Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Eastern Oklahoma State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police who do a magnificient job. We had our campus police come by our freshman orientation class and introduce himself. That was a big help to ensure we felt comfortable and safe and to just know he is there and passionate about our safety.

    Greek Life

    I haven't seen much of the Greek Life at EOSC. I am a member of Phi Thetta Kappa and we get involved in so many different activities. I hope to learn more.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was inducted into the honor society Phi Thetta Kappa. I plan this semester to check out more and get more involved. I feel EOSC offers a wide variety of clubs and activities and I can't wait to get in there and experience more.

    Great for these types of students

    EOSC is great for the student who just graduated high school all the way to the student like myself who has been out of high school for 20 years. I was worried about my age before school began. Once it started I felt at ease and just like I was a part of something awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I did not live on campus and went to the off-campus site I did not get to be involved directly in most of the events offered. There are parades and several fund raisers. Homecoming week is especially fun with lots to do like a mud bowl.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that for the cost of tuition I received my monies worth. I know that the pay for a teacher is not near enough for what they do. I for one appreciate all they give up and do just for the hope of success of even one student.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on for fun. I attend the McAlester Campus and we had a cookout that we could attend in between class. We also had a Halloween event for the entire family to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is great. I also received e-mails advising me of the menu. This was very helpful in the event I did not want what was offered for the day I could choose something else with little effort.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorm so far. I did however stay when I was in high school for track camp. They were clean and roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses offered are challenging and push the student to be all that they can. After completion of the class I felt like I came away with a new found knowledge of the subject. I also felt the professor had a passion for the subject they were teaching and made the class challenging but fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in everything the college has to offer. Make friends that have goals and will stay positive. Be a positive and goal minded friend as well.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with the faculty and professors at Eastern Oklahoma State College. They genuinly care for the success of all students. Every effort is made whether it is coming early or staying late to help with whatever problem the students may have.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Go to the Bible Chair. Go to the track. Be yourself and make every situation a fun one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many fun activities around! It can only be a good experience if you make it one.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great choice for someone who is attached to home and who may be a little timid. This school definitely thrives on relationships. It is also perfect for those who are strapped for cash.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any college, you need to give yourself a chance to get used to things. Be involved. Ask your instructors for help. Don't be afraid to help others and to accept help. You might make a new friend!

    Bang for the buck

    It is very cost effective to start out at this two-year school. While many of my friends at four year schools spend up to ten times what I do on tuition alone. The only issue is that the bookstore has a monopoly and takes advantage of that by charging outrageous prices on some of the books. Buy your books online to solve that issue.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a small campus. Everyone seems to know everyone else even the commuters. There are lots of clubs and activities to be a part of. Speakers come occasionally and there are some great plays and concerts from our fellow students. Friendliness is the rule rather than the exception.

    Am learning a lot

    Eastern offers the chance to learn in smaller classes. Even your general education classes may only have 25 students in them. The professors are great and very knowledgeable about their subject matter. You can also tell that they care about each student individually. You aren't just a name on their roster!

  • 12/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all students, unless you play football. Sorry no football team here, but that's OK because our basketball teams are really great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to all the schools you can, don;t be disappointed by the results. But if I were you I would attend EOSC first it will save you money in the long run and give you the best college experience ever! Plus it really is a great stepping stone into the big world.

    Bang for the buck

    I am here on FAFSA. But it is well worth the money and experiences you can gain. The price of attending is low cost and the classes are worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am so glad that i choose to go to Eastern first before a major university. Being here I have made a lot of friends that have similar backgrounds as me and gotten to know my professors personally. i am not just a number in a sea of thousands of students.

    Am learning a lot

    Eastern Oklahoma State College is a great school. I have learned so much from attending this college. If you have attended a small school all through high school you really don't have a concept of really what it's like to be in a big school. at Eastern i have started to climb the ladder of success and transition.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The location that I attend is at Idabel, OK. This location is good for anybody. That is close enough to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the rulers!

    Bang for the buck

    You cover so that it understandable.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers that I've had so far have been awesome. I've meet other friends there.

    Am learning a lot

    The teacher here make it easy to understand the materials. That you are excepted to cover during that term.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Everyone was very helpful. I really like the campus because the classes and dorms are all situated close together. I won't have to worry about having to hurry to get from point a to point b.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Not yet experienced it

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the school out

    In three sentences

    Great environment

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing ever happens up there, no fights. nothing

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isnt a club for it already they will make one. you just have to ask

    Great for these types of students

    students who need an at home feel and arent accustomed to big cities. Or kids who are country.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mr. eastern (drag pageant) scavenger hunt of doom minute to win it games haunter dorm trunk or treat fall festival street dances

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money's worth, may not always be the best, but you dont leave feeling cheated in any way.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the scenic national park thats 3 minutes down the road. and all the activities there watch the amazing sports teams go to the movies rope play video game tournaments take part in the 5 billion campus activites make bonds with the people their and discover your own thing!

    Food and Dining

    OH MY GOD Everything is delicious and relatively healthy. Between the cyber bar filled with every thing a junk food junkie could want, the regular line with the balanced meals the salad bar and ice cream machines i was in heaven. Did i forget to mention all the food, deserts, etc are MADE FRESH!?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dorm life and no body can control the people their around. However if you do govern yourself in the best possible way you wont have any problems. The janitors are nice, there are alot of activities to do and awesome rec rooms, free wifi and cable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard. It's college, get over it. But what makes everything easy is the teachers and their love for their profession. it's not something yo see too often nowadays. People who want to see someone else succeed so badly, they'll do whatever is in their power to make sure it happens.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate Do not drink on campus/ engage in any activity that takes away from the scholarly atmosphere HAVE FUN, but CLEAN FUN Enjoy the nature that's all all around you

    In three sentences

    This school deservers a 9/10. Although it is in a small town without the major amenities that you would expect of a college, It is a college experience like no other. Through the caring faculty and staff, the support of the community and the kindred spirits of the people you encounter on a day to day basis you are sure to do well.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe!

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Agriculturally seeking, English Majors, Theater, Band

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mud fights

    Bang for the buck

    Just an awesome learning experience!

    What to do for fun

    Hiking at Robbers Cave National Park, Ag. shows, sports, and theater.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent Food!

    Dorm Life

    there is a great atmosphere: safe, fun, and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is challenging, it makes you step out of your comfort zone and explore your abilities in a fun way

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has a wonderful science program as well as English program! A great pick for students interested in these majors!

    In three sentences

    This college offers many opportunities to become involved with clubs and organizations. The professors here are always committed to helping the students achieve their goals. Finally, the campus is focused on recycling and improvement of the facilities everyday.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is always filling. Lots of homestyle food. The staff is very kind.

    Dorm Life

    Very many social opportunites. Everyone is very friendly and is very hospitable.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teaching staff. You can tell they really like their job. Always willing to help students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most out of your time here. Before you know it you will be leaving.

    In three sentences

    Eastern has a very diverse student body. The teachers and staff were always helpful. It has very many workshops and learning opportunities

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs and organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure not to procrastinate because you will fall behind. get involved.

    In three sentences

    eastern is a great place to get started. The advisors are great. everyone is really friendly

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stay fit, always be open to new people and new ideas, never be afraid to try something new as long as its reasonable, attempt something outside your comfort zone.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is probably not the best but its food. Its ok to eat out and its ok to have a good time, but don't use all your money and resources on your food or your friends food. Learn to cook and make your own meals. It will save you money, be something fun to do with friends and be a new life skill.

    Dorm Life

    There are always events to get the entire student body involved. Whether you live on or off campus make sure you stay connected with friends you make in class. You'll need support every once in awhile so its good to have them close by. Get an alarm clock so you don't show up late for class.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a college that its as hard and challenging as you want to make it. If you want to coast you can or if you want to excel you can. Your first semster be conservative with your academics. After that accept your limitations and push past them being reasonable with your schedule. Allow for studying, work if applicable, fun and friends and your own personal time. Realize what you need to improve and think of ways to improve it. Whether its studying, organization or just effort and enthusiasm.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could advise prospective students I would say 3 things. 1. Start building credit. Its never too early and its not how much you do its how long you do it.' 2. Set your own expectations and stick to them. You control how well you do in school not some one elses opinion. 3. Live responsibly. You may not realize it but you are affecting during your college experince how well you'll live in the future so treat it like it matters.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oklahoma State College has entirely fulfilled my expectations as a 2-year degree institution and affordable community college. I have been given the essentials of the college experience including challenging classes, opportunities to be involved with global associations and the time to discover what I really want to do in life at realistic expectations. Being affordable, available and fundamental EOSC has set the foundation for success at the next level of education.