Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Eastern Iowa Community College District Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the great thing about mcc is that if you are interested in doing an extra-curricular activity that currently isn't offered, the school is open to suggestions and will help you to make it happen!

    What to do for fun

    muscatine is a beautiful city right on the mississippi river. night life and entertainment is just minutes away from campus!

    Food and Dining

    mcc is located near several fast food, casual dining and even fine dining restaraunts. the student services center now offers dining options right on campus!

    Dorm Life

    the new complex at mcc is located on the college campus, just a few steps away from the classrooms, library and other facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    eiccd is accredited by the higher learning commission. the programs exceed the standards for academic excellence!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you desire personal attention, smaller classrooms and a top notch education from a college that has been accredited by the higher learning commission then muscatine community college is the school for you!

    In three sentences

    i enjoy being a student at muscatine community college. being close to home, paying a reasonable tuition and receiving a high quality education were my top three priorities when i made the decision to return to college and mcc has exceeded my expectations!

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campuse safety is awesome 5 Star

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities 5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    This College is great for everyone young or old this is the place to be..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really cant say what they would be... I'm older student and i really just go to my classes and leave...Sorry

    Bang for the buck

    CCC gets 5 Stars because they are around the same for other community college in cost.

    What to do for fun

    CCC have lot of activity such sports, trips you can go on with your school, we have playes you watch and films...CCC has just about everything you would want to do and if they don't have what you like he you can out in your community and fine fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    We have an OK cafatera..so all give it 3 stars

    Dorm Life

    Don't live there its only a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome 5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip i can give to you is think about what you really want to do in life before you start college and where you want to be in 7 yr and go for because at the end of all your hard work its going to be so worth it.....Have fun in college but not so much that you for get why your there....

    In three sentences

    I love Clinton community college because its right were i live, i don't have to travel to far get to the college. I love the staff at CCC they our friendly and very helpful..The financial aid office was so awesome in helping me get my loans for school. the only bad thing about this school is the cost of books but i guess that's in all college...

  • 09/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a cheap place to get some of their general education classes out of the way before going to university, or those who want to do nursing or a specailzed program that they have there. Also great for vocational welders (so I've heard, I'm not much into the technical field).

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! Pay a lot of attention to your first test with a teacher, as this will be how they will make their tests for the rest of your semester. Have a little fun, too!

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you paid for as far as it goes with community college. Don't expect a university's customer service when it comes to admissions and the such, but for a community college it's good.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being here because basically half of my high school goes to this college as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Sometimes the teachers find fun in making trick questions, but overall it is a good learning enviroment.

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Scott Community College is great for anybody. Whether you are fresh out of high school or just retired, single or married, you are welcome and received. Everybody is somebody, and we all have to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your eyes and mind open; don't shut out the prospective of a community college for part or all of your education just because it looks like your high school or doesn't have the prestige of a university or private college. You will learn just as much, if not more, from the community college because you have the distinct advantage of absolute diversity, and not just diversity among 18-22 year-olds. You get all age groups, all walks of life.

    Bang for the buck

    I moved to the area from west Nebraska, so I had to figure in moving expenses. But, even though I am renting an apartment, paying electricity, and driving to school every day, my cost of living plus tuition is still about half of what I would be paying to attend a university or a state college.

    Am enjoying being here

    At first, I was a skeptic. I took one look as Scott Community college and thought, I don't belong here: it's a glorified high school! Why on earth didn't I pick a prestigious university? Then I began learning. Not only from my professors, but from the students themselves. Community colleges have by far the richest diversity of all learning institutions. They are the ones who opened my eyes to a different world. The more I learned, the more I liked it. SCC may not be as well-known as the University of Nebraska, or as prestigious as an Ivy League school, but it gives a quality education and a rich and complex diversity to life.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are, in my opinion, high quality. We have fairly small class sizes, so the professor knows your name and is able to help you more effectively, versus a lecture hall class at a university where you are one of the hundreds in the same class. Also, my classes are pleasantly challenging.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are unsure of what it is they want for a career. There are a variety of different classes to choose from and explore in.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to attend all classes regularly and do all the assigned work and you'll be well on your way.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition here is one of the cheapest in Iowa but the quality of the school is still very good.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a student athlete here at MCC and I enjoy every minute of the dorm life and coming together with my teammates we are a big family.

    Am learning a lot

    The classroom environment here at Muscatine Community College is very professional. The teacher's here are very friendly and know you by name. Most of the teacher's here are willing to help you if need it and if they are unable to there numerous amounts of tutors available to help you.

  • 12/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - students who are still trying to discover their future career path - students who just want to get general education courses out of the way at a lower cost - students who do better in smaller classrooms, and more one-on-one experiences with teachers - students who have a family or a full-time job - students who are fresh out of high school, or returning non-traditional students

    Tips for prospective students

    I would meet with an advisor as often as possible. This allows students to always know that they’re taking the right classes. Meeting with an advisor also allows students to have extra opportunities to take more classes that they are interested in. Also, get involved with activities or programs offered on campus. Doing so allows a more fulfilling college experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education at Scott Community College is definitely worth the money. Scott Community College provides its students with a great foundation to go onto a 4-year school, or to enter the job market immediately after graduating. Many programs offered at SCC are top in the state, and are even recommended by Universities. Also, students can receive multiple scholarships offered by the school, as well as many grants to lower the cost of schooling even further. Scott Community College offers a great first 2 years of schooling for minimal cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Scott Community College offers a lot of activities for all students. For me, I got involved in Phi Theta Kappa and the Honors Program which brought me a lot of joy. There are opportunities for all students, though, that will allow all students to be a part of something in the college, so that they will enjoy their experience. Again, the teachers have really aided me in this experience, and have helped me to find activities which would be most enjoyable and beneficial for me. I enjoy being a part of a college where the teachers enjoy being a part of their student’s lives.

    Am learning a lot

    At Scott Community College, teachers truly care about their students. Because of this, I have learned a lot, and I feel as though I have become a more well-rounded individual. Attending Scott Community College gave me opportunities I would not have gotten elsewhere, such as being a part of the Honors Program, which offered me multiple experiences that allowed me to learn more about myself, and to enhance my skills as a student. The advisors are also very helpful, and have helped me to take the classes that will be most beneficial to me for my major. This has proved to be very helpful because I feel as though I am learning things that are actually going to help me in the future.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Still wondering what to major in? Save a ton of money and go here! It will give you the right start along with offering so many classes to explore if you are thinking about that major.

    Tips for prospective students

    How the classes go depends a lot on your teacher. Get a good teacher and you'll love your class! So make sure to ask around or search online about a teacher you are looking at taking a class with.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal for the education I am getting! Living at home while still attending college is a big plus for me along with the fact I know the area well and it's always busy with something new to do or see.

    Am enjoying being here

    People are really nice and the staff is always there for help. Even though it is a community college, once you get on campus you feel as if you are on a regular campus with libraries, class rooms, labs, and computer labs and printers. Printing on the printers is free so that is a big plus if you run out of ink or paper at home.

    Am learning a lot

    Eastern Iowa has many classes to offer. Whenever I need to sign up for classes it always takes me a long time because there are so many options under the requirements for getting an Associate's degree.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who want to earn a quick 2 year degree, and for those who don't want to spend a lot of loan money on school or money of their own. It is great for those who want to transfer too, because there are some great transfer scholarships out there!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get your associates degree out of the way and for a cheaper price than a 4 year college, definately attend Scott Community College. If you want to go right into a 4 year college, I would suggest that you go for it, otherwise you won't have fun or enjoy being at school.

    Bang for the buck

    Taking classes here are well worth the money you spend. Especially if it is hard to afford school. The only thing that gets you is the bookstore. Books are expensive. I buy online. The classes are definately worth the money spent.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since Scott Community college is a 2 year college, and I am done after this semester, I am ready to move on to my 4 year college. When I first started, I did enjoy being there. The students and staff make you feel welcome.

    Am learning a lot

    Some teachers talk fast, and go through the material fast, but they will slow everything down, when asked to, so their students will have a better understanding of the material. I have learned a great deal of things.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My daughter lived on campus and I felt like the dorms were watched over very well.

    Great for these types of students

    I am 39, and I think it is great opportunity for myself to prove that I can anything I put my mind to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think that our college is traditional. We do not have big events that bring attention to the school by any means.

    Bang for the buck

    I went to Kaplan, which was highly expensive. I transferred to Muscatine Community College, which is half the price and 100% more educating than the experiences I have had in the past.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports activities that you can go to to have fun, but also support your fellow student and your school.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food and dining services offered.

    Academic Rigor

    In small schools teachers, students, families and administrators function as a learning community and academic rigor is reflected in how everyone thinks about, plans and is involved with instruction.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do online studies, do not procrastinate on your homework. It will all be due at once. Treat online schooling as you would any other schooling.

    In three sentences

    It is a cheaper college and the experience I have dealt with has been good.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Yes!!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students from every background

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a great college full of experience and knowledge. They will push you to be the very best you can be!!!

    In three sentences

    My education at Eastern Iowa Community College was a very useful experience. I got to know a lot of students and staff there. I am not able to use my education and skills to further my education.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't get food from the school district

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorm

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lumberking games

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early and try to get your classes close together.

    In three sentences

    CCC is a small school with small classes. The teachers are good. The parking is right across the street.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many opportunities to take to get involved in the college. they have lots of programs that get students involved in their school

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway restaurant in their cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms and I live on my own

    Academic Rigor

    Teach you to pass the NCLEX for nursing students. work with programs that will get you prepared to take the test after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are prepared to study if you really want it. Don't just act like you don't have to put effort into schooling and pass. It takes hard work and dedication to achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school and gives students a great oppotunity to have their dreams come true and starting a career of their choice. The nursing instructors are wonderful and want you to succeed in the program.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school offers many thing for its students.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers sporting events for students to attend and different clubs and activities for everyone to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    There is an offered cafeteria, but few students take advantage of it. The schools need to advertise it more.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not provided as it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers provide you with every opportunity to succeed and it is merely based on your drive to do the work. However, teachers in the district are not very good about letting you know when you have online homework, which is tough because we have three different online websites to keep up on.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking into this school take a look around campus and try to meet with the teachers. Getting to know both is necessary to succeeding here.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Iowa Community College provides a very profitable education for it's students.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not partaken in a food service here.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've heard the dorms are beautiful, I haven't seen them personally though.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers make it a point to make sure everyone wants to get an A and try their very hardest to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time and in class, take good notes, and you'll do amazing!

    In three sentences

    The teachers I currently have are wonderful and very helpful to the students. The campus is amazing and very well equipped. I feel as though I am actually retaining all of the knowledge I am being taught.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since the West Davenport and Belmont campuses are located in medium-sized, suburban-like cities, and in the case of Belmont, near a high school and forested areas, security is minimal. It is only occasionally you see a security guard on patrol, and there are no metal detectors you must go through. Though this might seem an obvious lack of responsibility, the atmosphere is so relaxed on campus and around the neighborhoods, that tighter security would seem unnecessary anyway.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society, is the only active Greek Life chapter. They are among the more well known of the clubs on campus, and host activities which welcome non-members.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about a dozen or so active clubs on the Belmont campus, and a handful of other clubs that are not as involved. Many clubs are directed at students pursuing particular majors. The other clubs are more traditional, catering special interests or talents. There are flyers for them all over school, though they might meet at times that are not convenient for you. Some clubs are somewhat inaccessible since the members are difficult to contact. However, there is an open house shortly before the beginning of each new academic year where all the clubs are present and open to receiving your inquiries.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the side of the main building at the Belmont campus that faces the forested areas, there is a nature trail that is only a few yards long, but is a nice place to escape to during the warm months of the year in-between classes. Apart from the tiny trail, there is an outdoor stage with ample seating, where students enjoy soaking some sun, or where professors sometimes like to hold classes.

    What to do for fun

    The Belmont campus often hosts outside performers in the cafeteria to entertain students and staff while they take their lunch. The theater club also performs a play each semester. Soccer and basketball games can be viewed on campus or on locations nearby.

    Food and Dining

    On the Belmont and West Davenport campuses, there are several vending machines located in light filled, reasonably spacious, and comfortable cafeterias. On the Belmont campus, the only option available in terms of more than snacks from the vending machines, is a Subway. It has been in place for only this fall 2012 semester, having replaced the previous commonplace school cafeteria, upon complaints the food served was not well liked. However, many students have acknowledged they quickly grew tired of Subway every week. Personally, I find it expensive to eat on a regular basis and prefer to bring a more diverse selection from home.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside in the dorms offered at Scott, so my review is solely based on facts and from what I have observed on the outside: They are called The Villas, and are located about a mile from campus, with easy access to main roads, but not on one itself. They are painted on the outside sea green, with balconies connected to each room. It appears if not new, then relatively recently constructed. It is located next to a grocery store, and a couple strip malls with various locales. It is also up the street from a main intersection, which is lined with another grocery store and various restaurants. The dorms also house the international students that attend the college, likely making for a diverse living environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Community college frequently conjures up the image of a safety school that will accept anyone regardless of intelligence. While this is true to an extent, it is not valid to assume you will experience a sub-average education. Each prospective student is required to take a placement exam (if you have not already taken the ACT or SAT within the past few years), and is therefore matched to classes that mostly meet their academic capabilities. Each class of course varies in difficulty, but they tend to be stimulating. The most challenging course in your schedule will not be overwhelming, but it will require ample time studying and paying attention during class to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although most professors appear to be nonchalant about whether or not a student attends their classes, they are more willing to assist you if you're struggling if you regularly attend class and they see you are making a genuine effort. Organization is important--some professors will give you precise instructions on how to turn in late work, classwork, or homework and if it is not done in the format they specified, they often won't accept it. The syllabus they hand out on the first day is your best friend if you're doubting. Don't be afraid to approach your professor if you're struggling, because you can make appointments to see them during their office hours, and many encourage you to come see them even if it's just for something you may not think is important.

    In three sentences

    The Eastern Iowa Community College District consists of three main campuses throughout eastern Iowa and several smaller facilities, all of which have agreements with local universities to help students on either advancing their current careers or continuing their pursuit of higher education. Abbreviated, EICCD provides modern, clean, convenient environments for learning with accessible, knowledgeable instructors. Here, I shall focus on Scott Community College and in particular the Belmont campus.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a priority at EICCD. They have serveillance cameras in the parking lots. They also offer escort service to anyone that wants it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are math clubs. science clubs, honor societies, activist clubs, sports, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Eastern Iowa Community Colleges are great for anyone looking to obtain a two year degree.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of college may seem a little pricy. However, you get an excellent education, you meet great people, and you make memories that last a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and organizations at Eastern Iowa Community College District. There are also sports. There is a little something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    At Clinton Community College, they have a cafeteria that serves hot food. They also have vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    If you miss class a lot you will get behind. If you don't find time to study it will affect your grades. The cost of tuition and books can be expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisor regularly. Pay attention and study to achieve your academic goals. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Make your education a priority. Enjoy learning.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers and staff. A perfect atmosphere for learning. Many clubs and organizations.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! A security gaurd is always on duty to offer companionship as you walk to your car anytime of the day.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, goal orientated students

    What to do for fun

    There are awesome dances offered every semester, An open mic every week and the funniest comedians come and perform for us!

    Food and Dining

    The Subway is the best. Healthy and delicious, you cannot beat it. THere is a large comfortable cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are luxury condominiums offered to students. The college is accessible by bus route. The students make this experience as personal and home-like as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very knowledgeable and more than willing to re-explain concepts. A good study group is not hard to find, a lot of dedicated students attend this college. Academic honesty is of utmost importance to us.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation seminars. Do not be afraid to switch advisers or ask questions. Have fun, join a club.

    In three sentences

    Scott Community college is fantastic. The staff is very helpful and down-to earth. I am so glad I started my education here.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs always have open mic days in the cafeteria. I would describe it as an unforgettable experience, take that however you would like.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live at home, but I've heard that the apartments are really nice!

    Academic Rigor

    This school is extremely easy. As long as you go to all of your classes there is no way that you can fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books on amazon.com, the bookstore is very overpriced.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small, and teachers really make an effort to learn your name and provide you with the tools you need to succeed. Participating in school clubs and activities is very easy to do, there is always something going on! Going to an Eastern Iowa Community College is a great way to save some money before transferring to a university.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A police officer patrols the campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to leave their hometown. Adults returning back to school. Low income families. Athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the SLC where they have a ping pong table and a TV, or you can go outside where they have a basketball court to play basketball.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but not to a level where you can't handle it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eastern Iowa Community College District is a great place to go to start off. Take Anna Schony for Public Speaking and Sue Trudell for Composition II.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college where the teachers know everyone in their classes. It is not as expensive as a university or private college. Has plenty of apartments to live in around the area.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a protected no smoking policy wich is great and actually has state police offers tending to the students safety and setting stadards such as speend and enforcing no smoking. they are always there if needed

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a trail through thew woods..creepy and relaxingf at the same time

    Bang for the buck

    The school is cheaper for me then paying instate tuition in illinois where i live but i pay out of state tuition and still save money

    What to do for fun

    There is Sports games for the Screaming Eagles which is our school team name and there is a recreational room on campus with a t.v. ping pong table, plenty of sitting areas and vending machines. they also have the best outside nature walk protected by the school and kept very clean

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms available. event there are many apartment up the hill from the school available student to live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely Utilize the library and free printing, and the staff is super friendly.

    In three sentences

    The School is small but they are on top of their game, and there is a lot of diversity among the students and teachers. there is always someone to turn to and talk to when you need help or a question of any sort which is awesome including free tutoring.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused

    In three sentences

    Very organized program.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very great at their job.

    Greek Life

    We do not have this feature.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes, always get involved. I love sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, starting out here will help you get on track, and let distraction.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Picnic tables and smaller classes that other colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    GREAT

    What to do for fun

    The things I do for fun are as follows; study, watch movies, get together with friends.

    Food and Dining

    You normally go out to lunch or bring in your lunch and eat it there.

    Dorm Life

    Very awesome

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips coming from me would be 1st, go to class. Second tip I would give you would be study at least 2 hours for every 1 hour of class. Do everything you are asked when doing assignments, they will help out a lot.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to Eastern Iowa Community College. It is easy for me because of the smaller class schedules. Everyone is helpful around the school.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the tours and the freshmen day, they help out a lot, and make sure you are updated with what books are needed for your classes. The teachers change the books needed at last minute sometimes.

    In three sentences

    They are very nice and flexible with my job, they are always eager to help with my difficult schedule. They also have accessible locations all over our area that make it very convenient. I also like the amount of attention you receive from your teachers.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The place is crawling with state troopers, I've never felt more protected and secure in my life.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the only organization on campus, and it's for honor students and people with outstanding GPAs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs out the wazoo. And creating a club isn't difficult at all. If there's something you want to do, there's a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure of their direction. I'm not saying just go to school and see where it takes you, some people don't enjoy school, and that's okay. But Scott is all about creating opportunity for people to improve themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it as far as price per credit hour goes, but beware the bookstore, Since it was taken over by Barnes & Noble, you might as well walk in there prepared to lose a leg.

    What to do for fun

    Since I;m on the Cross Country team, that's mostly what I find fun on the campus. I also partake in the Creative Writing club, a super fun club with a light and open atmosphere, and I like to run the trails in the back of the school. Also, there's free food like ALL the time for the students. The school caters our lunches sometimes and it's really just great.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was replaced with a Subway. You will get tired of Subway quickly.

    Dorm Life

    The school uses apartments that are adjusted to that student's income and tuition price. I don't live there, but they are relatively close by and people seem to enjoy them. I chose to live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are flat out easy, but there are many professors who realize that they're course work and expectations of the students are above and beyond what the students are used to. College level courses are definitely offered, and if someone wants to put in the time and effort, I definitely suggest it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do research on the teachers. Talk to people who have been in the classroom with those teachers. Find out who has a good teaching style, who grades with more tenacity than others, who will challenge you with out making you feel like you're worthless. It will definitely pay off in the long run.

    In three sentences

    A school is what you make it. Scott Community College has all the resources for students to become great. Students just have to accept the responsibility of becoming great students and realize that they have to put forth the effort if they want the results.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different diverse clubs for the student population. I belong to the student success/volunteer club.

    Food and Dining

    We have subway on campus and of course students can leave and go to a variety of fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    We have the villa's but they are not considered to be dorms for students but regular apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    My program requires us to do observation hours for a majority of our classes and everyone's program is different.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind when deciding a major.

    In three sentences

    They have an excellent teaching staff. We have plenty of clubs for everyone. We also have a very diverse community of students at all three of our campuses.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police officers cruising campus quite often.

    Bang for the buck

    Books are priced outrageously, but for the quality of learning the price per credit hour is right.

    What to do for fun

    There's quite a few nice places outside where you can sit down and relax, between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway located on campus with a larger cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms located on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Things are taught in a way that makes it easy to understand, you may run into an instructor that simply has you read verbatim from the book but not very often. The teachers are very involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all of the help you're provided, with teacher's office times and tutors that are on campus.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Iowa community college has several locations for your convenience. Classes are smaller for more individualized learning. There is always someone available, in the student success center, for help.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Incredibly safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small school, CCC has a great selection of clubs and activities: Basketball, Volleyball, Student Senate, Student paper, pre-professional groups (i.e. student nursing club), etc.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a great range in ages in many of the classes at CCC. As a non-traditional student, I feel very comfortable at CCC.

    What to do for fun

    CCC offers a variety of clubs, intramural sports, and organizations. At the beginning of the semester, every student received two free tickets to a semi-professional baseball game (not that far from campus). There are many events that the school promotes (almost all of them are free). CCC really tries to get students involved in their school and the community.

    Food and Dining

    I know that there is a dining center on campus, yet I have not tried it, so I cannot give an accurate quality assessment.

    Dorm Life

    Clinton Community College does not have a dorm. You are responsible for finding an apartment on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of education that I have been receiving from Clinton Community College. I have been taking primarily science courses; the material is difficult, yet it is presented in very clear terms and using very approachable teaching methods.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come in for your orientation and meet with an advisor, have an official transcript and a copy of your official transcript from your previous school/schools with you. If the office lost or has not processed your transcript, you cannot sign up for classes.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with my experience as a student at Clinton Community College (Clinton, IA. EICC). The faculty is approachable, knowledgable, and can relate difficult material on a level that introductory college students can understand. I highly recommend the online summer Medical Terminology course.