Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Eastern Mennonite University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EMU is great for anyone who has a strong faith or wants to strengthen their faith. Even if you aren't a Christian it is still a wonderful place to be. The environment is amazing because it is in the valley neat the mountains, is a small campus where everyone is fairly close and you have a close relationship with your professors. There isn't anything better than being here at EMU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely. It's easy being here and thinking you have so much free time to do whatever you want because you aren't in class as much as you were in high school, but that's not true. You will have papers to write and a lot of other things to do and friends will stop by or ask you to do something. There are many distractions so you have to learn when to say No. I have to finish my paper/homework.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is high, but that's to be expected for a private college. I think it is definitely worth every penny to learn what I have learned in and outside of the classroom.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wouldn't change a thing about being here at EMU. It has done wonders for me. There is also such a great sense of community about the campus that it almost feels more like a family than being at school.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned more about myself and future careers than I have ever learned. I have also had the opportunity to open myself up more to the world and express myself better thanks to the school. I am now a more outgoing and culturally aware person.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergencies and incidents of serious crime are rare. See Crime stat report at http://www.emu.edu/physical-plant/security/CrimeStats2009-11.pdf

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association, Common Grounds Coffeehouse, Peace Fellowship, Black Student Union, Latino Student Alliance, Missionary Kids/Third Culture Kids Student Fellowship are just a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy learning in a small setting with uncrowded classrooms.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern Mennonite University is the ideal campus. It is a personable campus with lots of amenities to make the college experience an easy transition from high school and home life.

    What to do for fun

    There's a bowling alley nearby and lots of sporting events on campus. There's also movie night and dorm activities.

    Food and Dining

    Students residing in dorms have an unlimited food plan. The food is well-prepared, very tasty and diverse. Homemade pastries are provided as well as ice cream and plenty of fruits and vegetables. There are also many choices for vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are co-ed and equipped with full kitchens on the first floor, with the exception of Cedarwood, which has a full kitchen on each floor. Free laundry, wi-fi, and storage is available for students and the dorms are very close to classrooms, dining hall, gymnasium, and chapel.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of tutors available for students requiring assistance with their courses. The transitions class is very helpful for freshman students and student athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eastern Mennonite is a friendly, personable, and ethnically-diverse campus. The university president and instructors prefer to be addressed by their first name.

    In three sentences

    A small, private university with a 13:1 student-to-teacher ratio. The university is located in a beautiful, tranquil setting in the Shenandoah Mountains. Students receive lots of individual attention from instructors.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel very safe on campus

    Greek Life

    Non existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Mostly religious, student govt, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to scarce knowledge of their field. Not a good science major group of faculty. So I would advise to not come to this school if your a science major.

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of a rip off when you take into account all the money you pay and your not getting the adequate amount of education you deserve. Yes it's a small, private school, but I still believe that they should invest more of the money they are getting from tuition to finding more qualified professors

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really anything on campus, but the surrounding town has much to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Sorry to say, but the food is the best thing about the school. it's really good!

    Dorm Life

    Its okay, a little above average, but nothing special. At least the majority of students are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Needs more classes that will benefit students for their majors. For example, they don't really have extra classes for science majors to get into med school or other professional schools. They have the basic classes, and that's it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit before deciding to come here. Make a meeting/appointment with your visor and some teachers

    In three sentences

    Not the best college to come to. Academic opportunity and faculty fall way below average.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who were raised in a christian family and who are looking for those who share a strong faith in God. Also for those people who want to go into peace building because one of our alumni just won the noble prize for peace!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for work study early! It can help you pay for tuition and it also puts money in your pocket for personal things. Also make sure you manage your time wisely because your can lose track of when you have an exam pretty easily.

    Bang for the buck

    As apposed to other colleges EMU is pretty small, but this is more of an advantage than what you would think. You can create a personal relationship with your professors and they will help you if your struggling. You don't get that everywhere and I find it to be a great advantage.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love EMU student life. I'm always doing things like playing pool in the game room or going dumpster diving with friends, needless to say I'm never bored. The people here are really friendly and i feel accepted.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn something new everyday. That can be something in my classes or something that i learn about my new friends and life in general. At EMU you learn more than just how to do your future job, you learn about community and the importance of friendships.

  • 11/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eastern Mennonite University is perfect for those searching for a smaller school. It gives you a little more time with the professor if you need it. You are guaranteed a great education if you come here. A past alumni actually just won the Novel Peace Prize this year. That is pretty awesome! If you want a religious school then EMU is great, but they don't force it on you, which is great! Having religion pushed upon you can be really overwhelming and I have never felt that way here! EMU leaves the religion side of things more open to the students to do with what they wish. If you are looking for growing in your faith and getting closer to God, then you can definitely find it here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit! You won't know what it is like unless you come and see it for yourself. It may be small, but there is always something to do. Also, the surrounding town (Harrisonburg) is a good size with a lot of restaurants if you feel like getting off of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    EMU is a GREAT school, but it is also really expensive. I wouldn't change my choice of coming here though even though the cost is high! I am definitely getting the education I'm paying for! It is worth the money. I only rate it a 4 out of 5 because for most people in today's economy the tuition can be too high.

    Am enjoying being here

    EMU is awesome! I don't think that I could have picked a better school for me. The size is great, the students are awesome, and the food in the cafeteria is actually good! There is a good relationship among the students here, it is really friendly. There is also a wide variety of people, so any one can find the type of people they want! I always feel safe and the dorms are really nice!

    Am learning a lot

    The classes challenge me but are interesting. I am enjoying all of my classes and the professors are great! I feel smarter already!

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food here is normally quite good and we have something for everyone. my personal favorite is when we have our once-a-month steak and shrimp night- where else can you get steak through your dining plan at college?

    Dorm Life

    the dorms here are amazing and we have something for everyone. for the environmentally conscious we have cedarwood our leed certified dorm, for those not wanting to leave their dorm to eat we have northlawn, those wanting apartment-style living we have both parkwoods and hillside, and for those wanting a more 'home-like' dorm we have both elmwood and maplewood. all the dorms are awesome and your hall mates will turn out to be the best part of your dorm experience!

    Academic Rigor

    they grade pretty stiffly here, but the profs are always willing to work with you on anything you are struggling with.

    In three sentences

    there are great people here- even though it is a wee bit of a hippie school. the teachers are always more than willing to help you- not to mention your classmates. all-in-all a great school to go to- religious affiliation non-material.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Mennonites Environmentally-friendly nursing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dumpster diving around Harrisonburg is great!

    What to do for fun

    -Concerts all the time -intramural sports -movies on campus -hiking

    Food and Dining

    The food here is fantastic and the dining staff is very friendly. We have a campus garden and we use the vegetables grown in it in some of our dishes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to jump right into classes.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Mennonite University is great. The community here is so welcoming and friendly. The classes are challenging and the professors are fantastic.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Security drives around in cars, and are authorized to give you rides if you don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    No greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over thirty clubs to join, and if their isn't one that you see, feel free to start it! Perfect for leadership opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a quieter, but still fun environment to attend college at. Also, who want relationships with their professors (great for resumes or internships). GREAT nursing, teaching, biology and peace and conflict programs. Some of the best in the United States and the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    student run coffee shop, discount movies on friday and saturday.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but not for a private school. Lots of scholarship and work-study, not to mention just regular employment, available on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join lots of clubs, or SAC activities on campus. There are also snowboarding classes,etc, and a coffeeshop. For parties, JMU is nearby.

    Food and Dining

    LOTS! Taco bar, potato bar, waffle making, salad bars, entree bar, stir-fry bar, cereal bar, fruit bar, deli, panini maker, hershey's ice cream bar, pizza and pasta bar. Healthy and Junk food options!

    Dorm Life

    Very interactive. Cedarwood Dorms were the first to recieve the first gold rating in Virginia for their green initiative.

    Academic Rigor

    It is all about making studying a priority! There is also a developed student resource center with tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and get involved! People are outgoing, but you have to reciprocate and expect the best. With this mindset, you will be successful!

    In three sentences

    EMU is a great school with a beautiful campus where you can build strong connections with fellow students for lifelong friendships, and with professors for great references after college or summer internships. At EMU, a cross cultural is worked into the curriculum, so seeing the world is required, and gives you the opportunity to become well rounded. Finally, at EMU, you are a person, where the faculty goes out of their way to work with you, not just a number on campus.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown and hit up bars, hookah lounges, bowling, dancing, restaurants, or just about anything else. On campus, there are occasional concerts as well as good sized TVs and a coffee shop.

    Food and Dining

    It's a'ight

    Dorm Life

    A good community of people who care about each other, but Christianity is endemic.

    Academic Rigor

    As I have said, the classes are not overly difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be as into the Bible as most people are. Remember that rules are just rules and that if you're smart you can still have fun. Study, because somehow there are people who manage to do poorly here.

    In three sentences

    A good place to get a solid education, though classes tend to be too easy. The community is a little tough to break into if you are not a Mennonite. Overall, the school leaves one content with the cross cultural experience, but wishing the school had been more challenging.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing happens here...nothing.

    Greek Life

    Non existant

    Clubs and Activities

    Ed, art, bible and religion, literature, creation care, writing and design, cultural appreciation...Quite a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies. You will enjoy it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a kind of cave that runs under the school, safe and fun for exploring.

    What to do for fun

    Dumpster dive, rollar skate, movies, frisbee, bike ride, hike and camp, chill.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you decide. If it feels right, come.

    In three sentences

    If you want community, love for the earth, and cross cultural experience, you'll get it here. Its in the middle of nowhere, but the experiences are unique in that people are wonderful. The classes can be not all to ones liking, but the professors are a joy to be taught by.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is high, but it is a private college. It really is worth it this college has so many great classes and great teachers. I wouldn't what to be in any other college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the dances, games, the plays, and the movies. You do not have to stay on campus go and look around the town there are bowling alleys, parks, and so many places to eat and chill with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is great and some days it isn't so great, but you do not have to eat at the cafeteria. There are other places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living in the dorm so I cannot tell you what is really going on, but from what I have seen it is very nice. Many of the students come together and study, every night they watch a movie. Everyone is every friendly to each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here do not want you to fall behind and they will let you know how you are doing. But the teachers will tell you in the first day of class that you are not in high school any more and that they are not your parents. You have to take care of yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take some time and look around and go to the events. Do not let yourself get behind in any of the classes, and if you need help go and get it.

    In three sentences

    From 1 being the bad to 10 being great, I give EMU a 7. Everyone there is very nice, friendly, and helpful. The teachers and the class are amazing and so much fun.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. The security is always around campus and there for help.

    What to do for fun

    There are always different activities going on. There is a movie every weekend. The school offers intramural sports. There can also be live music.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. It can be a little repetitive but over all good.

    Dorm Life

    EMU encourages hall activities every week. It is very open environment. The community advisers are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very helpful and willing to help. There are many chances to get help when you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not count it out just because of it's name. It is a really great school!

    In three sentences

    EMU is very great at helping freshman transition from high school to college. It is a very safe campus. There is also a very friendly atmosphere.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards on duty every night so if you don't want to walk to your dorm at night they have a number to were you can call them to walk you to your car or your dorm.

    Greek Life

    They don't have this, so if you want the Greek Life, definitely don't come here because they don't believe in all that!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well James Madison University is close by, enough said.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college so you will be paying a lot of money to be a student at EMU. So if your not willing to spend a lot of money for something that you don't think is going to work out in the end, then don't come here, you'll just be wasting money. But if your absolutely sure you want to come here, then your more then welcome.

    What to do for fun

    Well they have hall activities for all dorms just to get to know each other better which I think is a plus, you can gain friends that way. There are sporting events to attend too. They have varies off campus activities for you to get to know Harrisonburg a lot better. They have a lot of clubs for you to be apart of.

    Food and Dining

    If your feeling lazy and don't really want to walk a far distance to eat, I'd say Northlawn is for you cause like I said earlier, the dinning hall is in the basement of Northlawn but its a well-kept area. The have a variety of food, some good...some not so good, again it depends on the person. But if food in the dinning hall doesn't sound to great, they also have the royals den where you can get your basic pizza and fries, or a sandwich and a salad. So I think they have a quite a few options open for us students.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus, that's probably about the only thing I like best about EMU. I live in Northlawn and its a plus because the dinning hall is like right in the basement so all I have to do is walk down some stairs and there I eat. Everyone in the Woods dorms, they have to walk to the dinning hall, that stinks. So pick Northlawn, plus there are friendly people that you live with in your hall so if you ever need to talk to anyone, someone in the hall will talk with you or cheer up if your feeling down.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes, to me, I think are quite hard but it really just depends on you the person. I have troubles learning so I like professors who break stuff down. But I'm not going to lie I have learned a lot being here at EMU. You do learn a lot. Professors are really nice and most are willing to work with you with anything your having troubles with.

    In three sentences

    Its a very small campus, that can either be a good or bad thing, and this campus is very friendly. EMU cares about their students and their futures.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers are giving us protection 24/7. You can even call security if you are scared at night or alone and they can walk you to your dorm to make sure that you are safe. Officers always on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to get involved with. Like skiing, business, black union, and much more!

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the money in the long run. The dorm size is great, plus the bathrooms always look nice. The campus is well put together and doesn't look like a beat up place. It has nice facilities like the gym, equipment, and other stuff. The classrooms look brand new, and well qualified teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun around campus. They may hold some activities on campus, but not many will attend. The most fun is during basketball season to see the Men and Women basketball team play but other than that, most people spend their weekends going to the big party school JMU or other local parties around Harrisonburg.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great to be honest. The cafe is very small and at times you are not able to find a spot to sit with friends or end up being squished at another table. The food selection is not that great because we are such a small school, we have a smaller selection of food to eat each day. The upside is that they do have a waffle maker and you are able to make your own eggs. Oh yeah don't forget ice cream for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is easy. Our community bathrooms are MUCH nicer compared to other community bathrooms. The cleaning staff comes in every morning to keep our stuff neat, tidy, and fresh. Since we are a small school, you will find that the bathroom is never overcrowded, and at times you are the only person in the bathroom. Everybody is genuinely nice to each other as the year progresses plus you have CA's on each floor to ensure safety and enforce rules and regulations. Each week every hall has fun and exciting scheduled hall activities so people can get to know their dormmates in the hall better.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is pretty fair depending on what level course you are taking. I don't believe that the work is all that tough, but you must have very great time-management skills, otherwise you can find yourself falling behind in class. Other than that, classes are not at all and over load for me as I take 15 credits this semester with three 200 level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of getting a tutor as it is covered in your tuition. If you don't like big campuses like UNC or Duke, this would be a perfect small college for you. Plus James Madison University and Bridgewater are within 10 to 15 minutes of EMU so you can attend a small school atmosphere while being near two big colleges, and experience both a small school and a larger school. If you enjoy a small campus, then EMU would be perfect for you. It is impossible to get lost on campus and all classes are within a 10 minute walking distance. And if you enjoy coffee, we have a place called Common Grounds where you can stop by before class and grab yourself a nice hot cup of freshly brewed coffee.

    In three sentences

    EMU is a very easy place to adjust as a freshman. A very small college atmosphere makes it easier for teachers and professors to be accessible during office hours. It is a very small, yet beautiful campus and takes less than 10 minutes to get to each class.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They aren't really any problems on campus that need campus security. Campus security is mostly there to help students back in dorms and to watch out for troublesome outsiders that come into the campus. It is problem one the top safest schools.

    What to do for fun

    You can go lay out on EMU hill and star gaze. There is a movie every Friday night. Common ground is the cool place to hang out. The main lounge on every hallway pretty much is being used by a diversity of students and willing for others to join in for their activities. There is at least one party by students at the school once a week, and if you need more college partying, JMU is right down the road. West Virginia is pretty close with a lot of hiking, rock climbing, caving, and camping.

    Food and Dining

    The food itself is good and you contact the manager of the cafe if you need something or are having problems and he is very helpful and responsive. The variety of the cafe is poor though. The off campus restaurants are pretty diverse and have a lot of quality.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life really all depends on the students, and right now they are doing a great job of keeping up with activities and fun things to do almost every day.

    Academic Rigor

    Certain classes can be tough but most professors are understanding when things can't be turned in on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress too much about making friends because most of the people here are more friendly than most college students.

    In three sentences

    Is very good with majors in the social sciences. Has a huge concern with sustainability. Is accepting to anyone of any background.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards around campus, the campus is also well lit at night. I feel safe walking from the library to my dorm at night.

    Greek Life

    Non-Existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Huge list of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Park Cabin is an unusual place on campus. Its in the woods set back on campus. Alot of dances are held there like the Glow Dane and Halloween Dance.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a very shy person, so I do not participate in class discussions nor raise my hand to ask questions. Instead, since the school is small, the teachers have office hours allowing a shy little me to talk to him one on one.

    What to do for fun

    CAC (Campus Activities Counsel) plans a lot of activities like barn dances, carnivals, movies, capture the flag as well as late nights in the gym. The Recreational Sports program allows everyone to get active, if you like collegiate sports but aren' up to par in skill level to play on a team, you can join a Rec Sports team!

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria gets a bit old after a while but that is with all school meals. EMU has a snack shop called The Royals Den, where you can get burgers, fries, wraps, pizza , candy, chips, big cookies and pint sized ice creams and much more

    Dorm Life

    Many of CA's (Community Advisors) are very cool. Staying quite during quiet hours and taking part in hall activities will keep you on your CA's good side.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be very fast paced. Teachers do not always collect work, so you may feel that you can put a few assignments off, not the best thing to do. You do not want to start your first semester skipping classes or handing work in late. Some teachers do not even collect late assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends Create Study Groups Be to class on time all the time (teachers will point you out if you aren't) The best way to not look like a first year, is to, not wear all of your EMU gear the first week

    In three sentences

    Small school, allows for a better student teacher relationship. EMU offers a lot of clubs and organizations to take part in on campus. Spring Semester on campus is absolutely beautiful.