Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Eastern Maine Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking to transfer, didn't do well in high school, unsure of where you want your college experience to go, want a small learning enviornment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for your FASFA early, talk to your academic adviser often, get involved, do not get the weekend meal plan.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable. It is only $84 a credit hour.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to school at Eastern Maine CC. For a small school there are quite a few class offerings, understanding staff, and several clubs and sports to join.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class sizes and teachers who care really influence the learning environment positively.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EMCC is definitely a very safe school! There is security on patrol almost all hours of the day and night. EMCC is nestled in a safe area in town, right down the road from the hospital. It's got great free parking.

    Greek Life

    There is only one fraternity on campus. It's a co-ed honors society for students who have thrived in community service and academic excellence.

    Clubs and Activities

    EMCC is always welcoming to starting new clubs and activities on campus. They constantly encourage students to come up with new ideas. There are a handful of very colorful and interesting clubs to join at EMCC, and if they don't have a specific club that you would be interested in joining, you can always start a new one!

    Great for these types of students

    It's perfect for non-traditional students who have busy lives. The scheduling at EMCC is incredibly flexible, and the teachers are willing to work with you to make things accommodate your busy life. EMCC is also a great school for students interested in the trades, and students who thrive from hands-on learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Tech Day on campus at EMCC, which is a day where the students are freed from classes to join in community service projects all over campus.

    Bang for the buck

    EMCC is the most affordable community college in New England. And, in my two years there, I can say that I definitely got a great deal for the money I paid. I am two years into a four year degree and I can honestly say that I have zero money in debt. I am the only one of my friends who are in college who can say that! And it's all thanks to EMCC.

    What to do for fun

    EMCC is in the middle of the city of Bangor, so there is a lot to do! During the summer, the famous Bangor Waterfront Pavilion puts on concerts under the summer night sky. Names as famous as The Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, Reba Mcentire, Lady Antebellum and Journey! Bangor has a very wide variety of culture, shopping and food experiences. There are many art and folk festivals, and a busy downtown with museums, walking paths and interesting things to see.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! The dining hall isn't very large, but it's never too crowded and you never have to wait very long in line. It's affordable for off-campus students, and there's always a wide variety of food to choose from (including vegan selections).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at EMCC are very nice. Usually, two dorms share one bathroom, which is much more convenient then sharing one bathroom with a whole floor. They're sizable and, since not many students live on campus at EMCC, it's not crowded!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and instructors at EMCC are so incredibly friendly. Emailing them and staying in contact is very easy. They know who you are by your name and your face, and they usually know you on a personal level. They'll hook you up with scholarships and they'll help you along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up money! I never did, and I wish very badly that I had. If you're a high school student and you have an after-school job, save as much as you can. If you like to dig in the dryer for change, start a 'College Fund' piggy bank! Apply for scholarships early and often. Join clubs in college, talk to everyone, ask lots of questions and stay positive!

    In three sentences

    Imagine a college where the faculty knows you on a personal level, the price is extremely affordable, and the education is so valuable you can't put a price on it! I attended EMCC for two years, and it was an overall positive experience. For anyone who wants to save money before attending a four-year institution, a school like Eastern Maine Community College is a great place to start.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends is always something to do on Campus. You also live very close to the mall and many shopping areas. On campus activities are different. They plan many things for us to do.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school, they have great teachers who really care for their students. The only thing I don't like about it is the food in the cafeteria. They could prepare much better food.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study.

    Academic Rigor

    good.

    Tips for prospective students

    none.

    In three sentences

    good college, good teachers.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the year that I've been there I think the biggest event was that a girl lost her earrings. The only place on campus that you are likely to get robbed is at and by the Campus Book Store.

    Great for these types of students

    Electrical and Automation Technology students. Students who wish to transfer towards an Electrical Engineering degree. The professors/advisors for this program are impeccable.

    What to do for fun

    Nearby there is a mall that is fairly nice for the area, as well as a first run movie theater with 3D. There are also tons of fantastic local eateries nearby (Hogan Road Deli, Miguels, Green Tea, etc). Outside of that though, you will need a car to get to anything else interesting, such as downtown, the airport, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is run mostly by the culinary students. That being said, the quality of food and the quality of service can range depending on who is working and whether you go to the cafeteria or the eagle's nest cafe. More often than not, the food is great and an awesome value as well. There will be a few times you will get a bad meal though, as not all of the students are as good as the others.

    Dorm Life

    While I do not live in the dorms, I can speak to the general community life of the college, as more often than not I am there for 10-12 hours a day. Most of your peers are friendly, and there are some really nice places to hang out outside when the weather is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The general education classes are somewhat remedial - what you would expect from a community college. However, the technical classes are phenominal. While they require extensive work and dedication to excel, the amount of education that you have at your disposal from many of these professors (Elec. Tech, CADD, MAT) is unparalleled.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I could give would be to talk to your advisors. The education side of the staff at Eastern Maine has a very vested interest in their pupils, and will guide you to the choices that are best for you as an individual.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Maine Community College may be one of the best values I have ever received. The quality of education and steadfast interest that the professors have in the individuals provide you with everything you need to succeed. If you pair that information with the fact that you can afford an entire associates degree from EMCC for the equivalent of less than a year at other universities, there is no comparison.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very good food, and they even have a sandwich making station like the one at subway

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on campus but I hear good things

    Academic Rigor

    form good study habits and have study groups

    Tips for prospective students

    Create schedules and to-do lists to stay on top of due dates and exams, and also routinely review lecture notes to avoid cramming at exam time.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Maine Community College is a great school that will continue to grow.The campus has a very friendly atmosphere. Class sizes are not that large, enabling profs to talk more conversationally. It's not for everyone, but if you want to learn and you work hard, the teachers are there for you

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    I have joined basketball

    Great for these types of students

    Make the most of your time in college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I live in one of the two dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    I mostly work on cars, but I do go to the basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not my favorite but it is better than cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Living on Campus is the best decision I have ever made. I love having so many people to connect to at one time.

    Academic Rigor

    EMCC is difficult but they support you in every way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for new students would be to check in with your roommates before you go to school.

    In three sentences

    I think Eastern Maine Community College is a great school. I have found it challenging and excited to be part of this inspiring college.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The are okay. They will come and pick you up from anywhere on campus and bring you to your destination, and they are on their stuff. But they are harsh. In the dorms they're on duty 11:30 pm to like 5.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different diverse groups here: Student Senate, (SH)out, Phi Theta Kappa and many more. They all have very different things they do and they all do awesome events that anyone can take place in no matter if you are in the group or not.

    Great for these types of students

    Early Childhood Education and Education Majors. You get so much more in here in two years than you do in three years at the common university. It's well worth your money to come here for those if that is what you want to do with your life.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming here saved me tons of money. It's very cost efficient rather than going to pay for a University for my basic classes.

    What to do for fun

    On campus? You can participate in many of the trips the faculty and groups do or you can participate in the clubs, activities or the events the RA's put on. Off campus? The mall, shopping, movies.. etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. I mean come on, it's cafeteria food. They do try their best to make what people like though. They send around surveys of food people like.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting and I really enjoy it. There are two dorm buildings and I have had the experience of living in both. There is Acadia and Kineo. Kineo is more expensive because you only share a bathroom with the room next to you and you can control your own heating and air conditioning. It is also more closed those. People are not as friendly. I lived there part of my first semester. The rest of the time I have lived in Acadia, which I enjoy a lot better. In my opinion people are friendlier, you know everyone and everyone is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It really all depends on the type of major you have. I have been through two majors - early childhood and liberal studies. Liberal hasn't been bad. With Early Childhood there are a lot of things/projects you have to do in class, but also outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're living in the dorms, bring extra lights. There are lights in the room but they are tiny and buy your books elsewhere! You will save tons and tons of money.

    In three sentences

    I believe that it is a wonderful college for any first year college students. I've had an awesome two years here, and I hope everyone gives this school a look at!

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are fresh out of high school like me, and you don't have tons of money to go around. If you live at home and you don't want to go far.

    Bang for the buck

    So far so good:)

    What to do for fun

    Since it's pretty much in the heart of Bangor, there are quite a few places to go during classes or on the weekends. There are a bunch of restaurants and a mall right down the road from the college. Also, there is a skating rink, places to go bowling, and also a nightclub. There are plenty of sports you can play while attending and there are tons of places to go hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet started here, I do not yet know.

    Dorm Life

    I am not staying in a dorm so I wouldn't know but if it is like other experiences I've had with the college, then I would say it's just fine.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet started, (I start next week) and I have already received some emails from some teachers regarding what the course requires and other things like that. So far, it is very easy to reach someone at school if you needed to.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that if you are looking to apply, then you should, from what I've seen it is a great little college and they are very helpful with problems. They also offer flexible schedules with is very helpful when you are also working. Also, the application process is very easy, I completed mine online and I heard back fairly soon from the college which was nice.

    In three sentences

    So far my application and orientation process has been easy. When you can with a question or problem, they always try to help you. I am excited to start and see what this college has to offer.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Not many extracurricular activities, small school.

    Food and Dining

    I did not live on campus so never ate on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely easy courses. Not very challenging at all.

    In three sentences

    EMCC is a school with a small class size so lots of personalized attention. There is a lot of support getting internships. Some teachers seem underqualified though.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security van going around campus and if you ever feel unsafe (rarely) then you can call them and they will escort you to the parking lot, dorm, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely! This is the cheapest school in the state! And it is not the time when you get what you pay for, you get everything you would at a pricy university.

    What to do for fun

    Any of the events going on in the common room, start a game of man hunt or football in the quad. Or sign up to go to the local mountain for snow tubing!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall definitely varies here, I'm not going to lie. Some nights they will make amazing stir fry and omelets right in front of you with whatever you want in them, other times there just pre-made sandwiches and pizza. It depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are so fun, we have a common room that has different events all the time, like girls night with sappy love movies on and tie-dye shirt night, or pillow case if that's your choice. There's also Men's night with poker, pizza, and prizes. It's a lot of fun here.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers here want you to succeed and they will help you all of the way as long as you are willing to do your part. If you are willing to attend all classes, participate, and ask questions then you are guaranteed to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they have the program you want and you contact an adviser that can help you apply for that program. Definitely set up a tour and come see the school, it doesn't look like much from the outside but once it's all laid out there's a lot to take in.

    In three sentences

    EMCC is a very small campus and everyone knows each other. The teachers are there to help you and will give you one on one time whenever you need it. This school is perfect for me and it has so many different majors it can fit almost anyone's needs.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs that students can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    I do not have a food plan at EMCC, so I eat my meals off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    EMCC is somewhat of a strict school. Many of the core classes require a high C or above for a passing grade to move to the next level. In my degree program, everything I need to know on how to get my degree is clearly written out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to work hard in school and at the end it will all pay off.

    In three sentences

    EMCC has friendly staff that is will to help the students. The school environment is friendly, clean, and quit in certain locations for studying. And they offer many clubs and groups to help get students involved in the community.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small campus, and very, very safe. The security staff are all very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anime Club to Student Senate.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL types! Whether you're here to finish a degree, start a degree, or just have fun... you will find the classes for you. There is a diverse number of students. Even South Koreans!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Walking Trail really shouldn't be used as often as it is for illicit drugs. Silly people. The campus is too small for that.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh so cheap and oh so worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Should you ever get bored, try checking out the different groups and extracurricular activities available.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average, but the staff is great.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a lot of fun and definitely worth it. Not only are you closer to the food and the classes, but the people who live with you become more than just your neighbors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to reach out to your professors. They are there for you, and they know it. Make sure you keep an eye on your educational goal, too.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Maine Community College provides a quality education for a diverse variety of students. The small class sizes allows for a more comfortable and personal feeling. You really own your education, here!

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A student who doesn't know what they want to do, and doesn't want to break their bank account trying to figure it out.

    What to do for fun

    There are many movie showings on campus during certain nights of the week. There are also odd little games (like zombie tag) that are put on by the International Club and other organizations such as Phi Theta Kappa. EMCC doesn't have a very strong sports program, but they have offered soccer, basketball, and newly softball, and baseball in the past.

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen is very clean and the food is quite edible. Sandwiches are available in the daytime, but at supper it is what the main course is. There are even vegetarian choices.

    Dorm Life

    There are two dorms on campus and one of them could use more than a minor fix-up. The new dorm that was just recently put up is a lot nicer, but for $4,000-$6,000 extra, I've heard it's not worth it. There really isn't much to do on-campus during the weekends, and the library is closed Saturdays.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm hesitant to go with a four or two. There are quite a few people who make the President's List (4.0). But there are a lot who just don't seem to care. I know that often times a community college is attended because a desired major is unknown, but a lot of people don't seem to have an incentive to push if they're not going towards something. What will come may come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your teachers and show them that you're willing to put in effort for their class. They'll love that. Make use of the tutor center. Needing help doesn't make you lame, it just shows that you're actually into your learning and want to do well. It will help you more than hurt you.

    In three sentences

    The instructors really go out of their way to help you if you put an effort into learning. The small number of students allows familiar faces to pop up through all courses and daily activities. One thing that seems to be lacking is motivation from many of the student population.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best but it isn't the worst, its eatable. Some of the peoples are decent and good and while others aren't too good but you will for sure find something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Kineo hall is very nice with having your own bathroom and make it feel very homey. All of the residents there are friendly and welcoming and very easy will make friends. Not a lot of things to do on campus but only have a common room with a ping pong table and a tv and xbox.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very do able. Some teachers are good but some teachers you have to teach yourself. If you go to class and do your work you for sure will pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like small classes and a small setting don't go here.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small community setting which it can be nice. All of the people are welcoming. The college has a very homey setting.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Theyre really good about their safety. :)

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a bunch! and are always willing to start some more.

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on. In the field type of people. You jump right into what you are going there for.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is really close. The school / res life has a lot of events they hold. Theres plenty to do, you just have to look in the right places.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good sometimes, and others its not so great. There should be a slightly bigger selection.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be better. But thats mostly because A lot of the people living in the dorms were not very polite. (they were disrespectful to the building itself. ) Overall though, its nice being in the dorms, so youre close and dont have to worry about car troubles or anything like that.

    Academic Rigor

    Im in the Early Childhood Program, and the teachers do their best to make sure youre learning everything you need to learn, And they do their best to help you pass.. But thats mostly up to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself. Get out and do things, like go to events the school does, make friends, etc. Its a lot more fun that way.

    In three sentences

    Really good school. Most of the students are really friendly. The teachers are very nice and super helpful.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's Maine. It's safe. We're trustworthy people here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good number of clubs and activities esp if you live in the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    Good for liberal studies students deciding what they want to do. It's a two-year college for most people, so it's not a high rigorous college studying school. It's more community based (obviously as a community college) and the education is based on being successful right here in maine. But it's worth the money to just take classes here.

    What to do for fun

    Bangor is not your typical place for fun so there's not much in the area, but the dorms is always putting up activities to do from bowling, girls night, guys nights, movie nights and more. The mall is nearby and there are a couple trails nearby to walk. There is harvest day in the fall and tech day in the spring for some fun activities. They had a laser tag in the gym one day which was probably the funnest thing they had there. There are basketball games to go to as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks most of the time. Good choices for breakfast, and they have a good sandwich bar option. Pizza usually is greasy and the food is not great, but what can you expect with college food? One in awhile they'll be a great meal. Don't get the weekend meal plan. It's not worth it.

    Dorm Life

    College is better to live in the dorms. You know everyone who lives on campus and the RA's plan activities all the time. It's can be a lot of fun if you participate. Acadia Hall is cheaper, but Kineo is a lot nicer with air conditioning and heat in your room. You only have to share a bathroom with three other people in Kineo, but have to get your own toilet paper and soap. The walls are thin though and if you have loud neighbors, it's not great. The common room is a great place for a game with friends but mostly ping pong! Ping pong and more ping pong lol

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are so easy and some are harder depending on your major. You need to be dedicated in some of the programs like Early Childhood and Culinary, but they are worth it. The CAD program is getting better. The automotive and construction programs are good here as well. Some teachers are harder than others, but mostly it's pretty easy as long as you go to your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the dorms at least for your first semester, or join in a club. You meet more people that way.

    In three sentences

    EMCC is affordable, and their missions is pretty much wanting you to succeed.