Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Eckerd College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 out of 32 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of science majors and people that care about the environment. Eckerd trys to be very Eco friendly. Eckerd is also pretty good for art, language, politcal science, international relations, etc. There are many opportunities to study abroad. EC has a special three week winter semester for sophomores thru seniors where you get to go abroad (trips to japan, new zealand, italy, argentina, new mexico, etc.) or if you want to save money they offer some on campus classes. Freshmen have an on campus autumn term before the upperclassmen get here to help them get used to the campus. If you are into american football this isn't the place for you. Eckerd has no football team, but there are most other common sports. However, our D2 sports teams aren't very good. I love Eckerd Tritons! We just aren't very good... There is no Greek life, but our dorms are named after Greek letters... There are a lot of people who drink alcohol, but there are also a lot of people who don't. Who ever you are you will fit in somewhere at Eckerd College.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to come to Eckerd it should be for the right reasons. Don't Just come here for the sun and the beach, come here if there is a program you are interested in. Eckerd is still a college. The Florida atmosphere can make it hard to focus, so make sure you are ready to work. Also, I recommend bringing a bike or a car because otherwise it can be hard getting off campus. There are some buses that take you off campus but they can be confusing. Or at least make a lot of friends with people that have a car.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the draw backs on EC is that it is pretty expensive. However, most students get some sort of scholarship. I would say with the setting, activities, and quality of education at Eckerd that it is probably worth all the money. Lets face it college is expensive where ever you go. The best way to get your money's worth is to GO TO CLASS. Try not to party during the school week, and don't go to the beach until your homework is done.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you like warm, sunny, and sometimes wet weather then you will be very happy at Eckerd College. The scenery at Eckerd is very different then the average college campus. On my way to class I pass by Eckerd's South Beach right on Boca Ciega Bay, palm trees, pelicans, hammocks, people playing volleyball, an occasional dolphin in the distance, and much more. Eckerd College has its own waterfront program where students can take out kayaks, sailboats, and fishing equipment, as well as sign up for wake board trips, wind surfing lessons, boat trips, and more. The students, teachers, and other campus workers are all very friendly. There are tons of clubs, activities and special events to keep anyone having fun. The food here is alright. They try to have variety. There is a salad bar, soup, pizza, sandwich section, cereal, vegetarian, grill, world foods and comfort food section.

    Am learning a lot

    Eckerd College is a very small liberal arts school in St. Pete, FL. The best part about attending a small school is that the class sizes are smaller, which enhances learning. You actually get to know your professors (which are all very helpful) and they get to know you. All my professors are more then willing to help during their office hours and really try to help you succeed. Eckerd College has an exceptional Marine Science program right on the water front with a hands on approach to learning. Eckerd is also very focused on having well rounded students that are familiar with a variety of subjects.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    When I was describing Eckerd to my friend she said, It's like the Island of Misfits! How awesome! And that description is perfect. If you love the water; sunny, humid and sometimes rainy weather (in the rainy season); and small class size, it's perfect. But I know content students here who actually hate swimming! Eckerd's great for the environmentally conscious (we put a lot of emphasis on sustainability), for vegans and vegetarians, for meditate-rs, yoga-doers and rights activists. But it's also home to politicians, scientists (our Marine Science program is one of the best in the nation), writers, musicians, I-don't-know-what-the-heck-I'm-doing-yet-ers, and every type of person in between, above and below. If you have an interest that isn't represented already (unlikely) then you can just form a club! If you've always been extremely focused on schoolwork, it might be hard for you to adjust to the fun-loving atmosphere, but everyone is here because they want to learn. My friends are as varied as their interests, yet we can all find endless things in common. If you're open-minded and don't mind the weather, you should get along just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get distracted. Even within the first week you can find yourself getting swept up in all of the extracurricular pleasures of college life. Many students drink and smoke, but a lot of others don't. Therefore, don't feel pressured to abandon all work ethic. You should also never feel like you have to lock yourself in a study room in order to get schoolwork done. If you take a mature approach to your studies from the beginning and realize that the classes are good and the professors want you to learn and succeed, then it's not hard to wake up in the morning and go to class. Just remember to save the partying and playing until your work is done. Your friends will understand. College is a time to discover what it is that makes you You. Take the opportunity that comes with living, learning, and exploring in a safe, familiar environment like this campus to establish your interests and work towards your dreams.

    Bang for the buck

    The only problem I have had with Eckerd is the price. It's a pretty expensive school--way above my reasonable budget--but most schools are expensive. It's a fact that student loan debt is one of the only 2 good debts, so don't worry if you have to take out a loan. Scholarships are also available, and there are always people willing you help you out. When you're spending so much money on anything, it's easy to point out the flaws. The school does sometimes seem to try to squeeze money out of you for the most random things, but then there are tons of activities and free stuff the school provides, too. The school places extra emphasis on study abroad and service-learning, so you can find plenty of opportunity to travel, learn, and grow outside the campus and country, and a lot of these programs are cheap compared to other schools'. The setting is amazing, the surrounding cities offer endless things to do, the food is really good compared to many other schools (although it's easy to get spoiled/bored with the cafeteria food), the classes are great, and the people are supportive. If you take advantage of all this and WORK HARD, it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Really there isn't much to complain about a school that not only has quality classes and typical educational resources, but allows students to kayak, wake board, swim, tan, and sail, etc. at the Waterfront for free! There is the Yellow Bike program in which bikes are located throughout campus for you to ride to and from classes and wherever on campus. I can lay-out while doing homework on Kappa field and take a break to walk 30 seconds to South Beach on campus and lay in the hammock. It seems like fun is always on nearly everyone's mind, so it isn't hard to find people, parties, or activities to enjoy. And if you're stressed and need to relax, there are places on campus to just sit and find peace. The main reason I'm enjoying being here, however, is the friends I have made. Students come here from all over the country and world and are open-minded, kind, spirited, and fun. I made close friends here in the first month faster than I have ever made best friends in my life. The sunny atmosphere seems to radiate from everyone sometimes, and that's the key: it's up to you to have a good attitude.

    Am learning a lot

    Eckerd is a small liberal arts college on the water with a reputation for sending graduates straight into jobs, internships, and prestigious graduate schools. This is because the professors and classes (small usually around 12-25 students) are designed not only to provide expected information on areas of interest, but to build skills that help students to think differently about their place in the world. Once you get past the intro-level courses which are pretty basic in any college, you can enroll in classes that are more interesting and engaging. Like any school you attend, you get out of it what you put in. So if you prefer a smaller, more fun and intimate college where you can form close relationships with peers and professors, and if you utilize the resources the school provides, then you can definitely gain an education that matches your goals and helps you succeed.

  • 01/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, athletic, outdoorsy and hard working.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, but also enjoy the many things that Eckerd has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    While the tution is very high, it is worth it. Eckerd offers many things that other colleges can't. The college is built right on Tampa Bay, so Marine Biology majors have instant access to the water. It has small class sizes, dedicated professors and also great food!

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made many great friends, the food is great and there are always events to go to! Eckerd is full of things to do including the on campus beach and the fact that it is a pet-friendly campus!

    Am learning a lot

    I am a marine biology major at Eckerd College. While this major is in no way easy, it is a very mind opening one. I have learned much in just one semester here in Eckerd. This major does require lots of studying and dedication, but the end result is well worth it.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very nice and friendly to the students while always looking out for your safety. there is a guard house at the one and only accessible entrance to the campus to monitor who comes on. ids are checked in the evenings and on the weekends to keep unwanted people from harassing students. they can be reached 24/7 for safety concerns or when locked out of your room. they are also very lenient and understanding when it comes to partying.

    Greek Life

    there are no fraternities or sororities and it creates considerably less stress. you will be sure to find your niche without the help of these.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs for anyone and everyone. the most unique of all the activities would be the search and rescue team. ecsar is only found here and they help local area boaters on a 24/7 basis. through ecsar you'll find great friends and memories and be active in serving your community.

    Great for these types of students

    students here are often seen as hippies due to their involvement in helping the planet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every spring kappa karnival occurs where the school sets up a small carnival free for staff and students. this usually includes a few rides, various games, free food, and live entertainment. the school also recently built the go pavilion where they host events, live entertainers, and when not in use is an outdoor with a roof basketball court.

    Bang for the buck

    while tuition has risen, so have the scholarships and you won't find another education like this. teachers are very closely involved with their students and take pride in their work and are determined to give each and every student an education that will last them a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    go visit the waterfront and all activities are free to students if you complete a swim test at the beginning of your freshman year. such activities include paddle boarding, kayaking, canoeing, fishing trips, wake-boarding trips, and sunset cruises, and also provides an area for swimming and laying out. there is also south beach to go lay out on as well as various hammocks hanging around campus. theres also kappa field for impromptu soccer games.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is better here than at other school i toured. options include a fresh salad bar, pizza, vegetarian, and other hot food stations every day. nearly every meal there is the option to have the dish of the day made to your special liking by amazingly friendly staff members who love their job and the students they cook for. the other on campus option is the triton's pub which is open 12 hours a day on weekdays and open late on the weekends. the pub offers a consistent menu, a made to order wrap station, as well as various bottled drinks and snacks. the pub offers coffee, ice cream, and smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are small and make it easy to get to know your neighbors. the ras are amazing in organizing dorm events and being there in times of need. eckerd dorms have various themes you can choose from such as all-girls, health and wellness, community service, and pet dorms. eckerd is one of the few schools in the country that allows pets such as cats, dogs, birds, and other small animals.

    Academic Rigor

    largely depends on which area you're majoring in. marine science and other science majors involve very intensive courses that you won't find elsewhere. these classes will however greatly prepare you for a career in these majors. one of the top majors, environmental studies, is similar to the science majors but considerably less rigorous, however still intensive and still very rewarding. other popular majors are psychology and creative writing.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't panic; eckerd is very small compared to other schools and very relaxing once you're there. eckerd will provide unique experiences that will last you a lifetime so just relax and enjoy yourself.

    In three sentences

    eckerd college is like no other college you'll find, often times referred to as camp eckerd. located on the waterfront, this very small college focuses largely on protecting environmental and marine habitats. eckerd provides amazing people, programs, and opportunities you won't find at most other institutions.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very good at responding to calls. I would say the only downside is that the campus doesn't have the blue lights or other poles located throughout campus that you can call from, but Eckerd is very safe so there's really no need to worry.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have everything from the Scooba Diving club to Dumbledore's Army, Hillel club to the Improv. group [my personal favorite]. You name it, they have it. Aside from clubs, they have all sorts of activities such as Coastal Cleanups, the Splash Bash, triathlons, and lots of really fun classes at the gym!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone at Eckerd is very laid back and relaxed. It's pretty easy to find your balance between social and academic life [most people actually do homework on the beach or the docks], but this isn't your typical brainiac school--we like to have fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year before finals week, the schools holds what is known as Kappa Karnival, where they fill a big empty field with all sorts of carnival rides and games, along with free food and drinks. Some people take the carnival part literally and dress up in all sorts of crazy outfits, others come in their usual attire. It's a great way to blow off steam right before finals!

    Bang for the buck

    I think the Waterfront program definitely makes up for the tuition expenses, providing you take full advantage. The school also holds frequent events where they bring in comedians or bands such as Hello Goodbye.

    What to do for fun

    If you like the beach, this is the school for you. They have a private beach we call South Beach that overlooks the gulf, and it's absolutely beautiful. They also have what's called The Waterfront, where you can rent paddle boards, kayaks, windsurfers, canoes, and sailboats, as well as camping and fishing gear.

    Food and Dining

    I was glad that Eckerd didn't have the traditional fast food menus that most colleges and universities have. There was a pretty good selection, although the vegetarian options were pretty narrow. Overall the food was okay, and there were enough healthy options that no one gained the freshman 15.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't in the greatest condition, but they're honestly not that bad--it adds to the college experience. As far as everything else goes, everyone in the dorms form a huge bond with each other and always find something to do. That's not to say you can't go hang out with people in other dorms--everyone does, but it's nice to know you don't have to go too far to find some friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The adjustment from high school to college is going to be a challenge at first, but the small class sizes make it a lot easier. The professor's actually know your name and are willing to help you with anything you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend attending the Prospective Student events; they let you spend a few days on campus so you can get to know what it's really like, including sitting in on a few classes and going to some events. Don't be intimidated by everyone--we've all been there and everyone is friendly and willing you help you if you need it!

    In three sentences

    Eckerd will definitely be the best college experience you'll ever have. You'll learn a lot, both academically, and about yourself. There's a reason everyone calls it summer camp.

  • 01/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    likes warm weather and beach settings. looking for a small school with a laid back atmosphere

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small, laid back setting, where you can study what you want to study Eckerd is perfect. There is a major for everyone, and even if you don't see the one you want, you can build your own!

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is gorgeous, palm trees every where with a campus beach! the food in the cafe is pretty good as well as the wraps from the on campus pub! definitely a lot to choose from!

    Am enjoying being here

    When Im not in class or studying, I get the opportunity to go lay out on the beach, go to the pool, or the waterfront and enjoy the Florida sun. Not a lot of college kids can say that and its amazing!

    Am learning a lot

    I get to choose the classes that are perfect for me, so I am not sitting through any class that I don't want to be in. I love all my classes, and because the class sizes are so small, I get one on one attention from the professor if I need any help.

  • 02/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There are many opportunities to get involved with the community in and around Eckerd College and to go abroad. So come to Eckerd if you love learning and being involved in a community.

    Bang for the buck

    Although a private liberal arts school is expensive, the quality of the staff and the opportunities/resources available to the students makes it all worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Eckerd is in a lovely location right on the water and close to the city. There are many opportunities for students to get off campus and see the local sights. A friendly and welcoming atmosphere, makes anyone feel at home.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a physics major and a member of the women's soccer team at Eckerd. The science programs are challenging but rewarding. The staff is talented and great to work with. There are plenty of research opportunities for freshmen to seniors. Overall, Eckerd is a high quality school.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I honestly think that the tuition is very high. I think that they should invest in scholarships for everyone because most of their scholarships are for freshmen. I hope this school is worth every penny.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope I do enjoy being at Eckerd they describe the school on their website like a paradise.

    Will learn a lot

    My course of study will be Marine biology so intend to learn a lot especially since the school is on the water. I'm interested to see what dynamic having the marine environment in the schools backyard will bring.

  • 06/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Pricey!! But they offer a lot of financial aid it seems!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful!!!!!!!!!!

    Will learn a lot

    It's noted for it's environmental friendliness which is perfect for my major!

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small colleges, those who want to really communicate with professors, laid back students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in going to Eckerd college, definitely apply! The people are great, it's well respected and there are plenty of opportunities. Just pay attention to the Autumn Term details, it's a very fun an informative month.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it has private school prices, for an out of state student it's one of the best options for your money. Even in-state students have an easier time with the various Florida grants that Eckerd accepts. There is a lot of financial aid available for every student.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students are friendly, the teachers are usually quite helpful and the atmosphere is fantastic (if you like nature).

    Am learning a lot

    Eckerd College offers various classes for many different majors. From Interdisciplinary to Marine Biology to American Studies, most students are able to find the major they want and are given a mentor to help with the process.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very reliable and close to the student on campus. Those with campus safety drive around campus all hours of the day to monitor the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent, however this brings everyone together.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless clubs and activities! Some original ones are surf club, garden club, and outdoor adventure club! Surf club and outdoor adventure club often take trips off campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a strongly connected community with constant activities on campus would love to enjoy the Florida environment! Professors are very hands on at this college, which makes it easy to be a name and not a number. Those students who are looking for a really friendly setting where everyone is smiling will never want to leave Eckerd College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Eckerd College has a student group called Palmetto productions, and they setting up constant activities to enjoy the college life. Every weekend something seems to be happening on the unique environment Eckerd offers. There are endless traditions created every year such as Kappa Karnival. This is a carnival that is set up for students on campus as everyone enjoys the private location Eckerd is at.

    Bang for the buck

    Eckerd College is definitely worth the price. I have had financial issue with getting here, but they made sure to help as much as possible. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else because I know I am truly getting the best education and experiences for the cost.

    What to do for fun

    I love to spend my time outside! At the waterfront you can rent kayaks, paddle boards, or sailboats! Since the campus is right on the beach I love to lay out and enjoy the sun. There is also a lot wildlife that I enjoy to watch!

    Food and Dining

    There are two different dining facilities on campus, and both of them have a diverse set of choices. On special occasions there are planned dinners that everyone gets excited about. At the cafe there are different sections of food for vegetarians or just healthy eaters.

    Dorm Life

    Eckerd is known for it's sense of community. There is no greek life, however a family is created at the different complexes on campus. Since the campus is in Florida there are always dorm activities outside.

    Academic Rigor

    The endless amount of options at this school make it hard to decide on one major, but Eckerd is generally a science based school. Instead of taking general education credits at this liberal arts school you have to take seven different perspectives before graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    College visits are frequent here, and if you plan on visiting take the time to talk to current students! I wasn't able to visit Eckerd College before attending, but it was the best shot in the dark I have ever taken. The small class size is beneficial for the academic and social life.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is home. Unlike any other school I feel comfortable as myself. No other school would help create me the way Eckerd College has.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our school prides itself on safety and I always feel safe on campus rather its at night or day.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life at all on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus from fishing club to mid evil club. If there isn't a club of your choice on campus you can just make one!

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to be outdoors and love nature! A huge number of students often go to classes barefoot and its normal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are palm hammocks on campus that haven't been touched by construction and it is still in tact from urbanization making it very peaceful and serene.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a well worth it investment, Eckerd offers so much for its students and its only getting better in the near future.

    What to do for fun

    Since Eckerd is in Florida there are many fun and exciting things to do. I personally go to state parks, the beach, and downtown. Also there is a waterfront program on campus that offers everything for water sports!

    Food and Dining

    There is only three places to eat on campus with poor hours, but they all offer healthy and delicious choices. Sometimes the food is not up to standards mostly in the main cafeteria there are rotten fruit or cold food being served so you have to look out!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! Eckerd offers pet dorms, all girls dorms as well as co ed. Residential Life is very strict and often cant be trusted when a student faces a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    As a marine science student the classes are very challenging the whole four years, but its less strenuous for other majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get distracted by the beaches and parties, you're there for school!

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a great liberal arts college, Eckerd is the place to be. Along with being on the ocean the school also offers classrooms the face outside instead of compact hallways, which decreases foot traffic.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lol campus safety.

    Greek Life

    Eckerd is one giant fraternity, there is no need for a Greek system here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The beach is the best club here.

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, surfers, beach goers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everybody is into becoming green.

    Bang for the buck

    Way overpriced for a subpar education. The location is what makes it great.

    What to do for fun

    The beach. It's the closest thing to going to school on an island.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is pretty bad and lacks variety

    Dorm Life

    Definitely the best part about Eckerd.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here if you want to be a medical doctor.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is a fantastic place! If you want to major in marine science, this is where you need to be. If you want to be a doctor, there are better programs out there.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, no one is allowed to come on campus without your campus ID after 6 o'clock.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities and they do a lot of little silly activities throughout the weeks.

    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoyed High School and LOVE the outdoors as well as ocean life. Everyone loves going boating and kayaking there!

    Bang for the buck

    You are 100% spending all your money on the acedemics because the dorms are DISGUSTING. You have to share a bathroom with the entire house and the dorms seem like a prison cell. You have to pay to do laundry, unlike most colleges I've visited. I would not spend 50k a year to live in such poor living conditions. They definitely need to update the housing before I would consider attending this school.

    What to do for fun

    It's St. Petersburg, go to the beach! Walk around town or check out a boat on campus with some of your friends. You would never be bored!

    Food and Dining

    Food was average. Not many other options than your cafeteria/meal plan food.

    Dorm Life

    Nightlife and activities are great but the dorms need a complete reconstruction. Some seniors do not recieve a dorm in the Senior Residential Building which is the only nice building to live in on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The best of the best! Professors are definitely top notch. All of your money is going into the acedemic success of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love the ocean and outdoors, this is a great school. However, if you are not majoring in Marine Biology or Environmental Science, it really isn't worth the price you have to pay for the education. Marine Program is definitely one of the top in the US but any other degree would be a waste of money to attend Eckerd.

    In three sentences

    This beautiful but pricey college is only good enough for Marine Biology Majors. Other majors would be wasting their money.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    we have no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    eckerd students are laid back, love to be outside in the sun, and also love to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we're located literally right on the water, so we have beaches on campus and an amazing waterfront! also, we have a really fun tradition of kappa karnival, which is a huge carnival thrown by kappa dorm and the administration right before finals in the spring.

    What to do for fun

    life on campus is super fun, since we have a beach on campus and plenty of other fun stuff. on top of that, st. pete is a really fun, small city to hang out in.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely go visit if you can! talk to an admissions counselor, and to faculty if you get a chance!

    In three sentences

    eckerd is an excellent school for anyone looking for a small, liberal arts school that is strong in both the sciences and the humanities. it is also for anyone looking for a beautiful location surrounded by awesome people. eckerd is full of the best students and faculty on the most beautiful college campus in america.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a vary safe place in general. Campus safety officers are actually quite slow at responding (at least to minor things like locking yourself out of your dorm room while taking a shower...Yes I'm speaking from experience).

    Greek Life

    Although, the names of the dorms might suggest it (Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Epsilon, Delta, Omega, Nu, Kappa, Zeta) Eckerd College does not have Greek life. Ask any student and they will tall you how much better it is this way.

    Bang for the buck

    I still haven't gotten used to what an amazing place Eckerd is. There is so much wildlife and aside from a few minor complaints, I have nothing bad to say about Eckerd. I feel very safe on campus and all my Massachusetts friends are jealous of all the fun I am always having in the warm Florida sun! But it's not all fin & games; I love the education I'm getting and I never thought I'd be having this much fun learning, or that I'd have such amazing professors!

    What to do for fun

    On campus, student activities and Palmetto Productions do their parts to have fun activities such as black light parties, swing dance lessons, open mic nights, spring ball, and Kappa karnival (the most anticipated event all year). There are also a variety of fitness classes to try; I suggest giving Zumba and Spin a chance! If you know someone with a car (freshmen ARE allowed to have cars!) you can drive to downtown St. Pete and walk along Beach Dr., where you will find the ever-popular gelato shop: Paciugo's. Or you can go see a movie at Muvico. Even if you don't have a car, the first Friday of every month (known as First Friday), Eckerd has shuttles running from 7pm to 2 am that take busloads of kids downtown. Every Saturday morning there is the Saturday Morning Market downtown as well, which is always fun!! Of course, EC is right on the water, so the waterfront program is amazing! Take out kayaks, paddle boards, sign up for wake-boarding trips, or just lay out on the beach!

    Food and Dining

    Compared to bigger schools, Eckerd's food choices are rather limited. We have one main cafeteria that is open select hours of the day (weekdays: 7:30 am to 9:45 am, 11:30 am to 1:30 pm, and 5:00 pm to 7:15 pm). We also have Triton's pub which also has it's own select hours that it is open (weekdays: 9 am to 10pm) and a much more limited selection of food. There is an additional cafeteria with less variety, but better quality food than the other dining facilities, however it is far from the residential side of campus and has more restricted hours as well. The food is in general mediocre because they use the same vegetables and other supplies to make a variety of foods. Although it does get somewhat repetitive, there are some days when the food is above average & dining comes up with some kind of a surprise for us.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is developed to a great extent in Autumn Term, but in reality things change significantly once the upper upperclassmen return in September. The RAs do a decent job of getting their residents & houses to connect with each other with dorm and complex events they organize. Each dorm has its own personality and it's easy enough to find one that matches your personality.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your intended major the class rigor can be very different. Natural science classes with labs are much harder that classes with a lecture only. However, labs are pretty fun (this is coming from a biology major) and not only do they help you connect with the professor, but they also help you understand the material from the lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your outlook on Eckerd will most certainly stem from the Autumn term class you end up in. Of course, you get some say in the matter -- you get to select 5 classes you might want to be be in. Pick something you will enjoy doing for 3 hours a day for a month because Autumn term really sets the stage for how the rest of your college life at Eckerd will be. One last note...you can find MUCH better deals online than on the bookstore. They really rip you off especially with buying & selling textbooks.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is a completely different college experience than what you would receive from a big university. You will meet all types of people and the majority of the professors are very kind and fun to be around. It's a small school, but it creates an amazing uniqueness in one's college life.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Eckerd is a school full of laid-back and open-minded students. The campus is beautiful and the professors are truly involved in students' lives. Overall, it is a fantastic school.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a great job at warning us about potential threats and stopping invaders. They also are very nice to the students and sometimes offer rides late at night when headed back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    There is none at Eckerd.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am actually going to be the head of the musical theatre club on campus next year!! Every club meeting I have ever been to for any club has been fun or I have met awesome people.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really. There is no specific type of person at Eckerd. Like I said every type of person from every walk of life go to Eckerd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the tree of life on campus which I haven't seen, but I have been told has shoes hanging from it and glass glued to it. My favorite place on campus is the theatre. I absolutely love theatre and I even work in the campus costume shop.

    Bang for the buck

    I am learnign alot and having fun along the way. The teachers are really concerned about your success and try to help you as much as they can.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a party on the weekends except for finals weekend. During the weekend there is a fifteen minute drive to the downtown movie theatre for free parking and any new movies coming out... for the older crowds there are a bunch of bars downtown and even for younger people there are a multitude of restaurants to go have a good meal and even an 18 and under club for a price. Most of the fun comes from hanging out with friends. There is also a pool and beach on campus and you can go swimming at the waterfront.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad just not great restaurant quality. The food is buffet style in the main cafe and the CEC which means more bulk than anything, but it isn't horrible. Arguably the best food is in the Pub which cooks the food to order. It tastes great!!

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms and the vibes of the different dorms. Everyone is very chill and awesome! They really make it feel like home for me!

    Academic Rigor

    We are a party hard study hard type of kids, but neither is required to be accepted as a friend to anyone. The academics can be a little rigorous, but that is just because they want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a look at this school! It is fantastic for me, with people from everywhere with different walks of life don't worry about making friends and the academics are fantastic!

    In three sentences

    A wonderful campus with fantastic teachers. There is a beautiful beach with a view and fantastic dorms. I love the academics and methods of learning especially Autumn term!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    hahahahha although the dorms are named after greek letters we have no greek life so sorority and frat kids beware.

    Clubs and Activities

    garden club! radio club!

    Great for these types of students

    hippies, environmentalists, critter lovers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    420, Kappa Karnival, palm hammocks!

    What to do for fun

    swim, sail, fish, smoke, drink, explore!

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO ECKERD if you like sunshine, partying, and maybe doing some homework.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd College is a playground for intellectuals. It's beautiful and there is so much fun to have in the sun. Students are creative circus kids with a smile for everyone.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There waterfront on campus with wakeboarding, paddle boarding, and much more but I enjoy simply hanging out at the beach which is two minutes from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not the greatest on campus food but off campus options in downtown St. Petersburg are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    Great location and housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the classes you choose so academics can be a breeze or can challenge you. It all depends on the courses you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all the different courses and take advantage of the waterfront and other campus opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Its an amazing school in an unbelievable locations with some great professors.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Some of them get annoying/over zealous - but they're really nice people when you get to know them. It's just their job to enforce the rules sometimes.

    Greek Life

    NONE - THANK GOD!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Hosts some good events, but not always well advertised

    Great for these types of students

    Hippies, Eco-friendly, outgoing, kindhearted, and/or strong-minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I heard about an old tradition called Wet Wednesdays - if you saw a tour on your way to class and it was Wednesday, you would need to dunk in the nearest body of water. However, there was an alligator spotting or something and it was deemed too dangerous.

    Bang for the buck

    Sometimes the school spends money on things that are either useless, unattractive, or just not thought through. An example of this would be the newest installments of speed bumps - many cars have been destroyed because of them. Another would be the GO pavillion - an outdoor basketball court with no water fountains - when they hold events, there is a general consensus that it will suck and that typically ends up being true.

    What to do for fun

    Partying at Kappa of course!! Also, if you're drinking age, First Fridays can be pretty cool. During the week it's nice to sit in a hammock at the beach and just relax or go for a swim. (I haven't been to the waterfront yet, but I've heard great things about it too!)

    Food and Dining

    Not really sensitive to wheat/gluten allergies or dietary choices such as vegan/vegetarianism. Also, when seafood is served at the caf a majority of those kids end up getting sick in some way.

    Dorm Life

    It can be difficult depending on what dorm your in. If you're far from academics it takes extra motivation to get to morning classes. If you're near the party scenes it can get roudy even on school nights. Other than that, the connections you make feel like they'll last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be tough, but the teachers make it interesting. Even if you're not really interested in a subject, they make you interested just because they love it themselves. I've even considered changing my major to subjects that I'm not passionate about because my teacher was so passionate that I wanted to learn more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Limit your partying and utilize resources. It helps to go to the library right after class and get your homework out of the way as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd has a great balance between academic and social life - as long as you stay focused on your goals. The teachers are fun and approachable, knowledgeable about their subject, and enthusiastic about teaching. This school actually wants you to be excited to learn.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is very small, so commuting off campus is very common. Either have a car on campus or get to know people who have a car.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun activities to do on campus and off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, although it can be repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms has it's ups and downs, but that is some of the things that happen with college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic staff is more than willing to help a student to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help if you are struggling with something. There are plenty of people that are willing to help you, especially the professors.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to do for fun. the most fun at eckerd is going to the waterfront and renting paddle boards or going wake boarding.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very good. each dorm becomes a giant family and very closely knit together.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you come to eckerd prepared to learn because they come at you fast. make sure you balance school work and fun equally or you may fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd college is a very challenging school. it tests you every step of the way and is a very beautiful campus. the teachers and staff at eckerd do everything in their power to help their students succeed and to reach their goals.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition might be high and the food not so great, Eckerd provides a very unique experience and is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things to do on campus. Almost every weekend there is an activity for the students. Also, the campus has its own waterfront where you can wake board, kayak, paddle board, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay with few vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not too big so it is easier to go around meeting everyone. Also, the RA's are great at getting everyone together and to help introduce each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, you will find intense and difficult classes that include hands on activities that will prepare you for future careers in that particular major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get distracted by the sun and the beach here in Florida. There will be plenty of time to enjoy these aspects throughout the year, so stay focused on academics.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of Eckerd College provides a stimulating place to study. With small class sizes, it is easier to form a one to one relationship with the professors who later on will help you in future endeavors. There are greats programs available, especially the marine science programs.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Only one way on campus and it is guarded by security. The staff is friendly and there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading, Sailing, Basketball, Baseball, Softball, Tennis, Cooking clubs, Harry Potter club, Bible Study, Bands, African American Society, ECOS, Rugby, lacrosse, soccer, gardening, and so much more!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Unique people, water lovers, sailers, boaters, musicians, marine science people, tree huggers, and more! Anyone and everyone is accepted!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My friends and I like to go to the manmade beach to study and chill out before or after class. The parties are always fun for those who drink or don't drink. I have met my best friends!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    We have the waterfront where you can take out kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats. We can also take out floats to lay out on, go on critter collection trips, boat rides, sailboats, you name it. St. Pete Beach is only about 5 miles away. There is First Friday of every month which is a huge party in downtown St. Pete, never a dull moment. Yellow bikes on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Can't complain about the food. Pizza, salad bar, vegetarian food, cheeseburgers, cereal, and more are offered at every meal. There are two cafeterias and a pub. The pub food is made to order. Crab and steak were served on Valentine's Day! Seafood served everyday!

    Dorm Life

    Iota is the best place to live because the dorms are newer and nicer and although it costs a little more, laundry is FREE! The dorms are kept clean and nice. There is no greek system. There are upperclassmen dorm complexes that are designed like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Eckerd is ranked high in the top schools that change lives. Academics are well, the professors challenge you and expect you to do your part since they spend their time doing their part. Eckerd offers many different majors and minors. Some huge majors are international business and marine science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into college with an open mind. Walk around campus before the day of class to find out where your classrooms are. GO to class everyday and take notes. STUDY for quizzes, tests, and exams. DO the homework and assignments. Talk to your professors about everything.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd College has a beautiful campus with friendly wildlife, Tampa Bay view, and blooming vegetation. The professors are very down-to-earth and will bend over backwards to do what ever they can do to help their students. Eckerd offers many opportunities for students to study abroad, volunteer abroad, and much more!

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything that you can think of doing in the summer is available year round. there are many extra curricular activities. i never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    It's good for a while, but i recommend going off the meal plan eventually.

    Dorm Life

    I love the community aspect.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major and what you want your grades to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you give.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd college is a dream come true. my expectations have been far exceeded and i wish i could stay here forever. The people, lifestyle, and atmosphere is everything i could ask for.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This college has a beautiful campus. the library is huge and there are many great activities that students can join. it's not too expensive and the dorms are nice.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, ride yellow bikes, play soccer or any kind of sport really, watch movies, attend one of the many campus events.

    Food and Dining

    Seems good at first but there are not as many fresh foods as promised.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm is fantastic but I don't get along with the people in it, but that's just my experience. Many dorms are a family.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to befriend people in other dorms.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is in a fantastic location for marine science, has a beautiful campus, and is a small and intimate school. It has parties for those that are interested, but it's easy to find friends that don't party so much if you don't want to.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is of utmost importance to me on a personal level. I have noted the many security officers at the entrance as well as sentries places throughout the campus to ensure security.

    Greek Life

    I am currently not involved in this aspect as I live off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am quite interested in looking into the the Sailing, Wind surfing and most importantly the Eckerd Search and Rescue group ER-SAR.

    Great for these types of students

    Those with any sense of pride in community and those who are interested in preserving our environment, as well as contributing to it in return.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have been told that the graduation ceremony at Eckerd is quite the event. From the glorious sea-sde location to the bagpipe players that escort you into this memorable life-changing occasion.

    Bang for the buck

    Having been involved in a rather traumatic event recently, Eckerd has offered me inspiration and new aspirations. I I have gone from being DEPRESSED to being IMPRESSED with the new life a degree at Eckerd will offer me.

    What to do for fun

    Eckerd offers many activities, ranging from student government to watersports (being on the bay front and adjacent to the Gulf of Mexico).

    Food and Dining

    The campus offers a varied a delectable menu.

    Dorm Life

    Unable to evaluate this aspect for myself, as I live off campus. In talking to other students, it seems widely agreed that dormitory life at Eckerd is very well tolerated and enjoyed.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are definitely up to higher education standards. Their rules and expectations are both fair and consistent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Having an invested interest in our environment and community definitely helps prospective students! It is all about protecting our current environment and preserving it for the future.

    In three sentences

    A great place to reach the level of higher education you are seeking. The faculty and staff offer the utmost in professionalism and compassion. The quality of education seems to, thus far, surpass nearby colleges.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price might seem outrageous but you get a great education. There are also a lot of scholarship opportunities that they can help you with to knock down that massive bill.

    What to do for fun

    They have their own personal beach there with real nice sand. They are not far from downtown St. Petersburg with has a moderate amount of night life. They also provide shuttles even free tickets to events.

    Food and Dining

    They have many restaurants on campus. their meal plans are good too because each person gets blocks. these blocks get you a try that you can load up as much as you want for one block.

    Dorm Life

    When i visited their they showed us the cheapest dorms. these dorms seemed to be small, with central AC, and 1 bathroom per floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are much smaller, which leaves room for more questions to be asked and more one-on-one time with your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want more of an individualized education, instead of being a number in a class than this college would be great. Although if you want the typical college life of partying every night i dont think this college would be right for you.

    In three sentences

    This school seems to be suited towards individual education. None of the classes are taught by TA's and they all seem to be relatively small. if you are willing to pitch that extra money in i believe this college will impress you.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is fast and reliable. Front entrance is very well monitored and are good at checking ID's of incomers according to policy. There is an Emergency Responsive Team stationed in the lobby of every dorm complex ready to cater to anyone in need of help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless amount of clubs on campus. Even if your not involved in a specific club, clubs plan and sponsor fun events on campus that you can attend.

    Great for these types of students

    Eckerd College is a great choice for science students or students anticipating a major in marine biology, biology, biochemistry, chemistry, environmental sciences and more.

    What to do for fun

    Eckerd has numberless amount of clubs to participate in, sand volleyball courts, a beautiful private campus beach, docks for fishing, a swimming pool, fitness center, the waterfront were you can take boats, kayaks and paddle boards out into the bay and a large multi-purpose field located near the beach. Eckerd College is also only a couple miles away from Treasure Island and down town St. Petersburg.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food including food for vegetarians at the cafeteria. Hours at the cafeteria are decent, workers are friendly, its kept very clean, and have outdoor eating areas.

    Dorm Life

    Traditional dorm rooms are spacious, clean and reasonable living conditions for a college student. RA's are extremely helpful, personable, approachable and are a great resource for any questions you have regarding the dorms and even things on and off campus. Dorm events and activities are fun and well organised.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Eckerd College are challenging and professors are well educated in their field, very enthusiastic about what they teach, are fair in what they expect of you and your work and are great at engaging students to excel and participate in class. Professor availability for extra help is impressive and convenient. Class sizes are small and comfortable for more individual time with the professor and connections with other students.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd College met all my expectations in a college and more. It's a beautiful, excellent learning environment that has so much to offer academically and outside academics. The college is exceedingly worth every penny you pay for it.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go back to school and get your degree...

    In three sentences

    Eckerd College is diverse in its classes. Eckerd College has opportunities for students that have never been to college before. Eckerd College has schedules that fit my life to make it possible for me to go back to school.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is extremely attentive and there are always multiple officers on duty, patrolling in their golf carts. The call line is open 24/7, and the front gate checks ID's just as long. It is a long and involved process to make sure nobody suspicious or dangerous enters campus (I know firsthand because I have a work study job as a front gate assistant). Campus Safety is also there to take care of jobs from something as little as a room lock-out to something large like serious injury and emergency transportation to a hospital.

    Greek Life

    There are no maternity or fraternity environments on campus, and that makes me feel safe and more comfortable at Eckerd.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is absolutely perfect for Marine Science majors, such as myself.

    What to do for fun

    At my college, there are many opportunities for fun. However, the most unique is the waterfront. They have their own docks with sailboats, kayaks, and paddle boards that students can rent out for free. They also have free wake boarding trips every Sunday, and the occasional sunset cruise. It's a fantastic way to get students out, about, and on the water!

    Food and Dining

    There are three options for dining on campus. There is a main cafeteria by the main dormitories, a pub in the middle of campus, and a cafeteria over by the two dorms that are so far separated from everything else. The food, no matter where one goes, is of delicious quality. There are always many choices, and alternative options for those looking for a healthier diet.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life varies across the campus. I was placed in a brand new dorm that has larger rooms and beds than the normal dorms, and each room has its own bathroom. In my opinion, the dorm life is very comfortable. The friendly RA's plan events and group activities to give everyone an opportunity to socialize and get to know your neighbor.

    Academic Rigor

    Eckerd College has a fantastic academic system that challenges those who want or need to be challenged. However, it does have academic programs that slow down to help those who do not learn as quickly. The teachers are enthusiastic about what they teach, and make it interesting for students. They take the time to know each student individually, which is a fantastic quality that boosts academic performance.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is a safe, beautiful environment. The students are very friendly. The college does everything it can to help the students feel safe, secure, and involved with the school.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are a gated campus and people have to show their id's to get into campus. All guests have to be signed in.

    Greek Life

    Eckerd does not have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many different clubs and if we don't have it, it only takes a few people to make a new one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are down to earth. They should be environmentally conscious and they must be able to handle a lot of the fellow students drinking and smoking habits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a few ponds that have alligators in them. I have yet to see them but I know people who have. There is a nice area away from all the buildings that has a few hammocks and a nice walking path.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pricy and the dorms are not the nicest for the amount of money we spend on them. However, considering most people live on campus, off-campus life in the area is even more expensive. We get a great education here though and we are offered so many opportunities to get involved.

    What to do for fun

    This school is endless fun. We have a pool which is awesome in the Florida weather. We have our own beach. A large field where everyone has picnics and plays games on the weekends. We have kayaks and paddle boards available to rent FOR FREE!! There are parties every now and then. The school plays movies in the auditorium (free as well). We always have something to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. It is certainly not unbearable but it is not fancy cuisine. Fortunately, our students are very good at getting what they want and we are currently working towards better food options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at Eckerd. We have great community atmospheres in most of the dorms. All of the dorms are known for certain things so after you get to experience things freshman year, you know which dorm you want to live in to party, to study, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say our classes are not easy. Generally for most of my classes, we got the ideal range of grades. A few A's, mostly B's and C's, and a few D's and F's. Most people can pass the classes if the really try and apply themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so you can get the best scholarships and aid. Don't stress about not knowing what you want to major in, just be aware that being too indecisive can lead to extra years in school (which means having to pay more money). We have a good atmosphere here and don't feel pressured into anything. If you don't drink, people won't care. Eckerd is a place where everyone just wants to have a good time and enjoy the sunny Florida weather.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is a place where you discover yourself. In my opinion, it is definitely a college that can change your life. We have a great group of students and faculty.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun. Eckerd has the waterfront which offers paddle boarding, kayaking, and signing up for fun sail boat excisions. The Eckerd campus is also located near St. Pete beach which is beautiful and lined with delicious restaurants. Being near downtown also provides students with a city life.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Eckerd is pretty bland and gets really boring very quickly. The options for vegetarians is very little. I am considering the idea of discontinuing the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty average, and the common rooms are pretty run down. There are nicer dorms you can stay in for a higher price (Iota and Zeta). Also if you like to party all the time then live in Kappa, there's always people blasting music, and usually a party every weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is definitely based on your major, the marine biology path I have heard is challenging yet worth it. As a Communications major I am still challenged but the difference in rigor is very noticeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is small, and it closely resembles a high school setting. So get involved to meet people.

    In three sentences

    Going to the beach and pool, you're always surrounded by sunshine. You are essentially living in paradise. Amazing offer of great academics that encompass a wise variety of interests.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great at Eckerd, and really helpful. I actually do my work study with the campus safety department. Students here also benefit from the on campus Search and Rescue Team and our Emergency Response Team providing daily assistance.

    Greek Life

    Just the names of the dorms are Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about any clubs or activities that any college could have, exist here at Eckerd, and many that are unique to our location.

    Great for these types of students

    This College is great for students who want the whole world to be open to them. Even if you don't come in knowing how to access opportunity, if your have the desire, the encouragement and support is here to get you on your way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most beneficial and unique practices here at Eckerd College is their Freshman Orientation. New students arrive three weeks prior to the start of fall semester. Each student chooses a course they are interested in and is introduced to the expectations and skills necessary to succeed in college life. They are not overwhelmed by upper classmen, and the campus is theirs to make their own and become part of, through events and activities as well as their classes. By the time other students return, the current freshmen have established their place on campus and don't feel lost or out of place. This removes a huge stumbling block to the transition to college life.

    Bang for the buck

    I am only half way through my sophomore year, and I have helped clear lots in Alabama from tornado damage, so that rebuilding can begin; been to Prague as part of an Ethnographic Practicum course; been to New Mexico as part of the Native Health Alliance; worked on an archeological dig on Cat Island in the Bahamas for 3 weeks, and I will be part of a 5 week international archaeological team in Thailand this coming summer. And that is only for my academic life. I am part of our Emergency Response Team and am now an EMT in both NY and FL. Our team has been to trainings in NC, Miami, and other locations in FL. AND...Disney World is only an hour and a half away.

    What to do for fun

    Just about anything you would want to do at a resort or at camp is available either on campus, or nearby. From climbing the Rock Wall, to playing sports, sailing, kayaking, scuba, or just hanging on the beach, we have it. You can even study for your finals by the beach, in a hammock.

    Food and Dining

    I happen to love the food here at Eckerd. We also have plenty of options for where to eat. I like the ambiance of the Pub for quick meals and having later evening munchies with friends.

    Dorm Life

    Never worry about being too hot because Eckerd College is in Florida. They don't skimp on the AC. The dorms are arranged so that there is plenty of gathering space for TV time or movies, privacy for studying, and planning your own get together for dinners, etc. There is also plenty of space for each student's belongings in the rooms, and dorms are themed, including a pet dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Eckerd's academic expectations are excellent, and the supports to achieve your potential are available to you. Your professor's and mentor know you and are invested in your success. Their student support center and disability support services are excellent, and have been beneficial to me personally.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT OUR CAMPUS. Talk with current students. And be open to expanding your horizons beyond your imagination. If you attend Eckerd College, you will graduate as a better prepared, more competent, global citizen, with insights that you had never even considered prior to coming here.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd College offers and encourages participation in a wide variety of international experiences. They promote community service and interaction and have both an Emergency Response Team, and a Search and Rescue Team. It is a Global College in an ideal setting.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What is there not to do for fun you have the beach right in front of your college!!.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have none! All of our dorm complexes are named after Greek alphabet letters, but that's about as Greek as we get.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 100 clubs on campus, and it's extremely easy to start one. Also, there is always something going on around campus, so life is never dull.

    Great for these types of students

    - Beach lovers - Sports players - Science majors - Non-science majors - Lovers of nature and being green - Basically everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We start class on Labor Day. Also there's a tree called the Tree of Life that everyone knows about but only a few people know how to actually find it.

    Bang for the buck

    If you make the most of your time at Eckerd, the cost is worth your while.

    What to do for fun

    1. Waterfront - Rent out kayaks, paddle boards, and/or camping equipment or go on sunset cruises with your dorm, club, or team - Jump into the Bay whenever you feel like it - ECSAR (Eckerd College Search and Rescue) 2. Dorms - Have a bake sale - Host a movie night - Host a dorm event (i.e. bar-b-q, holiday party, etc.) 3. General Campus - Ride a Yellow Bike around campus (they're free, provided by Campus Activities, and can be left anywhere on campus for someone else to pick up) - Go to a Campus Activities event (and there's at least two every two weeks) - Go to a sports event (including club Rugby, Volleyball, Basketball, Baseball, Soccer, etc.) - Go for a walk, because campus is beautiful 4. Off campus - Go to First Friday (buses are provided every first Friday of each month to downtown for food, music, movies, and more) - Head into Tampa for Bush Gardens, International Mall, etc. (provided you or someone you know has a car) - Go to the beach (St. Pete beach is 5 miles from campus and Ft. DeSoto is about 10) - Go Downtown, which features the Dali museum, the Florida Holocaust Museum, plenty of shops and restaurants as well as flea markets almost every Saturday morning (buses are provided for that every couple of Saturdays)

    Food and Dining

    Depending on who you ask, the food is okay at best. I personally think the main cafeteria's food is pretty good, all, and Triton's Pub makes fresh, warm food that's really tasty!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are old, but kept livable, and other than being super cold most of the time, living on campus is part of the Eckerd experience. Plus, being a part of a small community within a larger one is pretty awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    It's not that classes are necessarily hard, but that there is a lot of work to be done for each class. Honestly, most classes are interesting, and so in the long run, the work is worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Wear sunscreen 2. Take a tour 3. Try to sit in on a class 4. Realize that what you see actually is what you get 5. Buy, don't rent 6. Do things you wouldn't normally do. Eckerd makes it worth your while

    In three sentences

    Eckerd is an absolutely awesome place with plenty to do and experience. The weather is great, the professors are almost all up to par, and faculty is ready and willing to help students go further in their education and careers in any way they know how. There aren't many people that I wouldn't recommend Eckerd to.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    didn't really like the food system but they have some great off campus restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    great community style dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are highly rated, its good to go to a school with a stress on academics

    In three sentences

    Great Campus feel, Loved the views of the water.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here and the safety personnel are not out to get students but just trying to protect us.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs are available and it's really easy to make your own club and receive funding.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, sunny, waterbabies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone's just really cool with everything pretty much.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty high so try to get a scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    Swim, run, bike, rock climb, go to the gym, kayak, paddle board, sail, wake board, parties almost every night, go to the beach on campus, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really great. There's a good variety of food offered each meal and the pizza is great. You can choose to eat healthy too as they have a lot of food being prepared on the spot as well. Lines can be long though. The salad bar is great and there's always fresh fruit.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm. Iota dorms are just amazing and West Lodge as well. The only dorm that's horrible is Kappa the party mess.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and workload is more than I had expected. Professors check homework regularly and quality of work is expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to get tan!

    In three sentences

    There are just too many activities to join and things to do! The professors are all really nice and the class sizes great. I love the climate and all the water activites offered at the swimming pool and waterfront (wake boarding/ paddle boarding/ sailing/ etc).

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Eckerd is protected by water on three sides and there is only one entrance into campus. The guards are extremely nice, even giving out candy on Halloween. Its very safe here, just really the occasional stingray stab.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Eckerd

    Clubs and Activities

    At Eckerd, as long as you have a sponsor, a plan, and a couple of students, you can create any club you want. Eckerd is very relaxed and sometimes works on island time, so if you are really interested in something, it's up to you to go find it and do it.

    Great for these types of students

    Eckerd is great for water-loving people. It's open and carefree. For the price, you need to be academically driven and willing to work. Their Marine Science program is top notch and well known.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It has a waterfront. Free for Eckerd students, you can rent kayaks, canoes, paddleboards, and floats to play in the bay. Also, there are sailing classes and the occasional wakeboarding trips.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive. So its not for the people who just want to do the minimum and party. This college is for people serious about their careers. If you really dive into the academic side of Eckerd, it'll be worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    10 minutes in one direction leads to the beautiful St. Pete beach and farther down are more white sand beaches. In the other direction is the bustling city of St. Petersburg and a little bit farther is Tampa. The possibilities are endless, but honestly, with a beach right on Eckerd campus, you'll be hard pressed to leave campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are two choices: the café and the pub. From salads to Chinese food, The café has a variety of selections for all sorts of people. At the pub, the meal is cooked right in front of you. I recommend the turkey melt; its delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs are known for their caring attitude. Eckerd knows that its students like to have fun and hosts many parties and events, such as free tickets to movies and baseball games.

    Academic Rigor

    Especially for Marine Science, their courses can be quite difficult. Despite the long hours and heavy coursework, professors and fellow students are always available to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start scholarship hunting way early. Kappa dorm has many frequent parties, so if you're a studious person, its not for you.

    In three sentences

    Eckerd College is expensive, but well worth the money if you can afford it. The professors and staff are always available. The science department is well known for their hands-on research, even for freshman.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The coolest thing I learned about, and want to be a part of is the sailing team. Ranked 16 in the nation, the varsity sail team will take you in freshman year and teach you to sail.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're outdoorsy, enjoy the heat, and want to live on a beach for four years, this school is for you! It unique focus on the environment and being 'green' gives it a special environment perfect for anyone who wants to study any environmental sciences.

    Bang for the buck

    Eskers offers a huge number of merit based scholarship, which helps lower their hefty price tag. But when you take into consideration the location, amenities and low teacher to student ratio, it is surprising the tuition is not more

    What to do for fun

    As it is on the water, the waterfront provides a lot of different activities to do. So long as you can prove yourself capable, you can take out a sailboat or a kayak and hang out in the bay. There is also an area where you can swim in the ocean. Furthermore, south beach provides a nice area to simply relax and get a tan.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nicer than a lot, but doesn't provide a lot of variety. Fortunately, there are three places to eat on campus, which should give you different options for whatever you are in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are non-descript, except for their location and view. The rooms are average, but their large windows provide plenty of natural light and views beyond belief.

    Academic Rigor

    After talking with my admissions counselor, I learned that a marine science major is not a walk in the park and not at all what people expect. But that is why their program is ranked among the top in the nation

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus and see for yourself how beautiful the campus is. The tour guides are very informative and give you a lot of information you won't find anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful and serene campus located right on the water makes it perfect for studying marine biology. The campus seems friendly and inviting to people from all backgrounds and places. It seems like the perfect place to attend college