will love etbu. there is chapel, bible study, and guest speakers and pastors that talk to you and feed you information about the great lord.

    In three sentences

    etbu is a very peaceful university with hardly any distractions that will make you lose your focus. the faculty and staff and the students are very friendly that keeps a positive attitude. the school does its best to make sure you feel like you're at home.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    christians who are from small towns.

    Bang for the buck

    not too terribly expensive if your grades are good. there are a lot of scholarships available to good students.

    What to do for fun

    attending campus events and getting involved in organizations.

    Food and Dining

    the food could improve.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are challenging, but not ridiculously difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in organizations!

    In three sentences

    etbu is a great place to get professors who are willing to help you out with your school work and anything else. at etbu, students are treated as people, and some may say that the community is very strong.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    christian, non christian, people who like small class sizes, people who like the one on one feeling with the professor, people looking to be academically challenged in something they love to learn about, and people who want to grow in their faith.

    What to do for fun

    go to all campus events, movie theatre is about 4 miles from etbu, play intramural sports, go to the bowling alley (next to the movie theatre) or go to longview for a day with friends (longview has many restaurants and places to shop).

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is mediocre at best. we have a sub connection where you can use your flex dollars to purchase a sandwich or soup, and a jazzmans our little coffee shop. though these two are wonderful and will save you from cafeteria food, you won't always be able to run to them because flex dollars are limited.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great at etbu, you can get plenty of privacy and still be close to your friends when you want to. every month one of the dorms has a dorm event for the whole campus, these events are quite fun. our dorms are not coed. the ac and heaters work great and if there is an issue maintenance is good about fixing it. the only two things i would change are room checks and visitation hours. room checks are every week, and visitation is only 3 hours on week days and 4 on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    classes that are designed for your major will push you beyond your limits in a good way. gen ed classes here aren't very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    know what you're going to major in before you come to etbu. the hours are not cheap and it would be a shame to spend a large amount of money on something you aren't really into.

    In three sentences

    etbu has a very friendly environment, the professors care about your well being and the students are also friendly. it is easy to find a group of friends, and people here are enjoyable to be around.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police officer on campus every night.

    Greek Life

    I was not pleased with the Greek life, but that's only a personal opinion.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Nursing Majors, Religion Majors, and mostly everyone looking for a great education from a great school.

    Bang for the buck

    It might seem expensive for such a small school, but it's definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    ETBU has a game room in the student center with Xbox, Wii, ping pong, and a pool table. Many people enjoying sitting at the gazebo's or sitting in the Quad.

    Food and Dining

    The food is kind of a hit and miss. Sometimes it's great, and sometimes it's just OK.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment style dorms are the best to stay in. You will have your own room, and you will only share a living room, kitchen, and bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    ETBU has really great professors. They love their jobs, and they want to help you do your best. They also have FREE tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to keep your grades up to renew your scholarships, so be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Great school for Nursing Majors. Plenty of on-campus activities. Great christian environment.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are no guns, alcohol, or illegal substances allowed on campus, so I feel like that helps.

    Greek Life

    I'm part of Psi Chi, but I don't know much about any other Greek Lives.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm only involved with a sorority, but there are many other clubs and activities to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a smaller campus where the professors are more able to do one-on-one meetings and pretty much everyone is friend, this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a road called stage coach that everyone feels the need to go down in order the have the full ETBU experience.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good Christian environment.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and participate in some of the on campus activities. There are usually events each week.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has it's good and bad days, but the Subconnection is always a good option.

    Dorm Life

    It's awesome if you can afford it. I live on campus my freshman year, but I couldn't afford the housing and meal plan, so I had to start commuting.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great and very involved with the students. You can tell they authentically care about each student's success in their field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of scholarships that are awarded, but be sure to apply for as many online because living on campus can be pretty expensive.

    In three sentences

    I've enjoyed my time here because I've met many great people. I've developed many close friendships that I hope to carry one, even after I graduate. It's a good Christian environment to be a part of, but tuition is pretty expensive for some, even with the scholarships provided.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great besides the few things that get stolen around campus from time to time but that happens at every school.

    Greek Life

    Several fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a faith based school

    Bang for the buck

    The education is certainly worth the dollar considering the type of intimate relationship you can have with your professors.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Shreveport, Longview, or Caddo Lake with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    Its school food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't the best and can use improvement but they're comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    It is about as tough as Baylor University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work but don't be discouraged.

    In three sentences

    Good Christian School that is strong in faith and academics.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you need a small college this one is for you. One-on-one is what you need you will definitely get it here.

    What to do for fun

    In Marshall there is not a bunch of things to do so we get together and play games or sports. We go to the movies. There is big towns 20 min away from us one is east and the other is west and we go there to do numerous of things.

    Food and Dining

    We just finished an amazing cafeteria. There are numerous amounts of options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    After your freshman years, your dorms are good. They are apartment style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am involved in our athletic training program and i love it! We also have an amazing nursing program. I haven't had a class yet that i absolutely hated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to your professors, they know who all their students are, and want to help. Be involved in something, we have tons of opportunities and they are so much fun. Don't be afraid to cone out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    A small, social, one-on-one private College. Everything that is Christian based. We take every opportunity we can to help our community.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and secure. Each dorm is monitored by a security camera, card access into the dorm and on-ground security patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Activities include kinesiology/athletic training, music, theatre, chapel choir, band concerts, and ministry outreach. There are book clubs available.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is Christian based and any student who wants a well-rounded Christian education will love this school. If you are looking for a college that is interested in your success, this is the college for you.

    What to do for fun

    The college offer band outings, traveling with the football team, attending plays, and singing in the chapel choir.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fabulous with a 4-Star Restaurant dining. There are so many choices to choose from and the chef comes out to meet the students to get a feel for how they like the food. The food does not taste like hospital food but Mom's home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here at ETBU is fun, safe and has a feeling of home. The students who live in the dorms are paired up for a life-long experience that is very enriching.

    Academic Rigor

    ETBU has over 40 programs of study and each one is geared toward not only educational but preparation for obtaining a job upon completion of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that is geared toward education, this college is for you.

    In three sentences

    East Texas Baptist University is a college that committed to providing resources for students education. The teachers are committed to the success of their students that attend the college. Their communication with both parent and students is the best that I have seen from any college.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious students who want a positive influence on their lives.

    What to do for fun

    There are many programs to help in, you can be apart of any clubs and organizations on campus, like ETBU Cares, the Welcome Week service project, Dinner and a Movie, and the BSM. There is also a movie theater up the road!!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great because of the fact that each meal is home-cooked but on a bigger basis.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's and the Resident Director are great. They will answer any question and work with you to resolve any conflicts or anything.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very great at what they teach with the majority having the highest degree in their field. They try to teach everything with morals and a Christian belief system.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY for scholarships!!! Those are very important, the school is a bit pricey but for a great education, money doesn't matter much.

    In three sentences

    East Texas Baptist University is great all around. They have an amazing financial aid office, plenty of workstudy jobs, and everyone there is friendly and tries to help make the world a better place.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! Security patrols the campus at all hours.

    Greek Life

    Not very strong

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with a need and want for spiritual and academic excellence.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tiger clap.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    All kinds of great activities go on throughout the campus constantly.

    Food and Dining

    Has various little food establishments on campus and a great cafeteria with good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others but overall it is a good experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Good one-on-one attention in all your classes. Help is always there when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You cant be lazy. Study hard and get involved.

    In three sentences

    ETBU is a great college with emphasis on developing your life in the best way possible. Great faith is flowing throughout the campus. Great place to grow in all areas of your life.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The light on the hill- The light never goes off or turns off. It means that ETBU will always be open for students to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    ETBU is very expensive. about 26,000 a year

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in marshal but the college has plenty to do on campus such as sports, games, and intermuals

    Tips for prospective students

    IT is a great school for academics

    In three sentences

    ETBU is a great school to attend. Despite the cost of this college I would refer it to anyone. All of the staff here will go above and beyond to provide a good experience for you.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very few safety issues ever occur on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a Christian but open campus, good sport programs and professors that invest in your well being and success.

    What to do for fun

    Marshall, Texas has the cheapest movies around! Also located very close to several large cities in both Texas and Louisiana.

    Food and Dining

    Its cafeteria food. That said, it is better than most cafeteria food you have ever eaten and the all you can eat style is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school offers several scholarships and almost everyone on campus gets something, so do not be intimidated by the price.

    In three sentences

    Great personal experience with helpful and caring faculty and staff. Awesome environment to develop and grow. One of a kind.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is great. Their all GOD's children and love talking about it. We're more of service people, we're not like other sororities you may see at other colleges but we do our best to help others.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities you can do on campus. Most weekends ETBU host some kind of something to keep you having fun and give a little break from school.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun. Every day or week, ETBU always has things planned for the students to do.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is fun. I loved my freshman year because I had a blast living on campus. There are 7 different areas to live on campus and all of which have events throughout the year to keep you having fun and moving.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't try to take to many classes (unless your trying to graduate early) because you can wear yourself out. Go around and meet new people, we'd love to meet you.

    In three sentences

    ETBU is a great school with a wonderful Faculty/Staff. Depending on the classes you may have a bit of a challenge but it's a great challenge. The professors here do their best to make the class as smooth and more understanding as they can.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On patrol police.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of christian groups, bible studies and a few academic groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian Conservative Athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tiger Clap; at games and various events.

    Food and Dining

    Like any cafeteria, they have their days of success, but they try to make improvements each semester. The SubConnection in the student center has pretty good sandwiches, the coffee shop has good drinks and desserts but are a little pricy.

    Dorm Life

    Efforts have been and are being made to better the student life on campus. New dorms are being built and there are occasionally events on campus for student enjoyment. The school also has a lot of outside benefits, such as discounts at restaurants and activities in the town itself. eg (movie theatre)

    Academic Rigor

    Once you study well and take advantage of study opportunities, workshops and extra credit assignments an individual could do fairly well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. Make good use of the tutoring centers. (they are free) Get to know your teachers, it will help you in the long run. Be proactive and get involved.

    In three sentences

    The school has a family oriented environment. Faculty and staff are very helpful and care about the well being of students. I love my school and the sense of community.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are some great fraternities and sororities on campus! Definitely get involved if you have the time!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chill on the Hill is a great time for every student to catch up on what happened over the summer and for new students to get to know the tiger family. Everyone meets at the presidents home and has coke floats, one day during the first week of school.

    What to do for fun

    The movie theater and the bowling alley are the best spots for clean fun. The movie theater has cheap tickets which is definitely a bonus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice for prospective students that I can give is to always buy your school books online (especially amazon.com), get to know your professors, DO NOT PROCRASTINATE, do not date your first year of college, and lastly find a tutor to help you with your classes as soon as you get on campus, DO NOT WAIT TILL FINALS!!

    In three sentences

    East Texas Baptist University is a great school because of the effort that the faculty and staff puts into making sure every student receives a great education. The small class room sizes and caring professors makes getting through school a lot easier. Even though this is a small campus everyone who becomes a tiger is considered family!

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a full-time security person for our small campus. Many security cameras and several emergency stations that allow for a call to the police. A Marshall police officer also makes rounds on campus during the night. One of the things SGA is working on is establishing a full-time police department just for ETBU.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm involved in Student Government Association where we have accomplished many things. The university cabinet is very open to our suggestions and proposals in making changes on our campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I think people tend to shy away just because it is a Baptist University. The curriculum for the different departments is not all about religion. Aside from the religion department, the private school designation simply allows professors to share their faith in an applicable way in regards to your education and future career. People of all faiths or no faith are certainly welcome to come and enjoy everything there is to offer at ETBU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I didn't know where else to put this but it is unusual so I will share it here. No other university that I've heard of has a president that you can talk with and just hang out with during the day. I've had several meetings with him where I could just walk into his office without an appointment and get things done. He has also been in front of the U.S. Congress to fight for our rights as Christians.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little more expensive than many other places but I think students will find that it is well worth it in their lives.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest, Sodexo's food service is sub-par. Food is often over-cooked, under-cooked, or just plain repetitive. Luckily, there are many food option available just a short drive from campus.

    Dorm Life

    The university is in progress of building a new dorm that will be pretty awesome. A lot of rules have been changed since I've been here. There's no longer a freshman curfew and visitation hours have been prolonged and are available every day instead of just weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    College is college. The type of work required varies from major to major but rest assured that you education will be given to you by experienced and dedicated educators.

    Tips for prospective students

    The great thing about ETBU is that the class sizes are small. Unlike a large university, the professors are very willing to meet with you to help you with your studies. Take advantage of this if you are struggling in a certain subject or simply want to know more about something.

    In three sentences

    East Texas Baptist University is a great small university in Marshall, Texas. The slogan A world of opportunity in a community of faith exemplifies what ETBU tries to accomplish.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A great school with wonderful people. The classes are great and when in class you know your getting a great lesson. Tuition is much to pay for but its worth it.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe place. I tend to be very paranoid so walking around alone at night worried me. But there are always Marshall police on campus. If you feel uncomfortable you can ask one of them to escort you where you need to be.

    What to do for fun

    Marshall is a very small town so it's hard to find something to do. There isn't always something going on campus but there is a movie theater in town. It's fairly cheap, too. During the holidays they have a lot of fun things to do downtown. If none of that is enough then you drive 30 minutes to Longview or Shreveport where there is a mall and a Target!

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food so it's not the best, but it's not the worst. My absolute favorite is the mashed potato bar. They also have a noodle bar sometimes and it's like stir fry.

    Dorm Life

    You will get to meet many new people that you wouldn't get to living off campus. At ETBU you don't have to worry about community bathrooms in the dorms. Worst case, you share with three other people. The dorms are very clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a nursing major. I know that it's a very competitive field, even in college. The nursing program has a 100 % pass rate. I'm not sure about other programs here. I have heard that the business program is a fantastic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think there are going to be campus wide parties all the time this isn't the school for you. It's a Baptist college and they uphold their beliefs. However, there are many fun events held on campus so you won't ever be too bored.

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly school where everyone knows everyone. There are rules that some find strict but they're only to protect us and our integrity. The classes and professors are fun and interesting.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play softball and hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than high school food the dining hall is very nice and not crowded.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great, I am a freshman living in the senior apartments and i love it. I love the full kitchen and living room.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but professors are very helpful and the University is very strict on attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in student life and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    This school is very academically prestigious and thrives for academic success. It is very small and the professors are willing to help anyway they can. The people here are ready to help at the drop of a hat.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, and play sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind. Be ready to have a blast.

    In three sentences

    A great environment to learn. Some of the best friends are made here. I feel like my professors really care about my education

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in Marshall but can go to Longview or Shreveport. Lots of intermural sports and dorm fun going on.

    Food and Dining

    One dining hall and the food is terrible. The sub shop is good.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome. Opposite sex is VERY limited on times they can be in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    4 Star

    Tips for prospective students

    East Texas is in a small town of Marshall so there is not much to do. But Longview and Shreveport are close by.

    In three sentences

    This is a great university. The campus is small so getting around is really easy. This is a D3 school but they are competitive in most sports. The professors are very helpful. There is always support for academics and for personal issues.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Baptist base university

    Bang for the buck

    This school may seem like it too expensive but with the financial they provide you can make it happen.

    What to do for fun

    I'm a baseball player

    Tips for prospective students

    Review East Texas Baptist University website and see what it can offer you.

    In three sentences

    East Texas Baptist University is a bible based institution that embraces its students to the fullest. The university campus is maintained in a clean and fun way. The staff is professional, helpful and friendly.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety! There is a curfew for all students not to be roaming the campus past 12:30 a.m., and there is always campus security present at night time.

    Greek Life

    There is a great greek life that is christ centered being a christian school!

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons and tons of clubs and activities to choose from here at ETBU! Think of any club and i can almost promise ETBU has a spot for you, and if it isn't there you can surely get approved to start up the club or activity that strikes your fancy!

    Great for these types of students

    ETBU is great for every type of student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One funny thing about ETBU is that there is an unspoken rule of ring by spring policy. Which basically means that you are almost guaranteed to find your one true love in the confines of Marshall, Texas! There also many ETBU alum who can testify to this so called policy.

    Bang for the buck

    BEing a private school, ETBU is a little more expensive that a lot of colleges out there but the education and experience is all worth every part of the money spent!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do around campus for fun, and serving life is very abundant. Marshall is a bit of small town so not much is offered than a few local restaurants and cute, hipster coffee shops. Longview is located just a small 25 minute drive away that is bigger city with tons of things to do, even shopping!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food! The caf is open at the perfect times and also seems to know exactly what I am craving!

    Dorm Life

    Although some of the dorms aren't ideal, the actual dorm life is uncanny and unlike any other! Relationships are easily formed with the people in your housing! Also, being a private, christian school the dorms aren't coed!

    Academic Rigor

    Being such a small school, the ratio students to professors is great! There is also tutoring available at almost all times of the day. These teachers not only guide you in learning and aiding you to the next step in your life, they also build relationships.

    Tips for prospective students

    ETBU is great choice and is highly recommended, but just like any other college, you need to set apart time to study your brain out and also make time for sleep (a college students main priority)! Also, try to find as many as scholarships and grants as you can! A good website to help is www.cappex.com.

    In three sentences

    Being a small, close knit community, with a Christ centered heart is, by far, one of ETBU's best qualities among many others as a school. I am so blessed to have been given the opportunity to go to ETBU and experience the real college life with Jesus as the main focus. East Texas Baptist not only has great professors, food, fellowship and housing, its located in the sweet town of Marshall, Texas.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much in town, but from the visit that we took -- it sounded like there were tons of activities for the students.

    Food and Dining

    Don't really know, didn't get to try anything -- seemed like decent options beyond the cafeteria with a sub shop and a coffee shop. Several local options close.

    Dorm Life

    New freshmen dorm being built for fall 2014. Even the old dorm we toured was nice. Definitely liked the layout with private bedrooms shared by four students with a common living area and a small kitchen. Seemed like the students enjoyed being there and lots of activities.

    Academic Rigor

    A little hard to tell, didn't get to sit in on a class, but met with a professor. They were great. You could tell right away that they cared about their students. It was nice to hear them call them by name and discuss the projects that they had worked on and all their accomplishments.

    Tips for prospective students

    This one seems like it is one of those best kept secrets, really didn't know much and came upon it almost by accident. After checking into it, I was interested enough to make a visit and really glad that I did. Admissions staff is great!

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Super nice people everywhere you go. Nice facilities.