Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Eastern University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eastern is a great place for the open-minded. People who are willing to question and to see God work in sometimes unconventional ways are well-suited. People with a strong heart for social justice and change and who have aligned themselves with the heart of God will also do great here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! I love Eastern, but I recognize that's it not for everyone. Spending a day or so here--particularly if you stay overnight--can really help reveal whether you're meant to be here or not. Plus, if you do decide to come, it's great to already have an upperclassman friend.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot of money to go here, and yeah, we sometimes joke about where our money's really going, but in the long run, it's worth it for all the learning we'll do both in and out of the classroom.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's really a wonderful place if you have the right attitude! Most of the people here are exceptionally loving and ready to encourage and uplift you!

    Am learning a lot

    Eastern has really taught me a lot not just academically, but also spiritually and personally. One of the biggest lessons I've learned is just how connected everything is. I've learned things in TaeKwon-Do that applied to Psychology that then applied to my spiritual life!

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Eastern has a very strong emphasis on their motto, faith, reason, and justice.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern is a great school and has been called, one of the best Christian College educations money can buy.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the best things about Eastern is that it is full of community.

    Am learning a lot

    These teachers don't just teach you what you need to learn, but open up your mind to whole new worlds.

  • 08/29/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great college for Christian students interested in going to a college that shares the same belief that they do. It is also great for students who are interested in community service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible if you think that this is the right college. I applied and got accepted before I started my senior year. It took a lot of weight off of my shoulders knowing that I was accepted all ready.

    Will enjoy being here

    Eastern University has a lot of community service events. They are very close to downtown Philadelphia and often go into the inner city to help. I will enjoy participating in this a lot.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone, as long as you are willing to be stretched in your beliefs like you have never been before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your scholarship search early, and apply for as many as you possibly can!

    Bang for the buck

    It is very pricey to come here, but it is such a great university that it is worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus here. All the people are so friendly and you will fit right in.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here teach you so much! You will learn a lot in all of your classes, and they will potentially change your life!

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not real sure about this one. College is expensive and so is this one. However I'm hopeful that I will be able to acquire helpful scholarships and have already received one from the school. I also expect that small classroom sizes with more one on one learning opportunity will be highly beneficial. 99 percent of students receive financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    So far the application process has been great. I was surprised in speaking with them on the phone as to how personal the conversation was. Not something I expected, but made me feel very welcome.

    Will learn a lot

    I look forward to studying at a university whose focus is faith, reason and justice. The combination of these seems ideal to me.

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't commute unless you live close and always keep and eye on your bills.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition price is great! I'm paying so much less than my friends and I'm getting the same education, if not better in some cases!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Eastern! It is truly my home away from home.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning sooo much! I'm even learning stuff in the classes that I thought would be overly easy!

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Eastern's campus security is top of the line. Not only does everyone feel safe, but the security guards go out of their way to help students get from place to place, unlock buildings, and maintain order.

    Greek Life

    While there aren't any Greek fraternities or sororities, there are many clubs and organizations that have Greek Life-like characteristics. For example, many sports teams have their own buildings that they live in, and there are a lot of community service oriented clubs. There are also gender specific groups in which you can bond with a close group of girls or guys called Grow Groups. They are bound to be your brothers or sisters for life!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone, and everyone is encouraged to participate in the many activities! Whether you like the outdoors, art, charities, theater, dance, or any number of things, there is absolutely bound to be a club that you will love!

    Great for these types of students

    Eastern is so diverse that just about anyone can find their place there. It's so neat to be with a mix of people than come together in one area and accomplish goals together, especially in the loving setting that Eastern has.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one thing everyone has to see while being on Eastern's campus is the historical water wheel! It is gorgeous, and compliments the mansions that the campus was built upon. The main student center is built on the old mansion of a philanthropist named Charles Walton. Within these mansions are places to study, and explore, and relax!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very reasonably priced for everything it offers!

    What to do for fun

    There are always awesome activities put on by both the students and the university that are great for bonding with other students. There are a lot of great recreational options within walking distance of the campus as well!

    Food and Dining

    The food services offer a variety of healthy and delicious options, and there are plenty of well paying job opportunities for new students too!

    Dorm Life

    There is something wonderful and warming about every single residence hall. The sense of community is excellent, and I would gladly live anywhere on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    I love that the academics stretch my understanding and expand my knowledge. Meanwhile, the workload is completely reasonable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to contact any department or student at Eastern! There are Explore Eastern weekends featuring speakers, tours, and more, and I highly recommend them. Remember to do well in your current studies, and look forward to your time (even if it's just a visit) at Eastern!

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is one of the best options out there for prospective Christian college students. I am still struggling to find something that I DON'T like! Eastern ensures quality education, memories, and spiritual growth.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    King of Prussia Mall Cabrini parties Live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply yourself and act like an adult

    In three sentences

    It's a great learning environment. The student body is diverse and open-minded and the faculty are very helpful. It's truly a breath of fresh air.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always on campus. You can't go a day without seeing them!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities for anyone to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to expand your faith and knowledge of the Bible and Christianity, this is a great place to go to. Also, this school is a great place to build long lasting relationships with others and to make a difference in the community. It is impossible to go through just one semester and not make a difference in some way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Y.A.C.H.T club was started at Eastern University to build relationships with homeless people in Philly. This is the only club that I know of, anywhere, that literally goes into the streets of Philly and hangs out with homeless people!

    What to do for fun

    Get together with your friends and have a movie night. Or take the train into Philly! There's always something to do that is in everyone's budget.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Eastern isn't too bad. Of course nothing beats a home cooked meal. However, with the amount of choices offered, there is always something to eat!

    Dorm Life

    The girls that live on my floor are the closest friends I have at Eastern! Every residence hall is different, but all have a great sense of community. I don't know what I would do without my girls!

    Academic Rigor

    Eastern provides the usual college level classes. Each professor is different on what they expect out of you. But all in all, if you are good at time managing you will have no problems getting your work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy. Get involved with everything and anything. Everyone is super nice and will accept you in anything.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is a great school with great community. I couldn't have picked a better school for myself to go to! Eastern allows me to grow in my faith and my education.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    They have something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    Christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive

    What to do for fun

    Sports

    Food and Dining

    Great food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is safe and friendly

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are serious about learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great university to look at.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University has excellent professors. I have made several friends because they have great students. Living on campus is awesome due to it's beautiful campus

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a college that greats you and treats you like a family Eastern is the one.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is very relaxing and encouraging. I feel comfortable as a student there and there is always someone there for help. It's also very helpful with resources and tools for learning.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    some joke that you should call security 30 mins before you're in trouble for them to get there but they aren't to bad.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus that have their own activities. it just depends on what you're looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    there are a variety of types of students here, you'll find a range of variations in beliefs and personality traits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    well when it is nice out some people would say that 'turf' time is a tradition. 'turf' time is when groups of friends lay on the turf field outside and look at the stars and just get to know each other better. also a joke tradition at eastern is the 'ring by spring' joke that you should be engaged by the spring semester of your junior year.

    Bang for the buck

    at time i do feel like i am paying for the quality of education that i'm receiving but i have had some teachers who, i feel, haven't taught me anything or even tried to. they just wanted their paycheck and that was it.

    What to do for fun

    sab has some great friday night events and some clubs do to but you typically have to come up with your own fun and will usually need a car for that.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning hall is alright and the breeze way is very convenient but it would be nice if they'd offer some healthier choices like fresh fruit cups or veggies like they do in the eagle's nest.

    Dorm Life

    i enjoy my dorm very much because there is a lot of community and you know just about everyone on your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are more challenging then others but they are typically a good kind of challenging and not just a worthless kind.

    Tips for prospective students

    find a friend with a car or bring one because without a car you'll have trouble finding something to do.

    In three sentences

    eastern university would rate around a 4 for me. i've made a lot of friends and am involved in some activities but i feel as if there is not enough weekend opportunities. they should provide rides to the mall, philadelphia etc for student's to enjoy their weekend more.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun i go bowling, to the movies, and visit friends.

    Food and Dining

    i eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    put your best foot forward and maintain a good gpa average.

    Tips for prospective students

    study study study !! always do assignments on time. be ahead of the game. keep lines of communication open. work with your peers.

    In three sentences

    eastern university is a well ran college with a lot to offer its students. it is well organized and everyone conducts themselves on a professional level. it is christian based school.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Parents and working citizens.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard!

    In three sentences

    The professors are very caring. It fits my schedule. the staff are very polite.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eastern is great for students who are more comfortable in a smaller, controlled environment. Rather than being another number, Eastern students are treated as unique individuals by fellow students and faculty which creates a very strong Eastern community.

    What to do for fun

    Around the campus is a really nice, rich area in a town called Wayne. There is a lot to do off campus of different varieties including the King of Prussia Mall, lot's of restaurants, and hiking areas. Usually I am consumed with work, but whenever I get a chance to explore Wayne or the city of Philadelphia, I have had a great time.

    Food and Dining

    The salad bar is always very fresh and tasty, but the dining hall is only open certain hours of the day rather than twenty four hours. Aside from the salad bar, the food is not very healthy or high quality. During the weekdays the food is much better, but on the weekends the food is disappointing and old.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a little bit like high school and the restrictions of the private school become a bit tedious. However, the people are very friendly and since the community is so small, the transition to college was much easier.

    Academic Rigor

    As a member of the Templeton Honor's College, the academics are extremely rigorous and require deep thought and constructive conversation in and outside of the classroom. The program raises awareness to the questions that society attempts to avoid in order to condone human tolerance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming into Eastern explore all of your options within the campus activities. Do not force yourself into one set group, but make it a point to become friends with the diverse group of students on the campus.

    In three sentences

    Eastern is a wonderful school that has provided me the opportunity to grow into a stronger, more courageous individual who is capable of making positive life-changing decisions. I have learned not only what I believe, but the substance of why I believe certain things. Overall, I have had a very positive experience and have made wonderful friends.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many places you can go with the mall and Philly being so close. The nearest town is really sweet and has a lot of cute shops and places to eat for when you get sick of college food. Other than that, the new student center should provide more lounges with fun things to do. There are really fun intramural sports to do at night. There are always cool things for us to do on weekends from parties to movies.

    Food and Dining

    They're putting in a new student center with a whole new dining hall, so, that should be good. The food there is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I had a wonderful experience with my RA's and my roommates. It's all about putting yourself out there and trying to build relationships. The only downside is the visitation rules they have about boys and girls in each others' halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really care about you and want you to learn and be involved. They challenge you to develop your own thoughts and views on your faith and they really care about you opinion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much financial aid as possible. Really take the time to get to know the people on your hall and in your dorm, the community is amazing.

    In three sentences

    There is wonderful community and people there who really care about you. Living there with all the waterfalls and landscaping is like living in a fairytale. The campus is in a great spot for fun activities: The King of Prussia Mall, Wayne, Philly, and the train to take you to so many places.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very low key so very safe. Campus security does rounds but in the past they were a bunch of old men. Now with many younger guys on the force our campus is a very safe place.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs to choose from but all interesting in their own way. But if none of the clubs are for you start your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes. Religious.

    Bang for the buck

    Could offer a bit more like a new gymnasium and better equipment but pretty good for now.

    What to do for fun

    I have a girlfriend on campus which is highly recommended. (for guys). It can get boring doing the same old same old every weekend. If you have a girlfriend everything will be fine trust me. And if things start to get old there hang out with your boys. Keep balance or you will be bored out of your mind.

    Food and Dining

    We are served by the Sodexo Company which is great! Only thing is you will wish for a good home cooked meal within a month. Nothing beats Mom's cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is determined by how much money you are willing to pay for your room. Some rooms are cheap and standard ( lacking AC ). Others rooms are new and cost a lot of money and has everything in it. You determine what your dorm life will be like if you have the money for it.

    Academic Rigor

    Eastern does a find job in getting their students ready for the real world with these classes. As a freshman you learn faith reason and justice. Once a upperclassman you learn you major which is the most hands on and fun part. It's not easy, but it's not hard just do your best.

    In three sentences

    Can be boring if you come here alone. Not hard to make friends. Some what of a huge high school.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm a biochem major. I don't have much fun but when I do have fun I just hang with friends, go to King of Prussia Mall or go out to eat. I went bowling once too!

    Food and Dining

    Dining commens food is bad. They have their good days on occasion...

    Dorm Life

    A lot of people leave campus during the weekend so the campus is dry but if you have friends on campus you can usually find something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm biochemistry so of course I find it difficult but the teachers make things a lot easier. Go to your teachers for help, just don't approach them with a bs excuse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots and umbrella!

    In three sentences

    Eastern is a great school to help you with your Christian faith. Beware of the high transfer rate out of there since the school is so expensive! Also, don't come here if you're seeking diversity.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus in a very safe area on the Main Line in Pennsylvania.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Eastern offers a large number of clubs, for everything from community service to outdoor activities to philosophy. However, the majority of clubs are concentrated in social justice areas - such as the homeless ministry and Habitat for Humanity.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students looking for a good liberal arts education; nursing students; education majors; students interested in philosophy; students looking for a strong emphasis on social justice. Eastern also offers a dance major, which is relatively unique for Christian schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock is a big rock (go figure) by one of the many ponds on campus. The Rock has messages painted on it all year - whether to congratulate graduates, announce a special event, or celebrate a birthday. Any student can decorate the rock, and as a result there are inches of paint layered on it from years of use.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private university, Eastern does have higher tuition and room & board than a state school would. However, scholarship options abound, and Eastern does offer a pretty good education for what most students end up paying. They do get you with room and board though - it's a residential campus, meaning they require most students to live on campus and pay for room and board, which is close to $10,000 a year. It's possible to get permission to live off campus, but it's a long and drawn out process and many students are not granted commuter status unless they live nearby with family.

    What to do for fun

    There's a cute little town within walking distance with a movie theater, nice cafes, and some shopping and good restaurants. It's also fun to hang out on campus: there are intramural sports as well as some pretty good varsity sports teams, good hills for sledding in the wintertime, lots of activities planned by the Student Activities Board (from outdoor movies to luaus), and of course anything else you and your friends can think of to do. Philadelphia is also only 20-30 minutes away, and it's super easy to catch the train there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just okay. There is a good variety of options and always lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, which is good; but, of course, after a whole semester or more of eating in the Dining Commons, everything starts to feel like old news.

    Dorm Life

    This depends on the building you live in - but generally, residence life at Eastern is great in terms of the close-knit communities and the friendships you can make. Since it's a Christian school, dorm life also tends to be very safe and free from all sorts of domestic disturbances that you might find at a public university - such as partying in the dorms, or awkward male-female issues. However, Eastern is a lot less strict than more conservative schools tend to be, and visitation rules are pretty liberal.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the major your choose, what electives you take, whether a professor is sick and you have an adjunct for a semester, and a number of other factors. Classes get progressively harder as you get deeper into your major, but some freshman-level classes can leave you feeling unchallenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of the scholarship programs Eastern offers, like the Honors College or various Fellows programs. These are great ways to plug yourself into a smaller community right away while simultaneously getting some good scholarship money.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is a great school for Christian students seeking a valuable education. As a liberal arts school, EU offers a great environment for exploring the Christian faith as well as individual interests and goals. It's also a plus that Eastern tends to give out good financial aid, and is cheaper than a lot of nearby private universities.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very slow with transporting, BUT pointless because nothing bad ever happens on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    GREAT way to make new nd long lasting friends! I personally love Prison Ministry! <333

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE / all walks of life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this rock that people write messages on! Also i love the beautiful bridges and just scenery!

    Bang for the buck

    I really want to finish at Eastern because i believe its were God is calling me to be, and it has such great professors and people that encourage and challenge my spiritual and all around life for the better! Also BEATHE TAKING CAMPUS!

    What to do for fun

    I hang with friends, do ZUMBA, go to the open FREE gym, eat, knit, Prison Ministry

    Food and Dining

    Not the best/ it takes your stomach time to get used to, but they try to mix it up!

    Dorm Life

    Its what you make it, but the halls are so wonderful!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but fair!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Have and open mind! 2. Be patient with slow student aid! 3. You will have to look out for yourself financially because Eastern is known to make mistakes!

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is a great institution for student looking for a school the has a Christian perspective but also an open mind. My school is a warm and encouraging school filled with interesting and helpful people. This is the school for people that are open to others and what life and Christ has to offer them!

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I would rate Eastern an A. I feel that every department that I have had to contact with questions has answered my questions. The environment is very comfortable.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security but they do not patrol around the entire campus as they should.

    Greek Life

    NONE. Eastern isn't about greek life, they are about Jesus and helping others.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities but I personally find them boring and not worth going to.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Christians who want to fellowship with fellow believers and for those that love nature because the scenery at Eastern is beautiful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a big rock that any student is allowed to paint on. One time on November 5, a group of students watched the movie V for Vendetta and in the movie the guy says remember remember the 5th of November and students went out and painted the rock white to cover up the previous art-work and painted a big V from the movie on there.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Eastern can improve. Charging girl students fines for being in boy dorms and boys for being in girls dorms before a certain time is ridiculous. They should charge students for being there after 4pm because people aren't going to be doing stuff early in the day. The policy on that should be you get a fine if you in violation after 4 pm NOT before. It makes no sense. Academic wise you do get bang for your buck but they should change the food and the outlay of some of the dorms in Hainer Hall.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun honestly. I mean there is a gym but it is very tiny. There are basketball courts, pool tables, ping pong tables, tvs; but you have to go to the RA's to get the remote or the pool balls and sticks because people are irresponsible.

    Food and Dining

    The cafteria is hit or miss. Sometimes the food is good but sometimes it down right sucks! Rumor has it that there are laxatives in the food because everybody is constantly going to the bathroom more than usual. They do have a big variety; salad bar, make your own sandwhich bar, grill, cereals, desserts, pizza bar, etc. There is a lot to choose from but on the days when the food is bad your only choice is a make your own sandwhich or go eat out.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms, depending on where you stay are nice. Sparrowk is awesome but Hainer is terrible and smells like cat pee sometimes. Gulph is the most highly sought after as it is new but Eagle is nice as well as that is the newest. It all depends on where you dorm and if you do, do NOT choose Hainer if you have a choice!

    Academic Rigor

    Not only are the classes interesting but they are tough academically. Being listed as #98 on US Weekly's top colleges on the East Coast, you need to be prepared mentally for the workload. This isn't just a breeze-by kind of University.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Eastern University my advice is to pray about it. The reason being is because it is a Christian University and each student loves Jesus or is looking for that relationship with God. If you are not interested in that kind of stuff then this isn't the school for you.

    In three sentences

    This is an amazing school academically and socially. Each semester the students are excited for the incoming freshman to show them around the school and to help them ease into their college experience. It is a great atmosphere and will be both a learning experience inside and outside the classroom.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They release semester-ly reviews, provide rides around campus after dark, and are generally friendly and helpful

    Greek Life

    This is one aspect of EU I am not familiar with.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are diverse and numerous clubs on campus, which are easy to join.

    Great for these types of students

    I'd say there's something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PB&U is a small peanut butter cafe in Wayne--they'll put PB and pretty much literally anything else between bread for you. Weird combos that are surprisingly good.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so it's more expensive than the state-alternatives. However, my brother attends a state school, and I can say that the quality of my education seems far greater than what he receives.

    What to do for fun

    The town of Wayne is within walking distance, and so there's literally a whole town at your fingertips.

    Food and Dining

    As far as college food goes, it's a winner for sure.

    Dorm Life

    The Res Life staff are outstanding and all of the dorms are good to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The studies are somewhat difficult, but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend applying for the Templeton Honors College.

    In three sentences

    A great Christian school. Fantastic community, great outreach to the community, and outstanding education. They take very good care of their students, and their students' development.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs on campus to be apart of and service opportunities available for students. There are also activities on campus that are planned by other students on campus to go to. The town is also located right outside of the campus that students can walk to that has different places for students to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should get involved in activities and should become a part of the campus life. Students should also work hard and not be afraid to ask for help when they are struggling with something.

    In three sentences

    Eastern is a friendly environment for students. The professors and staff are always willing to work with you and help you succeed as best they can. There are a lot of opportunities for students to get involved in campus life and get involved with projects within the community.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the King of Prussia mall is 5 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and there are also places near campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very different but still nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay your bill as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University has a very beautiful campus. There is a very welcoming and caring atmosphere about the campus. The food in the cafeteria is surprisingly good.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While Eastern Security might be the running joke of residence students, there have been almost no incidents in the past 10 years.

    Great for these types of students

    I would advise Eastern to anyone who is intelligent and a bit zany.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the tradition of chasing Brutus, the lame Canadian goose who resides on campus. Also, midnight walks around campus are frequent.

    What to do for fun

    There is ultimate frisbee, powderpuff football, shopping adventures, and many fine restaurants explore.

    Tips for prospective students

    By all means, stay away from the geese and the swamp. Take everything your professors tell you with a grain of salt. Never expect to go to bed before one.

    In three sentences

    The community at Eastern is astounding. Academics and sportsmen alike are not condemned, but celebrated for their differences. More schools should be run like Eastern University.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since Eastern University is located in a small town..dependng if one has the means to travel far one could visit surrounding towns. There is a movie theater and local shops right in the middle of town which is great for those whom do not have the means to travel far. Also SEPTA is right by the campus and one can take a six minute ride and can spend a day trip in Philadelphia.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. After a while the food does get a bit repetitive and loses its luster. Fortunately there is a local grocery store and restaurants near by for students to have different opitions of getting meals. However, the dining facilities are nice and clean...just feels like places a student could hang out or study

    Dorm Life

    Most part people in the dorms are nice. Everyone tries to help everyone out during the first few weeks of school to make everyone feel welcome. There are activities held through out the school year to build a sense of comradery and community. Never had issues with roommates or neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    It is manageable. Ultimately it will fall on the individual student how much they apply themselves to their studies. Every student is different and the results will vary. For the most part its manageable..just relies on the individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to find balance between work and play. One can not always work at there studies 24-7 and need to learn there are moments when to kick back and have fun. Yet it just at vital to learn how to balance studies with pleasure for one does not want to be to relax or soon they find they are playing a catch up game with school work. Thus it is important to know why one is paying all that money to go to school and to make the most by applying oneself in their studies. Sooner or later the results of a balance plan will pay off.

    In three sentences

    In a sense Eastern University feels like home. I feel that I can get a great education there and feel that I belong there. I feel that with an education at Eastern University I will go far and land the dream job I always want at a museum educating people of the significance of history and what we can learn from it to better prepare for the future.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places to hang out with friends, such as Olde City or Main Street.

    Food and Dining

    Nice dining hall on the main campus and cafeteria's for the smaller schools. The schools are also close to many restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but the professors are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your peers are your best conections in the school.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University has a beautiful main campus. They also offer additional campuses for those students who live closer to the city or near Harrisburg.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You have to make college what you want it to be. Get the experience that you want to have and make the memories that will last forever.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and organizations on campus. I love being apart of S.A.B ( Student Activities Board)

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. It has it's good and bad days but the good thing is there is a variety of places to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Eastern has many dorms on campus with great community; such Kea/Guffin Hall and Doane Hall. Also Guffin Hall has the Breezeway Cafe for all you late night workers!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging but once you over come them with excellent grades it will be self rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you best in High School Read. Read. Read. Make to-do lists for yourself. Learn about time management. Take advantage of tutoring services. Take advantage of writing assistance.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is a Christian University. Eastern University has a great Psychology program. Eastern University helps make your dreams come true.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several sports that have games throughout the week, several events are held throughout the semester, but the best thing to do for fun is become involved in a club, there are clubs for everyone. There are also a lot of places nearby that are fun to visit off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining commons is buffet style and there are always some good options. We also have the Breezeway and the Eagle's nest, which have good food and will accept money that is on your school account (flex dollars) The Jammin Java is the coffee shop and has a lot of good choices even for those who don't drink coffee.

    Dorm Life

    With good friends dorm life is a lot of fun, you can be silly and be big kids, and have deep discussions and help each other study. There is a lot of community among the hall and the RA's are nice to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be really easy as well as very challenging, it really depends on your major. The general education requirements are relatively easy, but the further you get into your major, the classes become more rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, lots of them before and after you decide to come here. Don't be afraid to ask for help from others. Find friends that will stick by you and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University has a beautiful campus that really is awe inspiring. Like any school Eastern is what you make it, it can be really fun and you can grow and make some fantastic new friends, as well as stay to yourself and focus on your studies. The people here are very friendly and the staff really are there to help you.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. People cannot enter without an ID and the security guards go with you to the parking lot during the night.

    What to do for fun

    Take Zumba classes on Mondays and Wednesdays.

    Food and Dining

    They have machines to buy food or you can take the lunch with you after you buy it outside the college.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know because I do not live there.

    Academic Rigor

    A challenging college where you have to prove your knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a religious college where you are not forced to be christian but you have to take subjects about it. Do not try to do whatever you want because you may think that these are not important subjects.

    In three sentences

    I am a current student at Esperanza College of Eastern University which is not a big campus in a physical way but is big in the sense of learning and becoming better individuals.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus here at Eastern is very safe. Eastern is located in a very nice neighborhood, and I've always felt comfortable walking around the campus and surrounding area at night by myself. Eastern University's has security vans that patrol the campus and surrounding area. These vans are also available to the students to use to get to different parts of campus and also a few places in the surrounding area such as the Radnor train station.

    Greek Life

    Eastern does not offer opportunities to be involved with fraternities or sororities. It is, however, very easy to join a group or club on campus that Eastern offers in which you may find people with similar interests.

    Clubs and Activities

    Eastern has a club fair at the beginning of the year for new students to sign up for or get information on the clubs around campus. Eastern has many opportunities for special interest clubs and also clubs that do volunteer or outreach work in the community, such as YAHT club which reaches out to the homeless community in Philadelphia and was first started by Shane Claiborne. Eastern also has chapel, which does not have a required attendance, every Wednesday at 10am when there are no classes scheduled.

    Great for these types of students

    Eastern University is a great place for students looking for a university that is slightly more liberal than other Christian universities while still having a very heavy Christian influence both in academics and in the community life. Eastern is also a great place for students looking for a welcoming Christian community that is passionate about community outreach and social injustices.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual place on campus is the water wheel. Eastern University was originally a privately owned estate before it was institution. Because of this, the campus is littered with beautiful ponds, trees, bridges, walkways, and of course the famous water wheel which is now up and working again. There is also an underground tunnel that not many of the students know about. It goes from one of the resident's halls, Doane Hall, to behind the dining commons. The entrances to the tunnel, unfortunately have long been cemented shut.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern University can be a bit pricy, but the financial aid office is pretty good about offering scholarships, grants and financial aid. I know that I was a little intimidated by the prices at first, but the financial aid office at Eastern did all that they could to get me more scholarship when I asked for help. I personally think that my experiences here at Eastern have been priceless, but the costs here at Eastern have continued to rise. This, unfortunately, has made it hard for some students to stay at Eastern.

    What to do for fun

    Eastern University offers plenty of opportunities to join clubs, to be on sports teams, or to volunteer in the surrounding community. Most of the students here at Eastern are involved in at least one club or sports team, and many of the students are very involved in volunteering and in outreach programs. The weekends here at Eastern are notoriously slow. Many of the students visit home or friends at other universities over the weekends. It can be hard at first, but you just have to find some friends and be creative.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at Eastern is, unfortunately, not the best. If you are interested in not gaining the freshman fifteen, then Eastern University is the place for you! Eastern does offer gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan options, but it is not always the best quality. There are, however, two other locations on campus to get food that are open at later hours and have tastier options, including a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    I currently life in a dorm with a roommate and a community style bathroom. The bathrooms are cleaned every week day by staff that the university offers. In my dorm there is really great community. Most people know each other and are friends with their hallmates. Each hall has an RA and a student chaplain. Every Wednesday night there is grow group in each hall that is run by the student chaplain. Grow group is similar to a Bible study and is open for anyone living there to come but is not a requirement. There are, unfortunately, visitation hours, so members of the opposite sex are not allowed to be in your room or hall at certain hours, but Eastern's visitation hours tend to be more lenient than most Christian institutions.

    Academic Rigor

    Eastern University's academics are challenging and thought provoking without being too overwhelming. Some of the classes I have taken here at Eastern have definitely changed my perspective on my faith and others around me. Eastern's academics incorporate Christian though and Christian perspective without being one sided or closed to questioning and discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved on campus. Eastern does an excellent job of getting you involved and in touch with other students from the first moment you step on campus. Take advantage of these opportunities, and be open minded to meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    Eastern University is a small Christian college located about thirty minutes outside of Philadelphia. Eastern creates an atmosphere for a loving Christian community and a community that is on fire for matters in social justice. Eastern University's campus is very scenic and has a very homey feel to it making it a great place for studying and taking in the scenery.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Eastern is very safe! I feel comfortable walking at night by my self.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, get to know people. Student activities board also has events that are really fun most weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Eastern has Sodexo just like man other colleges have.

    Dorm Life

    The community at Eastern is fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors are more difficult than others. Talk to current students to find out how the major you're interested in is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your admissions counselor about everything, they are so helpful and want to be able to help you. Visit campus if you can and meet with someone from the department you're interested. If you can't visit, call!

    In three sentences

    I love Eastern University! The professors care about you individually and the student body is open and friendly. The courses integrate faith into the classroom and that has changed my life!

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They always have activities planned and the people there are so much fun that you can have a blast just by sitting around and talking in your dorm.

    Food and Dining

    Freshman have to get the unlimited food plan, which is amazing. Their dining hall has great food and great options. Also they have plenty of cafes for people who want other stuff too.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone there is really nice. I hear from current students that they pair you with great starting roommates and you can make friends really fast.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not actually begun taking classes yet, but the current students tell me that it is just like any other college would be (I have no idea how they would know the rigor of other colleges, but that is what they said...).

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for an overnight and sit in for a class. This will give you a feel for the dorms, students, teachers, and mystifying campus.

    In three sentences

    The most beautiful college you will ever visit. The students and faculty are extremely kind and helpful. It was my first and only college of choice.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. The campus security is always available and visible, and they are really nice people! The students at Eastern are respectful of one another and their property. The neighborhood is also extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs on campus such as Student Government, Student Activities Board, Youth Against Complacency and Homelessness Today, Students Against Human Trafficking, ETHEL's Swing Dance Club, Angels of Harmony (a gospel choir), Ultimate Frisbee, and many more! I would definitely recommend getting involved in extracurricular activities in order to get the most out of your time at Eastern.

    Great for these types of students

    Although Eastern is a Christian school, in general, the students and staff are willing to listen to all points of view and discuss philosophy and theology without making you feel pressured or uncomfortable. If you're not sure about attending a Christian school because you aren't sure what you believe, Eastern will give you a solid foundation from which you can build your own thoughts and beliefs.

    Bang for the buck

    Eastern is a great value, but the high tuition can be a burden for many students. Definitely look into outside scholarships, and be in contact with the Financial Aid Office to work out what you need to do to minimize your financial worries.

    What to do for fun

    When the weather is nice, you can take a dive in the campus pool, go for a run on the many pathways through campus, challenge a friend to a game of tennis, or kick a soccer ball around with your buddies. If you're staying in, stop by Jammin' Java for a latt�© or head up to the observatory to get an amazing view of the night sky. You'll never be bored on Eastern's campus, but if you are, you can always head to Philly to see a show or a concert, or just to tour the historical buildings!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for a college campus. Jammin' Java is great, and the Breezeway is a nice change from the Dining Commons, especially if you miss dinner or need a late snack! The monthly specials in the DC are definitely a treat - don't miss them!

    Dorm Life

    Eastern offers one of the best communities I have experienced on any college campus. Of course, it depends on which dorm you are in, but the resident staff are all very friendly and helpful and will make you feel at home (while you're away from home)!

    Academic Rigor

    As part of the Templeton Honors College, I found the academic rigor to be difficult enough to challenge me intellectually and broaden my perspective, but the professors compassionate enough to make sure no student was overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of every opportunity Eastern gives you. Don't be frustrated - the offices can seem disorganized, but the people are always very friendly and willing to help! Definitely give Eastern a chance, and you won't be disappointed!

    In three sentences

    Eastern offers a beautiful campus, a welcoming and diverse student body, a great academic environment, and awesome extracurricular activities. The professors are wonderful people, committed to doing their best to help you succeed as a student and as a person. Its location outside the city is peaceful, but close enough to enjoy all Philadelphia has to offer.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food of the cafeteria is terrible they normally don't give you food everyone likes and if they do it disappears easily. They should change the meal plans and the food they give.

    Dorm Life

    Being in dorms isn't really Eastern's favorite place to be. They have a lot of rules and a lot of strict things going on that you feel your in prison not in a place called home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Eastern has a great faculty in Professors and advisers. They will help you in any way they can for you to be successful in your classes and in your spiritual life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared to receive more than you think you will. Look at the bright side in every way. Be encouraged by the simple things more than the big things, it will help you understand and achieve things better.

    In three sentences

    Has a great and fabulous campus. Creates great communities between students and professors. It helps you learn a lot more than you can imagine.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    'Ring by Spring'. Seniors will often get married before they graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Create your own events! Just make sure you let the Student Activities Board so they can help you put it on blast for anyone to know!

    Food and Dining

    If you're a picky eater, maybe its not for you. Not very diverse food here, either.

    Dorm Life

    Certain dorms have a great community feeling. You'll often find yourself in a friend's room next door.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very understanding if you accidentally missed class and would send powerpoints and notes to you if you need them. But don't slack off! There's lots of tutoring available and no one will judge you if you decide to take advantage of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to take a stroll to town! There are many interesting places surrounding Eastern and you might even make friends from other colleges.

    In three sentences

    Eastern is very tolerant of other beliefs, despite being a Christian school. The professors are always here to help and you'll find students from around the world! Since the place is very old, it definitely gives off a pretty small village/castle feeling.