Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Eastern Oregon University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for athletes. Great for people that like small places. Great for students that want help. Great for people who want to also get a minor or even double major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Eastern is small and it does take time to get used to if you are from a bigger area...you will get used to it. Go and find some extracurricular activities to engage in...meet new people. Ask for help if you need it, the campus is small enough you can go straight to your professors, or the learning center.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern is a lot less than some schools. I will say it gets cheaper after the first year...since freshman have to stay in the dorms.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy Eastern! I am part of a team and I believe that helps a lot.

    Am learning a lot

    Through one short year, I feel as though I have learned to think in a different light.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EOU is an excellent decision for people who live out of state. The college is diverse, friendly and affordable. It also sports a small town feel, which is appealing to those avoiding the rush and apathy of the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to reach out of your comfort zone, the opportunities are limitless. Talk with your teachers and get help when you need. The staff are always friendly, and can point you in the right direction when you are confused with something. Become friends with your roommates, they are in the same boat you are, and there is strength in numbers. Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    EOU doesn't charge out of state tuition, which makes it appealing to people wanting to travel away from home, at no extra cost. The school makes it very easy to find ways to pay for everything, and offers excellent scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is beautiful, and there is always something going on. Eastern Student Entertainment is always coming up with activities to do on the weekend, and the events are fun and different. Orientation made the transition from high school to college fun, and painless, while teaching me a lot about the university. The different residence halls are unique, and the people in them are diverse, and make the campus the place to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Eastern Oregon University is an amazing college full of opportunities. The campus is small enough that the teachers can give you the help you need, when you need it. It is up to you to go to your classes, and do well in school. College gives you the chance to learn a lot about yourself, and your views on life, and how important learning can be.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can handle the cold, windy weather. It's a beautiful campus, but it gets pretty chilly in the winter, and the wind blows all the time.

  • 03/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eastern Oregon University is great for a variety of students. They offer a wide variety of degrees, such as History, Anthropology, Nursing (with an internship at the Student Health Center), Psychology, Chemistry, Theatre, and Range-land Management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students that I have is to not procrastinate doing any of the school work because it will impact your grade in the class significantly, don't be afraid to ask the professors or fellow classmates for help, when you're living in the dorms don't be afraid to meet your neighbors and have a little fun, and the most important tip I have is to not make your entire college life be about the school work because you will burn yourself out very quickly (so remember to have some fun).

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that the price of attending Eastern Oregon University is extremely reasonable. This year alone I am barely paying over seven thousand dollars for tuition, health insurance (provided by the school), and all the other fees that are occurred during the school year.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have completely enjoyed my time here at Eastern Oregon University. The small close campus allows you to be able to get to know your fellow classmates, there is a large variety of clubs, the entire school supports the sports teams, and the professors strive to make the classes fun and educational.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a sophomore here at Eastern Oregon University and during my time here at E.O.U. I feel as if I have learned a lot. All of my classes have been challenging, educational, and fun all at the same time. As well, all of the classes are rather small, usually between 15 and 25 students, and the professors get to know you on a personal level.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are: -Getting some credits out of the way -Not sure what you would like to do 'When you grow up' -Used to/Want to experience small-town life -Planning to become a teacher -Bumping up your GPA for a transfer -An a adult trying to raise a family and want to get a degree Eastern would be perfect for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and apply for housing as soon as possible - I applied in December after I heard that I was accepted, but you will probably be safe applying between January and March. I would STRONGLY recommend paying extra for the nicer dorms (Daughtery/North, Alikut) because I have heard horrible stories about the lack of cleanliness in the public bathrooms. If you are a person who doesn't handle sharing a room with someone well or have a bad experience in the dorms, go for a North/Daugherty Single room. It is only $600/year more, and the room is spacious, quiet, and you know that no one will be in while you are gone stealing your belongings. While the financial aid program is wonderful, Apply for tons scholarships and grants. Any chance you have at paying for your education now with donated money rather than later is one to take.

    Bang for the buck

    I received a full ride through a combination of Federal grants, school scholarships and private scholarships. I know that Eastern is a good choice for many out of state students as well because it has no extra tuition. And, if I might add, I am NOT a perfect student, graduated with a 3.3 GPA, so Eastern is incredibly affordable. (Tip: If you can avoid all loans and just take scholarships - if only for your first year - you are doing very well and on your way to a less stressful career)

    Am enjoying being here

    LaGrande is a small town much like the one I grew up in, and it really is beautiful - has all four seasons, though I will admit the winter is longer than in other places. Since it is a smaller school, you can be a semi-big fish in this school and get to know your professors really well - all of mine are on a first name basis with me. The student body is diverse, but not overwhelmingly so. Overall, I love it.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a mainly Education - based school; If you want to be a elementary, middle, or high school educator, this is the school for you. Since the classes are so geared towards teaching, it makes it difficult for a student that wants another kind of career to thrive in it. However, this school really is what you make of it and for the money that I paid (See Bang for the Buck) it is an excellent springboard for a student who wants to be more prepared before going to another more expensive college.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition for such a nice college package.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a lot of activities and things to do here. If you love the outdoors, Eastern is for you!

    Am learning a lot

    Eastern is a great school for anyone interested in a quality education. All of the professors are here for you and they want you to succeed.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    EOU is great for students who like to show up for class, work hard, excel in difficult subjects and grow as a person. There is SO MUCH 1-1 student and professor time that it really helps you learn. I haven't had a single TA or heard of them (there may be some and I just don't know about them) at EOU. So you learn right from your professor, and that is just fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to Eastern if you want to just fall into the background and not be noticed or a part of anything. At EOU, there's something for everyone and its super hard to be a part of nothing. Also, go to Wal-Mart or Bi-Mart or some other place for items like Cereal, DON'T buy them from the school, they hose you big time.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern Oregon is rather cheep compared to other colleges, especially for how much student teacher help you can get on an individual level. I'm surprised that it's not more per term than it is when it's so hard for students to not do great since there's always someone to help. Eastern is defiantly a place to go to succeed and also not go bankrupt.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Eastern Oregon University. I'm so glad that I went to this school instead of the one other that I was considering. I get lots of 1-1 attention from the teachers, I have found lots of friends and places to meet them, the music programs are great and the campus is beautiful. I don't like leaving La Grande to go home for visits anymore. It's my home now.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much in this past term, and I'm getting way better grades than I ever thought I would get in college! I also went from struggling at the beginning of term, to succeeding as one of the highest students on my finals. I'm really proud of myself.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i believe we have one of the safest campuses in the country. i feel completely safe if i have to go outside late at night for anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus. there is anything from gsa (gay straight alliance) to aseou (student government). the outdoor program is amazing. the outdoor program gives students a chance to rent equipment for free. the students can rent camping gear, kayaks, or basically anything else.

    Great for these types of students

    eastern oregon is a great place for students who like to be outdoors, and would like a smaller school. here, you receive one on one attention from your professor, and in my opinion it helps a lot.

    What to do for fun

    if there isn't anything going on in the residence halls there are many more options. morgan lake is only a few miles away on one side of town where you can fish, lay on the dock, or just have a picnic. on the other side of town is mount emily. there are some beautiful places to hike here. if you are into going out and shooting a few rounds at a target there is a shooting range right outside of town that a lot of people go to. if you are into plays, a few miles away is elgin. there is an opera house that hosts many plays throughout the year. one of my favorite parts about living in la grand is the opportunity to go skiing and snowboarding. during the winter there is a one credit class that allows you to go either skiing or snowboarding for 3 weekends in a row. you do not have to be at a certain level or anything, they teach it all.

    Food and Dining

    the grill is amazing, it is open late on the weekdays if your classes don't allow you to get diner, and you can use your flex dollars.

    Dorm Life

    living in the res halls is an amazing experience. the r.a's do their best to make your year a great one! there is always something to do around campus, whether it be tie-dying shirts in the main lobby, going to see an amazing play, or even cheering for the sports teams!

    Academic Rigor

    i have not found my classes to be terribly difficult. i believe eastern oregon is a great transition between high school and college. there are many tutors available if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would make sure you have a good pair of snow pants and boots for the winter. make sure you come with an open mind about meeting new people, because you will! if at all possible stay in the residence halls at least your first year! you will make some great friends and study partners!

    In three sentences

    eastern oregon is a wonderful school with a lot of beneficial programs. every person you come in contact with is very nice and helpful. it is nice to be near the mountains, where it is close to skiing, snowboarding, or the lake.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for Business students, and the agriculture program is awesome as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your advisor more than just at class scheduling times, they love to hear how you are doing, and can help put you in contact with people who might have internships available for you.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the greatest things about EOU is that i can feel safe walking at 8 o clock at night going from my dorm to the library. I do not need to be worrying about bad things happening.

    What to do for fun

    You can go for jogs, work out in the gym, intramural sports, clubs, frisbee golf, skiing, snowboarding, hiking and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok, sometimes i just wish they had more vegetarian options, other then that, the dining area along with the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! You meet new friends and help each other out whenever needed. You become like one big family, because every morning you see their faces and sometimes you even have the same classes as them. Dorm life is great and it takes all of those scary freshman feelings you have coming into the University.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are going to be challenging no matter what campus you are on. The good thing about EOU's classes is that the professors are very helpful and they want the students to be successful. Having all of this support makes the learning much easier and simply.

    In three sentences

    The staff here at EOU is very helpful and friendly. Classes are small and the environment is perfect for learning. Overall, coming here has been the best decision i have ever made.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sledding!

    Tips for prospective students

    between sleep, social life, and schoolwork, you can only pick two.

    In three sentences

    eastern oregon university creates an friendly environment to learn in. i've never had teachers so willing and committed to helping the students succeed.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there is clubs and activities for all student just have to come and see them. if there not a club or activities you like it easy to start one up if it in colleges rules.

    Great for these types of students

    eou is good for all kinds of students, just because of the location of the college.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost is lower them most college and the staff is there for you when you need them.

    What to do for fun

    there is some good shop down town la grande and close to mountains to go and camp and ski.

    Food and Dining

    food could be better, but do have some good stuff.

    Dorm Life

    great! some new dorm and ok prices.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes push you to use your mind, but staff is there to help if you need it on any subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    see the college and talk with staff and get to know more about the college.

    In three sentences

    a great business college.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are great activities within the university AND the city of La Grande. Rock climbing, bicycling, hiking, snowboarding/skiing (Anthony Lake's Ski Resort), inter murals (volleyball, basketball, softball), and many more!

    Food and Dining

    The food available at EOU is sensational and diverse. Both the cafeteria and the store/restaurant (Mac's Grill) are great on your wallet and tummy!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms; however, I did spend a lot of time in them with friends who did live there. The dorm life is outstanding and affordable.

    Tips for prospective students

    To anyone who is looking at coming here, do! Take a tour of our school and all the great programs we offer.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is diverse and accepting. It has an exceptional Arts program. I am so glad I chose to attend here; there is not a better institution in eastern Oregon.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is active but friendly, and they do take their jobs seriously. There are emergency poles across campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can't find a club to fit your interests, feel free to start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are serious about learning and having a rewarding, memorable college experience. Also great for students from small to medium towns who are looking for a home away from home, where they will be surrounded by good people and a beautiful campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ask the anthropology department about Inlow Hall, which contains the admissions and student accounts offices as well as a few hidden secrets.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern Oregon University is very affordable and has great quality education. The faculty and students are also very active in campaigning in Oregon and to Congress to keep educational costs low and financial aid available.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs for almost every interest and hobby. The entire campus is set up as a huge frisbee golf course. There are classes ranging from dance to rock climbing to boxing to stay active and keep in shape. There are also club sponsored classes.

    Food and Dining

    Mac's Grill and the cafeteria are the two main sources of food on-campus, and both accept the student meal plans which help students save money and have access to good, nutritious food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are roomy and feel more like apartments than dorms. They are available with kitchenettes and are secure. The RA's are very nice and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are focused and informative, and many are interactive and hands-on for a better learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate. Ask questions. Even if you don't know who to ask, call and talk to anybody and they can point you in the right direction. Visit the campus during preview week and get to know some of the great faculty.

    In three sentences

    A great school with a small campus and faculty who care. Financial aid is readily available and the financial aid office works with students to make sure they are able to pay for school. This school has every advantage of a small school.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of club lots of activities to do around the campus.

    In three sentences

    It is very great here its not to big or to small of a school. Everyone has a personality like the professors and the new people you meet. Good school to be in if you want to enjoy the life experience with everyone.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't let your grades slip.

    In three sentences

    Eastern ORegon University has an exceptional program for the working adult. I am able to take my courses online with very flexible due dates. So far, I am very impressed.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is number one.

    Clubs and Activities

    every sport has an intermedia. any club you can think of, Gay Alliance club, Black student union...

    Great for these types of students

    Movie, the gym, awesome weight room.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sand volleyball pit in the middle of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    lot of student tend to win lot of things from the website.

    What to do for fun

    Party, movie, sport, dances and more practice

    Food and Dining

    food is okay, but i prefer off campus food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are nice and your roommate become your family or enemy.

    Academic Rigor

    EOU is an easy school to graduate from, teachers are very understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not much to do in the town, but school here is pretty good, its a small college so you have more personal time with the teachers, and they are all about you.

    In three sentences

    One on One time with teachers.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Eastern Oregon University has its own security system and police.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for lots of different types of people. Some of clubs are FFA, Education Club and the Outdoor Club.

    What to do for fun

    You can play pool either in the dorms or Hoke Union Building. All three terms intramural sports are offered for boys and girls. There is also a rock wall and disc golf course on campus. There are also places to go hiking off campus and shopping downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food isn't always that bad. Each day they have some kind of pizza, sandwiches and a salad bar. On the weekends there is a brunch and Monday-Thursday there is something different for lunch at another salad bar. One of the stations you get to customize what they are having, so if stir-fry you can choose not to have carrots in yours.

    Dorm Life

    The resident assistants are nice and fun to hang out with. Some of them want to help you do well in school. There are events put on in any of the dorms every term for on campus students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the lower division classes are harder than others. It depends on who the professor is for the different classes. Most of the classes require more work than high school classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what services you are available to you and don't be afraid to ask for help. Don't wait until the last minute to figure out what's going on if you have a hold on your account so you can register on time and get the classes you want or need.

    In three sentences

    The employees are friendly and will try and get to know you by name and see how you're doing. Everyone is friendly and there are places to hang out with friends. There are some cool people you can meet.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    EOU has one of the best costs. They have employees that actually work on keeping the cost down.

    Food and Dining

    The corporation Aramark provides the food at Eastern Oregon. Which makes the food not great. However, I'm pretty sure Aramark is at every college and university now though. So every school has quality issues with their food.

    Dorm Life

    EOU has suite style dorms. It makes it easier to have your own space. I wish every college had their dorms set up like the ones at Eastern Oregon.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do teach at a college level. However, the size of the school makes it so your classes aren't big. The professors get to know who you are. They are always available to help out. They really want you to succeed and that attitude makes the academic level easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore the town La Grande is an awesome place. Join activities Ask for help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is the best public university in Oregon. It is in a small town which makes a friendly environment. There success rate is amazing; most students attending graduate.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small class sizes, a country atmosphere, and need 1:1 learning opportunities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Until this coming year, EOU offered in-state tuition to out of state enrollees.

    What to do for fun

    Skiing, snowboarding, hiking, fishing, biking, many outdoors activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not diet food. All you can eat cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get in the newer dorms. Great education department. Be sure you like the outdoors and long winters before attending here.

    In three sentences

    Perfect place for the small-town student to have the small college experience. Close (within 4 hours) to two major cities. Near freeway for easy access to other locations.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    International Dinner and Show

    Food and Dining

    I have visited the college twice and both times I have eaten in the cafeteria and tried the food. It was really good.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms look cool. This year I applied to stay in Hunt.

    Academic Rigor

    Excited to start classes in the fall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the dorms.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    A bunch!

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students. EOU is a great place to gain your sealegs for the college life. Class sizes are small and professors are always willing to work with you.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, Biking, Morgan lake is 5 minutes away, Wallowa Lake is 70 miles away, Boise is 2 hours, tons of campus activities, Anthony lakes for skiing and snowboarding.

    Food and Dining

    Mac's Grill is great! The cafeteria is your typical cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Always active and fun! Offer the suite style rooms which are marvelous.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is well known for Liberal Arts and Professor Monahan and Grigsby are the best professors!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate and stay pro-active in school!

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is a small school with a beautiful campus. I have a first name basis with all my professors and they are always willing to help me whenever I need it. I absolutely love it.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright and everything is like a buffet - so you can eat as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and everyone in the halls are pretty quiet and it is easy to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and the classes are small. This allows for more time to discuss problems with the professors.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    La Grande is a nice safe place to live with a lot of things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go straight to your adviser and let them help you with the big adjustment from high school to college.

    In three sentences

    I love E.O.U.! There campus is easy to get around on, People are friendly and want to help. My adviser is friendly and has been a big help to me. They walk you threw the steps of becoming a College student.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety phones all across campus which dials direct to a real person upon pickup of phone in case of an emergency or threat.

    Greek Life

    Not really sure if there is any Greek life to the school. I would contact the school to find out more.

    Clubs and Activities

    EOU offers over 50 different clubs and activities on and off campus, so there is plenty of things to get involved in for every student.

    Great for these types of students

    Already a rural kid, or someone who wants to become one. This is the perfect place to be, EOU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a sand pit volley ball court in the middle of the school grounds which is odd but awesome at the same time. It's a beach in your back yard.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no out of state tuition costs which is so perfect for those who don't want to pay an ungodly amount for school.

    What to do for fun

    I like to fish, bike, camp, and drive around in my car. I also work on chainsaws and love to cut wood.

    Food and Dining

    Great dining hall, plenty of room to gather with friends and hang out.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure how dorm life will be because i'm living off campus for my schooling. The dorms however are all very clean and well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which courses your taking, it can be very hard to moderately hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love small town rural living with an amazing atmosphere and friendly people, this school is definitely the one for you.

    In three sentences

    Gorgeous small town rural living environment. Plenty of beautiful scenery and activities to take part in. Comfortable working and learning environment.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    you pay a ton of money to go to school you should be treated equally but not here every teacher has their favorites and being a small town their favorites are usually the butt kissers or the people the have know for awhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    buy your books on amazon.com. dont try to take you biology online. Dont ever sign up for the history of sports class. make sure financial aid is in like to be dispersed before it is due and bug them as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    Has some good teachers but for the most part teachers are too good to speak to their students. finacial aid office tends to always mess up on you finacial aid. book buy back times are really inconveinent.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many outdoor activities around La Grande. If you are into skiing/snowboarding we are close to Mt. Emily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip classes unless you're really sick. This is a small town so you are likely to run into your instructors in the grocery store.

    In three sentences

    I love eastern Oregon University! The small class sizes are the best and close student/teacher relationships.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Your tuition is reasonable and is roughly the amount of a community college per term. Books are always an issue but if you do not have enough money to purchase the book, there is always a copy of the book on file in the library.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs that are always active, we are large on sporting events which are free for students. There are also great activities going around the town which students can be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Easy on campus food located at the Mac Grill or the campus dinning hall, which has recently been remodeled.

    Dorm Life

    Reasonably sized dorm rooms with very nice kitchens on each floor and personal bathrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Each course is designed to help students learn at a paced rate and gives you the opportunity to ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whenever you feel that there are questions you need answered do not feel afraid to ask your professors or your advisors, they are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    EOU is a small college that is based on professor, student interaction whenever help is needed. Professors are on a first name bases with their students and extend a helping hand whenever help is needed. The small town and location of campus allows for easy transportation arrangements in a timely manor.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, even if it's already dark by the time I get back to my dorm.

    Great for these types of students

    Small-town graduates, students with tight budgets, students who want a quality education, students who want to be able to talk to their teacher, students who are not used to 200+ people in one class...

    Bang for the buck

    EOU is cheaper than a lot of other colleges in Oregon, making it perfect for the student on a tight budget. They also have plenty of scholarships available. The dorm/food package is a little expensive, but you're able to live off-campus after your first year.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends, visiting the farmer's market, going to the movies, Hiking, skiing, snowboarding... There's plenty for a student to do! (After their homework is done, of course... ;) )

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and varied; there's always something for someone. Plus, they (the cafeteria) often serve cultural foods, like for Oktoberfest.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of activities in the evenings and on the weekends, made specifically to get students out of their dorm rooms and interacting with each other. There are also TVs and foosball/pool tables available for students to use.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small, which is a good thing. It's easier to talk to the teacher for help, and there are plenty of places to go to look for help. The staff and the students are friendly and more than willing to help with any academic problem. Because of this, students are really focused on their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Hunt Hall your first year. The rooms aren't as pretty, but you make more friends and have a better time then you would in the other Dorms. On that note, don't spend all your time in the dorms! There are plenty of lounges around campus, whether for certain majors (The Green Room for theatre students or the Music lounge for music students) or general lounges in the dorms and in Hoke. If you have a problem with something, ASK! The teachers and staff are more than willing to help you with any problems you have.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is the perfect college for a small-town student looking for a better education. Their staff is friendly, the teachers are amazing, and the food and social life is great. EOU truly earns their motto of The University that works with you.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are games to attend and clubs to join to be able to have a social interaction.

    Food and Dining

    They have decent food on campus along with healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of it can be tough; however if you do you study's every week you will be able to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip would be to meet with an adviser to help you decide what classes transfer in for credit if any. They are very helpful in helping you decide.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon has a great offsite campus that I attend. This offers me great flexibility in being able to take night classes. The office staff and instructors that are really wonderful and help guide you in making decisions for your future.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus security officer on duty at all time, the small campus makes you feel very safe, and there is emergence booths almost every 20 yards on campus.

    Greek Life

    is none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is almost a club for everthing, from rock climbing to math clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Scholors, and outdoorsmen

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices, you usually can pay in state tution from a lot of different states. Also the small classes really make you get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Intermeral sports, football, working out, and the events held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, and the cooks care of the students by making great meals. its all you can eat so enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    its amazing, everyone is nice and there is always events being held. There is all sorts of free activities being held, its just a overall great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    You really get your moneys worth of education from the small class sizes, teachers are great in one on one teaching. The med program is especially great and sends a lot of students on to grad school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont overlook the small campus size, there is great schooling options. Also Eastern is very involed in the community, and is backed up by the community.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon is a great small school, with plenty of opportunities. There is a lot of one on one interactions because of the small class size. It also has a beautiful campus, and a beautiful surrounding scenery.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. It is a small town and there are emergency boxes on every corner of the campus is case a student needs to be walked back to their dorm, or other similar situations.

    Greek Life

    There is not a Greek system

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor type of people would enjoy being at Eastern Oregon. The school offers a lot of necessities for outdoor activities

    Bang for the buck

    I would consider this college very reasonable in price. It is part of a program that gives out of state students the same price as in state students. There are always scholarship options available as well.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the students play sports so they are very involved in that but the college provides many different programs that you can be a part of according to your interests. Besides that, hanging in the common areas in the dorms or doing outdoor activities are the most common.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides lots of varieties for food. They usually have themes for each dinner, and breakfast and lunches have different options daily. The Max Grill is an option that you use flex dollars to pay for (which is included in a meal plan) and has great hamburgers, chicken strips and other similar foods.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms. There are large common areas to hang out in and meet the other people living in your dorm. the rooms itself are nice and spacious so you are still able to have personal time, while still having roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not as hard as what the stereotypes make it sound like. If you do not procrastinate and take your work seriously, any student will succeed. The biggest difference from high school is that there is just more time needed to do homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that incoming students go to the mingling activities the campus puts on to get to know the other students. These programs also trigger similar interests between people.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is located in a small town so the community is very involved in the school. Because it is a smaller school most students will get to know each other and they are down to earth and friendly.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have lived in this area most of my life and have never heard of anything bad happening there. The town has a very low crime rate and haven't had a murder in over 20 years.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many activities are available, however I am a wife and Mom and am not really interested in them.

    Bang for the buck

    I have never attended anywhere else and only attended this one during my lunch hour. I was involved with this University on a business level through my work and now after losing my job have decided to go full time.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities available at the university itself. The town is very small and offers only a movie theater. It is meant for out door activities such as hunting and fishing, not for night life.

    Food and Dining

    I live nearby and have no reason to eat there, so I really don't know about this.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms but have seen them, they are new and quite nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors, very helpful and easy to communicate with. It is a great atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about attending in order to finish your goals.

    In three sentences

    Small campus with friendly staff and safe environment. Located in a small valley surrounded by mountains.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good!!

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors type of people that like to have fun but when also loves to learn and study.

    What to do for fun

    Basically anything outdoors!!! If you are an indoors person...well there is not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Its alright. On campus is decent. Off campus the only real good places are the locally owned ones. For coffee definitely Antlers, plus its not far from campus. Cock-N-Bull, and Sub Shop are best places to eat. They are semi-close to campus, have amazing food, price is good, student discount, and proportions are HUGE!

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in dorms as I am from Union County.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of people striving to do their best..

    Tips for prospective students

    Wonderful place to live. However, if you do not like snow or cold beware. We get lots in the winter.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with lots of friendly people. Many places to study and get help. Wonderful professors with small class sizes.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is the third school that I have attended and it is definitely the cheapest. Tuition for residents (Oregon, Washington, & Idaho) and distance learning students is the same and it is not very expensive compared to other state schools that I had looked in to. The out of state tuition is a little less than double the in state. It is comparable to in state tuition to state schools in Michigan.

    Food and Dining

    I am an out of state online student, so I have not dined on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently at a junior status at EOU and am taking 300 and 400 level courses in my major of Business Admin. All the professors that I have had are challenging and they want to make sure you will be able to use the material they teach you in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to attending EOU, you should definitely contact the advisors and ask them any questions you have. All of the advisors are very nice and love their jobs! My advisor is Regina, and she is very knowledgeable and knows exactly the right person to ask if she doesn't know an answer. I am a student through the distance learning program and I love it. EOU's online program is one of the best in the nation and I really like that it is an actual brick and mortar university that has nine majors (more are currently being added) that can be completed entirely online. They are taught by the same professors who teach in the classrooms and use the same material. If you are looking for an online degree, EOU is the place to find it.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is the ideal school for any type of student. From right out of high school, to returning to college thirty years after college, EOU has the degree program that is right for you. Check out the options and see everything that EOU has to offer.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is good here. There are tons of emergency phones all over campus and all the dorms need a FOB to unlock.

    Greek Life

    Not at Eastern.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from and if you can't find one you like, you can make your own with funding! The clubs are a huge part of what you do at EOU and they keep you busy year long with awesome events and opportunities everyday. Sometimes it's difficult to decide which ones to go to there are so many. Plus, a lot of your school fees pay for the events and dances so you can attend almost everything for free or reduced price. Join as many clubs as possible because if you don't you will find yourself bored and pathless.

    Great for these types of students

    EOU is great for students who are willing to put themselves out there for opportunities. While EOU is small, it still offers a lot of resources to its students and the competition is way less than that of other schools, especially if you have the drive to go get it. Also great for social butterflies, getting to know everyone on campus is entirely possible and can tremendously boost your chances of getting on campus interviews and other opportunities. It is also good to talk to teachers and staff; it is these people who will help you with letters of recommendation and if you need to a boost in your grade.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In Hunt Hall, we have loud hour every Friday where we can turn our music up as loud as we want and run crazy in the halls. Second floor is even better because we are so close that no one complains if we do this anytime day or night. Hall time is where everyone just sits outside the doors and chats about everything and nothing while we avoid our homework for a little while and try to relax. This is so special to me and I know the relationships I've built here will last a lifetime.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the course choice is smaller than many state schools, the price is amazing and it is relatively easy to pull out a double major during your time making the value extremely good. Compared to a lot of colleges, this school provides research and seminar opportunities without expecting you to beat out thousands of other applicants. It is feasible to work one on with teachers and this resource can mean the difference between an F and a D or an A and a B.

    What to do for fun

    La Grande itself is small and has virtually nothing to do passed 5:00. However, some of the La Grandians (students who went to high school in La Grande) are pretty creative and take you on some crazy rides. We usually find ourselves in the dorms awake at like 4:00am just being crazy and loud. The town is so small that the police know where all the parties are at so I would recommend staying away from the party scene and sticking to sober craziness. Late night/early morning Denny's trips are a favorite of ours; the staff there are great and allow us to be obnoxious college students with nothing to do. Also, there are hundreds of events on campus hosted by your RA's, the different clubs and organizations, and occasionally outside events so try to support your college community and attend a few workshops or crazy events. Chances are you'll meet someone cool and learn a few things while enjoying a 100ft waterslide, making duct tape flowers, and watching hypnotists make a fool out of your new friends. On campus events are once in a lifetime experiences I'm glad that I got to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Somedays it's better than others. The cool thing is that if you request special meals and healthy options, the cooks have to make it for you under contract. However, the mandatory meal plans are rip offs and you pay way too much for one board meal than if you had payed cash for the same meal. Mac's is amazing and the staff in both Mac's and the Mountie Cafe are awesome. Strike up a conversation with them and you will get favors for life.

    Dorm Life

    If you choose to live on campus, go for Hunt Hall. The people there are friendly and unlike the other dorms, you actually socialize. It is easy in North and Daugherty to just close your door and watch Netflix all day but in Hunt it is easy to stay up to date with all the campus events. There is never a dull moment and I've built friendships for life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy to pass classes as long as consistently turn in all of work and show up for class. Teachers grade holistically so it is easy to earn that extra letter grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming here, remember that Eastern is a very small school which means you have all the resources of your professors and other opportunities right at your fingertips. Don't be like me and wait around being nervous and shy; talk to your professors. They are the ones who can help you find projects and internships that otherwise might escape your notice. Also, say active on campus. It is easy to get into clubs and they can really help you out on applications and stuff.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere! Dedicated and helpful staff. Personalized education.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards, and panic stations.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and great activities. Many clubs that will help further you in your degree.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great the type of students who are willing to work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Great locations is the graden behind Ackerman building. Relaxing and peacful.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot fo outdoor activities. Frisbee golf, mountain biking, and other such activities.

    Food and Dining

    Ok food, but there is a lot of it.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing dorms that have great Residence Assistants.

    Academic Rigor

    Great school and the Academics are tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have good refrence letters. Work hard in highschool and get good grades.

    In three sentences

    Great campus with good professor. Very willing to help with student problems. Also willing to work with students and their problems.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What my friends and I like to do for fun is visit the local pool often especially because it is indoor, go on hikes in the spring, and spend time with our volleyball team. Also you can attend many on campus events that are actually quite entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    I personally do not like the food in the cafeteria but there is always a lot of choices to choose from and their desserts are always very good.

    Dorm Life

    There is certainly a difference between the dorms on campus for freshman including North, Daugherty, and Hunt. North is the quiet hall while Daughter seems to be more rambunctious. All of these dorms however, have a positive and friendly vibe to them.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that certain classes freshman year aren't as challenging as I thought but once you get into your prospective program, the courses become more challenging and more meaningful to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to Eastern make sure to be very involved with clubs and organizations just because it is such a small town that you can find yourself bored at times.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon is a very welcoming school filled with professors who want to help you succeed in any way they can. The students at Eastern are friendly and are diverse. The campus is very beautiful and lively when the weather warms up.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is pretty safe, except for when you do laundry. We had a pantie thief last year.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    GSA, Black Student Union, ESE (Eastern Student Entertainment), Center for student involvement, SOTA (students over the average age), Multicultural center and so many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone LGBTQ, this is a good place to go. You have a large support system.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a good place to go if you live less then 50 miles away.

    What to do for fun

    We have disk golf on campus this invites people in the community to come on campus and play. The clubs on campus are really fun and they love throwing parties.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria has some pretty good food in the beginning, but you get tired of it eventually.

    Dorm Life

    This sucks. They warn you when they check your room. They have tons of rules and make you pay through the nose to live in their dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to live off campus if possible. Tuition is rising and it makes it hard to stay here, but depending on the program you will have lots of opportunities to take the classes needed.

    In three sentences

    The weather here is insane. There is a diverse number of students ranging from all over the world. The extra activities are fun.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not dine on campus

    Dorm Life

    I don't like in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning a business career, i would recommend this school. Come prepared to learn and get into the work. There is a lot of reading but it is all beneficial to the classes. If you go prepared, you will not have any problems.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University is a great school and everyone is very helpful. The teachers are great and i learn a lot. The program is challenging and very interesting to me.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is amazing and I never feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Eastern Oregon provides an awesome amount of clubs and activities. Sometimes hard to chose just one.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that Eastern Oregon is perfect for any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before the homecoming football game there is a huge bonfire for the whole school.

    Bang for the buck

    The money you pay to go to this school is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The school helps find activities for the student and its full of outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    For students the dining is nice and is affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    Always extremely helpful and provide a lot of different opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your adviser because they will be dealing with almost everything. Make sure to be prepared before classes start. It is a small town, but there is always something to do.

    In three sentences

    Amazing and the staff is always there for their students! Easy to work with! I have nothing bad to say.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am excited about my new school and look forward to my classes in the fall.

    In three sentences

    Eastern Oregon University has been able to assist me in registering for classes I need to complete my degree and help me fulfill my dreams. My adviser is really helpful and has explained what would be in my best interest to complete my degree.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus and most of the town is as quiet as ever. I always feel safe walking at night even if it is one in the morning. If one does feel unsafe they can just call campus security and in a few moments someone will be there to escort you. Of course the town in built on a highway that leads through town, which is downtown. Exercise caution and avoid the back parts and in between buildings if you do not like unlit places. But all together downtown is pretty lit, but the walk to the campus from there is not. Keep head held high and walk with purpose, but the only time I was ever bothered on these late night walks was when a white tailed stag deer decided to try and cross where I tried to cross. By the way watch out for the deer, they leave dropping on campus so watch where you step at night.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the Gay Straight Alliance Club, the Student involvement club, Dance Team, Eastern Theater Club, and a few honor societies as well. There is also the outdoor program with is highly recommended if you like nature. There are of course many other clubs, but those are the ones I know the most about.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like anything science then this is the place for you. There is a beautiful science building that seems to be in tip top shape for those going into the field. Music and theater student would love it too because there is lots of one on one with the professors and it becomes like a very big family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think there are. There is no real freshman hazing or initiation that I have seen or experienced.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good college and cheaper than most. Clubs put on lots of shows or events so at any given time there is something to do at some point during the week.

    What to do for fun

    There is the outdoor program, the movie theater, sports, clubs like Role playing, studying, hanging out at one of the locations with fussball table, pool, or pingpong. EOU students swim for free at the veteran pool. There are many shops and downtown is only about a ten to fifteen minute walk. You can participate in community events, such as the ballroom dance class, Martial arts, join a band if you play an instrument, and other hosted events.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus: Mac Grills and the Cafeteria. Mac Grills is half convenient store, breakfast and fast food joint, and has a starbucks. It is a nice lounging area to eat in and on certain days there is open mike night. The Cafeteria has excellent quality food with no limit on seconds. Usually serves pizza, some sort of fast food, and a more healthy style meal that contains vegetables and most of the food groups. There is a salad and sandwich making bar in the middle, drinks on the end, a little fridge to get ice cream, and a small area called the bakery that has a variety of yummy treats on any given day. It opens at 11:30 am so you have to go to Mac Grills around as early as 7:30 am to get breakfast. MAc grills is closed on weekends so you have to wait for food till the Cafeteria opens. Cafeteria also opens at 5:30 pm for dinner. At 7:30 pm Mac grills opens for late night dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice. There are four total residential halls: Alikut (where the graduate students and international students live), Hunt which is a typical college dorm setting, and Daurtry and North hall are the newest ones that are more Suite like. The last two usually come with four dorm rooms, a living room, two bathroom, and a kitchenette equipped with a microwave, sink, and full sized refrigerator. People are usually friendly and the walls a thick enough to allow sleep even when people are being too loud at certain times. Very peaceful for the most part.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be very good and the classes are very smooth with most professors and it is quite lax. We start at the end of September and those who are in Music have mid-terms about the end of October. Depending on your degree, you are kept busy, but you usually end up with a lot of free time. I am taking the maximum credit hours and I still find time to do other things.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you try to pursue above the 15 credits listed for university cost, it will cost a lot more, especially if you max out or over the 21 credit hour regulation. For those who are out of state, be prepared to pay a fairly sized tax on your schooling as well. My tip is to take college courses in high school to get college credit because you will need about 80 general credit hours on top of your degree and you must have a certain amount of credits in each category. But don't let that be daunting, these Gen Ed classes can be very fun and allow you to explore other things. I'm slightly biased with it because I am double majoring and have little time for things outside my fields of study.

    In three sentences

    This is a very student oriented school where everyone is friendly. There are a wide variety of classes and degrees. Most of the Professors are very nice and willing to help.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hunting, fishing, intramural sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in WOW week (Week Of Welcome). Go to all events hosted. Join a club. Be prepared to shop at Walmart. A lot!

    In three sentences

    EOU is a small school in the small town of La Grande, Oregon. The community is very supportive of students of Eastern Oregon. It is a great school to attend.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Show horses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your college career out.

    In three sentences

    Great class options. Love the online options. Reasonable cost.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very secure on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Eastern Student Entertainment (ESE) is a student entertainment club that provides all students with something to do at least once or twice a month.

    Great for these types of students

    Military, Country, Poor

    Bang for the buck

    If you're willing to put in the work, you'll learn a lot. ESPECIALLY if you take advantage of the study resources available to you.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people hang out in the mountains or go hunting on weekends (during season, of course). Those that aren't outdoorsy usually have to be a little creative, since La Grande isn't that much of a metropolis.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus really isn't that great. It's also extremely expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There's a dorm for socialites, loners, and anywhere in between. Depending on the residence halls, it's either extremely quiet and lonely, or bustling with sociality.

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you pay for, and sometimes it feels like I'm not quite getting the education I want. However, class sizes are very small, so it's easy to get 1-on-1 time with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're in the military, this is the place for you, especially if you're interested in ROTC. There's a lot of majors to choose from and the campus is beautiful

    In three sentences

    The EOU campus is the outdoorsy person's dream, with mountains and forests all around, including Morgan Lake. It's also extremely military friendly with an incredible ROTC program and the Service to Country scholarship pays for the tuition that the military doesn't. It's quite an affordable university but be aware, standards aren't that high.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to know your advisor. They're there to help you and are trained to do an amazing job!!

    In three sentences

    I find Eastern Oregon University to be one of the top colleges in the area for online classes. I wanted to do my schooling online to spend more time with my kids but wanted a physical place to go for questions. EOU's Hermiston campus has helped me so much and my advisor goes above and beyond with everything I need from him!