Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Eastern Arizona College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/23/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    they check attendence so show up to class and make sure to apply early if you want to get the classes you need.

    Bang for the buck

    there is alot of scholorship oppritunities and you get the same classes as a major four year university.

    Did enjoy being here

    a small town filled with community spirit. small class size and a close campus.

    Did learn a lot

    this is community college so if your looking to get your foot in the door its great but if you are more commited then i sugest a four year college.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Overall, it is a wonderful school! If you are nervous about jumping in to a huge university, EAC is a worthwhile alternative. It has smaller class sizes with helpful teachers, students, and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get involved with the activities happening around campus, you will meet so many people who are similar to you. I guarantee that you will make lasting friendships! The people there are awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many scholarships available to students who take the time to look. The staff is very supportive and helpful and there are plenty of resources around campus that can help steer you in the right direction.

    Did enjoy being here

    It's a beautiful small town with strong unity among the community. It is a very positive environment with a variety of people from different cultures, backgrounds, and lifestyles. If you live there, you are like family.

    Did learn a lot

    It's a junior college, but you are still expected to work hard and learn the material. You definitely get out what you put in.

  • 10/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small towns, but still going to a college. Desert and mountain terrain for lots of fun time outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eastern Arizona College is great for students who want to be at a smaller college with a great atmosphere. Lots of friendly people are here at EA and there is always something to do! Plus awesome tuition for more than 12 credits.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say out of all the colleges I have looked at, you get the best deal for your money at EAC. Tuition for 12 credits and up is $800. So for all the credits over 12, you still pay a one time tuition fee of $800. Awesome!!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something fun to do here, along with lots of friendly people! If you aren't at a sporting event, there are mountains fifteen minutes away, hot springs, and lots of open space. You can do lots of outdoor activities at EAC.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here at Eastern Arizona College are very helpful, if you show that you are interested in their class. If you don't pay attention and don't care about your grades or homework, then they won't care about you.

  • 01/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a huge variety of students. English, Drama, Sports, Psychology, and many more. . .

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a college designed for you to learn and to grow as an individual, but also a member of society. I have learned many valuable skills attending EAC.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many scholarship opportunities for this school for a lot of subjects.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is great, the staff is supportive and our leaders are inspiring, and i really mean that.

    Am learning a lot

    For being a Junior College, I'm amazed at what great teachers there are. They are willing to help and to take one-on-one time to make sure you get the grades you deserve.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You'll love the outdoors and spectacular scenery as we're right in the tall pine covered hills of Northern Arizona. Hiking is a popular pastime. We have two rodeos each year. The rodeo in May is the longest running continuous rodeo in the United States. There's a multi-plex movie theater and quite a few restaurants and of course the casino. We're a couple hours from the skiing in Flagstaff or the adventure of the Grand Canyon or the breath-taking scenery of Sedona. And, we're just 90 minutes away from the city of Phoenix for any theater events or major shopping for you city slickers.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lunch mobile wagon that's pretty good but it's just as easy to drive the barely one minute down the street into town where restaurants, grocery stores and fast food chains are available.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All credits are directly transferable to any of the major universities in Arizona so standards are equal to theirs.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the school to attend! Move to Payson Arizona! Fresh air, no rush hour traffic, spectacular scenery, friendly people... it's great.

    In three sentences

    The College offers the convenience of both online and on campus classes. The on campus class sizes are small (there are 11 of us in my CNA class) which makes for a great learning environment and fun discussions. The dedicated teachers are interested in the students' progress and are available by phone and email. All credits are directly transferable to any of the universities in Arizona so the standards are very high. The town of Payson where Gila County Community College is located, is barely 13,000 people so it's a friendly place with a small town atmosphere.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    eac is a great step.

    In three sentences

    is an extremely good value.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have always felt very safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any types of students. I am a single mother of 4 and it works for me.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low and its a great school.

    What to do for fun

    Swimming, sports, activities, drama.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun!

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona is a very organized school, with a great campus and staff. It is a very diverse school with everything from nursing to auto. EAC is rich in theater arts.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus security that is available right away if there is a problem happening. The teachers lock the doers in class after 5 minutes so no one can come in or go out after class has started. They are cameras all around campus and They have recently just installed a new security system.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have various clubs that host dances and of activities that are open for everyone to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student that likes small class sizes and needs one on one help or likes to have questions answered right away.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has clubs that host various activities throught the semesters. They also do an opening social and have the fire truck come and wet down a tarp to make a big slip in slide. They have a winter study reliever where they bring in the big blow up toys and you can hang out on those for most of the evening.They also have tailgate parties before big games for all sports

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is fitted for the school I wouldn't want to be paying anymore than what I am to go to a college of this size. The class sizes are great the teachers are helpful and I think that the price is right.

    What to do for fun

    The college puts on a lot of fun things to go to. But off campus you cAn have bonfires catch a movie at the theatre or go shopping. There is the mountains 15 minutes away if you're an out doors person and there is plenty of fishig locations. There are also local hot springs around. The county fair comes once a year in the fall and it is loads if fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is pretty good for being cafeteria food. They have a good variety usually and some nights they will have foods such as steak.

    Dorm Life

    If your in the towers it isn't that bad they are well kept and really nice but the mark Allen hall is always messy the bathrooms are gross and the fellow students in the hall have no respect for others, well most don't. I only stayed in the dorms for one semester instead of 2 years like I was supposed to.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college puts on a lot of fun things to go to. But off campus you cAn have bonfires catch a movie at the theatre or go shopping. There are also the mountains which are close and there are hot springs and the river close by also.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LDS (Mormon)

    What to do for fun

    College life, young adult church groups, and the outdoors with four wheeling, hiking, swimming, golfing, hunting, and fishing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved, be focused on your education, and have fun!

    In three sentences

    A friendly, personal, small college in a fun, small town that focuses on the individual student.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime is almost nonexistent here. Every now and then you'll hear about somebody's computer being stolen but that's about it...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you want to become a true Gila-monster you have to be kissed under the Clock tower at Midnight on a full moon.

    Bang for the buck

    At only $880 per semester for tuition, need I say more? LOWEST. TUITION. ANYWHERE.

    What to do for fun

    Where to start? Glow in the dark frisbee on south Campus, midnight trips to Denny's, Cluff Ponds, and the locally infamous Rolling Stones hot springs. Cliff jumping at Fry-Mesa and more hot springs at Roper Lake make it easier to relax in the desert heat. Mount Graham is a fun hike, and bring your atv's for the desert trails. Tucson and Phoenix are both about two hours away for any major shopping you want to do.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dinning serves addictive grilled cheeses and caters steak nights ever so often, but the food tends to be the same thing everyday. If you like corn, mashed potatoes, french fries and hamburgers, then you're good. There is an open salad bar, but you want to be there at the beginning or it's a little messy.

    Dorm Life

    There's a few different dorms, but the towers are the best. The are the tallest building around, and it's a beautiful view. The RA's are really good at listening to any concerns you have, and then fixing them. It's a smaller campus, so by the end of the year it's like one big dysfunctional family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging if you challenge yourself. You can not study and still scrape by with a C or you can work your but off and get an A+. There is more classroom participation though because your average class has maybe fifteen students. Open discussion is very common and if you aren't learning, it's your own fault.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends and get involved. Everyone goes to Denny's or friend's houses in the evening to get assignments done together, and it's a great way to stay caught up in your studies. It's more relaxed here than most campuses. Thatcher is a small farming town where everyone knows everything about everybody, so things get pretty entertaining when you through a College into the mix.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona College is a home away from home for anyone willing to get involved with College Life locally. The small campus size gives you the opportunity to make more friends and take better advantage of teacher assistance. Definitely worth checking out!

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police office located on campus with an officer on duty at all times!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons if thats your thing

    Great for these types of students

    Young, active

    Bang for the buck

    It is so much cheaper taking all the classes here that you need ( general ed classes) to complete your education. Almost all of the classes i took are transferring to my university! Plus there are TONS of institutional scholarships!!

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of places to run, bike, swim, ride horses/ATVs,take a trip up the mountain, bon fires down at the river, super fun and creative dance parties

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent teachers who know what they teach and are willing to help you if you find the time to ask them. Small class sizes. You still have to work hard and put the time even though it is a junior college,

    Tips for prospective students

    EAC is located in a small town, so like any small town you must have the right attitude toward it and find your own fun! Get involved! Make the most of your time here, it goes by fast!

    In three sentences

    EAC is a great college! It is almost like a great big high school. The education i obtain and friends i made here will forever be priceless.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much happens in this small town. The campus police are located on middle campus. I don't really have much to say about it, I felt safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was really proud to be apart of the Newman Center, even though we were few we were all very close and proud. The drama club is an insane group of fun people. The music department had some of the most intelligent and talented people I've ever encountered.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is pretty strait forward. It's very LDS.

    Bang for the buck

    EAC has the most affordable tuition in the state of Arizona. With my pel grants and scholarships I didn't have to pay for anything out of pocket and I had plenty of money afterwords. It's a great school for the price.

    What to do for fun

    Thatcher is so small there really isnt much for people to do there. You have to drive to get anywhere. There are good places to hike but you have to be mindful of the intense weather,

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food isn't very good. The Hawaiian grill down the street and the Mexican Restaurant down the road are the only other places to eat nearby. The restaurants are good but you have to drive to Safford for any variety.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms, but a friend said they were cramped and at times obnoxious. From what I hear the Towers are the best ones to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The fine arts department has the greatest teachers at the school. I felt like I learned so much from the lectures my teachers gave me. Most of the teachers find great and fair ways to test and lecture.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is very conservative which can be a real damper but there are still plenty of people who are open minded who go there. The school is LDS heavy, which isn't bad but all the social activities seem to be geared for that group. Join clubs, it's the best way to get to know people and they're all fun.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small so there is a lot of one on one with the teachers. The Campus is really clean, but it's not cool that they are very strict about fliers. The teachers are really passionate about what they teach.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are great, they are round the clock and keep great eyes on the students!

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Beta Lambda is just one of the few great clubs on campus! Phi Beta Lambda is a business club, but the students come from many different majors. Before I changed my major to Business I was planning on being a Nurse. Going into that club opened my eyes and showed me that my dreams of the flower shop I always wanted could become reality! Many other clubs help you find yourself as well, and is completely worth looking into!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs and activities!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria had a unique menu and was always a surprise, but if you don't fancy that we have many fast food restaurants, and dating restaurants with 7 minutes by car.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely adore dorm life, I lived in Mark Allen hall and although I shared a bathroom setting with approx. 30 other girls it was great! So much experience and life changing events that can only be experienced in this type of setting!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the course you presume will depend on the harshness you may encounter, otherwise I believe Eastern Arizona College is a laid back chill school with much more to offer than meets the eyes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overload your plate, this school has so many clubs and activities to get involved in that help students to chill and relax when life get stressful!

    In three sentences

    I rate Eastern Arizona College as high as the scale can go. It is perfect for small town people to grow and expand their knowledge base. It is also just small enough to get to know many different cultures and ways of life!

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and well lit areas.

    Greek Life

    not so much.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors lovers. Music majors. Engineers. Agriculture students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this 24 hour mexican food place called Los Gilibertos that is awesome! i go there every time i'm in thatcher! great place when you're hungry after going swimming at cluff ponds or hot tubing at roper lake! i recommend the super fries!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition!

    What to do for fun

    Tons of outdoor activities! Swimming at Cluff Ponds and Fry Mesa was always a blast!

    Food and Dining

    Could be better

    Dorm Life

    Great social environment

    Academic Rigor

    A good way to ease into college courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Student government, church activities, clubs, sports, and so much more!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful Staff and Student life environment. Awesome Music Program! Stellar teachers and performance groups. The only Junior College in Arizona with a Marching Band program, super fun!

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs at EAC, and they all welcome new members with open arms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At least once every semester the Cultural Club makes and sells Indian Fry Bread. It is so good! Especially covered in powered sugar and honey. At the end of every academic year, the college's President has a cook out, which is really good. As a bonus, friends and family of the students are invited!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at the college. Theater preformances, sports, and other get-togethers. And the best part is that you don't have to sit in the bleachers; you have the opportunity to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the pleasure of eating the food on campus, but I'm afraid to say some people don't much care for it. There are family owned resturants around every corner though, so there are a lot of other choices.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but I know people who did and they all love the people they live with.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are challenging, but some of them are fun and is an easy 'A.'

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help. No matter what your question or problem may be; everyone is willing to give you a hand.

    In three sentences

    This college is fun and it is so easy to get involved and enjoy life. The teachers are extremely qualified and are always willing to give you a hand. It is easy to get into pretty much any class you want to take, and the classes are small so getting to know your teachers and fellow students is easy.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It was easy to get scholarships and other financial aid. All you have to do is fill out an application.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of activities to do around campus and around town. You can attend school activities or go swimming in the ponds or play in the snow on the mountain.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty much what you'd expect from a school cafeteria. BUT, there are many great restaurants within a close distance of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are TONS of options for living on or around campus. It's easy to find something you can afford and enjoy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not difficult if you do the work and talk to the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers ALL want to help! Make sure you ask questions!!

    In three sentences

    This school made it easy to earn 5 certificates in three years. There are good class sizes. Plus it's always easy to find your way around campus.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always patrolling campus, on site and easy to access.

    Clubs and Activities

    From student council to Native American Culture clubs, to sporting events, there are always things to attend and become involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes are likely to get chosen to move on to Division-1 schools when they play here and the variety of students is a nice change.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You get a day off from college just for the Graham County Fair! Also, for those of you not familiar with the LDS religion, you will become familiar with it here.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest tuition in Arizona!

    What to do for fun

    Relax, explore, have fun in the wilderness, get to know small town people and values. The environment in Thatcher, Arizona is much different than a big city but it is definitely a nice change.

    Food and Dining

    Cheap food that still has flavor and it's all you can eat!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well equipped and look nice for the price at which they cost.

    Academic Rigor

    Class difficulty greatly ranges at this college, from instructor to instructor and depending on the course but you will definitely be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously here and take advantage of all the classes you can take for such a cheap price!

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona is a small, quaint community college that is good for people not ready to attend a university. The teachers here care about their students and you get more one on one time with instructors which can greatly benefit you. EAC is a great place to complete your freshman and sophomore years of college.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit at night, but it is still a little scary walking to your car or across the street where there is complete darkness. During the day, the campus is beautiful. It is very green which isn't very common in Arizona. There are definitely no worries about safety during the day.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life :(

    Clubs and Activities

    The students are very into school activities. Whether you are attending a musical the choir is putting on, or the art of the art majors in the program, it gives you the amazing talent that is here at the university. There are many athletic events to attend and the students also get really into those being such a close knit school.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great school for incoming freshman. Helps you get used to college before transferring to a larger university. Also helps with the transferring process which can be very confusing.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is only $880 dollars for me because I am from New Mexico and qualified for the New Mexico State Waiver. The classes are only $880 total giving me the opportunity to take as many classes as my schedule allows for that price. That alone is nice because at other universities they charge you by class making your tuition sky rocket extremely quickly. With that advantage you are given the opportunity to graduate quicker.

    What to do for fun

    The town is very small but the college does an amazing job in putting out a lot of events to bring the school together. You can either attend the athletic events, or maybe their dances. Around town you can find a movie theater, restaurants, or even the salsa festival. There is a Hot Springs that is so beautiful and close by. The art department puts on an art show that is free to students and the orchestra and choir also perform which is also free for students. Phoenix is only 3 hours away making it easy for a road trip.

    Food and Dining

    I personally haven't tried any of the food but have heard both the good and the bad stories. As far as cafeteria food goes it's not bad and is reasonable. My roommate works in the cafeteria and she tells me how they have to make all the food fresh and that gives it a better taste. She does tell me it's still generic cafeteria food. But there are plenty of inexpensive options that are also healthier.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms and have only visited one of the dorm halls, but they are very clean and have a common room that is very spacious. In the common room there is a large table to study at and there are also couches and a television. You can also find cabinets and a large fridge that all of the girls in that section of the floor can share. But majority of the girls have personal fridges in their room, which is what I would suggest. The dorm I went in had two rooms that pretty much connected at the front of the room and they had a bathroom that separated them. There were four girls total in the room and two bathroom stalls in the bathroom. The room gave every girl her own bed space as well as desk space allowing them adequate reason to study. I heard the other dorms weren't as nice, but still good dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Coming from New Mexico State University, then to Santa Monica College, and lastly to Eastern Arizona College, the classes are not as rigorous and remind me more of my high school courses. The material is still able to be grasped and the professors are very knowledgeable but many of the tests are either open note or word for word on the study guides. I feel that it would be a really successful transition school from high school to college because the teaching methods aren't too different and the students will still learn the new material.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school does offer a vast variety of courses and is very good for a one on one teacher student relationship. The classes aren't over 30 students and every instructor I've encountered with is more than willing to work with you and help. The counselors will guide you in the right direction to get you to transfer with their program. They have a transfer program with ASU and are developing one with U of A. Tuition is only $880 dollars if you are from a certain state but you must qualify and apply early due to the limited amount given to the students. All in all, the school is very new and not rundown and the teachers are great. Not exactly the college experience I've had in the past as far as how rigorous the coursework is, but it is definitely a good transition school to attend.

    In three sentences

    EAC would rate on my list as a seven education wise but would be a good transition if you just graduated high school. Eastern would also rate as a nine on the many different methods they offer to help for every subject. Concluding, the school is a very small campus but re designed with new technology and books.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with Friends at the games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all of your homework before you miss the grades.

    In three sentences

    So far, I love EAC. The students and the teacher are so nice. I am proud to be a Gila Monster.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EAC is located in a town that is very big on the LDS religion and there are many members of the church. If you are LDS, there is a good chance you will meet many other students with the same values as you. While this is not the only kind of students here, it is a very small town; perfect for people who aren't quite ready to jump into a big school yet.

    What to do for fun

    Eastern Arizona College is located in a small town near the mountains and not very far away from lakes and rivers. If you love outdoors, this is the place for you because the weather is always warm and there is a lot of places to go to have fun in the sun.

    Food and Dining

    I don't ever eat in the cafeteria, but there are many nearby restaurants and options to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have been inside of them, and they are very small and I would much rather live in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses aren't extremely difficult, but the class sizes are manageable, making it more possible to ask questions and actually understand what you are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to flourish at this college, find friends that have the same interests and goals as you. It is easy to get distracted at college and if you have people who are headed in the same direction as you, it's easier to remain focused.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona College is a great school for those who already live here and want to stay close to home while they put their foot into the door of their future. The teachers are very understanding and make an effort to accomodate the students as best as they can. It is a small campus and it isn't a stressful environment; it's much easier to get used to than a larger school in the city.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bon fire, school events and so much more its so great with great people

    Food and Dining

    The dinning was close but the food quality needs improvement.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life was great close to the campus and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers teach with enthusiasm and with concern. I wanted to learn and liked learning from them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start applying for scholarships as soon as possible EA has money to give just need students to show the need.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona College is a inviting, friendly, beautiful campus. The staff and faculty genuinely care and help there students. The social life is upbeat and down to earth fun.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The library is open late and there are tons of tutoring options.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome cheap tuition! Some teachers don't require a book either!

    What to do for fun

    It's a small town so the college always has something going on. This year we and the colored flour fight, the Mr. and Miss EAC pageant, a couple of dances, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, and the meal plans are a great price!

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate because I lived off campus. I regret not living in the dorms for at lest the first year.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always willing to help if you want to help your self. It's not always easy but you always have options to improve your grade and understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus for at lest the first year and get involved. There are so many amazing people here if you just get to know them.

    In three sentences

    There is no way I could write how much I love Eastern Arizona College in three sentences. Everything, from the tuition to professors, is amazing! If it was a four year school I would stay here in heartbeat.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to the basketball courts and hang out with people there. If you know anyone who live off campus you can hang out with them.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty bad.

    Dorm Life

    They always have something going down at the dorms whether just hanging out with friends, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here are cool. They will help you out if you ask them too. They have many locations on campus for tutoring for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class. Just be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona is located in a quiet place. Not many distractions out here. You can focus more on your studies than anything.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class. Be prepared and participate.

    In three sentences

    EAC provides a quality education. The professors care about the students. It's friendly and inviting.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Considering this school is so cheap, it is a great first school to attend. It provides great education at a low price and I think that is why so many people love it here.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and clubs at EAC that make your college experience fun. This schools makes it very easy for you to have a fun college experience, there are many sports activities, bonfires, and clubs that help make your experience exciting.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a very wide selection of food and dining at EAC, but that doesn't mean that this isn't something that can't be fixed.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced dorm life at EAC, but from what I have heard it is very fun and exciting, and definitely not very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at EAC is pretty fair. It is not too difficult to do what you need to do, the assignments and tests are fairly easy. Overall it is not very challenging to succeed at Eastern Arizona College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything you need for classes ahead of time because most things are fast pace. Also, make sure you keep up on homework and class assignments, because it is never fun to be behind in college.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona College is cheap, affordable, and friendly. This college has a great environment for new college students, and is very easy to find your way around. This college makes it fun to learn, and is overall a fantastic school.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have had a blast here and great experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are fun things to do all the time here on campus. There are bonfires, sporting events, and so much more!!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. I am living in the new towers they built and it is alright.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are tough, but they are also fun and engaging at the same time making them not as hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get to EAC have all the fun you want, but keep up with your school work and put in your best effort.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona College is a great school with many fun things to do, great teachers, and full of pride. I love the environment and easy schedule I have here. It is an overall enjoyable experience.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely don't pay nearly as much for a quality education!

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much there for fun, other than the company of others. There's a really awesome swimming pool though and they have a pretty neat student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    Not the greatest but not the worst. It seems like when they chose to serve one carbohydrate the whole meal ended up being carbohydrates though.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms so I don't know. But all the students who did that I knew seemed pretty happy there. I'd always see them out playing basketball and listening to music etc.

    Academic Rigor

    They do a great job and giving you ALL the details whether you ask or not you'll know everything you need to know! They are also pretty flexible and make it super easy to pass your classes as long as you're willing to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your goal in mind and stay focused. They are not going to do all the work for you. It's up to you to stay on top of the game!

    In three sentences

    It's a great school! Teachers will work with you and help you stay on track. They also offer a variety of classes!

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the small town of Thatcher, AZ you won't see any kind of trouble.

    Great for these types of students

    Choir and Band geeks, theatre people, computer techies, medical students, engineers, nurses, and athletes will be especially pleased here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Clock Tower located on campus is famously known for one thing- a kiss underneath it at midnight on a full moon makes you a True Gila Monster!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is super cheap- (less than $1000 per semester). Most students can get scholarships and student aid and not pay a buck to go here. I pocketed a good amount of money just from choosing to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of school-sponsored activities, dances and sports to attend. The Institute also puts on weekly activities for the entire student body which are always awesome.

    Food and Dining

    The cooking is awesome- however I've only eaten there for special events since I live with my parents.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of good dorms literally across the street from the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The math teachers are awesome. Also the college offers free tutors for a variety of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many things as you can. The music, 4 year nursing, and LDS Institute programs are all well attended and renowned.

    In three sentences

    This place is great for well-rounded people who like to get involved. I am entering my third semester here and it has been an awesome experience with experienced teachers, small class sizes, and lots of options for extra-curricular activities and service. Whether you are a nurse, an engineer, a musician, religious person, or an athlete, you will find yourself at home here.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety of the campus is at its top with on campus police and cameras throughout the whole campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Just keep your eyes wide open and you'll see the history of the school unfold to you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole campus is full of history and something new to know about the campus and little history to know how the school came to be where it is now.

    What to do for fun

    They have all sorts of activities for the students on campus. Some of this activities are sports, drama, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that bad. The dining is excellent to meet and eat with new people.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm are nice and comfortable. Lots of space and opportunity to bond and know your roommate(s).

    In three sentences

    This college is great for small town students who are looking to start by farthing their education. A great college to make lifetime friends. Also the staff is willing to help you out in anyway for you to be successful.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay, not gourmet food, but will keep you fed.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are nice, small, but you don't really need that much space. Leave stuff home! You don't need everything you think you need.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are harder for some than others. Don't bite off more than you can chew.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors. About grades, questions, anything! They are there to help. Join a club, they open up opportunities you wouldn't necessarily have.

    In three sentences

    The teachers want you to learn and care about your education if you care. Everyone is friendly. It's all in what you make it.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mountain climbing, hunting and pretty much anything outdoors

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and so are the staff.

    Dorm Life

    I've never had the opportunity of living in the dorms but many of my friends love the atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    The upper division classes are just as difficult of classes as you would find anywhere in the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships because the school has a number of opportunities to help students.

    In three sentences

    This college has a small-town atmosphere which makes the classrooms smaller and easier to interact with teachers. The tuition is the cheapest in the state and helps to set you up perfectly for transferring to a University. The teachers and staff truly care about each student and are always available for help.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    E9C charges a very cheap tuition of 960 as a full time student, and I feel gives a great and reasonable education and experience for the money it is worth.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located right next to the Gila River, and the community offers a bowling alley and a movie theatre. There is also always a sporting event or activity to attend!

    Food and Dining

    I am currently living with my parents, so I do not eat at the college.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended EAC part time for the past two years, taking classes that the high school paid for me to take, as well as paying out of my own pocket to take the class. I have taken both in the classroom classes, and hybrid online ones as well. My instructors have always been enthusiastic about the class, and have offered tutoring and special help when asked for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small town to reside in while attending college, EAC is a great option! The location of being two hours away from a big city like Tucson is great, and the view and environment is pleasing to the eye as well.

    In three sentences

    The teachers that I have had require hard work and dedication, but are very enthused about active students! It is a great local community college, because I have been taking dual credit courses to finish high school and work on my degree since my junior year of high school. EAC offers great opportunities and I recommend it to anybody looking for a community college.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty to do if your like the outdoors. If not, there is not much. Movies, bowling, antiques, and a few small shops.

    Food and Dining

    They only offer lunch for students who do not purchase a meal card. Lunch is $8.00. There are no other locations, vending machines to obtain food. Only a few places to eat in town. 1 for sure that I know of. You have to go into the next town for shopping and dinning.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm and can not comment on them. There are very few dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers have college expectations, many teachers are to quick to pass a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college does not participate in the Federal Loan programs.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona College (EAC) is what you would expect from a typical small town college. The cost of attending EAC is at least $200-$400 cheaper than most other community colleges. Jobs are few in a small town and with the limited class scheduled offered by EAC working and attending school can be changeling.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never really any worries on campus, it is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    As more and more people show up to Eastern, people have new ideas, ideas are always being proposed. Music is what I am in, and I am in a lot of music classes, therefore I stay busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking to start off their careers from a 2-year college, here is perfect. Nice and cheap for students waiting to thrive.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is under 1000, if you are into music get a music scholarship. Tuition equals paid.

    What to do for fun

    I am in music, so I am in choir, orchestra, band, marching band, I stay busy. If you are religious there is an institute on campus, classes are available. Hanging out in the recreation room is a great way for people to gather and have fun in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten at the school, but it is like any typical college cafeteria. Food is good, and doesn't taste like cardboard, my friends say that is is worth it because of its convenience.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, however I have a lot of friends that live in dorms and there seems to be no complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    People are independent, if you don't get something done on time it is up to you to fix it. That is the part of being an adult, do things for yourself. Teachers leave it up to the students to do the right thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is great to start off. 2-year college for extremely cheap tuition to start on generals is great.A lot of options at Eastern.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Arizona is a great option for people whom like to be up close and in discussions. Classes are great and teachers are helpful and help when needed, Location is great, no more than a two minute drive from my house.