Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Edward Waters College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Diverse students would be great here because it would open doors to new ideas and oppourtunies for expanding the institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    For new or undecided students I would encourage a visit to this school. Meet some of the students, faculty and staff, as well as sit in on a few classes or sporting events.

    Bang for the buck

    The class size for this school is about 15-20 per class which allows for more personal time with the teacher. You are guaranteed and encouraged to learn and ask questions about the subject at hand until you fully understand it. Many ways to satisfy tuition costs.

    Did enjoy being here

    I did enjoy my time at EWC although it was an inner city institution. I was apart of the Biology club, Women's basketball, volleyball and track teams. The school is very close knitted and everyone tends to support each other.

    Did learn a lot

    At Edward Waters College you have a lot of opportunities to be involved with community service as well as HBCU scholarships. While being at EWC, i have learned to be more confident with talking in front of crowds and commuting with diverse people.

  • 05/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Very hard to communicate with this university

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus, and they are pretty friendly, just wish there was more available on the weekends and also during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafeteria is delicious. With all you wish to eat, you are sure to get stuffed for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Just wished they served a snack since dinner is over at 7pm. The staff is pretty friendly, and if there is a day where you don't want what's on the line, there is always pizzas, subs and salads available.

    Dorm Life

    On campus life is not all that appealing because some of the Resident Assistants, Like Ms. Jackson, make you feel like you are living in a prison. If your door key stops working, there is a hassle with getting in and out of your room, with little to no help from RA's. Room Inspection and dorm meetings also interfere with study and sleep time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are competitive, and will challenge you to the best of your ability. If you miss a day, you miss a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please come in with a plan. Study hard and take your work very serious. If you plan on partying, do so during the weekend, and not while you have classes.

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is the College that cares. The professors are extremely flexible, and encourage a learning environment. The students are family.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sport or helping people.

    Food and Dining

    The food so amazing we find everything in there the staff really funny. They ask if you enjoy your food, and they cook really good.

    Dorm Life

    Its was a good experience I find everybody friendly. The staff really care about us.

    Academic Rigor

    For me, �Academic rigor� are intellectual work refers to thoroughness, carefulness, and right understanding of the material being learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand your rights and responsibilities.

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is special school. The class are small we learn a lot about black history. The teacher really listing the questions students asks.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY HARD!!!!!!!!1 DON'T QUIT!!!!!!!!! STAY FOCUSED!!!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is definitely worth the money to come here the food in the cafeteria is AMAZING!!!! and the new improvements to the dormitories only add to the comforting environment

    Am enjoying being here

    At Edward Waters College you have a rich and diverse enviroment that welcomes education and learning you have a wide array of students and professors from all walks of life making the overall campus experince intresting

    Am learning a lot

    The professors actually take out the time to know each and every student. Also they break down each and every bit of material and even offer after class tutoring sessions

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think If you like to be in a more family oriented, and a little smaller college you will like Edward Waters College

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a smile, your brain, and a willing to learn and participate. And if you do so I guarantee that you will succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    I guess I can say it's a great value for me, but I do believe that colleges can become a little more affordable. More affordable so more students can be worry free and go to college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because at Edward Waters College were more like a family that learns new things together. Also mostly everyone participate in activities. Which makes the college a even better environment to be in.

    Am learning a lot

    I rate Edward Waters College a 4 star college. Why! because, they give students a opportunity to show what they really are about after high school. They help us all see that even though you didn't do that best in high school we believe that you can succeed.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The S.U.B. Student Union Building

    Food and Dining

    Not bad if u like pizza, fried chicken, and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    If u live in the cones u will rarely get bored.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not that hard if u study

    In three sentences

    A fairly small school that is growing, alot of the staff and professors here are close knit. The student life is exciting if u know how to socialize. The best late night snack close to the school is checkers.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life at my School is really what makes the school. if your not involved then your pretty much missing out. and thats a good thing because it kinda forces everyone to do better in not just in school but in life.

    Great for these types of students

    Edward Waters College, is great for someone that likes that one on one help with teachers. and also someone that love community service work.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i dance, go to the beach, write poems, hang out at the mall, and adventure different places with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    Well at school of course we just call is the Caf, not Cafe, and the food is very versatile.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is good, even though we have a curfew it still is a loveing place and you are able to build many different friendship and sisterhood just from staying in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It does take long for the student to build an Academic Rigor because we have great teachers who will never give up on us.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tips i can give for Prospective student, is to be yourself and be a scholar

    In three sentences

    Edward waters college is a great place to be. they have a loving staff, and if you need help succeeding in life they are right there to tell you how it goes.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is located on the North side of Jacksonville.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is one of the most popular activities on campus. The Greeks are always having social events on the yard.

    Great for these types of students

    If your looking for a small school setting with a student teacher ratio of 1 to 30

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition at EWC is on every Wednesday the students must dress in professional attire for chapel.

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is a predominantly African American private College. They are funded by an AME(African Methodist Episcopals). We are the first Historical Black College in Florida est.1866.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    small school with small class size.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    chapel is every Wednesday an it is mandatory.

    Bang for the buck

    the tuition is less then most colleges in Florida.

    What to do for fun

    network and be social. such as join a club or organization don't be afraid to talk to other people.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great and yummy

    Dorm Life

    the rooms are very small, especially the closets

    Academic Rigor

    easy yet somewhat challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for all scholarships early, don't wait you will get less money and also make sure you contact the school at least 3 days a week to check your status for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    its a HBCU and its a very small college with strong academic courses.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun the student government may put together a couple of events for all students to attend such as movie night,rap sessions,and ice cream society. those events are very fun and also a good way of meeting new people.you can also go to the library and pick out books to read or study which is what i like to do for fun.sometimes when we are in the dorms we have game days when some of us get together and play some games.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is awesome.they prepare a full course meal for you 3 times a day.if you dont like the main course that was prepared for you its also 2 or 3 other stations you can pick from to eat.most likely you will enjoy everything around you. the first meal is breakfast,the second meal is brunch,and the third meal is dinner.

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorm is a great experience.your basically in your little space taking care of yourself.you can do anything you want but as long as you are following the rules and regulations of the dorms.you have a nice roommate and you can think of the people that stay around you as your little neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is not very hard but you have to focus and follow your teachers instructions.do your homework and study your assignments and you will find it okay.just basic things you have to do in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend that all students just follow all directions and abide by all the rules.Also have a focused mind and ready to learn in all subjects.then you will do great in the future.buy all the books you will need for the subjects you are taking so you can stay on top of your education.

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is a very wonderful college.This college has the perfect goals and beliefs that i honestly cherish.they have high expectations from the students which pushes me forward to make me want to do even better.they want us to do well in every class and have high standards for ourselves.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 star

    What to do for fun

    activies on school grounds and off site games (sports)

    Food and Dining

    5 star

    Dorm Life

    3 star

    Academic Rigor

    4 star

    Tips for prospective students

    take charge, make sure you are on schedule and follow the steps required by school and ask questions!!!!

    In three sentences

    Registering went from one to three days (some lack of staff communication) to complete and with the Vise President (Dr. Hervey) help registration was completed in a mannerly time. The staff and teachers especially the dorm manager are very kind and help full. Even though it is a small school their is an advantage, even thought it does not have to happen, the staff make it their business to know you and remember your name.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Week days you and a group of friends can head to The Landing. The beach is beautiful so the bus ride is worth it. They also have plenty of malls so you can shop on all sides of town.

    Food and Dining

    There is a new shef for the Fall 2012 semester. The food isn't gourmet but it will fill you up. Breakfast is the best meal of the day.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are the best, plenty of room for you and your roomate. when you get to the upperclassman dorms you noticed that its extremely tiny barely enough space for you and your roomate.

    Academic Rigor

    These are Mediocre classes. Very easy to pass as long as you show up. But some teachers are hard to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a plan. Cheack with financial aid weekly. Also make it to all of your classes on time.

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is an okay school. It you like to small classes and different cultures this is the school for you. Although it is unorganized, the campus life is makes up for it.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tigers are the way to go.

    What to do for fun

    The choir

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your focus.

    In three sentences

    I love my school. We have our flaws,but it is a great institution.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food for the most part is ok and the dining is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is ok it just depends on what dorm you live in and how you and your roommate gets along.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are not too strict and they will work with you on whatever you need help with

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is shaky. Sometimes I don't feel safe.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the student who is serious about completing all four years. Its not the best school but its mine. They offer a second chance when no one else will. Thank God.

    Bang for the buck

    Its not really a bang more of a headache. School is pretty expensive. Sometimes I have to count my money to make sure I'm not being tricked in anyway.

    What to do for fun

    For fun the campus has a basketball court. They staff usually plans game nights at there convenience.

    Food and Dining

    The food the staff serve at Edward Waters College may sometimes be horrific. This doesn't mean I won't eat it sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very simple and mono. Students click or stay to themselves most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    They instructors at the school are there to help. Its their job. In other words this is way the students pay. The classes are not as rigorous as they would seem.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I suggest you learn the environment, get will acquainted with your instructors and staff, and adjust to the changes of academic requirements. Follow these three steps and better things will fall in line also.

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is my home away from home. On a scale from 1-10 I give it an strong eight overall. A costly experience of a lifetime.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is the most secure location within 15 miles, with a police substation being built housing over 150 on duty police at any given time directly across the street.

    Greek Life

    all national PanHellenic conference associated Greeks are represented fully on campus an they are constantly involved with the community. i myself in interested in joining one an have taken steps towards completing that goal.

    Clubs and Activities

    football and basketball games are always fun. the school even has an intramural sport for those who just want to play for fun. also in the sub there is a video game room and a pool room.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for students to who want to experience something different, an for those who want to be heavily involved in their school not only academically but perhaps socially too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every other friday a social event called club sub is hosted on campus in the student union building as way for out of towners living on campus to get out and have a little fun, there is a live Dj and most if not all students attend it. its a great way to meet new people and socialize

    Bang for the buck

    few realize that Edward Waters was actually the first black college established in Florida in 1866. and its also a private school. attending this school, especially being african american it gives me a great sense of pride saying I attend such a prestigious institute.

    What to do for fun

    campus is always live with people from different backgrounds that stretch to as far as the virgin islands. there are greeks atheletes an scholars all sharing a close knit campus making for a family like feel amongst students.

    Food and Dining

    i love the food the variety offers a wide range of combinations

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus, so i dont know from personal experience but from what i hear its okay.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are as easy or as hard as you make them, the teachers are there for you and will take time out of their own free time to help you along.

    Tips for prospective students

    register and get all paper work like class schedules done early, also be persistent in getting the information that you need.

    In three sentences

    great sense of african american culture. good christian values. staff is willing to work with you an offer second chances.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, but not safe while out alone at night. There is a 24 hour security office where students can go to or call in the time of need.

    What to do for fun

    Getting involved at any school is always fun. Joining a sport's team, joining band, or even joining a club is ideal to occupy any free time. However, there are fun events on occasion thrown by the Student Government. These events include Club Sub (a party in the Student Union Building), talent shows, and so forth.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on Edward Waters College campus is opened in the morning from 7 to 9 for breakfast, from 11 am to 2 pm for lunch, and in the evening from 5 to 7 for dinner. It is opened to the students who live on campus, live off campus, and to the public. The students who live on campus are required to show their school's id before eating in the cafeteria. Anyone who doesn't live on the college's campus has to pay a $7 fee prior to eating the food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are both, women and men housing at Edward Waters College. All freshmen are required to stay on campus. Students with a 3.0 GPA or higher, may live in the dormitories made for students with honors. There are also dorm rooms for athletes alone.

    Academic Rigor

    The general studies at EWC requires at least two Math courses, two English courses, two Foreign Language courses, a Health or Physical Education course, an Intro to College course, and a Biblical Studies course. The general studies courses are required for all students, but it is best to take the general studies classes by comparing them to the courses according to your degree plan; that way you will finish classes according to your field of study and according to the school's general studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Put priorities first 2. Follow a schedule to study, to complete homework, and to complete (online) class assignments 3. Do not take on more than what you can handle (i.e. 20 credits, two jobs, extracurricular practice) 4. Do not cram study

    In three sentences

    Edward Waters College is a private institution that is aiming to become greater. It is a Christian school where morals and good deeds are taught right along with education for brighter futures. The institution is an excellent place for rising students in need of a second chance.