Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Eastern Gateway Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I constantly see security guards on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for people training for nursing or electrician work, and also many other programs. Also, students unsure about what they want to do, or are looking for a cheaper way to pay for college, I would definitely suggest using the Horizon Grant for 2 years, then transferring for your other 2 years to a 4 year college. They will work with you to take the correct classes that will transfer for your major and degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is great for the community too, because they hold a ton of different functions outside and in the school, such as flea markets, spelling bees, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all, the school is a good community college if you're looking for something small and local.

    What to do for fun

    The school has different activities. They have a Student Council, who organizes different school functions. The college also has different types of sports teams to play for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Froehlich's Classic Corner caters to EGCC. They have a cafeteria you can order food, and they also have snack and pop machines in the cafeteria and throughout school.

    Dorm Life

    EGCC does not offer housing, but the college is located in Steubenville, OH, so its so near to Toronto, Weirton, Mingo, Wintersville, and many other towns and cities. I know many people that commute from all over the area.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors I have had throughout the 2 years I've attended EGCC have been fantastic. The school offers many different programs that are available to you in 2 years. The counseling services they offer are very helpful when needed to register, transfer, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    EGCC has a scholarship application that you should fill out by March 1st. It has many different scholarships that you can apply for. Also, the college is excellent for people considering the nursing or electrician field. They also offer many other programs you can choose from! The school also makes it easy to transfer.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Gateway Community College is great for local students; if your GPA in High School is 2.5 or better, you receive the Horizon Grant, which is free tuition for 2 years! It is a great college to go to if you are unsure about what you want to do for your future. They also offer good opportunities and the faculty members I had were very great instructors.

  • 06/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    im a good studnet also a great student

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of athletic clubs and groups to be apart of

    Food and Dining

    although there are a lot of vending machines here on campus, the cafeteria food is great! the food is catered by a local restaurant and the employees always have a smile on their faces.

    Dorm Life

    there are no living quarters here at egcc. it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes i am currently taking are the core science classes. yes, the classes are challenging, but the teachers are there to help you and will help you until you get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan on coming to egcc then i suggest becoming involved with some type of athletic club, or group. although it is just a community college this is a great way to meet new people and develop new friendships.

    In three sentences

    eastern gateway community college is a wonderful school to attend if you aren't quite ready for a four year college. the teachers are here to help, and the staff will answer any questions that you may have. i love egcc!

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security on campus, i.d required apon entry on to campus, adequate lighting in parking areas.

    Great for these types of students

    older adults looking to retrain themselves for a new career, or those who have not been in school for a while.

    Bang for the buck

    rates for classes are around 100 bucks per credit hour!

    Food and Dining

    they have no services like this at this time.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for all new student services, they really know their stuff.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Gateway Community College is very inexpensive. Eastern Gateway Community College has a wide variety of majors and minors. Easterm Gateway Community College has classes for the working student.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus safety present at the Valley Center. I am sure main campus would have it also.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and activies associated with Greek life at main campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is student senate, sporting activities and many other activities always being posted at campus. There is always something going on!

    Great for these types of students

    EGCC is not only for the traditional type of student but for students like myself looking for a second career. There is a diverse population at EGCC. We are a giant melting pot!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus (Valley Center) and we are expanding out into the community doing offering more help to our community than ever before. The fun things we do for our families like Easter Egg hunts really bring the kids into the picture letting them know that EGCC cares about them and their future too!

    Bang for the buck

    EGCC is a great college for students looking for retraining or for a second career. The academic offerings are quite extensive and everyone can find a new career for themselves.

    What to do for fun

    The Valley Center offers Student Senate, a variety of activities for the students and their families as well as many activities at the main campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not go to main campus so I do not know about the food they offer. They have many satellite campuses and those sites do not have a cafeteria but they do have vending machines with microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    EGCC does not have dorms as they are a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at EGCC are excellent. But as with all courses, you get out of a course what you put into them. As a nursing student, I have found the courses to be challenging and fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    The courses are thorough so hard work and dedication is needed to succeed. If you need the extra help, ask for it as EGCC has the tutoring available. Utilize everything that your instructors have to offer as well as the study aids that come with your textbooks. Make sure you get your work in on time and follow through with all parts of the assignment especially if you are taking an online class.

    In three sentences

    EGCC has many diversified programs for everyone from nursing to education to office administration. EGCC has excellent instructors willing to go the extra mile to help their students excel in each course. The staff and advisors assist the students with letting them know what is needed to enroll and succeed in their program.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is no cafetria

    Dorm Life

    they dont have any dorms for student to be able to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is alright with the school although there are some things that could be worked on.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't had a problem with security at all, but i have heard of few instances in the past.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities and sororities at EGCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs ran by students. There's bulletin boards with activities posted on them and every once in a while I'll have a flyer on my windshield for current activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to get an associates degree Students wanting an associates degree for transfer Students needing classes to take for a university but can't afford them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really too unusual but there's an amazing pizza place called Ray's. Best pizza I've ever tasted!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely the school you want to go to if you're looking to conserve money. Most credits transfer so it's great to get your associates degree and then transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There's a gym that EGCC students get in for free right next door and a mall less than a mile away.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a small lounge with a concession stand in it and the food is pretty good, but it can get a bit pricey. Luckily there are various places to eat right down the road and across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorm rooms on any of the campus' but there are apartment rooms available near the school in Steubenville, OH. It's very residential oriented even giving grants to anyone with a GPA of 2.5 and higher to a resident of Jefferson County.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a little more difficult than others. Most classes remind me of the ones I took in high school except a bit more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes periodically, Eastern Gateway is amazing at getting you the time slots you want for classes. Talk to your adviser as much as possible, they're really helpful. Make sure to keep applying for as much financial aid as possible. EGCC may be one of the cheapest colleges financially, but their grants and scholarships make this college so much more affordable.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Gateway is an affordable and time efficient college. Most credits Transfer and it's a good stepping stone for an undergraduate considering college. It isn't a good college to attend if you don't live around the area or know someone who would be willing to let you live with them.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Dual enrollment allows me to attend for free, but this does affect your high school grade point average, so you cannot slack off.

    What to do for fun

    I have distance learning courses, so I never experienced their dorm life.

    Food and Dining

    I have distance learning courses, so I never experienced their dorm life.

    Dorm Life

    I have distance learning courses, so I never experienced their dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but a lot of fun. If you are in dual enrollment, do not take more than you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what your major is, try to take courses specific to it. If you are unsure on what you want to do, make sure you take core courses that will apply to many majors. Try to work on your college work every day so you do not get behind.

    In three sentences

    I am a dual enrollment student, and had taken 2 college courses while still attending high school. I will graduate with a total of 5 college courses in the spring. I really enjoyed the 2 classes I had, and I am looking forward to the next 3.